(2012/12) Dec 2012

not necessary 1st 6 mths. If you are getting a transfer maid, you need to see how much balance is her loan. You need to pay upfront the full sum of her loan first and there after work with her how much you want to give her cash and how much you want to bank in for her.

Eg i paid upfront the loan balance for my maid and its calculated that i dont need to pay her salary up to Jul. From Aug onwards, i will pay her $20 cash and the balance i would bank in for her. This is ontop of the $170 levy.

Hello ladies... I also feeling more nausea these days and easily tired. My tummy started to show abit le... My bra size also up le. Luckily I have nursing bra to wear, so no need to buy new ones.

My #1 IFC after subsidy is $750, at bukit panjang area. #2 will have discount if put at same school.

I don't intend to have maid coz cost already very high. If you all have mum to help, I think is good idea to hire a maid to help your mum. For me, nobody is at hm during day, so not idea to leave maid alone at home.

Hi kidomum,
Have not done my research yet but i myself don't really like fillipino after my sis experience with a few fillipino maid cos they will threaten if you did not give in to their request. got one threaten that she might drop her baby if she's not getting wat she want. all depend on luck de.

Jaj, due to my hubby work nature, sometimes he doesn't come back or sometimes he need to go oversea...wondering how did i struggle through this past two years, with #2 coming along, don't think i can manage alone.

m new here, hope to join all chit chat here..

m now 5+ weeks and #2

btw, m gng on a trip next week but thinking should i see a doc before that.. quite relectant to see doc now as sure need to go through V scan... i scared... hee~~~

on maid issue & caregiver for #2..

i have a big headache too.. doubt my maid can handle new born. my son will be 17mths this May. But yet i see her cant even handle him, though my mum is the main caregiver to my son...

#2, my mum surrendered that she will not take care coz very tiring.. *sigh*

bluegal, wah, so scary..
i am also thinking when is a good timing to engage the helper coz i think from 2013, the new policy that requires us to give compulsory offday will kick in.
My mum was saying if we can get during confinement then she thinks I dun need to employ a CL.

<kidomum> i feel that it is advisable to get the maid as soon as possible.

i had lots of problem with maid during my last confinement. You wont want to change maid in midst of confinement and that happened to me

Just my 2 cents worth

Hi kidomum,
ya fillipino are intelligent so they know how to use tactics...of cos there's good one and they don't like their employers to be at home during daytime de.
I intend to get the maid in ard oct. will still get confinement lady cos during confinement best not to touch water. So someone have to help bath the baby and for me maid is a no no.

bloom, bluegal,
thanks for your advise. for me, confinement is handled by my mum, so still ok.
Helper is basically around to manage other housework =) I also dun trust the maid to handle a new born!

Looking at the discussion of maid confinement lady or infant care. Look like its worst than morning sickness!! Do anyone here ever consider to quit and to take of your baby or children? Hmm baby from age zero to 2 years is the significant period of growing up. They learn to crawl sit walk and talk. If you miss that period and you will just miss it.

mine will only do housework too. but i had encounters with maid that do not know how to do housework. *faint*

mine will now help to look after my son when i take my dinner or when to go toilet..

i also scared to leave them alone with bb after hearing tat much abt the horrible things they do!

Just been to the gynae. I'm only 5 weeks instead of 6 week. Can only detect the sac. Told to go back in 2 weeks time.

Bloom- I did the usual scan with full bladder. No v scan needed.

Going to pick up my new maid tomo. Getting a Gd one really depEnds on luck. This is my 2nd one. Hope she is really better.

Jellow,
I have no plans for that yet even though I hope I can coz my #1 will be in Pri 1 next year. But I am not willing to give up the extra income either =P .. now expenses high plus enrichment classes for kids, an extra income while we can is still preferred.

My mum is looking after my #1 for me so I am quite assured that she is well looked after. I bring my girl home every day so no problem with the bonding at all.

I think the best is your mum can help look after the kids. I always envy those with mum to help do confinement and look after kids. For me, my mum needs to work to pay her house, so cannot help me, unless I can pay her more than what she's earning now. IFC is still the cheapest option for me.

Thanks bloom! Really needs lotsa luck!

I have not break the news to either side of parents. Wonder what will be their reaction. Also dunno if my mum is still keen to help me with #2 too.

MUMMIES: I HAVE ENCOUNTER UN FRIENDLY colleagues, who comments, MC again?? i was breathless n seek a dr just now, and was give 1 day mc

she make this damn remarks which upset my day although not working together

sucks her

its like that lah... quite common... but we got no choice what... dont care lah....

she is not preg so she dont know what we are goin tru...

well kong kong, i believe ur colleague has never experienced pregnancy and couldnt empathise with u... or... she doesnt know u r pregnant...

btw, how r u coping with MS?

Jellow, I quit after having #1. Main reason because my husband wanted to move back to UK, and I don't have anyone to look after baby for me in UK (if I find a job). If in Singapore, I think my mum will help me. But then I also want to look after my baby myself. Now he's 7 and my younger one is 5, I don't regret for a minute quitting to look after them even though it was very hard, harder than working I think, but when they were in school suddenly I felt the pressure to go back to work, of course after 7 years it is not easy to find suitable work, I guess having baby #3 is the next best thing ;-) although in another 5 years I will be out of the workforce for 12 years and can forget about working again.

It's funny, I think if I were a grandma I will really look forward to looking after my grandkids, all the fun of baby without having to go through pregnancy and childbirth! But reading about your mums who don't want to look after kids, maybe my mindset will change and I will be too tired when I am older.

MS is really s**t, I seriously pei fu the working mums who work during pregnancy. I have some guy coming to check the gas pipes in the house, such a pain, I have to make sure the kitchen is tidy :p I am thinking, force myself to clean the kitchen, just keep the bin nearby in case I need to hurl :p

Kong Kong, next time you see your gynae, get a week MC. Then don't have to see your colleague. I had a friend whose wife's gynae gave her an "open mc", as long as she didn't feel well, didn't have to go to work. I wish I had that when I was preggie and working. First time preggie, was scared, didn't know what was acceptable, didn't dare to take too much MC even though felt like crap.

thanks mummies for concerns

chubbyfingers: i do not have MS yet, n pray hard that i wont have, else my MC is not enough to cope,,,

bloom &amp; mrsheng: she knows im pregnant n she has gone throught B$, perhaps its before, thats y now she cant understand again

karen: mi too, reali peifu those mummies too,,, u not working? nowadays kids too active till they dont want handle, make them so tired,,, they just wanna play with them..

Pommes: hahas same case as me. Should be 5 weeks but Gynae say is 4 weeks. And I have not done any v scan only ultrasound scan. How big is your sac? Hahas good luck for ur second maid!

Bloom: you still can go for trip? Hahas be careful yeah!

Kong Kong, since she is aware of ur pregnancy means she is just being insensitive lor..
ignore her totally!

Jellow, yeah coz it is my son 1st overseas trip and we had everything planned n paid.

Thank you.. i'll take super care!

mummies with kids.. do you carry ur kiddo in this trimester?

Kongkong, I am full time housewife now, I was working when expecting #1, I had a boss who couldn't have kids, I think partly because she's unsympathetic partly because she's envious, she really made things difficult for me. But I also remember my mom saying bluntly to me, when she was pregnant she had to do housework, no time to feel MS, I think the only people who truly empathise are the ones going through the same thing, that's why this forum is such a lifeline for me.

bloom, i think for younger kids, no choice still have to carry them. If no spotting should be ok, if there is spotting, maybe sit down then let them sit on your lap or something..

We still have to look after the little one inside us

thanks, kidomum. will take note of that since still in the early 1st trimester..

i had left him crying when he wanted to be carried yesterday though but felt bad..

sun_tan, my son is only distracted by our iphone &amp; ipad.
m now trying to kick off this habit and have kept all these away from him. i had only myself to be blamed in this situation

he will be 17m this mth.

How old is urs? what do you do to distract?

Bloom, lol mine too. He is crazy over iphone (i dun have iPad n I refuse to buy cos I know I wld end up giving in to him). He is 21 mths now. He love Elmo, so either I take out his Elmo books or I will on music if I m at home. If we r outside walking, we will play "games" eg like run n catch daddy if he is tired of walking. Then suddenly he would get all excited n run after daddy. But can only last awhile lol.

hello all, i feel so darn tired and want to puke all the time. . and i called my CL and she is already booked for DEC. WHAT!!!

my #1 is bugging me to play w her but i really got no energy.. save meeee....

just went for 2nd checkup today. 1st check up only can detected the sac, no fetus.. today i saw my baby and heartbeat
feeling soooo tired compared to the first pregnancy.. -_-

I feel tired all the time too....

Been having diarrhea every morning for past 3 days. Hopefully things will become better after today though I just had durian... Hehehe ...

All the MTBs, jia you jia you!!!

Caroline05, I'm Joyce's husband. I've tried several brands, but currently using Healthy Origins Probiotics 30billion CFUs. I'll usually get probiotics based on the following criteria:
1. Contains L.Acidophilus (other strains are a bonus)
2. High potency - at least a few billion CFU, otherwise it's no use
3. Stabilized and requires no refrigeration, otherwise by the time you eat them, they're all dead and inactive
4. Affordable

I buy mine from iherb, which is an online supplement store based in the USA that ships to Singapore for very cheap. The direct link to the product is http://www.iherb.com/Healthy-Origins-Probiotic-30-Billion-CFU-s-60-Vcaps/19518

Just a plug, if you're a new user you can use my coupon code SIH278 to get a US$5-10 discount.

hi joyce.. the scan show im only 7 weeks plus. but my last period is 27 feb.. i use the due date calculator by right im 9 weeks plus already.. so weird.. if im really at my 7 weeks, i got pregnancy symptoms really early at 2 weeks plus.

Joyce to Mi baby: 7 weeks plus can see baby and hear heartbeat! That's great, means I'll be able to see/hear baby this Friday at the gynae too

Aspialle, my edd is dec 4. I think baby should be due end November so I can still be in time after confinement to accompany my #1 for her school
and also celebrate Xmas and new year

Jellow- my sac is at 0.76cm at 5wk 1day. EDD is at 1 jan 2013. But dr said is still too early to determine the EDD.

----- ----- ------

I broke the news to my mum. Hais as expected, she din congrat me. Instead argue with me how can #2 be born this yr end... Blah blah... N ended with " how to cope like that "

She also just kept quiet when I asked her to oonsider looking after #2. I guess I have to make my own arrangement.

Pommes: Lols my sac is 1.29cm last Thursday and is at 4w plus my edd is 31 dec. hmm Gynae say this edd is based on the size of sac. And therefore not accurate.

Hmm what about your mil? Is she willin to help? Lols tell your mum your baby is in time after full month take another Chinese new year angbao!

jellow - wow! that's so much bigger and yet you're at 4wks +? I checked my #1 pregnancy time. The sac was at 1.5cm when I was 6wk 2days.

Which gynae did you go to btw?