(2012/07) Jul 2012

Qin I went to see doc n got some herbal lozenges which supposedly doesn't hurt baby. It was very effective n cured w just 1. Maybe at third tri our bodies naturally heaty? But western doc sure say it's flu virus.

Oh dear seems like many of you are falling sick! Must really take care. Drink LOADS of water and take more of the liang stuff ... and errmmm... avoid AMK area! Got bad case of dengue there. Take care!!!

I just had my 32 week scan yesterday and baby is now 2kg which is ok but I've gained 3kg over 4 weeks despite controlled diet. I'm telling myself that it's all water retention. Hehhee...

My baby's position is down and moving towards the pelvic already. Gynae says to prepare myself for an early delivery. Most likely by 37/38 weeks will pop already. So it's 5 to 6 more weeks for me! Yikes! Too fast too fast! So looking forward and yet apprehensive at the same time.

Hi Qin
I heard tt we cant take strepsil fr one of forum mates so better dun take.. Drink more water or take vit C is the best... Take care..

Thks cherish.. Hope my water retention will be better soon..;)

Hi lili
Lucky not daily.. Anyway, i will start take some coconut juice now to cool my body..;) thk u n hope u recover soon..

May I know we can just take whatever coconut juice e stalls selling? Or has specific type? thanks

Bhoo,
It's fast. Feeling excited for u too ;)

Is it really necessary to celebrate bb's full mth? I have attended quite a few this year and the poor mummies all looked tired and the babies all sleeping in their cots and most of the guests there (myself included) were bored! Just faster eat and leave w/i an hr type of affair.

I'm not really keen on having a full mth party lei. Unless I miraculously lose all my pregnancy weight and look super radiant....

Joanne, when are your twins due? It's amazing that you only started to experience water retention in your feet. I'm expecting only 1 and I already have super swollen feet since 26 week or so.

Thanks liligal, cherish n joanne. If get worst, i will go see doc

Anyone go for growth scan already? How is it like?

My nutrientist controlling my weight now. She said i cannot exceed 11kg thru out the pregnancy so as to avoid any complication.

Hmmz old folks said drink coconut juice, bb come out will be very clean.

hi cherish and liligal,

thank you for sharing. yeah i oso din really play attention to all these last time when i go for my cousin's full month. my parents quite relaxed and say up to me cos she oso dun wan me to be too stressed up. and yes, i rememeber attending my cousin side one, only buffet ...no red eggs, AKK etc hehehe....

HI Qin, for collegues, i will surely give cake or vouchers cos is the company culture hahaha ..yeah u and liligal take good care of yourself cos we are in our last lap now.

liligal : have u done the VGS test huh? i am oso chatting in June thread and saw your name too..seem like we jus got the feeling rite? hehehe

oh yes talking of coconut juice, which week we start drinkgin huh? what type of coconut huh? green or thai huh?

Joanne: we signed up for 21 yrs n got more vouchers

Laura: u got any gd deals from the fair??

Liligal: hope that u are feeling better today.. I also got hardened blood in my nose yesterday.. Dunno why..

Any mummies can share on their csect experience?? I must b mentally prepared now..

Sunbelle: you can take the small coconut. NTSC having discount; 2 for 2.20 now

I have not plan anything for NB full mth yet!! Must plan now or we will have time to plan during confinement? Anyway I just want to invite family members on,y.. Keeping it simple

hi J03,

i din sign up the 21 yrs one hehe i sign up the yearly plan one hehe 1500 K upfront ..then one hundred over for each month subsequently hehe mine is cordlife...

Hi ourlovestory
How much voucher u got? Me didnt get the camera, request for voucher.. Got $350 vouchers.. Think the camera dun worth $299 right?

Hi bhoo
Excited for u neh...for twins, due date suppose to be at 37th wk which is beginning of July.. Feeling tired easily now.. Leg no strength to hold my body now.. Think i will start resting after next wk of work.. Hope to hold bbies in there abit longer more... Just now i check my son past record, surprise to know that at 34th wk, my boy is already at 3.125kg... At 30week, he weighs only 2 kg.. One kg plus gain within one mth..

Today hb go buy coconut drink for me.. Cost $1.30 at sieng siong only..

nope lah all along i only looking at cord life cos i find that hard to find any stemcord rep too.....when u seeing dr loh again? u mean we can drink can coconut huh? heheee

Philips Avent Manual Breast Pump Out & About Set.

Used less than 5 times due to absence of breast milk.

Bought at $159, letting go at $80!

Item in great condition with full accessories in Original Packaging.

Self collection at East area. Pls sms / whatsapp Jean @ 91122351.

ourlovestory: Bought a Pigeon multi sterilizer set @ $188 and top-up another $12 worth of items to make the bill $200 to get a few free items, bath tub, pacifier clips, pillow, stroller mat to keep bb in position...etc. I think that's I got. Now we're only left with bb car seat which can wait. Then we went over to hall 5A's Electronics Fair for more good deals.

I'm been eating junk food for today. Fishball mee, you tiao, orange juice, koi bubble tea n waffle wif chocolate! Oh no.. My weight going up up up!!

I haven't started drinking coconut juice yet.

Qin
Cannot exceed 11kg for ur pregnancy?! I exceeded this fig liao! Hope can shed extra weight after delivery. Hehe

Laura,
u more or less settled bb stuff liao!! Can hv good good rest n get ready for ur edd
salute u that u still hv energy to shop. I'm so lazy n get tired easier. age is catching up me. 不认老不行了。

I bought avente bottles twin pack and suddenly realised prob silly to do so. Cos if latching for first month, so I dont need those bottles right? Btw whats the advabtange of using wide neck and standard bottles?

Sunbelle wat is VGS? Me hope bb girl cn b out early!

Jo, I signed up for stemcord but cnt rem details oredi. When I get better I go check.

Qin, why only 11kg? My last one I gained 16kg.

Bhoo,Ur gynae good leh cn predict exact wk then at least cn get prepared. #1 I waited n waited n waited till nearly EDD then come out. Oredi sian halfway liao. I super agree on the full mth party. I dun think anybody truly enjoy it. Oh now i remembered, i had a baby dedication then also so slightly diff. But doubt I'm goin do it again in such big scale.

Thanks ladies. Me thot ok liao but this morn woke up w sore throat n kp dry coughing. Eyes like puffy not sure if it's due to too much sleep.

Aiya still hvnt wash #1 clothes for #2!!!

Tanny, 1st few wks me milk not fully sufficient n bb crying so hv to gv formula n expressed milk which i was advised to hv one on standby. So the wide neck vs normal bottle kinda help later if u wana truly direct BF. Later on if u nd rest n dun wana feed direct at night bottles r needed for dads to use but I direct mostly.

Laura: I thought I was the only weird mum who could hear sounds when my girl kicked! So I'm not alone
Mine would sound like bursting of a bubble on a bubble wrap.

tanny: I don't think it's silly to be ready....in case baby doesn't latch well (worst case scenario of cos) the bottles will come in handy...that's what an experience mummy fren told me. She admitted when she had her first baby, she was so obssessed with breastfeeding (and it didn't help when her milk only came in after 3 weeks) that she thinks formular milk is like poison to the baby. Now she looks back and laughs at herself. So she told me confidence that we'll all produce breastmilk is one thing, but being prepared for the worst is also important....so am gonna be ready with a small tin of formular milk and some feeding bottles.....juz in case

Cherish, Liligal, i m not sure why 11kg. She got a chart and based on my weight and height, i was told not to exceed 11kg. When i asked the nutrientist why? She said to prevent complication in birth.

Arh... Weather so hot! This is terrible, wonder how to tahan during confinement.

Tanny, the bottles will be useful. My friend told me even if latch on, after finish latching, still have to pump so as to tell breast that milk is not enough, got to produce more.

marie, i also wrote long ago leh on hearing sounds from inside... but mine is more like her cracking bones inside. hahaha.. same for my #1.

qin, yes, agree with the pump after latching for 1st few weeks. i was also thinking abt the weather. i can't help but hv fan directly blowing at me but now feeling that my ears are abit blocked and possibly due to all the fan blowing. but then again, during our confinement, we are supposed to feel cold right?

tks everyone! my hubby asks me if latch, why still need to buy bottles.. suddenly i also tot ya hor.. but i agree shld hv the bottles just in case. i bought a pair for now - 0mth.

So means i got to buy like a pair of bottles for 0 mth, another pair for 1mth. And the next range is 3mth (avente).

i think im almost done with my shopping. at 32 weeks now, really feel tired more easily.

bhoo : i hv been eating a lot of sweet stuff and bubble tea so much that im also worried abt my weight now..

any veteran can tell me why are there 2 types of bottles in the market - standard vs wide neck? pros and cons? whats the purpose? im quite confused by it. some say use the wide mouth is breastfed so switches nicely between the breast and wide neck bottles. errrmm, why? i thought its the teats that makes the difference for the bb, so bottles also too?

No doubt I'm having unstable BP (high high normal high normal normal high) but I still have the energy to drive for long distance (west to east and back), cook and do the laundry.

Today is my week 35. Cheers!

tanny, scroll up to see my comments on tommy tippee.. it's wide necked.

laura, you r still ze best. i can't even walk properly now. & dun dare to drive too long. so getting hubby to do all the driving. poor guy, he has to drive me to work, leave car there and take bus back. then i drive bk myself in evening. like fri, when i was sick, he has to take mrt to my office, to take the car and send us back. u plan to drive until? scary to drive when u hv labor pains leh.. and u never know when it will hit. better be careful.

lili_gal: Labour pain? Dunno when will that be for me cos seems like bb's position still quite high for me so until now I can still do some stuff but squating is quite challenging now and I didn't bathe my doggy ever since I confirm pregnant so poor girl only getting lousy bathing service from her dad.
Now my only worry is my coming Fri appt with gynea. If my bp still hanging around there I'm afraid he might not let me go home but lock me up in hospital immediately and arrange to slaughter me the following day. *scary thoughts*

lili_gal: But I don't know why hb always say my bp reading and bb's estimated weight from his abdominal circumference is all because bb is trying to be funny and controlling these numbers. For example, today my bp reading is back to normal but of course I followed gynea's instruction and double my pills intake for my bp, and also on Fri when I was driving on the way to TMC I niam to my bb not to grow too big so that doctor uncle won't scold mommy. Seems like he can understand and his weight didn't increase too much from his last measurement. Very bizzare.

hahahhaa.. laura, i think won't lah. gynaes will always need our permission and have to sign lotsa forms on the spot unless u or ur baby is at high risk already. but be careful abt driving cos when the contractions strike, pending on ur threshold of pain, it can be quite dangerous i think. ok.. i hv low pain threshold. when it struck for #1, i was motionless for tat few mins and luckily it was midnight and we were at home.

btw, on the dog, does urs roam in the house or u hv a big house w yard etc? #1, we din stay w parents. now w parents, i had my old dog w us and in a flat. i was wonderin if i put bb in the rocker which is low, what will the dog do? and sometimes it's hard to be watching 100%.

laura, oohhh.. my hubby TOTALLY buy that theory on talking to bb. he read some book on it and kp scolding me for not talking to bb. apparently they understand now and will behave. i jus find it weird to talk to my tummy even tho i know bb is inside.

lili_gal: I'm not worried about my doggy with my boy but you know, older ppl would prefer 畜生 to stay away from their precious grandson because they think 畜生 is dirty. Anyway, hb also agree with me having my dog walking around the house freely and she knows where she can or cannot access. Old dog liao so she also quite boh chup of the excitement in the house.

liligal: I never thought of the labour pain thingy while driving...but now that u mentioned...it sure is unsafe hor. I only found it very difficult to check if there were cars coming at filter lanes...cos have to turn my body

lili_gal: Hey! Don't be surprised but they really know what we're thinking even without talking to them. Try talking to your girl in a higher pitch, confirm she'll response in some way. Mine does
The last time when I "negotiated" with my boy to give me beautiful AC (abdominal circumference) reading and I will let him eat Mac Donald's, he really only increased by 100g during that bi-weekly appt, but when I let him have his "reward" by eating Mac Donald's big breakfast, my next appt his weight shot up very high and I kena gynea nagging again. So, talk to your girl bah

marie, yah!! worse is sometimes i can daze out while driving. preggy brains or i'm seriously too drained after work. also when reversing the car, hard to turn. btw, u still use normal seat belt? i actually brought those clips to kiap the area around the abdomen area so tat i have more breathing space. top cannot lah.

laura, ok ok.. i think i shall try. first ask her not to kick me so hard and TURN to face backwards. eh, i think Macs seemed to reward u more than the bb leh... hahahhaha...

lili_gal: I cut down on Mac long ago. In fact, I've temporarily 绝交 with many of my favourite snacks just for him. “世上只有妈妈好。。” Yesterday walked pass the fruit stall and smell the heavenly durian. Oh..Oh...Oh...my favourite liulian also cannot eat. (T.T)

Lili_gal, i just scrolled back to see ur comments that ur tommee tippee bottles can't fit into tommee tippee warmer. I bought tommee tippee warmer. Can nuk or avent bottles fit the warmer?

By right same brand bottle should fit the same brand warmer?

Need help. How do u open e coconut which u bought fr supermarket? Hubby bought one just now n when I thot I can drink to quench thrist, he said he can't open! My coconut is sitting in fridge now. So near to drink but so far!!

cherish: Just use a normal cutting knife to chop open can already. No need to use those big cleaver. Tilt the knife a little bit and chop onto it briskly and wala! Coconut juice

Tanny, wide will force bb mouth to open wide. Abt same size as breast. U cn go check out tommy tippee one. V v wide n fat. Even pigeon wide is not that wide I think.

Tea, we tried the 0mth bottle very short n fat can't fit in properly like kena stuck. Normal bottles n taller tommy tippee is ok. Yah we thot same brand shud but when we tried at baby kingdom it didn't leh. Even got the senior sales assistant to try. Odd.

Cherish, me standby enfalac cos most doctors use that accordingly to my doc frens. It's the most fatty of the lot n most exp!!!

Laura your jue jiao v v funny!!!!! Hahahaha The only thing I miss v much is alcohol!!!!!

anyone looking for day nanny? i have a nanny looking for day care confinement. she is very experienced. trained with the hospitals in singapore. from malaysia. normal rates. no exorbitant rip-offs. PM me asap as all the annies are taken up quickly this year.

she is also looking for live-in confinement, so let me know if you need live-in or day care only.

i am not an agent and not related to any nanny. i am not making a single cent from recommendations. just want to help out and to save people from companies like PEM ripping people off.

seems like there's a lot of interest in the Britax B-Agile stroller. I did a review of the stroller but the thread seems to have disappeared.

It is an excellent stroller. If there is a request for the review of the stroller, I am happy to write it again.

For those who want to get the stroller, this is the information you need.

1) are you looking for the 3-wheel of 4-wheel?
3-wheel is USA version.
4-wheel is UK version.

2) the 3-wheel i bought at wholesale price but the wholesaler said they will not bring in anymore 3-wheel.
the 4-wheel you can get from robinson.
the 3-wheel you can get from paragon (the first few years on level 5)

3) robinson and paragon sell at retail prices which is about $500 for the stroller alone - no car seat or attachments. but it is a very sturdy vehicle and should last a long time.

4) the 4-wheel is heavier than the 3-wheel.

let me know if you need more info.