(2012/06) Jun 2012

Oops.. just saw the details posted by Petrina.. It's in July... would have delivered by then.. still relevant to attend or not? :-/

Nattan,

I passed my urine test but because suddenly my baby grow much faster and seems like Gynae nowadays will recommend a GTT scan, so I went at 5+ mths and found that I body cannot digest/dissolve glucose fast enough. Failed my 2nd hr glucost test. Which means I have to be very strict on sugar and carbos and oily stuffs.

<font color="aa00aa">groovy2009,
Have leh. I attended the Parentcraft at TMC and notes were given. They even gave us some recipes to increase milk supply.</font>

seems lik thers quite a few mummies here expectin #2 too.
glad i m nt alone. I m also extremely tired. Bt at nite, i cant slp!

Hi Chris, I'm the opposite of you.. I often feel sleepy and tired and I've been going to bed at 10pm at least twice last week and sleeping for more than 8hrs... suddenly my life is just eat and sleep... hope I don't gain too much weight too fast :p

moi, not sure leh. My friend said no notes. She attended in 2010. Which year you attend? Becoz I wanted to borrow her notes last time just to see the content and whether it's useful to attend antenatal class or not, but she said they don't give any notes leh.. Or maybe that time my friend forgot where she put her notes already. hm..

Maybe if anyone consider taking in TMC ask first lah huehehe...

Groovy,
My frens attended TMC pre-natal class also with notes. Last round she forwarded the note to me though I attended Mt A classes.

ioshita

Yup, maybe coz yours got no spotting. I was spotting for my #1. Before that, I had a biochemical pregnancy, so gynae had to take extra care with me.

angela

Aiyah, don't imagine things gal!

I'm so sick of taking pills. In addition to duphaston, I have the folic acid, &amp; multi-vit. Come 2nd tri, there's fish oil. ugh!

groovy

I attended antenatal class at TMC in 2009 &amp; they had notes.

Hello Charmaine

Waves...

Sleeping

I envy those expecting #1, can just sleep &amp; sleep. I have this super active, crazy #1 in his terrible twos. Wakes up at 6plus everyday rain or shine. Noisy &amp; very active. How to rest! Boo hoo!

Hi Jul,

My no.1 also born in 2009. also in her terrible 2 now. but recently she is more sticky to his dad instead of me.

Topicrem

Argh! Why is so difficult to get this?

I called KKH Outpatients Pharmacy &amp; they said they don't carry it. I told them someone has bought it before, they went to check, &amp; came back to tell me they really don't have it.

loshita

How old is yours? Mine is Aug 2009.

All along he has been stickier to his father, but he still makes a lot of noise lol. Plus Hubs needs to work OT &amp; on weekedns - been busy like this for the past month plus already. Am really feeling very very tired &amp; drained.

I do wonder how I'll cope with 2 kids
This one's an accident, so really unplanned for.

Dear Ladies, the link i posted was for 2011.. I haven't receive the 2012 notification yet.
i already emailed them. shld be responding soon.

Re Duphaston: i m still on it. once a day. supposed to be 3x a day. but i told gynae i no spotting.. so he also can't force since i always forget to eat meds.

Moi: i went to Prof Chong once only. decided to stick with my #1 gynae in glens instead.
he's good. my fren is a doula working with him.

Re seminars: i seldom remember what they say. i guess i watch alot of tv during preg with #1 so bathing n bfing was already drilled in me. i went cause goodies were appealing.. hehe.
in 2008, they had a box of wet wipes, a 3pcs starter bottle kit. plus some others. already cost more than entrance fee.

#1,
Mine is Jul 2010. A Aug 2010 MTB though.
He keep sticking to me and have to carry him when go out. He push away daddy and refuse maid somethings..Arh!!

Chris,
I am so envy of you eat and sleep. I got trouble eating and sleeping. Vomitting like 6 times a day and sleep time hungry. eat already cannot sleep.

Jul,
My gynae used to sell me Topicream now he is recommending Elastic... something. Sorry got to go home and check.

TMC course
I attended TMC one at AMK hub got the 4 books with me from Mdm wong boi boi.

Jul,

My gynae give me for Tri 1 - folic+B6, multi vit, Calcium x2 and fish oil

Tri2 - folic+B6 x2, multi vitx3, Calciumx2 and fish oilx2, now cause I cannot eat- oat x2 and piles x2.
I want to die coz cannot eat then eat all these pills is like hell..

Dear mummies I'm SO SO SO hungry today.
the stomach like never full.
running out of things to eat

I still have no sign of MS. Thanks God! If got MS everyone will know I preg. Today is 8 weeks le. So excited to see my baby. Next week can see him\her again.

My gynae nv give me any medicine to eat except remind me to take folic acid that I had. Should I take more?

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies, it's been a while since I last posted. Went for my first trim screening this morning. Sad to say, bb's NT reading was on the high side - 2.9mm - at 12 weeks. As my overall risk of DS was 1 in 13k, the next possible reasons could be heart abnormalities. Have been scheduled to do cardiac scan in 3 wks time.

Antenatal class at TMC gave notes when I attended in 2010. Mrs Wong's gd! I would recommend it for 1st time mummies (and daddies).</font>

Hi Chin, me too!! So hungry today... I had 2 baos for breakfast + tea, but when I reached my workplace, I had to buy another sausage bun + kopi for my 2nd breakfast. Less than 3 hrs later, I had lunch.. mixed vege rice and I finished the whole packet!! Still feel a bit unsatisfied... maybe later need to eat tea break.. hehe

My gynae also never gave me anything since my GP already prescribed folic acid. You don't have to take further supplements unless doctor says so. Just eat more fruit and veges. I drink freshly squeezed vege/fruit juice almost everyday.

Hi Sapphire, what's NT reading and DS? I hope your baby will be fine. Don't stress too much ya... continue to take care of your health.

Petrina thanks for the link! Saw the Ritmo Advance sound system. Have been looking at it in amazon for quite sometime. Still thinking should I get it. Amazon is much cheaper but I worry about the voltage.

Nattan wow that is a lot!! I only ate 2 slice of pizza, a bowl of soup with all the fish balls etc quite a big bowl, milo, chocolate. I'm craving for a bowl of mee rebus.

I'm trying to control what I take because I'm already overweight and doc only allow me to gain 10-12kg. Control!!

What fruit juice u take everyday? I have friends that advise me not to take too much fruit juice and it will cause phlegm for the baby.

charmaine

Mine was suddenly very sticky to me when I was expecting the one due in Nov. Then when it went to heaven, he stopped sticking to me. But for this one, he's like.. no reaction *scratch head*

Thanks, but I really need Topicrem. Think that Elastic.. thing's also carried by my gynae. But it's more of a stretch mark cream than moisturiser. I need the moisturiser coz the skin's really dry.

Wow.. I thought fish oil, multivits &amp; calcium is for Tri2 onwards? Ok I shall stop complaining abt my gynae lol

chin

If your gynae didn't prescribe, it prob means you don't need it. Don't anyhow take meds, later OD.

sapphire

Don't worry k? Think positive. Just thick NT scan only, could come up to nothing.

fuyutsuki

Think TMC recommends to attend from ard 20 weeks. Theirs is 5 lessons + 1 talk, if I rem correctly.

nattan, chin

I'm also in the same situation. Hungry.. &amp; I feel nauseous if I don't eat. I think I must have put on 4kg by now *sigh*

loshita

Oh, our kids will have the same age gap

Jul, My gynae might still carry Topicream. My visit for oscar just last week so I only back on 16th Dec if no big issues.
He is selling very ex like SGD33 last time at 2010.
You interested?

My gynae is the type make sure you got enough nutrients. Fruit juice is a avoid liquid for me because too much glucose.. so envy you gals..

Chin, you also ate a lot leh... 2 slice of pizzas and fish ball soup! Was that for breakfast or lunch?? I'm going to cook meatball pasta for dinner tonight.. yum yum...

I drink mixed vege and fruit juice like spinach+celery+apple+lemon+ ginger (adapted from Dr Oz' green drink recipe) or orange+carrot, apple+guava+celery. I never read anything about juices causing phlegm in babies... But I recently read that pregnant women should avoid bittergourd. Fortunately I didn't juice the bittergourd I bought. I tried the juice a few weeks ago in Malaysia (before I knew I was pregnant) and it tasted very good, so I thought of juicing it at home. Bittergourd can cause miscarriage
kao_scared.gif
Luckily I went to check before I juice...

charmaine

My gynae also carries Topicrem at the same price as yours. I'm trying to see if I can find it cheaper in Singapore. Else, I'll order online. I've ordered before, &amp; shipping only 1 bottle is slightly cheaper than my gynae's price.

Thought if more mummies here are interested, we can share shipping &amp; minimise cost?

Jul> noted. Doc did mention the reason is because scare the pills too big later vomit.

Nattan> lol. Pizza is for breakfast. Fishball soup for lunch. Still thinking of baking something for tea break. :p I think the juice is more on orange. If u are taking juice on veg shouldn't be a problem. But have to wash them really clean

Re topicrem: i not diligent. so i dun buy cream. just rub tummy when itchy.. #1 already have marks. so i heck. anyway i dun wear bikini, plus hb not niao.. hehe..

adventurous with iced chocolate drink from OldTown Cafe today.. end up merlion lunch n drink. craving banitto pocket from KFC now...
my dragon baby is past chinese food.. wahh..

I'm planning to make my own oil for the stretchmarks. Anyway is just making the tummy "oil" LOL.

Planning to use organic grapeseed oil or rice bran oil and mix with essential oil that is safe for pregnancy and use.

Topicrem Spree

Ok everyone

I just did a quick check. I can get Topicrem to ship direct to me at below #$30 for 500ml. The tube we get from the gynae is 200ml, if I rem correctly.

I need to do some exploring to see if I can get it cheaper if I ship to vPost, rather than direct.

Let me know if anyone's interested? This is the one : http://www.leguidesante.com/topicrem-ultra-mlsion-ultra-hydratante-flpompe-500ml/products_6458.html

I think I can ship at most 8 or 9 bottles to not incur GST (I'll do some exploring to see if I can cut down the shipping)

Interested in Topicrem 500ml :
1) Jul - 3 bottles

That's a good idea Chin.. provided you are past 1st trimester. I also have a lot of grapeseed oil and essential oils at home. You have any recipe to share? Nowadays I only use peppermint to stave off nausea and lavender for sleep.

Hi Jul, is this Topicrem for stretch marks too? Or just a moisturiser? The website doesn't seem to say it's for stretch marks?

nattan

It's mainly a moisturiser, but I've read in this forum that many mummies swear by it to prevent stretch marks. Like I was sharing also, I used Topicrem for my #1 &amp; I don't have any stretch marks.

My thinking is that if you keep the skin moisturised, it'll be more elastic, so can stretch better hence fewer stretch makrs? Just my non-medical professional explanation lah haha

I think some mummies use it for their babies who have eczema.

Jul,

I will be interested later nearer to delivery when I breastfeed coz that one can apply when breastfeeding.. I just got the big tube elastic... so I am not getting topi la.

Hi mtb.

Can I join ur gp too? I'm expecting my third child now n my edd shd b end jun 12.

Well my first is now 4yrs old n my 2nd is hmm 9 mth old. Lol. Both girls.

charmaine

Sure, no worries

I need it now, even though I bought a tube from gynae 2 weeks ago. Worried the stretch marks will appear before I start taking care

baywater

Hello

Topicrem Spree

The nett price for Topicrem shd be ard S$32. The cheapest shipping is direct to me by the company (takes abt 5 working days to reach me)Will let you all know when I get my exchange rate by the credit card co. Hopefully it'll be cheaper than $32. This is cheaper than half price from my gynae's. Gosh! I shd have been a gynae lol

Let me know if anyone's interested? This is the one : http://www.leguidesante.com/topicrem-ultra-mlsion-ultra-hydratante-flpompe-500ml/products_6458.html

Interested in Topicrem 500ml :
1) Jul - 3 bottles
2) Nattan - 1 bottle
3)fuyutsuki - 1 bottle
5)

Maybe TMC indeed have ante natal notes lah..
Now I'm sorta remember I'm asking the husband of my friend becoz last time he drive me and hubby home after we visit my friend.
Maybe the husband forgotten about the notes already. Huehehe.. MAN!

chin

Are you a sAHM? I asked coz I notice you mention you're baking in the afternoon. Sorry if I'm too KPO k?

groovy

You asked the husband? Asked wrong person liao. Would be surprised he didn't sleep in the class lol

Fish Oil

Aiyah now I remember. I gotta get fish oil. I normally take Nordic Naturals coz it's supposed to be 3rd party testing, free from heavy metals etc.

My GP lah. Scared me by saying her daughter got autism, &amp; she suspected she took too many 'polluted' fish oils. She recommended me Nordic Naturals, so I was taking that from the 5th mth. before that, I took gynae's fish oil for 2 mths.

I like the Nordic Naturals one. Got strawberry flavour hee. Anyone interested?

Jialat. Hubs is gonna faint when he sees my credit card bill.

Just wondering is the Palmer cocoa butter cheaper than this Topicream?

I'm thinking of getting one too.. Last time I have lots of stretch marks becoz I keep scratching :S. My hand's very very itchy, if tummy itchy I immmediately scratch leh..

My mum doesn't have any stretch mark too. Hix. She in the end told me after I gave birth, if itchy don't scratch with finger nails, must only rub rub your tummy.

Last time I underestimate stretch mark and only use a bit of those Palmer's cocoa butter every day becoz I got lots of samples when attending baby fair. huhu

Im now at 8weeks, had my first appointment with Dr benjamin tham and the scan showed baby doing well. Phew. EDD expected to be on 28th June.

Its my #1 and I'm sooo excited.

You mummies seem to know so much. I think I have alot more to learn

Hi Groovy, I'm using Palmer's Cocoa Butter.. it's indeed cheaper. I got mine for $20+ a tube from Robinson's (they're having discounts on toiletries right now). Only thing is it's a bit sticky and strong smelling, but the smell will wear off.. need to really massage into the skin cos I put about 50cents amt on each side of my hips every time (kiasu??). My mum had a lot of stretch marks, esp on her tummy. I really hope I don't end up like her
kao_scared.gif

Hi Jul, necessary to take fish oil? What about cod liver oil or eat fresh oily fish like salmon and cod? I am very lazy to pop pills.. bought a lot of vitamins in the end also forgot to eat

Nattan> still reading in the essential oil part. But I know lavender is safe. Grapeseed oil alone can reduce stretchmarks. Essential oil only to relax and add on the smell.

Jul> yup im a SAHM