(2012/06) Jun 2012

dreamy,
seem like u r the 1st to pass the 1st tri. i will be in my 12wks nxt wed. my oscar is schedule on nxt fri, still dunno wanna go for that anot.

moi,
i'm 35 this yr. i oso wonder if i shld go amnio instead of doing the oscar. but my gynae only advise me to do oscar. maybe u shld ask ur gynae opinion.

FYI - http://www.lilsugar.com/Foods-Avoid-While-Pregnant-821510

sometimes i wonder those foods stated r mostly what i love.. do my baby puke them out due to health reasons? keke

Tinggy: when i was early ard 6-7wks, my baby was growing slowly. i was worried but my gynae wasn't. he said it's not easy to tell actual EDD cause every embryo grows at different stages n u have to take into consideration the usual MS symptoms.
so unless u eat helluva lot n baby not growing well, u dun have to worry much till it becomes foetus. then u can estimate growth better.

petrina

Yeah I know the tummy is stretching. I try not to scratch but it's hard you know? Sometimes subconsciously the fingernails will inch towards the itch & scratch scratch scratch lol

I was using Clarins oil - came highly recommended but didn't stop the itchiness. The itch only went off after I started using Topicrem.

nattan

My gynae said the itching is due to tummy stretching plus dryness. The cream helped to moisturise the skin. I itched for my #1 too, but I didn't get any stretch marks.

I don't know if we can get it anywhere else. I tried to look for it in Robinsons, Taka, Watson's Guardian etc but they don't carry it. Maybe I wasn't resourceful enough heehee.

moi

yes yes! That's Topicrem in your link.

The amnio test isn't compulsory, more of recommended if the mummy's age is >35.

I've decided not to go for the OSCAR. No point lah. Not as if I'll terminate. Besides OSCAR is just the statistics test. If high risk, still gotta do amnio or CVS. Might as well save the $200+

tinggy

Congrats! Don't worry, you could have ovulated later. The LMP EDD is just anestimate. Not everyone has a 28-day menstrual cycle.

Oh ya, ladies, i just went to update my stuff in the spreadsheet.. how come become chinese? then it dun seem to be adjustable...
my chinese is P/L lah..

Jul: the tube topicrem can be found in hospital pharmacies.
Clarins Oil is highly recommended. no stretch marks. but as u said, doesn't stop itch. so it has to be used b4 the itch starts.. hehe

Hi mummies. Is amazing that some of u feel something there. Is really better for mummies to work rather then to stay at home. I understand is giving the child the best but beside the money issue u all mention the other thing is the feeling of present in the society. I wanted to look for a job before I was ttc, but luck was not on my side. Alot of mummies who is working wanted to be a SAHM and those who are SAHM want to go work. Haiz. SAHM can have money drop down from sky is the best.

I find myself harder to concentrate nowadays. Like Monday when I attend some cake class, I simply cannot concentrate!! Usually I'm usually very sure what colors I want for my deco but Monday I was totally blank in my brain! And buying ingredients for dinner was walking blankly for at least 3-4 rounds in the supermarket.

I have been craving for soup recently. All kind of Chinese soup! I have been boiling fish soup for the past 2 days, n my hubby is going crazy over my soupy diet. I even dream that my mum cooking fish soup for me today!! Lol. Then I tell my husband and he give me the o(n_n"")o face.

My next checkup will be another week plus. Can't wait to see my baby. Hope he/she is doing good!

Haiz..
I think I have problem eating.. Every time eat abit, don't feel like eating anymore. Then get hungry every hour or two. The burping makes me so miserable..
Everyday don't know what to eat. Sometimes feel like eating junk food, sigh.. But have to control abit la..

May I know what do you all have for breakfast. I am quite sick of bread, biscuit, milk and Milo...

Hi Pris: i m suddenly lactose intolerant.. haha.. so i can't eat anything that is butter, cheese or milk based.
also my baby hates oil. so economical bee hoon etc is out.

i used to eat old chang kee curry puff for breakfast.
chee cheong fun is also an option.
today my baby let me eat KFC AM Twister Meal. *cross fingers* so far so good.

Ya priscilla, I also get tired of eating same kind of food, sometime I eat Mee Hoon instead of bread, or fish ball soup. I prefer more soupy food now. And crave for crystal jade porridge haha..

Now looking forward to finish first trimester, always feeling hungry and don't like the feeling. Today is my 9th week and I am eager to go see gynae tonight to see how's my baby doing. Hee

Enjoy lunch all mummies to be!

Hi pris, this morning I ate Wang. Had mee rebus, toast bread and milo. Days when I'm at home I will just walk to buy 2 bread from prima or DJ bakery. Then eat with ribena. I bought packet milo and milk. In case lazy I also bought cup noodles and tidbits.

If I'm hardworking, then I will cook simple porridge or noodles.

Me too cannot take anything that is oily!! I also cannot accept too much pork.

Hi Pris, I feel hungry every few hrs like you..my appetite is quite good though, so I eat practically anything! I try to stir clear of too-oily foods but I've had thosai, bak chang, nasi lemak and prata for breakfast recently :p Sometimes I have cereal with soy milk. For every meal, I must have carbo like rice or noodles with meat and veges, or will feel hungry very quickly. In between meals, I have light snacks like muesli bars or fresh fruit.

petrina

Oh! I didn't know Topicrem is sold at hosp pharmacies. Any idea how much is it in KKH pharmacy?

Wanna see if it's worth ordering from overseas. It's definitely cheaper than my gynae, but just want a quick check with other local prices.

nattan, pris

I'm also hungry all the time. In fact, when I eat, my nausea feels better. I prefer savoury food though - roasted duck rice, popey's fried chkn, econimical beehoon & mee with luncheon meat etc. really not into yong tau fu at all. Jialat. Have not dared to weight myself lol

Nasi lemak has coconut milk. Can eat? Have been avoiding as I thought not very good.
Would like to eat and drink the following but have avoided so far- chilli crab, sushi, rojak, penang laksa, teh, coke, sugar cane juice.
Like a lot of food don't feel like eating and those that I feel like having, cannot have!

Sunnie gal : my mum say rojak is no no, die die no! I also crave for coke leh my fav so once a week my hubby see me so poor thing let me drink a few slips or most half a can max. Lol.

I'm also using clarins oil, no itch for me yet..

Chin: I also craving for soups!!

Fiona, I'm glad to hear that Dr Tan Tiam Chye is nice, his name is on my appointment card of my next visit on Monday, got to ask him what is the spotting I'm getting everyday!

Yotsuba, I'll check then. Thanks.

Jul, I was even gave seat on mrt when I wore maxi dress haha. I'm only 8w tomorrow!

Chin, I also like soup nowadays, I even had beef soup for three days in a row!

Hi MTBs

I would like to recommend my CL who did for me last CNY. She is available on early Jan 2012 as a MTB had cancel her service due to an unforseen reason.
She has been booked for end Apr 2012 confinement for 40days. By 1 June she should be available.

You need not apply any pass for her as she is holding on to a LT social visit pass in SIN for 5years.

She is neat, clean & hygenic and very pro to breastfeed. She cooking are superb and she is not calculative.

She even volunteered in making red eggs and even cooked extra food for my babies 1st month party.

Her charges are according to the market rate. Is has been no regrets in hiring her as my CN.

I am not getting any commission from her as I called her to check what food to cook for my babies as i am a first time mum also.

Lastly, she 'niang' very delicious rice wine too...

PM me if you need her contact...

Wishing you a smooth delivery...

Dear mummies, I'm letting go of maternity pant extenders cos I'm showing quite fast so only used a few times. Letting go cheaply. PM me if you are interested, thanks.

Oh many mummies like soup!!! Is a soupy Dragon!!

I really stay clear from oily food. Best if no oil. This weekend going to hv steamboat! Yum yum.

Pris: I can't take Thai express Tom yum too spicy sia! And all along I am not a chili fan. U can? Those hawker centers kind not so spicy.. I crave my husband will go find and buy. He bought 2 stores not so spicy ones before for me. I ask him and let u know.. But Its near tanjong pagar there

Sunnie_Gal, I think coconut milk is ok, but don't take too much cos it's high in fats. Coconut juice on the other hand is too cooling and not so good. I read that you can drink it closer to your EDD to help with your delivery. As for the other foods you listed, I've not eaten them except penang laksa (from Old Town), teh and coke. I still drink a kopi a day else really cannot make it thru the day :p I am planning to eat chilli crab for my anniversary next month.. :D So far, the gynae just warn against raw seafood.. anything else is ok in moderation.

Cleopatra, I love tom yum also.. just had it yesterday! Hehee...

I can't take in much spicy food too.
Do u all experience burping? I think I have slot of gas.. And I think my gastric not so gd.. Always feel hungry, but can't eat much.. Worst is, sometimes I burp, my sour gastric juice will come out too..
Real miserable..

Priscilla, i oso have lots of burping, feel hungry but can't eat much else feel like vomiting. So sian, think i lose weight and i am the skinny type

<font color="aa00aa">I'm also the skinny. My weight is only 40 kg and appetite isn't really good. Can't eat my usual dinner well and craves for instant noodles! Feels hungry every 2 hours but can't eat everytime due to work schedule.

I do crave for food that are stronger in taste (e.g. laksa) at times though they're not healthy.

Vomitted after eating bread from a particular bakery (twice on different occasions) - I shall not patronise it again as I think baby does not like it.</font>

Luckily in this pregnancy I don't experience much burping. But it causes me can't go to see GP becoz of the burping and ask for MC. hahaha..

Last time I used to do that because it's so horrible.. I can burp almost the whole day!!

And I found cannot eat too much of this as it will make the burping more horrible
1. Spaghetti (either the beef or the spaghetti or the tomato is the bad one :S)
2. too much soup
3. minced beef or too much beef
4. too much tomato

I don't eat all those 4 items nowadays..

Chloe,
I was given duphaston too throughout my 3mths. Am 12wks today. I had miscarriage in Mar'11 so i guess Dr Adrian gave me lotsA duphaston to stablise the baby? haA! My sis &amp; other colleagues didn't take those tablets. They only had the basic folic plus the multi-vitamins.

As usual, everytime i see Dr Adrian, 1st Q asked; "Got cramps/bleeding?" Hmmm.....

Ya I burp or pass gas quite frequently... To ease the bloatiness, ginger helps.. I add ginger to freshly squeezed juice (eg carrot &amp; orange). It really helps with nausea as well.

For those mummies with poor appetite, try taking some red date tea (just add a few red dates to hot water or boil with water, add a little rock sugar). It will help with your circulation and appetite.. hope this helps!

Dreamy_gal!!

I was called in again within mins right after the Oscar Scan. Gan chiong of cos. Thought what happened. The doctor said haF to RE-SCAN to DOUBLE CHECK on 'something'. Another senior came in &amp; so thats when they explained what the WHITE LINES were.

Well as u mentioned, maybe there's NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT. Sigh~ don't know eh. See how laaa. My next check up ish on 28th Nov. Hopefully by then those white lines disappear?? Hurhur~

Since u just had ur Oscar scan yest., so hw many wks now? 12wks too? ^^

Hi Angela,

Yup i juz passed 12 wks...
Wah sounds scary from wat u describe... no wonder u r worried! But dun worry abt it too much yah. If not schedule earlier appt.

My next appt is 15 Dec. Tat is like such a long time! Really tempted to get the doppler. heehee

Tinggy,

Since ur Dr had given U positive feedback that ur BB's heartbeat ish strong, maybe u just monitor. Anything unusuaL, call ur Gynae.

Pray hard for UUU too. Gambatte ne!!! :)

Loshita, ya... why not? Sardines are good for you and the baby
Full of calcium and protein. But make sure it's freshly made la.. Everything in moderation is fine... If you're not sure, check with your gynae.

Hey Dreamy_gal,

Whats a doppler? Detect blood flow 1 right?? Need arrrr?

Wooooo by then u will noe the sex of ur BB!! Excited huhhh. Tee hee!

I want to bUy stretchmark cream soon. Yet to apply any. Hmmm... Still deciding whether anot to bUy Clarins Oil or the Topicrem U ladies mentioned.

Anymore other recommendations? (^_^)

nattan, but i guess if not everyday having the samethign should be fine, what I worry is the prawn paste not the sardine.

loshita, I think if the prawn paste is fresh and cooked properly, should be ok.. I ate that last Sun before going for my first gynae visit and so far no problem. Still, if you're not sure, then be safe and don't eat anything you're not comfortable with. The only thing I have to stop myself from eating is sushi and sashimi which I love...sigh!!! :p

loshita - the clarins oil is S$82/- for a bottle, i just bought them! :)

i practically eat everything. just not too much in moderatioon. and yes sushi there is those that comes in vegetables type and not the raw type. so its still fine! :)

Hi Denise, how do you apply the clarins oil? like massage oil?

I love sushi and sashimi.. I suppose can still eat those with cooked fillings instead of raw, like maki and handrolls with fried soft-shell crab, omelette, cooked salmon/tuna, etc.. *slurp* hungry again ;)

Nattan - ya just use it on the parts that will grow eventually. actually its partially genes as well. if ur genes doesnt have it, u wldn have it no matter wat. likewise if ur genes have them, no matter how u apply, u wld still have them. i apply on my stomach and at the side, my thighs, my cheek butts, boobs and arm. :)

ya, just dont take the raw one will do. :) and just do it in moderation. of course dont take it like everyday la! HAHAHAH

sigh, I like sushi too and chilli crab!!!

so this clarin oil is the yellow colour type not those lotion type right?

I'm looking forward to chilli crabs for my anniversary dinner!! Haha...

BTW, anyone used Earth Mama Angel Baby organic products before? Any good?

Re: Burping/Gas

Try to eat lesser at each meal, but more frequently. It'll help to cut down on the burping &amp; the nausea too.

Acidic food like tomatoes &amp; spicy food may cause irritation to some mummies. If you're feeling very uncomfortable everytime you eat them, then it's better to cut down.

For me, I'm greedy! I eat chilli crab, drink tea, bubble tea, eat curry etc. Can't help myself! I give the excuse that I don't want my baby to drool a lot lol. I didn't really restrict myself on food, &amp; my #1 doesn't really drool *wink*

Everything in moderation. But remember the big No-Nos like raw/undercooked food, soft cheeses etc.

Re: Clarins Oil vs Topicrem

Think everybody has individual reactions. Clarins oil did absolutely nothing for me. I was itching like mad till I used Topicrem. I never used any stretch mark cream &amp; I don't hve any stretch marks. my mum has lots, so I could be just plain lucky :p Guess it's the individual's skin type? I must say that Topicrem is cheaper than Clarins oil haha.

Hi Angela,
I guess we face the same situation..
Got a mc in apr2011.. I am seeing dr heng now.
She give me duphaston when I see her the first visit at 7week and went back on the 9week. So only on duphaston for 2wks. She also ask any bleeding? I am fine.. She did the scan, baby growing and hb is strong.. So she stop the pills. Next visit will be on 12/12/2011.. Another 3more wks to go.. Long wait..

Hi Priscilla,

So its ur 2nd time preggy too? Yaaa lucky bb ish growing &amp; hb ish strong. Thank God! Phew~ So u had ur Oscar Scan done?

hEy, i do haF those short cramps even though am 12wks now. Those very fast-&amp;-gone cramps. Shld be ok right? So farrr no bleeding.

Sigh, i am also a big lover of sashimi and sushi. Before pregnant, have jap food almost every weekend. Now almost nothing can appeal to me