(2012/05) May 2012

Kitty - you are scaring me. am already halfway through the rebounding process so too late Liao. I tot hair loss is becoz of our hormones so do or don't do also won't make a big difference. After my first child I also went to dye my hair but no hair loss then. For my 2nd child, I did nothing but had hair loss until bald patches at the hairline. Well...I'll find out in another 3 months

>> dolcevita
haha i still cant celebrate my freedom yet.. confinement is 40 days.. bb shower is earlier.. i cant wait for 40 days to be over!

>> ak
added

>> kelly
yup some of the mummies in fb is also trying out gina ford.. i never though.. find the nights out at 7pm too early!

>> kris
better be safe and throw out the milk..

>> sleepy bb
mine is dun want to slp even when i try to rock him to slp.. my mum always tell me bb must have more than 20 hours of slp.. so i try to let him slp.. but most of the time he just eye big big stare at me and want ppl to rock him.. if not he cry..

Amy, I play music for my girl, bring her out to balcony for sun bathe, put her into stroller and push her around in living room show her posters on the wall, when I carry her upstraight, she normally will be awake. And when i know i need to skip her nap in the day, i will feed her 80% full so she won't settle down to sleep.

Juski, basically it is very simple, keep baby awake for longer period in the day, only allow 5 hours sleep in the day for 2-4 wks baby, of course reduce the time when baby grows older.

for BF, full feed is about 45 mins, and if you need baby to sleep only 1 to 1.5 hours, give half feed.

e.g. full feed given at 10:30pm, so my girl slept at 11:30pm, then wake up at 5am, but only give her half feed since need to give a full feeding at 7am, therefore, i feed her with 1 breast only at 5am, surpirsingly she fell back to sleep immediately after that, then wake up automatically at 7:30, a bit later than scheudled, however, that is because she cannot sleep till after 6. so it is alright.

below is the schedule for 2-4 weeks baby.

7am full feed
8:30/9:00am sleep
10:00am wake up and give full feed, let baby kick on playmat after feeding, keep him awake.
11:30/12am sleep
2:00pm wake up and give full feed, let baby kick on playmat after feeding, keep him awake.
4:00pm sleep
5:00pm wake up and give half feed with 1 breast, quick shower at 5:45pm.
6:00pm full feed and settle baby to sleep after that.
10:00/10:30pm give a quick and quiet full feed
so at night, you can then feed on demand.

I am trying on 2nd day today, my girl sleep slightly more like now suppose to wake up soon,but i give her half an hour more, cause i am sure i can feed her again by 6pm. most importantly, that avoild colic, cuz it normally happen from 6pm to 12midnight. imagine your baby is sleeping most of the time during this time frame, of course reduced the chances to get colic.

Hey yingzz: me too! Confinement is 40 days but I can bathe every other day after the 30 days is over.

By the way, mummies who are doing exclusive pumping, how do you resolve the issue of feeding in future when we bring baby out since warmer is not readily available.

Kris: better throw the milk. I've not done any coloring since I was pregnant with #1 4 years ago. But even without chemical treatment, my hair dropped a lot for some time after #1 born, but lucky they seem to grow back. Dunno when they are going to drop again now.

Yingzz, could you please add me to facebook group? I'll PM you my email address. Thanks!

My baby sometimes just can't sleep back at night, was awake from 4am till 7am though I keep latching her. She will dozed off for very short while unless I hold her, then wake again. If she game enough to empty both my breast then yeah, she'll sleep around 3 hours.

Kelly: Thanks for the advise on how to wash baby. When I told my mum, she's like "I also did that last time". And now we really saved a lot of wet wipes. Better still, since we dun lift her buttock up so high and so often, she vomit less milk as well. Another question, do you just use water of with soup everytime?

Priscilla: Hope your block duct is better now

My massage is around 1.5 hours with the wrapping, just did the 2nd massage today. I think blue black will come again tomorrow!

During massage, my mum helped to feed EBM, my gal keep crying again, and take 2 hours to feed 100ml, after that, she still cry and have to latch her before she is satisfied. Looks like really need to train her to use the teat

dolly
my boy also can't sleep back around 440-6am for 2 nights.. no idea why so i blame on growth spurt lor, LOL..

but for #1, i carried him to sleep from about 4am to 7am everyday till he is almost 4 months old, really no clue why both of them are like that..

maybe have to carry your girl for a little longer till she's in deep sleep then put her down..

as for washing baby, i do the same as my sis Kelly, well never really buy wet wipes, save a lot and it's clean this way lah, i use soap to wash de.. now you mention, stupid me used normal soap to wash, not baby one sia, blur liao, #2 really too bochap leh, lol

Felicia: Thanks for the reply. Yeah, #2 more bochap, last time I dun use tissue on #1, now I used up dunno how many boxes of kleenex liao... whenever she puke milk.

BTW, is it normal to have blood (like menses) after massage? I seems to have some fresh blood discharge after that, but not much though

dolly
yup very normal, i got blood clots coming out after the massage actually, slowly will stop de, i feel it's good to let those blood clots come out..

and why your girl is puking milk btw? my #1 used to have that problem, pretty serious bad then can he could merlion half of his feed easily and sometimes even through his nose.. scary.. gp said it's due to overfeeding, so we tried out best not to feed too much but sometimes he just kept asking for more also no choice, but things get a lot better after he turned full month, by the time he's 2 months old, he's totally fine already, so hopefully your girl will outgrow it soon...

Felicia:
Mine is just blood, no clot though. Is it the same?

My gal almost 2 mths, and I try to burp her and hold her longer. Trying to see if its due to my diet. But I guess it depends on individual, my #1 dun vomit even I seldom burp him.

dolly, i use water only.

juski, i did not pump unless i felt my breast hard. i guess i had only about 80ml milk and my girl is able to empty my breast for me during every feeding before. now after following the schedule, when she only empty one breast, i try to pump out the other one. so i don't have fixed timing for pumping, just see if there is a need.

i felt it is easy to try out the schedule in the morning, cuz at night feed on demand also nothing much you can do. hope it works for you.

zp1503: relax ba, though easier said then done, but stress will cos drop in supply too.

BTW, my massage lady is telling me to sip water instead of gulping it down, she said it helps to reduce the size of my bloated stomach

dolly
yup blood is normal, no worries...

yup every baby is different, my #1 even at toddler stage now still vomit if he eat too much.. how your girl gets well soon, it's a torture to see them puke their milk out..

Felicia: Thanks! I was scared cos it csec.

Phyllis Setok: For the special medela teats, does it fit on the normal medela bottles? I mean those bottles which we used to connect to the pump.
Now my gal seems to refuse bottle! She cry when we giveher the teat, need to coax a lot to get her to drink from bottle.

Dolly yes the medela calma teat fits the bottles which we use for pumping breast milk. My hubby bought it from mums n babes at united square the lady can do a demo for you.

Don't worry about nipple confusion so far I'm doing latching, ebm n fm. I use the calma teat for ebm and advent bottle for fm. So far so good baby still wants to latch and he sucks well from both nipple and bottle.

Zp: same here. My supply dropped for these past two days. Feel like taking fenugreek If it continues. But I'm still pumping every 3-4 hrs to make sure my gal gets her milk. So far still able to meet her demand. Jia you!

Phyllis Setok: Thanks for the information. Was wondering if my gal can adapt better to the Calma teat cos she seems to dislike the normal medela teat.

Btw, when u all wash bb backside after poo..do u first clean off the poo or go straight to wash?
My bb has been pooing many times today but only bit by bit of yellow poo came out..can't smell her poo at times..When she cry then I check..her backside now red red..must be painful..
After my bb finish latching my breast feels tender but how come I still feel pain at times? Pain is like pointed object poking..do any of u have this feel?

Hm... Dolly maybe you can buy one to try out if you are concern about nipple confusion. It's slightly pricy it's $32+ for a teat. Though the tip is broad, milk will flow out only when baby sucks.

wu_py: I just go straight to wash. For your gal, if backside already red red, then put some diaper cream like desitin after cleaning, it works quite well for diaper rash.
Do you have lumps in your breast? It might be block duct, try massage it while latching or pumping?

Phyllis: Yeah, thinking of getting one from this forum to try. Thanks!

Juski, no prob, like i said, our babies are haivng quite similar pattern.

yes, mine also last night slept at 10pm, wake up at 3am for milk, then fed her 2 hours only she is full, btw, when she is full, she will close eyes and give me the smiling face, so finally put her down, and she is still sleeping now. which means i failed the 7am feeding, but i allow her to continue sleeping since she had taken enough in the 3am feed. later will let her play and take nap at 12noon.

i guess every child is diff, it should be ok to adjust the schedule a bit to their needs, plus once in a while should be ok to get back on track.

Hi dolly,

My breast is must better after the antibiotics. But still got lump inside Le..

Kelly,
Lucky you. Your gal so gd.
My boy is like alarm clock. Sure wake up for milk every 3hrs. If he dont sleep, every 2hrs. And when he don't sleep, he wanna ppl to carry him. He will get cranky. Getting very headache

Priscilla, my gal was like that too. But now after using sarong these few days, she is able to sleep longer. I uses pupsik carrier instead of stroller for short trip out too and she's been sleeping nicely

Priscilla, what happened to u? U oki? So u still manage to bf under antibiotics?

My gal also super on time like alarm clock and want to carry to slp. Also cannot leave her crying cos scare "wind" gets into her stomach if she cries too long.

Does yaolan really works? I don't wanna use yaolan initially cos scare bad for her spinal development but heard that many ppl use yaolan and baby can slp longer.

ak: For #1, I give yaolan as well, cos my boy can't sleep and my cousin able to lend me one. This time my cousin also give birth, and I didn't have it at first. I'm more afraid of the shaking though, but since my gal almost 2 months old should be better, and we dun really shake her, just leave her there. When she stirs, we shake a little bit and she will go back to sleep. but Yaolan only for day time, night time will still be in cot or my bed. I got the yaolan from WTS thread for $50, then I went to buy a wider hanger in those neighbourhood baby shop so that it's not so "squeezy"

mummies, for babies not sleeping well, do you still swaddle your baby while sleeping? i did half swaddle, leave her hands outside only. if i want her to have short nap, then i won't swaddle at all.

Priscilla, thanks, yes i am super lucky, somehow i felt it is a genes thing, my 2 girls are all like that. sleep a lot and never cry unless i don't feed them. every baby is different so i believe once you can figure out their needs, they will become easy to handle de.

ak: Yeah, she born w a lot of hair, and all black black curly one. My #1 hair somehow a bit brownish and not as much as her though

If you want to source for yaolan from WTS, can start looking around first
For my case, my nanny wants it so definitely got to buy one, if not two (one for home?)

Hi Phyllis, I'm also using the calma teat but not sure if I should also give my baby the normal agent teat.
Can you share your rationale for giving both? Does the baby get confused?

Also do you know how long we can use the calma teat for?

I am having sore and cracked nipple these 2 days, my girl seems to play with my nipple some times during feeding. So now I felt painful when she first latch on or during let down. How to solve this problem? Applied nipple cream, it helps but can't stop the pain once I breast feed my girl.

Kelly: If your gal ok with nipple shield, then can try it.
Else apply some breastmilk after latching and let it air dry a bit, then endure the next latch.

My #1 "broke" my nipple when his teeth grew out, I can actually "open" the wound then. However, he refused anything plastic, he rejected teat and pacifier since 6 month. And he also refuse the nipple shield, so eventhough it was very very painful, I've no choice but to endure. Just hope my gal not so picky.

Thank dolly, me stupid, wrong technic used for latching, I should not offer my nipple to her, should be 1,2,3, bring her head to my nipple when she opened mouth big. Adjusted my way of latching, now at least no biting while I feed her. She ate a lot faster than before also. Thanks for your tips. Will try nipple shield if I can't endure it.

Is it true that when we feed bm we cannot eat food cooked with coconut as am afraid baby cannot take it and have diarrhea?

Hi mama gene, I did not try this on no.1, that time so blur dun even know what is that. That's why my no.1 suffered from colic for 2 weeks, and she is only able to sleep thru the night by 5 month.

I tried this on no.2, first day she can sleep thru the night. Yesterday seems growth spurt, she ate more frequently, so wake up once at night. Overall still better than no.1. My no.1 need to wake up twice at night before 3 month.

I am happy my no.2 had no more colic for the past 3 days. Before that she suffered 2 nights and I had no clue how to help her.

I just bought GF sleeping book online, waiting for delivery, let me read thru, if got any tips on toddler sleeping, will let you know.

Seems like yaolan really helps in getting baby to slp longer. But do you all place baby in the yaolan even at night? Or just in the noon time? Is baby bone strong enough to be placed in the yaolan from 1st month onwards?

>> ak
so you did not shower since you gave birth? I got shower everyday.. just with herbal water.. but still feel vv sticky and unclean.. cant wait to use shower foam! & wash hair.. hubby keep saying my hair stinks!

i used yaolan for my boy since he came back from hospital.. suppose to make the head rounder.. he slp in both cot and yaolan.. if he is cranky.. then we put him in yaolan to rock him.. mostly is for use in the day time..

>> dolly
added.. pls add me as friend?

>> kelly
i dont really swaddle my boy le.. cos he will struggle out.. and will make noise if he cant struggle out.. so we just loosely wrap him..

>> mamagene
i think GF got a few boooks right.. i seem to recall she has a particular one on toddler too - http://www.contentedbaby.com/books-Contented_Toddler_Years.html

Yingzz, yes, my no.1 is like that too, totally did not swaddle her since day 1 and she still can sleep long.

But no.2 slept better when I swaddle her.

Yingz: your fb name is ang?
I used to bathe everyday after discharging from hospital cos I'm doing the postnatal massage, with the herbs. After the massage, I would bathe once in few days time. Can't wait for my confinement to end on this fri! I'm gonna soak myself in water few days a day! Anyway, most of you regain bac to pre pregnancy figure? My Tummy is still there and Flabby flabby de. Sian..

By the way, I bought a formula milk when my milk haven't come in. So I have to discard the formula milk 4 weeks once it's open?

dolly: u mentioned you went to buy a wider width of yaolan for your baby. What is considered to be of a wider width compared to the rest? Im looking at the WTS thread, but have no idea what to get. They would indicate yaolan stand?

Renniee, I just wanted bb to get use to both nipple like teat so as to minimize nipple confusion and also let him get use to the normal teat so that he will get use to it when I want to wean him off from latching. Makes him more adaptable, next time easier for us.

Need to take cue from bb to see how long he wants to use calma teat. My friend's bb rejected it at 2 months.