(2012/05) May 2012

chocolateteddy, i will let CL slp with bb, and express my milk for her to feed at nite... CL did advice me to get a small can of FM jus in case i dun have enough BM expressed out for her.

As for sleeping arrangements, me n hubby, CL n bb. Helper in the study room. After CL leaves, bb will slp with me , or i may jus overhaul the study room, move out some cabinets and shift the maid to the study room so tht bb can learn to sleep on her own.

think u have to do what u feel is most comfy for u.. if u cant slp with stranger, then dun. else instead of feeling rested during the confinement month, u end up more pek chek, more tired.. then how to look after bb after CL leaves?

but these are jus my thoughts... its really up to u in the end...

Chocolateteddy, i understand all ur many concerns. Just to share with u my arrangement with CL. For my #1 and current bb, i put them with CL in separate room. CL will take care of night feeding from my expressed milk. During the 1st 2 days after i discharged, i suffered bad engorgement and hard to pump out milk, CL will look for me to latch on baby. After i managed to clear my milk and am now storing supply, she is using the EBM for night feeds while i latch thruout during the day. So far so gd, no nipple confusion yet but i know bb had a hard time sucking on bottle during her 1st time, stoning and experiencing the teats. Some mummies prefer to latch at night and start bottles 3 wks later but i prefer to have a gd confinement and rest as much as possible to recuperate well before taking over bb totally after CL leaves.

My hubby will be taking a mth leave after CL goes home to help me get into routine. He will take care of night shift to feed baby and we take turns to bathe her too. So his participation is there too. Hubby will have lotsa chance to be involve after CL leaves so no necessary to loop him in 1st. Perhaps can get him to see how CL manage so he cud learn from there before taking over.

Different mummies may have different practises but i m sharing mine. Hope u could work out ur arrangement to suit ur management styles... =)

Abt my tummy rashes, I check with gyne, he say it's pregnancy rashes. Will only goes off after gif birth.
like tat can't take pix haizzzz......

Rgds to CL arrangement, I will let her sleep with bb in one room. Hub n me in master bedrm. Confirment period mummy has to have plenty of rest so that after CL goes off at least mummy have the strength to take care of bb.

Can check if any of you start sterilize the milk bottles?? Will it be too early? Bought the sterilizer till now havn't open up :p

Dear mummies... Can I ask how do we apply for CDA and what do we have to get ready plus how to go about it? And if I wana donate my baby's Cord blood... How to go about it? I'll be delivering at TMC... Thanks in advance! ;)

Keiko: if u want to donate ur cord blood u got to contact Singapore cord blood bank so that they can help u with the necessary.

Sounds like a good CL is really impt, I hope everyone can meet a good CL, and at least we dun have to be peh chek over her..I think breastfeeding already is going to be tough work, the last thing we would want is to be frustrated over CL..For first time mum like me, we must jia you!

Btw, I am really contemplating about getting a maid but hearing and reading all that horror stories, I am at a loss too..Any mummies have any advice? Cleaning the house now is already quite tedious..Is it really expensive to get a maid now?

Jazzlyne: I bought the sterilizer too but havent done any sterilizing coz I want to latch the bb on for breastfeeding and do not intend to give him the bottle too soon..

i think i will also donate bb's blood clot. do you gals actually discuss with ur gynae first before deciding to donate ur bb's blood clot? if yes, care to share what's ur gynae's advice?

thanks babyL. in order to open a CDA account need both of our bank statement? meaning joint acct or anyone of our statement will do? can just give them our acct no.? statement content very sensitive..

to donate cord blood, must email to them, so that they can arraneg a phone interview and then a face-to-face. Check with ur gynae if they charge. Usu they dont charge one. Then during that day, i think u will have a box or hospital will have one to collect the cord blood. they will also take a tube of your blood to test before putting everything into the system. =)

How do you sterilize ur breast pump parts? Put in the milk bottle sterilizer and shun bian test run the bottle sterilizer?

Qn: u know those sterile cotton balls, sterile gauze n even sterile bottles in the sterilizer, quite impossible that we open them up n they become non sterile right? usually when we sterilize, we do many bottles n teats together 1 mah..

So after we open sterile packs and/or sterilizer lid, we have to sterilize again mah?

Breast pump parts each time must sterilize?

Btw who does your sterilizing? Cl or helper, yourself or hubby?

Know I asked this qn b4 but I forgot lol..

Sardonyx: Im using pigeon cleanser to wash my #1 milk bottles and sterilize , and will continue to do so for my newborn

Candy mix: during My confinement month , My mum and confinement nanny will do the sterilizing , after that will be either me or hubby

Keiko: You can go to www.scbb.com.sg for more info on donating cord blood.. can call them at 6394 5011.. You can try 9106 4752 too.. that should be the direct line for cord blood donation for TMC if i read the brochure correctly

Big Dee: My doc was the one who gave me the brochure for donating cord blood.. there was also a nurse at KKH explaining to me how the cord blood can help save others.. however ultimately whether the cord blood can be stored also depends on volume etc.. i will be signing the consent form tmr

Jazzlyn: u can still take pictures la.. i am sure the photographer will be also to edit the photos for u nicely
i also havent open up my steriliser.. cos was thinking too early sterilise also no use right?

Oso first time mummy. Wat i did is i opened up the new bottles, washed them with bottle cleanser, and packed them neatly in a lock and lock. Of cos the lock and lock must wash lah, cos new one.

Then go wash my sterilizer with lemon and run it two to three times.cos mine is hand me down. Dry liao keep.

When bb comes back then wun mad rush..

hi Moments,
sorry for the late reply.

for Merrie sample, the link for free sample is on the bottom right-hand corner. Look for a rabbit icon...

Hi Sardonyx

is a test to see whether you got bacteria from our vaginal area or intestines.. usually do within 34-37 weeks..

For my previous 2, i dont remember I did this test. This time round, I dunno whether am I lucky to hear about this or not cos this time round I asked my gynae to do it for me after hearing my fren and coll was saying they went thru this test.

I read up from website is rather scarly if bb kenna the bacteria, although this test is not necessary. So I wonder dunno is a good thing to know or a bad thing to know..

Re: Coconut water

i had checked with my chinese physician, can only start drinking fresh coconut water from week 36.

not too good to start early cos too cooling.

Or you can try "fu zhu yi mi". beancurd w ginko nuts and barley. it's also good for bb skin.

can only hv max 2 times per week.

Hi Mermaider

Coconut water also twice a week?

I just drank 2 times last week.. keke.. is so cooling and nice.. but i heard if eat the coconut fresh it will not be cooling le.. dunno truth anot..

so i just drank the water...

Big Dee and keiko: hi 5! I'm also donating my cord blood! I dropped an email to the Singapore cord blood bank and they will contact me. First of all. They did a phone interview, and asked me if my gynae is aware of my intention. I'm currently under dr adrian woodworth. Then have to discuss and inform the gynae on this. Pls rem to check with your gynae cos some gynae actually charge a fee, not sure of the amount though. Then she arrange a meet up session with me, I'm supposed to meet her tomorrow. I suppose will Have more "private" questions and forms to fill up.

mermaider, ohhh thanks for sharing about the coconut water. Means I can start drinking after tomorrow! hahaha! Going to buy the NTUC cheap ones and challenge hubby to open it lol

Moment, I would think its good to do the test so that in case we got the bacteria, necessary precaution can be taken and medicine can be given to bb ma.. rather than last min then find out. Anyway the test is quite cheap la, my doc charges $30.

Big Dee, CDA account just need 1 bank account can le, means the account which you want them to deposit the money inside.

I also haven open up my milk bottles, I thought I will only open to wash and sterlize it when need to use ba. But I have cleaned the sterlizer as it is a hand me down set.

Hi Ayana

So cheap? Mine is 60+ leh.. double man..How's your result.. how many weeks are you now..

hmm.. coconut u can get from ntuc the thailand type is nicer.. actually no need to challenge your hubby.. cos is very easy to open.. just slice through can open le i even open myself hehe... unless u buy those without the opening type keke.. but I felt the thailand type the water is sweeter..

Hi Chocolateteddy

I actually wan to buy the cover is more for my maternity to prevent our menses for stains.. Is the one that you recommended can use for that purpose too?

Moment, I'm doing the test this Sat (week 36) =)
Oh! NTuC very easy to open ahh.. that's good..! Dunno where I read someone say v hard to open! wahhah... ya ya I gg to buy the thai type, the beidge color one, 3 for $3.xx one i think..

The underpads, yes can be used for the menses stains too, its just like a giant pad, but thinner only. Then the sides are lined with plastic so that the liquid will not spill out lor.

chocolateteddy, my CL will sleep with bb in the spare room. So she can help to look after bb. As for night feeding, I dun mind getting up to breastfeed baby. But I heard this CL would rather we sleep thru out and get more rest, and she will feed bb the EBM. I guess I am fine with either way, see how tired I am lor. If not tired, I will bf myself.

Thanks Ayana

I should go and get it now.. for the test I am only concern that I got no time to put the antibiotic drip.. Haiz.. very confused this few days I keep thinking about it.

For bf, through my own experience you will nv get enough rest.. even in hospital every 2hrs nurse will push to you and ask you to bf bb..

But the drip is the concern of the doc and nurses right, just leave it to them?

But then again the antibiotic is in the form of drip? Some pp is taking oral pills leh.

sardonyx,
Yes i used the pigeon bottle cleanser particularly when cleaning milk bottles. After baby start solids then i use cleanser to clean their eating utensils but for cooking utensils i use normal liquid soap.

jazzlyne,
No point to sterilise the bottles now because the bottles would only remain sterile for some time (I think some steriliser state in their box) but remember to assemble the bottles and close the cap immediately after sterilising.

candymix,
last time for breast pump accessories I sterilise every usage (initial days) but after I started working, I sterilise 3 times a day i.e. morning after morning pump, night time after coming back from office and another time before i go to bed or early morning before morning pump.

either me or my maid will do the sterilising.

littledotty,
maybe you can consider part time maid for cleaning the house?

yip,
i will combine sterilising breast pump and bottle... doesn't matter much just that the breast pump takes more space so can only sterilise few bottles only :p

Hi Ayana

I have taken the oral pill for one week already. Doc said will put on drip when I admit.

I already got the disposable underlayer.. But they don't have the Tena brand already so I get another brand. 10Pcs for 6.15 at Watson. Is those type provided by hospital..

I am going to see my gynae later, abit excited suppose to be tomorrow but I felt abit cramp just now like the feeling of coming menses.. so decided to see him earlier..

CL Sleeping Arrangements
Thanks girls for ur thots on the CL sleeping arrangements!

Now I'm more confident with my decision to hv bb room w CL while I get proper rest, and abt EBM. Hubby still denying me but told him tt is my final decision. Haha!

Any mommies looking for MEDELA PURELAN nipple cream or AVENT Nipple protectors?
I have a tube of PURELAN (37g) expiry 04/2013 to let go @$10.
Avent nipple protectors are brand new in packaging @$12.
Self collection Eunos mrt or via postage at additional $1.
Please PM if keen. Thanks!

moment: yes, i had the test, the streptococcus Group B screening. the result was ok. then i had the CTG test done today. so far, baby is doing well. i had the scan today and baby's head was facing up. gynae prefers that baby would bow down so that it would be easy for me to deliver.

please add me to facebook group: [email protected]

Hi mummies, anybody looking to buy 2nd hand Avent Phillip Electronic Single Pump? I have a lightly used one for less than 2 months. Still under warranty. Looking to sell @ SGD140, as i have received a medela one from my friend.
Please PM if keen. Thanks!

Hi sardonyx
Glad to hear that ur result is ok. Unlike me keep worrying now.
Btw u still hv ur menses?

Just went for my checkup today, gynae said chances not high for this week but maybe nx week. Means I got to endure 1-2 weeks at least.. So tiring... Now per day passes v slow..

Hi ladies, my gynae just did the gbs swab test, but I'm only 33 weeks. But my gynae say it doesn't necessary need to perform btw 35-37 weeks. Is this true although it's not gd to question my gynae.

Anyone started their maternity leave yet? Haha wondering when to take becos i have no idea when i'll pop :p supposed to be a month from now but seems like bb is engaged already.

For rashes, my gynae gave me some diprosone cream. Really helps to stop the itch! But i guess the scars won't fade so easily. So try not to scratch!

Btw is fresh blood show common indication of labour? My gynae only told me about mucus and blood combo. I heard bleed too much, baby can drown. *paranoid*

Hi moment,

the bleeding lasted for only half day last friday. i'm wondering if it could be because of my cervical polyp. i had one that developed during this pregnancy. when gynae examined me today, she couldn't see it from the outside.

moment, when are you due? I am seeing the gynae today too, seems so fast to see her weekly..today need to do blood test..

$30 for the swab is cheap! my gynae charges $70!

Hi Ayana,
do remember, max can only drink twice a week for coconut water...

by the way, how and when can we open the CDA account? u happen to know if i can do it at KKH?

>> gbs swap
I just did mine yest at 35 weeks.. Its cost $35 for Kkh~

>> cord blood
Yesterday also signed the cord blood donation form.. The form is super long and ask questions about family medical history.. A lot of the terms i never hear before also.. But yay tts one down for the list if things to do~

>> disposable underpad..
Think mayb the may mummies depleted the supply of tena underpad lol.. I got mine from guardian.. Guardian brand 10 pcs at $3.15 (20% discount).. Size is 17'' x 24''..

>> cda a/c for kk
U can open directly at kk after u do the birth cert.. There is a ocbc person at the admissions side.. Mermaider have u done ur pre-admissions yet? I got this baby bonus pack which contains info.. U can also go talk to the ocbc person to find out more.. If u want to open for standchart instead then i dont think u can do so directly at kk..

>> facebook
Is anyone still adding ppl to the old fb group? I can only add to the new fb group if u guys are keen to join..

Hi Littledotty

my edd is 2 may.. yest gynae says most probably will be nx week, hope he can give me a date to admit by then. nx monday going to see him again..

Now tummy getting bigger and my pelvic is getting pain when I walked..

my gynae also charged v ex.. the test about $60 plus..

moment: my edd is 4 may and my gynae also said most prob next week..

YHO: i will be starting my maternity leave on 23 April.. maybe u can ask your gynae when u should start taking ML.. it was my gynae who advised me to start taking ML next week...

About one more month to go for me! Starting to get more and more body aches these days. Last night couldn't sleep coz was having heartburn, and whole upper torso very very uncomfy. Sigh... What do you ladies do when heartburn is disturbing? I dunno what I can do to relieve the sensation.

Moment, newbie2012,

My Edd 1st May, at the 3rd detailed scan on week 36 the person says i will be due ard 29th apr. Going to take the ctg tingy this coming thur.

I also did the swap,my doctor calls it the HVS culture test, mine cost $75! Feels cheated man.. haha

Hi Newbit2012
yours also nx week? is this your first baby? my gynae also ask me to start taking leave next week. but i need to save my leave cos my maid going back during hari raya.. so not enough leave to cover..

Hi Magl
yours is 1st May that nice.. My hubby keep asking me to aim for 1st May labour day and is same bd as my fren but it will be v long for me man.. now gynae said maybe next week I also feel very long liao haha...

So how is your result?

moment: yup first baby.. he said most likely want to deliver my baby on 23 April.. if so, will be taking ML instead of annual leave.. anyway, i have been seeing my gynae abt twice a week.. so have to take annual leave whenever i have gynae appt.. trying to save leave too.. so that can use next time rather than now..