(2012/05) May 2012

hi sardonyx,

try mothercare, they do sell pads with wings

just a personal experience with dry shampoo, they don't work well on me. It makes the hair worse for me with white powdered scalp. I used Klorane previously. Think i still much prefer the water and shampoo and would rather hang on till i can wash my hair properly.
My second pregnancy edd 19 May. Umm.. maybe this time, i will be a bit more lenient on myself to allow bath with herbs.. It was a torture for me three years to follow the no bath rule..

Hello mommies!

I am prety new to this forum, have been coming in to read posts on and off.
Am really keen to join in the activities or gatherings etc.

Expecting first child on 3rd May, which is really soon!
Can add me to FB group as well too?

Thanks a lot and looking fwd to being more active here

Any mommies stock up on nursing tea already?
There are so many brands to choose from and those that come with loose tea or tea bags, organic/non-organic I can't decide which to get and try. Any recommendations?

Littledotty: I also experience menses like cramps recently, but not that frequent. My Edd is end may. Recently v tired n backache also..

Check with you all, if there is a possibility where Bb head will turn up again even though their head has already turned down?

Hi all..

want to check with those who are with Dr Tham. How did he predict ur EDD when u are near it?(eg give birth earlier or later) or he stick to ur orginal EDD when you first visited him?

Amy_yeo: although my EDD kept changing on my scan when I see Dr Tham, he sticks to the EDD when i met him throughout...
yours?

maternity pads: I didnt buy any maternity pads, are they needed? I just bought the normal ones, extra long but not ultra slim that kind..

Thanks ayana n ak, I was reading about the cramps and backache and was hoping it does not signal birth soon..ak, I think if their heads are engaged, they might not turn anymore..read somewhere they will only move from side to side..

jinomo: are nursing tea helpful? What do they do?

I bought earth mama n traditional medicinals nursing tea..it's meant to boost milk supply after birth but highly dangerous to drink while still preggy..

I recently also got backache on the left back! Yes some cramps too which I thought again it's stomachache or slight food poisoning (again for me) then I went to take the contractions pill lol..

Keiko, my appointment is 10am on 18th..so we got chance to meet :)

Yah dr tham sticks to the same edd throughout..does he do estimation of bb weight? I asked before and he said can't leh..

Candymix: oohhh!!! coincidence! yeah.. can say hi before we meet up on the 19th.. you'll be going? by the way what do you mean by weight estimation? He tells me the bb weight as of the day he scans for me...

Thanks Yingz n Babysean!

Babysean, i have frequent contractions at night and also having pelvic and poking pain under. Plus bb's weight stagnant, last n this wk 2.7kg so decided to induce though gynae not too keen.... Now waiting for gynae to come n check. =)

BabyL:
when is yr EDD? poking pain under? I experience sudden 1-2sec sharp pain at groin recently. Is this the same poking pain u experienced? I ask my fren and she suggest maybe BB is engaged. When i sleep i did feel tightening of stomach and light cramp but i thot its BH so didnt bother.

I feel lower ab also cramp feeling, like very tight esp walking. Baby movement is very strong and i feel pain when BB drag hand or feet across my tummy. Like not enough space like that.

So excited for u, good luck!

Rabbitz, my EDD is 2 May. I think the poking pain is somewhat like urs but i heard the stagnant weight, i also worried so i rather induce to boost bb... I have alot of BHCs at nite n quite frequent, then becoming prolonged and slight uncomfy pain.

Just insert induction pill.... Waiting, waiting.... The pain dunno is stomachache or contraction! Haha! Nervous till cant differentiate!

Starting will feel like tummyache, later when it get more intense, you can tell the difference. Dun worry, juz call the nurse if the pain is too much.

My ex-colleague also induced for both her kids due to stagnant weight. So exciting, you will be seeing your precious soon!

congrats babyL! keep us updated!

keiko: most likely i cant go on 19th leh..i meant i asked dr tham to estimate bb's weight at birth, he said cannot..so far only tell me the current weight on the day i scan..

Congrats babyL!

I am gg for tonight's talk. SCGS is at bukit timah/orchard area right? So sian lor, they keep changing schedule and venue.. tmr's session is back at AMK hub right?

oh, chocolateteddy, so this evening session is a combined session? My next session is tomorrow, at AMK hub by Mrs Wong too.

Btw, if i think i'm gonna deliver, the first thing is to call my gynae (depending on the time of the day)? Suddenly came to my mind, sorry for being so ignorance, im a first time mum

AK, gynaes are standby 24hr de ba? Got the emergency hotline too in case its after office hours...

I am also with Wong BB class but ended in Feb, but I didn't even go for the SCGS talk, cos lazy to go down. Actually I did emailed them to ask if I can go down another session but they didnt reply so I just leave it...

Suzana, are you going to take back the placenta? I was wondering if they will like freeze it for us like the supermarkets to keep it fresh or just put in plastic bag like the wet markets wahahah!

oh, so the emergency hotline in our appt card will be the number that we ought to call during all emergencies.. Thanks ayana for answering my query..

Its raining so heavily lor, still have to travel to such ulu place for the talk.. sian..

can we take back the placenta? Does cord blood equivalent to placenta?

Wish BabyL deliver smoothly.....finger cross for her..
i wish to join the meeting at 19th but I need to work...
possible to meet at weekend? :p if not possible then is ok. no worry.

cord blood not placenta. Placenta is the bloody lump that comes out after baby and the cord attached is delivered. Cord blood should be the blood int he cord..

My gynae says dont call her. hahaha. go straight to the hospital, A&E or delivery ward depending on the time, and then the hospital will help us call her.

Ak:
Yup it's a combined session tonight and next tues nite. My thurs class at amk hub is abt childcare, I think.

Ayana:
Think the class u miss maybe u can join next tue at scgs oso.

On-call Doc -
I was oso wondering abt this sometime back. But my doc nvr gv number one, they say anything off hours call hospital or just admit myself n hospital will contact doc.

Placenta -
There r some companies tt do encapsulation, they charge abt $200-300. Hv to tell doc n hospital earlier so they can prepare wats needed to keep the placenta.

Hi mommies! At what point in our labor should we be given an epidural if we ask for it? I'm scared that I would be in pain for a long time.

I heard optimal time is when 4-5cm dialated then the epi will help speed up full dialation. But few of my frens say during early stage contraction can ask for it already, then dont need to 'suffer'. I assume one dose of epi can only last x-hours? if taken too early might not be able to last the entire labour? Then we need to have second doze and pay extra for it?

I'm gg down SCGS tdy leh,, ya lor so sian..my side heavy rain plus hubby cannot go boooo so I have to take cab down myself..wondering how to go home after that if hubby still can't come to fetch me..

Hi Ayana , I not really sure how they give it to us if we want to bring back the placenta. Coz my last check up the doctor ask me to sign some paper asking if I want to bring back the placenta. My friend told me her hubby bring back the placenta and Clean the placenta and buried it with pencil and small thing saying later when the baby grow up will become claver.

I m here now too at SCGS, whole place so packed!.
Btw girls, anyone experiencing their babies having a lot of hiccups? My bb seems to be prone to them n I m not sure why;(

I was there too! Btw, is this talk open to public as well? Or it's all participants of the parentcraft centre? So packed! I can't imagine Myself fighting seats for my ger's kindergarten etc!!

Hellojazzy: hmm, I seldom experienced baby hiccups. How does it feels like? Mayb your bb accidentally swallowed the fluid, that's y keep having hiccups.

>> rabbitz
Hmm i tot epidural after a certain time then it will be too late to administer?? Better check with gynae?

Ak: think only open to parent craft students. So many preggers this year. yea, my doc mention about bb drinking from placenta..

Suzana: feels weird yea? Sometimes when hiccup too long, I feel uneasy for bb even though i did hear from doc it's normal...

I was at SCGS for the breast feeding talk too.

> AK: It's not open to public it's for mummies who registered for the prenatal class. This is the 5th lesson.

> Hellojazzy: Yes my bb boy has daily hipcups recently too. It will last from 2-10 mins I asked my gynae yesterday and she said it's normal. I read somewhere it's because bb drank some amniotic fluid. In fact as I'm typing now he's having his hipcups, like playing a symphony - a constant rhythmic movement.

Hi mummies! Sorry for late update, was busy informing friends, overcome my after effects of epi n entertaining both parents...

Here is my birth story:
8am - Admitted & breakfast
8.40am - Strapped to CTG
9am - Shaved 
9.10am - Insert Enema to poo
9.45am - Nurse inserted induction med
10.25am - Contractions kept coming and lower back feeling aching
11.30am - Pushed to delivery suite, frequent contractions and more aching lower pain. 
11.50am - Signed epi consent
12pm - Administer epidural
2.30pm - 4cm dilated, waterbag burst n on synto drip (speed up induction). Contractions 3mins apart, not ready yet
3.15pm - Put urine bag
3.37pm - Close contractions at 1.5-2mins apart 
3.58pm - 8cm dilated
4.11pm - Gynae came n fully dilated
4.23pm - Ready to push, got poo poo feeling
4.25pm - Baby precious is out! 

Hiccups -
Yup my lil girl oso hiccup at times n it makes me feel uncomfortable too. Out of curiousity I tried sipping some water n holding my breath n holding my breath seemed to hv worked once hahaha maybe coincidence la

candymix: ok! say hi to me if you see me k? I wun know who are you coz your FB has no pix... haha!

me too at SCGS, i think many ppl are there... i go for the Monday class by i-duno-who-she-is, some senior nurse or something... and seriously, she DID NOT teach us how to carry the baby correctly during BF... -_- totally regret not signing up early for Wong BB's class... she's so funny and so much more informative.. haiz.. my that class, the lady repeats the same thing 4 times for 30 mins (same story) on 4 lessons.. -_-

BabyL: Thanks for posting the very detailed labour story!! really helps me to know what might happen... :D

Hiccups: my baby used to hiccups a lot... but since saturday night about 10++pm, she was moving almost round the clock, maybe only about 30 mins of stopping in a while, all the way till now... just now at SCGS it was worst.. she's like roller coaster-ing vigorously! now she's still moving.. ~.~