(2012/05) May 2012

Oki. But 1st group's really big huh...? Easy to get confused lol
Think I'll still continue to check in here while in the 2 groups, hope still will see u mummies here too

Big dee: how many weeks preg? how often u poo now? Try drink more water..if can't come out, just leave it..it will be out next day or 2, I experience it a few times previously..

hey mummies, for constipation can get medicine from gynae... mine was really bad previously so he gave me pills.. but he ask me to trial and error first... for my pills, some mummies take 1/2 is enough, some take 3 then can solve the problem... i took 2 per day, it helps... now i stop coz lazy to buy since gg to pop anytime le.. but i eat wholemeal bread and branflack... seems to help i think?

phyllis: I'm having very bad heartburn every night... i seems to read somewhere that says papaya helps... but i cannot find back the source... so I'm actually clueless about any remedy... seems like no?

Yes! i hv heartburn almost throughout the whole pregnancy!

Rite now really bad too...

There are foods to avoid, sleeping positions & meds tt can help.

Do u hv tiger balm? it can help too...

Hi ladies who are under dr tham,

May I know does dr tham do delivery in Mt A? Find that TMC is too crowded and the delivery suite are not as good as Mt A. Yet to find out from the dr, hoping to get some advices here.

By the way, read that some recommendation for massage lady, care to share her contact n package with me?

Gaviscon helps with heart burn effectively.. I got it during first few weeks of my pregnancy too. I guess eating smaller meals helps.

So lethargic recently.

Hi Keiko & Chocolateteddy

I too having sereve heartburn thru out the day.
Visted my PD and he prescribe me Famotidine 40 which is very safe for MTBs and baby.

Hi may mummies, it has been a long time since I logged in. Think last time was back when still in 1st tri! Lotsa new names here...just a brief intro...i'm 2nd time mummy. Edd is 8 May.

I also feeling a bit anxious. Cos really hadn't had time to set up the nursery. Everyday after work, go home have dinner and spend time with my girl, then I am ready to crash. Each weekend I tell myself to pack bb's clothes and pack the room, but just couldn't get around to it!

Baby Sean, congrats!!! Hearing that you have delivered definitely made it more "real" that D day is near!

Re: Constipation - try to drink more water. and i personally find those museli sorta cereal really helps (their fibre content is quite high at 7+g (normal cornflakes is just abt 2-3g). But pls take note to up fibre intake gradually. If not will feel v bloated. Papaya and prunes help toO!

Heartburn - I got it a lot in my 1st pregnancy. Until i so frustrated i cried. Haha. This time i still get it, but much better. I take TUMS, it really helps me. But unfortunately not sold in Sg. I ordered online fm Aust.Abt papaya, i read it too fm e "what to expect" app. Not sure if it helps. It also mentioned honey in warm milk helps.

FB groups: wow, there's 2! errr, so do i go to ayana for old group and yingzz for new group? hee...

Anyway, noticed a lot of early may moms. Anyone ard my time (8 may) in Mt E? maybe we will be down e corridor fm each other!

I dunno... Recently I can't sleep on my left, its really uncomfortable. In fact, sleeping on my back is more comfortable.

And not sure issit becos of the weight due to sleeping on left side, but my left back hurts if I sit down too long. sianz.. but standing up its ok.

I like chatting here too cos can use keyboard.. office blocked FB so can only use mobilephone to chat haha.. anyways those who requested to be on secret group can check yr fb or email.

hello all...i'm a new mum to this forum as my friend just introduce me. can i join and share experience with the rest? thks.

jj_jj,
not sure about tigerbalm/medicated oil. what i know is that i ask gynae if i can use counterpain and she said yes as long as not around tummy area.

ayana,
me too - i prefer gg into forum as fb is block in my office :p so at least can go into forum for refresher... these days no mood to work already. thanks for adding me to the group !

re:fbgroup,
i join the old group - dunno how to identify who is who heheh... :p need to do a mind map between name and nick

Just saw Dr Tham, thank God he says baby 35 weeks at 2.6kg is average... Think he sees me too worried so end up assuring me instead of nagging.. lol!

-tute: Dr Tham's waiting time is usually short, at most also wait for 2 patients before...

Hokkaidolavender: yes, Dr Tham delivers at both Mt A and Thomson... But Mt A having reno now... So might be abit noisy... I'm not sure...

Thanks Keiko for the reply.

Does he still come to Mt A to check on the mummy's wound often? I guess he might be too busy to travel btw Mt A and TMC.

Anyone bought Pigeon breast pump? If it good as compare to Melada? Saw a handful of mummy uses Melada.

hihi hokkaido...i have a medela from my #1 times....if you plan to bf for long time even after going back to work, should buy a good pump...good investment.

Mt A a bit messy now but the disturbance is ok since only at daytime. Parking is a headache but I think still ok as compared to TMC. Since my hb nvr complaint, he did a lot when I go TMC for Oscar scan.

Do we need to get ready infant car seat now? How early do you plan to put yr baby in the car seat?

There is also this type of product is like a baby carrier chair with a handle, which also serves as a rocker cum feeding chair. It looks similar to an infant car seat with buckles etc. How to differentiate? I come across some sellers who advertise under infant car seat but its actually a seat carrier. So worried to buy wrong item

Rabbitz, where did you see those seat carriers? I thought that kind will be useful to me as a place for baby to rest when bringing him out to parent's house.

Why not go physically to the stores and check out the seat IRL, then buy the same model online?

It might be easier logistically speaking for the new group to join the old group because there are more members in the old group?

So the new group members can you all please IM Ayana so that you can add you to the new group?
that is the simplest way to 'merge', i think.

Ayana, can lah hor? u said u very free :p
and the moment i asked.. i figured out that it was merger and acquisition :p

wun get lost in the old group coz they have a list matching the nicks to the fb names! ha.. and after a whlie.. u will figure out who is who

re: sleeping on ur back
hey.. i knew from experiences of the last two boys, that we shouldn't be lying on our back coz we would press on our nerves. The gynae mentioned this time that this also encourages water retention at the ankles. I had that and was advised to lie on my sides.. and the water retention went away the very next day!
Gynae said my bb is a little small. coz i slept on my back and that can reduce growth.. but then again my kids all balloon despite being borned light at 3.1 and 3.2 kg. and i thought her femur bone measurement not accurate coz maybe parallax error, never measured to the end :p.. just. 0.100g off the expected 2.4 kg for 35 weeks.. i not too worried.. BUT still.. sleep on ur side, preferably on ur left.. is better lah.

hihi astro and Ayana,
i msged both of you...hehe! can you add me to the old group if that is where the majority/bulk of may mummies are....

just to intro, i am new to SMH. my EDD is 5th May, second child who is a girl-girl. my #1 is a boy..so after this can close shop!

Parking

Babysean: i find parking at MT A bigger headache than at TMC. TMC, they got the underground parking or valet parking.. MT A.. i dunno where to park.. erm. not that i have to park there lah.. :p i dun drive :p

re: sleeping position
i was encouraged to sleep on left side because the right side is where the fresh blood circulates i think...so can bring more oxygen and and nutrients to placenta and baby....

HI Mei Yan,

I don't have rights to add u for the old group. I MIA-ed for the longest time .. lolz.. but i think Ayana can add u

u are lucky! i have three.. boys!

3 boys can be a blessing if they all end up very very close and will protect and fight for each other...the right way la i mean...haha.

Though my gynae told me either sides are okay.. i read that if i sleep on my right.. the womb presses on the liver.. not v good..
if on the left.. liver on the womb.. and actually encourages better nutrient absorption for the bb.

ok lah. my elder boy is a senstive new age man material.. lolz.. he would protect the younger bro. though he is v fast to say 'mama.. didi notti. i scold him okay?!'.. the didi is fiestier.. he will say 'mama! gor gor pushed me!'.. which i alwaysdoubt.. coz the gor gor never does that.. lolz.. but they still adore one another.. the elder bro is the fierce protector of didi.. he will start crying if we scold the younger one! ehhh.. then the younger one imitates every gesture of the older one and worships him.. lolz..he thinks his elder gor gor is the funniest person on earth.. and is th eonly person in the house who giggles and lol-ed at his bro's 'jokes'...

These days my 2nd boy started calling my elder boy 'Gor gor (his name)'.. i wondering why he suddenly did that.. given that it should be the third boy who needs to differientiate between the two elder gor gors right? :p

then the elder boy also quite cute.. 'mama.. i am talking about the didi in ur tummy.. not didi (name of second boy)'..

wah getting a bit confusing here.. lolz.

lol! next time will be worse. dunno which didi you're talking about cos got 2 already! will u close shop after this or will try for girl girl again wahahah!

Hb find the waiting time to collect car too long. Whereas in Mt A, he can find his own lot or the shuttle bus comes very freq.

Mt A can park at the reservoir carpark nearby also, they also got free valet parking.

astro, yaya ok will try continue to zz on sides.

Ayana: oh can add me in the old FB?
my email add is [email protected] thanks!
And also, better to sleep on the sides if not all the internal organs will be "squeeze" no good... Left is the best according to websites but my gynae didn't specify... He says either sides is good... When I lie on my left, my leg & back is super pain... So most of the time I lie on my right but try to change and endure at times...

Hokkaidolavendar: I'm not sure about the checks but I decided on TMC coz I thought easier for him since he's stationed there...

Rabbitz: I'll be installing my baby car seat next week or so... I'll put her in after the first month... Want her to get used to it and not be whiny next time... Haha...!

Mrs Ho: Dr Tham is in a good mood today.. He gave me a week's MC... Finally can ease my pains before I cry... >.< coz my job is all about walking, running, playing, carrying.. lol! My next appt is 18th April coz 19th he's gg for conference...

Babysean: wow.. The waiting... Today was worst, we waited for 30 mins!

Keiko, any ideal dr Tham conference on the 19th is at Singapore or oversea?! I hope is in Singapore coz I am a april mummy hehe

Ayana: The seat carrier is usually a 3-in-1 ie carrier cum rocker cum feeding chair, comes with canopy and seat belt. Price is usually cheaper <$100.

TMC parking is terrible, we went to visit friend there and got to queue outside the entrace for at least 15 to 30 min before can get in and get the valet to help

>> ayana
M also like u.. Sleeping on my back is more comfy for me.. Vut i try to sleep on my sides as much as i can la.. Haha but yest when i flip to the left.. Bb started kicking me as if he dun like the position.. Then i lay on my back he stopped.. I flip left again he start kicking.. Flip right he didnt kick :p

>> astro
Your two boys are so cute!! Lolz

Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 8:38 pm:   
Hi Keiko, Chocolateteddy, VT &amp; Mrs Ho,

Thanks for the tips. I'm a first time mummy. Edd is 31 May. With Dr Eunice Chua at TMC.

I've been taking small meals and when I feel the heart burn I just pop myself higher with 2 pillows. It's better but it's still affecting my sleep.

Will give papaya and cold milk a try

Saw the discusssion on sleeping position so just adding on... Sleeping on our left is the best as it encourages more oxygen flow to bb. I bought a pillow (flopsy) from taka to support my back, the shape is like a boomerang. You can use the other end to put it in between your legs for better support. Can also double up as a nursing pillow soon. In addition, you may use a small pillow to support the tummy. I find it really comfortable.

Regarding water retention on legs, I rest both legs on a pillow so far so good, touch wood, still the same shape.

Try it ...

I spent today treating myself today! Feel more relaxed now... Went for hair cut n my stylist gv a good head massage when shampooing. Then went Clarins for their pre-natal treatment. Massage was good but it's the smells...! So nice n aromatic...

Mummies, give urself treats b4 the big day ya

But I'm still hving heartburn now... Sheesh... Hahaha!!!

Phyllis:
Good luck on the heartburn! No cure, only preventions n temporary reliefs. Only cure prob is getting baby out! Haha!
O ya, I apply tiger balm on chest area between breasts n also the area just below the breast, stomach area. But im careful whr baby is n avoid la. Works wonders for me n can sleep better.