(2012/05) May 2012

Same same! Feeling bigger and clumsier..haha...yet at times I still gotta carry my 3 year old girl when she sleeps in the car...

I do feel breathless at times.. esp when sitting MRT.. its like there is not enough air.. happened during the first trimester.. now its back at third trimester too! :\

I sometimes also feel like bursting after eating dinner.. like a super bloated balloon!

I'm in my 27th week and have been having this breathless feeling for the past month or so. It comes even when I'm sitting up watching TV so it's worst when I'm trying to get myself to sleep. It is normal though and I guess there is nothing much we can do about it :p

Hey me too! Sit there watch tv gives me most breathlessness!

Recently feel that my baby is kicking v v hard. but seems like my tummy has not grown much. I tot 7 mths shld be quite big liao. I will be gg into week 32 next week liao. Baby is 1.5 kg as of 3 weeks ago.

Did the doc tell u ur bb's weight?

me too! I have the breathlessness and it actually feels like something heavy on the chest area. And I feel this when sitting up too.

Do you know your baby's weight every check up? I only know mine during my last detailed scan @ 20 weeks. After that, and after we signed the antenatal package, no more ultrasound

Hey momo baby.. mine is 1.3kg as of 28 week
my tummy also quite small.. and lotsa ppl commented its small.. but when i ask dr tee.. he say its average size.. so dont worry :p my friend also say its during her last month her tummy suddenly grew vv big!

Sardonyx >> how come no more ultrasound? I tot got every visit got ultrasound de?

Yingzz >> yah dr tee oso say within range. But i curious and went to google myself. Its slightly higher than ave for week 28. My next visit shld target 1.9kg liao.

For mummies in kkh, have u all chosen ur package liao? I wonder when they will let us choose. I scared no more single room cos of dragon year.

Hmm Sardonyx which doc / clinic did you visit? I also thought every visit will have ultrasound..

Momo baby.. that time when I ask.. the nurse say one month before then need to book.. but i think you can already start booking if you scare no more single room? For me I am thinking to get the four bedder room~

i am with Mt A.. they say cannot book room now if natural birth.. only actual day then can tell them which room i prefer cos' it's subject to availability on the actual day..

Sardonyx, yah every checkup doc will take measurement via ultrasound and key in the figures, afterthat the machine will generate the approx weight lor. If no ultrasound then during the appt what did the doc do?

I think all hospitals cannot book rooms de, you can only indicate your preference in advance. Then, depends on availability on that day lor.

My gal is ard 1.7kg at 31wks+. I indicated my preferred room type during 27wks+ visit with the clinic assistant. Then 1 wk later, I got a SMS from Mt A saying my delivery booking is confirmed. But I'm not sure what the SMS mean.

In US, they dun do ultrasound on every visit, juz measure the tummy size. But I thot in SG, our gynae do scan during each visit.

Momo's baby, yingzz, Ayana, and newbie2012, my ob is Dr. Chua Tsei Meng @ NUH. Did you all get the antenatal package? Check ups usually last for less than 5 minutes. Just some chitchats, she takes my bp, measures my tummy using a tape measure and hear baby's heartbeat with a doppler. I have to write down my questions so I won't forget because check up is so very fast!

Hmm KK dont have any package.. so usually see doc once a month.. my checkup also around 5 min.. but will have the ultrasound.. for BP wise.. is measured by nurses..

Oh yesh. I understand that NUH does not do ultrasoud at every visit. My visits at kkh oso less than 5 mins.

Yingzzz ur hubby staying over? I tink only one bedder can stay. I scared. So getting him to stay. Somemore can claim from company. Might as well take the premium plan.

sardonyx, my gynae does not do packages, so its chargable every visit. But mine does not measure the tummy. I think last visit he also did not hear the heartbeat.

Mabbe different practices? U should ask her why no ultrasound, why not necessary to see inside, and why not necessary to take weight measurement every visit .. =)

Ayana, my friend, who had frequent spotting, said that she always had ultrasound at NUH because the doc was always monitoring her condition. In her previous pregnancy, starting on her 2nd trimester, ultrasound was not done during every check up.

Hi mommies! I want to sell my used Cinch Signature Tummy Wrap.

It is the one with internal Pouch for Cold/Warm Compress. Size XS-M (26"-34")-expands to 38"

I used it for only 1 week after giving birth in 2011 Nov. Bought at Tanglin Mall motherworks for $149. Willing to sell at $100. Thanks.

Please PM if interested.

Babysean: really? U managed to pre-book ur room? So good.. I was told cannot book for natural birth. Only c-sec then can book. Maybe I try asking mt A again.

Sardonyx: I got package but only started when I was ard 22wks. Now just gotta pay for vitamin supplements.

Recently just paid deposit for natural birth delivery..

It's March already today! Ard 2 more months before we begin a new phase in our lives - motherhood! Exciting.. Anxious cos' dunno how things will go.. But I'm sure after we get thru' the initial months of having lack of sleep.. We will enjoy being a mummy!
I'm looking forward! Be encouraged mummies!! U can do it! =D

Momo baby~ Hmm I dont even know if my hubby can be around when I give birth.. he working as a freelancer so might be hard for him to come if he is in the middle of work.. yup only one bedder can stay.. but for me no point because he prob cant stay so might as well get four bedder.. but my sis say four bedder might be hard to get enough rest cos too many activities going around the ward.. but i just dun wanna be alone in my ward.. think i will be scared too! Your company so good.. can claim.. mine cant so take four bedder also can save a bit of $$ for milk powder & diapers!

Yes its just another two more months left! Excited.. but feel so unprepared.. havent really buy a lot of stuff yet.. Am going to the taka fair this weekend

When I was seeing Dr Tham at TMC, he always did an ultrasound scan at every visit. I believe most private hospitals do the scans on every visit and as for KK, they will do it if you are a patient in the Private Suite. Otherwisem you only get the important scans done.

My baby weighed 710gms at 24 weeks so am excited to know how heavy she is at our 28th week appt nxt Thurs. This is my first baby that I will be delivering out of SG so a bit nervous abt how things will work here.

Yingzzz >> agree its quite scary to stay alone. Plus kkh stay the most 2-3 days. no need pay so much. I rather go home and sleep. Only reason y i getting premium cos hopefully he can stay and i can claim. Tats all.

I gg to see prof tee on monday ler. hopefully baby will be guai guai and grow and grow. Yeap its another 8 more weeks before we see our babies. Really looking fwd!!!

Do update us the good deals at taka baby fair! I went to apply taka dbs card cos of the fair!

Take opp of the free delivery, if any ok?

newbie2012, actually I'm not sure if my room is booked. Juz that I got that SMS from Mt A. Your deposit is for gynae or hospital? I haven't pay any yet.

I pick 2 bedded coz hb won't be staying over.

Those delivering in TMC may wanna try book 4 bedded. My colleague say TMC only have 2 4 bedded ward. So high chance to get free upgrade to 2 bedded. Haha. He did that for his 2 gals.

Ladies I think different hosp different practice. I prebooked my room sometime in January and it's sort of confirmed. Also, my gynae had a package at about the third month when it's confirmed that the pregnancy is more stable. ;) the package is abt $700 plus whch includes monthly checkup with ultrasounds done and free supplements.

Can anyone give me some suggestions? Pondering whether to go for induction or natural. I v kiasi one. #1 was induced and everything went smoothly. Dunno Should request to indice this time round. Actually my gynae got no issue with that. But my hubby keep nagging me to go natural. V fan ah...

So many of u tummies still look small ah? So envious! Tml
I'm gonna for my 28wk checkup. Hope the gynae doesn't scold me for putting too muh weight. Hurhur

Taka bb fair startin this week?? Yeah! So excited..

Btw I just read fr the papers that mother care at harbourfront also gt be fair. And the deals r good too!! Happy shopping this weekend ladies!! Really excited

M_int: May I ask why were you induced for #1? Was baby overdue? Personally, I would recommend letting the labour progress naturally but that's just me

Maybe mummies can post pictures of you and your tummies, if you're not shy that is

Hi mommies! My brother bought for me the Avent sterilizer and 2 packs of 2 x 4oz Avent feeding bottles from The First Few Years. It was delivered yesterday and the boxes of the feeding bottles didn't come with the plastic seal on its window box. Now, I called Avent customer service and they said that normally, it comes with a seal but since The First Few Years is not their authorized distributor, they're not liable, so I have to contact them directly. Meanwhile, I'm still waiting for them to answer my call. How do you know if these are the original Avent products? And have you experienced buying Avent feeding bottles without the plastic seal on its window box?

how are u feeling now?? i'm getting so excited with just 8-9 weeks more. have you got everything ready?? i have booked my bed at TMC. i booked 4bedded cos if let's say there's no free upgrade den we can easily do the upgrade on the admission day.

sad to say that i'm having bad fungal infection again. any mummies here keep having fungal infection? every visit to my gynae he will ask me to cut down on sugar and sweet stuffs. The itch is really killing me :X

Turning in bed is more tough. My body may have turn but not bb's. So must give time for BB to switch position. Haha. Oh, at 31 wks, my BB has turn head down. So will expect more pressure at the varginal area soon.

I'm still spitting saliva, since 3rd mth! Praying hard it will end soon. Guess none of the mummies here experience this. As a result, I dun like to eat hence put on very little weight. Luckily BB growing as expected.

Sorry not to be so active in the forum! Hope we are all gearing up towards 3rd tri to those not in it yet! I am 26 weeks now.

As for booking of rooms for delivery, the hospital can only confirm that they know we are coming in around your EDD, if yours is a natural delivery. They will note down that you prefer a 2 bed or 1 bed room, but on that day, if it is not available, you may have to change your room type. The room type is only secured if you are going in for a schedule C-section.

Baby sean,

wat do u mean by spitting saliva? i'm oso experiencing pelvic pain, checked with my gynae and he says using hot compress method works. well, i have not tried that.

Mean my mouth is constantly filled with saliva. Only time I'm normal is when I'm sound asleep or eating. I need to carry 2 bottles when I'm out, 1 for spitting & 1 for drinking. Get dehydrated very fast. It's not possible to swallow it as it's slightly thicker than saliva. If i dun spit regularly, i will end up vomitting. It's due to hormone change, not very common I think. But I did know of a few pple who experiences this. Most of them r ok after 8th mth. But my gynae's friend was til delivery. Worst case that I read is stop aft 2nd mth of delivery! No medication for this. For my 1st child, this only lasted for 2 wks & usually in the evening. Now I'm experiencing it whole day. I google abt it & saw that quite a lot of caucasian experience this.

Babysean.. wah this is the first time I heard of this.. must be tough on you.. Hope it will stop soon for you!

Sasha, my #1 was induced bec she didn't gain weight for her last 2 scans. And it was the holiday season, so just induce An be more prepared. She was induced at 38wks

Just saw my gynae, she said I'm fat! Haiz...;( anyway my gynae was quite pro-induce. When I ask for her opinion, she said its ok to induce as long as ur body is ready. So I might just opt for that as she's gg for hol near my edd.

I was induced on wk 40, coincidently contraction started too. But likely due to BB too big, I stop dilating at 7cm. After waited for 7 hrs, still no progress. Then I started to get feverish & gynae say cervix a bit swollen. So chose emergency c-section.

Babysean: I'm not sure if i encountered the same. There is always some thick saliva/ light phlegm at the back of my throat. I also keep spitting it out. But mine is manageable, i jus spit it as and when i feel my throat feel uncomfortable.

Do u all experience sudden tightening/hardening of tummy - sometimes comes with/without light cramp along the round ligament? Is this Braxton Hicks?

Rabbitz: I experienced that almost every night. Checked with gynae and ya it's braxton hicks. It's normal and more obvious in the 3rd trimester. It's also to prepare u for the big day

Babysean: that's sounds like a long labour! Actually all my closer gfs last min also emergency c-section due to many reasons. I guess I was lucky. From the time I checked into the hosp till my girl was delivered, it's abt 14 hours. But that was all within what the gynae had predicted. So I feel safe inducing the coming one too

M_int: Ah I see. I'm sure your gynae would not recommend unless he/she thinks it's necessary. My previous pregnancies esp my girls, I gave birth about 3 weeks before EDD (abt 36/37 weeks).

Babysean: That does sounds like a long labour and it's definitely not fun and is even tiring. Reminds me of my labour with my twin boys which lasted about 3 days (but because they were premature and born at 29 weeks).

So far, I've had pretty good steady progress with my previous labour but am attempting a water birth with this one so we'll see how that goes.

Sardonyx, my Gynae says even in uk or us, ultrasound is not done every visit, cos v exp there, only 2 times the entire 9 months. So the doc there will just take measure the tummy to get the fundal height.. He said sg is considered v advanced Liao...

Gd to hear all of u chatting bubbly..am feeling a little upset now..just went to Gynae n was told I'm having gestational diabetes:-(

Feeling abit upset ESP the thought that I got to prick myself for 7 times a day for 2 days and also put on a diet plan..

Sadder to say, my weight gain for both me n baby is ok..average lor..but still got this condition..feeling upset n I don't dare to eat now..

Went to the mothercare fair just now, think it's ok only..also lots of people..I got some toys and maternity briefs..but I thought the nursing wear was gd deal at 50% off so only like 30+ for a nursing cum maternity dress..