(2012/04) Apr 2012

desperatemum, i am using bio oil and i feel that it helps with the itch. But i think sometimes it's inevitable cos our skin is like stretched to the max. I am so transparent now that i can see those green, blue and red veins on my chest, belly and legs! Haha

Lovexuan, me too !! Can see all the veins on tummy plus old & new stretch marks, super ugly. My sis even said she dare not touch my tummy scare will break the skin, looks so fragile with all the veins. And.. peeing at nite, lost count le, some more waked up alrdy hard to fall asleep again. So end up go to work like zoombie...

Mummies, is this true that now if we drink cold things baby lung will be sensitive, as the lung is still developing around week 30 - 36? ( that's why bb come out early must stay in icu). I used to drink a lot of cold drink during 3rd trisem for no 1 and she got bronchitis when she was 3 yo. But I can't help it now. Always feel super hot inside out, dun even hv to wear sweater in my office which usually hv freezing aircon. So shook to drink cold drink to make myself feel better haha such a bad mum

Hi, all mummies. Juz admitted to Mt A at 12am+ juz now coz found some slight red discharge. As yesterday went gynae appt, gynae checked my cervix, So juz now the delivery suite nurse told me usually after gynae checked the cervx will have some discharge. I was thinking "oh, false alarm, can go back liao". But after the nurse checked for me, i'm already dilated 4cm, but still no contraction. Then i asked her "cannot go back already?", she said can, but wf bb, lol.
Now waiting for the contraction to come in. But if by morning still not much contraction, gynae will come in to break the water bag. Haiz, too nervous end up now can't sleep. It's a long night to wait.

Bubuya: omg! So exciting! Later today u will see your bb le! Don't be scared! Wow dilated 4cm some more! I think it will happen v fast.. After break waterbag shld be very fast come out le. JIAYOU!! All of us will be cheering you on!!

desperatemum, ^5!
The sacrifices we make for our little ones. As women it's really not easy witnessing how our body changes during pregnancy. Yes!! I just woke up to pee...again! And now i am wide awake. Not sure about how cold stuff will affect our babies but for both pregnancies, my craving for ice cold beverages especially coke or root beer with lots of ice is very strong! Must have it everyday! But i try to opt for healthier versions and switched to juices instead of soft drinks. I love to chew on those ice too! Cannot help it. Even after birth.. Think i finally stop this habit when my girl turned 1 the last time. So far no problem for my girl. Now it started again... If i don't drink or eat it, i feel so hot and pek chek. Lol! But i also wonder am i a bad mummy...

JIAYOU bubuya! Hope your contractions quickly come so no need to break water bag.

Oh great! Insomnia now... Alarm going off at 9am to wake my girl up for school! Go back to sleep or not to sleep? -_-

bubuya

jia yoy,we r cheering for u.if we deliver out number1 at 38 weeks does not mean that our number 2 also come out this period of time?

Cayden's Mummy: Congrats! Am super proud of you for going through it without epidural. I believe most of us will not have the strength to do that!
Let alone think about going through labour without epi to begin with. Hahaha!

Question for experienced mommies: How are the contraction pains like before we are allowed epi at 3-4cm dilation? Think I might collapse while waiting for epi to be administered. Super low tolerence for pain.

Mommies talking about weight.. you'll be relieved to know that I was 47kgs, 1.58cm pre preggy days and am now 76kgs. THANK YOU THANK YOU. Feel like killing myself. I had no vomitting at all throughout. Sigh.

Bubuya
Jiayou! Wah so happening. 4cm dilated still no contractions! Huat ah!!

Kirsten
Nah I think every baby is different, if #1 come at X weeks, not necessarily #2 will follow suit

You mummies are so funny la. Transparent skin! I think cos I'm quite tan so I'm not transparent like vampire. Just look sickly that's all haha. In fact many people have commented "wah why you so tan now?"

Ahhh me too, before go to bed, must go toilet like 10000 times. I'm like a just potty trained toddler

Cayden's mummy
Your pad sounds SUPER COOL wor. Can glow in the dark also? Like light stick? Lolll!!!!

LittleDD
Super lol on your "thank you thank you" haha. Everyone's tolerance level is different, and I think everyone's contraction pain is diff too ba... Like bubuya got admitted at 4cm but still no contractions right?

Some take suuuuuuuper long to dilate (like me!! With #1 after hours and hours, still miserbly 3cm dilated kind). But apparently the gauge is 1cm per hour for first time mums, if not induced.

Aiyoh now as I'm 1cm dilated, I'm walking around outside I can literally hear "tick tock tick tock". Walking time bomb lai liao! If friends jio me out I always ask "sure, if you're prepared to drive me to hospital if necessary!"

LittleDd, i think different mummies have different types of contraction pains and some may even come on as braxton hicks..meaning no pain! as for myself it was pretty obvious as my belly was tightening and releasing at a very regular interval from every 30 minutes to every 15 minutes and i finally woke hubby up when it was every 10 minutes. it felt like menstrual cramps for a start and i thought i was going to have diarrhea. then it got stronger till i cannot stand straight anymore on the way to the hospital. but i was only 2cm dilated then. by the time i was 4cm dilated, i was crying in pain and pulling at the pillow with each wave of contraction yet the nurses told me those contractions were not considered strong. but bear in mind i have super duper low threshold for pain! yet when the wave of pain came, those VE, ivf, even epidural felt like nothing. but after epi was administered, ahhh....RELIEF!!! it became braxton hicks again! and who ever wanna do VE, insert urine cathether or stretch my cervix, i didn't care! i was super numb waist down cos i requested for highest dosage. :p

lucky you! i had hyperemesis gravidarumi for the first 20 weeks and lost close to 5kg! it was really terrible and i think no mummies would ever want to experience that. anyway i think it's mostly water retention? it should go off after birth! don't worry! ;)

pinkbunny, WAHAHAHAHA!! thanks for making my day with your "I'm like a just potty trained toddler" and "Can glow in the dark also? Like light stick?"! :D

Hi mummies, im also warded but at tmc. Mon midnite I feel nauseous and pain, I tot it was stomach flu cos my girl just recovered. The pain was unbearable at 3-4am so I took a cab to tmc 24hour family clinic. I told the gp I do feel some ache on my back. And so he sent me to check for contractions using ctg. After a few mins of strapping up, the nurse exclaimed "omg, u r having contractions!" so called my gynae cos I was having 2min interval painless contractions and by noon, I was 3cm dilater. Gynae kept me for observation last nite cos he worry that those were signs of early labour.

But this morning he came by to check n say dilation remained at 3cm but cervix is very thin liao, labour anytime. He gave me option of breaking water bag n just deliver or to wait. But im only week 36.5 now so I opted to wait in tmc. Try to tahan till sat!

LittleDd - wow!

Bubuya - did you do a lot of walking? Dilated still no contraction. One of my frens also got 2cm dilated and no other signs so doctor ask her to wait till other signs then admit to hospital. She waited for about 2days then contraction came.

Cayden - thanks for sharing what kkh provide.

I remember mount a also provide diaper, wipes, mittens and booties for baby, but they are too big, it keeps dropping off, bring your own mittens + booties. They giv maternity pads and antiseptic solution + cotton balls to clean the bloody pelvic area. Hooded blanket too but quality is not good one, not 100% cotton, so bring your own. Remember to eat before the drip, the nurse just ask if I want to give birth that day then I said yes, she put drip on me then tell me cannot eat already. I was stunned. End up after the delivery process, I felt nausea as I was too hungry, ask for food, my gynae n nurse say I can't take if not will vomit. I was fed up, ask my hb to find food for me in the hospital at midnight. Luckily got the sandwich machine, finally got better after the bite. ANGRY!!! Haha already told them I was nausea because of hunger yet they forbid me to eat.

lilcactus: I guess staying in d hospital is a better choice for u as the nurses can monitor u instead of rushing up n down frm hm.. In the meanwhile, try to relax and rest more. Did ur gynae mention abt ur BB wgt? If everything is ok, u can get him to induce u once reach 37w if really required.

LittleDd: Dun get demoralized on wgt. Will b able to shed off. Initially I put on alot of wgt but started to slow down for d past 2 mths n gynae starts to worry since BB din put on much too.. So last week I started my indulgence eating and pound on 1.5kg.. Just in a week.. Scary..

babydrag0n, really cannot eat! hahaha... i tried to eat and in the end i vomitted everywhere. LOL! maybe my epidural was the culprit. i was also super hungry. imagine dinner at 10pm the night before(it was christmas eve and i only had some turkey and logcake) then no food/water all the way until after i gave birth next day(christmas day but no nice food for me...only my priceless gift!) at 10pm! a hungry mummy is an angry mummy!! :p

i wonder if mount alvernia is still giving bath tub and baby t-shirt? they were cute! haha.. ya, the hooded blanket was very lousy. anyway i packed everything that baby needs in my hospital bag already just in case.

lovexuan: I read in the letter that Mount A had given together with the pre-admission form that bathtub will be given.

lilcactus: then u have a good rest 1st b4 ur lil one pops!!

Lilcactus: jiayou! Hope baby can stay in for at least a few more days!

Littledd: thanks! Haha if I knew how pain it was, would have opted for epidural straightaway!! Lol.. And for the pain, like what Pinkbunny say lor.. U won't know when it will happen, the pain will suddenly come.. It's different for everyone. Like me I had contractions, 1cm dilated and the pain only came after they broke waterbag den dilated more n more..

Qiqi and littledd: haha I also gained like 17kg but don't look very fat according to my frens.. Lol! Now I'm so worried about losing all the weight! Thankfully with massage now my tummy alr reduce by alot. My massage lady is really not bad!!

Pinkbunny: wahahaha! U damn funny leh! I also wish e pad will glow den I will look like superhero fat baby with a droopy and glowing diaper. Lol!

Btw experienced mummies, do u all experience water retention in legs after birth? I have it and it's worse than I was preggy! Lucky the scholl compression socks helps to reduce! Also, my baby seems to have rejected latching on and only wants the bottle. Why!!!!

lilcactus,
all the best. but i thought it's safe to deliver after reach 36 weeks? for me aft 36 weeks i dun mind baby come out le, really dont want to go to work now.

bubuya
Jia you!!

lovexuan
after reading ur post, i quickly go drink one cup of cold water with ice haha, been tahan since morning, now feel like having accomplice hehe

YQ, that is why my gynae did not straight away burst my waterbag to let it happen. But if its my body who went into labour, then no choice got to deliver liao. Actually I think week 36 onwards give birth is fine la. But since body still can keep bb inside, then let him stay a bit longer bah, hee

Cayden's Mummy: I have bad water retention in legs after birth, mainly becos I am on drip after C-sect and did not diligently move my legs, toes and hands.. End up swelled up and my hub/mum had to massage for me.. But it did go off once my drip is off.

I din manage to lose all my weight for #1.. Still got remaining of 2kg. I put on 18-19kg for #1. Now total weight gain is 13kg. Think by nxt week shd be 15kg, looking at d amt I eat in order to pound more wgt for BB. Hopefully ltr at gynae appt, can see BB gaining more weight..

Going to buy KOI & durians later to satisfy my cravings. 1 more week to go..

Ooooh dear... April mommies are starting to pop one after another... nervous nervous..

Durian- I just had my share of durian...yum...

Bubble tea- having cough, can't take any.. Sianz

Lotusmum: I am trying to satisfy my cravings in this 1 week so that during confinement, I'll b good to stick to confinement food.

Qiqi
That's what I'm thinking too.. Not only confinement, after that still need to watch diet for don't know how long if breastfeeding..

Silvery_gal, thanks! The last time i gave mine away. This time i want to keep it!

desperatemum, hahaha.. Oh no! I am bad influence. :p But imo as long as not scientifically proven to be harmful to babies, it's ok.. Better than surpressing it and resulting in bad mood! Haha.. *finding excuses*

All that talk about bubble tea. Now i want to drink gongcha! But too lazy to head out to buy. My legs can no longer carry me any further than the neighbourhood... ;)

Aiyo!! All the craving talk is making me jealous. Before I have birth still wanted to go eat crabs and enjoy all my cold drinks.. Then i unexpectedly gave birth! Lol.. I take quite a bit of cold drinks during pregnancy as well, the weather was super hot and made me sweat all the time!! Think it should be ok. My theory is "scared too chilly but not scared too hot till heatstroke meh!!" LOL..

Sometimes I think it's really unfair for us that we have to go through the whole pregnancy ourselves. Physically we have to carry the baby, after that we have to bf and suffer all the post natal issues while the husbands just shake legs.

Worse if those husbands don't really care type. How the wife tahan?

wow, after reading through the postings, I am getting quite worried now because I'm already 38 weeks and baby only weighs 2.29kgs!

Am busy with the baby and 2 elder ones thus hardly had time to share my no.3 birth story. I try write something now.

18th march, 6 am-
Felt a sudden gush while asleep. 
Something is not quiet right. So went toilet to check.
Yiks blood and what felt like pee but not really pee. 
Woke up hubby and told him that we should go to hospital now! 

7am at Kkh delivery ward
Nurse check. I'm in lobour mode. It water bag burst plus bleeding from dunno where. I got panic. 

They check me in to the delivery room, changed me and
Strap me up with the monitoring machines.

8am- Dr. Tan came. She was operating some one else earlier.
Check me. 1cm dilated, baby head is still high. She expect its going to be a long wait and most cases a c-section. 

After some thoughts I decide to go c sect rather to wait and distress the kid. 

8.30am prep for OT. 

9am in OT. Epidural was not very strong. Felt numb but still can feel the pushing around. I was surprised that my doc asked for forceps to get baby out. Ghees! Baby was out and doc showed me baby...
Anyways I started feeling pain somehow and doc instructed to let me sleep thru the stiching part. 

10am - at recovery ward
Relieved that delivery was smooth.
 Its a new beginning for the family. 

A note for all mums going for c sect. Bring along a bottle of ru yi you. In case you get a bloated tummy on the 2nd day. It helps to relieve the pain.

Sunsweet thanks for sharing .. but wondering that do we get to take an epidural even in C-section? I thought they numb you completed during the operation ?

sunsweet,
congrats !! 4 hours, that is quite fast and smooth !!

Littledd,
totally agree. Not just end at post natal, the list and responsibilities for mothers is endless. count urself lucky if have a hubby who is caring and can help out. Otherwise, bo pian...what to do ?!! But guess this is so called the 'privillege' of being a woman, and we will have special bond with bb that no one else could have...(trying to think this way to make myself feel better haha...)

Heyyyyy how come I give birth at Mt A but didn't get anything but bathtub? Demand refund!! Haha

Sunsweet
Wow, short and sweet delivery!! Congrats. Happy bonding

LittleDD
It's like that one la. Like today I was preparing milk for #1 while she was in bath, hubby talking to me then #1 talk to me then both demanding my attention at the same time. I already so chuan from simply being on my feet, had to cook dinner and cut fruits and made a game to play with #1 and prepared PJs and thirsty and badly needed to pee.... I could feel myself exploding internally! Haha.

Mummies rock. Seriously

aprilbaby: I'm in 37w and bb isnt big too. 2.35kg and will be having c-sect at 38w. Gynae says it will b a small baby at ard 2.4-2.5kg. #1 onli 2.55kg when born so he says it d genes. Most impt, BB is healthy. At 1st, quite depressed when hearing but Gynae has assured me tt as long as BB is more than 2kg, he can go hm with me. So now, I been telling myself to be contented as BB is healthy during all checkups and will be able to discharge with me when I go hm.

Just satisfy my cravings for KOI and durians. Went gynae appt tis evening and d weight gain is mainly on me. Oh no. Need to put in xtra effort after confinement to lose weight.

The nurse just told me tt Parkway East has become more pro-breastfeeding which is gd as it will encourage me to breastfeed. If 1st few days, milk supply not in then they will allow FM supplement.

Sunsweet: Congrats on ur delivery.

Congrats sunsweet!! Do take care and don't strain your wounds! So overall ur delivery process like painless?

Aprilbaby: do check with your gynae first! Ur doc use e machine to check the weight or it's an estimate? Still can gain weight in e last few weeks one. Don't worry too much k

Littledd: I feel must ask e hubby to help out leh.. It's so tiring and stressful esp for a first time mum. Thankfully my hubby is very hands on, he does all the chores, washing, sterilizing, changing diapers while I mostly just breastfeed. He wants me to rest and don't keep bending over as it will strain my back. Men should really understand and help esp they r the ones who made us preggy! Hehe.

Cayden's mummy
That's very good! Thumbs up for cayden's daddy!

Lilcactus
You might be the next one! Jiayou jiayou!!

Aiyoh so many april babies kanchiong and want to be march babies! Hehe

Congrats, Sunsweet!

Qiqi
Yeah, doc said baby's normal. Like you, all my additional weight also on me! I've put on 15kgs.
My #1 was also small, but at least at 38 weeks when she was born she was already 2.5kgs.

Cayden's mummy
Doc used machine, so should be pretty accurate.I've been eating like a pig but like Qiqi, most of the weight went on me!

How's the breastfeeding coming along?

Sunsweet - Congrats!!!

2 April babies are borned already, am i right? Let's count and build the list together...

18th Mar - Sunsweet
24th Mar - Cayden's Mummy

Bubuya - Await for your update

Qiqi - I miss KOI after you mentioned it... Your baby is indeed small, cant wait for a while more so that your baby can grow more inside before you c-sect?

Cayden's Mummy - Great that your hb is helping, truely daddy plays an important role.

Is there any correlation between a bigger baby and possibly an earlier arrival?

This is my first baby, at 35w4d she was 2.75kgs. Gynae mentioned she can't predict baby's arrival. Any mommies have experience or thoughts on this? Do you think the baby will arrive at 38 weeks?

Aprilbaby: ahh i see. Maybe u can ask the gynae if need to do anything in particular? Pregnancy can be up to 40 weeks so still got time!
I gained like 17 or 18kg.. Yikes! Hmm breastfeeding is a tough journey! So many things to learn! Sometimes he latch on super long -_-"

b@by: #1 was 2.55kg when born. So gynae says it in my genes to give birth to small baby. Nxt week will be 38w and for c-sect, best time is ard 38w to 39w so tt wun going into e c-sect.

Even i had my KOI satisfy, it nv seems to be enough. Still craving for more KOI.

aprilbaby: Although the weight is an estimation, I hope tt BB will be more than 2.4-2.5kg instead of lower.

LittleDd: I dun tink there is a correlation but when BB tends to be too big, gynae might suggest to induce BB for fear of delivery difficulties which might end up in e c-sect. Some gynae might not want to commit on d baby's arrival date and end up giving wrong hope.

But somehow my gynae did mention to me yday tt I wun go into labor till my c-sect date so it seems like a relief to me.. Ask about BB being engaged, he says most BB will onli engaged during 38w so mine still not engaged and confirmed it with d scan.

Maybe during full term at 37w, u can check again wif ur gynae again and also monitor if there is any symptoms on early labor.

SUNSWEET, congrats! did you mean that you still feel pain even with epidural during the stitching? how did they put you to sleep? GA?
rest lots and have a speedy recovery!

LittleDd, i don't think bigger babies mean earlier arrival.
i delivered #1 at 39 weeks and she weighed 3.3kg.
i am currently 39 weeks preggy with #2 and gynae estimated baby's weight to be above 3.5kg but not much signs of labour yet. haha.. i just hope baby is not overdue or i will have to go for c-section!

i really hope baby will arrive soon! :D

Congrats Mummy Cayden!! wow!! tat was one scary birth.. the part where the doc strecthed his hands to pull out the baby and without epidural.. OMG.. Anywa.. baby Cayden is already out and can see you and all his beloved families.. Do take care and try to rest when u have the time ok... Enjoy bonding with ur bundle of joy.. !!

Hey mummies, I have asked my gynae she said actually anytime you want epi also can, but if too dilated like 6cm, do you stil wan to waste your money on epi since you jus have to endure another 2h. dont know how true is it lei... thought if inject too late scare you will be numb and cant push. ????