(2012/04) Apr 2012

Pardon me for not chatting much so far after starting the forum from beginning. My boy is teething 4 molars at one go and he is super demanding lately. Plus me at stage of 1st trimester so cannot carry him too much. Not sure how the mummies here are dealing with it but I can feel the distance between boy and me. I will be doing the triple test and oscar test as I guess I am the oldest here.

BF got blood sometimes is cause by dry nipples and over stimulating it due to pumping or over latched. must apply nipple cream and will be ok liao.

ahNah,
I've tried several ways to get through the evening sickness.
a)try to sleep it off (lie down and rest)
b)avoid the smells that trigger nausea (for me its garlic!)
c)try not to let stomach be too empty -eat plain cracker biscuits and drink some milk
d) spray my favourite perfume and sniff!

Yesterday went back to Tangs cardmembers sale after work and splurged on perfumed body lotion. It smelt heavenly when I put it on after my shower and I didn't get any evening sickness last night!

Oh 1 more suggestion to look for pants.
I ever went to UNIQLO, bought a skinny jeans, they have pants type too, with elastic waist, no zip and I wear it throughout my pregnancy.

Today seems very quiet. I had problems keeping up with all last few days that decided not to reply and go sleep but hmm... Where is everyone today. Sleeping is still the best solution for nausous which I had been doing since the day I got to know. Afternoon nap as very hot. Not sure you gals felt it but the homones in the body gets me very hot and I have to shower 3 times a day.

Leebabytwo> thot you new mummy now I am confused when u talk abt the BF. Pardon me comes with age. Where is the spreadsheet list that can keep me posted and updated?

I think pp are on holiday today! Wish I was too but stuck at office...

thks El for update. I have been missing a lot because I have a shoulder aching problem that is related to using too much laptop so I will cut down when I am not well.

Oh ya those that needs to work and must stop puking can try sucking sweets or stuff. but do note not too much sweets for the baby. It works for me too when i need to see client. I will tell them I needed the sweet to keep my enery up. haha.

tangerinez - i think shld be normal bah... my skin also warm.. but I always feel cold. So I like to hide inside my blanket and my hubby think im crazy!! hahaha....

oh gosh.. still got 4 more hours. so so sOooo sleepy!!

tangerinez, i also feel very warm easily. our body temperature rises, together with the pregnancy, right?

ying, i feel so sleepy after my MOS burger lunch! yeah to tomorrow! off to HK! i dunno if i can resist the temptation in buying baby clothes! i wanna shop for the lil one! dont care lar, just buy baby gal's stuff, if not a gal, i just give away the clothes loh! haha!

Tangerinez and yingoinkoink> what you feeling is normal and good.

Guess What I eating to stay out of puking - dried organic apricot. healthy fruits and keep me up with energy. other things that is good would be walnut that is good for bb brain but must go and buy from nuts specialist store.

Don't know why cannot sleep today

Hi mommies, I just went to the gynae, saw the flickering heartbeat of my little one. It's amazing!
Was q-ing for lunch today at tiong bahru famous curry rice, the Q was super long. After q-ing for 20 mins and was about y turn, I had to vomit -.- so wasted!!!

Anyway, just a word of advice, the gynae said to stay off bird's nest or any other pure chinese delicacies till 5 months later cos if it's not washed properly there could be mild contemination and we won't want it to affect the vulnerable foetus though we can tahan it on our own. No swimming nor any exercise except brisk walking till 5 months later too! And better not to dye hair no matter how organic the chemicals are. Advised not to take any risk! Sigh.. I really wanted to dye my hair for my wedding!

Boobs are super super sore today. Any good bras to recommend?

I was prescribed Duphaston too.. What's that for actually? Gynae said to "support" the pregnancy? How?!

Good afternooon!
I think i found out what is causing my "MS". HUNGER! i get dizzy and feel pukey when i am very hungry. need to get lime juice and food. haha... or soft drinks or sweet drinks. followed by food. if just food first, makes me feel more like puking!
That probably explains why i have been feeling terrible every morning. But hor, cannot eat too much, else will feel like puking too. troublesome.
Think I shall go stock up on Super Lemon sweets later. Any one knows where i can find that huh?

hi leo_baby,

Who is your gyane? My gyane is Dr. HY Wee from KKH.. He was my gyane for my 1st pregnancy..

But a bit disappointed, as yesterday he was in rush and see me only less than 5 min..

how long is your consultantion?

LittleDB - Duphaston is too support the pregnancy and add more progesterone into our body.
Regarding hair dye, hmm my gynae said it's safe if it's all natural and organic. So I dnt think it's a big issue when it comes to hair coloring. Also tell your hair stylist that ure preggy so they knw and will tell you what u can and cannot use/do. My hairstylist told me it's safe for hair coloring cos I use all natural organic dye. But better not to do any chemical like rebonding or perm during pregnancy.

El (hobartpaving)

a) my wife sleep whole day at home. nite time can't sleep much liao
b) she cannot tahan the toothpaste, shampoo, smoking smell as well as new magazine smell.

Hi Joyay, Dr Wee is my gynae too.

My last appointment on last Thurs at AMK clinic was pretty rushed too...same as you, about 5 mins... i found that he tends to rush during his consultation at AMK clinic, but won't have such problem at TPS.

My next appointment is scheduled after 3 weeks, which by then i'll be 11 weeks. But so far he haven't mention/brief me on the Oscar test or blood test. How abt you?

ahNah,

I changed my shower gel because I couldn't stand the strong smell after I got pregnant. Maybe your wife can change your toothpaste or shampoo to one she can tahan?

Cheekyduckie- I think I have seen Super Lemon sweets at the Japanese supermarket at the basement of Liang Court.

cheekyduckie, i get v nauseous when im hungry too! as a result i kept eating and hubs amazed at the amount of food i can take in every day. hehe. but i still have the normal bout of nausea as well. sourplums, hard candy, biscuits all do not work for me. i keep telling the little one not to make mummy so nauseous..

looks like ms is hitting almost all of us.. i'm also having it.. forgot how bad it can be.. sucks! Can't wait for ms to go away.. sob...

Cheekieduckie> food can help too but make sure not too much and those easy digest kind. Last wk when I had classes every 2 hr got break to eat and I was ok thru out the lesson.

Jojay> Mine is Dr Loh, even more bz then any Dr in KKH as he is the HOD of O&G Dept. Sometimes if I get 5 min with him after 3 hrs wait is already very good. He sees like 100s of patient a day kind.

Bubuya> Sometimes Dr needs to be told what your concerns are. As I am quite high age then he ask abt if I had concern abt DS, thats y he schedule me for triple test and oscar test. If you are young they usually would not ask and only if you bring up then they arrange.

Seems like different gynaes are giving different comments. Normal lar. I just support whatever I think makes sense. Most of the time it's myths vs scientific facts.

Hair colouring: My regular hair stylist refused to do any hair treatment for me once he knew i was preggers.
I personally do not think the chemicals will enter our body lar through our skin, but maybe the vapour will. Unlike make up, which just glazes the surface, unless u keep smelling it. I don't colour my hair when i was preg, but make up i must lar.

Food: I try to be more careful with that. Cos it goes into our body and gets digested. More chances of affecting the baby.
I do think that occasional shark's fin, tuna are ok in small quantities. It's not like we are going to eat an entire shark or tuna.

A lot more of such "Arguments" will come as the pregnancy goes along. I remember for #1, some of the mummies in the old thread almost "broke into a fight" due to what can and cannot be done during confinement. hahahahaha...

Eliz> my ms goes away on the exact day I reach 2nd trimester so it shouldn't be long.

Lily> pls do not take too much of those preserve things like sour plum as the preserve elements are not good.

leo_baby, yep. but i guess the things that help to keep MS at bay for me are all quite unhealthy! like fries and potato chips... =/

food wise, as long as we keep everything in moderation and not eat too much of one thing should be ok? my family has just (finally) found out abt my pregnancy. so far, i havent been bombarded with a list of dos and don'ts. ;p

I have a questions to all mummies who are pregnant with #3. What is the arrangement that you all will be taking? Will you still be working? I have yet to find a solution yet.

lilylynn: high five. junk food are my best friend now. fries always make me feel good. i take consolation in that the little one do not take in any nutrients from our food during 1st trimester (gynae said so) so i guess junk food is better than no food.

i think all gynaes behave differently. i was surprised my gynae didn't take my weight, urine or blood on first visit at 6 weeks. neither did she prescribe any an tai yao and she said EVERYTHING can eat as long as in moderation. guess she's the relaxed type.

then there are other gynaes who will check for hcg and prescribe duphaston. if you look on the bright side, they are cautious and just be on the safe side. if you think too much you may think they just want to earn money.

anything, as long as our little one is healthy!! :p

hi bubuya,

my next appointment also 3 weeks later, by then i will be 10 weeks, you also visit him at AMK right..

hi leo_baby, wah your waiting time is super long le.. i didnt even need to wait, my appointment is 7:20pm, when i reach on time, it is my turn

ahNah: haha, though it's called MS, it may start in anytime of the and can linger all day/all night...

your wife same with me, i normally got it in the evening, before/after dinner

Sharon_wl, I haven't thought too much about it yet although my friend has already asked me if I plan to stop work. I think a lot will depend on how my childcare options work out. Right now I am heavily reliant on my helper as my mum doesn't want to be loaded with childcare and my in-laws are not in Singapore. Not sure if my helper will be able to handle 3 kids, and I am thinking of childcare as possibility for the older two.

jojay, no slot for me at AMK for next visit on 14/9, and my hubby don't want to wait till 21/9. So, i'll see Dr Wee at TPS on Sat (17/9) morning. Think TPS also more comfortable to sit in while waiting for Q number. AMK is a bit too crowded.

tangerinez, i also not prescribed any an tai medications. no blood drawn, no hcg measurement either. HENG AH! i hate medicine and drawing blood.

Food: I prefer sweet food this round. hmmm... need to try to control. else later turn diabetic den really cham liao...

cheekyduckie,
I will try as much as possible to do 100% BF tis time round.

leo_baby,
I m new to the forum discussion as it is jus started. this is my second pregnancy. I din haf a good experience for BF my first one actually. So I m hoping that this one will be good. I guess every pregnancy is different thats y I feel like a new mummy. :)

MS:
Intially, I was always tired, nausea, hungry. From the 6th weeks onwards, I was not having much apetite. Not sure why is it the case.

Nic,
yr doc is at Mt A? How is he? Do u know is he pro VBAC? I m changing mine so I m looking around. My next appt is wif WK Tan on 20th Sept.

Chong: no cramps.
Thanks everyone....
Now all I do is rest n sleep.
I resigned from my job recently. Lucky dun have to work otherwise keep taking leave or mc not so nice too.
My ms not so bad just want to blurp... no vomiting.
Dr give folic acid with vit b6 ( not too sure is it b6) can help with ms

Wow, managed to read through the thread after not coming back for so long. Read that some mummies are showing already! Nice..

As for myself, I'm not showing as yet, which is good and bad I guess. Good because I can still wear my daily clothes without feeling tight at all, bad because I cannot seem to get any seats when taking the public transport..

As for morning sickness, I gag a lot. But actual puking, not really. I feel really tired and don't feel like hanging out after work at all. Sometimes I feel bad for that...

I'm at my 8th week today, next gynae appt won't be here until I am about 10 weeks. My gynae seems pretty cool, the first time I had a scan was at about Week 5.

hi leebabytwo, yes my gynae is at Mount A, medical clinic level 2. He is good, very pro. but price quite steep. waiting time is long if u dun have an appointment. If u make appointment, waiting time is abt 5-10min only. I dunno if he is pro VBAC, cos my first was natural birth. i will be seeing him on 9 sept, can casually ask his opinion abt VBAC for you.

Maternity clothes,
found this in the bulk pch site. Tot some of mummies here maybe interested. http://www.mummysecret.com/info2.asp?id=169.
You can call 9847 7337 (Claire) for appt for the warehouse showroom if you wanna try the clothes there. I have made appt for tomolo 10-11plus in the morning. Join in if any mummies are keen. Already told Claire that mayb more Apr 2012 mummies are coming tomolo. Happy Shopping!
Address is : 10 Admiralty Street #01-82 Northlink Building (S)757695

ni,
tnx tnx. WK tan is charging around $2300 for everything whether natural or c-sect. Tat is excluding hospital ward fees. I like Mt A alot cos my son stayed there before and the nurses are very good n customer service alot not bad.

I think I no need to come in here liao .. gynae say my baby heartbeat is weak now.

I very sad, this is 2nd time liao.

So for those who had conceive, pls cherish them. It is a gift to you.

ahNah, I pray that your baby will be okay, and doctors will be able to do something to make him feel better.

Sotong, if I'm not wrong, VBAC means Virginal Birth After C-section.

ahNah- so sorry to hear about it. Hope you and your wife will have courage to try again.

Sotong- VBAC is Vaginal Birth after Caesaerean. Basically, natural birth after having a baby by C-section previously.