(2012/04) Apr 2012

I've updated the spreadsheet with my details!

Angelbell, we're neighbours! which blk are you staying?

Chong(xgg) is this your first pregnancy? I think that 2 kg weight gain at this stage should be ok as long as overall you gain between 10-15 kg max. This is my third and I've already gained 2 kg too!

morning ladies!

ying, i went for my check up ytd too. my first! hehe. it's so omg. bb's hb was flashing vividly on e screen & i was close to tears! im supposedly 8 wks, but doc measured 7 on the screen. next appt is 5 weeks later in oct. sucha longgg waitttttt....

Chong, depending on what your original weight range was, there will be a expected weight gain @ the end of pregnancy. In general, mummies who are underweight can expect to gain more, while mummies who are over weight should gain less. Average is around 10kg.
Weight of baby at this stage is like 20-30g. So most of the weight gain will belong to mummy. That said, do not try not to gain weight. Just eat healthily, balance meals, that's good enough.

This is my #2. Like #1, i am not gaining weight, in fact, i am losing weight. Tummy this round is already quite obvious @ 6 weeks, prob cause everything was expended before, so hard to hide. I am trying to eat well, my appetite is not bad actually, no puking.

Everyone is different. Eat well, relax, be happy.

lily lynn - wOw.. 5 weeks later?! tat's very long..!!

r u all going for Oscar scan? I already booked appt for oscar scan...! heez...

good morning ladies!

chong, my tummy is pretty obvious i find. for second time and above mummy, the tummy show faster??? but i only gain 0.1kg. Hope to keep weight gain below 10kg this time. for my #1, i gained 17kg! so horrible!

my next gynae appointment is 8 days later! right after my holiday! gynae has given me the green light to go for holiday (as it was booked way in advance, before i found out i was preggie)! yippie

ni: yes... subsequent mummies will show faster. cos everything expanded, and not toned back to original condition. unless exercise a lot and got abs of steel to hold everything in.

i am trying to plan for babymoon at the end of the year! so exciting... dunno where to go yet.

Hi CheekyDuckie,
Thanks for the tips. Yea, I find M&S underwear & bra collection not bad. Hahah Though I do complain why the bra like so 'bak zhang' like that... :D Okie cool, will go shop around during the weekend...Only thing I worry is as the tummy grows, then have to change sizing right?

Hi Kimmy,
I went 1 size up for underwear and bra during the last two pregnancies. One way to extend the life of bra is to buy the bra extenders to accomodate increase in ribcage. Also can try to get bras with lycra for more stretch.

blue turtle, i didnt go for oscar for the last pregnancy, went for triple blood test. wondering if i should go for oscars, as getting old already.

i m gg HKG! buy, shop and eat!

Ni: chk with ur gynae if u need oscar. i went for oscar both rounds.

Kimmy: Bra will most likely have to change as you will grow throughout pregnancy. So be prepared to buy a few times. Unless you want to up the cup size now and wear it loose? Support is very important, so not recommended.
Underwear, i got those low hipster kind. So i nv needed to get new undies.

Blue_turtle,
wat is the purpose of oscar?

Ni,
going for triple blood test can dun need to go oscar?

Maternity clothes,
wow! so many mummies been shopping area like me liao. LOL! I guess tis is one of the most enjoyable part of pregnancy! Can officially shop, eat, sleep!

Hi all, my MS officially starts yesterday. I was feeling bad after my lunch but cant vomit out anything. after i took a nap at 8+ at night, i felt much better and can take my dinner.

Today, MS came too. I just hope it does not get any worse later. I have been craving for Gong Cha (Lemon Juice with Aiyu Jelly)... but can we drink this thing?

Mossie - I think u can drink lah... but make sure less sugar and no ice. sometimes I still drink Bubble milk tea and cocoa berry from Koi. So sinful...

mossie, i think ai yu jelly is cooling wor, not so good. but Dr always say as long as in moderation, everything also can eat.

ya, agree to take anything moderate, should be ok one..

my mum also told me, so long the food is not spoilt, anything also can eat ...

Ladies who are in their 8/9 weeks already, do you notice u have more mucus discharge now? It irritates me, always have the urge to check what is cmg out of me. Arrgghh...

Leebabytwo
Am also going for oscar test in 2 weeks' time. That test is to check for possibility of down syndrome but it's not compulsory. I did that for #2 so shall do again since age catching up. For peace of mind.

Andreanie
Am 8+ weeks now but I din notice any increase in discharge.

U ladies are making me crave for bb tea!!

Andreanie > yes n I hate e feeling. It will increase as we advance.

Gynae's clinic jus called me to inform tt I'm anaemic.. Past 2 pregnancies, my Blood count was 12. something.. Now I'm hovering at 8. Goodness, like as tho I'm not constipated enuff, I hv to eat more iron pills to add on to tt. ;(

I'm still coming to terms with the fact tt I'm pregs.. I wish I felt better so I cld feel happier.. I really wish to regain my energy soon... Sigh

Leebabytwo: Yes. Oscar to check for down syndrome. it's not compulsory, neither is it 100% accurate. Your gynae can advise. Typically they will recommend the older mother to bes.

Andreanie: if the discharge is fishy in smell, please go over to your gynae asap to check for infection. I had recurring yeast infection for #1. Need to treat it asap otherwise might affect the fetus i think. There might also be a need to treat your hubby.

Bubble Tea, soft drinks, etc, all in moderation is ok. Just need to note caffeine blocks absorption of calcium. So limit to about 2 cups a day.
Raw foods might contain bacteria. So must becareful also.
Some deep sea fish contains mercury, so do not eat in large quantities. e.g. Shark, Sting Ray, Tuna.
Cheese, Milk prdts: As long as they are pasteurized, should be ok.
Cats: mummies with cats at home, please try to leave the litter cleaning to another member. Cat litter contains some thing which is bad for preggers. I forgot what it is. Dogs and hamsters are ok. Try to avoid the zoo in the 1st tri.

Twoormore- any chance to take foods rich in iron such as spinach instead of pills if you have consti problem.

Went to Tangs cardmembers sale over lunchtime. Wondering if I should buy some new perfume as I notice it really helps to take a sniff when I feel nauseated after smelling either garlicky or sourish cooking smells now.

My 1st Check up will only be next week the 6th..
Can't wait to see baby.

Can I know at which week is Oscar test being done?

cheekyduckie, lol. i was trawling the cat trail at the night safari just one week before i found out i was pregnant! hehe.

tangerinez, why u cancelling? hubs wanted me to go but i didn't want to. now i'm rethinking my options even tho its low risk for someone my age....

Oscar test i remember to do between 10 weeks to ard 13. Basically before 1st tri over. So that at least some action can be taken.
Do or not do, is a very erhmm... personal thing. for #1, i had sleepless nights after doing the test. cos every night i was just thinking about what the results might be and what can i do if the results are bad. i broke down a few times for that too.

Lily lynn: ignorance is bliss. i did a lot of dangerous stunts before i found out 1 was preggers with #1 and #2 too. Including loads of alcohol. haha...

CheekyDuckie,
tnx.

Vitamins:
Can I ask can we jus buy vitamins off the rack? My sister in law ask me to take more vit C and can buy off the rack. She was the one who asked me not to breastfeed my first child the nite after delivery cos its tiring for me after birth. I m a bit doubtful. Anyone can answer?

DOM n chinese herbs:
I jus realise that I have two new bottles of DOM n some chinese herbs left from my first confinement. Any idea there is any expiry date for it?

Tnx.

Andreanie,
mus take care. Take note if its yellowish or greenish. If it is and itch, better go see gynae cos it could be yeast infection. It is not good for bb. Cut down on sugar if it is. I m currently on medication for my yeast infection. :-(

like what cheekyduckie says, its a personal choice. for me, even before pregnant i've heard too much stories about oscar. cos it's very 'statistical'. if lucky, results very good. if unlucky, results very bad and can cause distress to the mummy when baby is actually healthy. again, it's a personal choice

for me, DH is particularly worried about genetic defects because there is family history. so we chose to skip oscar (which is only 90% accurate) and go for amnio instead. amnio's risk of miscarriage is 0.3% to 0.5% if done later than sooner (i think from week 16 onwards). furthermore my gynae has a 0% record for miscarriage due to amnio so we are going for that.

an alternative to oscar and amnio is the scan by Dr Ananda from Camden medical. in my opinion it is much better than oscar and cost only a little bit more expensive, so why not?

leebaby: if it is fish oil, dun buy off the rack. some types of fish oil increases chances of bleeding. if vit C i think should be ok?

DOM doesnt have any expiry date (as with most hard liquor). but chinese herbs yes i think. mostly is worried it will turn mouldy.

Leebabytwo,

I also didnt BF my #2 the night I delivered her cause I was too tired from the Ops...

I started only on Day2.. but she sucks really hard so I gave up too and ended up pumping exclusively..

I fed her with BM for 1 Year ..

I intend to do the same for #3.. if possible longer .. as long as my office can accomodate it.

Leebabytwo: Vitamins. What I suggest is to go to the gynae first. Get her advise, see what she prescribes, then, try to go pharmacy find the same thing! Cheapskate method. 1st round of medication can get from gynae first lar, so that you can take some time to find the same ones outside.
DHA usually only available at the gynae. Those sold in pharmacies usually not sufficient for preggers. And like what tangerinez said, eat the wrong type is dangerous. So don't risk it for this.

Breastfeeding: i had my 1st experience immediately after the baby popped out. of course there's no milk (for most people), but good to expose the baby fast. I did it every 2 to 3 hourly from that moment on, including waking up in the middle of the night. I was partial breastfeeding #1 for 10 months due to some complications (mastitis) and my chicken pox during the period. Supply drop like crazy.
Hoping that #2, I can last for a year on full breast milk.

But that said... bonding and baby's well being is of utmost importance. If the breastfeeding is taking it's toll on your life, or baby's health is not ideal, there is absolutely nothing wrong with giving formula. This is by my own experience. My #1 was simply not growing from breastmilk alone. No idea why. So after being stubborn for 3 months, poor baby suffer for 3 months, i finally succumbed and gave in partial formula. Baby immediately showed improvement. We talk more about this later lar. Now still early.

cheeky: was there blood from BF? i got scared out of my wits when i read 2 different accounts of mummies who had a piece of their nipple bitten off by baby!!!

this is exactly why my gynae bans me from forum lol.

My appt was actually on Monday. But have some bleeding this morning so went to see doctor. She said it could be threaten miscarriage.
Did a ultrasound thankfully everything is ok. bb growing well and saw the HB. She said it happened 1 in every 5 pregnancy and prescribed utrogestan and told to rest well .
Have to see her again 2 weeks later

Kimmy & Cheekyduckie!
I bought my wear from Kiddypalace.. no special place, everyone also know where hahaha...

Tangerinez, I think almost the whole singapore mummies are encouraged to BF by hospitals.. the nipple bitten off part shld be very exceptional case.. don't worry too much, just try BF! Hehe.

Haha..we fast fwd to BFg ah? I agree w cheeky duckie abt fm..becz I bfed my #2 directly for 34 mths.. In retrospect, I shld hv alternated between bm n fm. At last she wldnt hv been solely dependent on me..thkfully I had an oversupply..if not, I wld hv suffered fr a major burnout.

El > gynae recommended lots of beef n leafy veg.. I may hv to resort to fybogel already..

Sotong > CRIB = complete rest in bed. Take care..

Leebabytwo & CheekyDuckie - oh no lah, not yeast infection definitely. I know what and how yeast infection is cos I got it when I was in my 3rd week cos of the very powerful antibiotic and vaginal suppositories that my gynae gave.

This is normal discharge only

tangerinez, no blood lar. all was good. but i think i didn't get the technique right or something. so got very serious block ducts and i never detect. end up mastitis lor. den supply drop big time. by the time recover, i dio chicken pox! den round 2 drop supply. hopefully i will be luckier this time round. i really really miss the breastfeeding days. baby close to me all day long.

sotong rest well! rest is important.

andrenie: not yeast is good. discharge is normal and varies. i very scared to see discharge lor. always dio yeast infection. so sianz.

anyway, last time when i attended the prenatal lessons, teacher say try to wear wireless bra, cos the wire might prevent the milk ducts from developing properly. for me, i prefer wireless cos it's a lot more comfy! especially towards the end. small boobs also not comfy ok. i do very badly in growing boobs. hahaaha... no growth. zzzz

My MS also started... sianz.. was feeling so horrible yty and so took half day leave.. As i walked out to get a cab, i puked!! What a horrible feeling. Esp when lunch was nasi padang!!

So don't wish to come to work today.

Tangerinez,/Cheekyduckie,
Tnx for your advise. i think i better get the advise from gynae n dun play play ah.

andreanie,
good that its not yeast infection.

Sotong,
u take care.

Breastfeeding,
Sorry to forward the topic. LOL!
Sunsweet,
I was also the same lo. Heard from the nurse cos the first day if baby not latch on, he/she will be bottle feed. Bottle feed is one suck 5 drops compare to breastfeed is 5 suck one drop. So bb becomes impatient n suck harder leading mummy tends to give up. My son also partial after 2 weeks of trying to full breastfeed. So I learnt my lesson now.
I hope to full breastfeed for my #2. Tell u something... I already looking at breast pumps liao. LOL! Kiasu mummy!! :)

Firestation visit,
you may pop into any firestation for visit every sat from Jun-Sept 2011, 9-10am, if the group is not big. Hope its fun. http://www.scdf.gov.sg/content/scdf_internet/en/community-and-volunteers/e-services/request-fire-station-visit.html

leebabytwo: u can actually give ur preference on bf-ing or bottle feeding or mix after u deliver. I chose 100% bf. So the nurses will push the baby over every 3 hrs, including 3am in the morning! haha... if u want to rest, you can do partial, and tell the nurse dun give u the baby at night.
actually i just want the baby with me at most times! *so possessive* so the 100% bf-ing works well for me.
i think can also request for bb to be spoon fed instead of bottle.

MS: i am just feeling damn lousy these few mornings... dizzy, heavy chest, but no puking. damn lousy feeling. i hope it just stays this way and goes away soon. boo hooo, what happen to no MS for #1. *pouts*

cheekyduckie, i also having MS today. puke 3X on the way to work. So disgusting loh. cant help it!

Sotong: take care, and try not to walk too much.

I find that if i walk too much or i over exert, i will have cramps. So i try to relax when walking. cannot be too kay kiang liao

can share how do you all counter ur MS? i keep having the urge to puke but i've held back all these while and it's very uncomfortable... does forcing it out really make you feel better?

Hi mummies, i have seen my gyane yesterday.. So happy to see the sact and heartbeat...

the consultant charges for 1st visit is $85 and urine test is $10.. total bill wiht GST cost me S$101.65.. Does it consider expensive?