(2012/04) Apr 2012

Told my hubby this morning i wanna go colour my hair and he almost spill his tea!! Faint!!

Had a yummy curry puff for breakfast.. feeling good.. hope will con't on..

Jia you!!!

Good Morning Mummies,

Great to hear some many mummies comment on my post and good advise.

At least i feel calm now.

Thanks alot with apprecited

Good morning everyone!

I'm new here.. just updated the spreadsheet too :eek:)

Had a natural m/c in mid June and am now 5 weeks and 2 days preggy again, EDD is 24th Apr 2012. Our wedding is on 11th Sept so this is advance good news for us. Hope the little one is healthy this time.

Will be going back to the same gynae who went thru with me the m/c in June. She's Dr. Irene Chua, previously with KK now she's at Gleneagles. Going to have my first appt with her next Fri! Is it too early to scan anything out/hear hb?
Hubby and I are very excited to see something cos the last time we couldnt see anything then realise it was a m/c.

Been craving alot for laksa which I would never eat cos' I'm trying to stay off fatty foods for the wedding. And I don't have ms.. is this normal? Just sleepy all the time. Came home at 630pm ytd and slept till 730am this morning!

morning debby! & congratulations!

when i was abt 4-5 weeks, my only symptoms were sore boobs and periodical cramps which led me to think that my period is coming and that it's veryyyy late initially. i'm at 7 weeks now and my nausea is increasingly causing more discomfort but it varies each day.

hi debby! sorry for your loss previously but huge congrats on your sticky bean this time!

i saw bb's heartbeat during 6 weeks 1 day, so by next friday you would be about same timing. if you are worried that it's too early to see anything (like maybe you ovulated late), then maybe you want to go gynae when 7 weeks?

my MS started in week 5, and was gone after a few days, and now slowly coming back again. not everyone has MS, count yourself lucky! :p

Hello Lilly Lynn & tangerinez.. congrats too! Is it also your first kid? :eek:)

Was wondering what do you girls actually vomit out when you get ms? Is it like a real vomit-vomit situation? Could be embarassing if I can't control and vomit at the office. Hahaha

Wanted to go see Dr. Irene at week 7 but unfortunately she's fully packed that week so we got the latest available date (before our wedding) which is next Fri. Keeping my fingers crossed that we could at least see a sac this time!

And yeah, the boob swelling symptom is terrible. Once I remove my bra, it's cramp all over. Sheesh!

it's my first.

i haven't actually vomited yet. very tempted to last night but managed to keep it in. worried it'll be a habit once i start. i think should be able to control ba. i met a fren who is 14 weeks and she was able to walk to the toilet very calmly to vomit. haha.

just in case your gynae does a tummy scan and cannot find anything, request for a v scan to put your mind at ease, ok. good luck!

morning ladies!

littleDb - me too! once i remove my bra, wahh my boobs soooo painful! worse when i want to sleep, need to put pillow under it when i sleep sideways!

Don't worry about not having MS! My mum didnt have MS for both her pregnancies, and so far I don't have any too.

Im gng for my haircolor later this afternoon. But before that i have to head down to NUH for my pregnancy support jab!

Have a great Thursday everyone!

MOrning ladies,
i had a bad time last nite. I keep waking up every 2 hours. Finally wake up at 7am to drink milo and fell aslp at 9am, end up came to work late.

Littledd, welcome and congrats!

hihi, just read through the posts.

I have no craving yet, got very poor appetite but am able to eat better at night. 2 nights ago at about 10plus, I think I was hungry and told hubby. After much hesititation, I told him maybe a macdonald cheese burger. He drove and bought it back for me. Surprisingly, after finishing it for the first time in these few weeks, my stomach felt so comfort. Nowadays I could not differentiate whether I am hungry or not but always got the "burning" sensation around. Nausea all the time. Almost fainted a few times too.

Had a bad night last night, my girl was having fever hence didn't really get to rest at all. Said she wants some milk, after finishing, she vomited all out. End up hubby and I have to clean up. Brought her to doctor this morning and now back to work. So tired and dreadful. Time just seems to pass so SLOWLY for me.

Congrats littledd. It's double happiness for you! Do take care of yourself amidst your wedding preps!

Re MS, i'm one of the lucky ones who did not experience MS for my 1st 2 and hope it remains the same for this one. Dun think it's true that no MS means bb is not doing well. Just make sure there's no bleeding and severe tummy cramps which are usually telltale sign that something is not right.

I feel really tired after 2-3 hrs even sitting down in front of the pc. Hence I resorted to taking chicken essence now and i think it helps to keep me awake at work. So mummies, try it!

I'm craving for kimchi constantly... hehee.. going to eat kimchi ramen for lunch!

littledd, yup. it's my first!

andreanie, share with us later after ur haircolor experience! ;p

odiey, agree with on the part abt no MS doesnt mean that bb is not doing well. i guess each individual and each pregnancy is very different from the others.. woots. maybe i shld give the chicken essence a go! it's really very draining to try n stay awake n focus at work..

Hi everyone! Conversation's hot here ya!

Wow neuc, why don't u take a day leave after such an eventful night? So ke Lian...

Ahh I so crave for Tom yum or Kim chi now!! Haha

I really admire those of you who can stay awake at work. It is very torturous and I'm amazed at how much I want to sleep all the time.

Besides chicken essence, how do you mommies stay awake? I'm havivng a hard time keeping my lids opened at work.. plus the weather is too tempting to just make me drive home immediately at this moment for a nap since home is 10 mins away from my offie anyway..

I'm into spicy & salty food too!! Judging by all the similar cravings here... i'm guessing it's gonna be a Dragon baby trait? Hehehe. Although yesterday i had a very "urgent" and sudden craving for pasta... The white, creamy variety that i normally don't like because it makes me sick. Hub bought some for me yesterday and i licked the entire plate clean! Heheh.

Butter Panda - why no make-up? I am putting on make-up daily because i look terrible without it. I already feel terrible having to wake up so early in the morning to go to work so i don't want to look like it too! Is make-up really dangerous for baby?

Lily Lynn & Andreanie - Hi^5 to us celebrating raya! How's your preps? Mine has been pretty much at zero. I haven't bought any new clothes, i haven't shopped for shoes, i haven't even changed my new notes yet. Hah. I'm too tired everyday to think abt these things... but I'm starting to panic a little! Must get my bum going this weekend or else there'll be no raya for me this year.

Andreanie - I'm not fasting, either. My parents don't allow me too and hubs is worried that if i fast, baby won't have enough nutrients to grow properly. We are afterall in our 1st trimester. Even other friends (who are mommies themselves) said its not advisable to fast. I read we should be taking smaller meals every two hours? In any case, i get very giddy and nauseous if i don't eat. Can't function if I don't eat anyway. Good luck on your hair colour job! I'm needing a rebonding session VERY badly but my hubby refuses to let me do it because he read that it can be harmful for me & the baby to breathe in too much chemicals now.
Raya is coming and i'm gonna be visiting with ugly unruly hair!

Lily Lynn - You're still fasting, aren't you? How are you coping?

1xMummyJesline - I have bad appetite during dinner too! I'm always pushing my food around during dinner, but i can eat a cow at lunch. Lol. Don't understand why...

Mossie - Don't feel bad. I have no MS too and i'm just as worried as you. When i first found out i was preggers i prayed not to be hit by very bad MS but now that there is NO MS at all, i'm wishing i had a teeny bit.. you know, just to be sure my baby's well.

Tangerinez - I monitor my breasts too as a way of comforting myself that baby's doing well. Haha! The things we do.

Debby - You must be really elated! Congrats on your wedding & pregnancy!

Anyway ladies... a general question to ask. How do you know if your tummy cramps are normal and not something to worry about? I have high treshold for pain and i have no idea if the tummy cramps i'm feeling is normal or not. What are the telltale signs for ectopic pregnancy? Cos that's what worrying me the most. My first appt with my gynae will be at 8 weeks. I do wish its earlier but my gynae hasn't got an earlier slot, and my colleagues have been telling me that its not necessary to go early in the pregnancy either cos you can't detect baby yet. So how? Anything i should watch out for with regards to ectopic pregnancy?

hannah, i get the cramps too.. but as long as u're not bleeding it shld be ok.

can u believe it, i havent told even my parents yet! as for fasting, i try my best to get thru the day even tho it can get really nauseating at times. i believe that if He puts us to this, god-willing He'll pull us through it. aiyoh, where else can find a chance to fast an entire month without payback? hehehe.

raya prep, bought my clothes even before i found out i was pregnant! and i exclaimed out loud that i must lose weight to fit nicely in my new baju... guess im hardly losing the excess fats now. super sad case. hahhaa. shoes, recyling the same pair that i used for my wedding earlier. :p

butterpanda, my 1 cup of coffee a day is even failing me right now.
usually have a cup together with my pre-dawn meal.. but right now coffee or no coffee im still equally sleepy and tired!

I do not enjoy all my meals these days.. although i try to eat the food that i prefer.. Sourish stuffs..

food now cannot be deep fried, sweet, or too filling..

last night had porridge.. it felt good but.. i felt so hungry b4 i slept I 12..
had to find food again..

Hello Hannah,

Congrats to you too!

If I'm not mistaken, I read that ectopic pregnancy not only has cramps as symptoms but also brownish blood flow now and then. And the cramps are more "acute"/"sharp" than usual.

If you are really worried, I'd suggest you seek another gynae's advise mean time.
Hope all's well for you.

Hi Hannah, for make up question-

the dye for colouring hair has chemicals no good to baby according to some research. For makeups, also contain chemicals. But if you go for those nature-base products i think is totally safe not a problem. 

Lily, that's serious! Hmm then if I were u I will try to take occasional leave to sleep at home.. But if peak period also hard lah...

wah, so many mummies are joining us.

went for my 2nd appt ytd. can hear hb already. the doc said it's too small. he adjust my edd again.

for those who are having 2nd or 3rd child, do u have the same symptoms as the previous pregnancy? this is my 2nd one, but quite suffering as compared to my boy. when I had my boy, I had no symtomps at all. but now, I am consistently hungry. but after I eat, I want to puke. and now I am choosing the kind of food I want to eat. so terrible.

and lastly, what do you all work as? I am a teacher. I am so tired everyday. I need my energy to scold the pupils, the one in my womb also wants some of my energy and the one at home is always looking for me to play with him. I don't know when I will collapse.

lol. butterpanda, i used up most of my leave for my wedding earlier.. so now have to ration the remaining days for the rest of the year liaos... i'm hoping it will subside once i get thru my first trimester!

Hey lemon, I feel for you. My cousin is a teacher too and she works longer hours than normal employees like the rest of us. Pls get sufficient rest over the weekend and take it slow with the scolding. Always think "my baby is more important".

Hannah.. I read somewhere, and I think it's here. lol.. that we can use organic hair dye and it's safe and featured on motherhood mag! There's a salon which does it at West Coast called Ucara Spa. Am gonna do my hair day before my big day on 11th Sept too!

Had laksa for lunch but the thought of it makes me irk now. I'd like some char siew rice for dinner.. yums... Reckon most of us are craving laksa every now and then isn't it?

Lemon,

this pregnancy is different from my pervious 2 which both was about the same.

I wonder if its true.. maybe mummies with 2 kids of different gender can share..

Is it true that when one is expect a differnent gender from the pervious pregnancy, the likes and dislike will be very different or even opposite?

sunsweet: I was also thinking of that too. does diff symptoms means diff gender? I hope it's true. I am hopping for a girl.

Hello Mummies, Mummies to be
I am expecting my #2 too! Edd based on LMP should be ard 20+ April.
1st visit to gynae nx monday! So exciting. Hope to see heartbeat! =)

Mummies, do try to cut down on caffeine, as it reduces absorption of calcium. Chocolate, coffee, tea, green tea, soft drinks, all contains caffeine. So if you really need a cuppa to keep yourselves awake, try decaf, or sweets ya. If really hard to totally keep it out, then restrict to abt 1 cup lar.
For our own good, for the little one's good, what is 9 months of sacrifice? =)

Oh... No MS is ok. Don't let the info on internet scare u. I scared myself a lot during #1. Cos i have no MS at all. The only times i puked was cos i got gagged by the super huge pills i need to eat everyday.
Enjoy ur MS-less days! So far so good for me! =)

lemon, different symptoms usually mean different gender... and usually for baby girls the symptoms is much more serious and obvious. So it is high chance!

But just my 2 cents worth - have friends who experienced different symptoms but result in same gender. I conclude there are always exceptions in any case.. so just pray hard for what u wish! :D

mayuki,

Different people have different symptoms.

When I had my 2 gals I brezze thru pregnancy only for #1 I didn't like milk / buttery smelling stuffs but for #2 I'm fine with anything.

Now this pregnancy I'm not fine with anything when it reaches my tummy.. the moment I take the food still not too bad but once reach the gastic.. the rejection comes and I have to fight not to puke them out..

Hannah - I had ectopic pregnancy before I did my ivf. I found out im pregnant and two days later I had light bleeding. No pain nothing, so I didn't think it was serious and waited for the next day to go to a pvt gynae. That same night, while I was sleeping I felt I had a bad stomachache, like a very bad gastric attacked me. Like someone literally poke a dagger in me! Funnily, I felt like shitting also, and went to toilet and I did shit! Lol!!! So I didn't think of anything and just thought oh well, bad gastric and tummy ache thats all.

The next morning, there was still a bit of bleeding. So we had to break the news to my parents that we just found out that we're preggy and at the same time bleeding and need to go for a quick checkup. Went to the gynae, and he did a v scan, told me I had fresh blood coming out of me and that he can't find the sac. Gave me Duphaston to take for 2 weeks and to come back again to see him in 2 weeks time.

The following day, I'm still bleeding and was worried so I told hub I wanted to go and see my family doctor. Went to see my family doc, and he rushed me to hospital. He said it might be ectopic. And boy, was he right! The SGH ER doctor did all the tests and confirmed that it could be early pregnancy or ectopic and they warded me for a week to confirm.

End up its really ectopic, the sac moved by itself from the fallopian tube and move itself to the end of my left ovary, hanging there. It's actually exiting itself but some of the pregnancy tissues are still in me. So thats why my BHCG is still rising slowly and I do not have much bleeding compared to others. I was given the MTX jab and I began to bleed really a lot but thank god it was dictated fast.

So all in all, as long as you are not cramping bad and no bleeding, you should be feeling safe. Insyallah, all is going smooth for you and your lil bean!

LittleDd & Lily - Yup ladies, Ucara Spa at West Coast does the organic tea colouring. I just did mine today, actually 2nd time already cos I bought the package last time. This time I'm going for red base, no highlights.

Lily - Nevermind, take your time to tell your parents. I had to tell cos I did IVF and I need their support while doing it cos it takes a lot of courage to be poking yourself everyday! Lol! But if I don't go thru IVF I will definitely tell them too, cos I cannot keep anything this important from my parents. Can keep it from my inlaws but never my parentslah..haha.... Anyway its gng to be their first grandchild.

Mayuki
I din have different ms symptoms when having my boy n gal. Prob coz I was lucky not to have ms. However I did have different food craving. For my boy I crave for carbo while fir my gal I crave for meat! But this cld b different for everyone...

congrats lucinda and welcome! you may wish to update your profile here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ahop4ZQfz_s9dDlGVmRMVDZ4R2ExVS1YNHh1QURUUVE&hl=en_US#gid=0

ladies: i think i know the cause of my on-off MS. ginger tea!!! the moment i take ginger tea, my MS symptoms are gone for at least a day! i know some of us take comfort in MS, knowing that our little ones are growing well. but if and when MS hits you too hard and you are feeling down, you may wish to drink a cup of ginger tea to help. best is self-boiled. otherwise can go those teh tarik places but ask for ginger water (without the tea).

Hello Lucinda! Congrats! Me too am 5 weeks plus preggy but am only going to the gynae next fri. Hoping to see the sac or hear the hb. Did you get to hear the hb yesterday?

Thanks andreanie, I'm going to do my hair there. How much does it cost for 1 colour?

Any mommies taking milk powder supplements already? Or taking fresh milk daily? I read that the first trimester is when everything develops so maybe we should take in more nutrients? Hmm...

Yesterday went for 2nd appointment. Now 8 wks plus and EDD changed from 4/4 to 1/4. Can see the hb thru tummy scan already but my gynae didn't let me hear the hb cause he said the sound maybe quite noisy and disturb the baby -_-".

LittleDd, i'm taking Anmum milk powder every 2-3 days, cause worried if taking everyday might cause a lot of weight gain.

By the way, any mommies currently taking Calcium Carbonate tablets? I was given the tablets during my 1st consultation. Then yesterday i asked from the nurse, she told me should only start taking after 3 mths. I'm a bit puzzled.

Due to my irregular menses, only discovered I am pregnant, after I had the duphaston to induce my menses, but nothing happen after I stop the medication for 7 days.

Went to my gynae 2 days ago at KK. My gynae, SF loh did a scan and confirm I am pregnant. I am around 8 weeks today

My previous pregnancy I did not experience MS at all, but this time I felt nausea and lost of appetite and I too craving for spicy food like a lot of mtb here

By the way, what is FTWM?

LittleDd, take in more nutrients is ok. Don't take in a lot more food ya. =P Your gynae will prob be giving you some supplements when u go visit. I bought my own calcium pills (Obical), Obimin multivit, and folic acid pills from Guardian. These were what the gynae prescribed for me during #1.
Just eat a well balanced diet. Together with the supplements should be enough.

my gynae says 1st trimester baby doesn't get nutrients from our diet, so no need to eat more. calcium pills she also will prescribe after 1st trimester. she did give me a lot of mummy's milk powder to try though but said if these make MS bad, then it's ok to take after 1st trimester.

welcome and congrats angel! FTWM = full time working mum

Oh... Not sure if there's any mummies here who are lactose intolerant. I am. That's why no milk for me. I get extra dosage of calcium pills from my gynae for #1 previously. Food wise, I try to alternate between soya milk (cannot everyday, cos there's some i forgot what component in soya milk which is bad for bb), bean curd, some fresh milk (and sit in toilet after that). This way, at least I won't have to visit the toilet too many times a day.
My gynae also mentioned that it's not necessary to buy the special milk, normal fresh milk will work just fine. For me, I just go via other sources of calcium.

cheeky: i am!!! i am sort of lactose intolerant. i say sort of because most fresh milk give me diarrhea but even when i tried powdered milk without lactose (the brand is ensure), i still get diarrhea. but meiji fresh milk is ok for me. so i am not sure what i am allergic to. lol

unfortunately, most mummy's milk has lactose.

how about cheese for you?

Tangerinez: I think different milk prdts got different amount of lactose in it. Powdered milk is a big no no for me, sure gone. Anyway, I can't stand the smell of powdered milk. It makes me pukey whether or not I am preggy.
I just had 1 small plastic bottle of meiji this morning. So far so good.
Cheese is also ok. Cos usu just 1 or 2 slices. Not a lot of lactose inside lar.

I figured my tolerance level is somewhere below 200ml of fresh milk. As long as I don't go beyond the threshold, the diarrhea is bearable. 1 macdonald's milkshake @ 5pm usu equates to 1 night spent in the toilet.

Most preggers will face constipation prob. At least for me, it is solvable with milk. =P *Self consolation*

I m lactose intolerant also. M not eating very balance. Dunno whether to get supplements now or not. My next appt will be over first trimster liao. Dunno how leh. :-(

Wanna ask any mummies going to get those hard liquor n soak the 'gao li'. My sister said should do it now and by the time I deliver it will be jus nice.

LittleDB - if I'm not mistaken it's $138.00 for organic coloring.
Feel so happy and confident that I can still color hair during pregnancy, so vain haha...

MTBs, I'm lactose intolerance also! :/

Hello ladies, back from my gynae visit. And I saw the flickering heartbeat! Finally more assured. Next visit is 2 weeks time

But gynae say baby growth is 6w3d while I m 6w5d. Do I nee to worry? Or is ok to have +/- 1 or 2 days?

Ni,
No need to worry too much abt the EDD. Cos how we calculate is based on LMP, but gynae measures by size. Either way is estimation only. No one will know exactly when implantation took place.

For my #1, I had my EDD shifted from end of the month to middle of the month thro' out the entire pregnancy. Final delivery is beginning of the month.

Humans come in all shapes and sizes, so does babies. No need to worry too much ya.
Later on if you do the detailed scan it would be even more interesting.
My #1's head was like 1 week bigger than average, weight was average, length was below average, etc.

Wow! So many lactose intolerant mummies! Try to eat a balance meal. Pay attention to calcium intake through other food sources if not drinking milk.