(2012/04) Apr 2012

Hee I'm finally back to share
been resting in bed the whole afternoon.. So lazy :p

Hi, I had 
1. a brand new medela swing as a gift bought in mother care malaysia and still under warranty. Not US set so no need converter selling at $250

2.preloved Babyplus and Summer Clarity prenatal listening system (to listen baby movement) going as a bundle. 

Interested please msg 96922155 

Hi everyone, my EDD is around 3 Apr '12. Tested HPT+ last week, went straight to see gynae for a scan on Mon and thrilled to see the sac! Even got my first sonogram picture

anxiously: welcome!

good morning all! maybe I am only in week 4 that's why, but i do not feel much symptoms! makes me so paranoid.

during the day i feel sleepy, not the tired type, just my eyes wanting to close. then at night i have insomnia and can't sleep! argh!

Hihi, I will starting my 6th week only tomorrow on National Day

Tangerine, I've not been sleeping well for the past few night too! But I don't feel sleepy during the day at all. In fact, other than sore boobs, I don't have any other symptoms.

Morning all =)

Welcome Anxiously! Your nickname really suits what we are all going through now... lol..

Just went to get folic acid this morning at guardian pharmacy. They gave me this 5mg tablets that is yellow in colour. Are you all taking this too?

i dun feel sleepy.. but my whole body feeling very tired & weak! I can't walk for too long =(
I can't wait for the MS to come attack me!! LOL....

Butter panda - I bought the folid acid from my gynae... also yellow in colour.

ying - ok thanks. Me not visiting my gynae until next tue. So as advised by the counter nurse there, get some from outside pharmacy. Just a little paranoid on how "good" they are haha.. silly me.

I think the morning tiredness has started its attack on me. Really tired until cannot open eyes, since late last week. And my heart feel tight - like vomitting feeling coming. Dunno is it becos I think too much.. Really cant wait until the gynae visit to confirm everything through the scan...

Hi all mothers to be. =)

I just got tested positive. Haven't found a gynae, neither have we decided on which hospital to deliver.

How do you mothers decide? Thanks!

hi sunshine, congrats! don't worry, you don't have to fix your gynae this early. you can go to any gynae first and then take your time to do some research. try forums or asking your friends for recommendations then visit the gynae to see if you like him or her.

i've already decided but mainly because i am happy with my current gynae and too lazy to compare hospitals lol.

how many weeks are you now, if you know?

haha thanks ladies.

Actually, we were wondering how much money should we prepare for the delivery of the little one? Was surfing around the sites and got confused by some medisave and non-medisave deduction.

Anyone tried KKH? Is it expensive to use their private suite?

Welcome sunshinelover!

The price I think "agar-agar" can le. Cos' every case is different so some people pay $3K for delivery, u may just pay $1k less or more.

In general, for delivery budget for ($2K to $4K). Need to consider is it normal delivery or c-section too for the price difference.

Then for monthly pre-natal checkup, I think it totals up to $2K+ to $3K for private gynae consultation.

Mine - gynae and delivery all at TMC.

And haven't include all the baby stuff you need to buy in prep of his/her arrival

Hi all.
Butter panda.. Whos ur gynae? Im with TMC too. My edd is 2nd apr. Have gone for the 1st checkup with gynae & 2nd appt on next fri.. So exciting! Cant wait to see how baby look like by then.
Im in my 7th week .. And congrats to all u Mum-to-bes =)

Good Morning all! =)

Hi Imie, my gynae is Dr. Caroline Khi. She's patient and stitch work is good. What about you?

So your next checkup should be expecting to see a fetal pole in the sac right? so exciting! I am about 4 days behind you. Next week checkup. Hope can see something..

Hi Tangerinez!

National day - I missed the NDP totally! A bit sad.. haha.. cos' it was my grandpa's bday celebration in the evening thus no time to watch NDP at all.. But other than that had a good rest.. So tired these days. I realise I can't do away coffee if I want to be able to focus and do some work in the office.. =(

Last time my gynae told me as a pregnant mum, don't take more than 1 cup of coffee or 2 cups of tea a day. Of cos the best is not to take any coffee or tea at all.. Seems like I can't go for the 2nd way... =( Are you all taking any coffee?

butter: next time do the celebration at home, then can watch NDP at same time haha.

i don't usually drink coffee, so lucky me. but i am craving for tea. haven't taken any so far except for 2 sips of Macdonalds ice lemon tea.

i think 1 cup of coffee is fine ba. or maybe u dilute your coffee?

i have a HUGE zit on my chin and cannot use oxy, haiz... so ugly.

Hahaha.. We did the celebration at my grandpa house actually, so got TV. But with my no. 1 sticking to me so tightly, I had difficulty eating my dinner already, not to say watch NDP. And somemore they didn't tune in to Channel 8 lor.. Fated to miss.. later on I saw the pics posted by colleagues at fb.. arghh... sianz.. hahaha...

Hee.. I always take those 2 in 1 low fat coffee. So I guess it is already very small pack coffee dosage that I am taking per day. But can't help just feel guilty. I do have colleague told me before she din take coffee for #1, took coffee when pregnant with #2. But after that, don't see big diff in the two children in terms of health or behaviour (hyper etc).

Ooh... a pimple also came out near my nose yesterday... ugly ugly.. and my hair, dye effect gone.. cannot dye hair cos' bad for baby.. ahhh going through a period of ugly state again...

oooh, u have real life example that taking coffee is ok, so go ahead! a small cup to get you through the day. i think that's good.

how was your experience with TMC? are the nurses rude?

Yeah got real life example.. then somemore my mum and mum-in-law said before "last time pregnant mums took all sorts of coffee.. post-natal breastfeeding mums also take a lot of wine.. all their babies no problem.. why now pregnant mother cannot take so many things hur?" Hahaha... Well I think research is getting more advanced so definitely there is some truth to all these restrictions they impose on pregnant ladies. Just that my own opinion is the impact is not really that BIG. It is just to play safe.

My experience was good. In the 1st place I chose TMC cos' that is one of the places where most ppl deliver babies so my take is they should be quite experienced. Nurses and doctors that I encountered are all good. Just that I happened to deliver my no. 1 on a friday last year. Hit the weekend and no lactation trained nurse was available to help. The nurses on duty just agar agar teach me but I did not succeed in breastfeeding my child directly in the end. I pump out milk instead of latch.

What about you? Did you have some unpleasant experience?

Hehe sunshinelover.. u r making me excited too :p

If thats the case, then my 1 cup of coffee is very much within a safe range. :p

Butter: ya! my husband was saying, how come everything also cannot? can you stop doing research?!

re TMC, no bad experiences, only been there once to see gynae when i went for pre-marital check up. just that there are some horror stories online. my first choice would have been Mt Alvernia but I like my gynae in TMC so decided it's better to stick with TMC.

and, now that TMC changed management, not sure if the experience will be better or worse than before.

hahaha tangerinez.. your husb remarks so funny.. hahaha..

If talk about horror stories for baby delivery hospitals actually I heard more from direct colleagues and relatives for mt. A leh. Its more on nurses rather than doctors. Poke wrong veins on hands to transfuse blood, didn't insert the epidural tube properly for pregnant mum so they deliver in pain etc. My own mum had bad experience there too.

Hmm but having said that I think still go by case-by-case basis. Doesn't mean TMC nurses or Mt. A nurses all good or all bad. It's heng suay too..

thanks sunshine! means i can drink a cup of tea every day! but i think i refrain first, since black tea is cooling in nature. but will start whacking from 2nd trimester! haha.

butter: ya i guess you are right. all depends on heng suay. pray my husband won't be impatient at the bad parking at TMC though.

Nice reference from sunshinelover..

But haiz think I am stoopid.. the coffee sticks I am taking all go by serving size. So mine is 1 stick serving size is 18g. That doesnt mean the caffine is 18000mg right?? Haha..

The website said not to take more than 200mg caffine per day. But I think I can't find the caffine info on the coffee pack.

Tangerinez! I took some time to convince my husb to go TMC too.. he hate the parking there. Same as your husb! Then I ask him parking more impt or good pregnancy services more impt? :p

to me tmc is good la. That's why i ask him that.. he wanted to go kk cos parking is easier.

butter: the 18g includes other things like sugar and what not, so it has no relevance to the 200mg. pretty sure that one stick serving is well within the 200 mg. no worries.

i didn't give my husband a choice. i simply told him, i have decided. you will like this gynae too. and i warn you first. you are not allowed to complain about the traffic jam on the way to TMC, or the lack of parking there! wahahahaha.

good morning ladies.. <3 <3
Im also going to TMC.. and ya, my DH also dun like the parking there...
most prob this friday going for my 1st check up.. I CAN'T WAIT!! LOL...

Hahaha.. tangerinez, sounds very commanding.. your husband's reply is it - "Yes Mdm!!" lol...
Actually parking isn't that bad at TMC from our experience there.. yes definitely full as always unless u reach there at morning 8 plus. But the valet parking is "compulsory" there, so everytime we reach the place, we get down, the valet man take over. Then when we are done, we just stand there wait for our turn to board the shuttle bus to the URA car park opposite TMC to pick up our car. Really not much of a hassle. Not like what our husband imagined...

ying - I am also excited for you! Must tell us the result!

butter: the valet, must pay? the one and only time we were there we got lucky and didn't need the valet

ying: yay!! it's only 2 days away. can imagine your excitement!

and i remember the parking is like abit expensive hor!!

haiz, im thinking whether to go tomolo or friday.. coz i cant wait lah! LOL....

tangerinez &amp; ying, the valet seems does not incur extra charge. But the parking fees normally amounts from $3 to $10+ depending on how long you are there. I think $3 is the minimum if I remember correctly.

your gynae doesn't give MC? when i called to make appointment, i was told an MC will be given for the visit! you want to call and check?

From what I know some gynae give mc and some doesn't. Lucky my one is ok. Some gynae are "very responsible" so they are against giving mc for checkup because it isn't really sick case.

My colleague goes to a gynae at Raffles and she doesn't issue mc.

Hi everyone, just tested positive today.
It will my second child.

Have not went to gynae yet. Probably will make appointment to go this Saturday to have a check and confirm the preganancy.

ying - i also wait very long for my gynae. But she usually takes her time to explain stuff to me so i feel worth it for the wait. Not like wait 2-3 hrs then get shoved out by gynae in no time. There are such gynae around cos' they are too popular already, queue too long. haha...

neuc - welcome!

Hi Hi,

am back.. been so busy with my ger and the PHs.. so tired! Hi hi to all new mommies too!

Whoa seems like most of you are with TMC!! I'm gonna settle for Mt A again this time.. cos the nurses are very nice.. and I had a pleasant first time with them 2 yrs ago.

Coffee, Tea &amp; Caffeine -

I hvnt touch on coffee at all, drank a glass of ice green tea.. &amp; mostly ice milo.. completely out of my fav Teh-O Ice!

yingoinkoink / butter panda / tangerinez

thanks.. I hope to hv a sticky baby too.. last blood test hcg level at 107.. only can confirm im preggy lo.. must wait till this sat to test hcg level again.. must over 1500 then means not ectopic..

I went to temple to pray pray too.. I hope all's well.

Oh yah gynae gv me folic acid to eat now.. as usual i thk hv to pop them for the next 3-4 mths? and fish oil is coming too.. hahaha.. i hate to eat them but no choice.. its relli good! and i can foresee ah ma is going to make red date drink soon too.. one jug a day.. argh!!! For the sake of my pea i hv to drink..

ST: glad that everything is fine! i also pray for sticky baby for you!

i came from the TTC #1 thread and the girls were saying cannot drink longan red date tea during 1st trimester leh. never state reason but some mentioned body cannot be too liang or too heaty, if not baby won't stick. you may wish to ask chinese sinseh or the people in medicinal halls to see if can drink?

neuc: congrats and welcome!

tangerinez

honestly speaking hor.. i forgot when ah ma started asking me to drink for my #1 tt time.. but i only remember drinking them very often for very long till the day i popped.. after tt its my mum made for me for confinement le..

i will see when shes going to make me drink them.. the longan red date drink is consider the heaty grp rite? and green tea is consider liang type rite? i just drank green tea lor.. those jap restaurant type.. but at hm i only drink plain water or fresh milk or guava juice.. :p

how i wish i can get over 1st tri and proceed to 2nd tri..

Ya I think can drink from 2nd trimester ba. The other day I also drink green tea. No choice but drink a little bit only.

1st trimester is so worrisome. I also wish faster go to 2nd trimester. And I'm only 4 weeks plus! Still 2 months to go!