(2012/02) Feb 2012

Hi mamapanda, your bb learnt how to smile already?
Mine only smile after a satisfied feed or when she is sleeping. Think I read that her type of smile is a reflex. What "games" do you play with your bb to aid in bb's development? I only talk to her.. First time mummy duno how to entertain bbs..

Lynn, I had a red lump on my breast previously and it was hard like stone and hurts like crazy. What I did was to use hot towel to massage and push the lump towards my areole. I got my hubby to help me push and massage too. He got more strength. I continued for abt 3 days and the lump disappeared.

Lynn, thanks for the offer. I hv made appt to go tmc parentcraft later.

My lumps have been around for weeks. Last week massage lady helped me clear but somehow it got worst yesterday. Still having fever.
I m still trying to pump as much as possible. But the lump still there.

Hey mummies I went back work today after 8 weeks of ML. For remaining 8 wks can take daily for 8x7 days - 56 days... I was surprised I Thot will be 8 x 5.... Cos when I had first one sat sun included n must be taken by weekly block...anyway it a bonus!

Meiji
My boy about 4 days old start smiling already leh. At first we thought it was muscle reflex but after a day, it's unmistakably smiles and he's very generous with them. My hubby say he's a born ladykiller with his smiles.

MamaPanda: wah if really is incisor cut your bb is having teeth v early! Sure will be a biter!

Lynn: it's correct mah. First 8 weeks must be taken in one block. The following 8 weeks if you split out will be calculated by days. If taken continuously will be calculated by weeks again. It's funny but most companies go by this MOM standard.

I went parentcraft just now n nurse did massage on the lump. No inflammation yet. Nurse say now only blocked ducts but if nv clear will become mastitis. asked me to monitor for another 48 hours, if never subside n hv inflammation then take antibiotics. N can take normal panadol for fever to subside. Omg! The massage was so painful! Was asked to continue massage n pump n latch. Now still feel so painful!

nana - congrats on your boy pooing! saw that u celebrated during lunch :D

cleaning bb's bottom
regardless of the gender of ur bb, i think its good that we clean their bottom n private area wit water especially after they poo. I feel the wipes are cannot really clean enough. wat I do is to keep a small bottle of spray (those that we use to spray plants or clothes for ironing) by the bed and spray my boy's bottom and wipe it down. I add a bit of his johnson's baby shower gel for the scent.

cutting bb's nail
sweetcorn - u are nt alone! I'm guilty of it too
I was actually shaking the first time I had to cut his nails. n I accidentally clipped part of his flesh n he was wailing like crazy. I felt do bad. after that I chg his nailclipper frm the normal baby nail clipper to the scissors type n it's so much better. I'm nt nervous cutting his nail already.

pumping in the office
one of the reasons I gave up BF was becos my boss is not the 'Che tong' kind. he very ngiau, maybe cos he's gay n he doesn't understand all this. anyway I knw I won't have the luxury to pump at least twice in the office. so decided to jz let the supply go off naturally. mamapanda - so lucky u can pump 3x in office. wish my employers were that 'Che tong'

to increase milk dosage or not?
recently my boy has been acting up n his normal dosage of 150ml - 180ml seems nt enuff. usually he can last up to 4 to 5hrs but nw after 2hrs he starts crying. I will cradle him, give pacifier, rock him n he will sleep for jz another hour n start crying again.. and I will end up making milk for him. he just turned 2mths on 4th April. I'm nt sure if increasing his milk supply Is a good idea. any mommies facing this problem?

adding infant nestum to milk formula
my mother n my MIL suggested to add infant of friso cream to my boy's milk so that he will be full longer. the dosage is ard 1/4 of a teaspoon. my hubby and I are quite hesitant cos we feel he's too young. but my mother n MIL insist it's ok n they have done it to all their kids (yes that will include me.. hehe) and it seems the bb will sleep thru the nite. I'm a bit apprehensive til nw. again, any mommies have heard of such advice before?

goin back to work after such a long break
I'm only taking 10wks of ML and already feeling the pain of going back to work. my ML started 1st feb (my son was delivered on 2nd feb) n I'm goin back to work this coming Monday.. so siannn!! really feel like quitting my job
can't bear to part wit my boy. 10wks spending time wit him has been the best 10wks of my life (yup, I'm a first time mummy) even though it was a lot of hardwork n sacrifice but it's soooo rewarding at the end of the day. I was even whining to my hubby this whole week abt goin bk to work n how I feel like ql quitting. haiz

I'm only taking 10wks n I'm feeling like crap goin back.. Mummies taking 12 to 16wks of ML, do u feel the same way too?

Nana, u mentioned u gave ur boy brown sugar water. u made it urself or bought it frm outside? might wanna try for my boy. I'm feeding him water plus glucose.

Thanks GG for the info.

Sofia, it's common to have separation aniexty when u return back to work ESP for the first week.

I know of the older generation who enjoys adding cereal/nestum in baby's cereal but seriously better not cos its to early to feed them cereal, their tiny stomach and digestive system is not ready for that yet. Better seek ur PD's advice if they still insist, best bring them along too.

godsend, I'm really dreading the time passing by so fast. plus my work requires me to travel so that just adds more to the 'sian-ness'. haiz. did u experience this for urself n how did u cope wit it?

abt the infant nestum, yup me n hubby apprehensive abt bb digestive system even though it's only a little bit which needed to add to his milk. def will ask PD.
btw, the carters merchandise in bkk, is it original?

Sofia, yup. Experienced it for my first two boys ESP for the second boy, can feel the heart ache. When I went back to work that time, I brought along many photos of his. Like some mad lady staring at his pics at my desk while working. Mon-Fri, rushed home like mad too just to see him. LOL.

But for now, I've been on unpaid lve since my 3rd child 2 years back. Now looking after all of them plus my coming 10 weeks girl.

For the Carter's rompers/dresses, heard its genuine. It's cheap cos it's made in thailand.

I'm sorry if I sound harsh but isnt it too early to start giving solids? Your baby needs to feed more often at times because they're going through a growth spurt. Why would u want to curb their growth by giving them solids (which they cant digest) to make them feel full so they cant get the nutrients they need for their growth? I really cant understand the logic behind that.

sofia,
I can understand how u feel. I've felt that twice already and I'm gonna feel it again next month when I go back to work. I also took only 12 weeks. Still got another 4 weeks to go for me.

I sacrificed career and chose to remain in civil service, which is definitely family oriented, so I can have more family time for my kids. If I also go private sector, my kids will be very poor thing cuz daddy already goes home late and have little time for them. Sometimes, I see my friends doing so well in private sector makes me wanna give up my job and aim higher. So, I'm not sure if its a good or bad thing.

sofia,
Maybe u can explain to them the reason why baby sleeps through the night if their milk has added cereals is because their tiny stomachs and digestive systems cannot digest the cereal. This also means, while baby is sleeping through the night fighting hard to digest the cereal they cannot digest, he is not getting the nutrients and water he needs and thus, risking dehydration and malnutrition.

Well, then again, maybe I am wrong though I doubt it. No harm checking with your PD. I'm curious what the PD will say about this too.

Godsent, i think I'll b goin thru wat u went thru while working too.. hehe. as of nw, my phone is filled with his pics n videos! I even took videos of him moving his arms n legs, videos of him crying, doing nothing.. am I crazy or wat ?!? hehe! cos I knw I'm goin to miss these moments while working. n I even told myself that i will leave on the dot (cos usually I work late) n Rush home to see my boy

so u are a mother of 4 now? wow.. congratulations! I'm
inspired cos me n hubby already planning to stop at one kid actually.

abt the carters, tks for the info. we wont b goin bkk anytime soon though. so will jz continue ordering online, though gd to knw bkk has it.

Mamapanda, me n hubby too are extremely apprehensive abt the infant nestum idea. jz cos it works, doesn't mean that it's good. we've tried to explain Both my mom n MIL, but they are quite persistent. my MIL even volunteered to buy the nestum *faint*. hubby n i are concern that this might interrupt my son's digestive system n impedes his progress. but tks for sharing the facts, will def chk wit PD on this n will share it with the mummies here.

as for goin back to work, my hubby did suggest for me to consider civil service. but u are right abt the sacrifice I have to consider. civil svc will b more beneficial for those wit
families, however I may have to consider a slightly lower pay. personally, there's no good or bad here. it's more of what is more important to us at the end of the day. u sacrificed ur career to be in civil svc so that u will have more time wit ur kids, tt means they are MOST impt to u

it's nt easy, I knw.. ESP when we see our peers doing so well. definitely will feel a bit of pressure. but dun worry mamapanda, u will reap wat u sow, in a good way of course

Have been really busy wif bb, she has got a lot of phlegm n she could not get to sleep these few days. Anyone has any suggestion on wat to do?

Heehee, GG- u still remember my great buys from BKK ya? Godsend- yah, go explore Indra market street behind platinum mall n chartuchak. Very cheap genuine pieces n quality is good compared to those made in china ones. Pricing range from only 100baht for rompers to 200baht for dress sets. :D HB is bringing me to BKK again in Jun to celebrate my birthday so going to stock up more!

Oh, we are going to have our first Feb mummies gathering today! Mariott hi-tea, here I come. :D so in beed of a break from takibg care of bb. any of you mummies interested, can drop by between 3-5.30pm to join us?

Sofia: I melt brown sugar in boiling water. Not make too sweet. - machiam Cheng Teng. I just give a little sweetness else he won't drink milk anymore.

Sophia, I'm like u, finding it sian to go back to work. I'm clearing 14weeks n trying to enjoy the last bits of bonding moments wif baby now. Already feeling emo when I think of leaving bb wif caregiver. Plus, I need to travel for my job too, can still remember the time when my boss insisted I travel even at my 37weeks! So very hard to say no.anyone knows if we can bring pumped milk on board plane n back to SG? Otherwise, so wasted to throw away the milk when overseas.

sofia: i m going back after 12 weeks, but half day all the way till end may, slowly 'withdraw' from my boy, n 'lengthen' my ML. ya i guess all mothers will miss our babies but thats life. will fuly utilise every evening n weekends that i hv with him!

btw why need add friso comfort? regurgitate problem? u can try adding abit, but reflux n vomiting problem imprves as grow older. but try put urself in bb shoes,vomiting is actually veri xinku...

Jen, my boy has phlegm problem too. When he breathes, can really hear his deep raspy breathing which is caused by the phlegm. I read abt this on a few websites like babycenter, but it seems there's no actual solution. they have to vomit it out which my bb does occasionally after his feeds. jz monitor bb closely n make sure bb don't choke.

btw ur employers mz b crazy asking u to travel at 37wks! I was required to travel at 32wks, n I told my boss that If he wants me to go, company has to purchase a solid insurance coverage for me, one where my hubby will b flown out to wherever I am in case of emergency. upon hearing that, they decided I shudnt go. which of course is a good thing.

jen & feb mummies, enjoy ur hi- tea tdy @ Marriott
I won't b able to join as need to look after bb. My MIL went JB today to shop. Would definitely love to join if I can afford the time. maybe next gathering ;)

Jen
I asked the flight stewardess in board to keep my milk and ice pack in the fridge and collect back from them when I touch down. I hated pumping on board. So stressful i cluldnt empty both sides. There's nowhere to sit and people kept knocking on the toilet door. On top of it, need fight turbulence. Spilled half my mill once on board cuz the plane dropped a significant bit due turbulence.

Hee that's how I got preggy with #3 while breastfeeding my #2. My supply dropped so much after I came back from a 2 week trip to US With my boss.

Rocco, it's good ur employer so understanding, allow u to take half day all the way till end May. it is actually quite a good way to 'cushion the impact' hor.. but there's no way my employer will allow that.

abt adding the friso cream, cos my boy gets hungry quicker nw, so my mom n MIL suggest I add the infant cereal. while my aunt suggest I add either infant cereal or friso cream to make him more full longer. honestly, I'm nt for the idea. but will chk wit PD and see wat he says.

Sofia
This is one of the reasons why we insisted on sending all our kids to childcare n infantcare even though we have a maid at home & my MIL offered to quit her job to help take care of the kids. Firstly, if they stay with maid at home, they do nothing but watch tv all day, have irregular sleep times and get too close to the maid.

If my MIL take care, firstly my FIL smokes in the house. Although he goes outside to smoke now if we're around but he still smokes inside if kids are asleep in the room. Secondly, I can't control what they will feed my kids & we're very particular about giving them sweets & stuff. Even when we're around we had to control the old folks like crazy not to feed junk to the kids. Can't imagine if we're not around.

Thirdly, the kids will be spoilt rotten cuz my in laws don't know and is unwilling to discipline the kids. Fourth, we have different views on upbringing of the kids for example, adding nestum to infant milk.

Lastly kids get education & get to socialize too while in childcare n infantcare. Both my girls are very happy and love going to school, so it's money well spent. I'll be sending my boy to infantcare as well when I start work even tjough my maid volunteers to care for him n ask us not to spend so much sending him to IC. Most likely will send him to IC in Gombak camp cuz mindef staff have $100 off public rates and it's near my house. When he's 18months I'll transfer him to my girls childcare at Columbia Academy

Hence for peace of mind & world peace, we opt for childcare and infantcare

Sophia, dun think it's a good idea to add infant cereal now! Bb is too young! Usually supplement only at youngest 4 mths, in fact the package would advice 6 mths. Bb digestive system still too immature. For my no 1 I only give cereal at 6 mths, and on it's own. I dun add into bottle of milk. Old folks like to so dat but u recall Parentcraft dun recommend.

Mummies, enjoy the gathering!

Talking abt going back to work... Although I m only in my 6th week ML, I know I will nt bear to leave my Bb n go back work. I keep telling hubby I wan resign n take care of Bb. Lol! But too bad he nv agree. :p guess I hv to take more photos n videos to look at in office.

Mama panda, yah your rationale to sent bb to infant care n child are is so true! Grandparents- sometimes they meant well but some methods they use are just not acceptable loh! Yah like the adding of infant cereal n FM pro!
Okie, so the stewardess would b ok to keep in fridge for us, that's good. But just wOndering abt the custom part, when we bring milk across the gantry, would they confiscate due to the 100mls limit?

Sofia- yah loh, that was how my boss work. She even willing to make me travel at business class n insurance cover just to make me go for that last trip! Not sure if the traveling has affected my pregnancy, cause end up I got a difficult labor resulting in csec. Even clearing of ML has to go through neg wif my boss several times to get that clear.

My condo function room is al fresco style if u don't mind. We can have afternoon dining function there. It's a poolside full facility dining pavilion. U want we can order sarpino pizza laze around n chit chAt or adjourn to the aircon sitting room after lunch. Let me know if you're interested and I go book

Need advice please- my bb had her 2-mo 6-in-1 and Rotavirus vaccine yesterday and since then has had no poos. This is unusual for bb since usually several poo diapers. Also been sleepier than usual.

Anyone else bb have this reaction?

Rotavirus can so early take meh? My doc say 3 months leh cuz the vaccine quite strong, scared baby system can't handle

Your bb got fever? If no fever or diarrhea just monitor first.

the tot of going back to work really sucks and yes, i do wish to resign too..

I suppose its normal since many of us mummies here feel the same way!

Mamapanda, so can we bring on board more then 100ml?

Im still figuring out how to pump in office and when i am travelling..

mamapanda,,
appreciate the valuable insight w/rgds to infantcare. me n hubby had some reservations on infantcare as our close fren n some relatives have had bad experience. so naturally we consulted her for our son's caretaking matters. we feel that baby is still too young n very vulnerable, hence would prefer someone familiar to handle bb til he's abt 1+ yrs old. but too bad, things didn't go our way. FIL recently had severe heart condition n needs more attn. so we are back to square one, looking for caretaker for our son. prob is, infantcare that I've enquired on are full. so yup, we are still looking.

however, no hesitation for childcare. will def consider him for childcare once he starts toddling.

GG / Rocco - ya lor, me n hubby also nt for the idea. I managed to talk my MIL out of it n she was convinced that it's a very bad idea.. phew!

nevertheless will still consult PD abt it n will share wit mummies here.

Bee mummy, my bb had the same vacinnation last Thursday. She was sleepy on the day of the jabs. Next day ok Leow. No fever fr the vacinnation too.

Beemummy: it was after the 6in1 + rotavirus = baby 6th day then poo poo ... Talking about it. Maybe it's the injection causes him to have mild constipation. But the stools that came out was still soft .. So u dont worry ya

Mamapanda: HI FIVE! my boy also going infant care in June. I wouldnt want my mil to take care too ... Eh but if my mom wanna look after - I'm ok - kinda bias ... :D but my mom has her own business to run. So cannot help much.

Arghh my iPhone safari hang on me so gotta retype everything

Joeles
I've managed to bring baby porridge and breastmilk cross customs in US, Amsterdam, London and Norway before without problems. I just told the officer what it is and they allowed me to cross. But I think it depends on the individual officer. If they insist you throw it away just pour it away lor. No choice right?

Pumping in office
I'm lucky cuz I got a big cubicle to myself in a corner so I got space for my personal mini fridge, my pump, my bottle washing stuff and my sterilizer. I installed a curtain at the entrance of my cubicle and if I'm pumping I'll pull the curtains close so my colleagues will know not to disturb me then

As for on board I pump in the toilet at the rear so there's less people wanting to use that toilet but it still very stressful and irritating cu there will be people knocking on your door all the time ESP when we need to be inside for almost 30min including washing up

Evon
For $300 personally I feel it's better to buy a second hand relatively new PISA to use if you're serious about breastfeeding. PISA us tested and proven to be lasting and effective. I've had 3 kids and I still use my PISA more even though I had a freestyle too