(2012/02) Feb 2012

Serene, try not to carry ur boy often especially during walking... u maybe can try to hug or carry him while sitting down. I know sometime we just cannot resist them as they so sweet. But sometime we no choice, cos one of my MCs may due to carry my boy( @15months) too much even walking up stairs as my hubby not around and no one else to help me.

Geyser,
Ya sometimes can't resist him.. So cute.. But I'll try...but then again, I'm so kia-see, will avoid carrying him
thanks...

geyser, i have some concern too regarding carrying my boy. he's a lightwt tho, not even 10kg yet!!! haha.. ya, since i found out i'm preggy, not going out with him withtout stroller much now. cuz keeps telling me "carry, mama,help help". lol..

your boy is sweet, he understands so its easier to explain to him. mine jus gives me "?????" look when i tell him. maybe find some books to explain to him

not much symptoms except tire easily but yet at nite feel sian cant sleep. maybe cuz hubby not ard. i seem to get dizzy often (esp standing to squatting n vice versa).

butterwaffles, my boy has been playing independently for some time.. cuz sometimes me and hubby jus lay down on his big playmat and sleep n let him play. he'd play a while by himself then come n climb on us.

claramimi, welcome!

La mer, ya... at this age very hard to explain to ur boy but who know maybe he can understand. Just try it, show him scan photos and videos of him and explain the process. But u must not forget to ensure him that u will still love him as before even aft his didi/meimei is born.

geyser, ya his age is most prone to jealousy esp due to lack of understanding.. hope tandem breastfeeding will help

one thing that made me happy, he recently showed interest in my friends' newborns and even attempted playing with them! ;p

but boys being boys, once he sees a car or bus or bike, he'll be off "vrroom.." haha

actually one concern i have is he'll be off to pre nursery from jan 2012, one month from due date. hope he wun feel bad abt it.. most likely will ask MIL to come over n help.. and he hadn't seen her since he was 6 weeks old..

Waffles: I also dunno I week what now. When I see my gyne, she say 4.5weeks. So now should be 6.5weeks. I'm will be out from early Jul - early Aug. Come back should be week 14 ba... *headache* let's see what the gyne say when I see her again on 27th. She mentioned may be just in time ...

La Mer, i wanted to ask the same thing as geyser too. I have to bring my boy to visit both my parents (Sengkang) and my MIL (Boon Lay) every weekend. Has been this way ever since he was born...Your MIL is working?

Nana, hey now i think back, i did my DS scan at 13weeks+. The nurse at KKH told me do exactly at 12 weeks may not be that accurate, 13 weeks plus is ok...Think our EDD is pretty near. I should be 6 weeks today.

anyone encountered this incident before?
i was on e mrt ytd evening. i purposely took mrt fm raffles to marina so i can have a seat back to woodlands.
but hor, when mrt reach raffles, there is a preggie woman standing in front of me, abt 6 mths preggie.
i'm sitted on e 3rd seat fm reserved seat. 2 seats on my right are occupied by 2 aunties in their 40s/50s? office working aunties.
then to my left there's a young lady ard 20s using her mobile.
i'm thinking, nobody's giving up their seat, how?
btw e preggie woman din ask anyone for a seat too.
pls advise me cuz i've this guilty feeling cuz i din offer e seat. sorry........

Claramimi, yes I met before this type of situation and i let her sit as I reaching my stop. Ok, let me share another, once I carrying my boy @ abt 1yr old taking bus 854 to my mum's place. The bus not packed but all seats taken. Since no one let me have a seat, i just continue to carry my boy and stand. Aft a few stops, a old malay man @ his 80+yrs old stand up and called me to take his seat. I keep saying no, as i feel he needed more than me. But than, he said loudly seem to purposely let others hear it, "I just a old man, if I fall down the most I die. But ur boy still so small, if u fall down, how? I just dunno why now young strong ppl can just see and still sitting? Shame!" I feel so touched and thanks him alot. He just give me a smile and keep looking at others and shakes his head.

butterwaffles: I didn't know dr tham delivers at Mt A too...thought he only deliver at TMC....will check out the rates to see if there's any difference later on once everything is settled down...

Yr appt also on 24? Morning or afternoon?

hello everyone~ me first time mummy. just tested positive.. going to see doc next week. should be about 5+ wks now.. *nervous* ^^

claramimi, most of times i don't get to sit in the mrt. So i don't really have the problem of thinking whether to give up my seat or not. But sometimes when i'm early enough, the mrt not packed, i get to sit. But once i sit, that's it i will zzzz all the way. So in a way, i'm guilty too....But as a 2nd time mommy, what i feel is, actually not all preg ladies need seat. Those who really need seats are those in the first tri (dizzy, feel like puking etc) and third tri (trust me, with a big tummy, stand a while only also really damn tired). 2nd tri still ok. I can even walk faster than those young abled men....

sag, that was the first question i asked when i emailed to him at his website because i dont wish to deliver at TMC. He confirmed he performs delivery at both TMC & Mt. A
My appointment is 9.20am but the nurse told me to reach at 9am for registration as it's my first time seeing him at TMC. How about you?? You also next Friday??

planet, congrats! First time mommy?

Butterwaffles: Same same...next fri morning...11 plus.... =) Sometimes I am confused with how to count the weeks....so 5 weeks plus is equivalent to 6 weeks? If so, will be 7 next week =)

Actually i cant wait for aug then can officially announce =p

Planet: Congrats!!! Feeling excited?

Ya. Actually I'm go eager to wait to August to announce the good news to all my kakis at work. Cannot imagine their face when I return from my 1 month leave.

Oh experience mummy ,.. For 1 month, at what rate will my tummy grow? I scare I go holiday no pants to wear ... Go there pant size is ok ... Come back too tight. Should I buy go buy the pregnant pants?

sag, my first day of my last menses was on a Friday. So i just add week by week. Today 6 weeks lor. Tomorrow 6 weeks 1 day. Haha....Frankly, only after detailed scan then it's for sure. But of cos, lets all be positive

geyser: we talked abt frequent urination earlier, i read somewhere and it says it is normal for most pregnant women...

Butterwaffles,

I am the same as you. My last mensus was on a Friday, today is exactly 6 weeks. EDD is 10 Feb 2012. IS yours the same?

I am still wearing my skinny jeans to work lor... no choice cos i got no other casual pants... later i ask gynae see ok or not... Thank god i can still fit in nicely.. haha

geyser and butterwaffles, hubby is not local and not chinese that's why.. PIL came to help for about 8 weeks when #1 was born

geyser i think the old man purposely said this to suan the others, which i think deserve to be suan. i think carrying a kid/baby on bus is worse than being preg..

i recall an incident when i was abt 30 weeks preg with #1 and sat on those seat on bus facing the old transitlink machine (hence not v comfy) but all the back seats taken.. an old frail lady boarded the bus.. and no one bothered. i gave up my seat to her. in my opinion she needs it more than me.

i'm quite messed up abt how many weeks i am preggie. my last menses was 26 apr, but i have been tracking my temps, i ovulated sometime on 22 May, and tested -ve on 4 June (DPO14) and +ve on 11 June (DPO20). The online calculations all say i'm abt 6 weeks now, so i arranged my appt for next fri, hope can see heartbeat.

honestly, tho this is #2, i'm still a bit worried, because I dun have much symptoms except for tiredness..

talking abt bus ride. i boarded a feeder bus last sun morning to bring my 2.5 yr old daughter to ntuc.
also nobody give up seat for me though bus not packed but all front seats fully taken.
i ended up carrying her & asking her to hold tight to me.
lucky e bus driver is driving very carefully.

claramimi, why not try asking for a seat? it is very hard to carry a kid on bus.. somemore now u r preggie too.. i think most people will oblige if we ask politely

Geyser, Sag, Pinkz, Waffles,

thanks! i was super excited initially but now am in the disbelief stage cos not much symptoms showing. can't wait to get the doctor's confirmation. =)

i have a question.. how safe is travelling during wk 8-9? i'll ask my gynae but would love to hear all your views. so far i dont have any MS or spotting at all. the flight is about 10 hrs. it's a biz trip so likely wont be walking much. mostly meetings. what do u all think?

Planet;

if doc say can go means ok. I also waiting for my doc to give me the "permission" to travel. Worst, my flight almost 24hr. But during my first appt, she say it's ok to travel. The flight is safe. But just scare not comfy due to our "sickness".

Then I also visited Kkh de doctor, he also say ok. But he mention that must walk around often becoz scare blood clot. He is worst ... U know what he said to me.,. "if you travel, your travel insurance will not cover any hospitalize charges due to mc". I was like CHOY! idiot

haha .... Mummies, you all haven't answer my question above leh

Hi mummies, thanks for all the good advice and feedback. I went for check up at gynae today. Found a lot of good reviews on Dr Lawrence Ang who is located near my home (Thomson Women's Clinic @ Sun Plaza) so i went to see him today.
We saw the sac and the yolk during ultrasound but no heartbeat. I jus reached my 7 week. Is this normal? Doctor said to come back next week and "die die must see heartbeat."
If not then what happens? I am worried.
Anyone has a similar experience, please share.

Ice-cherry: How's your gynae checkup?

Planet: Shouldn't be a prob travelling but dont know by then ms set in already or not? Coz if quite bad, then will be difficult to travel wor....can ask your gynae to see =)

butterwaffle: then i think mine should be 5 w 5 days today hee....

Hi Julandria, yes... no heartbeat mean baby not growing. Usually gynae will ask u back in a wk time to doublecheck. If still cannot detect the heartbeat, the gynae may try to scan fr vaginal to double confirm. If both result still the same, then u hv to decide whether u want to proceed to do d/c.

Julandria; relax ... Dont think too much. Maybe the baby is playing with u. Next week will be fine. We must have faith. Not all mummy have ms what. So you must be the lucky one. Jiayou! Good luck too

Ooops Julandria, my above explanation just telling u what will happen if no heartbeat detected.

So u must relax, rest more. Baby sure be fine. Next wk, U will hear strong n loud heartbeats!!

actually by when heartbeat should be seen? my #1 i went v early to scan only see yolk sac for first scan (should be 5-6 weeks that time) thats why i decided #2 dun need go so early...

Hi Gals, I'm having some brown/pink discharge today... Something like nearing end of period... But there's no cramps or pain... is this normal? First time mummy.. am a bit worried..

hi windy, from what i know, if not bright red usually its nothing. but better to have it checked by doc.. some women low in hormones can cause bleeding/spotting, and doc can give some hormone pills or jabs.

Windy, I would suggest u go see gynae for a peace of mind... Let the gynae check. Cos last time when I have some pink/brown discharge, my gynae actually gave me some hormone pills and vitamins.

Sag,

I was super excited just now... saw my tiny bb and its heart was pumping strongly... doc said he's very healthy... =)

I may be changing to another gynae cos Dr Wong only goes to TMC... I prefer Mt A.

Windy,

The doc told me that if i experience any brown discharge, no need to worry cos it's normal... But if you are still worried, i think you should see the gynae for reassurance....

Julandria,

Dun worry too much. It will be fine...

Hi julandria, not to worry so much. I experienced the same thing with #1. went to doc at supposedly 6 weeks based on LMP supposed to see heartbeat. The doc say the same things next week have to see heartbeat. Was super stressed during that 1week. Went to every single website to ask n check.but after that saw heartbeat apparently I ovulated late. Which is quite unusual as my period is quite regular. But it turns out really the case. Hence my edd was postponed.

I'm selling this Ikea changing table which was rarely used (as I moved to my mum's place shortly after I gave birth) with GULLUNGE babycare mat (as shown in picture). Condition is 9.5/10

Product informations:
Length: 72 cm
Width: 53 cm
Height: 87 cm
- Converts into a convenient table/shelf unit when not used as a changing table any more.
- Solid beech material.

Selling at $40. Self collection at Depot Rd. Please PM me if interested.

5615137.jpg

Outside topic...

I going back sgp for this pregnancy. Currently, I looking at Singtel, M1 and Starhub broadband. Can help to advice which provider is gd and stable? Previously I using Singtel, they are gd but expensive. PLs help to advice. Thanks in advance!

I went to KK 24 hr clinic cos there's some red spotting on my pantyliner and when I wipe. Was quite worried. Did a scan and the doc says can only see the sac, can't confirm that the bleeding is normal or whether the baby is ok cos the bb not yet developed. She prescribed some horomone pills for 2 weeks. Hmm.. shall see how... still a bit worried...

After this visit, I decided that I made the right choice visitng a gynae at TMC instead of KKH. Half way thru the scan, the doc was answering the phone for a new case and talking to her nurse for a good 10 min. I was lying there with my legs spread.. my hubby was like staring at her.. then she decided to finish my scan first... sigh...

Windy... I also have brown discharge till today. I think almost 2 weeks le. You are not alone
I went Kkh too that time. Doc say ok as long as no red blood. I give up Kkh doc too. He "dig" too hard. I was like screaming and the nurse just stand outside the screen. So now I don't think too much, just wait for my next appt at Tmc on 27th. Relax ....

Hi Nana... mine was like pink and red.. like beginning of menses.. so still quite worried.. but will try to relax... if it's mine it's mine =)

Hi windy, when it happened o me last time, I was immediately given a hormones jab. Hormones pills n bed rest. Pls see gynea ASAP. No joke.

Hi julandria, un worry too much. Ur cycle may just be late. You have to be positive thinking so that ur little beanie will continue to work hard to grow up strong n healthy....

Windy: Eh mine was caramel at times.. Most of the time is dark chocolate colour. I was given the hormones pills 2 weeks ago. Even I'm on the pills, I still encounter the discharge. That's y I kancheong when to Kkh and seek 2nd opinion. For me... Doc say ok. Until today.. I just treat it like a "routine". Since you just started the pills, monitor the suitation for a few days first. If still like this.. Than see doc again. Btw, mine discharge was like one/two drip per day nia.

Dear Windy,

it's a wise choice that you went kkh to get a scan immed when you are spotting. Monitor your situation and try to bed rest if possible.

Though some may say spotting is quite common but don't take it lightly. Now we are only 5 weeks, may not see heartbeat for some...try to see your gynae next week to detect heartbeat.

Try to think positive, stay cheerful and your prayers will be heard.

Jiayou my dear

Windy,

I hv the same problem few mth backs. Spotting light pink , gyne give me 2weeks pills but had natural mc the following week.
Just be more carefully, try to rest more, don stress urself.

Thanks gals for the advice and support... am getting lots of rest...trying hard not to think too much.. Hopefully the hormones pills will help.. I can only see gynae in early July.. Will get monitor and see how..