(2012/01) Jan 2012

re playmat, i'm using parklon one. get the largest & thickest (15mm) one! initially tot very big, now I find it too small. a friend even using 2 of the largest size one.

hmm i also use parklon de..but that mat when they fall lon it, still pain lei...cos i tried myself..its quite painful lo...i guess if really wan to be painless, use mattress better

jingles, abit bit pain is ok la. mattress not very good coz they can roll off the mattress (which has abit of height) & hit the floor, can't sit/stand very stable on mattress too. I'm using 2 seahorse 3-fold mattresses for sleeping.

Jac: Lucky your husband acted fast. My mil was around but didn't witness the baby in that prawn-like position. I freaked out. Never imagine babies' bones to be SO flexible/soft.

As babies grow, there are so many things that we need to do..buy playPen, baby-proof the house etc. Money, money...

delphina: just be extra careful next time...don't blame yourself...that time my elder boy, playing w a standing mattress fell flat on the floor, blood in his mouth as one of his teeth cut his lips
and my maid was just beside him.....I was furious as when I take care of him, I never let him fall...At this age, they are so so so fast...my second one super fast..think faster than his brother...dont remember my first to be like him...a second never see and he can leap from one place to the next...even on king size bed..looking after him can be quite tiring as he is so fast...so mummies...jia you and don't lose sight of your little one even for a second...and yes always trust your instinct...

Jean: I tried my Bosch handheld blender today. Tried to blend steamed apple but noticed steam coming out followed by a weird smell! I called up Best Denki to request for an exchange. Hopefully it's an isolated case.

Hi mummies, anyone gave birth naturally at SGH & opt for class A1 single bedded? How much did you pay in total after all the deductions & subsidize?

thanks...kids are mild cases, phew!

hope all yr babies are ok... i recalled my bb was sleeping on the bed. there was oso a playpen beside the bed to prevent him fr falling. but when he made noise n i went to check only after awhile(should have done it immed), i found him stucked between the the bed and playpen in the headup postion. we all learn along the way...till now i am still learning.

hi mummies, do u all feed pork to ur bbs already? I made some pork (+ apple & carrot) purée, but hard to blend till totally smooth leh (think I put alittle too much pork too), so texture abit rough, & my boy doesn't like it coz he tend to gagged/choked abit (he swallows his food without chewing one leh). is it too early to introduce pork to bb at this stage? or shld I put less pork or?? how abt beef & chicken, will it be too rough too? btw he's ok with Threadfin (ngor hee), gonna try salmon & cod next.

Jac, i only use pork for tasting..never feed the meat itself. It's dry and fibrous..different from fish. My #1 only started eating the meat after 1.5yrs old i think...and she is the one who asked for it. LOL..

re kids falling, bound to happen at least once during their growing up stage. My #1 went thru a few times, even had a chipped front tooth. Her finger also "kap" by lift door before. More accidents will happen when they start walking.

Hallo mummy,

So quiet today. Guess all is busy at the start of new week.

Dancingqueen, hope your boy's bump is gone now. agree that $$$ keep flowing hahah. I think nowadays I buy more for baby than myself.

Brink, Jkids, Moscato: thxs for sharing .. As each day passes, i am also learning..

Just this morning my boy was on the walker and he actually pull down the whole standing fan and almost hit him flat on his head
, luckily miss by a bit...haiz... Then later morning he almost drop off the bed while I was changing, just a split second only and I quickly jump over to hold him... Scary man... Haiz...

Stay at home mummies....
Do your husband help with the housework and baby?
For working mummies,
What do your husband help you with... As in hanging clothes, feed baby etc....

brink
i am a working mommy..

-hub will help out in entertaining the bb while i get ready bb's bath...and distract bb when we took off her clothes for shower...Not sure why she detest removing her clothes now.

-cook dinner at times over the weekend so we dont need to keep eating the shitty food from the plaza

-entertaining the baby while i catch up with some housework

-waking up to do the night feeds, he just wake up to make the milk and i feed the baby.

-driver for the baby :p
basically he is the one to drive me and bb out for shopping and rides

- and most importantly, listening to all my ventilation :p

brink,

I'm a SAHM. Hubby's duties starts when he comes back from work..will play with baby whilst I cook dinner, feed and then bathe him. And then play with baby until bedtime, and will clear up anything outstanding (wash dishes..etc) when I am nursing my baby to sleep.

On weekends, he will play with baby and I will catch up on either housework or things that I want to do by myself.

I try not to let hubby do any housework cos he is the CFO mah..haha, plus he already spend so little time with the baby so will let him spend as much time with the baby as possible.

my hb will sweep/ mop the floor..iron clothes..keep an eye on bb (if both kids at hm) when i attend to #1/ make milk/ cook (seldom cook)..
sometimes he will hang laundry but cant make it..usually i still have to re-hang some of them.

for nite feeds, he will carry bb if he cries while i make milk...but nowadays i will 1 hand carry bb, 1 hand make milk if he cries..

moscato
wahh so steady ah...
one hand carry bb and one hand make milk
mine now v good at squirming esp when she is hungry...i doubt i can ever expert in that.

moscato, thanks! think I'll not give meat so soon then.

brink, i'm ftwm. my hb helps with everything except cook (for us & bb). we take turns to do housework & play with bb.

Brink, I am SAHM. My hubby travels often, so I am mainly in charge of taking care bb needs. When he is in town, he will help me with vacuum, and other works. For nite feeds, if he is in town then he helps too but sometimes he is also tired after travelling so i still do.

I cook on weekend sometimes if we dun go out. Weekdays use tingkat :)

Thanks f sharing... I am a stay at home mum...
Usually f me, hubby helps w everything and we do not do housework other than wash and hang clothes , do dishes etc as we have a part time maid that comes every week to clean the house..
Usually he will attend to my no.1 while I attend to my no.2...for night feed he will usually feed no.2 and change his diaper at 1 am while I sleep and at 5am, I will wake up for my duty...
Weekdays, I try to cook as I always believe home cook food is better... But if I am tired, I will rest and buy from outside.
Enitsuj, at least u view your hubby as the CFO and dont let him do housework...I think sometimes I very bad, like getting my hubby to feed and change diaper is an obligation f him at 1am while f me hanging bb clothes and packing my first school bag and taking care of no.2 is my duty... But sometimes, need a break from no.2 so will get hubby to take over...
W mood swings now and then and hubby have to tahan

Not saying sahm is easy but I guess having to juggle work and family is worst... As I never knew and will never know how tiring it is... Mummies w 2 kids and juggling work stress and family..,jia you
It's great to be able to share here and writing here helpse realize actually I quite fortunate:p

brink
yes the only thing we can do right now is ventilate, ventilate, ventilate...
ermmm every category got their challenges la..be it SAHM, working mom, experienced mommy.....no matter how you say it....being a mommy is never easy in the first place.

ermm...i short-tempered when 2 kids are at home...lol...tolerence level went down...especially when i finally made #2 sleep, #1 made some noise or what and #2 wake up..-.-

house will be in mess...toys all over...no chance to eat or drink...but can slim down..haha

Hi Mommies, can you share your babie's feeding and sleeping schedules (night time)

My baby will usually feed at 8pm before sleeping at 8.30pm. My mom will still insists on feeding him at 12midnight and baby will wake up at around 5-6am for his feed again.

I'm just wondering is that 12midnight feed necessary?

moscato, totally agree with you... my tolerance level is much lower when the 2 kids are at home at the same time. Esp during sleeping time, as my #2 (7mths) is a light sleeper and my #1 (2 years 3 months) just likes to disturb the didi when he is sleeping. When #2 wakes up, i need to spend another 30mins sometimes just to rock him back to sleep. ARGH!

bluesugar
ur mom is using the Gina Ford approach to do dream feeds hur?
sometimes it will help to "mid-feed" baby so that bb can sleep longer.

I got to admit that my temper is getting really cranky sometimes...not sure cos I cant see baby daily...haiz..its tough being a mother.

Bluesugar, my situation is exactly the same as yours, ever since Day 1. But it's my HB who insists on the midnight feed and since he's the one doing it, I go along with this idea.

My HB and I have decided that #1 shall be at least 3 yo before we have #2. At least get past the terrible 2 stage and when she is more obedient. Wonder if this planning works..hahaha

jingles, its my mom own old skool method :D is it the same as the Gina Ford's approach, i never read her book before. I do understand she wants the baby to sleep longer, and since the baby sleeps with her, i'm sure she doesnt like the idea of waking up too often.

googlez82, are you afraid this will becoming an habit? I'm worried next time my baby will have this midnight drinking habit and hard to kick off. And since my mother is helping to take care of my baby, i can't really say no to her.
Your plan for #2 sounds good. For me, i'm getting older, not sure if i want a 2nd child. Perhaps just 1 will do.

Hi moscato and pamela,
W 2 it can really be crazy... That time my elder got chicken pox and stayed at home, think I kept scolding him cause he never sleep , play so loud always wake didi up... Then also wan me to play w him when I need to do so many things and take care of them...when hubby gO overseas, it's madness too even I have my mum to help as I need to prepare the two, shower, feed, bring them to school etc... So tiring...am a sahm already so tired when take care of two when hubby overseas... Cannot imagine when I am working... Any working mum w two kids and hubby need to travel... How do u cope? Everyday without fail it is either didi or gor gor wake each other up....

Pamela, my #2 light sleeper too..sometimes rock for 30mins-45mins still cant go back to sleep..end up gave up..

then when #1 cries, #2 will cry together...how to comfort both at the time?..

Pamela, my #2 light sleeper too..sometimes rock for 30mins-45mins still cant go back to sleep..end up gave up..

then when #1 cries, #2 will cry together...how to comfort both at the time?..

bluesugar
yes thats gina ford's style.
she prefers bb to sleep by certain time and encourage to be dream feed.
logically it shouldnt be cos when bb bcomes bigger, their stomach also becomes bigger. so can "store" more milk and allow them to sleep longer thru the night.

thats logically speaking la..but of course, every bb is different..

yes for me i also think better not have #2..i scared i cant cope...lol

Bluesugar: I used the Gina Ford method to train my son to sleep through the night when he's turning 3 mth. Took a few days to re-adjust but when the sleeping and drinking patterns finally sunk in, my husband and I were so glad as we finally could sleep through the night from 11:30pm to 6- 7am. Of course, there were some days when the schedules went haywire but that's probably just 10% of the time.

My son is turning 6 mth next week (time flies!!). I'm planning to bring forward his last feed from 11pm to 10.30pm. Hope he can continue to wake up at 7-ish in the morning like now.

dancingqueen, envy u. my boy still wakes up twice a nite at 8mths. sigh.

mummies, is it ok to give bb fish everyday (althou not alot)? do u all give fish everyday? coz i usually make 1 wk worth of fish/vege purée (usually abt 100g fish + other veges, etc). but I read that it's recommended to give 2-3 servings of fish a week?

these few days getting frustrated coz even since bb knows how to support himself in standing position, i feel tat i cannot leave him out of my sight for fear he falls off!

if i place him in d high chair, he cannot sit there for long n will start to wail. my playpen is used for changing diapers/sleeping so i cannot move it right down...

so how do you occupy yr bb while still being able to do your own things?

re: nightfeed
actually if bb doesnt wake up at nite, y the need to offer nite feed? even when bb does not wake up at nite, he is stll growing while sleeping.

Jkids,
For me, baby refuse to stay in playpen for very long... He prefer walker... So basically, will let him Play in playpen until he cry then put him at walker

jkids, my boy also refuse to be in the playpen/ high chair/ jumperoo for long. usually we'll have someone to watch over him all the time lo. it gets really frustrating when I'm alone, can't get anything done, cant even go make milk for him.

Brink,

Would have to agree with some of the mummies here, being a mother will always have challenges. Plus you have two kids! How do you cope man...I'm planning for #2 in 2014..really have to learn how to be patient. I'm sure by that time, my expectations of my hubby sure will change!!

Any mummies upgraded baby's diet from rice cereal to porridge already? My son's 7.5 mths and I am slowly introducing rice porridge on weekends, weekdays still oatmeal. But every time he goes on rice porridge or rice cereal, sure won't poo the next day. He is quite regular when eating oatmeal. Anyone facing this problem?

brink:
yr bb is 8 mths now? his feet can touch d ground? am thinking of walker oso if theres no other option.

jac:
hope yr bb get well soon. very stressed when bb is unwell.

enitsuj:
my bb started porriage at 6 mths +. 1 meal porriage and 1 meal rice cereal/brown rice cereal. evern since he started on porridge, he has less interest on milk...

jkids
you can try putting into the walker (tats for toilet break or i need to get out of her sight for a moment).
tats wat i try...but its not v long..

for me my cot has been lower down to the 3rd lowest, so i will put her there when i need a short break while keeping an eye for her (within the same room like changing my clothes).

ermm jkids think try walker bah...cos that's the asian style on training bb to walk lei...if not unless you wan to keep holding onto bb to support him which can be v tiring

my gal doesn't stay in high chair/playpen/playyard/walker long (if at all). She's crawling all over the place and tends to stand up too. My mum (weekday days) and my HB and I (nights and weekends) dun let her out of our sight. Really dunno how so can't help.. :/

Jac, my mum oso gives threadfin every meal, twice or sometimes even 3x a day. But, we watched a taiwanese health talkshow, the guest speaker advised better not overdo it. Like you said, 2-3 times a week. Hmm..I think my mum will cut down to once a day. Cos we are too used to having fish for almost every meal..

Enitsuj, my gal started porridge about 6mth old. To prevent consti/difficult bowel, give more water, take fruits. Now, they can eat many types of fruits le, e.g. apples, bananas, watermelons, cherries, avocardo..

Hi mummies, good morning!

Jac: I've a gf whose baby stopped waking up for night feed after her husband failed to attend to the baby when she wailed in the middle of the night. My gf was away on biz trip and her husband slept so soundly that he couldn't hear baby crying. It happened over 3 nights. From then on, the baby didn't wake up for night feeds anymore.

I'm still at the early weaning stage. Only exposed my son to baby rice, banana, apple and sweet potato. This week he'll try broccoli and pear. When do I start offering him semi-solid as a half meal or full meal? I'm planning to intro porridge when he turned 7 mth. Is that too late?

Btw, I read that a baby's iron store will deplete as he hits 6 mth. So we must intro iron-rich food to replenish iron in his body. Any recommendation what to feed if I haven't included meat/fish in my baby's diet?

Jkids
My boy going to be eight mth next week. Fr 4 mths we already put him on walker .... Leg always can touch the floor since walker u can also adjust the height... To be frank safest place is playpen. Cry better than being hurt... Just now,my boy just fell fr my king size bed w pillows surrounding even when I checked on him seconds ago. Put him on walker and went kitchen to take something, the whole fan came down on him... Luckily f both, he is unhurt or I be at the hospital now...

Enitsuj:
w 2 the family structure will be totally different as u will have less help from hubby cause he may need to entertain no.1 while u take care of no.2. It takes a while to adapt too
so when it comes, just slowly adapt

My boy takes cereal very well even f very lumpy ones, but does not seem to like porriadge. My guess is because it is not as sweet as the cereal...am giving him porriadge at least once per week... Eating solids does cause constipation but if I add apple or prune, then it be ok... Give more water too... And after either cereal or porriadge I still give milk if he still wan...