(2012/01) Jan 2012

hello mommies

have been some time..
how's all coping?
any babes managed to sleep thru the night now?

Jess: I bought handheld blender bec my friend told me she had problem scraping all the content from the normal blender container as she doesn't prepare a lot to keep (the content flew everywhere in the container). Since I live with mil, I foresee that she wouldn't be gaga abt freezing baby food, which means the quantity I prepare will be relatively small too. Like you, I hope the handheld blender works

Jingles: my baby started sleeping through the night when he was abt 3 mth. I used the Gina Ford method to train him

yo jkids

how are you

ermm bb still drinks but lesser lo.

dancing queen
really envy lei...
haiz..mine still wake up twice a night..to drink..sometimes depending on her learning stage. she will wake up and "rehearse" what she learns for the day :p

jkids, u take care! hope your kid recovers soon..better quarantine if possible.

havent train my son to sleep thru the nite..cos my parents is taking care..and they will feed him when see him tossing ard...

jkids
ohhh take care ya..

moscato...
ya but now i scared if never train when bring bb back that time i will be in deep trouble ...

jingles: when he is back with me, i will try to drag..unless he cries...bo bian...
he cant crawl yet..and cant sit w/o support for long..no chance to train him..haizz..

Jingles: I adopted Gina Ford's feeding and drinking schedules. Took a while to train baby but finally managed to work it out and it made my life much easier. However, my baby has to sleep face down to sleep through the night. Otherwise he might cry once in a while in the middle of the night. PD said sleeping face down is not too safe but my baby just can't sleep peacefully facing up. So I just continue letting him sleep facing down.

dancingqueen: let me know how your handheld blender is after using.. I'll use this weekend and update you.

regarding puree, do you mummies feed pure puree or mix it with your cereal or something else? gonna make apple puree this sat, and intend to feed pure apple puree first, see if bb likes or not.. wonder if any of you mix in the cereal?

Hi jean, I believe you can be adventurous and mix different types of food/fruits into your cereal. Btw, my gf told me avocado and banana mix is yummy! I can't wait to offer it to bb after I let him try out a few more single items.

hi mummies, MIA a few days coz juz started new job.

jkids, usually bb will be cranky for awhile b4 the teeth break thro. think if break thro liao then won't be so pain liao ba. my boy now 8mths, can crawl le. hope ur kid recovered from HFMD le?

delphina, I give puree mixed with brown rice cereal for dinner everyday. but juz 1 milk scoop of brown rice cereal (mixed with 2oz of puree) la, coz my boy don't really like it. he takes cerealac for lunch in ifc. he takes abt 200-300ml of water a day, so far so good, no constipation.

jean, think moscato meant cerealac brown rice cereal is very sweet compared to organic brown rice cereal. cerealac smells very sweet, like our adult nestum! btw, most of the time I mix purée with rice cereal.

jingles, mine also sama sama like urs. still twice a nite feed. will roll & flip till he sits upright & wakes himself up. SIGH! u bringing ur gal back to stay with u? I moving home stay soon too (mum like dont really welcome me at her hse liao). hopefully can cope. sigh.....

Jean, yup..i mean the Cerelac brown rice cereal is sweet....taste diff from organic brown rice cereal..

Jac, what happened? how come your mum doesnt welcome you at her plc? Luckily the ifc is 2 bus stops away from your plc. U don't intend to change sch right?

1st kena. 2nd under high risk got red spot so staying away fr sch coz teachers paranoid now as usual, but seriously hope the 3rd one doesnt get it. ahhh!! i want to pull out my hair liao, haha. kidding...muz remain sane at this time.

moscato, only thing is all 3 sleep in diff room now.

jac and jingle, wat happen that you must bring bb to own home now/soon?

jac
haiz....y mom dun welcome u lei.?
nantao she dun wish to see baby also??
sian hor....sometimes i also duno who to ventilate too -.-
its tough being a mommy esp when we live alone..but i strongly believe it's worth it - bonding, independence....positive positive positive!
jia you bah!

jkids
ermm its just a matter of time i will bring baby back...its tough not able to see her everyday...also i think as bb development progress mil will not be able to cope alone looking after her..she will know how to walk and run lo...mil not much strength to do that...

how are all of u....been a while since the forum is active again...
jkids:hope your kiddo recover soon...
re:crawling
my boy is 7 mths now and crawling like nobody business...once awake need to jaga him 24/7 as he crawl very fast and usually crawl head downwards..refused to be put into playpen and once there will cry so loud like someone bully him like that...going to upgrade his playpen to lower level soon...
re:milk drinking
still taking the same amt 150ml per feed
re cereal
usually will mix puree w cereal

any of your babies taking smiliac no.2 for6 mths and above bb?
is there alot of air so much so that baby tends to want to vomit out the milk after drinking?
and when vomit out, the texture of the milk is quite thick? can share anyone..thanks

Hi, I live with my in-laws but bec my job didn't work out after maternity leave, I was forced to quit and now I'm home looking after baby. It's honestly quite tiring but the bonding between my son and I is priceless. I'm specially glad that I could journey with him on this weaning process. Sometimes I wonder if my mil could really cope alone as baby grows and gets more active. It's already tiring for me to keep up with him. What's more my mil who's 60+.

jkids, jiayou jiayou jiayou!!!

moscato & jingles, yah lo, my mum got bored of my boy, prefers to go play mahjong, etc. always say she very tired & stress tat we staying at her place althou she doesn't even do anything for us, only wash milk bottles once a day & play with my boy awhile (not more than 15mins) nia. & also complain her house very messy coz full of bb stuff. & me & hb got to fight with my bro for toilet every morn & nite, & naturally my mum sides my bro. actually I would have shifted home long ago if not for my dad. my boy & dad r very attached. every nite my dad will play with my boy when he comes home late from work. cant bear to tear them apart leh. sigh. but guess sooner or later we have to move home, so might as well move & settle down earlier. my boy will still attend the same ifc, still close to my hse too. sibei sianz got no parental support at all.

dancingqueen, I don't mind be SAHM if finances allow leh. don't think can survive on single income. sigh. also sooner or later also got to make same arrangement when bb goes pre-sch or primary school. so might as well settle down on a routine now.

jac
i understand your frustration.
think i will be going thru the same phase v soon...at times i also overwhelm with my emotions. Everytime ple wan grandkids and garment asking to have kids..eh but no support lei....no support how to work in peace? Never work how to support family? its a round and round question with no answer..only thing is well... we will just try our best lo.

eh but jac..since your bb is in ifc how come still need to stay in mom place? isit cos of night duty sharing load?

jingles, yeah previously was due to nite duty. coz my boy still wakes up twice or more at nite, morn like zombie sia, how to work. my mum volunteered to look after my boy at nite previously. what crap! after few nites then complain too tiring. my boy has been sleeping with me & hb for the past mth liao, so really like no pt staying there. only can't bear to separate my boy & dad.

hello all! Been awhile since I last checked back. Glad to see jkids and jingles back!

jkids, oh no..shiong man..hang in there! *fingers crossed for #2 & #3*

jac, hmm..dun be sianz ba..i guess ur mum wants back her "me time". like what dancing queen says, it's really tiring to take care of a fast growing bb. perhaps she's tired too? you know there's a chinese saying, 相见容易相处难, at least "part" when the relationship is still good and not keep it inside the heart until explode..

some bb update.. mine's coming to 8 mo. Can crawl steadily and fast now. Can also hoist herself up anywhere and everywhere, bed, sofa, chair, playpen, playard. Grip and she's up! think she wants to walk liao.. she's having 3 solid meals a day, cereal in the morn, porridge and brown rice either lunch or dinner. Usually with threadfin and sometimes cod fish. Sometimes spinach or carrot or tomato. For brown rice, sometimes add banana puree, otherwise just fish. Milk intake is about 400-500ml a day now..

jac
yes lo....i guess so.
its the night duty which i fear...sure affect next day work

sometimes we need committed help lei..not someone who just say say niah than halfway give up lo..
erm tat time you are thinking of getting a maid right? isit get liao then return back?
now kid is slightly bigger, got explore in getting a maid now?

true la..no heart to seperate grandpa and kid...but right now got to be selfish la..if no one is helping you..no point providing "convenience" for bonding for others lo...what we need is help now...where we can work and support the family lo...afterall if our folks fall sick next time, we also need moolah lei...if not all 4 old folks (hub and yours) if all not well together, cant just rely on one working adult (hub) right??

so if they cant provide any help..for me, i will think of myself now lo....no help and if i can handle situation better myself i will shift back le..this is not a phase to think of others esp when sleep and me-time deprive.

googlez82
yes mine also milk 400-500
2 meals a day. bellamy, cerelac, puree or porridge lo

googles, my boy goes IFC, mum never help take care at all, so don't understand how tiring it can be for her. btw my boy also can pull to stand liao, very mobile now.

jingles, ya lo. shifting back soon. at least don't have to fight for toilets, washing machine, hangers, etc etc etc. previously I got a maid but sent her back & put my boy at IFC instead. prefer ifc to maid. now maid don't do nite shift liao leh, so no pt too.

jac
ya la..shift back bah..
cos now your day time routine is v stable..
its only the night part. think got to rotate between hub and urself....many ple say the turning point will be 1 year old...keep our fingers cross bah...gg to be one year old v v soon.
for me if i shift bb back is headache..cos no support for daytime...and not really eager to try out ifc.

haiz....really tough la

Jac, who does the housework at your mum's plc?
when back on your own, be prepared you will be very very bz...wash/ hang laundry...wash dishes...no time to do other housework..hubby support will be very very impt then.

guess i'm the "hard-hearted" one...going to tear my dad & my boy apart once he can get into ifc..think next mth or one more if i can get a place. :p
he can't bear to let him go ifc to "suffer"...

moscato
no la..u r not alone.
not the only hard hearted one lo...for me i also the same.....no time to really bother about how others feel...i mean when you are desperate for help, and there is no one to help you, where got time (and alert, and sensitive to others' needs). Priority is to look after baby lo. and have enuff rest and stay healthy to look after bb.

yes...stay alone is really alone le...
esp now bb is taking solids, its not just so simple as making milk le lo...still got to plan menu and go marketing.... LOL, cook, blend, boil...still have to make sure bb dun crawl all over the place.
GODDDD!! This is only possible if hub is back by 630?? if not i think we can catch spiders to eat liao..how to cook for bb and family...hahahaha

moscato, my family culture is we do our own housework. wash/fold/iron own & bb laundry, wash own dishes, cook bb's meals, etc. mum only mop her whole house nia, but I got to vacuum her hse & clean my own hse weekly, even worse rite. she also don't cook, we cater dinner.

jingles, I intend to cater for dinner. then cook bb's meal nia, cook in morn, eat for dinner.

jac
kekke...yes during maternity, when me and mil partner to look after bb, i also help out doing housework in her house, then weekend still got to do mine de.
its double work actually.
but then no choice, need her help to co-look after bb and also v difficult to catch bb then..so got to do so-call double housework.

any plan for holiday or staycation with bb this year end?

jingles, maybe u can consider nanny? nanny can help cook for bb during wkdays. problem is hard to find a good nanny.

I juz had a 3d2n sentosa staycation last mth. not too bad. boy quite cooperative. helps that he has been co-sleeping with us b4 that. thinking of going Perth in dec, but depends on whether can take leave anot.

jac
ya lo ..tough lei..smoke la, play mahjong la, abuse bb la...out of sight, out of control...my opinion worse than maid lei...cos cant even see wat she is doing, cos norm nanny is handle baby in her own house lo.

wahhh envious..staycation only ur own family or with ur parents too?

Jac, oh...then makes no diff if you move back to your plc..except your dad will be sad. At least you stay near them..he can always popped over to play with your son or you bring him over for a while.

all of you so adventurous..i havent bring my kids for vacation before. My hb said waste $$, they are too young to understand and i won't be able to enjoy/ relax. Will be busy with kids.

moscato
lol...i just ask niah la..i now have my hands too full lei..at home already cant cope :p
cant imagine if go holiday...if things pack not equip really siao liao lo
but this is possible if you have a big family gg tour with you lo....with the whole kampong going at least not so bad, more hands on deck to look after bb and if anything got more people also..

for me i am looking at cruise when bb is slightly bigger like 18 months

Jac: I totally agree that single income is v challenging. I'm just lucky in the sense that I stay with in-laws. They know I was forced to leave my job. So they don't mind me hanging around at hm. I'm just taking one step at a time. Also don't know for how long can I afford to be a sahm. Just hv to be more frugal..

<font color="aa00aa"><font face="Comic Sans MS">jingles > </font></font><font face="Comic Sans MS"> actually depends on whether the pple you go with help anot. i once left my girl (19 mths) in the care of my mil while we unload the luggage. in less than 5 mins my girl fell down the stairs lor. and u know wat my mil was doing? sitting on the bed watching tv. :s lucky it was only a few steps and a bump on her forehead (thank goodness for the carpet stairs). after tat she never leaves my sight again.</font>

moscato, ya lo. dad &amp; boy will be sad lo. my boy simply adores my dad, see him only scream &amp; laugh, wan gong gong to carry &amp; play with him. sigh..... somehow my dad don't really like going my hse leh, man ego ba. confinement tat time also go my place see bb couple of times nia. now at least can see every morn &amp; nite. but anyway sooner or later we got to shift home too. so.....

jingles, only me, hb &amp; boy. my parents &amp; in-laws got drop by coz over wkends, but only we stay overnight. quite manageable coz hb ard &amp; we drove so can pack sterilizer, stroller, big trolley luggage &amp; everything in the car. quite fun leh. I only headache when hb OT, sometimes come back at 10-11pm, then I alone with bb after work, can't eat/bathe/rest, stress!

Dancing queen, just take it as a blessing in disguise... At least u have the maternity benefit before u quit...for me nothing at all since my ctt end just before i gave birth...then now every month still need to pay extra $150 f my elder cc fees as i not working mum
so quite siong... By the way, I also a sahm for the second time f my second boy

Talking about holidays, w one is easier to pack... 2 alot more things lei... Last time when my elder 2 yr old then we fly to hk... Whole journey he wan carry so quite tiring...
Jac: staying alone w bb and hubby can be quite overwhelming initially... Worked out a routine that is best f u and bb and hubby so everyone can have time to rest...the last thing u wan is to get sick due to over tired as u also working...

Hallo all, the thread is moving so fast today.. Juz catch up after finishing my things to do for the day. Good to see the forum is more alive.

Today, I had a bad start for the day. My baby woke up very early in the morning, and refused to be on the cot. So I shited her to the single bed placed in her room and I was still there inside the room. Everything happened so fast and next thing I remembered hearding a loud thumb ! She fell down to the floor, face down like crawling position..i think it was like 60cm high. Cried for a while and I was very ahocked. Checked the body and head, seems to be no bruises or swollen. i guess gotta monitor for the next few days. I juz felt very bad and horrified afer that. How can that happened in a split second ??? Really pray hard so that nothing bad will happen from thia incident and no such incident happen again in future. I think I am very bad to her huh.. :-(

Mummies, juz share this experience with u. Our lil ones are becoming more active and moves very fast. Really need to have eagle eye on them. Cannot imagine how challenging it will be after they start to be more mobile(crawling, walking etc)..

Jkids: I hope your kids get well soon. U also muz take care and have good rest over weekend.

Brink: My baby is on Similac 2. I am still doing the transitioning. I stopped the stage 2 for a while following PD advice and now juz started again. I dont find much air, but notice that taates are much sweeter. Seems like my baby constipation is back now. I muz monitor if it is really due to the milk oe other thiings in her meal.

Jac : At the end of the day, it is 'home sweet home' so juz keep a positive mind that everything will be okay. Definitely it will be more tiring for u, but maybe juz a bit since u have been very involve in the hsework and bb care even at ur mother's place. Maybe a part-timer help on weekend would give u and hubby extra time on weekend to rest. Tingkat is a goos idea to continue too even when u back at ur home.

Btw, ur son can drink water so well 200-300ml/day. Did he take from sippy cup? Can he handle the flow? Mine is a challenge to even gulp down 50ml for whole day.

Dancingqueen and Brink: I am also SAHM with no maternity benefut hahaha.. Coz I quit juz before I confirmed my pregancy. Ok lah, take it as 9 months break but now it is a payback time. Gotta spend 24/7 taking care of my bb and my hubby often need to be outstation for work. The consolation part is my baby usually sleep by 8pm so I can do any leftover hsework that I couldnt do when she awake and maybe a short 'me-time'

Googlez82: how old is ur baby? So fast can take 3 meals ya. Mine is still mainly on milk. Per day can take 700ml.

Moacato: my baby also cannot really crawl yet, only can. 'showcase' ability on all four body parts. Her most fave activity now is to roll here and there. She loves sitting down position the most. Can sit down for half an hour unsupported when playing. This morning, she was still happily in the sitting down post before fell. Haiz... Still dun understand how come it happened.

Hi Delphina
yes...its v v fast de
3 weeks ago, mine also superman down from the bed.
so now really got to keep an eye on baby. Think for wat I will do if i need to pee or have a mini short break is to leave her in the cot. Irregardless she want it or not. Crying or watever...cos afterall safety is no. 1 and at least with the cot raised up so high now, she is not able to climb out lo.

Things to look out for after a fall esp hitting on the head:
1) vomitting
2) eyes off focus
3) development regression (eg previously can sit, not cant)
4) high fever

Keep a look out for these bah
But alot of experience mommies told me...this is part and parcel of growing up and tends to happen lo...babies are tougher than they look..oh well but ...I mean its really scary to hear the loud thud right??

swanston
cant agree with you more

sometimes more people doesnt equate to more help :p
its the quality that counts not quantity...hohoho

delphina, dont feel bad, it's part &amp; parcel of growing up, last time we had very bad falls too, but grew up fine too. next time juz try put bb on ground level, esp when she gets very mobile. nowadays I juz let my boy roam on the floor. the only worry is he loves to pull onto things to stand, &amp; tend to lose balance &amp; fall down when trying to cruise while standing or when the furniture moves. so muz keep a close watch lo. my boy drinks water from a small milk bottle with S teat. for milk he drinks from the big milk bottle with M teat. the sippy cup abit too heavy for him to hold properly, tends to suck air instead.

jac
you got bring baby out for strolls recently..
wah my house area the haze super duper bad yesterday...seems like BBQ smell lei..

jingles, try stay indoors (e.g shopping malls) for these few days, haze is pretty bad now, esp yest I can smell the burning smell too.

Jac, Jingles: Thxs for kind words and encouragement. I hope she is okay. Juz find it odd that she has no redness/bruises/swollen considering the height of the bed.. I juz hope no side effect in the long run huh.. Today she seems okay, no vomitting and no development regression. Juz eat a bit less, think she got constipated..

I cannot really let her roam the floor as my hse is not child friendly (glass furniture and many square edges here and there). The only think I can consider is to empty up one of the room and put a mat there. Is the parklon mat good and useful? I saw got different thickness- anyone can suggest which thickness enuf to cushion ?
The haze was very bad yesterday night in my area. I have to close all windows and On aircon :-( hope the haze go away soon.

Delphina: My baby suffered his first fall today. He was on the bouncer with one side secured and the other side unbuttoned. I left him for 10 sec to get a yogurt and the next thing I knew, his forehead was on the floor while his lower body remained trapped in the bouncer. My fault for not trusting my instinct that something nt v gd would happen today after reading your post on your daughter's fall. Just an inner voice if you know what I mean. Heart very very pain as he wailed till face turned red =_( Then I rolled a warm egg on his forehead. The redness is gone but there's a tiny bump.

dancingqueen, the same thing happened to my boy. lucky hb managed to dive &amp; put his hands infront of boy's forehead b4 it hits the ground. but my boy still got a very bad shock &amp; hb bruised both his knees. when bb starts becoming more active, can only leave them in the playpen/ play yard/ playmat/ anywhere at ground level.

delphina, mabbe shld baby proof the house? how to keep bb in the room when she starts becoming mobile/ can walk? as in she won't want stay in the room if u r not ard one lo. then u can't go do ur things also. I'm in the process of baby proofing my hse, paste those rubber bumper on all the sharp edges/ corners &amp; removing all those fragile display items in living rm &amp; master bedroom, so can juz let my boy roam abt freely in these 2 areas, will juz close the door/ install safety gates for the other areas.

dancingqueen
aiyoh..poor thing....

jac
..ya my area can smell burning smell, confirm yours can also :p

delphina
no problem...as what my rest of my mommies friends say they are quite tough de la..and if after so many hours, nothing happen, means nothing le....so long bb is normal. just have to keep a v close watch on bb from now on.