(2012/01) Jan 2012

Stefsean: your scan is really clear and keke baby really cute!!!

BlueY: keke can't wait for next appointment coming Monday ... Getting worried ... Cause tummy still flat.

Lelebe: there was 2 nights my tummy clammy pretty hard. Like it just clamp and did not loosen.even when I try to relax, the tummy was still clamped. Till I felt asleep. It worrying... But well I just be careful drink more warm drinks and move gently. I just hope Monday comes quickly.

Tulip: my mum also go for ligation after her third kid kekeke. She tell me don't put those IUD blah foreign object in my body . My aunt also tell me last time.

But I not not fertile lah ... Keke they should know Liao since I took so long to conceive.

Silsilly, how's ur sister in law? Hope she is alright.
Between, there is an interesting post at our previous thread about choice of hospital for birth. Thought u should check it out. This thread moving a bit too fast coz everyone seems to be in week 12 while we r just week 10 today. So I dun have much to contribute here but nice being a silent reader coz all the info shared here are be very useful

RitzC: can share the link here? I gave birth at tmc abt 2yrs ago, it ws quite ok except for a bitchy old nurse who snapped "all babies are cute." When I was cooing over my girl. And when I told her I didn't knw hw to breastfeed, she replied curtly "so u wan to feed or nt??"
other than tt, everyone else was nice.

Stefsean: great pix! so heartwarming isn't it!!
and ya, same I also dun feel like telling anyone tis time. Tot of announcing mayb at 20wks. Tog w the gender. Haha!

Jamie - haha.. Me too.. I want to wait as long as i can but i think maybe my tummy cant wait till 5 mth.. ? Lol... Until now, for me to act normal in frt of parents n frens n colleagues already very diff wif the ms whole day... But so far i manage..hehe

Jtml - must enjoy ur flat tummy u know... Reality only will hit us once we experience pple giving up seats to us wherever we go.. Then thts it.. No way can hide anything aleady.. Hehe

I also dont want anymore kids after two. But at same time i dont want permanent ligation or eat contraceptive cos imnthe type tht find it hard to eat her pills everyday.. N ive nvr use condom b4.. Any other option? I can don do it but hubby cant last the rest of life w/o it right? Hiakhiak..

hello ladies, now travelling, might not have time to post, but I will come n check post regularly! welcome new mtb.

StefSean
u/s pic quite clear, did you manage to find the gender yet?

Confinment lady
I got a quotation from PMS - $2900. They have $300 PEM Confinement Nanny Package upon signing up a Prudential policy*. Anyone thinking getting the policy?

Jamie, yes same as u, I've thought of only announcing together with gender..

Tulip, for ligation, my Gynae did warn me that some of her patients regretted just after doing the operation. But im v sure abt ligation after having 4 kids. I cannot imagine myself having 5! I think they look at your age and the number of kids you already hv. I'm 34 this yr and Hubby is 40 this yr and we already hv 4 kids.

Romona, my gynae thinks I'm having a boy. On one of the pic she pointed to the little birdie that was sticking out and told me it could be a boy. But hv to wait till next visit to confirm. For my #2 (boy), she also told me that he'd be a boy at 12 weeks. For my #1,3 (girls), she couldnt see anything at 12 weeks and at 16 weeksshe confirmed they were girls. Well I
hope my Gynae is right this time too
she always seems to be eager to help u find out gender as early as possible.

BlueY, for contraceptive, u can ask ur gynae abt IUD or the patch. But these will cause some hormonal change in your body. Ive thought abt IUD but now decided to go for ligation because i don't like the idea of anything inside me, also hv to get it replaced every 5 yrs. And since I'm really done with having kids, why not go for permanent birth control. Anyway ligation is my decision for now.

Jamie,

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/154014.html

Dun know whether this link is constant. Anyway, to sum up it juz says although basic delivery charges of some private hospitals seem lower than kkh but when u add in the frill charges it may be way higher. And if like me carry a benefit of doubt about complications in pregnancy, according to the sisters there the cost of bb icu is 1k. Kkh may allow downgrading of ward through income means testing. Whereas private hospital babies transferred to kkh icu will may be charged A1 rates.

It is relevant for me coz I'm not working and is currently a private patient with kkh. Need to prep myself for any costs that may arise. Paranoid la. But if u have a smooth pregnancy and financially stable no need to worry so much. Private hospital definitely still have it's perks, particularly all the good doctors that moved from kkh into practice at the private hospitals.

morning ladies
heh heh no 4am post this time! =)
AND going for oscar later too. =D

pump: already have the medela PISA, no regrets so far. just stopped pumping about 3 weeks ago. haven't packed it back into storage yet.

maid: after calculations between parttime help vs live in maid we decided to get a live in maid to help with housework daily. she does the cleaning and cooking and looks after my girl in the morning when we are getting ready for work and sometimes during the day. we never considered letting maid look after kid. until the kid can talk and be trusted to tell me anything. prob beyond 5 years old. even then my hb said if anything happen and they tell u, its already happened lor. after being with our maid for a year and thinking we can trust her, some things have happened that show that we can't ever trust her fully. sigh. just have to keep a close eye on her. so since i finished my ML, i send my gal to IFC. pros and cons lo. fall sick easily is the major con. close second is extra cost. pros are more for us la. got other teachers around so no funny business. can interact with other kids. tell teacher what to do they will just follow. (not like leaving with grandparents who will have their own ideas and own way of doing things)

looking pregnant: i have recently started to have a little bump. however still wearing loose clothes and no one has really noticed yet. haven't told anyone outside our parents and imm family. shd be telling boss soon... maybe next week.

Hello...
Mid week... so counting down to the weekend.
Last night i vomitted for the 1st time....
Really bad, haiz...

Good Morning!

X: Aiyoh, poor thing! Take care k~

Me oso duno y today's ms very bad..plus a major headache. Dunno how to survive work today...so more must OT. Sighz

(x) tks for the post - will be reminded when I off next week for holiday. Will leash my boy tight tight .

piggyB : geee I had a real bad headache last night too ... so bad that make me wanna puke and no choice I had to pop a panadol and went to bed like 9pm my poor son was left along to play and fell asleep himself.

Was away for 1 day at home.. taking care of my girl. She had a bad fell in her cc and bruise her forehead. There is now a dent in it. Sigh.

My MS was bad too. Kept on puking. Last night 9pm and 11.30pm.. Sigh..

(X), yup, heard about the kidnapping , not even just disneyland but at KL too. Becareful regardless where we are..

MS is really bad for me too... Woke up last night at 12am to puke. Can't even sleep well before and after that. Chest was so painful after the puke.

StefSean, I see. I haven't ask my gynea yet. I'm 34 too. But you have more compelling factor coz you have 4 kids. My friend is 32 this year and had 4 kids. Last year, she wanted to go for ligation after giving birth and the gynea discouraged her. citing she's young etc. End up, she didn't go for it.

On kidnapping , ive heard various places in the world.. From US Disneyland to Orlando theme parks n now HK Disneyland.. Guess these r where parents are less on guard cos its supposed to be the 'happiest place on earth' mah... Myself, im afraid even to bring her to Malaysia n Indonesia.. So many cases there.... I think leashing will help alot...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Mummies,

Would like to share some of my findings about KKH for delivery.

My cousin-in-law gave birth @ KKH about 4 years ago as a subsidised patient. She told me subsidised patients do not have gynaes to deliver their babies for them. The midwives are the ones who will do the delivery. Only if there are complications, then only will the MO (Medical Officer on duty) come and assist. And I just found out from KKH that these MOs are not necessary certified gynaes. They will also be the ones to do the stitching where necessary. My cousin-in-law started with 1 midwife, ended with 4 mid-wives assisting her. Maybe due to some minor complications.

I have another friend who just gave birth as a subsidised patient. As her baby is big, the baby got stuck halfway for 2 hours. Eventually, when they finally decided to use vacuum to help with the delivery and when the baby was delivered, the baby already turned purple (from lack of oxygen) and pooped in mummy's uterus due to distress. The baby also had to be kept in NICU for 2 days as the baby's head has changed shape from the vacuum (imagine its that serious to warrant the baby to be kept in NICU). Couldnt they have assisted my friend with her delivery once they know the baby is big and requires assistance?

My friend's mum did a D&amp;C procedure with KKH quite a number of years back. Recently, she was diagnosed with womb cancer. Her onocologist said that her cancer could be due to improper cleaning of her womb during the D&amp;C procedure.

There are many horror stories that I've heard about being KKH's subsidised patients that I'm quite scared. But I have to say if we forsee that there will be complications with baby after birth, it would be good to be a subsidised patient right from the start so that NICU will also subsidised.

I've compared with the rates of being a patient who pays pte rates in kkh. The rates are def not cheaper than going to see a pte gynae. However, hosp charges after delivery might be cheaper.

So there are pros and cons if we deliver in KKH. Need to really weigh and do some research before we make our decisions.

Hope the above info helps for those who are considering KKH! (^_^)</font>

Afternoon peeps,

Stefsean, i you are 34 same age as me snake year is it ? Its so rare to find Singaporean having more than 3kids and you are now having your no 4 ?? Really salute you how do you manage? Are you SAHM or FTWM ? I am also thinking of ligation after this wor don't think I want to have no 3 Liao for me 2 is enough ...

Jowinbaby, I am those without MS type even for my first pregnancy it must be terrible. JiAyou jiAyou it will be over in a few weeks time ...

May, I also heard much horror stories on cases handled by MO at kkh. My gyne is a senior consultant, dr sadhana, who also did ivf for me. I would say as private patient the rates r really not cheap, but convenient for me cause l'm paying using csc card, no need to ask hubby to pay in cash.

Stefsean - ur gynae is Dr Eunice Chua ryte? Wow.. U had her for all ur pregnancies? Wow.. Hehe.. Shes my gynae too for both 1st n now 2nd... I want to keep the gender secret but my hubby flatly refuse... He cant take the anticipation... Hehe..

Tulipv, u are not alone. Me too. Yesterday i just spit out some saliver after puke. It actually contain abit of blood. I must have hurt my throat.. cos its abit painful.

jowinbaby, aiyo... that sounds really painful. U must take care ok. After one puke, i already feel so tired. My throat was really painful too. I can't wait for this to go away!!!!

Talking abt KKH.
My gynae told me... he saw a few failed D&amp;C. He say he had a few patients when went to him after D&amp;C at KKH, only to realise that the fetus still inside and growing! By then, too late to do D&amp;C liao.

Dunno is god's will that the fetus is alive or KKH just anyway, scrap nothing.

If the DC not successful can sue Kkh. never heard in the news before. Overall my experince wif Kkh was good. food, parking n labour ward nurses are good.

babybee - i'm a FTWM. All my kids went infantcare since 3 months old. My hubby helps with the household chores as we don't have a maid. It's tough but i guess we are used to it already.

Blue_Y - yes, Dr Eunice Chua delivered all my 3 kids and will be delivering this one as well and also perform the ligation for me. You need to let her know if you want to keep baby's gender a secret, cos i think she's always v keen to help patients find out gender as soon as possible.

stefSean - wow, so you would most prob be having another boy! At least your gyne tries to identify the gender early &amp; shares with parents. Mine is at the other end of the spectrum - ultra conservative - she won't say anything cos don't want to give the wrong info until she is like 99.9% clear its a boy/girl! So I would most prob have to wait till week 16+ at the very earliest.

I guess in a way, its good too, incase we already assume its a boy/girl, start buying blue/pink stuff &amp; telling everyone...then it turns out wrong.

But I love that she is ultra experienced &amp; v accurate - like predicting the birth weight of #1 correctly.

Had ramen for lunch and ended up puking it all out. So tired of feeling bloated &amp; nauseous.. really hope we will all get better soon.

I have not been wearing my retainers for the past 1mth because of ms. I hope my teeth will not shift.. if not I have to do braces again. haiz...

when i take train to work every morning, I'm so wishing that someone will notice my tiny bulge and give up his/her seat. this will show that Im starting to look preggy. and also cos I'm tired!! I need a seat!! ;p But so far everyone just ignored me.. so sad.. ;p

hahah.. has anyone given up their seats for you ladies yet?

Lush,
How abt wearing while u sleep? Or u wake up and merlion too?

CT
Not sure abt suing part. It's just scary to hear abt it. I mean.. so unprofessional.

Bump
My colleagues all start asking me. I just smile. Some just come and say congrats. I just reply "thank you".
Feeling ultra sleepy....

Lush - me too i wish someone would give me a seat too esp in the morning. So far no leh... cant wait for bump to be bigger then can demand for seat kekeke

lush, hp,
I had seat offers less than 10 times thru my whole pregnancy. Commuters prefer to believe you are fat rather than pregnant.I once made a bet with my colleague and won. I stood with my 7months pregnant belly staring at the person sitting in the priority seat, person refuse to look up from hp. The person sitting next to him, uncomfortable shifted his eyes to look else where. From lakeside till queenstown, then someone from the middle of the carriage signal for me to go over to take his seat.

Surprisingly, the people who are most likely to give up their seats looks to me like Indian/Blangedesh foreign workers or middle age working adults. Teenagers, uncles and aunties are the least likely to give up seats

MayC - yup i guess i cannot take her words 100% for now cos she said hv to confirm next visit. So am not buying blue baby stuff or painting room blue for now. These were her exact words when she was doing the scan," hmm there's a chance that its a boy. look here. If its a girl, normally, its not so pointed. i think its a boy. but we can confirm again next visit."
So maybe its only a 60%- 70% chance that its a boy. looking forward to next visit to confirm.

Yes yes, when our pregnancies are obvious, do ask for seats from less needy people in the reserved seats area.

I was taking the MRT once when it was quite crowded before I was pregnant. I was standing near the reserved seat that was already taken by an elderly lady as was the seat next to hers. An able-bodied pre-teenage girl was sitting next and this ultra-frail old man walked in. He wobbled whenever there are changes in the MRT's speed. I was not happy with the sight, and asked this of this girl near me, "Hey there's an old gentleman here who's having trouble standing. Would you give up this seat to him?" A woman who appeared to be her mother stepped closer next to her and said in Mandarin "she's on her way to see a doctor, she had sprained her leg." I looked at her feet, clad in socks and shoes and wondered why a person whose leg is injured would further strain it by wearing socks and shoes before seeing a doctor, but no point arguing about this point right?

I looked a seat further and saw an able-bodied man looking at all these with interest. So I asked him, "Can?" He immediately stand up and let the old man has his seat.

If the mother is lying about her daughter's condition, she will be sitting through the whole N-S journey with the old man sitting right next to her and her daughter aware of the lie she had told. I hope the old gentleman would be a rebuke to her conscience if she's lying.

So I do agree, if the reserved seat is taken by someone who needs it less than us, we should ask for it, mai paiseh.

went for my 11wk scan &amp; nurse mention abt the oscar test. im still indecisive to go for the scan anot. any mothers here who did nt go for it? its like once i know abt the test i will worry. its like wth!!

chiffoncake - depends on how old you are, and what would you do if (touch wood!) the results are not good? For mommies who would keep their babies no matter what, then sometimes they would rather skip all the tests.

birdbrain - from my 1st pregnancy, I found that people who usually gave up seats were women in their 30-40s, maybe cos they themselves have been preggers before. I usually wear clingy baby doll dresses, so its obvious that I am preggy &amp; not fat, &amp; would 'rub rub'/'pat pat' the belly for added effect if I am standing
But honestly, sometimes u don't quite know if a woman is preggy/fat/just delivered - and people rather err on the side of caution &amp; pretend not to see! Once, my colleague asked a client when she was due, &amp; it turns out that she was just fat! So paiseh!

Chiffoncake,
I'm not doing OSCAR. I'm only gonna do the triple blood test at Week 16 and take it from there. I dun see a point in spending $400+ for oscar. It's only a probability given.

(x) - The triple blood test is it the mommy ask for it or the gynae will recommend it to be done ?

during my#1 I do remember that ard 16weeks or so there was a blood test being done ( I didnt ask what kind of blood test) and then I was told I had to do Amniocentesis, was that test triple blood test? so blur blur ...

Reg Seat : for my #1 my other preggy friends told me purposely wear slightly hugging clothes, then can ask for seats keke but I think it was ok once I started showing people do give up seats, but sometimes 1-2 idiots I will just ask and given.

Hi mummies! I'm new in this thread and I'm expecting my #2, EDD on 31 Jan so that makes me 9wks pregnant now.

Re train seats: If I feel tired, not well due to nausea or MS, I take the initiative and ask nicely for the reserved seat if I see that the person currently sitting on it does not need the seat as much as I do. Our baby bumps won't be so prominent until after the 16th week but just because we don't have a big bump doesn't mean that we don't need the seat, don't we?

So don't be shy, ask if you really need it. So far no one has turned me down yet. Some give up the seat without prompting while some really cannot take any clues... short of seeing us whip out a plastic bag and throw up in front of them. Asking will surely save you from a lot of disappointment.

i am 30 yrs old this yr. im a worry freak! i will think lots of things. sigh.. to go or not to go really stress me out.

so meaning if i do the triple test it is good enuff right? the oscar test is $450 include blood test for hepatitis etc!!!

my mum told me not to go for it. she mention, if the bb is mine, it will be mine. but as from my friend view is, its better to for the oscar test. argh!!! even my hubby also ask me to decide! how?! i need some enlightenment on this.

i read somewhere that sometimes it show positive for DS and then the couple must proceed to amnio and tested negative. it is like so frightening to go through all that and the waiting period!

hi chiffoncake,

Re OSCAR and abnormality scan: We opted not to go through this with our #1 4yrs ago and we are also not going to do it for our #2 now. Abortion is not an option for me and my husband and I wouldn't want to spend the rest of my pregnancy worrying about the result of these scans.

Whether to go for it or not really boils down to your belief and disposition as a couple.

Btw, 4 years ago, this decision did not come easy to us as well. We thought about it so many times, weighed the pros and cons and consulted our immediate family about it. So don't panic, think it through and discuss with your husband.

Ms carpe diam: I salute you for standing up for the old man. Lucky the old man take the seat... Some old ppl will be embareesed and say dun want. Keke .. Today I got up the bus and in front of me there was someone so I could not move in quickly and a young Indonesian girl start to push me. I used my bag to push back so she would not disrupt my balance... I think she got the hint and seem to utter something Indonesian to her classmate or sister. Lucky the space in front of me cleared and I escaped a seat.

chiffoncake
i did not take any oscar or blood test for #1, and will be doing the same for #2. I know that no matter what test results show, I will still keep my baby. I don't have any regrets not taking the test.