(2011/12) Dec 2011

ejunko, I love my avent steamer cum blender! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] last time, I used to steam the vege in the wok, then transfer to blender to blend. Now all in 1 machine! No need to wash so many things. The instruction book also has a table on steaming timing for different kind of food, can be 5min for apples, 15min for potato.

snowyotaru, Heinz is from Australia, Geber from USA. Heinz bottled food tended to be more blend tasting, Geber is sweeter. My 2 older girls prefer Geber to Heinz. They loved the Geber stars, will buy that for baby when she is older.

KK and Nov mummy, enjoy ur trip! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

curry, antibiotics like ammoxicillin and augmentin can cause loose stools. I get loose stool too when I eat them. Use diaper cream that has higher content of zinc oxide such as desitin.

Yoyosan & Ejunko, I called cck branch and they told me it's at $199 bundled sale. So additional storewide discount will not apply. You may want to check again.

Anyone going to the motherhood fair?

For those who have brought your babies to swim, where did you buy the float n swimsuit from?

I m thinking to go motherhood sales today or tomorrow, thinking to buy a gd mattress for bb. Wonder got any gd deal? Want to shift her to her own cot, she has been co-sleep with us since birth, but she now rolls a lot, afraid v ll accidentally roll over her one day :p

My mil came this morning, wearing a shirt with glittering powder. Then when carry my bb, the glittering powder stick to her skin!!! Spend a gd 20 mins wiping my bb. I think still not 100% clear. This thing is so difficult to remove...

Papaya puree,

Today I intro papaya. More well received than apple puree, mainly cos it's sweet! Ai..wanted to intro veg puree before fruits but oh well, some things dun go as planned. If fruits the answer to prevent constipation, then tat will be ah gal's first foods.

I bought my Avent steamer cum blender from Taka members sales last weekend. The bundle was $199 too but got 10% off for Taka card member. I bought Taka vouchers from online seller at 10% off so in the end, the blender bundle cost me $161 only. The bundle I bought comes with bowl, drinking cup, 3 260ml milk bottles and Avent hair and body wash.

Mummies who are interested to buy the blender can go look for sellers letting go Taka/Robinsons/Isetan vouchers at discounted price. Bundles I saw are fixed at $199 but if paying via discounted vouchers, at least can save another $20.

Yet to start using the blender cos bought it for my MIL to use since she is taking care of my boy most of the days. I only started introducing organic brown rice cereals to my boy this afternoon. He didn't really like it, maybe cos too watery. Have to try adding lesser FM in tomorrow.

RE Motherhood Expo fair

I guess the best deal will be Pampers diapers. Went on Thurs night but sizes out of stock so returned yesterday morning but while queuing to pay, everything went out of stock again. Had to wait 3 hours for them to replenish stock and bought 22 packs of diapers to get the free Braun handheld blender. Hee hee.

There wasn't much good deals around at the fair. Maybe I bought too much at the bb fair in Feb. Pigeon biscuits were cheap at $5.90 for 2 boxes but I see their ingredients contain salt. Is it alright for our babies to eat them as teething biscuits? I thought strictly no salt before the age of one?

Tessa poo 5x today!!!!

Its diarrhea rite????

3rd poo & 4th poo notice red stains.... To mi it seems like blood stains...

4th poo 5th poo i can c grains.. Like guazi..... Esp in 5th poo... A lot of grains.... But no signs of red stain le....

How??? I wanna go bring her c doc but now sat late nite.. Tmr sun leh.... Got pd open???

Go hospital better? Haiyo... Damn luan now.... Hubby super tired... He & tessa fell asleep..... Shld i drag them to c doc????

Time of 1st poo: 2pm

2nd poo: 545pm

3rd poo: 610pm

4th poo: 935pm

5th poo: 1025pm

Bubbles,

U intro anything new? Be it drink, solids, fm, or did u take something new in ur diet?

Sometimes ls too often will hv little bloody stain in stool, cos the gentle n sensitive lining gets agitated by the stools if too often. Monitor if she's better today if ls gone. Otherwise go doc or hospital, at least for peace of mind, and also.making sure she's not dehydrated.

Bubbles, how is tessa now? Can try calling the pd for advice. I call the pd a few times before when baby is not well. I rather ask the pd first then to bring baby down to kkh directly cos I got experience go there then waste money.

Oh dear, how is Tessa now? Ya loh anything new in her diet? Diarrhoea should clear within 24hrs, keep her hydrated.

Are you sure you see blood??? If yes dun wait, bring tessa go hos.

Yes go hos better, i was told that in any case if need to test blood to check if its bacteria (CHOI!), you'll still need to go hos - double job liddat, so might as well go direct.

Tis morn 5+am Tessa start to yak yak already.. Stuff tutu & she slept on-off til 6+am.. Change her diapers.. She got pee..

Then she hungry, so latch her for 5m & she start LS again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Duno thirsty or hungry, i feed her 130ml ebm & she drink almost all.. By then i can smell e poo..

When i change her, omg.. Greenish yellow poo.. More grains tis time.. C some black stuffs too.. No idea wats tat...

She din cry much when she LS...

Any gd PD open on sun?????

Yesterday go expo.. So not enuff ebm.. Bought fm out.. Its enfapro.. 1st time she drink.. I make 180ml + 6 scoops.. Total 210ml.. She finished!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i din xpect she finish.. 1st poo was immediately after tat... Din chk e poo cos tot its normal poo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubbles: Is it the first time Tessa drinks FM?

Sometimes FM makes bb's poo greenish too...but if you noticed other colors + more than 6 episode of poo within 24hrs, then just go see doc, better play safe ah.

How about KK? Mount A? Thomson?

Bubbles,

The first poo might be normal poo. Won't straightaway drink then ls. Most pds not open on sun, at least for the north area.

If more ls, then bring children a&e. Like I say, pay a bit more for peace of mind. Dun wait too long hor. But doc wait might be longer today so bring ur ebm

Oh forgot, ls if bcos of lactose intolerant, cannot give normal fm. Must change to soy. But before u change, pls chk w doctor. Ur family got anyone lactose intolerant?

Gg thomson now.. She poo tis morn twice liao.. Haiz...

She got drink fm b4... Started wif enfalac.. Then friso special formula, similac too.. All bo da ji leh.. Then tis time start e enfapro stage 2 become like tat weird...

Can suddenly now develop lactose intolerant???

I din eat anything special... Haiz.. Hopefully tmc dun let me wait too long...

Hi bubbles, I think is not good to hv too many diff brand of fm. I think u can check with the doc, then stick to one which is most suitable for ur bb.

YI Chin, thought they will replenish stock quite fast like Thurs but who knows by the time they pack stock to sell, 3 hours had passed. Regretted not leaving home earlier. Heard now only left Small and XL and they limit quantity per customer.

yoyosan! ur bb likes papaya! clap clap! mine started on papaya at 5.5mth, alright so far!

we bot neck float second hand at forum, at only $5! hahaha! brought her to pool once! successful!

thank you for the toy rental idea! we just rented an exersaucer at $35/mth from mygrowingtoys and its the BEST investment ever! order on thu night, arrived sat morn. she is so happy she can play in there while we makan! yeah!! coz usually she stares at us from her bouncer and so bored :p

still thinking whether to go expo or not!

Zanissa, the exersaucer can bounce or not? I checked up a few rental websites for jumperoo, all not available. In the end I settled for the pink tea party exersaucer from "rent that toy". Now waiting for them to contact me to arrange delivery time. But they charge $45. Ur website cheaper leh, never post earlier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bubbles,

How's Tessa? Better?

Zanissa,

Mine will be less than 5.5mos then. Read from wholesome food website, to intro only from 6-8 mos. But if she can poo, I suppose it's ok.

Yeah, I just bought my avent blender steamer from Robinson. The $199 bundled pack. Just blender alone cost

$219 (dunno y Robinson so ex)!. Anyway only can get member's rebates, no further discount, even tho it's the " sale worth waiting for".

Experienced mummies,

Do I hv to intro fm early? If intro only later after no more bm, will bb reject drinking fm? Any pointers to share?

Anyone tried giving baby Avocado? My ger, Youle is 5months+ now I let her try Avocado last week and she likes it. but there is one problem, she have green poo poo for more than 4 days even after i've stop feeding her any solid. I wanted to let her try other solid like carrot and sweet potato but don't dare scared she got diarrher.

these days Youle is very curios about things happening. Latch-on only 1-2minutes. When feed ebm she only take about 3oz. Last time she use to latch on for very long at night in the queit bedroom now she doesn't seems to be interested to be fed at all. She likes to suck her finger thou. Sigh.. i scared she'd not have enough nutrient.

by the way, I bought a philips handheld blender to puree baby food. Hopefully is good enough.

Zanissa, how's the condition of the rented exersaucer? I rented from Rent That Toy, looks clean n quite new but the music toy died the next day. They changed the music toy, worked for 2 days n dying so I stop using it. Now thinking to rent jumperoo from them or try other company.

I went expo on thurs, saw the long q for pampers then sian n didn't buy. Left the fair empty handed.

I almost bgt the avent steamer cum blender but find it rather ex leh. And I dun need the bundled stuff. So I bgt U-like blender instead. $69.90. Includes mill n juice extractor. Compact size, Very easy to wash. I made sweet potato puree with it last week, very even n smooth.

Yoyosan, my bb can sit upright but coz the exersaucer seat is spacious, she becomes bu dao Wong. So I put bean pillow in front n back of seat to support her.

Shirley,

My gal too. I was nodding to myself when I saw ur post -- latch 1-2 mins then dun wan. Mine too. Getting me worried, firstly abt her milk intake vol, secondly if she continues like tat, my breasts will go on strike liao. Ai..

Hi all mummies, would like to ask for jumperoo and exersaucer, bb can sit till how many months?

Shirley n yoyosan, my bb also latch on less than 5 mins then refuse to drink anymore, but i usually let her sit on my laps a while n she ll talk to herself, then i ll turn her to another side of breast, she usually ll latch for another ~5mins. Wonder is it because they are more pro in sucking now, so suck faster? Coz yesterday i tried to pump aft she latch on, I hardly get any more milk. Or is it because my supply drop ??

Finally bought the Avent blender too...then abit regret lol. Can use till when ah? As in baby needs to eat puree type of food till...?

Walker/Exersaucer/Jumper:

I read that we should not intro these to baby before they are physically ready, because babies learn to walk partially by watching and understanding how their feet and legs move. If walker and all have a tray, it blocks their vision from seeing whats happening below and they wont understand how to develop the correct motor skills....ended up causing unusual movement patterns and delayed muscle control.

Duno how true was that, but when will baby be physically ready for walking? Or how will we know if our baby is ready?

MUMMIES:

Are we having a studio gathering? If yes, need to let me know the dates so i can check it out with the studio owner. S$35/hr. =)

Exersaucer: I bought a 2nd hand one at $50 cos I thk the price is not much diff to renting one.

Avent blender: ejunko, why u regret? So far all my frens love it and I personally find it convenient too. Now can make finer purée, when they grow older, can make it more chunky. Can make adult food too. Anyway buy liao so just try to make full use bah.

Studio: I am ok but must check the dates. Can bring own camera too?

Suspect I having mastitis AGAIN. Tiredness, fever and vomit. Just seen doc, now massaging and expressing. Sigh.

Exersaucer- I ordered http://www.mygrowingtoys.com/product.sc?productId=126 and the condition is good. Zoe adores it. Had to see it's ok before posting here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I don't think it will help her stand faster or deter her steps since she hasn't started crawling, but the toys on the tray sure keeps her happily stimulated n entertained.

I really wanted to wait till 6mths before supplementing formula n introducing cereal n fruit but we went ahead at 5.5 mths coz she started waking more oft for milk at night n mouthing at us when she watches us eat - both signs that she is ready. So when we gave her semis, she was so excited she lunged twds spoon n swallowed happily n swiftly, cleared the bowl in minutes. Poo ok so we are convinced she's fine.

Pls count me in for gatherings! Would like to expose Zoe to your darlings [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SQin: I always regret what i buy one lah lol. Aiyo, rest more. Keep expressing!

Studio:

Of coz, pls bring own camera lol. Sure, Zanissa, come join us!

Btw that exersaucer has a bounce pad but she doesn't know how to bounce yet so I think the jumperoo can wait. Gd idea to buy 2nd hand! Can resell or keep for no.2!! I agree bb can suck faster now so sometimes gao dim within minutes! V fast! My bb now poos once in 2 days - normal? Used to b few times a day. Dunno if it's the cereal.

Hi Zanissa.. Is the jumperoo n exersaucer 2nd hand? Wow it is really cheap .. Dunno if I shd get 1 for my boy ;)

He prefer human jumperoo though n our house is running out of place as it is full of his stuffs LOL

Btw Ejunko.. We decided to get 2avent steamer n blender to make life easier for ourselves n for my mum

My boy is at her place during the day.. It can also b used to cook adult stuffs .. Porridge etc .. Highly recommended by mummies .. Thus we decided jus to buy n dun tik too much

And sorry to post once in awhile.. Really busy =P paisey paisey .. Can add my email address into the group too .. [email protected]

My boy started teething when he is 3.5mths.. N recently he had been bitting me.. No matter how sternly I scolded him or wait till he is asleep then latch him.. He still will bite -_-

I jus discovered today tat there is actually such thing call nipple shield or nipple protector LOL .. Blur mummy

Goin to use it 2nite.. Really pray he is ok w it n will latch well

Aiya Zanissa .. I jus realised it is rental not 2nd hand purchase -_- ... Blur me agn

SQin... Where did u get the 2nd hand exersaucer from? Do they hv jumperoo?

I've introduced avocado and butternut squash to my bb. I steamed and blended it with fresh bm using my avent blender. I didnt get the steamer cum blender. So far he likes the 2 types of purees. Going to make purple sweet potato puree for his 3rd food.

I bought a jumperoo at $219, but it has yet to arrive. The advertisement says up to 11kg, so i hope bb dun grow so heavy so soon =P

As for renting studio, is it better for bb to be able to sit up on their own before going for photoshoot? But i guess if there are many of us, time is short and we could do with taking pics while carrying bb =)

yoyosan, I started fm when my bm no more for #1 and 2. No problem leh, hungry then drink anything from bottle lor. When they had diarrhea and had to take soy milk, they also take. That was when they were 8 or 9 months old.

Still waiting for Rent That Toy to contact me... Next time should try another company for jumperoo

SQin, tiredness and vomiting, got good news???!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sigh, my bm supply dropping since going back to work. Taking fenugreek, brown rice tea and sacred tea everyday. Think my bf days are going to be over soon. FM so expensive now. Last time I buy enfapro was $60+ for 1.8kg tin, now price hike to $80+ per tin already!!!

Usaginoko,

I also pad my exersaucer w the Ikea high chair cushion. So doesn't ding dong around. But she more interested to mouth the cushion.

Echo,

No matter how efficient, I doubt they can wack 120ml within 5min of latching lor. Maybe milk bottle can, cos flow constant. For latching, by the time the letdown comes, wt least a min gone? And unless it's vigorous sucking, which my gal isn't lor.

Ejunko,

The machine can use for quite some time. Can breakeven la, if u puree for 3x/day for few months, then chunky food by blending less for 3x/day for few months, then comes porridge where u no need to toil over the stove to cook for 2hrs or use slow cooker for eons. By then u will appreciate it. Haha.

Studio gathering,

Ejunko, Me wan. since 9/6 has a gathering, shall we put the studio's in July, one of the Saturday? So one gathering per month. By then more bbs can sit liao, perhaps?

SQin,

More rest wor. Ur ss still v good, or bb eat solids so u forgo some pumping?

Yi chin,

Haha, spoken just like a mother of 3. I like. Hungry sure will drink. But, my gal just bite the teat, not suck. Dunno if I shd intro sippy cup. Like a bit early. Now I got to spoon feed water. How's yunrui doing at ifc? Does she still need sarong at hone? Teacher found the secret to her sleeping?

Yoyosan: The blender can cook porridge ah? Or...we have to cook porridge le, then blend stuff and combine then steam? Erm erm...so we have to blend porridge too? Ok i very blur about introducing solid. =P

Studio gathering:

Can, any dates also can, just let me know in advance will do, so that i can make bookings.

When bb can sit the images will be nicer....but hor...if all the bbs decided to crawl tgt all over the place, mamas must help to get them in place else we are unable to get any group pics lolx

Yoyosan, I think once successful in introducing the bottle, they should be able to take anything from it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the teachers at IFC will put her in the rocker/ bouncer, in side lying position, then shove the bolster between her hands and legs. They use 1 hand to Pat her forehead, another hand pat her back. As they pat, the rocker will swing up and down, then she'll fall asleep. I notice that the teachers at my #1 and 2 old IFC also pat the babies at the forehead. Seem to be effective in getting the babies to close their eyes and fall asleep.

At home if she falls asleep after latching, I can now put her on the bed to sleep instead of the sarong.

Ejunko, for making porridge using the avent steamer, I intend to put the meat and vege into the steamer to steam. When cooked, then I'll add in cooked rice and chicken stock, then blend all together. Chicken stock I'll prepare on weekends and freeze in daily portions. Rice, will be cooking for dinner for the whole family. So with the avent gadget, baby's porridge can be prepared in 20 to 30 min. No need to watch over the fire. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ejunko,

I used to use slow cooker cook till v soft. My frens some use stove, stir n stir. This blender steamer cannot cook rice. I think u still got to cook porridge separately, but no need until soft soft ( soft soft need more time), cos can blend. So first steam fish, then add cooked porridge/ cooked rice, then add some stock for flavour. Blend n get fish porridge, soft soft type. Older then no need too soft liao.

- Mommies who started using n cooking porridge, is this how u use the steamer blender? Got any shorter cut?

Yi chin,

*Hi five*...no need to watch fire for the porridge liao. Yeah! Best is, the lesser time needed, more nutrients retained.

.......i am definitely not gifted when it comes to cooking lol!

All the words like steaming, cooking separately, adding this and that, then blend here and there....doesnt makes the steamer sounds convenient lol. Ok i'll get my hubby to try.

I was thinking of getting the Magic Thermal cooker, throw all the ingredients inside and let it cook by itself. When done, throw it into my Philips blender taadaa~. Then when baby grows bigger can skip the blender step. Just throw everything inside and go KLKK. Lol. Will the taste be diff liddat?

Oh can use it for soup too!

Sheeeet now i know why i regret. FML.

Yoyosan: Ahgong not trained to cook for baby. Only indulge in carrying his grandson all day long.