(2011/11) Nov 2011

Wow!! The thread is running fast. Sorry not able to come in regularly cos like kiamkiam need to be moo moo...

Kiamkiam, I'm like u wanted to give up! It's so tiring n sometimes demoralizing as my milk supply is not alot. Whenever I need to pump I'll go look at my gal for motivation. I used to pump every 3hrs but now I've slacken, sometimes 4 or even 5hrs.

Shjean, I had csect, the 1st time I get out of bed it actually took me more than 1/2hr juz to put my legs down from the bed. But after a few times, it's better already. I had my binder on thru out until my dressing is taken out. It helps in holding d wound.

Me too had water retention after a few days... It's already 1 mth already n I'm still having spotting

Glucose is the blue colour tin powder that is available at medical hall. Buy the original flavour. Mix maybe 10-20ml of water to try it out... It might prolong the feed interval...but cannot totally on glucose water. U still need to feed her BM or fm.

Janice> actually I will so hardworking initially .. But seeing how my gal suffer becos the fm, I told myself must Jia you .. Now found a fm that suitable for her but I stil pump abt 6-7 times a day .. But my milk is still little cos I can only pump out 70-80 ml each time.. So I feed her 5 bm and 3 fm at night .. Too tired feeding and pumping everyday .. Just hope my milk can increase faster so I cut down on fm..

Jean,

Re: FM

Just have to trial and error. Each bb is diff.

My no. 1 is taking Friso and so far so gd.

So will let no. 2 try that too....

Re: To bring pump to hosp?

I'm using freestyle. Do not intend to bring pump as 1st few days usu no milk.

The best simulation is to direct latch.

And best is to master the correct latching from the parentcraft consultant before you leave hosp. Ask for the parentcraft consultant instead of the nurses if u are staying at TMC. I find the nurses in TMC not gd in helping us with BFing.

Rebecca,

Yes you are doing the right thing. Continue to pump every 2hrs to simulate supply. It will take some time for milk supply to gradually increase.

Usu morning you can get better yield.

Please do not think that you have failed BFing by supplementating FM. It's hard to build up the supply if you are too stressed up.

Did you request bottles of FM from hosp bef you discharge? Can feed BB with that 1st using cup/spoon.

For proper latching,

squeeze the nipple alittle and c that there is some milk coming out before guiding BB to yr breast... This way it will entice BB to open his/her mouth big. When BB open his/her mouth big, then stuff the whole breast into his mouth hahahah.... that's how the parentcraft consultant taught me.....

Congrats Shirley!!!!

Snow pear, thanks for ur advise. Rebeana, dun be stress ya!!! Must jia you, dun be sorry if need to give her fm by cup or spoon.

Congras Shirley...have a smooth confinment.

Simp-Since you have neverfull GM,can tell me if the thin strap will hurts your shoulder? I have a burberry bag about the size of neverfull mm so thats why i thinking of Getting simething bigger..

Jean chua-Sometimes i will sleep very late.My hubby works in london shift so at times i will wait for him..

Kiamkiam, I tried to pump 6 times a day too cos can't make it to 7 times. Now I only latch my baby once or twice a day. It's already a mth n my supply only abt 100-110ml... She's on fortifier n special fm but now not giving her fm already. Hopefully after seeing doc tmr she doesn't need fortifier anymore too...

Wondering, can we chill d milk from different timing of d day then freeze in a bag? Else each time 1 bag only 100ml very wasted n take up space

Janice,

Try drinking lots of red date tea n horlicks. They can help increase supply on top of the 3 hourly pumping n latching on.

And remember to relax during your pumping session, don't get too stressed up. It helps for me, i will drink 1-2 cups of red date tea during the pumping session. I pump 4- 5 hourly n only get about 4-5 sessions per day. Morning can get 200ml, daytime about 130-170ml.

Rebeana> my bm start to kick in on my 3 day .. But u need to pump or latch on every 2-3 hrs .... Drink more red date tea and soup .. Can try papaya soup cos help for mfe and buddies ..,

Actuaty , it's ok if give some fm before ur bm kick in.. My supply is stilll low even thru I give birth give for a week..

Dun stress urself and bb just take time to build up the supply ..

Thanks all. Getting my mum to help buy FM after her work coz hubb is on reservist and needs to stay in. What a time..

Anyway after pumping my BM, I let her drink uses milk Boyle instead of cup/spoon. It's a no-no thing I know but coz switch keeps crying and we want to give her urgently, no choice. Anyone doing the same?

Oh can I also ask, after pumping my milk, can I combine them from the previous pumping session or have to put it separately?

Babyzel, thank u... I had been on red date tea whole day. Didn't know Horlicks help too.., ok will try that. Last few days my vol increased n yesterday n today drop again dunno why hmm...

Rebeana, I am feeding my gal with milk bottle. It'll pump n chill it in milk bottle n CL directly use it to feed her after warming d milk. When she was in hospital, i told nurse to cup feed her after dat pd said no cos if dun let her suck, her jaw muscle will not be strong n can't suck anymore. Dats y we let her bottle feed. Currently I dun hv problem latching her but sometimes I'll hv problem latching her too...

I hv colostrum already for bb but unfortunately cannot totally breastfeed. Coz I hv uterus contraction & totally very painful when I breastfeed him. Just now he was hungry & I fed him for almost 10mins & stomach can't take it anymore. End up hv to unlatch him & ask nurse to feed him a bit of formula... So sad!!!

Btw, anyone delivering at TMC can try their confinement food. Taste good. Hmm... Must attend their parentcraft lesson which teach how to bath bb & breastfeed. It's very infomative.

Hi Shirley,

I think most mummies here say bm will kick in from 3rd day onwards, so dun be too sad, continue to let baby latch on and pump at regular intervals [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you!

Btw, the parentcraft lesson you mentioned is during your hospital stay, or do you mean their antenatal classes?

I have noticed my nipples start to leak some transparent liquid when I massage my breast just now.... What is that? Is it the beginning of milk or colostrum??? If colostrum come in now before my bb is born, then will there still have colostrum when she is born??

Shirley,

Which class are u staying in TMC?? They provide confinement food for all class?? Do they provide red date tea?? Cos thinking to ask my auntie to help me boil if they dun provide.

Do we have to pay for their parent craft lesson during the hospital stay?? I have attended their antenatal classes.

Jia you in ur moo moo career...

Gee.. i din noe BF will hv uterus contraction till painful.

Shirley - my fren says the contraction is to help us get back in shape faster. Maybe u still need more rest. Am sure the uterus pain will get beta wi time n u can BF for longer time tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babyzel - drink horlicks will help, then wat abt Milo? i prefer milo taste.

all mummies at moo moo club - it's ok to supplement with FM. My gf insists on BF and no FB end up bb kept crying in less than 2hrs. N by mth 2 bb still very fragile. By 3rd mth she gave in n bb now so strong n sturdy! It's still a wonder how come her bb had such a big appetite n at mth 3 drinks more than my niece at mth 6. So as long as it helps them to grow n be strong, FM is ok de... dun be disheartened or discouraged...

Ask u mummies. For the pumped out milk, if u pump at diff times, can we pour them together or put separately? Than after each pump, do we need to sterilize and wash or can we leave it for next use (3hrs later). Coz at night, CL will be asleep and I find it bad to wake her up to wash for me.

Rebeana>>

It is best to sterilize and wash after every usage. U can wear gloves to wash the pumps ba.

I think we store the milk of different timing separately, but when we heat up, we can combine the milk to the required amount ba.

Rebeana - yes we hv to sterilize and wash for each use. tat's y some mummies hv extra spare parts so sterilize once and store inside sterilizer (up to 6hrs depending on sterilizer) then can use for 2pumps.

sorry for milk storage i've no idea but i've did a search and from what babycenter says below it is ok to combine:

"You can add freshly expressed milk to frozen milk as long as the fresh milk is chilled for at least an hour first. Make sure the amount you’re freezing is smaller than the frozen portion."

Let me continue to search and c if ther's more on this topic.

Rebecca,

Make sure that d milk are of d same temp bef u mix.

Tat means u hv to chill d freshly pumped milk bef mixing to d previous batch. N d timestamp of d mixed milk will be based on d previous batch nt d current pump.

Best to sterilise aft each pump.

On lazy days, wat i did was to kip d parts in ziplog bag n kip them in d fridge till d nxt pump if nt sterilising...

Rebeana - found another info for tis topic. it's from medela website. it is consistent with the info on babycenter and what snowpear said [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

"•You can continue to add small amounts of cooled breastmilk to the same refrigerated container throughout the day. Avoid adding warm milk to already cooled milk.

•Pumped milk may be added to frozen milk provided it is first chilled and the quantity is less than what is frozen."

snowpear - so u mean aft each pump u'll wash and keep in ziplock bag n kip in fridge? sounds gd!

Snow pear,

Or u mean u keep the dirty one in the Ziplock and keep in fridge, then when need to pump, u wash and sterilize before using??

So if we separate store the milk of different timing in the fridge, we must wait till both milk is the same chilled temp, then combine together, and label the date and timing of previous batch??

And freshly EBM must be chilled in the fridge before combined with the frozen old EBM, and the qty of chilled EBM must be lesser than frozen EBM. Is that what it means??

Hi simp n Shirley

Tks for sharing your experience about c sec. Just to check if it's good to put the binder tight ? Is it painful when taking out the dressing ?

Any food to avoid since we got the wound?

Breastfeeding

I have tried to bf Javier but its not so successful . He either fall asleep n can't wake him up or his mouth is not fully sucking . Any ideas to share ? And in the end we give uP to give the fm...

The breastmilk really makes me kind of headaches maybe im a first time mum so everything seems so new to me..For first week i may not have alot of BM so i will probably latch on bb and pump some for night feed as i will be drinking DOM.As the EBM is not alot,i will just place it in chiller instead of freezer.How many days can the EBM be left at the chiller??

cyn,

It's not the antenatal course. It's just a parentcraft course free provided during the stay in the hospital. They will call out to the mummies & ask if they want to attend.

Jean_chua,

There is no red date tea provided. I chose Milo during the stay. They also provide one flask of cold & hot tumbler water. I stay in a 2 bedder. I think they provide the same menu for whatever class ward u r staying. There r Chinese, Chinese confinement, Asia, continental (western)...

So far, I only chose Western for breakfast & Chinese confinement for lunch & dinner. Yup... Transparent liquid is called colostrum. Tat is what the lactation nurse told me when she checked with me yesterday. I do hv it a few days ago before I gave birth, so u might be delivering soon.

Is-elle,

According to my gynea, he said the uterus contraction may last up to 2 weeks & tat's y he said must eat painkiller regularly. Somehow tried twice & it seems tat it will trigger pain while breastfeeding, but I guess no matter what, hv to try coz breast milk still the best. Dunno y last time it doesn't happen to me when I hv my 1st child tat time.

SHJEAN,

The lactation said must sit him & burp him.... Pat & burp him might wake him up. Out of 10 times, only 5 times r successful feed at the beginning coz bb is sleepy at the first few days. TMC quite different from KKH leh... I find tat they don't send bb over in the middle of the night to breastfeed. They said night time if bb sleeps, let him sleep.... Don't wake him up in the middle of the night to bf him so tat he won't develop the habit of waking up in the middle of the night frequently for milk.

Probably that's also the reason y I sleep better in TMC than KKH. I will try TMC method. Last time I even woke up my 1st son every 2 hours for milk feeds according to KKH.

Hi SHJEAN

Looks like Yrs is a sleepy baby, like mine. What the nurses and doc taught me is to wake yr baby up. Don't make Javier too comfortable. Remove his swaddle and feed. If he is still asleep, burp him and make him wake up. I have trouble too but on my 3rd day, things got better coz now it's my gal crying for milk.

Thanks for the info on how to store breast milk and clean them. My CL told me to use hot water to "soak" the parts in a pail when she is asleep. In this way, it's cleaner, sterilized and I don't have to touch the water. But looks like I need to label the milk bottles but how? Use marker to write on it?

Oh btw, when do we store the BM in the chiller and when in the freezer?

TMC

For those who are staying in TMC, they do provide hot water or drinking and also, they have the hot water function in the toilet. So u can use it to clean yrself. However, since confinement needs to drink longan tea, I find that it's a challenge for me since they don't provide. First day of staying there, I was so thirsty. Coz can't drink plain water and no longan tea. So for those staying in TMC can arrange for someone to help make some for yrself.

Glass Bottle

Oh, and I manage to get glass bottles from them. Not a lot thou. About 4. Btw, what is the use of the glass bottle? I took without known what it is for. The nurse told me they don't provide glass bottle anymore but end up they still gave me. I'm confused as well.

Colostrum

Don't worry abt the colostrum that you have before pregbancy. It's vey normal coz our breast is preparing for itZ I had it like a few weeks before i labour and some more than that. That's why some mummies uses breast pad.

Confinement

Those doing their confinement, how is it so far? Really find it a torture not being able to bathe! My CL lets me wipe my body but it's as good as not cleaning. Don't feel refresh or anything at all. Just feel really sticky and no mood for anything else. Yucks! Guess thats the worst part of the whole confinement. Sigh.. My CL only allow me to bath and wash ky hair 15 days after I deliver! Gosh!

Rebeana>I storage the bm in chiller as its can last for 24 to 48hr .. I keep my bm in glass bottle that I took from Kkh and label them according to date with sticker.. U can Ask hubby to buy for in bookshop.. For my gal, she will drink all bm that I express in the night before and the daytime.. So at this moment I just have enough bm to supply her 5-6 feed and 2 night feed with fm.. I wash and stream the glass bottles and reuse them cos I need 6-7 bottle (vol of bottle = 90 ml) per day to storage my bm..

Confinement

I bath daily with heral bag and wash my hair cos my cl say handle bb must be clean.. But ask me to take a quick bath to prevent wind so I must chop wash my hair and body clean clean within 5-10 min with limited heral water... After my massage, my ML will ask me to take a hot shower before she tied my tummy up.. Hmm my ML is very gd and my milk production increased aft she come..

Shjean> my gal is very lazy to latch on and she fall asleep aft 10 min of latching.. Even i bottle feed her Ebm or fm, she also sleep during the feeding .. End up I just express with pump every 3 hr and feed her with bottle.. Dun stress up too much becos of bf ... When just give birth, my supply is very low that I must feed my gal with fm.. After a few days, the production gradually increased from 30ml to 80ml per pump session. Just keep pumping regularly ....

Red date tea

Those who going deliver soon, rem to ask ur mum to cook and bring the red date tea in thermo flask.. So far I know that tmc and Kkh dun provide.. Red date tea also help to increase bm ..

Breast milk

Those who are bfing just Jia you and dun stress too much.. Just try ur best to supply as much as possible and top up with fm if not enough...

Good morning mummies!!!

Seems liked only moo moo career mums are awake in the middle of the night. Got awaken by my hb waking up preparation.

Wow, so much info on BFing. Thanks shirley, kiam kiam and rebeana.

Oh no, my migraine is coming back to haunt me again. Hate this part of pregny. Better go rest now.

Hi every1!! i just went for my appt ytd & @ 37wks, my bb is 2.8kg! her wt is gainin slower, hope its not her placenta aging. the last time i saw her is she's facing down & cant c her face & eyes, so be4 her appt ytd, we kept talkin to her, tell her to face us and blink blink. in the end she did! after blinkin for a while, she turned back liao.

but her placenta is super close to her neck, n we can keep seein her usin her hands to try to loosen it and turnin ard to wriggle free. poor ting.. hope she dun turn in the wrong direction. gynae told me to monitor her movemements, if less den 10kicks per day, need to come tmc liao.

cyn > actually i think if u adjust ur slpin position, u will not feel u wan urinate dat much @ night. dat works for me ^^

little bb > the watery discharge is yeast infection. i oso got it, used the pill, few days ok liao but den soon will come back again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ginger is cant take for 1st 12 days, after dat can take liao..

for cramps, u can take more calcium tablets or milk to ease it. i took extra tablets for calcium now i hardly got cramps le

jean > haha, i will also miss my bb turnin & kickin me! its so fun & interesting! >.<

ely > CDG ting is a must, to know ur bb's heartbeat & how she is inside ur womb, oso it can c ur contractions, so its neccessary

simp > my gynae says water retention will get worst 2 weeks after u deliver. but after dat will go away le

Bm storage

My gynae says u can combine them as long as they r expressed within the same day

Stretch marks cream

my gynae actually told me tis cream not much use so i didn't apply them much, & now got a lot of marks liao. they will go away after we deliver rite?

Diaper bag

im thinkin of usin my adidas gym bag. haha, mainly cos my hb will b carryin it around so a haversack will b better, kk

oh, forgot to update mine.

im 15/11 @ TMC

recently my hb bought steve job's biography & we read to her everyday. she seems to b able to understand & kicked & moved ard everytime we read to her. so cute!!

Shirley,

The uterus contractions are good, it's meant to shrink your uterus. That's one of the benefits of breast feeding. Bear with it cos it's really good for mummies.

I find TMC confinement food lousy, the nurses told me a lot of patients complained about the caterer. The soup n dishes are cold, only 1-2 dishes nice only. My husband also complained about the companion meals, totally not nice at all..

Is-Elle,

Horlicks is better than milo, I think it's because of the malt content or something. It can boost milk supply.

Rebeana,

It's ok to pour all the expressed BM into the same bag that are expressed in the same day. Just make sure the EBM are all freshly expressed n not heated up before.

I dun sterilize my pump in the sterilizer after every use cos the medela parts cannot take the heat so often, my gfs say will make the parts turn yellow easily n out of shape. What I do is wash the pump parts n sterilize in hot water then keep in lock n lock box after every pump session.

I will put the dirty pump parts in ziglog bag and store in the fridge and use it for the next pump w/o sterilising if I'm really too lazy. But at most re-use for 1 pump only.

Re: BM storage

Chilled BM must be consumed within 48hrs.

Please remember to label all BM storage (date and time) after each pump.

I just cut out thin strips of paper and tie them to the btl using rubber band. More cost saving than buying stickers haha....

If there is surplus, and the BM is nearing the expiry of 48hrs, then I will then move them up to the freezer. Can keep for 3months.

BB will always drink freshly chilled milk and I will only touch the frozen milk on days when I can't meet BB's demand.

Rebecca,

Glass bottles r very useful for storing your expressed BM during the iniial months when our supply is still little. And u can feed BB directly using the bottle after warmed up. But of coz u have to get the bottle collar and standard sized teats.

Once BB's feed and yr supply incr, then u can start storing them in milk bag.

hu1j13,

I'm due on the 16/11 at TMC.

Mayb will bump into each other :D

I pray hard that BB dun come out on the 11 coz I think will be super packed and service level will be affected.

I hope that this time rnd I can go w/o epi juzt like no. 1

Morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have been a silent reader here.

Can update my details here:

Ryan/Boy/TMC

EDD 24 Nov

Just come across on Strait Times today that there's a midnight warehouse sales @ Baby Hypermart from 4th to 7th Nov.

4th Nov, 10am to 9pm

5th & 6th Nov, 10am to 12am

7th Nov, 10am to 7pm

Up to 70% Off

zel,

Hope your baby gal's cleared of jaundice already? Take care hor...

Shirley,

Thanks for the info, you mean the Parentcraft lactation consultants go around the wards asking if you wanna attend? Actually I also intend to call them instead when I'm there, it's free to engage them so why not.

hu1j13,

My gynae says baby has descended quite far down in my case, so at times her movements will press against my bladder despite moving into different positions =P But depends on her mood ah, these few days lesser.

Hmmm suddenly I'm grateful that my due date is end of Nov, can get so many bf advice from mummies who have already delivered [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks for the mummies from moo moo club share so many information of BF, need to learn a lot from them, as I also hope this time round I can build up my BF and good enough for my bb.

It is my last working day before start my ML next week. Edd 13th Nov, thus quite near already, think next week bb should come out ba, just wait patiently. Also found that my pop up belly button drop down a bit further le.. suppose bb head and whole body may move further down liao?? Next tue go for gynae checkup.

For the strep B test, that time I have bleeding and brown discharge at month 4th, thus doc say already done test at that time, and found is fungus problem. Then she say won't do the test now.. Haiz, whatever can only trust her lo.

morning mummies.. bad start in the am.. slp till half way leg cramp den call my hb wake up to hold n massage my leg. den ok le den lied that moment leg cramp again.. super pain sia.. anyway i tell my hb to standby anytime cos i got feeling bb wan to come out.. i wakes him up , he tot i wan to deliver le.. lolz..

i will like ask something.. i know that the systoms of delivering are spotting , contraction n water bag burst.. Izzit that these 3 comes den consider going to deliver or any of these come can deliver ??

tml is my gynae appt, hope bb not to fat.. ytd manage to pack my bag, realise that it seems a lot of things need to bring... 3 more days b4 my ML start..

Checking out soon.

Babyzel,

Maybe both u & ur hubby's expectation of food too high? First day was lousy Coz I was admitted to ward at around 6pm & there was only left with Chinese food & the food is really cold except the soup. Today's western breakfast is very lousy. Looks completely different from the menu that I ordered yesterday.

Anyway, they serve papaya fish soup which is good for breastfeeding mummies.

Esther,

What you say the 3 systoms is true, for contraction when it come to the interval as 3 or 2 mins, consider quite intense and definitely need go down hosp already.

For red show and water bag burst, need go down hosp too. Base on experience, water bag burst normally won't be that fast, you can take a shower then go down... when contraction kick in then the delivery time will come.

Addition, that time some mummies also mention when bb movement kicking lesser, we need to take note and call gynae/hosp nurse to double check whether need to go down too.

snowpear > yea~~ maybe we become roomies, haha. 11/11 full house liao lor, otherwise my csect date will b on dat date liao. somemore dat day got surcharge oso =.=

Hi mummies and moo moo club,

Thanks for your advise for BFing. Lucky my edd is end of month so I can get a whole of info before problem kick in.

Finally went out for lunch Today,had one coconut juice during my lunch with my dad. So cooling and shiok. My bb keep moving after I drink the cold juice...I think she is comfy with that.

I notice that I feel breathless when climbing the overhead bridge...I think my stamina is limited le. Even my dad climb faster than me and seems ok for him. Walking liked an old ah ma now.