(2011/11) Nov 2011

starry

me too. i see nice clothings i will buy for my gal. ^5! i married young at 22, my #1 at 23. gift during the customary =D

jasmine,

you really married young! good good. more energy to chase after kids. heh heh! my hubby and i tied the knot when we were 23. had our little girl at 24, gift from our honeymoon. initially wanted to stop 'production' for 2 years but another surprise came during CNY. :p hope no more surprises 'cos hubby wants to close down factory. i think having 3 will be perfect though.

re: csect

how come your #1 was a csect? mine too, and it was because she was a breech baby. like me, breeched too but my mom went thru natural labour. think you have gd chance to try vbac. since there is a gap in between.

awbb,

pat's good. a lot of ang moh kids go there. my gf sends her babe to julia gabriel's east coast. but i think those are weekday/weekend programs, not really childcare.

lynzi,

happy to be back to work again?

frenlop,

congrats! 1 boy 1 girl completes the family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little one, lynzi, no problem. Pls PM u your contact details and how u want to pick up the books fr me.

jasmine, my gal oso dun hav too many friends ard her age. my gal was born in early'09, few mths after your gal. i can arrange one after our holiday ard end of jun or early jul. Any other mummies want to join? my gal is fortunate tat she has her own play room w all kinds of toys. i dun mind organize kids party to let her mingle ard w other kids. anyone interested pls let me know, k? im happy to organise one.

starry

We both had our #1 gal as a gift =D

#1 was emerg csect cos after in labour for more than 12hrs, her heartbeat drop, so got to csect. Yup im hoping for natural this time cos is 2yrs apart. Hope i can do it this time. Purposely on protection for 2 years.

So u intend to have #3?

frenlop

Sure! Let me know.. add me at FB. My gal dont have her own play room as my inlaws are staying with me.

Btw whats the name of Nov FB group?

awbb, r u staying ard there? my girl is on half day PN/N1 ard Dunman area since feb11. b4 this she was with Pat's weekend enrichment class. she enjoyed school v much and the teachers r v nice too. i sent her there bcos near to my house and the main purpose is to let her be indpendent and sociable. the fee is abt the same as chiltern and pats. if u want to know more, pls pm me as i dun wan to publicly put my comment abt the school. overall, they r v good only the fee which i find not up to tat kind of range.

hi Jmi,

pls update my details. Think it went missing from the table. Thanks.

EDD: 8th Nov

Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua

Hospital: TMC

BB#: 2

Area: Whampoa

Frenlop,

where u live?

Will pm u my contacts later.

Starry,

where got happy?

This is bopian.

Im trying to persuade dh to only go out for dinner this friday.

Hoping i can make it to meet u girls at marche..lol

lynzi,

some mommies prefer to work than stay home. workaholic moms. haha! hope you can work your schedule around then!

updating...

MARCHE LUNCH GATHERING 17 June (Friday)

- starry + jadelyn

- leikela

- tinyvoice + samuel

- l.tulips

- aabunny

- rainzz

- mag

- lynzi (TBC)

jasmine,

babies are really gifts! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm not sure about #3. probably gotta see if can handle 2 princesses first? financially quite siong also when they are older especially in their teens. think hubby also scared later girl again. wahahaha! 4 women against 1 man at home. he sure lose until very very jialat in any debate/argument.

sidetrack a bit... wanna ask about jaundice. my babe had jaundice during her early infancy stage. nothing serious, but bad enough to be under the photo therapy for 2 days, blood test and sunning done for ard 5 days. i bf her exclusively then and also avoided ginger. necessary to really avoid ginger? heard it is old wives tales though.. worried second baby will be slightly jaundiced too.

Congrats to all the mummies who has found out the gender of the babies!

Starry, Jasmine: Both of you are so young! Personally i would love to have a #3 but physically i don't think I can cope. Already with this 2nd pregnancy, I can feel more aches and pain than the first one. And it's soooo difficult to take care of my first born when pregnant.

Frenlop: I can bring my son on the playdate too. He's born in Aug '08.

starry

Yup! agree... so i told HB go naturally for #3, if got means is god's gift. Ya lorx 4 women against 1 man. HAHA!

my gal have slight jaundice only, when we reach home we open our house window and let sunshine come into the room. We also sunbathe her outside the house in the morning.

I heard people say avoid ginger. I also heard people say dont eat too much papaya during preg.. dunno true or not.

joybleu

Join us for the playdate. Same as you this pregnancy are so tiring than #1. Now right leg no strength, backache.. totally different from #1.

aabunny,

between 12.30pm - 1.00pm lunch time? okay for you?

joybleu,

like you, i am having more aches and pains now. plus the bleeding scare during 1st tri. really not easy compared to previous pregnancy. how come your first born was difficult to care for? colicky?

he he... i am 32 years old, and this is my first babe... i guess i am pretty old relatively!

thanks starry, let me check with my hubby... we have gynea appointment in the morning as well... have to coordinate a bit! heh heh

Starry,

I'm a SAHM so I meant that it's very tiring to take care of my son now while pregnant. I have no energy to play with him anymore.

Anyway, my #1 was very difficult as a baby. That's why I had to read up on and use all the different sleep training methods. I think my #2 who is also a boy will be as difficult. Quite scared thinking of it.

joybleu,

i know what you mean! tell me about it... i can hardly bend down and carry my girl now with the tummy more and more in the way each day. she's super fast, crawling everywhere and learning to stand. the other day i just watched her fall backwards and bumped her head! seems like pregnancy also affected my reflexes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

it's never easy to be SAHM. while you get to see and experience first-hand your baby's milestones, it's actually very tiring. salute the SAHMs here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm kinda thankful that i have my mom to care for her while i 'relax' at work.

tinyvoice,

yes, i heard the same thing. but i find it weird lor. my gf nv touched any veggie and ate junk food thru out pregnancy yet baby no jaundice. mine, i ate well and drank nutritious soups and baby came out jaundiced?? had to avoid all ginger during confinement which i am not even 100% convinced that it will cause jaundice to get worse. this time really hoping that baby will be born okay, clear from jaundice. kinda heartbreaking to watch my babe going thru the photo therapy and under the sun. so poor thing..

Starry,

i heard if give partial fm then jaundice level wont be so high.

I bought the herbs to bathe bb in to bring down the jaundice.

lynzi,

i bought herbs and all that too. whether really helped or not i don't know. this time round i hope no need to avoid ginger 'cos i didn't eat enough 'heaty' stuff and was pale like a ghost! women during confinement are supposed to look robust and rosy but i was like a piece of white sheet as i avoided all alcohol as well, until baby was officially cleared from jaundice.

starry / lynzi

i heard this fr my SIL.. i dunno how true this is la.. she eats a lot of fresh coconuts just like 1-2 wks b4 gif birth.. she say come out bb will not have jaundice... i nv try b4.. dunno how true...

Hi all mummies ..since u all talking bout the Jaundice thing .. 1 of the confinement nanny which my colleague using few months back.. told tat shower the baby wit black Guiness Stout it help to reduce the jaundice or with some herb call "Jin Yin Hua" from any chinese medical hall .. it works or not well.. hav to wait till the day when we tested it lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Huishan,

i did drink the coconut juice before delivery but i didnt eat the flesh.

My boy got jaundice but a bit only.

I sun bath him every morning too.

huishan,

i took a lot of coconut juice before i pop also. didn't work for me.

mag,

black guiness stout? wah... this one nv heard before. my mom used the 'ng kee' to bathe baby. seems to work. plus pack the ng kee into a red packet and stuff it in her beanie pillow let her hug every day and night. that one i think for customary though. 'cos like no link??

i saw the news on the volcanic ash fr chile affected the air traffic in New Zealand, Tasmania and Melbourne. I'm flying off tis thursday to gold coast then melbourne in late next week. I hope it'll not affect my vacation. last yr we went HK Disneyland oso kena bad weather condition, typhoon. the news said it'll arrive on the day when we reached HK but when we arrived at the HK airport it was announced that the typhoon has gone to Taiwan instead.

joyblue, jasmine, sure i'll arrange one playgroup at my house after my vacation. i'll send out an official invitation via FB. btw, i've PM u the FB group name.

starry, jasmine, u both are so young! im an old lady sia.

lynzi, im staying quite near to your favorite durian stall [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

huishan, i shared my view in my earlier post. i drank a lot of young coconut drink on the last mth of my EDD for my #1. but my bb still got jaundice but it was a v mild one on her eye areas. my mum brought her under the morning sun for abt 10mins everyday for 5 days consecutively then jaundice went off.

tinyvoice, yes only asian babies will get jaundice, ang mo v rare. this is because the food we eat. i cant remember wat is it. my sil told me once i forgot liao.

starry, 1st time i heard ppl said women during confinement r supposed to look robust and rosy! hahaha... i looked extremely horribe dun even dare to look at the mirror for 2nd time.

mag, i used v little guiness stout to treat my bb's nappy rash instead of jaundice. guiness stount made by wheat which is good for skin, however, too much will harm bb's skin. so i only used few spoon in bb bath dilute w water. and it worked v well.

coconut drink:

i was told to drink REAL FRESH YOUNG COCONUT drink. not those fr canned drink.

Jin Yin Hua is actually honeysuckle.

Basically jaundice develops in a healthy baby when the blood contains an excess of bilirubin - a chemical produced during the normal breakdown of old red blood cells. Newborns tend to have higher levels because they have extra oxygen-carrying red blood cells and their young livers can't metabolise the excess bilirubin.

Typically, jaundice occurs more in breastfed babies, but this is mainly in infants who are not nursing well or often enough, hence they are not hydrated enough. You may need to wake your baby to feed if she is very sleepy.

If your baby is breastfed she should not normally be given any other fluids such as formula milk or water as frequent breastfeeding will help clear the jaundice.

My CL didn't give me full dose of ginger until PD cleared jaundice. My boy's jaundice was cleared a week after his birth. His reading wasn't high enough to be admitted.

Mag, CL used Guiness Stout or Jin Yin Hua (honeysuckle) when baby has bit of yellowish tinge or little bit of rash.

re: jaundice

hm.. maybe coconuts works a bit but not vvv well.. another is my mum one lor.. dun eat too much carrots n oranges and papaya etc.. i think if normal adults eat too much of these will turn yellow also de lor.. haha..

wah... black guiness stout... must try then know wor.. lucky got mention dilute in water.. else i will pour a few bottles in the tub and bath like tt.. stupid me.. HAHA...

Starry & frenlop ..

hehehe ya ..put litttle only not whole bottle/can ..who know later the baby bcome alcoholic hahaha :p (kidding)... not sure leh my colleague new born hav slight jaundice then after using tis method it heal & a plus is mosQ would kiss ur baby :p ..

Starry ..ya the NgKee i heard aslo when my nieces& nephew born tat time all using tis .. like Tinyvoice said most asian hav jaundice jus depends on how serious isit..

N the fresh young Coconut drink .. i heard so many many ready ..yea they said when bout to due in 2-3 weeks hav to drink more coconut drink to cut down ur body heaty n is good for baby complexion too ..

frenlop,

not old lady lah! we just happen to start young. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] most important is stay cheerful and young at heart. i have a friend who is ard my age, but so super negative that she's like a 40 yr old woman. anyway, i say women during confinement should look rosy and robust 'cos of all the tonics mah. my mom kept lamenting that i look as pale as ghost lor.

re: coconut

i bought those thai young coconuts from NTUC and keep them in the fridge. when i felt like drinking (which is almost everyday!) i cracked open one myself. after a few days i'm like a pro at it. wahaha!

jmi,

i heard both schools of thoughts about jaundice and bfing. one is like what you said, bf exclusively to clear jaundice; if baby's sleepy, wake him/her up to feed. another is give formula milk to ensure that sufficient fluids is taken to clear up the jaundice.

Mag,

hahaha. Max booked the aunty when Tracy was preggers lor. Cos when I was doing confinement both of them dropped by regularly to visit us. He was 'bought' over by the Aunty's luncheon meat that she cooked evening (for DH & herself! Boo I can only see them eat and 'smell'! Hahahahaha

Starry,

yes. I remembered latching Jared like non-stop the first couple of days lor. He pooed and peed like nobody's biz lor.

jmi,

that's good! was he a sleepy baby? jadelyn was quite sleepy. i had to latch her almost every hour around the clock! very tiring. was it the same for you? i was very stressed then and my mom kept asking me to please just feed her fm so that she would sleep better. i remember i was quite upset that time.

starry,

Jared wasn't a very sleepy baby. Like a typical baby. Hopefully #2 will be like him. Won't give me a hard time. :p

Jmi,

My girl will latch for 10-15mins then fall asleep. Difficult to wake her up to continue latching after that. Even if still latch, I didnt know whether she was comfort sucking or really taking in milk.

Starry,

when he falls asleep during latching, I'll wake him up. Tickle him, stroke his ears etc. So he doesn't get into the habit of falling asleep on the breasts.

Re: Jaundice

I heard that it's got to do with dehydration also? Apparently, cos the breastmilk may not come immediately, so that time, my first niece had jaundice cos not enough fluids if insist on no fm...Then when it came to my second niece, my brother and sister in law didn't want the jaundice, so don't care, feed fm first...And she turned out fine...

All the talk about coconut juice is making me gian...But too bad cannot drink so soon!! How long before we pop?

Jmi,

I guess I didn't try enough methods to wake my babe up. Stroked her cheeks, neck, back etc all like not very much use in waking her when she was in the mood to sleep. Did u have to latch Jared almost every hour? Sorry for all my qns. Just feeling that I've given up latching her too soon and switched to 100% pumping. Maybe I've not persisted enough.

Ent,

Can drink a bit of coconut juice, don't have everyday can le. It's quite shiok on hot days! Think will have plenty of those in Bali, yah?

Re: jaundice

Some docs actually recommend not to give fm at all but just fully bf till the jaundice goes away. I'm kinda confused about this also. My babe's PD actually said it is good that I wanted to tbf her despite the jaundice! So contradicting right?

Starry,

I latched him every 2 hours. It helps that my CL is very pro-BF. She rather I latch than pump. Eventually when I returned to work, I didn't like pumping much either.

Re: jaundice

For the 1st couple of days, NB do have some reserves in them, but latching helps to stimulate the milk production.

On feeding FM, it really depends from babies to babies. Some say will get nipple confusion and milk from bottle-feeding comes at a consistent speed and baby don't have to 'work hard' to suckle mommy's breasts; therefore latching becomes a war everytime and in the end mommy either gives up to go 100% pump or switch to FM.

For me, luckily I've a very encouraging CL. She persisted, always telling me latching is way better and now I agree. No need to wash and sterilize the pumps and bottles. Milk is direct and fresh going into baby.

The only negative part is you do not know how much baby is drinking but I wasn't bothered with that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think boys are voracious feeders.

In the day i latched him every 2 hours.

The first few nites were the worst n during growth spurts cos i had to latch him every 1 hour.

Wanted to really faint then.

Jmi,

Good that u have a very supportive CL! Some CLs like bottle-fed babies 'cos easier to gauge feed timings and if give fm even better, can sleep longer time. My mom was probably quite kancheong when she saw that I had to latch almost every hour and didn't get much rest at all. So told me to give fm at night to let baby sleep better. Was very against it that time but in the end gave in. Hope this time round I can manage bfing better.

Lynzi,

I've heard the same thing about baby boys being better eaters. Yes, very very tiring those few days and during growth spurt! Latch like nobody's biz and still cries for more. Haha! Still, it is very satisfying to watch them grow bit by bit. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Littlebb,

I'm using Babyplus. Ent29 also plus another mummy I forgot who. You can check out the testimonials online. I've used it for my babe and now this baby too. Think the girls bought from eBay.

Friday gathering

Gotto give it a miss. so sian not being able to go. took urgent leave yest cos son was sick so guess gotto be guai guai for the rest of the week.

u gals have fun!!

tulips,

hope it's nothing serious and that he gets well soon!

updating...

MARCHE LUNCH GATHERING 17 June (Friday) - 12.30pm

1. starry + jadelyn

2. leikela

3. tinyvoice + samuel

4. aabunny

5. rainzz

6. mag

7. lynzi (TBC)

i'm setting the meet-up time at 12.30pm. should be okay for all?

I’m getting the thermometer from Amazon and would like to invite you to share the shipping cost with me. 

Kindly leave your email address and I will contact you ASAP. 

Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology 

Model: IR4520 

Shipping: Direct Shipping from Amazon 

Link: http://www.amazon.com/Braun-Thermoscan-Thermometer-ExacTemp-Technology/dp/B001FWXKMM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1302227652&sr=8-1 

Waiting timing: 2-3 weeks 

Item cost calculation: USD38.54 + Shipping USD6.40 = USD44.95 @1.35 = S$60.70 

* Please note the exchange rate will be adjusted if it is higher. 

Collection: 

- Ang mo kio ave 10

- Register Mail (Postage TBA) 

- Normal Mail (at your own risk, I’m not responsible for lost mail) (Postage TBA) 

I hope to close by 18th June. 

Email me at [email protected] 

Hey starry..i gotta give the meet up a miss...i cant take leave on fri coz my boss not ard n i gotta represent him for a meeting..u girls enjoy ya n ill come for the nxt one..