(2011/11) Nov 2011

little bb - i signed up for wong BB'c class starting on 23 jul sat afternoon. which one are you signing up for? But strange, i saw a poster that she is participating in a breastfeeding workshop on 30 Jul...if so, will the class be conducted by another teacher??

little_one- Hmmm i am not very sure about that as i havent sign up yet.Intended to sign up this sat after my aqua aerobics class.Your lessons at TMC or AMK hub? I need to go down personally to TMC to sign right?

tiny voice, Ent,

Both of u ladies can go google on confinement food catering. I recall there are recent reviews done by mommies on a blog or something about the foods from various companies. Natal Essentials was rated as one of the best. Be ready to pay more as well since it is 一分钱一分货.

Little one,

Start ur maid search early. In fact I think u can strt ur interviews already and have the maid come in 3mths before u pop. So in the event you find out (say after a mth) she's not as good as u thought, u still have plenty of time to change and train the new one. Hope u find a good maid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little one,

if u hiring a maid then better get the maid in earlier before u pop.

At least u can help her familiarise with your house n assess her.

If u get new maid to come in after bb is out then will be stressful on u.

U will need to handle a newborn while still learning your new role n at the same time handle a new maid and teach her.

Bear in mind that hormones after birth a bit haywire n some ppl will get a bit of post natal depression.

Little bb,

u can sign up at TMC itself, the parentcraft centre or go to their website and sign up online. =)

Hi Ladies, Long time no chat... Sorry, Have been terribly busy with work lately cos office moving to another location in the week of 20th June. So busy n stressed with work that I find I am getting mire and more hot-temper lately. Hope it won't affect my baby. Haiz.

It seems like most of u have started booking confinement lady... Honestly I really dunno when is the best time to book. Is it still early for me to book if my EDD is 25 Nov?

I will b having my check-up on next Monday.. Hopefully can see the gender of my baby. My friends told me that if gynae can't tell or see the gender of the baby, most likely will b girl. Is that true?

I'm from the March 2011 thread n have 2x BNIB Medela PureLan nipple cream 7g to let go at $10 each, incl. normal postage. Retail price is $12.90! Pls PM me if keen, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy, it is true i think. if they cant tell you the gender at 16 weeks, then probably it is a girl. they will tell you when you are 20 weeks and confirmed.

ent29: i think depend on which day u trialing, they may give u the 'food of the day'. I will check out other caterer, maybe like what little one commented, we can order 2wks from this caterer and 2wks from another, shall go compare prices. No CL, cos' i have a maid to help me. My son will go CC in Sept and we will have a peaceful daytime to take care of bb, haaahaa.

little one: yah, u shld bring in maid earlier, ie. 2-3mths and train her in housechores so by then bb arrives, she will not fumble and have so much to master at the same time until concussed! If in the event u need to change maid, at least it's still within your 4mths maternity, you are around to guide her. For new maid, usually i will bring in on a friday evening, then weekend to train her and following monday/tues i will go back to work. No need to give maid crash course lesson cos' even after 2 yrs, she will still be forgetful and need reminders occasionally. They are not perfect, just like us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little bb - Wong bb's class are all conducted at amk hub. I signed up and paid all online but am thinking of getting her book before the class. Anyone know where to get?

Starry, tiny voice - get maid to come 3 mths before think she will rot ah, my house not much work for her to do leh.. Lol. I normally maintain the house and get a pt cleaner once every two weeks. Only getting a maid coz of this bb. Then hubby wants to engage a fili maid..hope she don try to b funny

alvy & rainzz, you both get CL fr i-kare. have you booked the CL? if yes, their name? they've sent me the T&C but w/o CL profile. I noticed we need to pay for the work permit as well. wah seh! get a CL cost abt $2.5k. did u book their massage package?

little_one, yes, u shld bring in the maid early. if 3 mths is too early, then at least 1 mth b4 to familiar w the house chores. then during ur confinement period, she k learn how to take care of ur bb fr the CL.

mkt rate for CL without agent:

any idea if we engage CL directly without agent, what is the market rate? I have a recommendation fr friend but havent contacted the CL.

little one,

if you hire after you pop, it may be difficult for you to manage her. afterall, new maid, new baby, new routine.. are you able to send your maid to your parents' place or in-law's so that she can learn to do confinement cooking and also help out with chores there??

wendy,

if cannot see anything at 16 weeks then likely girl, although won't 100% confirm. 'cos a lot of mommies actually saw the bird and balls very clearly at 14weeks++.

Morning ladies!!

My eyes is not so red today but the lids look swollen.

My fren commented that i look like machiam someone punched me hard.

So have to go back gp again later.

My dh wants me to see gynae but if walk in i will sure be the last..my gynae so many patients.

Little one,

if got maid then dont need to call in your part time cleaner liao.

If primary purpose to have maid is for her to take care of bb, then if her work in other areas not up to par must learn to close one eye as long as she taking good care of the bb n the bb's needs.

Starry,

i saw in the oct thread that u are getting the muslin cloths for swaddling.

If u ordering, can i tompang?

I have always used swaddleme for my boy and i find him sweating in it..quite poor thing ah.

Oh btw how come got one mummy collating orders for pumps?

She got lobang?

Sorry ah ask u so many qns.

hihi, i signed up with GLPS agency for a CL... I think the fee was just under $2000 and then we still need to pay for the work permit... they seem quite good... a friend recommended me.. they also have CLs who specialize in twins..

lynzi,

hope your eye gets well soon! think no need to see gynae bah.. normal gp should do. try to minus all that waiting time.

yeah, swaddleme is really not suitable for our climate, unless you use it solely in aircon room at night. it's not very breathable either, even though i got it in full cotton. i've already ordered the muslin cloths from amazon via spree before i left for KL. the sprees in this forum are ongoing, so just place order can already. here is the link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5470280.html?1307497884.

re: breastpump

prettymums from the oct thread has her own biz bringing in breastpumps from US so can order from her. think very good price now for freestyle, only $430! i got mine at $475 less than a year ago. prices really dropped.

Starry,

how many pieces did u get?

If i get 5, is that too much?

Hehe..kiasuism kicking in.

Ooh..she doing own biz ah?

Then i can get from her instead of from Tan Leng Leng.

Yah $430 is a good price.

starry - i will be having a CL so the maid wont need to learn the confinement cooking from the parents..they also dunno much about confinement! LOL. Thinking abt getting the maid and having so

much changes in life made me sleepless last night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wah the muslin cloth is v cute! And the pump price is good too...i am thinking of getting thru the oct thread too

Starry,

the dimensions for aden&anais compared to the jjcole onrs..are they the same?

I scared buy then too small esp with wriggly baby.

Good morning ladies.

Oooohhh...the muslin cloth are so pretty. Me also tempted to get. Heehee :p

lynzi,

yeah, she has her own website too, but gotta PM her for it, as i cannot remember le. wanna get spare parts from her and maybe even the hard shields 'cos i heard they are better than the standard softfit ones. JJ Coles ones (48" x 48") are slightly larger in dimension compared to aden+anais (47” x 47”). but aden+anais has more designs. so far only purchased like 2pcs JJ Cole ones. i'm so tempted to get more!! too cute lah. hahaa!!

little one,

actually why do you need maid? if got CL then plus your part-time cleaner then should be able to cope quite well. unless you are going to leave your baby in the care of the maid when you return to work? you gotta do your sums and be sure that everything is within budget. plus be prepared to change maid a few times as it is now generally quite rare to have a good first maid.

aabunny,

carriers are different from swaddles... the muslin cloth swaddles can double up as blankets, burp cloths, changing table cover, nursing cover etc.

jmi,

temptations!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

has anyone used those sleeping bags with their babies before..when i went to aust it was the first time i saw it and i didnt realise it was quite common in singapore..was thinking of buying some muslin swaddles which i will prob used more for day time..n to try the sleeping bag for use at night..

Hi Ladies, I called a few CL just now.. most are fully booked. Haiz... I din know some people book the CL so fast... I really feel I am too slow! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any one has gd confinement lady to recommend?

jmi,

lol!! better to buy versatile products which can double/triple up as something else yah? i regret purchasing the swaddleme. expensive and used less than 5 times nia... boo!!

leikela,

i have a sleeping bag, but didn't let my girl use. 'cos she's fidgety at night and loves sleeping on her tummy. think if she's in the bag, she won't be able to turn well so didn't put her in it. probably will want to train #2 to sleep in it 'cos sleeping bags are good. no need to worry about blankets being kicked off in the middle of the night esp when we always on the aircon. mine is given by a friend, but it's a tad on the thick side.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5569659.jpg]

Aabunny,

muslin is for swaddling.

Carrier is different.

Starry,

i think im getting 2 from jjcole and another 2 from aden&aneis.

Cant resist the prints..haha

Leikela,

i got 2 sleeping bags for my boy.

Once he outgrew swaddling, at nite i let him sleep in sleeping bag.

leikela,

I've used the Gro sleeping bag on my boy before cos he always kick off the blanket.

starry,

I also quite alot of nappy cloth which can also double up as swaddles, burp cloth etc. So still thinking if should get the muslin cloth. But so pretty! Argh!!

jmi,

buy lah! buahahah! :p traditional nappy cloths are much smaller right? i remember i tried swaddling with those nappy cloths and failed to 'cos she wriggled a lot and the size of the nappy couldn't 'contain' her. unless you can sew 4 pcs together to form a large one. also not bad idea huh?? think i ask my mom to help sew.

lynzi,

you are tempting me to get the aden+anais one liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi, jmi and starry - so u guys are saying tt the sleeping bag is more for bigger babies as more of an alternative to blankets..so i can use the sleeping bag after i upgrade from swaddles in the initial mths? my fren ask me to get the velcro swaddles coz tighter in case baby try to fight his way out? hmm..but realy like the aden+anais deisgns [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arghhh...temptations, temptations!!!

Lynzi,

JJCole also has nice prints?? Jialat. I'm so dead. I wanna be a good gal but....:p

leikela, these sleeping bags do come with size and a 'weight recommendation'.

Starry,

buy! Buy!

Very nice chio prints leh.

Im really crazy about prints..haha

Leikela,

the ones with velcro are tight but the material very warm.

My boy sweat so much in it.

leikela,

yup! sleeping bag is more for bigger babies. think too loose for newborns. besides, newborns enjoy the feel of being swaddled. aden+anais and JJ Cole have sleeping bags too, i think. the velcro ones are indeed more convenient but most of them are too warm for local climate. i see those hospital nurses swaddle with normal blanket till very pro leh. tight and snug too. gotta keep practising bah. and no matter how tight, wriggly babies will still find a way to poke their arms out. heh heh!

yeah...i also thought they are hot n woolen but my fren said she bought the cotton one..got 2 pattern..cotton n fleece..dunno le..ya a+a also got sleeping bag..so was tinking of buying swaddles n the bag also..n ya my siblings young tt time also use normal swaddle..i also tink its the way u wrap n how tight u wrap..haha..maybe i buy a range of items hahaha trial n error..wah damn kaisu..

jmi,

tempt you further.. here's what i got from JJ Cole.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5569835.jpg]

lynzi,

which set of prints are you getting? i haven't decide yet. all look so cheery and pretty!

starry,

no no no!

Argh...Lynzi/Starry, let me know when you order, I tongpang you can (both the A&A and JJCole)?

frenlop - i tink the price is inclusive of the work permit leh.

coz i dun recall agent mentioning abt the work permit fees.

i paying 3.5k for twins

Jasmine,

hi5!!

Weather so hot..im cooling down with my lemon juice n white aiyu jelly..today no alisan milk tea for me.

Starry,

the jjcole one also i havent decide.

Cant decide between the elephant or the giraffe..both look so cute!

The a&a i have shortlisted one pair for boy n one pair for girl.

See whats the gender first then decide..lol

jmi, starry & lynzi, you 3 really got a lot of lobang sia! i din even know got such things. wat a suaku mum. i normal diaper cloth and grobag those readily available on the shelve one. those links u sent, really tempted to buy.

rainzz, they sent me the T&C and the goverment levy is $6 per day for 28 days. this is not inclusive in the confinement fee of S$2.2k (for single bb). In addtion, we need to pay red packets out of pocket on their 1st day and last day.

swaddle:

when my girl was new born, i used those velcro type. when she was bigger a bit, then i used grobag.

frenlop - haha..i sms the agent liao,c wat she reply me

oops paiseh,juz read thru the contract,fees exclude the work permit fees.hahaaa

yup,the contract got put Ang pao which i tink is customary.

jmi,starry & lynzi - thanx ya..make me tempted to BUY BUY BUY!!

lynzi and jasmine - same goes for GONG CHA!! i wan!!

if got enough orders i think we can do a mini spree here.. anyone with borderlinx acc? heard it's cheaper and more effective than vpost.

mommies, do you all know if we have additional no. of childcare leave for second baby? 6 days like not enough for 2 kids leh.

rainzz,

think 4 is good enough. 2 like a bit too little hor? just thinking if one is accidentally soiled by poo/pee then use the other one but need to wash daily mah. so probably 4 just nice. anyway so cute, buy 10 also happy. buahahaha! :p