(2011/11) Nov 2011

jmi,

customized baby stuff are super duper cute lor. but expensive. haha! super tempting. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi,

i had red eyes on and off during my first pregnancy too. this time round hope won't have. i guess we are just more sensitive to a lot of things now lah. hope your eye recovers soon!

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Koi and l.tulips for the recommendations.

DD now only started mild cough which i think is usually from the runny nose based on the many occasion of flu/cold bug. Blocked nose seems to be both for us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] wd later go hunt for these medications 1st and let her try. If no good after a few days and conditions do not improve then c gp again, haiz. I also not very keen to keep feeding her and myself medi. DD always fall sick every alternate month since 1 yr old. Now that she is in school, worse.

Frenlop

Im very near to sg. we are over at KL but we shd be back end june and i can join gatherings then if all things are well.

Starry

Thanks for keeping me in prayers. I needed that. My mil just asked me last nite how' e bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Have been having nightmares these few nights, think some pressure is coming on slowly with myself and dd sick again. Worried that it will pass to niece and my parents, disappointing my parents and inlaws of a bb girl instead of their desired boy, the moving back to sg and the reno in my flat are prob the cause of my silence stress. Shd teach my dd to tell grandparents that bb boy or girl depends on her father' contribution so less pressure on moms. However I have told some friends that Im pregnant despite i have to retake test. Just hope for the best [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Hopefully the checkup later will brighten up my day

Placenta

I dun know how my mom will react if i tell abt eating this. Maybe i shd see her reaction. Wd let u know then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

frenlop,

my trip's tmr morning! babe's gonna be staying over at her grandma's tonight. boo hoo...

simp,

that's why we need a lot of emotional support from family members during this period. did your parents and in laws say out loud that they hope for a boy? don't stress yourself out over this. no point le. boy or girl so what? what's most impt now is it is healthy. my hubby was very upset when he knew we were having another girl. i just told him would he have preferred having a boy but sick and unwell all his life, compared to having a healthy, beautiful daughter who welcomes him home from work every night?? that sort of shook him up a bit. plus i reminded him i didn't get to choose the gender so don't he DARE get upset with me since he was the one who got me pregnant.

i was also very upset when my fil cracked a very nasty joke about me not having a boy few weeks ago. he said get my husband to have mistress to give the family a boy and i can treat that mistress like a maid at home, get her to do housework. WTH right??? i stared very very hard at him and said if his son ever dare to do this thing, i will divorce him and cut off his dick and all of them can forget about seeing the girls. he just 'ha ha ha' and said it was just a joke. bloody hell... now everytime i see him, i think of it and get upset. maybe i am very 'xiao qi', but certain things i hold very close to my heart and it was plain hurting to hear those words even though meant as a joke. men will NEVER understand how a mother thinks and feels.

wa starry, your FIL's joke a bit too much. I would have just walked out and don't talk to him. such things not funny. i would tell him that the sperms in his family not strong, have mistress also won't guarantee boy... so the fault all boils down to his family genes... (even P5 kids nowadays learn this, that the guy determine the sex. my p5 sister told my hubby this in his face when he say he wants a boy! ha ha)

simp and starry, ya, i hate it why it is always the woman who have to bear the stress of having bb boy. my PIL and hubby all want a boy... and keep coming up with excuses why boy may be better... what boy need to wait for 2 years for army, so better to have boy now... and dunno lah, they come up with so many excuses why boy is better but would not admit that they heavy boy light girls... i tell my hubby nowadays it is always the gals taking care of parents...

simp, don't stress all will work out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aabunny,

the joke was really uncalled for and very, very distasteful. i wonder if my fil went back home that day having 'indigestion'. anyway i don't hide my joy from them at all when i knew baby's a girl, even purposely rub it in 'cos they were so nasty! if they heavy boy light girl, that's their problem and i don't give a hoot anymore. all along they and hubby were the ones feeling stressed out whether boy or not. i'm not going to be affected by them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my parents on the other hand have no gender preference.

yupz.. i m waiting for my gender results too.

A lot of unnecessary comments.

I told my hubby to brace ourselves for the "answer". He said i siao. I said, even if I don't mind either, it is hurting and sianz to listen to other ppl's comments.

Very much as I want to tell them off in the face, I am trying to control it in case spoil relationship.

Esp since I don't stay together with ILs and relatives, and only see them few hours each week.

Just irritating...

Aching/Suan

A separate topic, do you all feel ur pelvic and lower area a bit aching (suan suan)?

I feeling it for 2 days and not sure whether normal.

starry, dun be angry ok? ur fil a bit too much lah. how k he said such thing leh. if i were u, i'll ask him the statement he made is it meant for himself is it? prob he wants a mistress tat k giv him sXX then still work like a maid?! whaha. then let ur mil suspect him. is ur hb the only son in the family? my pil oso made me mad sometimes but i jus ignored them. i tell u an incident tat made me v upset. b4 our wedding, i had a chat w my mil, i told her getting married is exp even we dun hav a grand wedding dinner. then she asked me why expensive if no grand dinner. I said partly my hb wants to give 'pin jin' to my mom. then she said sth 'wow, now wat century? still got ppl give 'pin jin', sell daughter is it? walau, i hear liao i walked away.

im fortunate tat my pil is modern parents. they dun interfere us. for gender, they hav no preference at all even if my hb is the only son. but i hope for a boy this time. if still a girl, i will still close shop. my hb said girl is v good and she loves having another bb girl.

Frenlop,

My MIL said she doesn't mind (she has 5 girls before 1 boy-hub).

But from the comments my SILsssssssss made, I know in their hearts, they waiting for boy.

koi, really arh?! i hope they r not and i believe they r not cos i can see my PIL adores my sil more than my hb. they really simply 'bochap' till i complained to my hb 'are ur parents care abt us or not'? having boy is not like eating durian 'bao chi'. anyway is their sperm who produce the gender. if they wan to blame, they shld blame their own son not my stomach.

frenlop,

your mil is very 'modern' type aunty is it? it's very common to do guo da li + pin jin before the wedding lor. all chinese couples i know went through this. and even though say 'pin jin' but in the end, money will still come back to us from our parents in the form of huge ang bao. so i don't understand why the fuss.

my mil was around during the 'joke' so i also try to give her face. really felt like wanting to 'fan lian' then and there but i control. my hubby is the only son. his younger sister (my sil) is very rebellious and somehow estranged from my pils for many many years. stay under one roof but nv really treated her like their daughter. very weird lah. i also don't wanna get involved in their family problems. i guess that is why they pin a lot of hopes on my hubby. and i must say, my hubby is very filial to them, unlike my sil. maybe that makes them even more heavy boy light girl??

koi,

sometimes just gotta 'ren'. but ultimately there will some rotten apple in the crowd making tactless/hurtful comments. this is just the beginning lor. later after baby popped, will have ppl/relatives asking are you sure you have enough breastmilk, why still so fat huh, baby nv put on weight is she sick arh?? that sort of irritating comments. my sil was one such person, commented very loudly that i still looked very fat during my babe's full month party in front of everyone. i was like, hello?? just gave birth but already lost 8kg??? i just smiled and told her i wait and see how she gonna slim down after SHE gave birth.

Starry,

your fil too much ah. Thats a very bad joke. If anyone say that to me, i will remember for the rest of my life lor.

Its not easy to get bfp n preggy journey n labour is not easy ok.

Boy or girl doesnt matter lah as long as both mum n bb are healthy.

lynzi,

exactly! they think like sow, pregnant so easily and one shot can have many many!! and i will remember he cracked this joke for the rest of my life.

starry

woah.. i cannot believe such person still exist.. nowadays ppl usually dun care boy or gal liao lor.. still believe need to have boy to continue family name meh.. nowadays sons usually move out n stay near wife's parents de lor.. so have son also dun mean anything de mah...

wa, really so much nonsense from relative even after giving birth... my friend warn me about it, she says in singapore, a lot of people still have old-thinking so they do not know about breast feeding or infant care etc... so we must read up more to equip ourselves with knowledge so that we would not be stressed out by other people's comments. when i told people i want send bb to infant care, i got a lot of frowns and negative comments... and was quite affected.. but then bb our own, we are the ones who know best what we can do and what we cannot.. must wear metal armor to deflect all these arrows!

huishan,

nowadays cannot say boy/girl better le. it's those older folks' wishful thinking that only the boys are the filial ones. i personally feel it is upbringing. if you bring up a child well and instil good family/moral values in him/her, he/she will naturally love the family and want to take care of the family. but if like my sil, then forget about it. we only need 1 son/daughter who loves us rather than a dozen kids of our preferred gender who can't wait to throw us in the old folk's home when we can no longer take care of ourselves yah?

aabunny,

very true, a lot of those uncle/aunty type still very stuck in old thinking. breastmilk looks diluted so they say formula is better. lol! just learn to close one eye and shut both ears when these remarks come. get upset also no use. if i can 'ren', i will and just smile through it. but if that person goes overboard and remarks become like personal attacks, i will also fan lian immediately. and usually all these stupid comments come from my hubby's side of the family.

little bb - glad u had a wonderful baby moon,i had a friend who have preg cough throughout er entire preg,so u muz take good care ok.

nov etoile and alvernia - welcome!!

simp and l.tulips- it depends on whether u dare to take anot,starry n i posted a link to 2 shops who make them into capsules at $300

aabunny and frenlop - my sis saw a youtube whereby they gave raw placenta to the mum to eat after she gave birth...EEEKS

lynzi - hope ur eyes recover soon!

koi - aching/suan ..on off will have abit.tink is uterus stretching

koi and starry - too bad,when we marry we inherit another set of relatives who aren't that tactful.

what does it matter if the baby is boy/gal,as long as healthy can liao mah.

they think very easy to "pop" out the sex anytime they wan ah..

my memory for this type of tactless comments very good one..i got chance i sure shoot back.

buay tahan this type of silly mentality.

starry

i agree wat you mean... wat i mean is boi / gal dun mean which is better than which.. seriously if i were u i will tell them straight in the face de.. no need to tahan this kinda thing.. haha..

but not say all boi will not kena de la.. my SIL (my hubby sis) got 3 boi but her MIL n SIL (her hubby sis / bro wife) keep saying her lor.. esp her SIL who has 2 gals.. said she snatch away all the family feng shui.. -_-!!!.. but my SIL when she found our here youngest is boi she cried for few days lor.. coz she really wan a gal since she has 2 bois liao..

so i guess some in laws are just plain mean lor.. nv say will die like tt..

Inlaws

I think old people will always be like dat. They dun know that they will add unnecessary pressure on us no matter how mild the comments may be. we all wish to please them in our capacity but somethings are just not meant to be. There is always a reason how and why things happen for the best of ourselves and family. I always believe that the kids for us are the best we can have even though we do not think so. For christians, we know that God gives the best in our interest. even if things happen, He will help us to deal with them with His grace. I do hope next time, i will tell my dd, any kids she gives birth, they are the best gifts to us. This will assure them of our love for them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Worst, i just tell mil to pin her hopes on her younger son for a male heir.

I just learnt from my bro that my sil is expecting, a dragon bb. Bet my parents are very happy to have a dragon grandchild in January [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope she will be ok as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Soon her #1 and my kids have more playmates.

wow the thread is going on so fast today!

little_bb - yup..that cough syrup cannot take as it contains alcohol. I had a bad cough for 3 weeks and consume 3 bottles of Prospan (it is v mild and hardly helped). Cough is actually quite common esp in 1st tri, sometimes it is caused by reflux rather than a cold. Hope u are feeling better!

starry - guess ur FIL was trying to crack a joke that did not go very well.

argh! after seeing all the blankets, i so want to get them too!! so lovely!!!!

Oh gosh, I made everyone tempted with the blankets.

Perhaps I can organise a mass-order for the blanket sometime later cos I will be getting 1 for sure. ;p

Jmi,

the pacifier/ blankie clippies are nice!

Are those from etsy too?

Little one,

prospan is mild cos its for kids.

Can get better but will take longer though.

Simp,

your kid can take prospan for cough.

Can give your kid bit of chuan bei too.

For cold both of u can take fluimucil.

U can find them at watsons or guardian.

For your cough u can take durotoss..must ask from pharmacist at guardian.

Jmi,

if u doing spree, count me in.

Err..but not so soon ah cos i dont know bb gender yet so wont know what name to put..haha

Im back from gp.

He said could be im allergic to sth i ate or sth got into my eye.

The bb could be a cause of it too.

Lynzi, no not from etsy. I wanted to get 'Stroller Suspenders' that I saw from a US webby but they don't ship to SGP. So I chance upon paci savers from this SGP webby, wrote to them and ask if she could customised some thing similar to the stroller suspenders from the US site.

The SGP webby is: http://www.bebelicious.com/

Don't worry, won't be doing the blanket mass order yet. Maybe in another 2 months or so. Cos I wanna be absolutely 100% sure of #2 too though I've already chosen the name. :p

starry,

dun be upset over ur fil's comment.

i will be joining u too... just went for checkup this morning and i am also having another girl.

starry,simp,frenlop:

I was harbouring the hope it's a boy but when gynae told me 100% girl but i wasn't upset at all. I told my mum and mil and they told me it's alright, as long as baby is healthy. Now i just tell myself i can save money, no need to spend more $$ more clothings keke..

My girl was very active during the scan today. Scratching her head, rubbing and covering her face and flexing her fingers. So interesting to see. initially never open leg but her fingers were stretched out nicely so gynae decided to do part of the detailed scan measurements since she was in a good position. She counted the number of fingers, measured her length (11cm), detect heartbeat, check for her bladder, stomach etc and she was happy with the results. Then my baby decided to open her legs wide for the gynae to cfm her gender.

koi - i also had or have been having that so called suan feeling the past few days..also coz i have been coughing throughout my pregnancy..anywya i believe its the stretching..dun worry too much..

Haha. So funny. I juz board d MRT, I was standing infront of a Indian lady who was seating at d reserved seat, she was glimpsing at another lady standing beside me. Then she look at me n ask me "is that lady pregnant?" (pointing at d lady standing beside me but she was not facing us). Then I stroke my belly, look at that lady w a slight belly frm her tight jeans n look back n reply her "I am pregnant". She say "opps, sorry sorry" n gave up her seat. Lolx. I swear my tummy is bigger than that lady w belly. Haha.

I still say thanks to her. Atleast she bother to look out for pregy women. Nice lady.

memochoco

i realise today that there are 2 kinda of person tt gif up their seats.. one is they just stand up and gif it to u n the other is ask u if u wan it.. -_-!!! the 2nd type i feel like not vvv willing to gif up like tt... haha...

How many weeks can confirm the gender? when i had #1, my gynae said only at 20 weeks can tell.

but seems like so many people already can tell their baby's gender!

thanks for the warm welcome everyone! so thankful for this forum where we can share info and our experiences.

@aabunny, i used to go to niks maple clinic too. dr really good but the medication she gave me all cannot use now cos harmful to baby. maybe i'll visit her again when im back in singapore.

@frenlop, my pimples are at forehead and cheeks. not very big pimples but patches of small ones which is obvious too. and the old scars left behind. i will consider the clinic u recommend if it gets worse. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@koi, thanks for the link! i will steer clear of those creams!

nov_etoile, after i found out i am pregnant, i called and asked whether what she presribed can be used.. i used to apply clinda gel for pimples but she changed to Eryacne.. I also use aroma acne clear gel, glycol 10, and radiant citrus cream. I checked and the ingredients seem harmless.

Helloo all! One day don't come in really got so much to catch up on huh. Tmr also whole day out... :p

Alvy: I think 16 weeks can tell already...But 20 weeks is when we have detailed scan, so should be more confirmed issit?

Starry: Really xin ku ni le...It mustn't be easy facing the negativity from your FIL...But you are one strong mummy man. And I'm glad we have this forum, to encourage each other and to draw strength from each other. Jia you! And if you see this before you go, have a good trip and rest well ya!

Starry-I did not went for island hopping as i had visited phi phi island before,this is my 3rd trip to phuket.Cashew nut factory i also went before so bascially my whole trip is more relaxing like massage and laze around at the pool and beach almost everyday.Did catched a movie pirates,went to factory outlet and bot many of my bb clothing and stuffs.Bot afew wacoal undies and nursery bras.Went to Juncelyon,Central festive shopping centre,visited the big buddha and the weekend night market.The weekend night market is like bangkok chatuchak market but smaller.The things there are very cheap,i bot heels at only 100baht each which is like SGD$4.20.

Simp-I had coughed for 3weeks,pharmacist advised me to take Duro Tuss cough linctus but i hate the smell and taste,it taste like chemical.She said preggy can take.I get it from guardian Pharmancist counter.

leikela-You have been couughing throughout your whole pregnancy?? OMG!! How do you cope?Your cough got phelgm? I had been coughing for 3 weeks,i am so afraid to sleep at night,i had to made myself very tired so i can sleep immed when i lay on my bed orelse i keep coughing.

little_one -Oh you also had been coughing for 3weeks,its really torturing..My throat is itchy so i had to cough it out.But i am in my 2nd tri when my cough strikes,i am 16weeks currently.What is a reflux?

nov etoile,aabunny-I am using full range of nikes maple products as well.When i just got pregnant,i visited the clinic and Dr Ang prescribe me the products which i can use during pregnancy.Currntly i am using vitamin C hydrating spray,aroma acne clear gel,Clindagel,Skin repair,Skinoren,pimple cream and bb sun protect cream.

aabunny, lttle bb: the products that I cant use now are dalacin t lotion, brightening cream and tretinoin. i asked the nurse when i was ttc and they told me these cannot. my doctor is dr Ong though. gotta wait a few more mths till im back in sg... now just gotta bear with it...

little bb: wow 14 weeks can know gender oredi! now im excited abt my next gynae visit! it'll be 17 weeks then. then i can start shopping for bb clothes! & tink of bb names! hee....

@little_bb WOW! 14 weeks can tell already? Ok i am going to see my gynae next week (week 16), gonna pester her to tell me. I guess if she say not sure means it is a girl already.

I was also told by alot of friends that boys can tell earlier.

Thanks rainzz, leikela and lynzi for your feedback on "suan suan".

It seems like it is part of the current stage then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little bb, nov_etoile, i also see dr ang. dr ong has too long a queue and I am too lazy to go down to tampines to queue. i see dr ang in west coast. i like Niks product. I was having terrible breakouts and after using their products for a while, the breakout stopped.

I used to use dalacin t n tretinoin.

A lot of skincare products cannot use now as most contains retin A..sigh.

Today im feeling a bit sad.

Going to send off my boy tomoro morning.

He is going HK Disneyland n both mummy n daddy not following..will miss him as this is the first time we let go of him.

Hugss Lynzi. This shows how fast they grow. I know I'll feel sad too if I were you in your shows.

koi - no prob.hee

lynzi - cheer up and tink positive.perhaps after the trip he'll miz u even more.

how's your MS?

i've been puking all my food and slight diarrhea yest..omg..till ard 2am

Hi moms

The checkup was good showing bb growing well at wk 15 week. However gynae says my placenta very low and i cannt walk too much. That means i wont be able to do any traveling. Any moms have low placenta as well? He says i run a risk of having premature bb. If that happens, need to put bb in kkh instead of tmc due to the comprehensive facilities. I prob have to tell my sis that i wont be able to attend her wedding since most likely bb coming out much earlier in nov or oct or sep.

Kose

Any moms use kose facial wash and the toner? R these safe for moms?

Sick

I still feel sick blocky nose and itchy cough/throat. This pregnancy really more challenging than my 1st [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi, ladies!

Have not been active for quite a while due to work..me now counting down to my detailed scan and appt tis saturday. Hopefully can know gender cos going to expo fair to shop after that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I came across tis brand of breast pump, not sure whether any mummies here have heard of it? Cos was thinking of getting tis brand but have hardly heard of it.

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=59&Itemid=31

Jmi, rainz,

yah im sure he will miss me.

He 2 days away at my mil hse already look for mummy.

This time its 4 days away n far away..if he cry n ask for mummy then my parents n sis will have a headache.

Just hoping he will have so much fun seeing Mickey n Minnie that he wont look for me.

Simp,

i got low placenta too for my no 1.

Rest more, dont bend or walk too much.

Dont carry heavy things too.

And absolutely no sex.

Placenta will usually move up as u progress in your pregnancy.

Let's hope thats the case for u.

For my no 1, my placenta only moved up when i was

reaching my 8th mth.

Btw, did u see my post regarding the meds that u n your kid

can get off the shelves?

Hi Lynzi

I hope my placenta can move up but prob doubt so, bb is sitting on top of the 7cm fibroid and placenta is touching the cervix so i think as bb grow maybe the space will be very limited.

The meds when i asked the pharmacist at tmc yesterday, he din want to prescribe anything to me except a safer nose spray called afrin for blocked nose. For the kid, he gave zyrtec for daytime use and dimetapp for night time use and iliadin for nose spray. I havn give as dd seems to be better. Hb says actified in sg need prescription so i never ask. However i will try to get off the shelf fluimucil and prospan for dd and duro tuss for myself if i am not recovering in the next few days before the amnio test.

You child is going to hk disneyland w/o u and hb? Wow that' quite a courage from u not going with him. He' going with the grandparents? I also can forget abt traveling if my amnio results is cleared. However as long as bb is ok, im ok with anything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simp, ganbatte! pray that your amino results will be good and that things will work out fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi, you can have some couple time with hubby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]