(2011/11) Nov 2011

starry

hi five! i am so pro MAH too, cause the nurses there were fantastic. i also suaku first time mom and i remember i cried on my second day there because my girl can't latch on properly and i couldn't feed her and i was so worried that she wasn't getting enough milk. but the nurses saw me crying and practically ran over and ask me what happened, and they helped me, position my girl properly, help me hold my breast put into her mouth, patiently teach me all the techniques so that i can try which one suited me best. all that while i was sobbing my eyes out! haha! and they consoled me that even at the very worst, can always bottle feed bb first if i'm afraid bb got not enough milk, don't pressurise myself. that's why i love MAH lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the reason why i didn't chose TMC was because of the parking problem, but i also heard that the nurses there are more busy than MAH and thus can't spend much time with the patients.

re:engorgement - i think the best way to relive engorgement is to pump out the remaining milk in the breast. so must invest in a good dual pump.

berrypie,

yeah, food is good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yum yum!! when i requested that i didn't want chicken (due to csect and my mum told me to avoid chicken first), they changed the protein source to something else for me. very nice and efficient. i stayed there for 5 days and was very well taken care of!

Redgin, did u manage to lose the weight after giving birth to no. 1? For me, I was still big after confinement. Up 2 sizes. Then took 6 mths to lose weight but never back to original. After no. 2, took one yr plus ;o)

I also hope this time round I can ctrl my weight gain. Lately, have been eating more.

Hi redgin,

Yep!! We were so happy to c the blinking... So Relieved + so so so happy. Now waiting for 6 more weeks to go thru... Then we will feel so much more 'safe'.

happymum

i was also still big after confinement, and during the one month party, my husband's relatives still commented that i still looked like i'm pregnant. very insensitive people. so it gave me the motivation to lose all the weight. i lost all 23kgs when i return to work after my maternity leave. and lost abit more after that cause of my demanding schedule. so in the end lighter. then when i met my relatives again, they got nothing to say. :p

redgin,

what you heard abt TMC nurses being more busy is true. i saw it for myself when i visited my girl friend. really very another friend of mine had similar 'treatment' even though she stayed at single-bedded ward. of course there are plenty others who got 5-star treatment also. but there are always the odd cases lah.

another thing i like about MAH is their response time and cheerfulness whenever you call them from your room. no matter what time, 8am or 2pm or 3am, they always sound so cheerful. then i will always look out for the sound of the baby bassinet's trolley wheels. 'cos it means the friendly nurses bringing my little girl in. haha! missing those moments. :p

piglet

so envious of u, u get to see bb's heartbeat already. the last time i saw gynae, only saw sac. have to wait 2 more weeks then go back and see him. agree with you, only when i see bb's heartbeat then will feel more at ease.

Redgin, it's so good, u can shed the weight gain so fast.

Yeah piglet, it's so good u can see the heartbeat. My scan only pick up sac last week too. Hope next week scan can see heartbeat;o)

starry

i think we can form a pro-MAH gang already. haha! don't worry, soon we'll be going back there. the last time i stayed at a 2-bedder, was abit squeezy, and wanted to save money. now thinking whether want to take the single bedder cause most probably is the last time i'm going to give birth! u stay in which one?

redgin,

i stayed in the single bedded ward. no room initially when i 'checked in' in the morning so was put in 2-bedder. but i realize the neighbour's husband kept using toilet and at that time i was given the medication to clear bowels and it was so effective! wanted to run to toilet in my hospital gown but the bloody man was hogging toilet! i didn't wanna make a scene knocking on the door so i had to bear with it for a few mins lor. so i decided not to take 2-bedder. really no privacy.. whatever neighbour doing or saying can hear very clearly. wanna sleep also couldn't 'cos her pump kept going on and on... -_-!!

starry,im oso csect so cant take chicken too and they ask me which meat i like to replace the chicken and they do it for me..i stay for 5 days and i even joke with them and my hb i want to do my confinement in the hospital...

redgin

my neighbour fortunately was quite good, ended up we chatted in the middle of the night while nursing our bbs. can bring pump there and pump so fast ah? i had to bring my own pyjamas to wear too. i think i'll more likely take a single bedder this time round. can i ask how much cash you paid in all including bb fees?

starry

also wanted to ask what medication did they give you to clear bowels. is it oral? cause mine was pump into anus and it was quite painful. so scary just thinking about it again.

redgin,

so good, you met a nice neighbour! my neighbour had to discharge the day i was admitted so didn't talk to her at all. i don't know if that was her own pump or not 'cos didn't see. but i rented the hospital's medela pump for a day after delivery. single bedder really different experience. but can be quite boring also if no one keeping you company and if you are not sleepy at night. i remember i watched re-runs of the channel 8 drama "holland v" every 2am. haha!

re: bill

total bill close to $7k. cash $2k+.

the medication given was pumped into anus for mine also. not painful leh. felt something cold only. oral not as effective bah. wah that one, less than 1 minute wanna go loo liao.

berrypie,

you were there 5 days too? how come? i stayed an extra day because baby had jaundice and needed to be tanned in the hospital for a day. i wanted to tbf her so stayed with her.

starry

i remembered my tv was on channelnewsasia in the middle of the night. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the info on bill size. i think the nurse who administered the pump to me was not so skillfull, that's why i felt pain.

redgin,

i go dig out the records then let you know actual.

berrypie,

i have no idea how come so different. let me go back dig out my bill records then we compare a bit. or maybe your room package more expensive? i thought csect 4d3n only. didn't know need 5 days.

ssbaby,

I attend when pregnant with #1, as saw most forum mummy bring up the prenatal course is good for preparation the baby, think no harm to attend. I join in the class of TMC. The other time SGH schedule is too rush for me.

Yah, it is not a must to attend class, up to individual. Breastfeeding can be taught by the nurse after you delivered and stay in hospital, even any problem can call back and learn from them.

wow seems like mummies here have good experience with MAH...

For my No 1, i gave birth at Thomson then it seems like if u want the LC to come, u need to pre-book in advance kind so in the end there was no LC to guide me... but luckily the nurse did bring baby near to me to roughly show me. but i feel that the nurses at Thomson delivery ward are more friendly than the normal wards one.

starry, not sure i still kept my bill but stay at 2 bedder...are you natural birth?

redgin, how much is yours since both of us stayed the same 2 bedder and had csect?

starry

no prob. thanks anyway.

berrypie

mine was natural with epi at MAH 2 bedder. my bill + bb's bill around $4k plus, around $1.5k cash. my girl was warded after discharge cause of jaundice and that was around $1k plus, $300+ cash.

Wahh all of you are raving about Mount A...Hmmm...How did you source for your gynaes from there? I see that from this forum most of the gynaes are male!

And the hospital bills sound scary. Anyone heard any reviews about Mount E in terms of service and all? The only thing that irks me is that parking there will be hefty! Plus ERP!!

About weight gain:

My sister in law got a Malay lady in to do the massage for her - $400 for 10 sessions and apparently she say very good leh! You all want let me know, I can get her contact. :p

sorry redgin, i tot you're csect too. i wanted natural too, had alrdy book the delivery room, struggled for abt 10hrs, bb cant come out had to go for emergency csect (T-T)...

berrypie,

mine was csect with GA. horrible, horrible experience. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] this time round with epi!

ent,

didn't source for gynae from there. my gynae has clinic at gleneagles, but he will deliver at any private hospital.

ent29

my gynae has his own clinic, but he delivers at MAH or TMC, so i chose MAH. and i prefer male gynaes anyway. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie

my labour was 12 hours, and even though i had epi early on, i could still feel the contractions, the nurse didn't want to put it too high for me. and my bb was facing up instead of down, pushed for almost 1 1/2 hours can't come out, gynae came in and save the day with forceps. but wound abit large, almost reaching the anus.

Gosh..redgin, i feel painful for you...i din have epi till later part... when the laughing gas doen't work for me anymore...

redgin,

i could almost feel the pain reading your post! ouch...

berrypie,

epi can still come into effect during later part? thought usually no more epi when you are dilated a certain cm. actually wish i could go thru normal labour. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie

i was thinking, maybe your bill was high cause it was emergency c-sect right? got to pay for delivery room charges and all the consumables that you used there first and then also the c-sect ward.

redgin,

mine was scheduled csect. but the stupid, horrible gynae insisted on GA, not epi. so now changed gynae who's willing to do epi csect.

starry, the oni thing i dislike is the numbers of times when the nurse kept on poking their finger into vagina to check the dilation...i feel so numb and painful there...in the end they had to wheel me to the operation room..

berrypie,

i nv had that done to me before, so don't understand how it feels like. how come became emergency csect in the end??

porkylim

yah lor, not cheap in singapore. my mum got a shock when i told her my bill. she said that last time when she gave birth to me at kkh only like $80 or so. haha, i told her last time policeman wear shorts lah. but i have a friend living in Australia who told me that she don't have to pay when she gives birth there.

starry

oh, with GA, you'll be asleep and can't see bb immediately right? why the gynae so bad, it's your choice mah.

starry, the bb head is not coming down, like kanna stuck and the nurses worried the bb might entangled by the unbilical cord and i oni dilate maxi to 9cm and stringe back to 3 or 4 cm...don't know y..so hv to emergercy csect..in the end the gyna realised my pelvis is too small for the bb head to come out..my bb head look like a mountain when he was taken out....

berrypie,

i wished the mummies would just scare me last time so that i knew what to expect. rather than getting 'culture shock' later. :p

redgin,

my previous gynae told me that epi no good, i will freak out during the procedure etc. so insisted on GA. think he wanted to have less "mah fan" in case got complications then i won't keep asking what happen and bomb him with questions from the other end.

anyway, i had a very very VERY bad experience. 'cos i could hear my baby crying, the doc shaking me saying, "wake up, wake up. baby needs needs you. wake up" then his assistant asked "how come she is not waking up? we try one final time?" wah lao... i really thought i died lor! i couldn't breath and i really wanted to give up trying to wake up 'cos felt very very very tired. in my mind i saw my girl growing up, having her own children, me becoming old then dying anyway so might as well die now. it was very scary the way my mind was running machiam half-hysterical. even when i REALLY came to and saw my hubby, i thought i was dead. only when i saw my baby then i realize i made it after all. and even so, i had no feeling/emotions towards my baby at all. didn't feel teary or joyful or whatever. just very numb emotionally and mentally. only started feeling happy seeing her on my 2nd day.

that's why i hate GA and won't want to go thru it again.

Argh. Now I'm scared!! The pain AND the costs!! Wahhh...How about those who are gonna give birth in private hospitals like SGH and KK? How much cheaper is it there?

berrypie

you must be very petite. now thinking about pushing another bb out is beginning to freak me out again.

starry

oh no... i think maybe your body is not suited for GA. the side effects so horrible for you. somemore right after giving birth, can understand with all the trauma, hormones and all. good that you managed to find a gynae who's willing to do epi c-sect. it's quite a common procedure, alot of my friends do it, and it's fine.

ent,

don't be scared. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you may not need to go thru the pain at all! if you know you cannot tahan pain, ask for epi straight away, don't be garang and try to 'ren' then in the end too late to administer epi. :p many of my friends gave birth painlessly all thanks to the wonderful epidural. hahaha!

cost wise, cannot escape if you want good service, conducive environment. SGH and KK not private leh. if you want single bedded rooms there i think also not much cheaper than TMC/MAH. for hubby and i, we will still go for single bedded ward, purely for comfort. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29

haha, don't worry. we're telling horror stories now, but all these, u will forget once you're holding your perfect little angelic bb in your arms. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you can go to MOH website to see the prices for delivery. think they got do a comparison there. not much difference i think.

redgin,

but i don't have vomiting or what which is very common after GA. so really upset that the waking up part was so traumatic for me. what you said about epi is exactly what i heard from many mummies too, just don't understand why the gynae couldn't do it. sigh... anyway it's over lah. take it as a lesson learnt. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh, did you take epi during labour? don't think you mentioned in your posts.

starry

oh yes, epi is my lifesaver! the nurse turn it all the way down when i'm pushing so that i can feel the contraction to know when i need to push, that was painful, after that, when the dr was stiching me up, i requested for full dosage cause i don't want to feel the needle. side effect for epi for me is unstoppable shivering, i needed a blanket, too cold, and feel like puking. and the jab itself to the spine was quite scary and painful. besides that, it's a wonderful injection. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]