(2011/10) Oct 2011

Morning all mummies!! Wish me luck!! Let's jiayou together! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kwxy! Good luck and yes.. We all jia you together to pull thru this 1st trimester.

Morninghugs,

I'll probably ask collegues to help pack lunch for me and minimize whatever movement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ben ben,

Your dosage is very high! No wonder feeling drowsy. How to keep awake like that? Hope your little bean quickly grows strong and then u can stop all these pills and jabs.

Yan,

Hee hee! Shiok right? It tasted soooo good when I bite into it last night. Somehow very long didn't eat old Chang Kee and suddenly it tasted really delicious. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: maid

Any mummies here left your child in care of a maid? Hubby and I were discussing abt this yesterday. 'cos my mum seems very stressed out takin care of our girl, scared later worst case scenario she decides she doesn't wanna take care of her liao..

Starry, my boy is taken care by the maid since birth. Cos I was FTWM, & my parents are still working, ILs stay too far and don't bother about us. So our only choice was maid. But my sis/dad/mum/hubs will take turns to make surprise visits home to check on the maid. We also have CCTV installed at home.

If your mum is helping, I think you can get a maid to help her with housework, cooking and care of the older one when #2 is out. Then your mum won't be so stressed? If you are lucky to get a good maid, your mum can even take some 'off days' and leave the kids with the maid for a while to run errands or do her own stuff if the maid can handle.

yesterday midnight got abdominal cramp so sudden, makes me cant sleeep. hope it's nothing serious...

Good luck everyone! Let's Jia You together...

starrymommy, both my kids have been in the care of maids since I returned to work after maternity leave. One of the maids has been with the family for a long time, so we trust her. The other maid was new.

Since your mum has been taking care of your girl, I think it's ok to hire a maid to help her when #2 comes along. Anyways, still have your mum to keep an eye on the maid, it's not really like leaving the child to the maid all alone. Over time, you will be able to tell if you can leave your child with the maid alone.

Some people use CCTV cameras at home, I don't.

Good morning ladies!

I had a tough conversation with my DH this morning. We only told my family about this pregnancy because I'll be moving back with them next week since DH will be in 3 weeks reservice. So I need them to take "extra care" of me.

Wanted to tell my in-laws only after the first trimester because I don't want them to be disappointed if this pregnancy doesn't make it. I find it harder to break the bad news to in-laws than to my own family.

My DH was upset that he couldn't share his happiness with his parents. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Have you told your in-laws about your pregnancy yet?

Tabbyz, er.... 1st pregnancy and this pregnancy, ILs not informed and hv no intention of informing them.

They only found out that I have a son when he was abt 3yo? That's how much they 'care' about us. So they don't bother us, we won't bother them either.

I think your hubs can share with your ILs if he wants to... but he gotta remind them that now is still first tri, not stable yet, so just keep quiet about it (else they announce to the whole world like my dad).

1dog1rabbit, I'm sorry to hear about your relationship with your in-laws..

My mom already shared with my aunt and grandma! Urgh!! That's why DH is upset and says the whole world will know and his parents will be the last ones to know.. Sigh.. Really don't want to give them another false hope since I just had a MC three months back..

tabbyz, i think it is ok to let your ILs know. But tell them still in first tri, dun let anyone else know... Coz some babies are quite petty...

tabbyz, we informed mother and MIL around the same time. DH was the one who shared with MIL and I shared with my mum.

Minidiary,

Are u feeling better already?

1d1r,

Was it difficult for u to trust in the maid initially? How much did u pay for the maid every month? Hubby thinks $450 a month can liao but I don't think so lor!

Noodles,

That's our thought also, to hire only when #2 comes along. Better than sending #1 to childcare right? Maybe shld hire one earlier to so call 'train' her. Last min get sure very kancheong.

Tabbyz,

If u can trust them and are on good terms with them, I think can let them know. Let them share the joy and also take extra care of u. Don't think so negatively that the pregnancy would fail. Tell urself and the little bean that it won't!

1d1r,

How come ur in laws are like that? Hubby also their son mah.. Was there some major misunderstanding in the past?

Mother/MIL will ask how many months already, we'll say just 5 weeks and yet to see doctor. I think they've been through it before and know what to do. But my mum haha, cannot really keep to herself also :p

starrymommy, it's better to hire before you're due so someone can train her and #1 can start adjusting to this new maid. By the time #2 comes, #1 will have to adjust to #2 and also to new maid, may not be easy for #1. You also need to decide who takes care of #1 and who takes care of #2. Children can get sticky to their primary caregiver.

The reasons why we don't send to childcare are because:

1. Work place very far, work hours not always stable, don't want to worry about dropping/picking up kids when have work commitments.

2. When child falls sick (fever), have to take leave to stay at home with child. Not very easy for me/hubby to take last-minute leaves like that and not enough family care leave for such situations anyways.

3. Weekends have to take care of kids ourselves if we don't hire maid. Sometimes, need to go out run errands or wanna go on date, nobody to take care of kids.

Tabbyz & Starry, actually, hubs and I are happy with the current situation (not close to ILs) cos they are rather meddlesome. Hubs only visits them during big occasions, he himself can't be bothered to visit them regularly though I will send food/gifts over regularly.

Cos my hubs is the 2nd son, middle child. And my hubs not as academically inclined as his siblings, so they look down on him. & they are not happy that he chose to marry me (due to religious differences).

But my hubs is happy because my family treats him better than how his family treats him. & in fact, my family is very close to my hub's Msian cousins cos we visit them every 2-3 months (my parents visit them once a month).

Tabbyz, I still think ok with share with your ILs, just remind them that must keep quiet first. When can announce, you'll remind them again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, when I delivered, that maid was with us for some time already. So we trusted that maid. But she went back so the new maids we did not trust. Installed CCTV and caught them stealing. Then change until got my current maid who is with us for very long already. For my current maid, we only monitored the CCTV for first 6mths. After that we trust her and turn the CCTV to face the main door instead of monitor inside the house. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I trust my current maid a lot cos she's very sensisble. I give her weekly grocery money and she will file up all the receipts and give me a report at the end of the week. She'll also notify me if certain items we often use is on offer, ask if want to stock up.

She takes my boy to his enrichment classes (few bus stops away), so my hubby gave her a HP which we pay for the usage. She's allowed to SMS back to Indon with the HP when she's not looking after my boy. So far so good.

Her salary was $350 when she first came, we increase to $400 when we renewed her contract. We give her bonus every CNY [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry

rest whenever you can and try not to walk too much at work. be deskbound. i'm sure your little bb with be fine with you. so fast planning for maid already ah?

KWXY

update us here on your gynae checkup k? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

devil, noodles, starry, thanks for sharing! wow, it seems like most of you have already shared the news with your in-laws!

I'm actually envious of those SAHM who don't need to drag their tired and nauseous bodies to work every morning. I told my DH to be prepared to be the sole breadwinner! But the sacrifice is really huge for us FTWM.

tabbyz

i was actually planning to resign after my #1 was born. but finances was still tight and we still had loans. this time round for #2, i've already told hb to be prepared that i'm going to be a SAHM or work part time only. haha. and yes, there will be sacrifices, but for me personally, i want to spend more time with my kids when they are still young.

tabbyz (tabbyz), i am a SAHM now.. i dont need to take care of my gal everyday cos my MIL is taking care.. I feel quite bored at home leh... sometimes bored until i duno what to do cos i also dont cook mah..

minidiary - thanks for sharing. You drink a lot of different drinks ya. Must learn from you.

rina - doctor prescribed me some medication for MS but I am afraid to eat. Firstly, not too sure what the side effects are and secondly, dun want to be overly reliant on meds.

morning ladies!

on urgent leave ytd due to sleepless night. my gal is sick, at night keep mang zhang kick the bed. alot of noise till i cant sleep and on and off her fever keep coming back.

I did read all the post by u all beautiful ladies using my hp but unable to post.

starry

pls take gd care of urself. i also still having spottings. I suppose is ytd walk too much plus carried my gal very quite some time.

dear mtbs,

i'm back! was admitted to KKH on sun night & just discharged last evening at 5pm. had intense cramps late at night & din want to go to KKH 24hrs O&G clinic initially (due to my previous horrible experience there) but hb insisted saying they're better equipped there & its the nearest.

needless to say again, it was another nightmarish experience. wished i nvr spent 2days there.

i was given a vscan at the clinic itself & the lady doc was pretty rough, causing me alot of pain & discomfort. n she was belting out commands like, 'open ur legs wider'; 'dun cramp up ur buttock, i cant move inside u' @#$%&

and after 20 agonising mins, the lady told me she cant find any sac. i'm approx. 4-5wks+. so she gave me 2 options: #1 - go for a detailed scan that's more hightech & can see more clearly or #2 - do a blood test & repeat in 48hrs.

the detailed scan is $200++ itself so we opted for the blood test. we are told to wait 2-3hrs for the results. if its low, then we can still hope my pregnancy is early & that a repeat test in 48hrs showed gd progress. if its borderline or below the initial level, then its a miscarriage. if its 1500 & abv, i will hv to do a detailed scan becos with bHCG 1500, a sac shd be seen via v scan or 1800, a sac shd be seen via abdominal scan.

it was a nervewrecking 1hr wait. our heart sanked when my blood test results came back at 2033. they said with this level, if cant find a sac, highly likely, its an etopic pregnancy & we shd prepared 4 the worst.

my detailed scan was scheduled another 2hrs later. by then both my hb & myself were looking v grim.

to be cont...

MiraclesDoHappen, yah I can understand your boredom. There are some weekends I spend at home doing nothing, just watching tv and I find it quite boring also. Guess the grass is always greener on the other side!

redgin, I'm also worried about finances being tight if I were to give up my job. I'm glad that my mom 'volunteered' to look after my bb for me. Actually I kinda gave her an emotional psycho talk. Told her that my poor baby will end up in infant care at such a tender young age and catch all the diseases there from the other babies. She couldn't bear the thought of her beloved grandchild's 'suffering' there next time so she 'volunteered' her services. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine, hope your girl will get better today! must be difficult to juggle with work, child and pregnancy!

Angel, what caused those cramps?? do share with us your experience there.

Angel... I can imagine your torture, especially with the stupid instructions like open your legs wider, etc.

Before my gynae did v-scan, he will tell me what to expect and remind me that the more relax I am, the more bearable it will be.

How can the KKH doc be so rough and uncaring!

Angel

oh no... what happened later?

tabbyz

my mum was actually pestering me for a grandchild to look after cause she wasn't working and was quite lonely at home cause i've moved out. so now, she's bz and happier. but i'm still worried of how she's gonna cope with 2 kids, so thinking of working part time instead when #2 comes along. u told your mum of your pregnancy already? how's her reaction? haven't told anything to anybody yet, juz me and hb.

Angel, oh dear.. sounds like you've really been through a lot the past couple of days..

I'm also surprise at the 'commands' of KKH! you're a paying customer and how dare they put you through so much discomfort..

redgin, my mom was super happy to know about my pregnancy! so happy that she couldn't keep the secret to herself and shared it with my grandma and aunt..

she did a thorough cleaning up of my room yesterday because I'll be moving back with my family next week. I can tell that she's super excited!

you should share the good news with your mom too! so that she can take good care of you!

redgin,

have to start planning in advance 'cos good maids nowadays really hard to come by. if hubby really wanna hire maid then we have to start looking for one early. scared later the 1st one CMI then need to change or what.

noodles,

seems like more pros than cons to hire maid then! then again depends on luck to find a good and trustworthy one.

1d1r,

thanks for sharing about ur maid experience. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] $400 is her basic salary right? what about levy and fees to the agency?? sorry for all the qns, 1st-timer here. really headache. need to ask my mum whether she ok with someone else in her house or not also.

tabbyz,

if got choice, i also wanna be SAHM with the kids. right now not possible. hubby just had big salary increment at work and it definitely helps a lot with that money but it's only just nice covers everything from house loan, bills and expenses. too dangerous for me to quit 'cos won't have savings for rainy days. hope he quickly earn more money so that i can stay home too! you are so right that it's a DRAG to go to work. :p

jasmine,

you take care too. last night my girl also made noises and suck thumb loudly while still in sleep mode. woke me up though. plus the 1st trimester's tiredness, whoa... very siong.. can your hubby help carry your girl instead? doc kept telling me not to carry anything over 5kg. but so hard not to carry our little ones right? makes me feel more upset only. hope this 1st tri quick quick pass then life can be more or less back to normal for all of us.

so during e detailed scan, i had a male radiologist. he did e abdominal scan first & initially, he also said cant find any sac but after a while, he said, 'oh wait, there is a sac!' n after sometime, he said 'hmmm...there's a few but dun know its sac, cyst or stones etc'

that's not all, he did a vscan too n this time he said cant find both my ovaries & ask if i had them removed or sth??!! i said no, the last i was told both my ovaries are clear w no cyst etc.

then he managed to find my right ovary but till e end of the scans, my left ovary still MIA. >_<"

so even after the $200++ 'detailed' scan, the results are still ambiguous as in they cant cfm if there's really a sac.

i was told to be admitted in the event if i really hv etopic pregnancy & it ruptured & i started to hv internal bleeding, i can be pushed to e operating theatre asap.

to be cont...

Gosh I am appalled, Angel! Does the radiologist have any experience at all? How can an ovary go missing?????

minidiary had a similiar nightmarish experience as you at KKH.

Please go consult a private gynae asap.

angel,

that's horrible!!!! is he a greenhorn or what? so unprofessional! i bet he doesn't know the diff between ovaries and testes even if you place them side by side in front of him lor! what an idiot!

starry

i'm still undecided about the maid thing... will probably ask my mum for her opinion after i tell her my preg news which is after next monday gynae checkup. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] still thinking of creative ways to break the news to my parents, haha! how heavy is your girl now? for now, since you're spotting, try and limit your carrying, i know it's hard, but can always play with her on the bed or put her in sitting position while you sit. you must take care more now.

tabbyz

so sweet your mum, cleaned up your old room for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for my #1, i placed my mum on gag order until i reached 14 weeks, and i know it was a struggle for her not to tell anyone about the good news but she still managed to keep quiet. and i also told my MIL and told her not to tell anyone, but in the end, she basically told everyone on her side of her family. so this time round, i will just tell my mum first and wait till 3 months later then tell MIL. evil right? :p

Starry, I can't remember all the fees offhand but I remember agent fee was $388. Then I paid upfront of $2800 for my maid's 'loan'. And there's $300+ for the English test, medical check & insurance (compulsory).

$400 is her salary, levy is $170 for couples with young kids under 12yo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If not, levy is $295.

Redgin, how I told my mum:

Me: *shoves u/s pic in her face* Na. Your grandchild.

Mum: *takes the pic and stare* Really ah?

Me: *point to the sac* there! Baby inside already

Mum: Still small hor. You must eat more and take care ok? *starts to smile to herself*

I did the exact same thing for both pregnancies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

n so i repeated my blood test on tues morn (not exactly 48hrs but more like 42hrs btwn both tests).

my results came back 3500 which i thought was quite gd & likely shows that the egg is in e uterus after all & that pregnancy is likely to progress. but no, i was told in their own words, my results are sub-optimal (not as high as they expected becos it did not doubled up). they told me w such a gloomy face, my heart sank once again. seemed like all they do is to throw bombshells to ppl!!!

i was discharged subsequently & they want me to come back in 1wk's time for another scan to see if the 'sac' is growing & my pregnancy viable. i told them, no thanks, i would v much prefer to go back to my own gynae, hoping he's got more positive news to tell me.

to be cont....

i called my mum yesterday n broke the news to her that i m pregg but not stable as what doc said. might m/c again.

my mum n dad are v supportive. coming over to my place later to cook for me. ANd keep telling me not to worry.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

redgin,

she is 6.5kg last week, definitely more this week! chubby girl now. last night look at her like suddenly grew bigger already! and i got emo looking at her. sigh... pregger hormones. anyway, hubby is the one fetching and carrying her most of the time now till this pregnancy stabilizes.

Angel, you made the right decision to go back to your own gynae. Sounds like KKH is really horrible.. As the saying goes, you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. Better not go back to them again.

1d1r, that was how I broke the news to my mom too!!! Showed her the photo of my U/S. She didn't believe it at first and needed to check with my DH! Hahaha!

redgin, not evil la! I would have done the same if I were you!! But I can also understand that they need to share the joy with their family! Just like we needed to share the joy with ours!

starry, I'm also trying very hard to save for the rainy days. Now that bb is here, we need even more savings now. I heard a trip to the PD can cost hundreds of dollars!! Even now, the gynae charges are exorbitantly high! *faint*

n after i came back hm, i quickly googled on the bHCG levels & after browsing thru a few webby, i read that for levels below 1200, HCG takes 48-72hrs to double up. for levels btwn 1200 - 6000, it takes btwn 72-96hrs to double up!!!

so my initial level is 2033, my next level is 3500 (just 500 short of the doubling figure) n these r within 48hrs, isnt it supposed to be good news instead? why in the world would KKH tell me my results are sub-optimal??!!!!!!

OMG!!! cant believe i went thru all these loads of bullcraps for nothing. i told my hb of my findings & now, we both agree there will definitely not be a 3rd trip to KKH.

thanks all mtbs for ur concerns! my pregnancy is still ambiguous at e moment since the 'sac' cant be cfm. they did say it measures 0.3cm x 0.5cm. i intend to see dr. woody in 3wks time where i shd be able 2 cfm bb heartbeats etc. i'm keeping my fingers crossed that my bHCG levels are gd at the moment & that all will be well.

went for my appt yesterday.. saw baby's heartbeat. but EDD was changed to a week later? how come ar? i thot i was supposed to be 7 weeks + le, but gynae say only 6 weeks +. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

1d1r,

thanks for the info! the agent fee, maid loan, insurance etc. all one time payment yah? the way u told ur mum quite cute. haha!!

angel,

that sucks big time. go see gynae better. a bit more expensive but well worth compared to the emotional rollercoaster you've been put thru at KKH. must blacklist KKH liao.

yan,

your parents are very nice! glad that you have family support too. now just focus on resting and believing that this pregnancy will progress well. and you will 'graduate' as a mom in oct. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yan, it's really times like these that we truly see how dear our family is to us. Like my mom always say, "you'll never understand mommy's love for you until you become a mom". *hearts*

Angel, my fingers are tightly crossed for you!

Cherylden, I think the EDD depends on the measurement of your fetus. Don't worry, some fetus grow slower than the rest but they're still perfectly healthy!

Tabbyz, seriously must save hard for rainy day.

A trip to PD for normal flu/cough is around $200.

But honestly, the only time my boy saw PD was in hospital, when he was born. After that, we went polyclinic for jabs and our regular GP for anything else. Cos my GP sees a lot of infants, she stocks medication specially for them (same as PD meds). Cheaper alternative.

And very thankfully, we can count the number of times my boy visited the doctor in his entire life on 1 hand.

My friend's girl and my cousin's kids fall sick every month. And it really burns a big hole in their pockets.

cherylden,

it's ok to have slight changes in EDD. will keep on fluctuate along the way 'cos measurements of the baby are estimates only. the EDD is calculated based on these estimates. as long as doctor says everything is normal, no spotting, heartbeat clear and strong, you and baby are fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]