(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hi Ladies!

I'm very happy to join this forum and thread! Just had my scan on Friday at 7w1d and saw bb's heartbeat! It's measuring at a good 10mm.

I was very worried when I found out about this pregnancy because I had a chemical pregnancy which ended at 5weeks last November. I was really devasted then. But by God's grace, this pregnancy looks like it's going strong!

Gonna be sharing tips and pregnancy woes with you ladies from now on!

@sunbelle, you are in my prayers. Do continue to trust in the Lord for He has great things planned for us!

Sunbelle,

It's probably like what 1dog1rabbit and Yan had said, so do stay positive! If blood tests and all that can't find anything wrong, then all shld be okay. Maybe go see gynae in a few days' time and you may just spot the heartbeat then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tabbyz,

Congrats! Your first baby? I am looking forward to my 7wk scan two weeks later. Feels like a loooong time away though. :p

I was down with fever and diarrhea since last night..

I went to GP and took some Medicines.

Now I'm getting better but I'm worried.. Hope that fetus not affected..

Hi tabby,

Can u share with me what the symptom of the chemical pregnancy? I'm in my 5th weeks and I'm worried as i got stomach cramp lately

Starry, yes!! My first child! I totally get your agony! I was counting down the HOURS everyday to my first Gynae visit! But it's all worth the wait when you see the tiny pea's heart pounding on the screen. It's really a wonderful feeling. Hang in there and share your visit with us!!

Jojo, I didn't get any stomach cramps then. I had some brown discharge and rushed to the Gynae. He did a vscan for me and told me to be prepared for a MS. I felt that my boobs soreness were tailing away and my menses came a few days after.

Don't worry too much! Stomach cramp is actually a pregnancy symptom! My Gynae told me that I'll be experiencing this during the next few weeks!

Mummies, during my first pregnancy, sometimes I will hv funny thoughts like try to be funny and make excuses to change my appt to earlier date so can see baby! :p

Er... and we actually did it a few times :p

Cos my gynae's package visit is 6w, 8w, 10w, 12w, 16w, 20w, 24w, 28w, 32w, 34w, 36w, 37w, 38w, 39w.

The most agonising waits for those 1 month apart appts. So we will find excuses to go in 1 week earlier :p HAHAHAH!!!

Hi rabbit,

thank you for your encouragement.visited my chinese phsycian whom said the same tin as you. Yeah did both adominal n vaginal scan.what is encouraging is there is strong growth n all my blood tests are okie.been vomitting today after each meal.

my next appmt is on sat.my hubby bd coming.hope a healthy baby is the greatest gift.

Hi Yan,

yours is indeed an inspiring positive story.how did you cope with sharing with your boss huh? Taking no pay leave huh?i have been away from office for 3 weeks. Although i felt guikty towards work,guess ensuring a healthy baby is more important.

Hi starry,

thank you very much for your encouragement.really praying hard to see my baby's heartbeat this sat.i will remain positive for baby sake and do n

my very best for this baby.

Congrats Tabbyz,

mi also hope to post good news this sat.

Hi jojo,

let jiayou together.i strongly believe that i can deliver a healthy and strong baby.then bring my baby to go park to ride bicycle or build sand castles.

hi sunbelle

initially was given 5 days mc of of spotting.. but during the 5 days, the spotting became red fresh blood/stale blood like menses! so ended up doc gave another 2months MC! so i bo bian have to fax mc to boss. My lady boss was understanding.

But ended up i resigned cos doc advised complete rest in bed. Means i cannot work la.

Mummies, I experienced sharp pain that lasted for 5mins this evening. Issit normal? My next Appt with gynae is on 2nd march, Wednesday. I'm so looking forward, hope I can see my little beanie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi everyone! I'm a first time plus size MTB and I'm very nervous about it! Will be visiting Dr. Woodsworth (TMC) for the 2nd time this week, not sure what is the progress or how it goes from here!

Trying to avoid drinking green tea/lemon tea is driving me nuts! Mum also tells me not to lie on my side too often? Been having very strange/random dreams too. :]

Are there any tips for a first time MTB? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

(1dog1rabbit/Jasmine: We're the same age and you already have 1 kid already!)

Hello to all new mummies!

Koume

Married young dats y [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SInce Fri vomiting, wkend aft meal also feel like vomiting. KEep feeling so nausea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

If no more spotting.. need to continue utrogestan ma?

Been feeling v thirsty. But after drinking, feel v bloated wanna vomit. So far haven't vomitted but having the urge to puke! Arggg..

Tabby

Haha! It is agony indeed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Gynae wanted to do vscan but I wasn't ready for that so wait till week 7.

Sunbelle,

Focus on the good thoughts! I had spotting during early pregnancy last yr and really cried every night. But I kept speaking to baby and telling her to be strong and stick to mommy so that I could see in 8 mths' time. Somehow managed to pull thru those few weeks and gradually started feeling her kicks and all that. Once I was able to feel her kicking, everything was so much better! So look forward to that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] in the meantime keep talking to ur baby.

Kwxy,

Ur sharp pain came from where? My gynae told me to be careful abt identifying sharp pains, esp those on one side consistently. As it may be sign of an ectopic pregnancy. But don't get scared, monitor okay? If really very pain, pls get help.

Koume,

U also born in 1985? Looks like we have quite a number of young mommies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Why cannot lie on the side? I am side sleeper, if don't lie on the side very hard to sleep. Actually a lot of pregnancy books and magazines say lying on left side is best for blood circulation to baby. Lying on the back can cause numbness in the limbs, cramps, backache etc in later part of pregnancy. It's ok to drink cold drinks but take them in moderation and sip slowly.

Jasmine,

Better continue to take till ur doc says can stop bah. When's ur next appt?? Ask if can stop then? I remember even after spotting stopped I had to continue taking till I reach 2nd tri.

Actually 25-28 is a good age to give birth.. Not too young not too old! Hahaha! Me 30+ old woman Liao.

Yan,

Where got old!! Young at heart is most impt. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have u watched Sex and The City? Those women are HOT! And they are definitely in 30s and beyond. There is no 丑女人, only 懒女人! Haha!!

Hihi, I'm new to this thread edd will b on 30 oct, this is my #2 bb. My #1 is currently 14mths.

Mummies ask u all for those who is having #2 or #3 r worried when #2 comes along how to handle #1 n #2?? especially those with limited family support n dun want a maid?

Genesis,

My edd just a day after yours, my #1 only 4 mths old. We haven't decide what to do when #2 comes along. Hubby says take it as it comes and we will eventually figure things out. I'll be back to work tmr and my mum will be my girl's primary caregiver. Haven't told her that I'm pregnant again yet! Maybe when the time comes we will hire a maid. Are u a SAHM? Another option is place #1 in childcare.

sunbelle: welcome! hope u keep positive thought and may everything go well for u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yan: wow, wat a up and down pregnancy u had for #2. are u expecting #3 now? as for ur nausea, try drinking gassy drinks. someone mentioned 100+ works. for me i drink sparkling lemon - gassy + sour. hahaha..

tabbyz: congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nw with worries aside, u can concentrate on eating well and looking fwd to the next scan with gynae. 10mm at 7w is a good size too!

starry: hahaha, slowly count down one by one day loh. it will be worth the wait, esp wen they show u the heartbeat on the monitor, very cute one!

jojo: take care of ur fever, and hope it subsides soon. if still fever tom, better go see ur gynae and let him know. fever no joke ya?

kwxy: which part? i used to have sharp pain at my left side of tummy, bt gynae say its ok cos scan got nothing inside. so dun worry too much, its prob some cramp.

koume: welcome welcome! wen is ur EDD? hw cm need to visit gynea twice a wk?

jasmine: better to take, unless gynae say stop. its good for bb, altho the side effects r horrible, haha...

Mummies, how abt sorebreast? Issit on and off? Mine gone today, so worried [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Creamdonut, yes...if I can recall, it's the left side. But it's totally gone....and my sorebreast also gone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

kwxy: ya my pain is gone too. dun worry too much. i tink our hormones r fluctuating quite randomly so certain signs come and go. jus like certain days MS v bad, some days MS very light.

Starry, I'm a FTWM. My #1 in IFC when he's 18mths then will move him to childcare. limited family support that's why kinda worried...thinking that when my tummy becomes bigger it will b abit tough to bring my #1 to IFC and also bring him back. Hubby's workplace is further away from IFC so that's y gotta bring #1 to IFC on my own. thinking that couple time will be limited after #2 come along...haiz....so many things on my mind....then wierd thing is this pregnancy is planned unlike my first one hahaha...think tat's part n parcel of life bah.... think I xiang tai duo le...

so mummies do share your experience eh!

Creamdonut,

Yeah, taking one day at a time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kwxy,

Sore breasts come and go. Don't worry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suddenly very hungry and got out of bed to eat Tom yum instant noodles. Yummy!!!

Genesis,

Both my pregnancies came as huge surprises. But like what u said, even if planned can also last minute start to kan cheong abt things. Just take it nice and easy now since tummy not big yet. Try to spend as much time with #1 and ur hubby as possible. I agree when #2 comes, couple time will come by quite rarely. Is there anyway u can move ur #1 to an IFC (is this infant care?) nearer to your place? Or by 18mths old can go childcare right? Find somewhere near u or hubby's workplace? I know some office buildings have childcare centers. Only 4 mths to go I'm sure u can still manage within this next 4 mths. Jia you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, I love Tom Yam too!! Yummy!!

I dont have any ms too *touchwood*.....anyway I'm 5 weeks ++....hope to are bb soon!! I feel so insecure not seeing the sac or heartbeat. And I'm having nightmare last night too. My friend told me not to move or shift anything at home while preggy, according to the elders. I totally forgotten abt it!!! I shifted my coffeetable and a small cabinet. Last night feel

uneasy and cannot slp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kwxy,

Hee hee! Not gd to eat instant noodles but I indulge once in a while lah. Craving, cannot ignore. :p

Don't get too upset abt those old wives tales. Best don't move as those items can be heavy. Last time my mil super pantang, told me to avoid renovations esp hammering/nailing jobs. Just nice that time my office going thru major reno, whole day knock here and there. I was in 1st trimester. But how to avoid right? So I really believe these are old wives tales and didnt pay much consideration to them. Not asking u to ignore what the older folks say, but take everything with a pinch of salt and analyze yourself what's right what's wrong. If need to follow every single thing, life being pregnant will be miserable.

Some things my mil and some friends told me not to do or avoid:

- don't tell anyone abt pregnancy before 2nd tri (baby will be 小气)

- don't lift up ur hands (will 'pull' milk glands leading to low milk supply)

- don't go near construction sites, reno places (no idea why)

- don't fix, install anything at home (also don't know why)

- don't say negative things (??)

- don't cry (??)

- don't drink cold water (baby will get asthma)

- don't drink chocolate milk (baby come out black. LOL!!!)

The list is endless... Come to confinement rules lagi worse!! Can die if really follow. Haha!

Haha!! Starry, you are funny!! I will try to think positive!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy mummy = happy baby. This has been proven true over and over again. Enjoy your pregnancy okay? Let's endure the tiring, emotional, uncertain 1st trimester. 2nd trimester onwards I'm sure we will all become happy, hot mommas with the radiant look and round tum tum! Heh heh!

Good morning everybody! Welcome and congrats to those posting here for the 1st time!

koume, it's alright to rest at 1 side. In fact during the later part of pregnancy it's crucial to rest esp on your left side so you won't have a hard time getting up.

genesis28, we dun have a maid at home either. Once I realised i'm preggy, #1 is sent to full day CC until 4-5pm where my inlaws bring him back to their home where we bring him back in the evening. My hb takes over more housework but at a price. I've been hearing him complain more :p

tabbyz, 10mm at 7 weeks is good! Don't worry!

starry, haha chocolate milk will make baby dark? That's so false. I drink Milo every single day of my life and my kid turns out fair!

My MS is getting from bad to worse. Had v bad bloating and constipation and woke up 3 times for the washroom this morning.

kwxy, when I had sharp, persistent pain sometime during my pregnancy, I called my gynae and she asked some guiding questions like which part, above or below belly button, etc. In the end, turned out to be a non-issue.

I haven't experienced sore breasts so far. Not everyone experiences the same symptoms. I didn't have MS for #1.

genesis, are you from Jan 2010 thread? Your nick looks familiar [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I know of a pregnant mum who accompanied her son to playgroup till she was almost due... she was carrying him from time to time and all as if she wasn't pregnant at all.Salut this mummy!

How do you send your #1 to IFC? Is it near the childcare your #1 will go to at 18 months?

I'm expecting #3 and my #2 is also 14 months like your #1. I have no idea if my 2 maids can handle 3 kids, so

I'm prepared to take a short break from work (max a year) if needed.

vivi, prettymums, how old are your #1 and #2? How do you plan to handle #3? I believe vivi is also a FTWM?

Morning mummies!!

Thanks noodles, the sharp pain is gone, dunno is it I didn't poo for 3 days!! That's so terrible!! Very toxic leh!

Anyone got method to ease the constipation??

kwzy, to ease constipation, try drinking prune juice, eat papaya, pear... seems like fruits starting with 'p' help with constipation!

Good morning mummies,

It was a bad morning, didnt sleep well last night cos keep waking up and when I brush my teeth, felt so nauseous, I puked!

Hi babes, good morning! My first day back at work today. Having a mixture of separation anxiety from my baby girl yet at the same time looking forward to work life.

Luv,

Yeah lor... So false. I had Milo 'gau gau' everyday and my girl looks pretty fair too!

Kwxy,

Try fibogel? I took prune juice and papaya but they didn't help me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

noodles- my #1 is 5 this yr and #2 is coming to 8mths.

when #3 comes along, i will send #2 to cc then #3 will be taken care by my mum during the day. At night, then we will bring all 3 home.

vivi,

Wow! Salute u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Tiring or not, managing #1 and #2 now?

kwxy, don't worry about the sore breasts thingy, me also no sore breast this time round. no ms yet, so keeping my fingers crossed that this one will be better than my #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] constipation also i kena, drink more water and have more fruits.

starry

first day back at work after 4 months maternity leave ah? for my #1, when i went back to work, wanted to straightaway resign. haha, but after awhile it will get better and you will actually appreciate the time you have to yourself at work. only when it comes to breastfeeding and pumping, it's a hassle.

starry

my next appt will be on 14th march. Since is an tai yang i finish it bahz.

creamdonut

yup i will continue. By the time i visit gynae, my pills no more already.

Noodles, I'm from dec 2009 thread.

Vivi, wow... U super mummy!

I've been eating non stop geez...tat eat till I've heart burn... Hai yo.... Me tan chi ah...it seems like this Preggy appetite is good man....

So those FTWM have u all tell your bosses abt Preggy...think if I tell my bosses abt it think they will jump! To date, i've actually back in work last may only... Haizzzzzz... There goes my chances of any promotion....

Mummies, my sore breasts are back, my body siao siao already.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jojo

My morning sickness kicks in at the 5th week. It was really really bad during the 5th and 6th week..was feeling nauseous the whole day (from the moment i woke up)...and can vomit a few times a day. Had no appetite to eat or drink. It was so bad that I was dehydrated, and had to admit to the hospital for drip.

I am now into the 8th week...it's slightly better. But still feel nauseouse every now and then.

People has been telling me that it will just get better once in the 2nd trimester..i m so counting down to that!! Hopefully, it will really get better.