(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hi Rina,

U should try with grass jelly but after this pregnancy..:p

I hav not decided on which hospital yet since my gynae can deliver at TMC or Mt A.

My inputs as follows: Dr Goh Y.C., FTWM

Minidiary: tonight going out for dinner. Having Thai BBQ steamboat with friends. Hope I have appetite to eat.

Thank you Rina for the chart. My missing details are: dr ang Huai yan, Gleneagles and sahm.

wow ladies..thread running so fast.

Hi Hamrachleia and Sugarbabe!

Just came back from CNY lunch with client. Very bloated now..haha.

Thanks Rina for setting up the chart :p

Soon we will need to add in a Gender column..hehe

I haven't confirmed my gynae, currently its DR SH Chen and I'm a FTWM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

minidiary> i think gender of gynae not so important, as long as u feel at ease with him or her and like their style and service :p

BTW ur cycle is it about 28days? wonder why u try a few site also different edd..hmm..i went to try both the website they gave me the same edd. but no worries la, our gynae can confirm the dates for us then we update the chart [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rabbit bb,

haha i cant wait to be confirm by the gynae. so long to go... another 8days! ok ok i give chance to the male gynae. haha

my cycle btwn 30-33days. that's y maybe not accurate

Hi Ladies!

Tamms here reporting to the Oct 2011 thread. My edd is 2 Oct, this will be my second kid. #1 is now 26 months. My first checkup has been scheduled for 23 Feb, since no point going any earlier cos heartbeat can take up to 8 weeks to show up. During first preg, had spotting in weeks 5-6 but none for now. Despite spotting, I still travelled for work obligations, no porb at all, just took duphaston. In fact I took long flights during week 6 and week 22. Ladies who are travelling during these early weeks, just take care not to strain yourself.

Looking for a new obgyn for delivery at Mt. E, any doctor to recommend? Pref one with a package. My previous obgyn now has no package and has increased his delivery fee so I've decided to make a switch. Who is your obgyn, how old and what are the package and delivery fees?

Hi Luvagape,

Same same, I also saw the mind your body section and find that it is not that impossible to have VBAC. I asked my gynae he said provided my bb is not big. Cos my son is consider big and I am not dilating well that's why gone for emergency c-sec. Have you seen your gynae yet? How's his view on VBAC?

Tulips02,

Mine is induce as bb too big too. Actually the 6hrs labour pain is not that painful compared to Dr breaking my waterbag. I was being held down by 2 nurses and Dr poking something thru my vaginal. Damn painful till I keep tearing.

Hi Sugarbabe & Rachel,

Welcome

Rachel - I experienced brown spotting & bad cough too during nearing of CNY. Spotting stop ard this weekend and I rest well at home -sleep & eat. Did your Dr give you some medicine to take to stablise the pregnancy? I was given Duphaston and I am still taking now although the spotting stops. I went KKH O&G and was advised to limited my walking and not to carry my son. Afterwhich, I went to visit my gynae yesterday and can see bb's heartbeat and waterbag. Everything looks normal. So dun worry. As long as not bright blood should be ok. And rest well.

Regarding Birdnest - What I heard is not to take too much birdnest as it can cause asthma due to too liang. If wanna take, take at 3rd trimester. For my boy, I started taking birdnest at 3rd trimester and drink young coconut prior 1 month to delivery.

Rina,

No lar, haven't hear heartbeat just managed to see heartbeat blinking and waterbag. As I read from online that 6wks can see baby's heartbeat so I quickly go visit my gynae for an ease of mind. Wow, your #1 is quite big. My son was at 3.44kg at 37wks. I had too much durians at that time. Keke. Got to restrict this time. Thanks for the chart[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My gynae is Dr Adrian Woodworth and delivery at MAH. SAHM

Happyenough,

Your gynae Dr Ho how much is his charges? I heard he's good and queue is always long.

wow.. gals.. so interesting to change nicks to edd.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tks rina for helping to create the table.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my details: #2, 09/10/11, Dr Heng, Parkway East, SAHM

Welcome, Tamms!

amici_grapes - Dr Ho is very good and I feel comfortable with him. But he is very very expensive! My first consultation (as I was spotting so I had to see him without any appointment) came up to almost $450!!! This includes the emergency consultation ($150), vaginal scan, blood test, pre-natal vits and duphaston.

rina, i haven decided on a gynae yet so unable to update tt part, hahah... bt i'm at FTWM.

can check with u gals - hw much diff is delivering at KKH TPS vs TMC? i cant make up my mind which doc to choose...

Happyenough,

That's real expensive. Heard that his delivery charges are not cheap too but he is very famous at MAH. Very experience doctor so you are in good hands[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tamms - Welcome

That's a relief to hear, amici_grapes. :)

Can I find out from everyone what are the usual expenses after the first appt?

What's the average cost of each appointment x number of appointments? Or is there a package to sign up for?

hi Tamms, welcome! Sorry i dunno any good gynae from Mount E but i read from adverts that Dr Ann Tan is good. Not sure whether she offers package.

i didn't know that duphaston helps in getting rid of spotting.

hi amici, i'll see my gynae next Friday and will check with him again. During my 1st postpartum visit i did seeked his views on VBAC. his reply was "see how depends on condition". so i think he's neutral about it.

welcome sugarbabe & hamrachleia & tamms!!

luvagape, yes yes.. i hate tos prickling of fingers dunno how many times in a day... now when i tik back.. eeeeksss..

btw, we cannot drink any milk tea like koi or gong cha? i have craving for t but yet to buy

Amici: u went thru 6hrs of labour pain without epi?

My son was born at 38 weeks at 3.74kg. Lucky he willing to come out fast.

creamdonut, i'm not sure about KKH charges.

LC Cheng charges under package $1,175 before delivery and about $1K after delivery. Due to my case he saw me 15 times.

That worked out to $78 only exclude meds before delivery. i find it v reasonable as i also had to spend more $$ seeing a diabetic specialist at Mount E.

tenzero, yeah my poor fingers will gonna suffer that's why i'm trying my best not to be diabetic this time round.

thanks luvagape for ur info.

i jus called dr woo clinic and the nurse told me that his charges is $1400 for delivery, excl hosp charges. Is this the norm of quoting for all gynae?

Cos i previously asked other gynae's nurses n they will jus tell me the delivery charge with no mention of additional hosp charge, so i'm wondering if i need to factor in hosp charges for all the prev delivery quotes tt i got?

luvgape, yeah lor.. me too trying best to control diet too.. dunno if i can tell Dr not to take glucose test tis time round, n tell her i will b careful of wat i eat.. realy wanna avoid prick my fingers..

Tulip02,

Only with the help of laughing gas. After 6hrs of pain still can't dilate hence went to C-sec with half body epi to bring my son out.

hello tamms!!

so ease to hear that can travel. hehe

rina,

we can travel lo! haha as long as bb stable and maybe bring some necessary medicine together with us... enjoy HK! how's the milk? nice or not? u drink once or twice a day?

tulips02,

where's ur hubby? why at t2 geh? think im going to airport also on 16th Feb to meet my hubby. hahaha

amici: you best. Can tahan 6hrs without epi only with laughing gas. I think i will ask for epi straight away the 2nd time.

Minidiary: my hb just came back from JKT. He travel almost every week so Im always at the airport.

Hi Amici grapes,

Doc gave me turinal, put me on 1 week bed rest and was told to complete the course. I will be seeing my gynae tomorrow and will definitely update you all. Hopefully, I can return back to work next week.

old navy online sales again! 40% + 15% discount. the bb clothes just make me feel like buying. but dunno the gender, so difficult to buy...

creamdonut, the gynae charges is separate from the hospital charges. The hospital charges depends on the type of delivery.

caesarean rates is abt 3k, normal delivery w/o epi is abt 2k at TMC. there is also the nursery charges to think of too. You can use medisave to offset. mine was $400+ deduction per day.

the $1400 you quote, i dunno is it the same elsewhere. i think there are gynaes who offered a flat rate of $500 of gynae exclude hospital charges.

tenzero, yeah... i'll too try to ask but am sure they will not allow me cos i had to record down my readings in a book for them to refer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oic... so i tink in total there are 3 types of charges:

1) Prenatal charges with gynae, i.e. consulations, monthly scans, blood tests etc. certain gynae offers packages for this, ranging from $500 to $800 or more.

2) Delivery charges with gynae, i.e. how much the gynae takes home for delivering the baby. again, rates can be obtained from the gynae.

3) Hosp charges with the chosen hosp for both the stay of mother n baby, i.e. charges that are posted on the various hosp website.

ladies, is the above breakdown correct or i missed out anything?

Minidiary, I tried le.. Not too bad.. Drank once today nia.. Small cup to try out the taste.. Prob.. Drink once a day? Sufficient?

Re hospital charges, I think creamdonut is more or less there.. Then those Oscar test etc. is to pay separately when u go to the hospital to do the test..

rina,

if drink 2 glass a day, will it be heaty? because it's chocolate. haha i hope to get sample first... maybe i should ask from my gynae or see any pregnancy magazine.

i will follow my hubby because he's on biz trip. so accomodation booked aredi lo..

Minidiary, the chocolate content not strong de.. More to the milky type... Whr u stay? If convenient, I can pass some to u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ohhh.. Yah hor... Hmmm... Maybe I shld start bookg for hotel le..

been watching HK drama whole day, about 10 episodes.. im tired and bored le...

rina,

i stay in AMK. it's okay... i can ask from gynae first., think they will have

How was your Friday like?

Hi rina

Although my first ultrasound shows EDD 7 Oct 11 but i have a feeling it will change during my next visit on 19 Feb....(CAN'T WAIT!!!) :p So i cannot confirm yet. I also haven't chosen the hospital i want to give birth in...

But my bb is my first precious one (heehee!) and gynae is Dr. Adrian WOODworth...FTWM too.

Thanks Rina, mah fan ni le! btw where did u plan to go in Mar? i think a few of us have trips prebooked in Mar...i oso dono can fly or not at week 10-11...intend to ask doc...as for ABC Drink, Beetroot supposed to be high in iron, apple is a neutral fruit - neither heaty nor liang...plus carrot got carotene...should be ok to drink bah as long as drink in moderation...hee

i approve myself. :p

Eh, Pray&Love becomes minidiary? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How have you been lately? oh dear, hugss...your hb will be home in no time! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi rabbitbb,

Your EDD same as me hor...hope you don't mind sharing with us on your gynae appt tomorrow ....you should be in your 6 weeks now , right? So excited for you! i still gotta wait another week...sigh..

Hi tulips02

oh is it? then i better limit my lamb intake..cos i was deficient in iron, last time doc ask me eat more red meat ...

Hi Amici grapes,

Oh you can see your bb heartbeat at 6 weeks? cool! that means i would be able to see nxt saturday cos i will be 7 weeks by then. hurray!

Hi Hamrachleia

How come cannot eat chicken and peanuts?

I start to feel hungry esp around 3pm...piang...like that sure put on weight easily..fat

I think the website due date calculator is not accurate one....it doesn't take into account irregular menses etc. ultrasound one seems more accurate i think.

Not sure if anyone has same situation as me.

This morning wake up wash up my stuck nose and realise got blood but sticky type...its not bleeding but wonder if this is becos body heaty or what???? i normally dont have this !! :-S

Here are some info (from my hb)on the fish that we pregnant mommies can or cannot it depending on its mercury level.

LOWEST MERCURY

Eat 2-3 servings a week (pregnant women and small children should not eat more than 12 ounces (2 servings):

* Anchovies

* Catfish

* Clam

* Crab

* Crawfish

* Flounder

* Haddock

* Herring

* Mackerel

* Mullet

* Oyster

* Perch

* Pollock

* Salmon

* Sardine

* Scallop

* Shrimp

* Sole

* Squid

* Tilapia

* Trout

* Whitefish

MODERATE MERCURY

Eat six servings or fewer per month (pregnant women and small children should avoid these):

* Bass

* Carp

* Cod

* Halibut

* Lobster

* Mahi Mahi

* Monkfish

* Perch

* Snapper

* Tuna (Canned Chunk light)

HIGH MERCURY

Eat three servings or less per month (pregnant women and small children should avoid these):

* Bluefish

* Grouper

* Sea Bass

* Tuna (Canned Albacore, Yellowfin)

HIGHEST MERCURY

Avoid eating (everyone):

* Marlin

* Orange Roughy

* Shark

* Swordfish

* Tilefish

* Tuna (Ahi)

thanks rina for pointing out on the costs of the additional tests!

so does it mean that there are total 4 charges i need to take in?

shuacks, its turning out to be quite a bomb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Guava,

thanks alot for the fish thingy. I have save into my MS Word doc.. haha

ya im so lonely here... just now puke some horlicks out. Lonely till I feel like wanna vomit!

im goin to rest early tonight. hopefully i can sleep...

Guava,

you have same appt with me! Let's countdown to 19th feb..

Hi Tamms..welcome here~

Hey Hey Guava> thanks for the "fishy" info :p haha..Yeah same edd! nice~~

tml gg gynae will confirm again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually very nervious cos I don't have any symptom *touchwood* other then on off boobies pain. I'm very nervious cos it seems like have ms then will feel like I'm preggie :s I'm really keeping my fingers, toes, eyes crossed for tml's scan...

Oh its mentioned that eating peanuts will put your infant at increased risk for peanut allergy. Hazelnut, cashew nut and walnut is ok though..you could read more here.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_it_safe_to_eat_peanuts_while_pregnant

today been a day of eating and gorging. Lunch is 6 course CNY lunch with a fattening suckling pig then just now dinner has set at Watami, so much in the set we cannot finish all the things..was at J8 saw gong Cha but cannot drink..so sad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

minidiary , sleep well...i will sing lullaby song from here to you...hee

rabbit bb, me oso not much symptoms except backache, on off boobies pain. my sis told me she doesn't have any when she was pregnant 2 years ago. so i guess it varies , depend on each woman. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also worry at first but later my hb nag me say why i think so negative - must think positive. i guess he's right also cos sis says the mama's feelings will affect baby next time. a happy mama will have a happy baby. so, i try not to think too much.

So, rabbit bb, hope you can see your bb tomorrow via scan...so excited for you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]