(2011/10) Oct 2011

Cereal

We bought one cereal from the Chinese medical hall which specify from 4 myths onwards. Initially we tried to mix the cereal with the milk but bb reject. So now my mil just mix the cereal with water and feed directly to bb with spoon. Bb eat the cereal so far. I also bought the fruits purée from Heinz which specify 4 to 6 mths. This my bb already ate semi solid food fm 4 mths onward . Sometimes I also scrapped tiny bits of my fruits for my bb to eat...

Tummy

Now I still have the tummy n pp also offered their seats to me in mrt n bus. So sad ....

Hi, what's your baby's feeding schedule like?

I recently started solids on my boy and wonder how do I incorporate both the solids and milk into his mealtime.

I've read some mothers feed 6 to 7 times a day with one feeding of milk and solids the other.

coco: can share what brand of cereal is that? the one i feeding now is cerelac, but it says 6mths onwards.

jeanne walz: i think if just started then is use the meal replacement method. i.e. start with replacing one milk feed with one solid feed. but i think if only 1 milk feed a day is for older babies?

I am an Oct mummy too and have been reading your postings which I enjoyed reading coz I have learnt alot from you muumies.

May I ask is it advisable to introduce cereal to him now? He's 4 and a half months old. Some books recommend 5mths, others said 6mths but I'm aching to feed him cereal. ;P esp nowadays, I can see my boy trying to open his mouth whenever we are having our meal.

and yah, regarding about tummy, I still have that lump of fats around my waistline too...is tough to get rid of it.

I have another query...Does anyone have any problem with posting in the marketplace? I can't seem to post message in the marketplace...

Gina ford book say that up to 6 mth milk is still most impt and any food solid should just as supplement as filler and introduce different taste.. She also teaches how to progressively replace milk feed to 3 solid meal a day and this process take up a few months

I think mummies should get a guideline not only Gina ford but other information source on how to introduce solid so bb will not be suffer if we give wrongly

My friend started to buy commercial food jar and feed her boy and also porridge when bb is 5 mth and he manage to eat up the whole jar.. But Gina ford recommend only 1 to 2 teaspoon of white rice per day for the 1st week. My friend bb end up

Having severe diarrhea for 2 week

So we mommies really need to be careful

Thanks, creamdonut. I fed him rice cereal during lunch but the guideline from the can state only 100ml. So I supplement 120ml of milk which he finishes everything. That's why I don't think only the cereal will be enough. I'm also wondering if it's too much for him.

Kit, I introduce rice cereal to him when he was 4.5 months. I think you can test on him if he's ready. Example his tongue thrust reflex has disappeared, he can hold his head up well etc.

Maycat, I totally agree with you. Whichever sources we get info from it's just a guideline. It all depends on your baby and his development.

Possible for more Oct mommies to share your baby's feeding schedule at their current age?

bubblygeekypig,

hahaha. very funny. i read your post and had a big smile. i was thinking to buy those with a hole in the centre but worried baby donn't ready???

my bb born early oct but development quite slow. can sit by himself, neck also not strong so i guess he is abit slow. its ok as long as he stays healthy i guess i have to be patient. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so for me no way i can feed him cereal so early. he can't even finish his milk at times and he is not drinking much. hmmmm....

guess all babies are different.

yes, if there is any online reference to show receipe for cooking baby porridge. do share. it will be easier and cheaper than buying a book for me.

Thanks Olivesyoghurt. Will try feeding my boy with rice cereal. White rice first is it?

Pillow-we got the pillow with a dent in the middle as his head was flat on his left. I was afraid initially that he might not be ready for pillow. but he sleeps on it well and helps in a way from preventing his head getting flatter.

Thanks Olivesyoghurt. Will try feeding my boy with rice cereal. White rice first is it?

Pillow-we got the pillow with a dent in the middle as his head was flat on his left. I was afraid initially that he might not be ready for pillow. but he sleeps on it well and helps in a way from preventing his head getting flatter.

Cereal

The brand is moon rabbit Si sen brown rice powder. I saw the prime supermarket selling this too. There r few variety n I bought the cereal with ikan bilis. The packaging is not nice n very cheena. But it is made in spore, so shld be safe..

Pillow with hole

Actually I let my bb sleep with the pillow wit the hole since she is ard 2 weeks old. When she was born , her head is very dented at one side... After usin this pillow, her head is round liao... Now we let her sleep using the flat pillow as she sleep on her side nowadays .

Hi bubblygeekypig and pofy, im using M size pigeon teat now. Baby drinking 140ml of milk and so far the milk + cereal can pass through the teat. It's still quite liquified.

MERRIES DIAPER

I personally like it as its very dry but it's very exp too. I intend to use it at night only. Recently bought PAMPERS at ntuc coz there's promo. It's $0.24 per pc.

CEREAL

I got Organix whole grain cereal from 4 mths. Gluten-free.

I also just got Healthy Time brown rice cereal but I will only start brown rice later.

Feeding time table

So far my pd gave me a weaning schedule and I'm only on my 3rd day. Should have start earlier but that time I haven't decide which cereal to buy. By right, should start feeding cereal from spoon at 5th month.

PURÉE

what are you using to make? My fren says Philip has a machine quite good and convenient.

I only have this link for making purée. If you are interested can take a look:

http://www.babycenter.com/2_how-to-make-baby-food-at-home_10345849.bc

RECEIPE

I only managed to get this for 6-8 months:

http://www.babycenter.com/100_baby-food-recipes-by-bridget-swinney_10326156.bc

BABY SLEEP PATTERN

are ur babies still sleeping long hours? My mil has been telling me that my bb has been sleeping 2 hours only in the day as compared to last time it's kind of reduced by an hour to 2.

pofy: i am an oct10 mum, my baby is 16 months old already..hope you dun find me too kpo..just to share my own porridge recipe with you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies who like baby wearing here? Do check out our latest range of Korean baby carriers. LIKE us if you can! Thank you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pofy

My BB is jus like urs born early Oct.. he need support to sit n will topple.. he also doesn't drink much.. but nowadays he seems like keep chewing thou there's nthg in his mouth so was thinking he might start weaning alr..

Winny

Thanx! Was thinking shld I start from giving him from bottle or spoon. Anyway I havent buy any puree or cereal yet.

Hi enmummy, you have a very detailed pregnancy and baby blog. How I wish I could be as hardworking as you. Thank you for sharing.

My pd ask me to start bottle now to let her taste abit of cereal. I tried and it doesn't taste bad. Today is the 4th day so I would increase to 2 milk feeds with cereal for the next 3 days.

I'll start with spoon in another 2 weeks I guess.

Pofy, it's alright for them to be slow as long as they're healthy. My boy was born early oct too and I think his development is the same as your boy....hehe.

Telez, I started him with Frisocrem. It's a rice-based milk cereal. I wanted to start him with brown or red rice but that time he's still too young. My mum says Eu Yen Seng has the one that's been grounded to powder.

Winny thx for all the info ;)

BABY SLEEP PATTERN

For my boy, during nappy time it varies between 1 to 3 hrs nap and he nap for 3-4 times during the day. We usually put him down to bed before 9pm at night and he'll usually sleep through the night until 6am

olivesyoghurt,

yes! i agree too. its ok lah. as long as he is healthy the rest not important for me. now he is like humpty dumpty. i let him sit, he will topple to one side. the first time he topple he was shocked. he look and wondered what happened. it was very funny.

bubblygeeky,

my baby no chew action. only sucking action. such all his fingers one by one. sometimes suck till got sound and bibs change many many. i bring at least 7 to ifc to let them change cos he always wet his bibs.

enmummy,

thanks for sharing. i note down your porridge instruction already. for me no slow cooker so i guess i will just cook on the spot before he eats.

winny,

merries very expensive leh. pampers got discount?

24 cents for night i think still ok for me. i will go check it out this weekend. your pd gave weaning guide? so nice. mine didn't. i ask him he told me not yet, don't rush so i just shut up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i must have sounded like a super anxious mummy. hahaha.

puree,

my fren suggested using a sieve. then i need not buy those electronic ones. so i most likley will take up her suggestion so as to save some money.

Coco,

don't be sad. i am also like that, big tum tum still. sigh. at least we are not alone. so i guess we have to bear with it and give it some time before it will go away. i also get offered seats in the mrt. funny thing is when i was really pregnant i don't get offered, now big tummy but baby out already, i get offered seat. sigh.

i will go buy the pillow with the hole to try since all of you have tried and ok. lets hope he likes it if not waste money.

winny: you are welcome...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my motivation to write comes from my wish that my baby can read the blog herself when she is older...hehe...but as you can see...i am slacking quite a bit recently...cos' my baby is keeping me as busy as a bee...

btw for cereal, healthy times is not bad...i feed my girl brown rice stage 1 during early weaning and now she is having mixed grain stage 2...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pofy, that's funny, he must have been so cute with his shocked expression. Same like mine, humpty dumpty, at times he can get mad too when he couldn't get up on his own. That's what's been keeping me busy now.

Maybe I'll try giving him brown rice next. My sister use to give my nieces Si Sen with porridge.

I'm heading to US soon, anyone have any idea which cereal from US is good? Wonder if they've brown rice cereal.

Pofy

My BB also suck his fingers n thumb till got sound but recently we went out n he saw us having dinner n soon aft he begin his chewing action alr Haha!

My collg say she feed her son brown rice cereal mix wif milk when he reach 6 mths n it's thru bottles but bot those teats specially for semi soild food. It has got bigger holes.

Its been a long time since I log in. Have been really stressed at work.

I have recently started semi-solid food and given him Bellamy organic baby rice for 4mths old. You can find them in NTUC finest or Cold Storage.

Also stock up a brown rice si shen from Yu Ren Sheng (approx. $16/bottle) which was recommended by one of my friends. However, this is more hassle as you need to cook under slow fire.

Hi! What is pillow with hole? My bb has been sleeping on a spOnge pillow with slight round dent in the middle. Is it that?

She also sleeps on bean pillow but every day her head and her pillow are far apart coz she can move while sleeping. From vertical to horizontal.

Pofy, I know. Merries so exp so I nagged at my hubby when he bought it but I know he meant well.

Bubblygeekypig, is there teat for semi solid food? Can I tell me where I can buy them?

Hi mommies, do you know if we can feed bb uncooked apples from 6th months? My mil told me she wants to feed my bb apples using spoon but the books and Internet all say cooked apples.

Any advise?

Winny, I think it's ok to feed them uncooked apples. My confinement lady use to tell me to feed it to my boy when he starts turning 5 to 6 month. Some of my friends did that too.

Winny

Not sure where to get it but I suppose some ntuc is selling, my collg say avent no 3 teats n e package is in pink. E teat is is not round but a little long so e semi solid food can pass thru better.

Anyone noe if we have to cook or warm those Heinz puree or can feed direct from bottle. Tat seems more convenient than cereal. But i saw have to discard within 48hrs.. was thinking of letting BB try tat so i won't be feeding him tat much within such a short period of time. If throw away v waste leh..

Just wanna know from the mummies here how much milk does ur little one drinks? My boy was borned early oct 2011 and he drinks maximum 4oz one go. His first and sometimes last feed is like about 2oz. Total in a day he drinks about 18 to 22oz of milk. It works the same with and without 1oz of brown rice added to his milk. Compare to my #1, it's very different.

He is about 6kg. Very active, loves jumping esp in his jumperoo. Day time take 2-3 half an hour naps.

Stacy, my boy was born in early oct11 too. Here's his feeding volume; before I started him on solids he drinks about 840ml a day. Sinced I started solids he drinks about 670ml with rice cereal for lunch and mash potato for dinner. And he's about 8kg now.

But I think as long as ur boy is constantly putting on weight, is a happy and active baby, poo and pee regularly, there's no need to worry about their consumption amount.

I remember when he was between 1 to 2 months old, there're times he drink really little a day.

hi olivesyoghurt, my boy since birth been drinking very little (comapred to my #1). he consume 4oz (apprx. 120ml) when he is about 4mths old. now just adding 1oz of brown rice into his 4oz milk. if not he will cry for milk after 2 hours. with brown rice, he drinks milk 3 hourly. i only give him cereal once day in between his milk hours like a supplement. mil insist must feed him more to prolong his feeding hours. so she will force feed him 5oz sometimes. =.=

and he will drink lesser to none when he is very tired. so his nap time also affects.

Hi olivesyoghurt

thanks for the infor. Can this be bought from Cold Storage or NTUC? May I ask how's the feeding schedule is liked? Then do we increase his intake slowly from there? If my boy has been doing the chewing act, does this mean he's ready for solids and I can try feeding him with a soft spoon?

so sorry for so many questions but am really quite blur on how to start him on solids. ;P

Stacy, I guess some babies do drink lesser and sleep lesser than others. I've got a gf whose baby gal is just 2 weeks younger than mine but also drink only 120ml per feed the most. Another gf has an 8 month old baby and also drink n sleep very little.

Telez, no worries, we're all here to share.

you can get it from cold storage or some pharmacy (guardian) not sure if NTUC hv it, I bought mine from Jason's. There's a feeding guide on the can itself.

I usually feed my boy cereal during lunchtime, but I gave him cereal alone with a spoon rather than mixing it into his milk. So when he gets up in the morning around 6am i'll give him milk only then cereal + milk for lunch and mash potato + milk for dinner then before he goes to bed between 8 to 9pm I'll just give him milk. He has 4 feeds a day.

Go to this website, they'll tell you how to test and see if your baby is ready for solids http://www.marchofdimes.com/baby/feeding_solidfoods.html

Telez, I also had problem with posting on the marketplace, just can't post or reply at all. I have pm the admin but no reply. Anybody know what to do?

I gave my boy an apple and banana on separate occasions to gum/lick abit. I didn't puree..hahah, I just let him hold on his own and see what he will do. He seems to like both fruits! Very cute the way he licks the banana! I'm planning to try steamed carrots next, but waiting until he turned 6 mths fully.

I want to buy organic rice cereal but there's so many brands and I don't know which one to choose so I'm reading the comments here and still deciding.

When I saw my baby licking the fruits, my feeling was like, wow another milestone, growing up so fast!

Hi olivesyoghurt, thanks. apparently my friends bb and my #1 are big eaters. so this little fellow makes me really worried.

telez, sorry, kaypoh here. you can try feeding him cereal with a baby spoon already but he wont really eat initally as he wont know how to. they will push everything out using their tongue so prepare a box of tissue or cloth nearby. my boys also started on frisocrem and they love it. for me i started as a supplement, to help him learn to eat and swallow and will only substitue cereal for a milk feed when my boy is at least 6mths.

Stacy, I know how you feel when your baby don't eat that much, I was worried too hahaha. There's this once when he didn't poo for 1.5days I was so worried that I brought him to see the PD then the PD said its normal for babies to not poo sometimes for a few days. Sorry, may I ask how old is your boy?

Telez, ya I agree with Stacy, my boy also make a BIG mess with his hands and fingers all in his mouth and face. I use a spoon too to feed him but at this point they're still learning how to eat with a spoon so a lot of food will tend to flow out of their mouth. It's like they're confuse as whether to suck the food that's coming into their mouth.

Hi Stacy, my boy (first week oct) is drinking 100ml to 120ml per feed. His first feed of the day is about 60ml. He weighs 6.8kg. I was also worried at first and his weight is on the 50th percentile. Couldn't force feed him as he will turn his head left and right to escape the bottle.

But ok lah, after seeing that he is happy, peeing and pooping, I realised that all babies are different and mine is just a small eater.

Mummies, can I check -- are your babies pooping everyday now? Or a few days in between?

olivesyoghurt, my #2 just turned 5mths (#1 is 7yo).

love, same thing! first feed about 2oz, weighs a tiny bit over 6kg and is on the 50th percentile and there's no way to force feed. he will literally spit out his milk! like some water gun. =.= problem is mil dont believe got such thing, small eater and she will force feed him.

initally i was very worried as i was suspected to have a gastric ulcer during pregnancy and i was on a lot of gastric medications. but pd also says that bb is just probably a small eater and since he is still growing well, its fine.

both my boys dont poo daily. both about 1-4 days, depending on what they eat, put in the mouth and how much energy they exert. sometimes while playing, they poo. haha. guess they push wrong muscle. as long as the poo is still soft, its fine.

I've the following to let go:

- Pupsik sling size M $35

- BN Playskool busy balls patterns & colours $15

- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10 & FOC 18 breastpads

- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50

- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00

- BN Nuk Anti colic wide neck teat 1 0-6m (silicone) $5

- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65

- 2 boxes of Tollyjoy napkin liners 200 pcs $10

- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $10 each

- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350

- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Every since I changed the teat to M size, my bb seems to be wanting more milk so I'm giving her 170ml per feed. I'm not sure if it's too much. I would add 1 teaspoon to her milk for morning and evening feed. And her next feed is still the same interval - 4 hours.

My boy sometimes poo once every wk but sometimes 3x a wk.. sometimes when he fart s little of e poo will be pushed out too. He's also a small eater drinking 80ml or so n doesn't really slp much..

Just to share, i sometimes (once a week as a supplement) give my boy probiotic which helps their gut to have better and easier digestion as baby's digestive tract is still immature at this age. Personally I think it did help my boy to digest better. There're times when my boy will poo twice a day and so far he's been pooing on a daily basis.

thanks mummies for the advices. Will get Frisocream and try giving him this weekend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My boy(born end Oct) is drinking about 180 -210 ml now. This can last him for only 4 hours.Oh yah, he's on formula now. PD just commented that he's a good drinker and didn't ask us to cut down on his feed...so I guess we have been topping up according to his demand. Hope this is not too much.

He poos every alternate day but these few days, the poo is just a bit, unliked the usual big bomb.

Olivesyoghurt, where can I get the probiotic?

Love Everyday - I have also written to the administrator on this problem...and have yet to receive a reply. Guess we will have to wait?

If I hear anything, will let you know.

Olivesyogurt, can let me know what brand of probiotics you are giving and can it be bought from guardian/watsons? TIA! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Telez...I wonder if it's coz we have to chalk up a number of posts first. Hmm.

My boy is pooping every 4 days and when it comes, it's a monster gravy kind of poop. Will flow out of the diaper and stain our clothes. A nightmare when we are out shopping! Im using pampers as huggies can't take this volcano eruption too well. But now it seems like even Pampers is failing...

Has this happen to your babies also? I'm wondering if this monster poop is a cause for concern.

The probiotic brand is call BioGaia, you can only get it at your PD, they don't sell it at regular pharmacy. Below I hv a link which you can either email or call them to check where is their nearest distributor you can purchase from.

http://www.mims.com/Singapore/Company/Info/Age%20D'or%20Healthcare

My PD recommended me this when he was just over a month and told me that will help them digest better. It's recommended to give 5 drops to baby. They have to be refrigerated and it is an oil base supplement so you'll have to bring it out from the fridge, let it stand for about 3mins then give it to baby, it'll allow the oil to flow faster and out of the bottle.

I usually drip the oil drops onto a spoon before I give it to my boy. If its too difficult to feed through spoon for you, you can drip them into their water or normal room temperature liquid that you're going to feed them, because hot temperature will somewhat destroy the Lactobacillus reuteri.

Some of you may wanna check this with your PD before you give it to your baby. Otherwise, plain yoghurt will equally do the same job to their gut. I choose this supplement because they're 100% probiotic rather than plain yoghurt where there's always preservatives in them. But it's up to you mothers. There's no right or wrong, whatever works.

I also have a link below to the BioGaia website, you can read up on it for more info.

http://www.biogaia.com/