(2011/08) Aug 2011

Shane, John Tee is head of og/gyn at KK so he's good. but expect to pay private prices even though it's KK. good luck and let us know how it goes.

hi shane, no i was seeing dr benjamin tham and he was also at kk amk clinic. but dr tham moved to tmc so i followed him, else i'd go back to amk clinic cos the wait is very short since everyone sticks to their appt time and the clinic is very modern!

hope i can joined in the group... m currently expecting #3. EDD is 21 August according to my last visit. m seeing Dr C.H.Koh. will be delivering at Mt. A.

notice a few mummies r feeling cold too... haha.. i thought i m getting weaker coz is my #3.. guess is normal le...

huisi

think positively.. it's a blessings u know.. i got preg with #1 immediately after marriage as well and was a little paiseh to tell our parents.. but we overcame that as everyone is so excited for us! CNY is coming soon so might be double happiness as it's gd time to annouce the gd news. I'm glad i have her and always look forward to go home to her. My sweetie pie is 16months today.

As for me now... #2 i tot it came at the wrong time as well.. i'm still wondering when is a gd time to tell my boss esp since i only started for 2nd month only. Mayb near CNY? sigh... and i have yet to go for my 1st appt as i wanted a sat.. earliest date was 22nd.. 10more days from now... counting down!

sobe: thanks.. will keep a lookout for CL when time is nearer..

caramelle: mil's health is not very good although she is much younger than my mum.. sometimes when we go out eat.. walk a while she feel tired liao.. and she get sick easily... say me selfish, but I worried that if she is sick, her germs will pass to my bb... and I dun wan my sil to blame me if mil get sick becos of my bb...

Hi SY, I used to work in NUH, comfortable with the setting + currently working in another healtcare sector, and I'll be entited to subsidy, that's why. Have u been to the delivery suite? it's nicely renovated too! am excited again...as i've an appointment with Dr Chua tml. gonna see my bb again.

Btw, Prof Mary Rauff is a very nice doctor. Since I've been seeing Dr Chua for many years so i decide to stick to her... i do heard from my boss that my gynae used to be very fierce... hee hee.. but i do notice she tone down alot le and most important, i'm comfortable with her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..

haha Shane, good luck ok? his first consultation should be $85 and subsequent is $60. KK no pkg.

milkyway, im also 2 months into the job. how???

huisi, hmmm tricky...any chance your area might have CL who dont mind to come ur place in the day and go back at night?

PiPi:

I bought mine from hush puppies and mondo. Quite nice.

Cheerypie:

I stopped my supplements too. Replaced them with prenatal vitamins.

SY - I was very week in my 5-6 weeks. I was pale, feeling cold and cannot sit long on chair. I always need to lie down on bed, even when I went to hospital(KK). My doc asked my mum to cook easily digestable food for me, and brew more chicken soup for me. I decided to take chic essence cos it the essence, and I want to build up my body so that my bleeding will stop. Maybe I will check w doc this Fri.

But so far, my bleeding has stopped. *cross fingers* and I am more rosy now. But still need to lie on bed as I can't sit long.

Thank you Fleur, I will do some light shopping (hopefully not to much $ damage) this Fri, after my appt at KK.

Huisi,

I think it's better to pay $ and get a confinement lady cos MIL, you cannot tell her off or ask her to do this/that for you. My mum also told me to get CL cos she is working and I think my mum is not confident to cook confinement food for me. Hee hee.

Can B6 vitamins prevent vomiting? I should request it from my gynae cos I am puking every nite. It's disgusting...

caramelle - That's what the doc told me. But I cannot "tahan". Sometimes I will eat prawns and flower crabs too. My fav is tom yum soup, cos my mum will put both prawns and flower crab in the soup. My mum told me to eat what I want, like to eat...cos if baby don't like, I will puke it all out at night. (which I agree) Cos if I don't eat anything, baby will go hungry. Sometimes, when I cannot eat anything, my mum will cook watery porridge and I will have it with those bottled beancurd w chilli and seaseme oil, or preserved olives, or soy beans w ginger. (very unhealthy salty stuff)

Hi pipi

I think vitamin b6 is suppose to help in curbing the nausea. I m prescribed with florxine which is a combi of folic acid & vitamin b6 which is suppose to help (tho I m still puking, it's reduced - not too sure if it's becoz m at 10 weeks or due to the medication) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

huisi: positive thinking... if MIL is there to give a helping just take it for the moment till someone better comes into the pic.

CL: if there is no space for her to sleep, she might not hv proper rest which she needed to. MAybe you want to do Confinement Catering instead while, u can be that caregiver. But this will be extremely tiring, and u will need all the rest.

hello mtbs!

im very happy today because... I NEVER PUKE - woohoo! I cannot believe this its been like i forgot how long tht i haven't been feeling normal like today haha sry i knw am bit over excited but nonetheless i hope other mummies are having a sunshine day like me too ;)

hi carole,

went for my first visit today.

edd changed to 22nd Aug due to long cycle time =)

thank you for updating.

asked doctor, she say of course can eat pineapple tarts. permission to eat whole bottle!

haha. as long as its cooked its ok!

i love seafood now! doc gives go ahead to eat too! so happy.

but hv been vomiting almost everyday... especially when i eat eggs and chee cheong fun...

now only 8 wks...

still hv 4 more wks to go... haiz...

For those mummies who asked abt my massage lady, her name is Hazizah and hp no. Is 9845 1058. Sorry ar, lazy to pm cos I'm always using hp to surf web, so kinda hard to pm individually.

Anyone felt movements already? I felt some bubbly movements near my womb area, not sure if it's wind or baby moving! I'm pretty sure I've nv felt wind at that area before, but I think it's too early to be able to feel movements leh.

Hello Shane! I dunno exactly but suspecting my MS slowly over soon? I started MS since wk5 n now on my wk9+ thinking it shd be time? I'm really happy abt this but hubby seems worried as doc said vomitting's good as hormones stable.. so i dunno but feeling good! I hope tmr will be the same? will update again hehe..

Oh and i realize i eat more today too.. as in i munch sthg almost every hour, be it biscuit/sunsweet prunes/mentos candy or even some cny goodies ie love letters [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] pray hard tmr only gets better n better!

I was having 2slices of pizza and 2drumsticks as dinner.

Feel happy coz I didn puke all them out ( but still puke abit)

hope ms slowing down

Hello all, good for u bellering. My vomiting started 3 days ago right at the start of week9. All the sour sour water got vomited at night time. At the moment, it is abt 1-2 times a day. Hope that is the max.....and ms quickly over!!!!

Mama: pizza n drumsticks sound tempting!

hope4baby: aw poor thing but am a lil surprise of ur MS only comes after wk9.. wow

Shane: yeah my gynae keeps telling me that thou i do suspect she may be saying tat just to ease me? well i prefer to hv better appetite like other mummies n guess its been enuf of pukings for me.. yukes

Jes: thanks so helpful of u.. i have saved the num and will try contact wif the massage lady in later stage =)

I'm at the end of my 10th week now, just when I was telling my cousin my ms is getting better, it came back again.. Argh.. Dunno whether is it due to pantang-ness.

caramelle> I was also seeing Dr Benjamin Tham for my #1, then now seeing Dr John Tee at KKH because i dun like TMC.

Shane> So far i find Dr John Tee very "chop chop" kind. I'm always out from consultation room within the next 5 mins. Probably he feels that my baby growing ok, so no extra concerns. But he is always very "generous" giving me the u/s scan pics to bring home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, i got a shock this morning. Been constipating n finally managed to force sth out this morning. But was shocked to see a long strip of white substance. I went to 'pick' it up n found out it was the progesterone cream but it's been at least 2 weeks since I last inserted the cream inserts. Looks like it's not absorbed at all. I'm really puzzled.

Sweetpaine> Thanks for asking. My appt was only yesterday, so i didn't know what to reply you earlier.

Here's how my review went... took BP and found it was quite high yesterday 147/86. Probably i didn't sleep well the night before. Dr Tee did a tummy scan this time. Although he say its as not clear, but baby should be 36mm long now. He started me on Obimin and asked me to continue with my folic tablets. I also went for the bood test ( 3 panel test??) - This was not mentioned prior my appointment. My Gynae also offered me to take the Down Syndrom test, but i declined. (Too expensive la, and the results only gives u percentage reading. Not a definate "yes" or "no".)

I asked Gynae if i should be taking calcium supplements and fish oil supplements, he say still early.

Will be back to see him in 6 weeks time !!

pauline > for the fish oil supplement, i asked my dr (dr woodworth) on monday, he told me i can start.. and i'm only at my 9th week this week..

but cos my vomiting have been quite bad recently (getting worse these few days), my hubby ask me to rest from milk supplement (as advised by doc too) as well as the fish oil... so i have not start on my fish oil yet...

but i was quite surprised he said i could start cos i tot normally start at week 12?

Cac> Actually hor, i am already taking Neurogain once in a while.. He say still early to start, then i not taking that on a daliy basis.

Cac, do you mean we should not start taking fish oil too early?

By the way, I'm in search of a confinement lady. Can the mummies here tell me what I should look out for / ask when looking for a CL?

good morning mummies and welcome new mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bellering, that's good news that ur MS is easing! i will wait for my turn patiently -- m running to toilet to puke sour sour water a few times a day...

hope4baby, hi5, i m puking sour sour water, too... not at nite though -- mine is throughout the day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] maybe you can try bellering's method -- munching something every 1-2hr?

jes, did u start ur massage straight after birth? for my #1, i started mine on the last week of confinement -- not so effective...

Shane> I was thinking they might have told you the cost for first consultation. Subsequent consultation is slightly lower rate. Sorry i don't have my bills with me, so can't remember.

Nonetheless, yesterday my bill came up to about $160++ , repeated consultation + routine test + blood test + 2 bottles of Obimin.

Adv sports> mine started on the first week after I gave birth leh, but mine is natural birth. Think c section she will advise u to start a week or two after u discharge.

I have puke again yesterday nite. Sour and bitter...and today, woke up with a headache. OMG! When is this going to end? I am at week 10 and will be doing blood test and seeing gynae tomr.(yeah!)

Pauline,

Is Obimin a kind of DHA vitamin? I heard my friend telling me that I should ask the gynae to prescribe to me cos it's good for the baby.

jes, mine is natural, too.. but i was having great pain recovering from stitch wound as I was not taking pain killer... so, only called the massage lady on the last week.. oh, this time, will try to start on the first week -- keeping my fingers crossed that #2 will be natural...

Shane,

nope nt with Dr Tee, my mom was with him @ KKH, so normally i tag along for her checkup. Quite nice guy.

Pipi, obimin is a multi-vits

huisi, u r fr singaporebrides 2010 thread? im happygirl198230! so we are both preggy so fast! it also took me by surprise, but its a gift to us, so i really appreciate it a lot! hee hee...

i think if u are really keen on confinement lady, better book soon. last few days i started calling and was shocked to hear that my first 2 choices were booked! finally booked one, but not sure if she is good. $2200. that is standard price right? one CL quoted me $2800. i tot that was expensive...

dandelion, guess that is a sign of poor indigestion.... i find tt whatever i eat makes me so bloated!

ladies, i really put on so much weight since discovering my pregnancy. cos i was actually on a diet before tt to lose weight for wedding. then i stopped dieting and now my weight has increased like 4 kg! i dunno how to stop it fr increasing cos like not supposed to diet, must eat regular meals. and try telling a pregnant lady not to eat when she feel hungry... i feel like im depriving my baby fr growing if i dun eat when hungry. argh..... help!!!!

Dandelion > no, i don't mean that.. it's just that when the nurse saw my record card indicate to give me fish oil, the other nurse ask if i 12 weeks already.. i was abit worried. so i asked the nurse, usually we take fish oil at 12 weeks? then she replied, ya but doc indicated that you can take..do u want? so i just buy..

then i read the brochure it says "need to include in mummy's diet from beginning of 2nd trimmester"....

Hmm... i wonder, mayb i shouldn't doubt my doc? mayb eat also no harm, just mayb become reserves in my body?

Adv sports> yar think it's better to start earlier, before all the fats and water retention settles into permanent state.. But depends on ur wound also, my gynae stiched pretty well for my #1, I could move ard freely and go toilets without huge pain, so hope it's the same for this time. *cross fingers*

gosh, now I have this major craving for braised sesame

chicken with rice, but don't think they hv any at raffles place!

morning all... anyone got the litte heartburn feeling? my nausea feeling is reducing but got this heartburn and breathless feeling these few days..

nausea feeling happens when I am doing nth or when I came out from the train... so far ok.. though still feel tired...

caramelle: mostly prob i will hire a CL... hubby say he dun mind sacrifice the bed for the CL and he can slp in the living room... see how then..

bunny mummy: yes I was from sgbrides 2010... congrats to u too =)

need to book CL so fast? I still dunno which CL is good sia..

speaking of weight... think I am the only one whose weight din change.. only a little bloatedness on my tummy.. my appetite is not as good and I cant eat much also... wonder will affect the bb or not...

Bunny mummy> nvm lah, we eat now, diet after confinement! I also gained alot of weight, more than 2kg now, and I'm only at my 10th week!

Wah, $2800 is super exp! Mine charged me $2100 and I'm already wondering if I'm paying too much. Think now market rate is higher than before, it used to be between $1800 - $2000 previously. But since is colleague's recommendation think should be ok. *cross fingers* heard so much horror stories abt CLs, don't dare to engage without any friend's recommendation. I've tried calling a contact given on one of the forum, and the aunty sounds calculative and unreliable.. Pray n hope my confinement lady is ok, otherwise I scared I will hv post natal depression..

huisi > i think my weight did not change much either. but i read online and they say 1st trim baby take nutrients from the mother's body.. and the body has a natural instinct to allow us to get pregnant only when it feels that it is ready... so i guess we should be pretty safe? :p

thou i was abit worried cos i have been underweight... but i hope my body really knows what it is doing.. and i will try to eat small meals every now and then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jes > there is soy chicken rice near to china square central there... not sure if that's what u want?

Hi all MTBs,

So nice to hear that most of your MS is stabilising... my MS usually strike in the evening so wonder issit normal (giddiness/start to puke a little) feeling is like after taking a roller coaster ride [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shane> Me week 10 now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My last pregnacy in 2006. So i can't remember that clearly liao.

Pipi> Obimin is a multi-vitamin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You all busy discussing if too early to book CL, i am thinking if too early to book a massage lady!! Hehe..

Cac> I'm looking for the braised in claypot kind. Keke. But thanks anyway!

Pauline> think I'm overly kiasu lah, keke. Ppl usually book after 1st trimester is over, I think.