(2011/06) June 2011

hi Babynini,

actually im not bleeding or spotting.. but my gynae did spot a cyst at my right ovary and she says better to take duphaston in case the lining sheds - im qte unclear how the lining shedding is linked to the cyst.. but seems so. seems like the cyst is nothing to worry abt also.

yeah me too, i spot check via my temp and tender boobs..

Hi Syrah, Im into my 9th weeks and my EDD is expected to be ard 18th May.

May thread a lot about maid and FOOD~!! whahah, so i din join as i dun have a maid and I afraid about reading too much about FOOD that I will indulge myself in all the food mentioned there!! So i try not to participate there!!!

Hi Ashley, wow you will become a mummy before me! coz im a week behind you! So when are you going for your blood test and will you be taking the oscar test?

Julesy> MS is not fun at all. I sort of lost my appetite last 1 week. I felt so sorry for my BB coz i really did not eat much. Hopefully my bb wont be hungry. hahah

My MS very cute one. Will report ard 5pm. I will go to the toilet to vomit some water out (Coz i din really eat a lot but I try to drink a lot).

Welcome Babynini! Dont think too much abt the past. My gynae once told me that if its an unhealthy pregnancy, the body will expel. So dun need to think so much.

Anyway, now you just need to be a relax and happy mummy so that your bb will know that you are happy and stay with you througout the 9 mths.

As for MS, maybe you are still early in the pregnancy. Normally MS will start around 6 weeks and will last for another 6 weeks. So for the time being, enjoy your MS-less week!

syrah, i so envy your bedrest, i'm struggling to keep my eyes open in front of the PC. Dun even have energy to smile at my colleagues...

babynini:

most important is to have a positive mind [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Be Happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome Babynini.

Dun think negatively cos its over and its not meant to be. I had the same exp in July too. Was really sad but I got over it positively.

I also have phobia of seeing blood whenever I pee. I dun take temp though but I will check whether my breast still swell. Now my brown discharge is gone.

qiuen, I actually dun have much knowledge also so when Doc told me got heartbeat I just happy only la.

2ww & qiuen: Yep! Will keep a positive mind, trying to be optimistic every day. But after the previous scare, I'm trying to manage my expectations.

Julesy: I'm sure the cyst is nothing to worry about. Maybe your gynae is playing safe by putting you on duphaston.

I don't know if I will get MS eventually. My mum has very bad MS when she was preggy, but I kind of don't take after her that much, she is voluptuous but I'm not! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babynini,

Keep positive! I'm trying to stay happy myself too though it's so easy to slide into the worry frame of mind. We're all here rooting for one another.

Ann,

It's boring n no income!!! I'm a freelancer. So resting means no money.

Hi chergie,

Sorry to hear about your previous experience in July. I guess due to our previous experience, we are extra cautious.

I dare not take anything for granted and I'm grateful every day when I wake up and know that bb is still with me. I guess all mtbs are like that, we will worry every day up to the day that we see our little bundle of joy pop out safe and sound.

Hi syrah, I agree that bed rest is indeed boring! I was ordered compulsory bed rest the last time round so what I did was just to watch DVDs.

Yes, I hope that all mtbs will have a safe and healthy pregnancy and we can all be here to walk one another through the journey together.

Babynini,

Same here. I keep watching tv. Mine are IVF babies. I've come so far already so all the more I treasure this gift now. Keep telling them to stick tight.

wah after a long tiring dat at work...finally can go hm rest le..duno y i feel sooo tired recently..wahaha..

BTW bed rest is it a must ??

Joyce,

Bedrest is recommended if one is spotting/bleeding. Go have a gd rest yourself. It's the weekend ahead too. You'll be able to get more rest.

babynini,

when I was earlier in my pregnancy (5-6 weeks), I had completely no symtoms at all too. I was still out and abt shopping my heart out at Shinjuku! Walked whole day, no MS, etc. Happy as a lark. Then boom, it just kicked in one day on Week 7 and I missed my non MS days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Syrah,

U are expecting twins? Wow that is so so exciting! I wished I had twins! Then maybe I'll close shop after that. Heh

2ww,

I'm gg for my Oscar/blood test on week 12, that's the following week. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Where will u be delivering? And your post abt your MS reporting at 5pm so funny! Made me smile at the comment. Though I know it's no joke. Try the BRAT diet, bananas apples, toast diet. I think might help ease your MS. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lets all be strong and brave! I've been having lots of negative tots and am trying to divert my mind.

Do u gals know where to buy baby posters? Think its gd to look at pics of cute babies then I will feel happier.

Hi Ashley, I am thinking of Mount A but think my gynae is more pro to TMC. Heard its quite exp at TMC compared to mount A. What about you?

I still haven decide whether to take oscar or not. I think we are of the same age. So you taking oscar? is this your 1st bb?

And yes, let's all be strong and rest plenty over the weekend!!! Time to go home!

2ww, yes it's my first baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My gynae's at TMC and it's near my place so I'll be delivering there. I think I'm suppose to do some blood test thingy first in the morning to analyze the percentage of having a down syndrome child, and if it's a low percentage or something I can skip the Oscar test. The Oscar test has a 1/300 risk of miscarriage, so my gynae will analyze my test results and advise me that day if I need to do the Oscar. =)

Evening sistas,

just woke up from my noon nap. hehe...i'm feeling slightly better this evening. MS is blissfully torturous. can't really make up my mind if i love it or hate it.

My ms symptoms initially was just lost of appetite n nauseous. later it snowballed to nauseous, lost of appetite, throwing up, headaches, giddiness n tiredness. But MS is suppose to be a good sign that our bb is healthy n our hormone levels r high.

Enjoy ur foodie while u can b4 ms kicks in yah. i'm enjoying mango now. yum yum

Chergie,

I think I saw some at Popular Book Store the other day =) Or u can google online and look at all the cute babies pics. I saw a YouTube video the other day abt laughing babies. Very sweet!

this morn i went to nuh for my 6wk scan and was so awe when i saw bb n heartbeat. So cool. hehehe...gynae said my bb is now abt 0.48cm only. so tiny. hehehe.....wish he/she will grow fast fast n healthily.

bb_jo,

Congrats! Your little bean will soon become a healthy bouncing baby! And yeah, hearing the heartbeat is the most touching moment. Period. Even my hubby eyes watered. Lol!

Do get this app 'What to expect' if u are using iPhone. They have v interesting weekly updates on baby's developments. =)

Hi Ashley belle,

You must be thinking we are crazy to want to have MS. Haha, it's just that it's more reassuring. The last time round I have no MS and symptoms at all, so I thought I must be one of the lucky ones. But turns out that it 's because the pregnancy was not viable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So this time round im kind of hoping MS will drop in soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Syrah: congrats on your twins! If I have twins I will close shop already too.

Joyce: bed rest is not compulsory unless ordered by your gynae. For working mums, it will be a blessing as you get to rest home for the whole week. I'm self-employed so it was quite a torture for me.

Now, I'm just feeling constantly tired, breathless and generally low on energy. I used to enjoy food but now everything taste so bland, and after eating a little i will feel full.

babynini,

Nah I totally understand, Sometimes u just want a hint of nauseousness to be assured that your baby is doing fine. =) Ive never literally vomit like some moms here, but I'll feel like gagging but the vomiting part didn't really happen. My gynae says every mom is diff, so don't worry ok. Eat well and rest whenever u can. My best friend never had a single day of MS in her life and shes the mom of a healthy chubby 6 mths old baby gal. If I'm not wrong, abt 20% of moms never experience MS or any kind of symtoms at all. Do update us on your progress and gynae visits! =)

Thanks Ashley & Babynini.

bb,

Ooo I can just imagine your joy when u heard your bb's heartbeat. Your MS still going strong huh. Any idea how long your mum's ms was? It's said that we tend to follow our mother.

Qiuen,

Make sure u drink more water. Can eat pipa gao too I think.

Chergie,

You can get them at popular. I saw it there before. Perhaps u can watch more comedy to keep yourself happy too?

syrah,

when my mum was expecting me, it lasted only till the end of 1st trimester. but when she was expecting my bro, her ms was thru'out the whole pregnancy. So don't think i can gauge. hahahah.....i'm keeping my fingers crossed that i'll last for another 6wks at most.

babynini,

lost of appetite, tiredness n low energy levels are signs of pregnancy oso. as our body used up most of our energy to provide nutrients to our baby, we naturally tire easily n hv low energy levels. lost of appetite is a sign of ms oso coz of the nausea/tightness we feel in our chest.

Hi everyone....

Thanks everyone for the well wishes....Syrah, I just fulfilled a very important part of bedrest, sleep! wah, cannot tahan, went to in-laws for lunch, then came home and slept all the way till now!

Now a bit worried that I dun have MS. does that mean my hormone level not high? *worried*

What is the Oscar test?

Hanis,

I've heard of cases where one didn't hv ms n bb is extremely healthy oso. MS really depends on indiv. U r prob 1 of the lucky ones to escape hvg MS. I was praying that i wouldn't get till it strike. Enjoy ur pregnancy yah, in every way.

Just asking everyone here...is drinking orange juice ok? I know we're not supposed to eat/drink pineapple...but orange juice?

Thanks bb.... I feel a lot better now....=)

So happy for you that you got to her baby's heartbeat...I'm hoping to experience that come Nov when I go for another scan...=)

Take care of yourself...

bb,

Perhaps ur ms will take aft your mum's based on boy or gal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hanis,

Good that u can sleep. I tend to just nap abt 30mins n wake up already. Good thing is I can still sleep at night.

I heard drinking oj can cause asthma in bb so I don't think it. Drinking apple juice instead.

Syrah, the progesterone pills make me sleep really well.....something about relaxing your body...

Thanks for the heads up...suddenly cannot stomache the yoghurt, but i have to eat yoghurt 3 times a day cos of my bad constipation. Just now at gynae, I had the medicine inserted into my a*hole! OMG, pain to the max, and stomache ache for the next 2 hours man...gynae said that my bowel movement is very slow and sluggish...but thank God that the cramps are not due to baby but due to constipation..

any ladies here having bad constipation, yoghurt is the way to go..

I watch reruns of dvds, fb-ing, shopping online, window-shopping online, bother my hubby, bother my mum, walk around the house, read, pray, sleep and go to forums!!! Seems like a lot of hours can pass by without you realising it once you're online!

BTW, we forgot to ask the gynae, can we still 'do it' while we're pregnant?

Hanis,

I take prunes to help with bowel movements. As for BD, it's advisable to avoid in 1st tri esp if still not stable.

Prunes, heard of them, never tried them..will give the yoghurt one last shot tonight..if still gagging, or even worse, vomit it out..then i'll try the prunes...

thanks Syrah, hope you're enjoying your bed rest as much as I am! *winks*

Hanis,

I think 'doing it' is still possible, but most will advise that the second trimester might be a better time becos that's when most of the MS, etc is gone and u might feel more up to it. =)

Syrah,

Oh no, cannot drink OJ ah. I drink it frequently because I thot the Vit C is good. I think I better switch to apple juice

Ashley...i also want to intro more vit C into my diet, besides all the fruits I'm taking...gonna ask hubby to buy apple juice instead of oj...since my mum has asthma and my sis and I had sinus when we were young till late teens...

Thanks for the tip Ashley...hehe..

Btw BD= bed dance in case u r wondering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Syrah, was wondering about that...didn't want to sound tooo silly and blur!!! Hahahah...thanks, you read my mind!

Thks Ashley and Syrah.

I was told by nurse to drink OJ but my mum says bb will have lots of phlegm so when I told the nurse she said since ur mum says that then u drink AJ.

Syrah thks for explaining ur short form. LOL.. I was told by gynae to avoid for 1st tri and thru magazine it say avoid 1st tri and last tri.

Avoid watermelon, papaya, coconut. Coconut drink lots during last tri will help in delivering faster.

No prob Hanis [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chergie,,

Usually western doc will say most things go as long as eat in moderation.

My dh told me abt the OJ and asthma. I guess it's the same logic as what your mum said. So better than safe than sorry I don't take it.

Syrah,

My doc ask me to avoid eating raw food, all the fish with high mercury and avoid sex for 3 mths. LOL.

My MIL ask me to avoid ginger while my mum says can eat. :S

My families have diff opinion and its gvg me headache. They ask me dun take chilli but I am craving for chilli and strong taste food. Bland food makes me wanna puke. LOL

Every one is kan cheong spider for a pregnant me. Guess they waited too long for this day to arrive. Kakaka

Chergie,

My parents ask me not to take spicy food too but I secretly take during lunch when they dunno! hehe. I can't stand bland food too! I added chili padi to my fish porridge and got weird looks by my colleagues. Lol. I take chili at every meal. =)

Hi Ashley,

My SIL told me confirm its a boy if I have these type of taste for food but I dun believe cos my cousin also had these same taste but its a gal. Just born last mth. :S LOL