(2011/05) May 2011

Good morning mummies.

V-day presents: No flowers, no cards, no gifts coz he is not around. Maybe I train my bb to call hb ‘Uncle’ then he will wake up and find another no-flying job. *evil grin*

Mimosa: ur bb wants to follow u go gai-gai already. Haha. Maybe I always scold bb when he jumps so he understands and purposely jumps more. He’s the defiant type. Tell him not to gum the non-teethers, purposely wants to do it and waiting to get caught by me then he will squeal with delight.

Vicki: thanks, end up bbsitter said no need to buy playpen, she can handle without one.

Jen: maybe ur hb say say about sending flowers to his exs to make you jealous mah…*wink*

Qin: ur hb didn’t say but got ACT –that’s what counts… jia you and hope ur boys recover soon.

Jmummy: aiyo, ur hb is the type of son I want to raise. Got wife still remembers mummy! Don’t be sad lah, if you are SAHM, the mother-son bonding would be very strong.

Viman: did doc give anything to boost bb A’s appetite? She’s on BM totally? Maybe can go with

Vicki’s suggestion to intro other snacks or FM….

Eve: They are a team of bakers so may vary slightly but overall the sweetness is just right type. My mum, my sil, my#1 and myself like their butter cake. Cup cakes don’t taste as well or maybe less sugar icing. I didn’t go for fondant pcs coz prefer the butter cakes.

oh littlefly, just saw ur qn now. i did not provide bbsitter w cot/playpen either, she just let bb sleep on mattress on the floor, she said its easier that way.

why? u wanna send ur bb to bbsitter? currently it's ur helper who looks after bb right?

jmummy, wah, ur hb helps his dad to buy flowers for mum? yes, agree w littlefly, this is the type of son i wanna raise too, haha!

i always feel my hb is very gd to his mum and sometimes i really feel jealous abt it. but nowadays i tell myself, i just hope that both my boys can inherit their dad's "good genes", so they will still be good to their mummy even after they are married... well, i will pray hard everyday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i heard fr my coll, she has a guy fren, he & his brother give mummy allowances of $500 each every month. so my coll said, its better to have boys ya, then u can get allowances of $1000 every month next time, wow, i must pray hard hard again! haha...

mickeyboy, i dare not think my kids will "yang" me (as in give allowance) in future where d expenses is so high nowsaday. they can eat enuf & not ask $ fr us is gd enuf le

little fly, ya, if i get fr there will be buttercream cake, but wont be too gelat type right? cos pg is fresh cream so just nice. if ok maybe i will try them tis time in case pg like wat they say, a melted cake tat ruin d occassion will b very sad.

eve, if ur bb is eatin well, i suggest dont give too much puff else snack too much cant eat proper meal. i usually give my gal puff when i need to eat in peace or distract her when outside. at hm, base on #1 experience, once they snack, they sometimes will skip d main meal

Not a good day for me! Yest nite bb took 45 min to finish milk and this morning, 15 min totally nv suck on the teat. I went to change bac kto NUK teat before he's willing to suck but NUK takes a longer time to finish but better than nothing. Going to buy NUK Y teat tmr. And after milk also dun want to go back to slp. These few days he has been slping a total of less than 11 hours.

Eve: My boy is opposite as u, he gives us and let us kiss him on the mouth. We dun kiss him anywhere else. Haha. Maybe ur boy wants to reserve his first kiss to his gf, not to u. But I just grab my bb's first kiss away.

Mickeyboy: Not always this case. From my friends and my experience, guys usually wun give any allowance but gals will give allowance. My mum says have to tell my son to give my money once he goes to sec sch. She says nv say = no money. LOL.

& jmummy, i juz realise ur parent look super young & u both oso look very young. i was abit blur when i saw d pic of ur girl with grandpa & great grandpa...i tot i read wrongly...hahaha

^5 lil fly and mickeyboy.I'm hoping my son to do that to me whn he grows up too.been wondering what will his gf be like when he grows up and how will he treat me.lol..I think I think too much.hb has been saying that I'm siao. -.-

eve: I swear by hou zao San for #1 whenever he coughs.western medicine can't help at all.but there are so many brands out there.I usually prefer mine o come with cordyceps and pearl powder.works better I think. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Vicki.Can I take that as a compliment?heehee..but I think I've aged.being a SAHM for 3yrs,I think it has taken a toil on my looks.looked back at my wedding and ROM photos,I think I looked so different back then.. Hmm..I even have my great grandparents.meaning my children's great great grandparents are still alive.we are a very big family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmummy: I've started to tink how my bb will look like when he grows bigger.

And yes, ur parents are very young! Wow, what does ur kids call ur great grandparents? My bb has great grandfather from both sides and call them tai gong.

jenny: my bb call my great grandmother "ah zou". He doesn't know how to call yet, but I hope my grandma will live long enough for my bb to have memory of her.

and the age-old parental advice of "rest when your baby naps" is so not true anymore. I totally regretted napping when my bb was sleeping, should have used the time to clean the house! When he woke up, he totally cling onto me like a koala i just finished mopping floor now...phew

Jenny: my children are supposed to add a "Lao" to whatever I'm calling my great granparents I think.but nv call also.cuz we only meet 2 or 3 times a yr. -.-

anyway: just got back from the hospital.my dd gave me a huge scare just now!fed her with ceralac brown rice at about 1+ when she woke up.just a few teaspoons.less than 10 I think.towards the end,I notice there's red spots on upper lips.decided she could b allergic to nestle.so decided no more nestle.I went out immediately after feeding her.hu knows,she started crying n coughing during the 10mins journey.saw the mouth was red.after parking my car,I realised her whole body broke out in red spots.the ears n mouth were swollen.n she became very drowsy.totally couldn't open her eyes!went to pd immediately..lucky she is better now after medication.but pd says to monitor for 24hrs.cuz that is when the reaction peaks.

On my way back,#1 vomitted in the car!reached home,bath him,prepared for his nap.guess he could have eaten too much.who knows,5 mins into his nap,he vomitted huge buckets!my bed,quilt,his dual layers of protectors and the floor were full of his vomit!!!n the bedsheets were change yesterday.I pity my poor helper..guess how much my #1 has eaten.a whole packet of duck rice n 1hr later,another 150ml of milk!!!crazy grandma!!!went to give him milk knowing he's alrdy very full from the rice...

mummyzen: Agree that u cannot rest when ur bb naps unless if u have a helper. Once my bb naps, I'll quickly do my stuff. But my hb lazy sometimes I go out ask him to do stuff when bb slps he says once bb slps he also wan to slp.

jmummy: I think its hives. My bb had it when I fed him with mixed veg puree at 4 mths. Its horrible and itchy. My bb had it for 2 days exactly at the same time. I also got it once after eating salmon. Ur bb might be allergy to gluten, hope both ur kids get well soon.

jmummy: sounds like a very serious allergy. serious allergy can also cause breathing difficulty. happened to me b4 cos i'm allergic to some painkillers. any idea what ingredients in the brown rice caused this?

Little Fly: U just got ur baby carrier recently rite? What type isit? I'm looking for those that uses the clip on top so that can easily put bb down but I see almost all are until 12kg only. The rest of the carriers are like bag style which I already have one but dun find it very secure coz I cun clip the back coz I cun reach and unclip it when putting bb down myself.

Jmummy: that's really a very big scare!! I dunno how to handle 2 of them like tat if i were u... Pei fu!! Hope the kids will b alrite soon.

Bb do young can take cordycep n pearl powder meh?

My hub is mummy's boy too so I wonder if my son will take after him? Not tat I'll b a nasty mil myself lah... Heee... Who knows, rite?

Just found time to log in...

Ash_r: pd says is cow's milk.really very scary and now little darling is running a temp of 38.4. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

eve: I couldn't take it.I broke down just down.cuz #1 is feeling so terrible,上吐下泻。he looked so pale n pils wanted to admit him.he keep wanting me to carry him and finally he fell asleep for a short while.but diarrhoea persists.when he woke up from his short nap,he kept crying for water.my heart ache terribly,worrying for the both of them.and in the latest diarrhoea,there r blood streaks..I dunno what to do.but he has just fallen asleep.I'm supposed to insert the vomitih medicine into his anus at 12 midnight.hopefully he can sleep well after that..n he is running a temp of 37.7 too!!

Pd is worried that korkor has passed the germs to mei mei.n told me to admit both of them if they start vomiting in the night... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jmum: patz patz. Saw your post on FB too. Hope ur dearie is ok but keep him from bb for mean time.

Jenny: Yes, u got good memory! i got my Beco Gemini which can carry up to 18kg and allows front-facing. Works for my height and not so broad shoulders. Maybe you can test out other models first to get a feel. For me, I tried out BBjorn series and Ergo Galaxy. BP link is where i got my Beco coz not sold at retail stores.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5417812.html?1325754511

Want to share my joy with u all. My bb can finally sit!!! He can now sit for abt 1 min on his own. Thanks to his 'friend' (his mirror image). I have letting him sit on the vanity cabinet and let him play with his 'friend'. Today he even tried to kiss his friend and he even raised up both hands to ask his friend to carry him. Haha. So funny and cute.

jmummy: I saw ur post on FB, that's horrible. U want to bring him to hospital?

Eve: I also wish my boy will be like his daddy, a mummy's boy. Haha.

Thks lil fly and Jenny.#1 is now asleep.have separated the both of them too.but I'm afraid the daddy will be to fast asleep to even notice if #1 is unwell.haiz...Now waiting for mei mei to wake up.I seriously think today is a drama mama day.lol...

Congrats Jenny!the day which u have been waiting so hard for. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little Fly: Wow the price scares me off. Haha. Anyway I've decided to go for infantino but can only use up to 14.5kg, hopefully by then my bb knows hwo to walk already.

jmummy: Thanks, I've been waiting for this day for very long.

Anyway I hope ur kids will wake up tmr feeling refreshed and well again. Do go to bed early and rest well!

Bad news, if I order the carrier from fishpond must wait till end of march which is way too long. Thinking of trying my luck at kiddy palace and see if they sell it.

Anyone knows where else to buy infantino carriers?

Jenny: I buying beco carrier frm my supplier u wan to tap alone about end of march will reach.. $150 each.. If u interested I send u the pic...

Jmum: hope ur boy is better today...

Jen: I was put off by the steep price too but after buying, i regret not getting it earlier! I think it depends on your needs and intended usage.

I got a cheaper carrier (from my friend) but got shoulder/backaches after using due to little lumbar support plus i ferry my bb to-and-fro to bbsitter crossing a busy street everyday so its worth every penny so far. Somemore i think this brand, Beco has resale value too so i can sell off if not using anymore. Heehee.

dap: Mine is this pattern too but of coz not this brand. I dun like this design so want to look for another type.

Little Fly: Actually I only need it for travelling on bus. Coz I bring out umbrella stroller on bus and once alight, I will open and put bb in. So I'm looking for one that can easily take bb out and since only using for abt 15 min like twice a week, no point buying so exp.

Actually have u tried to sell something off? I got so many stuff to sell away but cun post on WTS yet. =(

Oh no cerelac strikes again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so far it looks like only bb J can tahan cerelac?

Hello mummies!! Finally can report here! yday super bz with work...

Mummies, i think i am going crazy soon =( my boy really a bad sleeper =( usually wakes up 2-3 hrly, but these few days getting worst, after 4am, he wakes up almost every 30mins! think i am dying soon.... i really nid help T_T u gals heard of Gina Ford and tracy Hogg's book? do u think it is helpful?

Viman: oh no, sorry to know abt bb A is losing weight, maybe bcos she is also getting more active and mobile?

Dap: $150 seems like a good price! mine is gemini, same as lil fly

Jenny: thanks for e link! i am not sure if my boy is allergic to cow's milk le, his eczema comes and goes, and it is already there b4 we intro FM, and he do not have diarrhoea or vomitting wor... only when he eat e nestle brown rice cereal last time and drank e Nan pro then got hives... but i am giving him similac total comfort now la..

btw, u remem u ask me any books to recommend right? i havent ordered leh, cos my hb said he wana see which to get for bb. but i check the bestseller for baby books, usually best seller means it is popular, which i assume it will good, hehe... here is e link:http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/bestsellers?searchSortBy=bestsellers&searchTerm=&format=4

mimosa: nice to use... i normaly use sling got too many band dun nod wat to take so in the end take tis coz max unit 20kg...

jenny: wat band can see my supplier see has anot?

cerelac: I gave my bb once before when I had the sample packets. He responded well and ate quite alot, no problems after that. But, the ingredients on the nestle packet damn mind-boggling cheem, so I decided to ditch it.

Anyway, just went for bb's 9 mth medical assessment,and statistics for bb H is 70.5cm in length and 8.5kg in weight.

The nurse had tole me I can start on eggs to test on allergy, but I forgot she said egg white or egg yolk first?

I'm guessing is egg white first, appt was 8am in the morning a bit groggy... any mummies know?

i am going to get new boss again if i still got a job. Going to lose sleep this weekend....

Jen: or if you don't mind can try preloved ones? I don't recommend those without lumbar support coz hurts our backs even carry a short while. Even slings i don't find it useful coz the weight is not distributed but just my views only. Yes, I can post my items there on WTS. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky: u taking the butterfly? i prefer the designs coz prettier but my kpo bb wants to face out so no choice take Gemini.

Mimosa: I feel your pain. My #1 also a bad sleeper and my hb and i 'work 2 shifts' for him. I hope u can find a way to make him sleep better coz we didn't and suffered for 3yr+.

Mummyzen: NOT egg white pls!!! Egg york first...

lil fly: what happen? u change department?

Yes, i think it has resale value, i have a fren, she sell away her first gemini bcos she dun like e color and buy another color, haha... which color u bought? mine is e grey one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: the gathering timing really abit difficult for me ah, although i really wanna go to e beach [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is it possible to have it in e morning or sth?

Mimosa: LOL. Thanks for the link, think I just hold on first coz also no time to read. Goosebumps no more new books so sian. Have been buying and following the series since more than 2 yrs ago.

I think ur bb might be teething, mine wake up every 10-30 min before his bottom teeth pop out. Yest I backside itchy went to drink coffee and only managed to slp at 4+ then bb woke up to cry at 5+ and 7+. Got him back to slp and he din wake up anymore till 11.30am

Dap: Its infantino flip carrier.

Carrier: I went to kiddy palace and they do carry this infantino flip carrier but selling at $99!!!!!!! Online only selling for $46 but too bad have to wait for more than a mth. In the end I spent more than 15 min looking through their range and bought a baby lucky carrier which cost $30+ and can use till 14kg only. But this one can easily take bb out coz just remove the snaps will do but the weight of bb all strain on my back.

Little Fly: I scare prelove ones their bb poo inside the carrier, abit dirty n my baby likes to eat the cloth and belt.

Thanks, mommies, for all your advice. Bb A is on ebm with weight gain supplements added in, and recently docs asked to give her neosure (weight gain fm). She is still totally rejecting solids, and her milk intake these days is like 40-70 ml every 3-4 hours. Hb and I are now waking up 3-hourly at night to dream feed her...

Beach picnic:

I set up the event on FB, but not much response. Hmmm... I thought we'd have at least 5 mommies. Mimosa, morning would be too hot for our babies to sit at the beach, surely will get cranky one...

Hmmm I think I had created the event before I had added Mummyzen as a friend. Have forwarded you the invite! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dap: Thanks for helping me to ask.

Carrier: My new carrier really lousy! Just now I put the wrong side then in the end bus came and I had to carry bb up. Thank god there's a space for me to sit but bb was so happy coz no carrier and was playing here and there and touching the pple next to him.

Viman: U are so thoughtful. I didn't think of the weather for the pinic. I was just thinking it clashes with my boy's dinner and slp time.

Viman: I also din see the event in FB??

Carrier: I got the lucky baby but it doesnt provide me with gd support. Wonder if I shld get another one? Cos once bb start walking, will he still be willing to be carried in?

Mimosa: hang on there!! Poor zombie mummy... *pat pat*

Eve: I'm also thinking abt the same thing! If bb can walk, do I still have to carry him? I also got a hip carrier but till now nv really use coz I dun like to carry him, scare he get used to carrying and always want to be carried.

I'm thinking of stopping my bb from using the walker. Its so dangerous! Yest he was pulling daddy's computer chair and it almost totally fell on him and we were alert enough to grab the chair but still had a small knock and he was crying away. Now whatever he sees, he wants to grab, like the big standing fan, cpu etc. So headache. My hb says his sis intends to give us the jumperoo, hopefully can get more choices for him in a safer manner.