(2011/05) May 2011

Little Fly,

Hope bb gets better soon!

Mickeyboy,

Just read on FB and understood why you're Mickeyboy! Haha! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yishun gathering:

Was checking how long it will take me if I want to join you guys. 80 min! Cannot lei... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but we HAVE to have a gathering some time when all of us regulars here can meet!

Hi mummies , my bb 1st bday is on march 17th 2012

Any mummies want join in.

Place: at bukit panjang if less ppl .

Hope too be more so can be at ntuc chalet area.

Little Fly: Hope ur baby recovers soon!

Viman: Try to share cab with any other mummies who stay in the east? Nv see u before leh.

How many panels is ur playyard? Mine is 6 panels and take up a lot of space but its big enough for baby to play in and crawl.

Baby Development: I see a lot of babies are trying or have stand on their own already. Mine still cannot SIT! Aiyo, really very worried. He's going to be 9 mths in another 11 days. =( What should I do?

Qin: How come ur baby's bday is in mar? Urs is a premie?

Jaroline: I think some mummies have already started planning. For me, I decided to go easy and have a mini celebration at home. But I'm thinking of baking a small cake which baby can eat.

Viman, sunflower: hope babies will enjoy their new yard!! I find mine such pity cos bb dun like it at all. =(

Starfruit: actually we very Heng cos we gave bb food which we thot are suitable, not knowing abt allergy possibility. =p

As for ang pow, now too late to get it back liao. Cheapo, rite? Tsk tsk tsk... My hb is sort of mummy's boy.. No matter how wrong, she's still rite. Sigh...

Mimosa: gastric flu is no joke. I have it too. It'll subside with some control but it'll nvr go away. Must refrain fr oily or spicy food especially.

Nicole: *wave wave** me also west in bt Batok!!

Jen: how u still find time n energy to bake a cake??!! My idol~ I told my hb let's get a bday cake for hb n kana 'suan' nvr eat cake before, is it?!!! Patience... I'll wait for mother's day and mil's bday and say same thing to him too! Wahahahaaaa... Revenge is sweet when served cold~~

Seeking advise fr mummies who brought bb to holidays... Do we really get to enjoy the trip? Would it be very tiring for bb and ourselves? Thot of gg Taiwan but hb is dead against it, saying I'm selfish n nvr consider bb's interest. How true??

Eve: I haven't tried baking ever since baby is born! Maybe the sat before his bday, I'll get my hb to look after bb while I bake the cake. Actually baking is very fast, the most tiring part is washing up which I will let my hb do it.

And hi 5 on mummy's boy part. So hard to find husbands who are mummy's boy. And same, his mum say and do wrong stuff he will follow and say she's rite even though its common sense that she's wrong. -_-

Wow, I wish to go tw too but I wanna go till bb is 4-5 yrs old so that he and I can enjoy instead of me suffering.

My playyard is taking so much space and I had to put a fan in front so that baby can have ventilation in it. Unlucky me knocked onto the fan plug yest and in a few min, a big blue black appeared and its esp painful. I dun believe it when I knocked on the same fan plug, same area on my blue black again just now!!! And this time was worse, got blood somemore and whole knee swollen. Worse still my baby came and bite my knee on my wound! How unlucky can a person be?

Eve, not cheapo to ask for ang bow back lah, its not about the sum, its the principle lah! how can grandma take bb's ang pow, so mei2 feng1 du4. As an elder, and someone this is bb's first CNY, the more she should not take bb's angpow lah.. haha.. but since can't take back, forget it lah.. hehehe

Re: bringing bb to travel

Eve, if your bb is the guai guai type, can bring out, won;t fuss too much or cried too badly, definitely can bring along,. It will also definitely be tiring cos u will have to travel with bb's pace unlike when its just two of you can go out and where as and when u like. when i travel with my kids, i follow their pace, we wake up early and alwasy stop somewhere for meals (diff to eat on the go with children) and when its nap time, we either head back to the hotel or we stop somewhere (cafe etc) for them to nap while we rest or have a late lunch. and by 8plus 9, we are usually back in the hotel to put them to bed. IF kids are sleeping, sometime i sneak out to buy supper or shop around on my own, while hb looks after the kids.. heheh So if u bring bb along, just remember not pack your itineary full, just do 1 or 2 places in a day and go slow so u won;t end up fustrated and bb won;t end up being too tired or overstimulated and cry all the time. U can ask Viman too, she just came back from a holiday trip to Perth with bb.

Taiwan is not too pram friendly i think, so u need to travel with a light weight stroller or strap bb on your sometimes.

Actually i feel the best time to travel with them is when they are still in diapers.. hahah cos no need to stress looking for toilet for them. i travelled with my no.1 when she is 1.5 YO., our first trip was on a cruise.. hehe. Good to go on a cruise as a first trip with bb, cos any problem, u just head back to your cabin, very easy.

Jenny, wha so nice that u wanna bake bb a bday cake. heheh i dunno how to bake, only know how to use premix and sometimes, it still turns out chao tar!>. hahaha

HI5 jenny, i also place a fan to blow specially into my playyard cos she crawl around too much and sweat very easily, need the wind to cool her down. so now she has her own personal fan when she plays in the playyard.

And dun worry about ur bb not sitting, cos bb developes at their own pace, try to limit his time on the walker and put him more in the playpen, with more exposure, he will learn to sit faster. Again, u may also want to observe him more.. cos usually there will be compensation. If his gross mnotor skills are not so developed, he may have better fine motor skills. so observe and see if he can pick things up with his fingers etc.

Viman, Jenny: Thanks, bb seemed to be better today. Bbsitter said she’s going to bring him go ‘marketing’. LOL.

Viman: I am sure bb A will love her new ‘toys’. Yar, maybe can see if other East side mummy joining the Yishun gathering, then can share cab or something? If not, we’ll wait for your invite. hahahahaha

Jen: If you really worry, maybe can bring him in to see a doc? Sometimes when I am not sure about certain things, I would call up the clinic and their staff would suggest if I should bring bb in or they would just advise me.

I can’t bake so I will buy one which my#1 and I will like. Most likely won’t have a party, just my family members and at most my parents only. My #1’s time also like that but I like to explore the 抓周 for fun. Anyone knows how it should be done?

Eve: I won’t bring bb if I can help it coz really very tiring and don’t get to enjoy. Brought my #1 to TW with my parents and when everyone else went shopping at the night markets, I kept vigil in the coach with my #1.

Qin: Got your invite but my hb travelling that week so can't go. Sorry!

Starfruit,

Thanks! Hope so too!

Sunflower,

Oh yeah must be! Where exactly did you live? I'm in Siglap.

Jenny,

Ok I see how! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eve,

Why doesn't your baby like the play yard? Cries or gets bored quickly?

Hi mummies i'm back

Viman: Hope ur bb will like the playyard...

mimosa: take care...

Jenny: o have nice still can bake cake for bb... i use to make for my family after give birth than did not bake le.. so miss the baking...

Morning Mommies.. today is wed.. zzz for me...

Eve... i guess unless you willing to sacrifice your time and pleasure... then you can bring bb along... I brought my gal of 6 mth tat time to MELB... and it was super duper tiring.. and yes.. u nvr really get to enjoy.. cause bb will be the first priority.. unless your parents or helpers is going along.. i suggest when bb is bigger can walk liao then bring bb. Viman is good in taking care of her gal.. but i dun thk i am able... cause my gal will get cranky cause she needs to go toilet when pee and shit.. she will be so KPO.. even tired.. oso struggle to open up her eyes... she is too active...

if your hubby ddun thk he can do it or help u.. i suggest you drop the idea of bringing bb along...

if not end up the whole trip both of u fight oso no good....

hahah i think i am the exception one here encouraging to bring bb on a trip. i can;t bear to leave them home and go on a trip on my own (exp biz trip) so if its a family trip, my children will come with me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think i dun mind the hassle..or maybe i am a possesive mom, need my kids with me all the time heheh

Hi mummies, it's mid week.haven been logging in for quite ome time due to cny.

Starfruit: ^5.I'm a possesive mum too.I need my kids with me wherever I o.lol..

Eve: I think we got the same mil.lol...my mil also keeps BB Ang baos.she says she got to give out.so if the relatives return,she keep.not dat I dun I've.but some of her frenz kids I dunno,so nv give.therefore my mil give n she gets to keep them. -.-

Mimosa: how r u?better alrdy?

Jenny: agree with Cindy that BB develop at their own pace.giv him more exposure and he will get it sooner or later.my #1 couldn't crawl at all when he was younger.he saw every1 crawling but he can't.when he finally knew it,he was 2yo.when every1 else were walking,he was walking.but of cuz,when every1 else were crawling,he's walking.heehee..

Btw mummies,I need some advice.

My #1 goes to a cc.all along have been quite alright.but yesterday, teacher told me that he took 2 of his friends' head and bang them together. -.- not once,but twice.with 2 diff grps of friends.i spoke to him,and even told him that police will catch him n bring him to the station where there are no nice food n toys.I believed I have over do it and he is frightened.

He refused to go to sch today.the teacher carried him in.no longer the happy him whereby he will run in happily and greet the teachers.he was crying all the way.

What should I do to stop this from happening again?n how can I ease his fear now?

Starfruit, i had the same tot as you but then when come to reality, is really difficult to enjoy and take pics. eat in peace or even walk in peace... when carrying a small little bb ard... i guess i will wait till she get older then consider bringing her to overseas again.. haha... the flight experience was horrible...

jmummy: sorry to laugh but i find it funny that you frighten #1 so much. must be real bad. you can tell him that you called the police and this time they'll let him off but no more 2nd time. at least he knows he's not "wanted". =P

wah.. i thot my mil is one of a kind liao.. she got kaki!!! LOL...

starfruit: sorry i meant my mil is cheapo, not your suggestion. =P

travel: my boy won't want the stroller.. likely is strap on. he's super active, will not sleep once he's outside. i thot of travelling cos really wanted some time out of spore and give my mum a holiday after these mths of hard work looking after bb. mayb i'll leave bb with hb at hm and go further with my mum. (he'll sure dump bb with my mil) heee... but like starfruit.. i can't bear to leave bb with anyone alone cos i hv no confidence they know him well and might upset poor bb. ="(

playyard: my bb knows he'll b left alone in it so tats y he starts crying when we lower him down. and he'll stand by the fence and cry cry cry (majiam very cham). so the playyard is sthg we use to confine him as last resort whenever we need toilet or to be in the kitchen.

Eve: not a bad idea.lol..will tell him that when he comes back later..I'm so guilty lor.he clung onto me like a koala bear n held onto the door n refused to enter!so sad when I saw that.even after sad after hearing his teacher's comment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Eve: 一山还有一山高。lol....

Eve,

I never try hypnoparenting with my hubby hehehe. But I am always reasoning with him hahaha.

Starfruit,

^5, I am possesive mum too.

Even 3 months after gave birth to my #2, my hubby offered me to go holiday..I brougth all kids + my mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Jmummy,

Have you asked him why he bang his friend head? He should have a reason do that...Last time, my son bite, pushed and stracthed his peers...i try to talk to him and encouring him to express his feeling using words not action..now he's much much better in school and quite happy there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Mimosa,

hope you feel better now

starfruit: I think ur suggestion to bring bb on cruise is great! I'll ask my hb to start saving so that we can go on cruise for his second bday.

My bb can pick things up already. I've tried raisin and he can pick up with thumb and index finger. Every other thing seemed to be ok except the sitting part.

Little Fly: I got no standard PD leh but next sat or the following (I cun rem when) my baby will have his 9 mths assessment at polyclinic. Doubt the nurse will know wat to do either. Last time when my bb was almost 7 mths, I mentioned to the nurse that he still cun sit and nurse say wun be so fast, must learn to sit before can learn to crawl. But now my baby can crawl but still cannot sit.

jmummy: Then maybe when I go for the gathering my bb sees every bb sitting, then he might want to sit too.

Baking cake: Still not confirm yet, but I think if easiest will be cup cakes. I love baking so much that I used to bake at least once every two weeks but now haven't been baking much. Think I only baked once or twice during pregnancy and none after I delivered.

birthdays: I never really celebrated my bdays when young. According to my father's theory, my birthday is when my mum suffered great pain to bring me to this world, so why am i so happy about? Haha...

Now that I'm a mum, I wonder if I should instill this theory, will save me tons of $$

Viman: I'm at Bedok, wave! lol

Anyway, damn angry yesterday. bb managed to somehow pull open my cosmetic drawer and take out my perfume, hit it hard against the drawer, and let it smash on the floor #$#%^^ and my husband within 10cm range of him! Wahlao $%^& good for nothing man >_<

Wow, the thread moved really fast. Was out all morning. Went to a friend's place, then Parkway Parade. First time shopping with bb strapped to me! Went to Kiddy Palace, Isetan and Cold Storage. Bb was curiously looking around so it went smoothly, phew! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

After arming myself with the Chinese you gals taught me, I met another elderly Chinese lady in the bus who was playing with baby. Here I was all set to say 'jiu ge yue' when she starts talking to me... In malay!!!!! Omg. Luckily, she asked 'Satu?' so I think she was asking if bb was my first/only child and I nodded. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Travelling overseas with bb:

Mommies who want specific tips can ask me. And yes, it is possible to enjoy if you plan well and take it easy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

East side mommies (+mommies willing to travel eastward):

*waves* When should we meet? Weekdays? Weekends? Tea time? Will set up the event after the Yishun and Westside gatherings are over, so I dun confuse anyone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, what brand of playyard did you all get? My little 8mth old is crawling everywhere and it's backbreaking for me. Haha.

Also, i'm running out of recipe ideas to feed baby. So far the best porridge tt bb liked was when i slow-cooked porkrib, threadfin & pumpkin. Any suggestions?

Viman: lol at your "balk kampung" comment.so funny. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Novi:Thks for the advice.one of my relatives,an early childhood teacher gave me the same advice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes,I asked him y he hit his friends.but he didn't answer me. Teachers did mentioned that they are playing so it could b unintentional,I don't know.

Anyway,he came home with a bruise on his head today.his friend hit him with a cup. -.-

Good Morning mummies! so busy at work after two days MC, only manage to have some short rest to reply to fb... and now only can do some short replies too cos so much work to clear... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But 1 day to Friday!! yeah!

Thanks for all your kind concern! i am better now, yday still got abit feel like vomiting, but nvr vomit again since e last time i did it at e clinic.. ya, i got some masks from doctor, and wearing it, hope dun pass to anyone near me... esp e baby..

Playyard: mine arrived too!! can check with u mummies, what kind of toys u put inside?? i think if leave bb alone inside, shld only put those soft one right? else if he fell down, will probably hit on the hard toys.. pls advice! thanks!

Nicole and Qin: on behalf of all e May mummies, thanks for e compliment on this forum thread, hehe... you are part of it now! =D

Viman: u really super funny loh!! cant stop laughing!!

Yishun gathering: no prob i try to create an event, but which day? can we fix? 19th or 26th?? fix on 12pm ok? so Jenny can join us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maybe we consolidate here, pls feel free to add in your name:

19th:

Mimosa

26th:

Mimosa

hello good morning, i spent the night up shifting furniture...hopefully my new formation will be more baby friendly.

Heading now to Bugis to cart off a few items off the racks! But first time to zzz...

mimosa: hide and seek..lol .. i think peek-a-boo better

mimosa: I'm here! Just woke up, baby have been slping really late these two nites. Previous nite slept after 1.30am and yest slept after 12.45am. Yest is worse, I having headache and bb crying away and my hb snoring away! I have to keep asking my bb to slp and my hb totally dun bother! I told my bb that his daddy is in cui mian zhuan tai (being hypnotise), shld have say hun mi zhuan tai (in a coma).

For my playyard I put in all my bb's toys, be it hard or soft. I scattered the toys all over so that no matter at which end, he will have something to play with. I used the toys from the cot mobile and playgym since he doesn't use them anymore.

I'm ok with both dates as long as the timing is 12pm and Eve is ok with it coz need to trouble her n her hb to drive us down.

Btw most of ur hbs will be going down too rite? My hb scare all mummies then he will be very sian.

19th:

Mimosa

Jenny

26th:

Mimosa

Jenny

Mimosa: ok w both dates n time. Shall we let bbs wear the traditional clothes? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jen: my hb def not going. He's v quiet. I need to find a way to shake off my #1 who will want to tag along. My #1 not shy type. Can even walk n chat w his classmates Daddy until he bump into the wall! (faintz)

Why bb J sleep so late? He took naps in the afternoon?

Little Fly: My hb also quiet type, so ask ur hb to come along lah. Haha. Wow ur #1 so chatty. Yeah, let our bbs wear trad clothes so that I can still let him wear for the last time since cny is over. Mimosa can use it as the theme?

My bb only naps 3 times a day 30 min each leh, recently he has been slping total less than 12 hours inc these naps. But he seems very energetic!

Mimosa: Hows ur gastric flu btw?

hello, everybody!!

me very busy at work today... whole dept kana buah by head cos we nvr do OT, gone at 6pm. KNS.

jen, no prob! me okie on both dates but would much prefer the 26th cos bb got jab on 17th.. in case fever or wat, i dunno.

i dun tink my hb will join if there are no hubbies ard. shy leh.. heee...

i wonder if nicole is gg.. can also tumpang her if she wan since staying near to jen, is she?

19th:

Mimosa

Jenny

Eve

26th:

Mimosa

Jenny

Eve

Jen: is it bcos yr bb still hungry?? whenever my bb refuse to sleep, i'll give him some milk and free play ard 30mins +/- and it usually works.

mimosa: i put all his toys in a box inside the playyard. he'll jus take watever out he fancy and play if he like. so long is not sharp toys and is not fall fr height, i tink is only a knock on the head which they won't feel pain one. (at least for mine! heee...)

jmummy: aiyoh.. heartache to see bruise on head! kids play without controlling their strength. so it can be hard. :"O

Eve: OT doesn't mean good. I always say if always need to work OT there's two reasons, one is the co din hire enough staff and the other one is u are not efficient enough, so I nv work OT. LOL.

But ur hb driving us down rite? I told my hb that there will be guys down there before he's willing to go down. If my hb nv go I dun think I wanna bring my bb. So tiring. Haha.

My bb is not hungry. I always give him a bottle then get him to bed.

mimosa: I think someone has to make reservations rite? Previously I rem is say meet at swensens, must get a corner with lotsa rooms coz there will be a lot of strollers.

2ww: Its for yishun gathering.

Mimosa77: glad to hear that you're feeling a lot better now!:) thanks for including us in:)

Eve: Haha. thanks for the offer, but maybe i will give it a pass. It will be a little awkward since I haven known you guys for a long time, and this time round, you all will be coming with your hubbies! but thank you still:)

Yishun gathering:

19th:

Mimosa

Jenny

Eve

lil fly

2ww

26th:

Mimosa

Jenny

Eve (prefer 26th)

lil fly

2ww

How about Mickyboy, Qin (r u cindymum?), mummyzen, Hayashi, Deon, WT, Vicki, Steph, Novi, pinky, Jmummy? I remem last time we have 10 high chair, means got at least 10 mummies r going, haha... Anyway, since Eve has a preference of 26th, maybe we make it 26th, then I send out invitation and u gals reply from there?

play yard: But my boy always pull himself to stand, might lost balance and fell backward... your bb wont be like that??

btw, i find the suction pad like not very stable leh, some of e panel always move abt... is it becos of my floor?

Jenny: your boy can crawl without his tummy touching the groud? if he can means his back muscle shld be quite strong leh, then shld be able to sit bah?

Jmummy: is your #1 better in sch now?

wah, after hearing all your ladies' story, i realise there is still a long way to go and so much to learn! not easy to be a parent esp Nowadays XD

Mimosa: I think 26th is better for me too coz if 19th my hb might be on call for reservist.

My bb cannot crawl with his tummy up. His tummy is still on the floor. I think his muscles not strong yet esp his tummy.

Playyard: My bb has nv tried to stand himself. The suction pad is useless as well as the bear stickers! All not sticky at all!

re:crawling

some babies will be crawling on fours (with knee caps) but some babies will be crawling comando style with tummies on the floor. after that, they will learn to walk liao. Not to worry too much. My #1 used to crawl comando style with swift, people commented her like a crocodile. LOL

Toys in play yard:

Can put all toys in? I was going to ration them, maybe 4-5 per day so every day she has a new set and doesn't get bored. Once she's played with all, I'll go back to the first set.

Hi mummies, I hv created e fb event for yishun gathering, I can only add those mummies tat added me as friend, if I miss out anyone pls try to add me as friend ok? Thx!

Play yard: ya!! E sticker not sticky at all including those inside e activity panel! Viman, tat is a good idea but I let my mil do what she want... I still worry abt e hard toys inside, yday nite we put him inside alone and I think he step on a toy box cover n lost balance n fell, lucky didn't hit too hard...

My BM ss drop quite a bit after I fell sick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] think maybe I will slowly reduce e pumping freq ler... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]