(2011/05) May 2011

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just checked my appt and i'm scheduled to see my gynae this thurs... hope i din gain too much weight during CNY as i hve been munching alot of junk food...

vv, no worries on the bb weight.. still can pump in more... my girl born on week 38 and only 2.54 kg... small as a kitten... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Baby size

I guess it doesn't quite matter ya? Too big, difficult to come out. Too small, quite fragile. Difficult to have the "right" size. Also coz mummies come in all shapes and sizes. Some can take the bigger babies, some cannot. =)

Ash_r: Wow... you must be small size in the first place. My gynae was telling me that some patient she had actually lost weight even before she gave birth (E.g. before conceiving, she was 80kg. At full-term, she weighed 79kg) and she told me that I could consider that as an example. Haha...

Actually, based on stuff i read, if your #1 is c-sec, then the dr normally will recommend c-sec for #2. Can't remember y tho...

Val

Yeah lor, dunno why my gynae compared 2 kids but maybe cos want to have a rough gauge how #2 will be ba. Week 32 bi-weekly ah.. So another month plus for our bi-weekly visits. Is your gynae able to give u MC whenever u go for visits? Haz, I think my Leave is using up real soon eh. Sianz if I keep taking leave.

Ash

Yes, I also read that, 2 KG per month is OK after 1st Trimester.

Kaykay

Try to do a google search on cheap & good lawyer. U need to read up some forums to get good recommendations from the people.

Auroa

Haz, hopefully ba. My fren also give birth her gal (#2) weight @ 2.5+ kg. I have been eating alot of junk foods too, hope to pass GD test!

Hannah, this was the same case(80kg but full term at 79kg) Eunice Chua cited to me when i was telling her my concern about my weight gain.. hahah cos my weight is about 79kg now, hahah, she thinks, i may be her 2nd case of patient with no weight gain!>. hahahah

Ash - I'm very tempted to go for VBAC too but my gynae discourage as the risk is much higher during labour process. Also, complication may arise and mummy will traumatise on the process. Imagine we suffer labour pain then in the midst of it gotta go for emergency c-sec

ash: i suggest u talk to your gynae again.. cos if you have long labour, chances are 2nd one may be long labour too. one of my fren's gynae also suggested that she go for c-sect straight cos it seems like long labout trends are common in her family line.. for her #1, also e-c-sect same as u after 10-12 hrs of labour with min dilation. so for her no.2, gynae suggest go straight for c-sect,

Ash - mine was epi c-sec during #1..I would pref epi c-sec than GA as I wanna witness the birth process. That's y I'm afraid VBAC unsucessful end up gotta go for GA for emergency c-sec.

I find epi c-sec is kinda quick and neat. I'm done within 20min upon entering OT..hehe but the epi after effect took about 4hrs to go away before I can move my legs.

ash,

welcome back to wk =)

dun worry, when i went for my 24week scan, baby only 550g but gynae says size is ok..so i take his words la. yup, my gynae also said the same tat i can afford 2kg weight gain per mth but shall see hw it goes.

hannah,

i think some will worry that the cut or tissue will tear so if #1 csect they wld likely to go for csect for #2. of coz, also got ppl successfully go for vbac la but the risk is there.

vv,

if purely to guage then ok la but if she is worrying u with ur words i dun think tats is necessary lo. hehehe.

no le...my gynae dun anyhw give mc de =( unless i really sick and am covered by gp then he will give me another day to rest lo.

i used up my leave for those tat i carried fwd since 2010. now i am trying to nt take too much leave before i pop so i can keep them for post delivery lo. if needed to take leave, i will take child care leave but half day kind if possible so i can "stretch" the leave. hahaha.

Very long never log on to SMH. Been bz with work and #1.

Ash: I also went thru epi c-sec when I had my #1. Now for #2, after 2 years plus, I am opting for VBAC. Gynae also say can try, but I dunno if I should take the risk to go thru natural as I'm afraid the years of gap between is too short. I'm also quite fearful of emergency c-sec, very costly and scary...Dunno how now..

Auroa: I've been eating too much junk food and potatoes too! Gynae even say I lost weight from 3 weeks ago when I saw him last nite...weird isn't it?

Re: Baby's weight / Tummy size

I found my tummy quite big and on the large droppy kind, but some pple still think tt it's still small. I'm struggling to fight students' running and banging everyday cos I'm in the teaching profession, and it gets really scary when kids just run towards me and bang me even from the back! So having a big tummy might also hinder movements afterall!

Baby is now at 27 weeks and 760grams..gynae says it's an OK weight, so I just take it as it is[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

star: my gynae is ok w me going for vbac, tt's why he ask me to choose. he says still hv lots of time to decide. also ask me which room type already.

apple: wah! takes 4 hrs for the effects to go away.

val: ok so we sama sama wt at the same weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xuanmin: initially my mind was quite set on csect. but only recently start to think of cost n healing time :p

Val

Haz, same here. My Gynae very ngiao with her MC de. So I need to recalculate my leave days lor now... Planning for this whole year leave now. Now, with #2 - AL and all types of leave days are so important now.

Xuanmin

After seeing your weight, I realised am not alone. Mine was almost same like yours but am at week 25 like tat at then.

xuanmin - I salute u to have the courage to go for vbac just merely 2yrs after #1..I'm actually 5yrs apart, but I'm kinda kiasi..not a risk taker :p so I might stick to epi c-sec..hehe

Ash - yes, the total wean off period last around 4hrs after the c-sec. I do not have the immediate side effect like vomitting, so it is quite individual bah

good afternoon, mummies...

happy new year ... hope everyone hv good holiday/rest/visitation...

kaykay: lawyer ... the cost for private lawyer is expensive ... suggest u check out the legal aid bureau to check if u eligible for legal aid or not?

http://app2.lab.gov.sg/

jus pay $1 on the spot and the staff will advise u if u r eligible for the aid or not ...

hope the above help...

all the best ...

Hi Mummies to be,

Organic Red Raspberry leaf, also known to herbalist as Hindberry, wild red raspberry, reapberry is often taken as a warm tea beverage. It is one of the more commonly used natural food for pregnant ladies to prepare their bodies in their very late stage of pregnancy to prepare for childbirth as it tones the uterine muscle preparing it for the intense contraction during childbirth.

Baby Dust Shop is strictly selling loose pack from Starwest Botanical Organic Red Raspberry Leaf that is grown in Croatia and is repacked in foodgrade sealed bags.

It is strictly advisable to check with your doctor before any consumption during pregnancy.

PRICES:

100 grams pack: SGD$7.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

454 grams pack: SGD$30.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

Pre-Order may be required depending on availability of stock.

Contact us at [email protected] for any queries or orders.

Visit http://babydustshop.blogspot.com/2010/11/organic-red-raspberry-leaf.html

Just went to my gynae check up, wow, my baby grown in size, now is 1.629kg @ 28 weeks, previously only 778g @ 24 weeks, my gynae told me to control my diet liao, cos baby is consider too big liao, wow, i guess my baby enjoyed the chinese new year goodies like i do, haha

Dear all, please beware of CL auntie Meijie. Her contacts are 93500170(sg), +60165181278 & +60125841293. She is not fit to be CL and claimed that she has worked as CL for more than 10 years. I am sharing here so as to cautious future mother not to face the bad experience I have, more important is the harm done to the new-born baby.

First, she got no sense of hygiene at all. She got long fingernails and kept on dropping her hair. U can see hairs almost everywhere. baby bath basin, towels, feeding towels etc.

Second, her cooking skills sucks as the food got no taste at all. Think her taste buds got issue as she got to eat at least 3 chilli paties every meal. She don't know how to cook confinement food to help the mother to release the wind or reducing the tummy.

Third, she like to deny things even if she got caught. e.g. use baby clothing pail to soak her clothes.

Fourth, she is not automatic in doing housework like vacuum and mopping floor. Got to instruct her to do.

Fifth, she do things at her own convenience with no consideration of the baby and mother's welfare. She can wash her clothes when the baby is awake, leaving the baby alone.

Sixth, she dunno how to operate equipment such as warmers, steriliser etc.

Last of all and the most important point, she told me she don't want to work anymore when I told her to do her work seriously after spotting her not cleaning my baby hygienely and allowing shit to be on my girl's pussy.

Feel free to msg me if u want to know more and happened to have booked her in advance. Pls think thrice to confirm her as ur CL

good morning mummies,

can't sleep now cos need to take care of my #1 who is having high fever since sun... doc said if wed still having high fever den need to bring back for blood test... so worried... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is it common for a 2 yrs old kid to have fever suddenly without any symptom? cos she still ok when she go to sleep at nite den suddenly in the morning she is having fever...

Ash,

mine oso c-section for my #1 with full GA... scare of epi cos tinking tat it should be very pain to poke the needle into my spine... been tinking should i natural birth or c-section again for tis number 2... my gynae said it will be better to c-section again cos the risk is higher for VBAC... he said if natural birth now is still consider as 1st time giving birth so the labour will be long n most likely will ended up emergency c-section... but he still said let natural take it courses cos no point planning vbac but in the end no contraction or baby breech...

hannah,

my next appointment same as u... on valentine day... hehe...

morning mummies ...

wanna know wat is VBAC?

mei, wow, ur bb enjoy CNY... keke ...

my appt is tis sat ... hope my bb dont put on too much .. i also been eating much more than usual liao ... crossing fingers ...

muumies, hv great day ...

ling, ya, my baby really enjoy cny, nowonder he was very active during that period

I remember ur baby also same as mine in size around 24weeks, maybe urs will grow a lot in ur next visit too

Mei: Wow... Ya, better take care coz they pile on weight in the 3rd trimester. =)

Yaer: Your dr might be suspecting dengue fever if your #1 is having persistent high fever and he's ordering a blood test. Dun worry too much, just go and wait for the result k?

Morning dolly! You were on leave last 2 days?

wish all mummies,

tu (rabbit) fei meng jing, yang mei tu(rabbit) qi, tu(rabbit) rang fa cai and huang jin shan tu(rabbit) man ti...

hannah : yeah, was on leave since last monday le..

brought my girl to cc le... she somehow cried after i left her there with the teacher... my hb needs to drag me out of the place...

Morning All Mommies!

Yaer

Oh dear, did you check her throat, fingers/feet? Is she attending CC? I heard from alot of Mommies last time, usually if kids have fever but no symptoms yet means their body is fighting with the virus, hence fever occurs. Are you gonna bring her back to doc today?

Mei

Good weight gain for bb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Your bb loves the CNY goodies yeah. But have to watch abit on your diet la...

Dolly

Wah so shiok. I thought of taking leave too, but gonna be on leave for the next 2 Tuesdays from next week onwards, so dun wanna waste the leave days.. Sobs. Oh, your gal has separation anxiety due to the long weekend holiday. My boy also refused school for a moment on Monday, then I gotta distract him abit. Then he ok le.

vv : yeah... have a really good break but in between, was busy with "spring cleaning" my mum's trash... somehow have sort out those bb clothes that he's able to wear...

my girl has a cny party on last tuesday.. so lion dance has come into her life, and she saw the real one when doing visiting on 2nd day of cny... she has a shocked of her life and has nitemare on that nite too...

her teacher told me that she somehow able to settle down after awhile, and she's loves to write.. she'll keep on writing in one corner of the classroom...

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xuanmin, that means all the weight went to yr bb which is good... at least u dun hve too much to lose after delivery ... got to be careful with kids running ard... my girl also likes to run and bang her head on my tummy.. now my neighbour boy sees it and also wants to do the same... so when i saw them running towards me, i already put my hand to protect my tummy...

yaer, how's yr chld now? ya, sometimes my girl will ganna fever after waking up.. sometimes there might be symptoms beforehand like cranky, tired, etc.. only a few times fever pops up fr nowwhere... btw, is the fever very high? i give my girl ling yang water to drink when her fever is 38 and above... it helps to bring down the fever..

dolly, i bought my girl to downtown east to view the lion dance... she's complaining it's too loud but at the same time she enjoys watching it.. even wants to follow the lion dance group to other levels after they finish...

Good morning and Happi CNY!

MY EDD is 12 May 2011 and both my mom n MIL cant look after the baby for me. Any idea on a good infant care in raffles area?

Pls advice.

Dolly/Auroa

My boy scared of the lion dance eh. Once he hears the sound only, he starts to panic and runs to me. But yet, kept asking where is the lion dance when the sound is gone... Heehee...

Dolly

My boy like your gal like that, loves to write too. Now, am trying to correct the way he holds his pen. Wondering if the school really did correct them or teach them. From what I know, nowadays CC adopted the "free & easy" way, and that is, they allow the child to hold the pen whichever they are comfortable with... Uhmmm...

auroa : haha... so cute.. few nites ago, there's lion dance @ few doors away.. so when the lion dance gone.. she point her finger @ her lips and make a "sssh" sound, clap hand after which...

vv, my girl at first also quite scared but still wants to watch... think after they get used to it, they are ok liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly/vv, my girl doesn't likes to write like ABC, 123 but likes to color instead...

morning ladies.

ash,

ya. lets see if the weight of our babies will be roughly the same at our next visit too. heheh.

vv,

v true lo. with 2kids, all kinds of leave also v impt coz there isnt an increase in leave! if only with every additional kid, the parents get extra 6days CCL will be gd =P

i am trying nt to take full day leave as much as possible.

mei,

wah! so fast 1.6kg at 28weeks!!! tat is big =)

yaer,

today wed le..did her fever at least subside in the day? sometimes viral fever takes 3-5days to go off.

did she feel warmer before or have any cough/flu or behave slightly diff than usual?

Ling,

VBAC = vaginal birth aft csect

dolly,

welcome back to wk =)

vv/dolly,

i always try to teach my boy hw to hold the pen/pencil but when he went to sch, somehow he learnt to hold it properly.

auroa,

hehehe. my boy is diff - he likes to write ABC/123 but dun really like to color, always ask us to "help" him color. then my mum like to tell him tree must be in green, face in beige etc etc. told her when it comes to wat color, dun tell him wat color to use. let him decide on his own.

Good morning mummies..

Today gonna be a bz day for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] meeting back to back..sigh

After a long break, the momentum seems like slowing down! gosh

yaer - take care of yourself too..u also take rest on your #1 sleep.

mei - wow, your bb seems huge!

Dolly

Yap. My hubby told me the same thing but I kept asking my boy to use right hand to write although he has the tendency to use left hand. Both my hb & I are left handed. But I was 'trained' by my mom to use right hand to write (only). So the rest of the 'actions', I use left hand de.

Auroa

Yeah, they should grow out of it.

My boy loves to write & color but the thing is, the way he colors is like, he used a lot of strength to color. And when he writes, he likes to write some circle thingy and a straight line. Then ask me as if trying to test me what he is writing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Apple

I wanna ask you, when u opt for Epi C-Sect, about which week did you go for it? Im just worried in case my bb in breech position because my #1 was in breech and last min turned his head down to engage (when I already scheduled my c sect liao). So Im getting myself prepare in case #2 didnt turn head to engage. Hopefully she does.

And Epi C Sect, issit cheaper than GA by right?

How long was the Epi C Sect procedure? And the healing part, takes how long? What are the foods u had avoided eating during confinement due to C Sect?

val, same here.. we dun tell her wat color to color... i think it's good for them to be creative...

btw, i saw from FB that mummies sending their kids to Abrakadoodle art class. Very tempting to send my girl too... any1 interested in going? not sure whether got trial class now?

vv / auroa : she will mumble abc, but don't know what is she writing...

vv : at the present, she's using both hands to write... my hb says that it'll be good if she's know how to write with both hands... she'll be genius...

val, tks for the explaination ...

mummies, hv to take great care... heard many pple r sick after CNY ... drink more water n take more fruits ...

vv,

hahaha. initially my boy also writes funnily tat i make no head n tail but nw better le. at least i can recognise some! hahaha.

as for drawing, think they duno hw to fully control the strength yet?? coz my boy also use alot of strength to color le.

auroa,

agree. its better to let them be creative then telling them wat is the correct color to use.

i am also interested in the abrakadoodle class, planning to go for trial class but i havent fix any apptment yet. =P

Val

I missed out your post. Yap, I just calculated my leave days yesterday. Not many days to bring over in fact. So I intend to take some MC instead from GP when I go for gynae appointments. Because honestly not worth to take leave just to see gynae, but yet I cannot go and see her on SAT because too crowded liao. And I prefer to relax for a day to see gynae. Me very confused hor, want rest but yet dun wan waste leave days. Heeheee...

U know, I want to save up at least 18 days of leave (AL & Childcare Leave) for Nov & Dec cos I wan take every Thu & Fri in the month of Nov & Dec.. hee to see more of my baby... Plan nia la, dunno if will fulfil bo. Otherwise, have to see if can get a better JOB.

I was just asking around my colleague to get them intro their own fren to come in to work part time to replace me for 16 weeks. Cos our HR abit KNS de, the always find those inexperienced pple. Haz. Then ended up give us more problems.

Whats your plans for now? How's yr boss? U intend to go on maternity leave near to EDD?

Dolly

Yap, if both hands better la. Pple will envy very much de. He likes to mumble alot of words too but in fact imitate me. Suddenly he will use the phrase like, "I will change my mind..." Then I get stunned for a moment & wonder if he really knows what it meant.

Auroa

My boy too 'bossy', he will decide which color to color and refused to accept our advice at all.

The CC issue, I intend to change the waiting list for N2 to K1 instead. Dunno if can a not. I will go down next Tue after my GD test to ask them. Then meantime, either stick to current CC or maybe change to My Little Campus. Im still deciding. Haz...

hi rafflesplace mommies, anyone know where I can get good & yummy porridge around the area? Craving that today? Anyone craving that too? hehee...

Val

Yeah lo, wonder why they use so much strength hor. Then later complain to me say hands tired. Then of cos tired la, cos color as if like scared no ink or color come out like tat.. Maybe they think must use alot of strength de bah. My boy too stubborn la.. sometimes refused to take advice from us de.

Eh dun u find very cute to see what they are writing... cute hor...

val, me 2 haven checked out the trial class yet.. will let you know when i hve the details.. btw, i opting for the east coast branch...

vv, take yr time to decide on the cc... it's not easy to find a good cc... any of yr neigbours/friends in My little campus.. maybe can check w them on the feedback...

val/vv, my girl also colors very hard... most of her color pencils all "flat" liao... even the magic ink markers tips all "went" in as she pressed on the paper too hard... think they still trying to control the strenght of their hands tat might result of them using too much strength to color..

Auroa

Not really but I checked out the comments online from some forums. Apparently there are both good and bad. And there is some change of management so now seems better.

Her magic pens are no ink le... I want to wait till him color pencils are finished then buy new set for him.

just had gynae check last wk at 25wks, bb est 700gm.

starting to get tired easily when walking.. leg a bit swollen also le.

Melody

Take care yeah and try to alleviate your feet to a higher position when sitting down. For me, I start to pant after walking a short distance...

good afternoon mummies...

haven't been here for quite a while, cuz rather busy.

saw some of your posts on baby's weight gain. just to share, initially i was very worried about my baby's weight gain too, cuz me and baby haven't been putting on much weight. i'm 7 months preggie, but nobody can tell unless i'm wearing really fitting clothes.

went for my 28th week gynae visit on monday. baby is at 1.032kg. very happy already because she grew from 587g. gynae said, baby will be small just like when i was born. i was only 2kg when born, so i believe baby will be quite small too. but she's growing well and healthy, thus i'm not as worried now. just have to monitor baby's weight more frequently now, so visits increase to bimonthly.