(2011/05) May 2011

Auroa

I agree with Val. My boy didnt sleep well for this CNY on his naps. He napped in the car most of the time. So he was like a crazy boy. I had to divert his attention on other things which are not my usual practise like bringing him to playground - away from the relative homes after dinner or wat, so that he will not start to argue with other kids.

Val

Yeah lor, still shiok la, Durian Puffs my favorite too. Hope it works though. Ice cream everyday is not healthy leh. Dunno why my gynae will suggest this to me.

Starfruit

Oh ok, how often should I drink the chic soup arh?

starfruit, my mil is the type tat talks w/o thinking... even her children also said tat and ask me to ignore her... but she keeps on getting on my nerves... arrugh..

val, ya, she's fussy only at nite... i think it's bcos of the missed naps... hope yr boy gets back into routine and things back to normal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, ya, they sells very yummy drian rolls but better dun eat everyday .. i scared the sugar content too high for u... when r u due to go for GD? got to control abit... maybe twice a week...

vv,

mayb she meant small quantity ba. I think u can try to go for FM as well which has been suggested by auroa. Take 1 cup of warm FM before u slp. Its fattening and packed with calcium too. hahaha.

I learnt my lesson this cny...i had a can of 100++ and 1 pack of ice lemon tea in a day and i had v bad tummyache in the evening till i broke out in cold sweats n was bending over to ease the aches...scared the hell out of me and still wondering if i sld go hosp to chk it out to make sure my baby is fine...lucky it went off aft i had my dinner n drank lots of warm soup...nw i learnt nt to drink too much cold drinks in 1 day...

auroa,

at least ur mil's kids know she likes to talk w/o thinking so they wldnt side her with her nonsenses lo. hehehe.

ya, hope he will get back to routine soon. since last nite, it was back to 10pm off light schedule. hahaha! this morning he also cried in sch...aft long weekend, expected de...

vv: you can actually drink once a week.. start with once a week and see how, if need to, can drink twice a week. This chick soup is just nourishing and have no much side effect.

Auroa

Im due for the glucose tolerance test next Tue. Uhmm, so sians. I dun rem having this test during #1 leh. Need to fast before this test eh. I was still thinking if I should buy one whole D24 Durian Cake and put in the fridge and eat every night eh. Cham, lucky u reminded me.

Val

Oh Fm arh. I scared dunno if will be too heaty? Which brand is better?

Eh, must cut down on cold drinks. sometimes I also very tempted to drink cold drinks. So what happens is I only have a few sips each time and put back the can / packet of cold drink to the fridge.. Its like just to satisfy my crave. Maybe u can try it if really cant control the craving for cold drinks.

I think maybe over eat or wat also could cause stomach upset. So may not be the cold drinks, so scare yourself yeah... I also have some stomach discomfort, quite unusual pain. Then I go poo, much better le. So I guess its like we over eat or maybe too oily.. Haha, BA KWA!!

vv,

Try to drink more water aft taking FM ba. Durian also heaty so also got to drink more water =)

Hmm..I used to take the one by Mamil for my #1. I think its personal preference coz i can tahan the smell of the FM for this brand, i tried other brands n i hate the smell lo. hehehe. This time rd, i didnt drink any fm nor fresh milk lo. diet also nt as strict as for #1 time... poor mei mei...

hehee. i think it was due to the cold drinks coz tat day i didnt overeat nor had bak kwa. Didnt had much appetite tat day and also i felt had too much heaty snacks the past few days so i drank abit more on cold drinks. so i roughly narrow dwn the cause to the cold drinks. Nw i will be gd, a few sips per days will be fine or i will take non chilly one. =P

Starfruit

Thanks eh, Ok, I think will start off twice a week and see what happens. Tis time, my gynae visit becomes once every 3 weeks starting after last visit. Seems like my gynae quite 'worried' in the sense, cos she did ultrascan on not only my tummy but thru vagina cos she said bb quite low. In the end, she measured the uterus and said the length okay and cervix closed... Scared the hell out of me man!

Then she kept stressing asking me to eat more and more, etc.

GONG XI FA CAI!!!

wishing all a great start to the hoppin yr of the Rabbit and may it be filled with all good things in life!!!

vv, dun buy the whole cake esp yr GD is next week... very dangerous leh... might rise up yr sugar level... if fails the test, need to arrange appt to see the nutrientist on yr diet, follow up with gynae and lots of follows up to do... arrugh... for me, i only take the HL milk as it's lactose intorlerant....

Val

Yeah la, same lor. Maybe tats why this time round, bb on the smaller side cos I ate lesser and more conscious of my weight gain leh. Quite unfair leh... I feel so upset now, worried later premmie, I cham lor. I kept having the feeling tat I may have premmie and then, I dun hv much time left to prepare liao.

auroa, either get her to nap or sleep early if she misses her nap. my ger is coming 4 this march, she still needs her nap, if not, she becomes a monster at 7-8plus, i also scared.. heheh

ya lah, just ignore your MIL.. hahah

Val: ur tummy ache sounds serious, hey i tot we are not suppose to drink 100+ cos high sodium lah.

VV: ya control on the sugar intake as well, incase GD lah.

Pravina

Thanks but still worried. Haz.

Starfruit

Yeah la, now Im trying to be more cautious on the food intake. Scared kena dietican, cham le!

Vv:- I was blogging abt 'can pregnant woman eat durians?' on my bloggy a few days ago as I am craving on durians while imma outta shopping at bedok. I cannot tahan den I bought a durian crepe & a whole box of durian puffs..

I went to various websites to collect the info abt if we can eat durians - http://lil-ayden-kaylen.blogspot.com. Hope the info there helps..

I ate the durian crepe & felt my baby kicking strongly, den I tot 'wah the effect so fast come ahh?!', becos its said that baby will be strong when u eat durians during ur pregnancy, however its hard in sugar & carbohydrates & heaty as well, so try to limit the in-take. On the same day my bowel movements seems better, I managed to poop 2times. =D

Had my durian puffs another day & my baby suddenly kicking vigorously. Hahas.. I think he like it..

But don't take too much cos baby might oversize..

kaykay, sugar consumption will make bb kick, even food, thats why usually after meal, kicking is more and obvious.

I still heaty lah, cannot eat durians.

vv,

my gynae has revised my 6weekly visits to 4weekly liao. v soon will be 2 weekly and weekly lo. I feel tat time seem to fly for this pregnancy.

Ya, cervix closed is gd news for now. open only when its time for delivery.. i duno le..i had a feeling my baby may come earlier than expected...

i am nt weight conscious la, i didnt purposely control my food intake. just tat appetite nt as gd as #1's time n nt much cravings also. I also realised i tend to fall sick more often for this pregnancy as compared to the previous time....

anyway, for my #1, i took durian every weekend, had fm every nite and kit kat every aftnn...mayb this is why my boy was born bigger in size. u can try aft ur GD test. hehehe.

starfruit,

i think once awhile in moderation 100+ is fine. Coz i also took it sips by sips when i was in my 1st tri to curb my ms. coz i feel thirsty n dehydrated lo, so i took 100plus to replenish the lack of fluid =P

previously i drink was ok but 1 can last me 2days like tt..mayb coz i too greedy and had 100plus and ice lemon tea within a few hrs ba =P

kaykay,

agree with starfruit, sugar consumption will make baby active. u can try chocolate too, will have the same effect as durian.

Val, hahah actually i was told not to drink too much ice lemon tea too cos caffine and its liang but i like the sour cold taste.. heheh

my appetite for this pregancy also not as good.

Now that u mentioned kick kat, i am craving for it, maybe i go buy some to eat later.. haha

starfruit,

hmmm..actually all along i tried to avoid coffee n tea...but duno why tt day i had cravings for ice lemon tea...and usually i will take abit then get my hb to finish the rest la...but he is overseas nw so i finish on my own =P + i think coz over the festive have been taking those goodies which are heaty so i told myself abit of liang is ok! hahaha. see la, mouth itchy end up tummy ache la =P

Hahahahaha. Kit Kat is nice lo! Have a break, have a kit kat =P hehehe.

i rem for my #1, i always take 1 kit kat bar at 4pm everyday =P

Kaykay

Thanks for your info. I will but some durian rolls and puffs and cakes after my GD test next Tue. Heehee... At least now I feel more assured that I can still do sth about it. Thanks so much!

Val

Oh ok, my visits were revised from 4 weekly to 3 weekly starting from last visit onwards. I just feel maybe she wants to monitor me closely? Then I realised next visit in 3 weeks time i.e.22Feb, m in my 1st week of 3rd Trimester liao. Like u say, time flies faster tis time for #2. During #1, I used to eat alot during lunch and even dinner. Supper also will munch sth. Now, Lunch & Dinner as per normal. Probably thats why I didnt pump in alot of fats into baby? My cravings this time is stronger than #2. But the thing is, am probably just subconsciously worried about my weight gain. Now, I decide to let it be and eat as much as I can. Really hope can pump in more fats during the last minute now.

Thanks for your advice. Ok, will eat more 'hi-carbo, calorie, sugar stuffs after the GD test.

Ice Lemon Tea is a bit liang but I also drink la. Moderate ok la.

vv,

ya. mayb coz by then u will be in ur last tri le so ur gynae wanna see u more often. for me, my next visit will also be in last tri le, so my gynae wanna see me more often. 2 more visits and he will ask me to book hosp and ward liao.

mayb coz this preg, we have #1 to look aft so time also fly faster. I for sure will miss being preg aft i pop =/

Ya, this time rd i only have 3 main meals while for #1 i have 3 main and all the breaks n snacks inbetween n supper. Shall wait for my hb to be back n ask him to get prata for supper! hahaha.

How much did u gained so far?

Dun worry, i am sure last tri sld be able to pump more weight to ur baby =)

Thanks! Now, i am going to be abit kuai n avoid cold drinks for the moment till the ache gets better =P

Val

Yeah but hor I forget le leh. When will be the period when gynae wants to see us every week arh? Issit the last month i.e. April/May?

So far, I think I gained about 7-8 kg le. How about u? I hope I gain more soon! So worried.

vv,

hmmm...for my gynae if i dun rem wrongly was like from week 34 then will see weekly. need to go ref my #1's apptment book coz same period for both preg. hahaha.

So far, total of 2kg gain as per last visit. I am expecting the weight to jump on my next visit. hehehe.

Val

Wah, total of 2kg good leh! U must be very slim eh! Mine also around the same pop #1. So hopefully, maybe #1 and #2 shares the same birth date.

Hello Mummies!! Happy CNY!! Wish all of us good health, happiness and prosperity this Rabbit Year and all smooth smooth delivery of our Rabbit babies.

I just came back from a CNY lunch appointment and had nose bleeding! I have been having stuffy and slight bleeding nose for the past few years. BUt today it was quite a shock. I thought it was the usual flu and tried blowing the mucus out, it was all blood! It was like the usual nose bleeding outrightly, only when you blow, instead of transparent mucus, it was blood. Is this normal? Colleague said might be too heaty.

Few days ago, i had abit of stomach upset but after 1 day of slight diarrhoea, it was ok. Oh dear, so worrying..

Hello..

Just went for my gynae visit..so fast now is trimester 3.

Put on 1.4kg since last visit.total gain 5kg..now I m visiting my gynae on every 3weeks..

Saw bb hiccup..so cute..head so far is turn down but not engaged.can only confirm head turn by week 34..

He weights 1255g..so heavy..unbelievable tt he put on 500g in 2.5weeks..cos I did not eat much due to sore throat..

vv,

how heavy is your bb now.. at how many weeks..

i so worried cos during CNY visit most ppl guess i'm 3 or 4 month preggie where i already 26wks.. my tummy seem stop growing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so far weight gain still ard 1 kg.. how?

hope can pump bb abit.. i think my no 1 at this time i already gain more than 10 kg liao... and my son came out at 36wks is 3.3kg..

Morning all mommies!

Bluremon

My bb is around or less than 800 grams at abt week 25. Somehow, I also feel like tummy stop growing like tat and really detest those comments saying my tum small la, blah blah also eh. Sian hor. Alot also say my tum looks small.

What did your gynae say? For me, mine commented on small side and hence am very worried.

My weight gain is about 7 kg, but seems like its me putting on weight & not baby.

My #1 around this time, I already more than 10 kg liao. My boy came out at full term @ 2.925 kg wor.

Maybe you can try to take some hi calorie foods to pump more fats. Are you taking any GD test? Mine is due next Tue.

Serene

Your bb has a good weight. Keep it up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunny

Take care, I had nose bleeds at times too. Too heaty le, so u must drink lotsa of water.

vv, i'm not taking GD test.. cos i hardly gain any weight.. yes yes super sainz when they ask me "why your tummy so small" waliew this is not within my control leh.. wad is hi calorie food and not heaty... haiz.. going to see my gynae today will check with him..

morning!!!

blurlemon, i didn;t gain any weight at all and my gyane still made me do the GD test.. sianz man!

Serene, ur boy's weight gain is good that means all went to him and not you. keep it up.

VV: are you expecting a girl, is that why bb weight gain is slower.

I will be seeing my gynae this sat.. hope all is well at the visit.

Blurlemon

I think maybe cos I put on 3 kg within a month, so was asked to take GD test. Haz. Hi-Calorie foods like Ice cream, Peanut Butter, etc. Thats what I read up. But they seems either fattening or heaty hor. Cakes can be one of them too. But now we are approaching 3rd Trim liao, so guess pump in more fats should be ok ba?

vv & blurlemon: Well, I think it's just as bad when i had comments abt my tummy being too big. They even suggested that I dun eat too much! *mumble mumble mumble...*

VV: dun have to worry lah, each pregnancy is different. my tummy is also much more compact this time round and i think my #2 will be smaller than #1 even though its the same gender.

Starfruit

Yeah lor, this time round is gal gal.

Yes, each pregnancy is different. My gynae (just like my friend's gynae also), tend to compare this #2 with #1 and keep asking me whats the weight of my #1. Uhm.... Haz. Super stressed.

Hannah

Oh ok. But sometimes could be water a bit more so tum slightly bigger. Wats the weight of your bb?

vv: I think is abt 700+gms when I was in week 25. Aiya... I've given up on retorting back to them. They're not going to understand it anyway... I mean, mouth is theirs, they can say whatever they want. Ears are mine, I can take in whatever I want. =)

vv: my gynae also asked about the weight of #1.. cos according to her, 2nd bb will follow quite closely to the 1st one. I think your #1 weight will give your doc a guage how heavy this #2 will be. gal gal tends to be smaller lah. dun worry too much. if appetite is good, just eat.. but dun gain too fast cos if not, its not a good sign too.

hannah, i think ppl will comment regardless of size of tum, big or small!! hehehe.

starfruit: I agree... Heh... And if going by the gynae, my #2 should be somewhere along the 3.6kg range then! Good! Easier to handle! heh...

Good morning mummies..

I'm back to work today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Gong Xi Fa Cai!!

I went for gynae visit yesterday too..bb is now 1066g at 26w5d. Fall under normal range..hehe

Hannah

Oh really? Dunno why gynae kept saying my bb on the smaller side and am a week behind. Then makes me worried about preterm labour.

Yeah, but some already married and had kids, then still made those comments lor. Some experienced de will just tu them say sth like, becos am slim cut and thats why. Urgghhh.

Right now, I only hope and pray all will be well for the next 3 months.

Starfruit

Oh ok, no wonder gynae kept asking me about #1 weight.

So have anyone of you started to stock up bb items? Any idea when is the next Taka Baby Fair?

Hannah - 3.6kg is a good weight. I also hope my bb around 3-3.5kg. My gal borned big..hopefully with smaller tum tum, this boy gonna be slightly lighter, or else when around 36wk I'm walking like penguin!

vv - I don't think your bb is small la..some bb catch up on weight during 3rd trim. Previously my gal also at normal range, only around 35wks onwards she pump up the weight and in fact I'm eating less during that period..haha

Just eat as per normal..take some nourishing soup as it is important.

vv: eh? Small means pre-term labor meh? I have heard that smaller babies are easier to deliver... Anyway, the 3rd trimester is the time when they grow grow grow! So we must eat eat eat to help them do so! 1 cup of ice-cream per night sounds good... I wish my gynae would say this to me. (haha... fat hope i know. =))

apple: Heh... Well, it's not easy being a mum ya?

Apple

Thanks for your encouragement.

Ok, so that means now I should start to really drink a lot of chicken soup! Missing my black chicken now! Heehee

Hannah

I also tot smaller babies easier to deliver. But maybe too small not good ba.

Haz, my fren told me everyday a cup of ice cream is not very very healthy wor. But I will eat la and attack all the durian puffs/rolls after my GD test!

Yup, all Mommies are very noble.

morning ladies =)

vv,

yest went back to chk the apptment book for my #1. its 4weekly visit on 28th week, 32th then 2weekly on 34th and 36th. aft tt then weekly.

ok la, 2kg got gd n bad lo. gd is mummy will tend to lose weight easily if dun gain too much but baby small size lo =( i have friends telling me aft 6mths will gain alot of weight be it boy/gal, so shall see hw.

hmm..i thot usually gynae wldnt compare the weight of 2 kids de...

blurlemon,

my relatives n friends also commented i dun look like 6.5mths preg as my tum tum too small esp when they have seen how huge my tum tum was when expecting #1.

can try to eat more carbo loaded food like potato, rice.

hannah,

baby bigger in size better coz easier to handle. my boy was born 3.7kg and i thot he was quite fragile liao lo...

apple,

welcome back to wk =)

wah! all ur babies of gd weight. cant wait to find out my baby weight at the next visit. by then i will be 28weeks le.

Baby size:- it seems like ppl will just comment on the size of our tummy, always get comments like 'what u gg 7months le still so small ahh??'. Even the nurse at KKH also commented that she was shock that I was 2xweeks, seems too small for date. But I don care la, cos I know baby grow well & absorb most can le.. =D

Btw, anyone have good, cheap & reliable lawyer friend to intro for consultation regarding separation & divorce. Cos I need seek some professional advise. I have made up my mind on this alrd, so I hope to get it going before my babyboy born.

Happy new year mommies! I'm back to work today too!

this time round my bb seems to be smaller. b4 cny check up at wk 24, only 500 plus grams. cos the previous mth, i didnt put on any wt at all. but gynae said its still within normal range.

now i keep thinking if i shld go for nat or csect? cant decide. any mommies or had frens tt #1-csect #2-nat? any comments?

(my #1 was emergency csect cos after induce 10 hrs, only dilate 1cm)