(2011/05) May 2011

Sh,

the timing was reported in the newspaper.. mayb it states the average maids working hour ... wakes up at 6 plus and sleeps at 10plus..

auroa,

take good care of urself to prevent further complications..

hannah, ya, my gynae is aware and prescribed me aching cream to ease the pain.. think it's bcos of preg that causing the loss of calcium.. even now try to take high calcium food also no use.. will hve to wait till delivery then see how...

serene, no epiduarl? my no1 delivery also din want initially but till i diluated 3cm then i cannot tahan the pain (it's the backache pain tat's killing me) and my gynae hve to came up to the delivery ward to ask me to take it... i must said tat the doc he recommended is good.. i din even know tat he injected..

frankly speaking, epiduaral hve no side effects unless the doc is not experience enough.... the "so-called effects after epi" and causing backaches is bcos we carry our NB up and down alot.. like changing diapers/bathing, carrying our NB for BF, sitting posture when bf, etc that's causing the backaches... can get a experiened massage lady to massage yr back if u experience backache after delivery...

Auroa: Ok... maybe also take note of your posture now. Quite important to be careful coz it's really quite a tricky area to have problems in. Also try to avoid any heavy lifting or do any strenuous activities. Must really take care...

kaykay,

taking epi or nt depends on individual's pain threholds.

for me, i am scare of needles and i have low pain threhold... i cry whenever i take blood tests/got to be poked...but i surprised myself and everyone that i can do w/o epi and laffing gas. thanks to my hb's encouragement and brainwash. the mind is v powerful....

vv,

u mean those "sha po" pot isit? slow cooker is also ok de =)

hmmm...at the moment no replacement yet..but i told my boss by hook or crook, someone has to come in before I go on ML. Its my entitlement. If i deliver early or by the time i deliver and there is no replacement, i will still go for my ML but he cant blame me for it. =P

same here. i heard 2nd labour is v v fast...in fact my mum didnt even have the chance to even step into delivery ward and she is half way delivering liao. hahaha. so i hope this time rd, my delivery will be fast n smooth like #1 too =)

auroa,

wah! wat a shocking news. i mean hey, spine collapsing is no joke le...and at least nw there is a cause to ur prob. so nw, try to go for tu na to relieve the pain then the rest have to endure 1st liao. meanwhile, mayb have to "adjust" ur posture to nt make it worst.

Split/Serene/Sh...

Yeah lo, my maid also sleeps at around 9 plus during weekdays and wake up 5.45 am in the morning. Weekends sleeps at 8 plus cos am not cooking and wake up at 7am lor. To me very good le leh.

Other countries like HK & Taiwan, they can stay together under 1 hostel ma. So maybe tats why those maids prefer to go wk there. But eat on their own la and stay on their own.

Auroa

Oh dear, u okay ma? How u feeling now? Then when is your next gynae appt?

Kaykay

Yes, I agree with with what Auroa says. Its very crucial if u have a good doc to administer the epi and also a good midwife to go thru with you. I was lucky during my #1 that I have both good ones. The only downside is I suffered some nauseous feel after the epi which I heard from alot of Mommies, is very normal. So other than that, my current backaches were due to last time I didnt carry my boy properly and esp so when his weight increasing steadily. And now during pregnancy got worse due to loosening of our joints and all.

White Chix buy from NTUC can liao.

Split

But is your agency reliable de ma? U used the same agency to change 5 times of maids; and they didnt do anything to help u?

vv,

altho i didnt took any epi for my #1, i was feeling v nausea till i cldnt stomach any food/fluid aft delivery. reason cld be i drank too much water and ate some durian puffs and kitkats during delivery too =P

Val

Ok la, at least u made your stand clear to your boss. Honestly, he should start to standby liao cos very fast time will fly de. Just like I intend to talk to GM abt my ML, he came to ask me yest. He thought can get the Partimer in by May. I told him cannot, must be by April becos I need to train the partimer mah. Haz. U just do your best lo. If he gets the partimer in for u earlier, u just do your best to coach whatever u can. Impt is you had done yr part.

Yaya, those Sha Po POT. I have actually la, BUT I dunno how to use. Hahahaaaa.

Yeah, dun worry. Am sure u will have a smooth delivery. For me, I also hope 2nd one faster. But not TOO fast la. Hopefully I can do induce de cos like tat I have more time to prepare lor.. Cos #1 is induce de ma.

Wah u champion leh. Why eat so many before delivery?

vv, i've changed a total of 3 agency so far..the first one was horrible..they dont bother to help and keep charging us for alot of things..

oh dear auroa, is ur gynae aware of the blackening of ur finger? what did he/she said?

Split

Haz... **Pat Pat** on your shoulders lightly.

By right, there should be a free replacement within a period right? But again, sometimes their patterns only come out after loan which is after the free period lor. Si beh sian de. I can understand.

heloooo everyone, how's lunch?

i've been so bz lately, no time to login & even read archives..vvvv sian...

duno y lately so bz with misc stuff...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

very not into cny mood too...hai...

split - just checking, r u always take experience ex-SG maid? y u must give them a hp in the first place? For me, I set my ground rule clear, when I phone/web interview her I told her I allow her to call home with IDD card once a month, but no hp. If she can't accept the term, forget it.

Imagine now house chores cannot cope, with hp & off day, my hse will be upside down.

vv - I understand fr my colleague who wanna hire maid, now they have less biodata coz their home countries govt is holding back issuing passport to this domestic helper coz of salary issue with us.

Auroa - sounds serious ler your back problem. Maybe u shd consult your gynae whether he can refer u to see any specialist now to at least cure a bit instead of it get worsen later on

vv, hai...duno leh...time not enuff to use...hahaha

at work..freaking bz...lots of misc stuff coming in & std load oredi piling up...hai...

Apple

Oh really arh. Haz, so now hopefully my maid will stay for another year for me or so. Talk about HP, I also wont allow my maids to carry HP. They can use IDD Card once a month or even twice a month if urgent basis. But no HP strictly.

Split

Maybe u should ban them from HP, things may improve?

Mudpie

Haz, can undstd lo. My wk also piling but I try to delay a bit here & there.

mudpie : wow... long time no "hear" from you lei...

try to relax... don't stress up... same here.. am so bz trying to clear all my stuff before going on leave from next monday onwards and will be back on 9 feb... going to bring my girl to PG on tues le...

split: my helper has requested for a hp on her 2nd day. Best part is, she actually asked my mum to ask me to let her have 1. I actually told her that she can always use my house phone to make calls after she's finished her work. International calls can be made only if she uses her own IDD card. my housephone is those free internet voice line from starhub so got no IDD built in. So to me, the hp is not necessary, which i told her. I also told her to tell me things directly and not to go through 3rd party coz i dun like it and that i appreciate honesty. My hb was actually thinking that it's ok to give her but to me, it's like she's testing water so i am stamping my foot down on that issue.

Hannah - U better stand firm on her request. Or else she will take things for granted and the standard will drop eventually..just like mine.

I'm back home..coz I simply couldn't get my mind off without lecturing my maid coz yesterday I realised a pile of clothes on the ironing tray without ironing. And best is after lecturing her, my girl got up fr nap and she told me "aunty never put ulcer medicine for me"..wahahaha...I'm boiling again! So I ask her just simple ulcer drops that I showed and tell her specific this morning before I left home, how can she forget?

hanah/val/sh, thanks, i will be careful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, my next gynae apppt on 10 feb

dolly, i have the same cramps on my right hand but only the thumb area for no1... for this preg, the most effected area is the middle, ring, thumb and sometimes the entire right arm... chinese sensei said tat it's due to prolong lifting heavy objects/stuff that leads to weakening of the spine area... she joke tat i hve tai tai life and not to do any housework including hanging out laundry... if i need to do, i will need to break it down to different stages.. rest, do, rest and do phrase... asked her whether if i brush up on calcium intake, she said also no use as it's prolong condition and accumulating... she did mention wat can do but after delivery as currently preg cannot do x-ray and certain meds are to be avoided for now.. the tu na did helps to ease the cramps althou not all... coming to think of it, i always carry heavy stuff like when my girl was young, i can carry the diaper backpack, lift my 5kg stroller go down one level the staircase to take lift and carry my girl w the other hand to go out...

split, my gynae knows abt my cramps on the fingers but not the blackening part... will tell him when i see him 2 weeks later

apple, i hve another doc monitoring on my fingers cramp but i din like the method tat he suggested... he suggested if it gets worse, cut a line at the waist area to "release" the air pressure as it's pressing the point that's causing the cramps.. my chinese sensei said dun do tat as it's for short term and wun solve the problem...

lol...u all having maid issues ah...hehehe

i dun tink i can handle maid..im quite short tempered...but come to think hor..i mean..if they r smart,they wont be maids liao.they wil be like us working in office....hai...bo bian..i mean i dun deny, there are some very good maids around..but oso majority will make u boil...kekeke

dolly, yalor..i 1 2 login..but simply no time at work..hai...last time i stil hv sometimes to squeeze in to read archives..nw is BO time...whahaha

hannah, hihi...hahaha...

hannah : my maid also asked me for HP too after she has cleared her loan.. i told her that she has agreed with my house rules the very 1st day she joined us, "No HP till the last day of service". I also told her if she wants to make call back home, can buy IDD card and it's much cheaper.. so she never request for HP again..

mudppie: That's one way of putting things in perspective... Hahahaha... Was just telling my fren, the maid clever, but i even more clever! Ha!

dolly: Ya lor... seriously, hp is not necessary one... esp since the charges are so much more. Anyway, i dun think i'm being mean since i am allowing her the use of my home phone and she doesn't have an off day anyway...

apple, thanks... really appreciated it... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kaykay,

me too. hv been indulging in pineapple tarts non stop. gg to finish my 2nd tin soon. ;p

vv,

I'm a sahm. Hubby is in spore but he is always flying every now n then. This time, he's away for more than 2 weeks so left my boy, me and my dog. my dog has been pooing n peeing non stop. feel so tired to squat up n down so many times a day to clear them. how i wish she is wearing diapers. haha!

Hi mummies & MTBs,

Anyone interested in getting a neck float for your baby?

Comes in 3 designs:

Winnie the Pooh

Disney Princess

Thomas and Friends

Will order only if MOQ is met.

Each at $16, kindly PM me or email me at [email protected].

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5066660.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5066661.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5066662.jpg]

How's everyone doing? My girl has started her N1 beginning this month and its a nitemare for me coz she has been crying for 1st 2 weeks and now every nite got nitemares and even her noon naps she also got nitemares. She is only attending a 3 hr class. Now no more crying but she will wake up 3-4 times a night for many nites. I m a big panda now. She only wants me not daddy. So tired.

Maid issue

I have a set of maid house rules for the new maid. Its in English and Indonesia berhasa. Anyone who needs it, can PM me ur email address? I gave tis to my maid when she first came and I went thru it with her 1 by 1. It includes personal hygiene, her job and wat is expected of her. So far so good. She has been with us for a year already. Not 100% good but at least 80% there.

Wow looks like everyone's having a bit if maid issue here. Uli have a different problem, we just sold our house and handin over keys in April. This means I have 3-4 weeks before moving in, unpacking and baby popping. And all this w #1 and no maid. Scary thoughts....

Thanks mummies!!!

Im a ftwm n Tis is my 2nd child (boy) n my edd is 11 may 2011... Still deciding to deliver at raffles or mt alvernia... Doc is dr koh... Staying at east side...

Maid issue,

Seem like most indo maids have the same issue... Once I told my maid the sweet n sour prawn she cooked quite nice... Den the next thing I noe... I have sweet n sour chicken, fish, pork for the next few days lunch... Haha... Now I noe never to say anything nice abt her cooking... My maid is actually having a quite gd life here... She wakes up at abt 6 plus... Do all the sweeping, mopping n laundry... Den wait for my gal to wake up... Attend to her until she go to cc... So basically she is like nothing to do in the afternoon until we reach home... Heard from my fil tat she is quite an experience maid n have oredi clear all her debt... She oredi have hp when she start working wif us...

Back n buttock pain,

My back n buttock pain is really getting worse... Even lifting up my leg to turn over when sleeping is a pain to me... Sometimes my leg will give way due to sudden sharp pain when walking... So now really scare to carry my gal cos scare tat both of us will fall down... Told my gynae before but he said no choice got to bear wif it... He said maybe it is due to the baby position who is lying down on some ligament ard the area... He just prescribed me some painkiller but I didn't take it...

Morning Mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning!!

I'm in CNY mood already...hehe..today I'm half day and all the way off till 8 Feb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hoo hoo

morning ladies =) TGIF.

vv,

ya. have to make it clear to my boss la. if nt he expects me to still wk on delivery bed meh. hehehe. i told him to pray hard my baby is either on time or overdue. hahaha.

ya lo. ur GM also have to find someone for u by apr le...if nt where got time for handover n guidance n wat if pop early rite?

Those Sha Po pot can just use it like any normal pots lo. I use it to brew soups on small fire for abt 1++hr 2hrs.

hahahah, yaya, fast n smooth but let us get to the hosp first n on the delivery bed with gynae ard. hehehe. my #1 was induced so i hope this time rd everything can be all natural =P

aiyo..long story..i ate a few pieces of biscults n milo in the morning nia...and i was sick and dwn with flu n cough then...i was v hungry, v thirsty but the midwife refuse to give me any water n food...so my hb had to go out n smuggle in the durian puffs, ribena and kitkats as i told him later i no stregnth to push if i dun have any input. hahaha. so he got those for me and when midwife wasnt ard, i was secretly eating n drinking lo to my heart content =P

ash,

ya. the smell of durian puffs sld be strong esp in confined area but the midwife didnt say anything la. hahaha.

mudppie,

try to take a break whenever possible, dun overwk ya =)

jerejoy,

wah! 2nd tin already! i havent started! hahaha.

penny,

this happens to my boy as well when he went N1 this yr - 3hourly too..he will always cry for me...in his naps he will also cry for me..but things got better. mayb u just assure ur her u will be back and will nt leave her.

yaer,

we have the same edd =)

apple,

shiok le! i cancelled my cny leave as need to be back to do handover..sian...

am looking fwd to my boy's cny celebration in sch =)

morning~

jerejoy, u've got dogs too? what breed u having? my dogs also this morning pee on the floor..they very clean freak, when the paper is too wet they will any how pee..

yaer, mine is philipino maid..i tot they shouldnt have such problem but also will have bf..sigh

had my 1st leg cramp last nite for this preg. hope it doesnt happen again! no one to massage for me cos hb overseas [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ash,

so coincidental! i also had my 1st calf cramp last nite...but i am lucky coz my hb was ard and he massaged for me. i also hope it wldnt happen again...my hb flying off soon shortly aft cny...

gd morn!! TGIF!

seems like many of ur hubbies are usually flying ard.. must b difficult to cope w/o hubby ard and with an older kid + being preggie.. jia you!

jerejoy/split,

so glad to hear that there r mummies here with doggies... haha jus wondering if u all hav any problem in taking care of both ur dog n bb esp during confinement?? u dun send them away during this period rite? cos my CL suggested that i do but i m not going to leh.. but my dog is the active type so dunno wat to expect too.. haha n is ur dog able to adapt to the bb well??

Happy, seriously ever since im pregnant i've stop cleaning the toilet for the dogs, usually my hubby or maid will do it..as for bathing them, my hubby will do the job or we send them for full grooming every quaoterly, mine is lc chihuahua..as for during confinement, the dogs will still be in, wunt be sending them away..my 2 boys also like to play with them so long as keep them clean and wash their hand after playing with the dogs should be fine..plus i dont really bring my down downstair, even if we do also at void deck we avoid grass cuz scare got fleas and ticks..

split.. thanks for ur sharing ur experience.. at least feel more assured that is ok to hav my dog ard during confinement.. my is 1st bb, so many things stil unsure.. haha ya i seldom clean up my dog's toilet nowadays too except occasionally when hubby is bz..

val, wow, yr hubby so good to go and buy food for u before u pop... my hubby dun want to buy for me and said tat doc and nurses instructed not to give me any food in case mine hve to c-section... my labour was 32 hrs and also on induce but after 10hrs only open 1cm tat gynae put in 1 more meds.. waterbag burst when 3cm and they stop all food intake liao.. i begged the nurses and ended up w orange juice which i vomitted all up 1 hr before i pop...

i just hve a fall just now.. was doing gift wrapping and forgot tat i lay a piece of cloth on the floor and walk over and trip... fell on my left side and luckily used my left palm to cushion the fall.. now left palm slightly painful.. think 2morrow will see the bruise liao..

HELP!!BADLY NEEDS ADVISE ON REUNION DINNER...

now having a major headache.. my hubby wants my father to change the reunion dinner to other day. my father said reunion should be on the cny eve.

tot everythin confirmed.. his side 5pm and my side will be 7pm..then suddenly msg mi in the morn tt he is not going over my place for reunion dinner unless my father changes to other date. insisted that eating both meals at the same time are unhealthy. his side is male side.. we should stay in his house after reunion dinner and not going over to my house.

prob is he is only children.. it is easier to accommodate 3 of their schedule.. my side has 5 ppl.. my sis got to go back her mil place for reunion dinner too..

i said its ok.. i will go back myself for reunion dinner and he said nasty stuff like u go out, dun expect to come back..i was so fumed tt i tu him back.. after all i am staying here for another 3 more weeks and will b moving back to my mum's place..

althru my baby has not pop, i noe my parent will be assisting mi most of the time especially he is in aust.. which i felt so grateful..he said things like they ask u to stay in sin and they should assume their responsibility..

rightfully, his mum should b taking care of the baby not wife's side.. now wat i hate is, he thinks so greatly and highly of himself.. he dun even noe how to take care of newborn...still wanna say big thing..

my parents are nice enough to take care of my baby.. his parent is not doing anything lor..still wanna b calculative..

now insisted that rule must b set from this year onwards...he will only join my side reunion dinner if bring forward or else he is not going..

so angry on his unreasonable remarks.. my father is a senior and want him to give in..saying my side is female side should give in..

he ever use his favourite sentence and makes his mum so happy "wife can change, parent cant change".. i used back on him this time round.. no matter wat i will go back with or without u..

i always give priority to him by having dinner at his house first..now he wants the whole day of cny eve to be at his house. there is nothing to do at his house and the main prob is they all dun talk.. dunno wat war had happened btw his parent..

i believe is kenna brain wash by his mum.. i noe my hubby.. cant change things overnight..

the prob now is he wants date change and not timing change.

pls advise as i dun want the good relationship btw both (hubby and my father) to be ruined just bcos of reunion dinner...

auroa,

hahaha. no choice le, coz i was really hungry and thirsty then and sick so i was feeling v miserable. told him no strength to push so he get for me lo. hahhaa.

wah!!! ur labour v long le..i was quite lucky...on drip at 9++am. 1pm++ they poked my waterbag and evening time my boy came out le. hehehe.

oh dear. lucky u manage to cushion urself with ur palm and nt land on ur tum tum. pls be more careful in future ya. try to massage the bruise gently.

serene,

actually can do 1 reunion lunch and another reunion dinner. personally, i dun like to rush for 2 reunion dinners as well...mayb u ask ur hb if its better tat way ba...