(2011/04) Apr 2011

Just to share since i chanced upon this:

Foods to Avoid Feeding Your Baby

As eager as your baby may be to try new foods, there are a few that should stay off the table – at least until that tiny tummy has time to grow.

Looking forward to serving your little one his first PB&J? Chocolate milk shake? Eggs and a side of toast with honey? You may have to wait. As exciting as it is to introduce new foods when you start solids with your little one, there are a few items that should stay off the menu for the time being. That's because they may contain irritants that can disrupt your baby's sensitive (and still developing) digestive system. Here's your guide to foods to avoid during your baby's first year, along with recommendations for when it's safe to introduce them.

Nuts and Peanuts

Even though you may have heard you should avoid feeding your baby tree nuts, peanuts, and other highly allergenic foods during the first year, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) now claims that there is no evidence that delaying the introduction of certain solids prevents food allergies. But take caution before you go nuts — especially if you have a history of allergies in your family. Wait for the green light from your doctor. Once you get it, start your child off with smooth varieties of nut spreads and butters (your child won't be ready for the chunky kind, or whole nuts, until age four). Despite the fact that peanut allergies are on the rise, causing this lunch-box favorite to take some heat, nut spreads and butters can be a healthy, protein-packed snack for your little peanut if he has no reaction to it.

Egg Whites

Sunny-side up? Down? How about all around? Eggs are a great source of protein, vitamin D, and other vitamins and minerals, but your younger baby may have to get by without egg on his face. The AAP does say that nutriton-packed eggs are okay to eat at any age once your baby has started solids, but your pediatrician may think otherwise. Because egg whites are allergenic, most doctors won't recommend giving whole eggs to babies less than a year old. Your pediatrician will probably give egg yolks (minus the whites) the okay at the seven-to-ten-month mark. As with any new food, wait two to three days before introducing another. Keep an eye out for an allergic reaction (symptoms include diarrhea, a rash, or vomiting).

Honey

Honey ingested in the first year can create a sticky situation for your baby's health. Not only is it full of sugar (and cutting baby's sweet tooth is something you should try to postpone for as long as possible), it may contain the spores of Clostridium botulinum. Although harmless to adults, these spores can cause botulism in babies — with constipation, poor appetite, and lethargy as side effects. While some doctors okay honey at eight months, most recommend waiting till year's end.

Cow's Milk

It may do a (bigger) body good, but babies under one year of age should steer clear of cow's milk, for several reasons. First of all, cow's milk can be hard for young infants to digest, and the high concentrations of protein and minerals may stress a newborn's kidneys and irritate the stomach and intestines. Cow's milk also doesn't provide enough iron and vitamin C for baby (breast or formula are the best milk sources in the first year). Once your baby is past the one-year mark, however, whole cow's milk is fine in moderation (avoid giving low-fat milk, which lacks needed fat and calories, until two years of age). Be on the lookout for a milk intolerance or allergy (though milk allergies are rare — only two to three of every 100 children develop a true milk-protein allergy).

Wheat

There's a reason rice or oat cereal is baby's first food — these grains are super-easy to digest. But wheat is actually an allergen (though uncommon) so hold off on serving it up until your sweetie has a handle on oats. The problem is gluten, a difficult-to-digest protein found in wheat, rye, and barley that can cause a skin rash, loose stools, constipation, or poor sleep for some babies when ingested. If your baby breaks out in hives or starts wheezing after eating a wheat product, notify your doctor right away about a possible food allergy. The good news? Babies usually outgrow wheat and other allergies by their first birthday (peanut allergies, however, are usually lifelong).

Juice

Hold off on giving juice to a baby under six months. Even once your cutie's of age, the AAP says it's best to limit juice (or avoid it altogether). Why? Juice is packed with sugar and offers no nutritional benefits that you can’t find in whole fruit. Though citrus fruit juices — such as orange, grapefruit, and tangerine — are packed with vitamin C, they’re very acidic and can cause tummy trouble in infants with underdeveloped digestive systems. If you do choose to serve juice (after getting the doctor’s okay — fruits can be allergenic), choose tummy-friendly alternatives like apple, pear, or white grape juice, diluted with water. As for citrus fruits, themselves, be sure to introduce them gradually, getting rid of any rind and cutting the fruit into small pieces.

Shellfish

While baby won't be eating any lobster dinners for quite a while (so save those lobster bibs for the grown-ups in the family), you may wonder when you can crack a claw for your little sailor. Since shellfish are a common source of food allergies, most doctors recommend slowly introducing shellfish, such as shrimp, lobster, or crab, after one year. Though the AAP does say that even highly allergenic foods are okay to introduce once your baby's started solids, it's always best to check with your doc, especially if your family has a history of food allergies. If your pediatrician gives seafood the go-ahead, considering feeding your munchkin cod, sole, or flounder first (these fish make for an excellent — and healthy — finger food for babies).

Strawberries

This favorite fruit — packed with antioxidants and vitamin C — is a healthy and delicious addition to your family's diet but not necessarily your baby's. Not only are strawberries acidic (which can make them hard on tiny tummies), but they are a potential allergen and may prompt rashes or reactions, even in babies that are not food-sensitive. The AAP says it's okay to introduce any berries once your baby's eating solids, but your doctor may recommend holding off on strawberries until at least the one-year mark (and maybe longer if you have a family history of allergies). If you do get the okay to feed your baby berries, be sure to cut them up into small pieces or puree them so they're easy to swallow. (Find out what other baby finger foods pose choking hazards.)

Chocolate

Just as you wouldn't give your baby a cup of coffee, you should steer clear of giving a baby chocolate — even if it's just a little taste. Because of its high caffeine content (not to mention sugar), it's best to avoid giving any chocolate to babies under one year of age — and even beyond (your child has his whole life to discover his inner chocoholic, so don't rush it!).

Fungfung,

hmm it depend how much ur boy can take cos some bb small eater so jus slowly increase accordingly[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey Mikio. We doing fine! Thanks! How abt you? Coping well? Super sian, so fast come to their stage they can crawl, soon will have to chase after them. HahahA...

Fungfung,

Very informative . Being a 2nd time mummy, many things i already cannot remember. Thanks for sharing :p

Hippopolai,

Ya very fast . They grow up too fast .

piggy, ya, still better to double check the ingredient list. My husband and I both do not have any allergy too, but my #1's allergic to egg!

Even fish, when I gave it to her at 9mths old, she developed allergy rash, only after 1yo, then she's ok. Egg, til now, still abit not ok esp when it's raw like in mayonaise, too much cake etc. Better liao, last time totally cannot take anything that's got eggs.

So, it's still better to play safe, go slow and be alert when giving food to babies.

Need ur advise. I jus switched over to formula stage 2 with 1 or 2 feeds per day but my son will pass motion almost every meal. Is it cos of formula or teething?

morning ladies..

mum05,

yup sumtime even if both parents r clear we nv know the combination of our gene will lead to wat.. the food tt i gave without waiting r those food tt has the least possiblilities of causin allergies of cos food tt r higher in risk in gettin allergies like egg, seafood n wheat etc i will be more careful..i will judge n determine accordingly but seems like both my children have the same gene as us so quite ok..

Mummies.. Would like to check something on my frd's behalf..

She had jus gave birth via c sect ytd night as bb has low heart rate & born premature.. Now bb in nicu, cannot bring bb out to bf, she would like to check can she pump first to stimulate her milk or she shld let her bb suck first to stimulate it?

hipopolai: hihi~ I'm fine too.. just that sometimes Kae is driving me bonkers when he's on milk strike.. feel like smacking his butt.. =x

Jovie's such a smiley baby.. *hugs*

I'm more looking forward to seeing them walk.. hahaha.. can hold their little hand and walk side by side.. so nice..

Mrs Chua: I think she can pump 1st to stimulate her milk bah.. else if bb can discharge from ICU then no milk how?

Finally can breathe at work.. So decided to take a break and say hi to my favourite mummies!! So far, even though busy at work, but I like it.. So quite happy about it and not looking back at lab work..

I have stopped latching for 11 days.. and thankfully my girl is ok with it!! Yeah.. But I think I cam thinking a little longer this time round to dry up.. But oh wells, Freedom!! Hoot!

Mrs chua,

I think your friend can pump first bah.. cos sometimes premature baby may find it a little too difficult to suckle.. they are very small and latching is quite tiring for them.. Hope your friend and her bb are ok..

mum05,

yes agree with you about going slow on food and watching out for allergies.. but thankfully my #1 is ok and #2 has recently started on fish porridge and she is loving it!! Finish the whole bowl..

For eggs, I gave egg yolks first to my #1 before 1 year old.. then work up to the whole egg..

Actually, i find for allergies, can happen anytime.. Look at me.. at a grand old age of 28, I develop shellfish allergies!! Haha!!

boss is back and so busy at work..

TGIF!

Mrs chua

better pump first. like wat gerry say, premature babies have weaker lungs and hence quite tiring for them to suckle.. Her bb in nicu can come out if mummy wanna hold. Its better so that bb can get to smell mummy and get stronger.

mikio

when they can walk, u will need to run after them liao... not easy hor...

i prefer them at this stage or when they still crawlin...

Allergies

this is quite complicated i think..

u may not have allergy to somethin but however, if u mix two certain food together u might have created it as the two food creates a chemical reaction in your body.

eg: my hubby had coffee and peanuts, then develop rash, but separately on its own, he's fine.

i want to check if there're mummies still breastfeeding? i am switching my girl from BM to formula and i realise with formula, she is taking alot less milk! for eg 180ml BM vs 120 or sometimes 90ml formula. is this normal?

Hi Aylie,

I am still breastfeeding my son. He don't seem to like formula too, he only drink 100 - 120ml for formula, but BM can drink up to 180ml.

Any more mummies out there still BF, as the journey is too tired. Wanna endure a bit longer, but dun know can a not

smiggleprincess: but at this stage carrying them requires a lot of strength.. i carry my sumo till i got backache already.. hahaha..

Aylie/Jess: I think FM are more filling and last longer so maybe that's why your bbs are drinking less?

ya piggy. of cos we'd be most glad when no allergies occur.

gerry, so good, yr #2 can take fish liao ar! my #1 developed rash all over her chin when I gave her threadfin ard 9mths, so I dare not try it tis early wif #2, so now abit headache on what else to give her. cannot keep giving pumpkin and carrot too, skin will turn yellow, how how, sooo sian. Y/day gave her blended porridge with spinach and tofu, she doesn't quite like the bland taste(of cos!) but she managed to finish a whole bowl, today, she didn't even want to open her mouth! Then after some coaxing, she took a few spoonfuls and started to push my hand away, very naughty, good thing I didn't let her eat fruits man...

Any ideas what else I cld give? soooo sian.

The Ch Doc and my sis said can give pork(she said must get the 'yo bak'-very tender, n blend it but it'd still be tiny bits I think, so daren't give yet, or shld I?)

Aylie/Jess, I'm still bf... cos bb doesn't want e bottle(only take it for water) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi jess

thanks for letting me know! my bb is exactly same, 180ml BM but only 90 or 120ml formula. wonder if she is going to lose weight.

if you can still tahan, just try to continue BF lah. i know i sound hypocritical because i already stopped BF, but if i had a choice i wouldn't have stopped. i had 4 biz trips in the last 2 months (all 1 week each) and because of that i had to stop. for my 1st trip, i went to Europe for 7 days and was even pumping (pump then throw), but was so exhausting because have to work, pump@work, jetlag, pump in plane, etc so after that i told myself to stop..

and now that my baby is finishing up all the frozen BM and i am starting on forumla, she fell sick on Tues with vomiting and fever. sigh BM is still the best..

so jiayou!

Mum05,

Does your bb bites when you latch. Recently my bb does that and I bit her lightly on his cheek and he smiles back. What should I do ?

Kaira, I'm still latching. I'll de latch her n poke her cheek n sag no firmly.. mine hasn't grown teeth yet just feels a bit sharper than usual ... N she got the message

Pink,

Mine has grown teeth and is a very sharp pain when he bites. Just started yesterday and today, hope he will stops. Else very difficult to continue latching him.

kaira, mine has been biting me since newborn la, she's a very cheeky baby. Even a few days old, she'd smile when I scolded her after she bit me.

Nowadays, she has a new 'pattern', she'd stop sucking after latched-on for a while and looks at me, then when she's caught my eye contact, she'd bite and then smile! Gotta scold her very sternly before she resumes her drinking... I'd even try to delay re-latching her if she bites again. With her bb tooth alr out now, I'm feeding her in fear everyday! hahaha.

Jess: im still BF. i admit its really tough having to juggle pumping at work and keeping SS up. mine has dropped quite a bit.. frozen stash depleting fast too. but like Aylie says, we should jia you when we can.. i will jia you until i dry up! which i think maybe in 1-2 mths time.

kaira: mine.. mine bit about a month ago. i lightly slapped his cheek and he gave me a smile. he even bit and pulled back. scolded him but now he does not do that. tell them you dont like it and hopefully they will stop.

but i have another set of "problem" that is he does not want to latch or sleep much when we are out.. its like if he eats or zzz, he will miss out on what's to see. he is extremely distracted and easily woken up.. then at night he tortures me by waking to nurse every 2 hours...

and drats... my period came.. after enjoying period free for so long esp since I am still BF.. was hoping it would not come so soon actually!

my boy's teeth is still not out.. might follow the jie jie where only her first tooth came out when she was one. mine cant even sit without support yet. maybe for like 1 sec before he falls flat on the mattress.. seems like he's developing a bit slower when other babies can either sit up right or even crawl!

hey sookie, mine too, I forgot to add, she super looooves to bite and puuuulllll! n it makes my B looks like rubber when she does that! U're so rite, we just hope they'd stop doing these...

My menses also came when my girl turns 6mo, previously din bf this long, so no experience and after hearing so much abt ss dipping after menses resume, I was abit scared 'cos my bb still doesn't want milk in a bottle. My TCM doc prescribed tonic herbs for me to take after menstration and it helps to boost ss, u can consider trying...

ya kaira...can't imagine I'm still applying nipple cream at this stage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Aylie/Sookiewookie,

Will Jia you, in fact planning to BF till 9 mths or 1 year depending on the supply.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My bb has been clapping her hands lately! a milestone which my #1 only achieved at 9mths old...

oh juz saw yr post, Mrs chua, wldn't the hospital encourage her to pump, thought the colostrum wld be most beneficial to the baby now?

piggy,

I was counting. 3 days wait after every new food, then bb won't get to taste alot of things before moving on to the next stage. lol!

I've got allergy i think, skin always itch after i take salmon or seafood..

Jess,

I'm still bf-ing too. don't understand why some people insist that bf should stop at 6 months though *shrugs*

anyway do jia you! I'm intending to bf till bb 1 y o and longer if he wants to and depending on supply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kinda hate the feeling of stoppin bf. sigh.

mum05,

mine has just learnt to slam the table with his hand. sigh.

kaira,

ouch! have to teach them bite mommy then no milk.

seems like most mummies bb here have teeth already, how do you all keep it clean? brush their little tooth twice a day?

Aylie and Jess,

Me too, I'm still BF. Like what Sookie has mentioned, really difficult and tiring to pump and work and take care of bb at the same time. But just thk of the benefits and bonding with the bb, that's what keep us gg on ya

Sookie and mum05,

My bb bit me when he was only like 2 mths old? after i screamed in pain and scolded him, he still can smile at me.. give up! really cheeky! My boy's teeth also not out yet.. Asked PD today, he say usually teething is are 8 to 10 mths wor, so dun worry k.

Fungfung,

Thanks for sharing on the foods to avoid. Very helpful

btw, today checked with PD and he told me the latest MMR vaccine doesn't hv egg as its ingredients anymore...

Lynn,

hmm... maybe u can buy a toy drum for ur boy then?

Hi mummies ! Wana ask abt cow milk allergy in bb .. My bb has been on full BM since birth till now .. Until recently

I decided to let her try out FM .. But I realized she is allergic to cow milk, rashes broke out after I feed her (just a very small amt)

Therefore, wan to know from yr experiences n how u cope with it

Selling 5 unopened tins 900g Similac Stage 2. Expire 09-09-12. Self collect at Bedok Reservoir View. $35 each. Pm if interested. Thanks! 

Good morning mummies,

Glad to know that there are still so many mummies BF till now. Lets jia you together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies..

Manessah,

erm FM is not cow milk wor.. n bb not suppose to take cow milk be4 1YO same goes for other dairy products[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynn,

oh den i tink better be safe for ur case n dun hurry into intro food cos even move into nex stage can still feed mah.. like when i cook porridge i will still add puree such as carrot, pumpkin, potato etc quite similar to stage 1 food jus tt i added meat n fish so no worries...

morning mummies..first day of work after a week of moving hse..finally unpacked all the boxes over the weekends...

but sad thing is my son fell from the bed yesterday afternoo, scare the hell out of me and the daddy...crying like mad..brought him to a&e to check, and he can still giggle and play with the doc..faintz..

cHARMAINE,

hope ur boi is alright now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my bb fall from bed at ard 4mth + [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] jus monitor if ur bb behave differently n any vomittin etc...at this stage they flip n turn v fast 1 alot of time so fast even if u r right infront u r not fast enough to catch them so best is dun leave them on bed with height[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Charmaine,

Alamak I can imagine how you felt. My #1 fell off the bed a few times.. In fact a lot of mummies I talk to... All their babies have fallen down the bed at least one time. Mine had hit the floor head first. As piggy said, monitor for vomitting or restlessness. I'm sure why he cried so hard is more because of the fright/shock when he fell. Babies are very resilient one...

Went for check up yest.. My boy continues to be underweight... Only 6.6kg at almost 7 mths. Pd said to start porridge. Can I ask.. We should start with short grain rice is it? Or does it matter?

I'm a Dec 2010 mummy.

I bought too many tins of Nestle Nan Pro 2 from the supplier and am looking to sell them off as my little one is nearly 1 and should be moving on to Nestle Nan Pro 3. I've got 4 tins to let go each at $28.50 or all 4 at $110. Do PM me if you are interested. Thanks.

Lynn,

usu after 6mth bb wil slow down their growth alot 1... cos they r v active so no worrie... else if they continue to grow at such rate i tink they wil become obese leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my bb now milk strike drink v little so i alr expect his weight to drop or stagnant for quite a while...

sookie,

i actually start with brown rice n grind into powder ..

piggytoh,

my boy on milk strike too. so it is normal on milk strike at 6 mths old? how many meals solid food you give per day? for the past 2 weeks, my boy whole morning only drink 50ml and he used to drink 150ml each meal.

on the contrary, kasper has been drinking more and eatin more.. gave him 200ml and stil cry for more..

really worried i be overfeeding him...

but he been coughin at nite and not puttin on much weight..

im mixing brown rice and spinach nowadays...

so his poop getting so smelly..

can ask what snacks are u giving babies now??

piggytoh and sookie, thanks..he's alright, just that i think he got scared so keep waking up in the middle of the night and cry ...i know its normal and its ok if they cry after that..its the daddy that is super kia see, even wanted to take leave to look after him today..faintz..

Hi Nancy,

actually milk strike can happen any time not necessary 6mth.. my boi previously can drink 180-210ml x 4 now only 100ml at most n yesterday lat feed only 60ml... i givin him 2 meal currently..

actually as long as they r happy n growin well it ok la but the dissturbing part is he woke up middle of the nite n even i feed he only dirnk v little bth...

my #1 ever milk strike for 5-6mths lo n i gotta gave him yogurt n add milk to his cereal etc to ensure he got sufficient calcium intake...

in fact solid can be worse than milk strike esp if they r picky eater[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

smiggleprincess,

200ml at this age i ok bah...

i gavin him HB puff tryin to get the baby yogurt but OOS at NTUC extras..

Hi piggytoh,

my boy wake up 2-3 times at night, dont know he is hungry or something else, when i latch on he only drink v little like less than 5 mins.