(2011/04) Apr 2011

I started feeding my girl bananas yesterday. I read the posts – so many of you have invested in sophisticated blenders! Hmm. I had a sieve (very clean, used once or twice), and I just pushed the banana through the sieve and added some water so that the banana became mushy. I also started feeding her carrots, I used the same sieve technique and added 1 extra step – I have a grate/ grinder (like those pigeon brand) so after sieving the steamed carrots, I use an adult teaspoon to “flatten” it on the grinder bowl so make it even finer and added a bit of water.

I think I never thought about using the blenders yet because so far I make her food in small quantities and my kitchen is already stocked with “accessories” – I used to cook on weekends before baby came along! The bowl grinder I bought from Giant for like 5 dollars and worked pretty well so far.

Hi fung fung

Re your post about feeding enough. I think now is harder to monitor because of the solids intake BUT for my girl, the solid intake actually did not change her milk intake. When she was on total BM, I was calculating her daily intake using a chart I got from KKH – in it, you fill up the amount she drinks and the number of times she pooped and urine. For eg. If we give her 120ml and she finished it all, I will write “120ml” under #1 and the time. If I give her 120ml and she finished 100ml, I will write 100ml under #2. I did this chart religiously from when she was born all the way to until 5 months so that I could monitor her daily intake. The reasoning was because I didn’t know when to increase her milk intake and the moment I find that she consistently empties the bottle or starts to wake up earlier in the morning (her bedtime is 11pm – 7.30am daily since 10 weeks old), I will start to increase her milk about by 20-30ml and monitor how frequently she can finish and whether she can go back to sleeping til 7.30am.

Perhaps you need to talk to your PD about your baby not sleeping through the night if you are worried

Hi mummies, my girl jus turned 6 months and she is attending IFC. Can I check with mummies whose babies are in IFC what is the feeding arrangement? Will the teachers make porridge or purée for ur babies(they can't be eating cereal all the while right?)? Or we have to wake up early to make and bring to school?

Hi SG,

My girl is in IFC. Currently, they r cooking porridge n feeding her with it.. We r oso given a choice to cook n bring for her too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffany, if u wanna feed yr bb porridge, u'd hv to blend it, after blending, it'd be just the same as rice cereal, just that it's home-made(not heaty), [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I'm giving my bb home-made cereal now too, wif spinach/carrot/pumpkin/potato when she got heaty from eating readymade powder rice cereal(bellamy's) lor. If u like, u can also buy organic vege, (there might be organic rice avail even). Personal choice - I don't give fruits now, cos I fear my bb developing a sweet tooth(good thing 'cos this 2nd bb of mine seems to be, haha), plus if bb coughs, usually most fruits will cause them phelgm.

Morning mummies !

Went shopping yday & was more excited buying bb things then my own things ...

Cham ... I'm now only shopping for the kids !!

smiggleprincess,

Xavier two lower front teeth also pop out. So cute. He drools alot and keep putting his fingers into his mouth. Don't want teether.

JJ

Haha , its normal . I'm like this too. Only recently I start buying my on stuff.

Any gynae to recommend(asking on behalf for my friend)? Prefer in west area (bukit batok, Jurong West or Clementi).

kaira, my bb's also got her 1st bb tooth, heee. reliving my #1 bb days, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... but she's more active than my elder girl, very tiring. My #1 can go to nap/sleep on her own since bb, this one cannot, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Afternoon mummies,

Bb Z seems to get use to eating from the spoon and can see that he is eating more each day.. i'm so happy to see his progress.

Can someone please advise, by when then can we know that bb is not allergic to the food and we can start to move him on to 2 grains of cereal?

Any mummies use any detergent powder for bb clothing here? can recommend any brand that is good and effective in removing tough stain like (poo stain). Thanks

what are the symptoms you observe before baby's tooth came out?

my girl is sooo fussy the last 3 days. she has been drooling for a while now (at lest 3 weeks) and she loves her teether. problem is i don't see any white spots on her gums? does that mean she's not teething?

BUT she has been extremely fussy - crying and wanting to be carried, can't sleep well (we have to carry her 30 mins or so, put her down, she will wake up, then carry again and put her down, repeat for a few times over 2 hours til we are all so exhausted). is she teething? no fever btw.

Aylie,

sometimes my Z also like that (wanting to be carried), same like ur gal, put him down, he will wake up and it will repeat for a while. I also dunno what is the cause for it but i think every baby is different. For me is i'll trial and error to see which one will suit him... (if stomach got wind, will also like that i heard)

Did u try putting her down and sleep on her tummy?

My last resort will be he lie down on my chest and sleep together with me

HARLO MUMMIES..

Aylie,

hmm v hard to tell leh cos bb teethin alot they still drool alot.. some bb will have LS, fever etc.. for me the most obvious sign is the cut on his gum usu if the cut appear the teeth will appear within a wk cos others sign is too general alr even not teethin can have..

Jess,

my gynae is in clementi Dr Clifford Chan not bad i find.. can also consider Dr Wong Mum tat opp bt gombak mrt..

Mum05,

ya i also find my #2 more diff to handle compared to #1 v cranky esp now teethin my #1 no diff durin teethin 1..

Lynn,

i dun use blender at all cos another 1mth we might gave food in bite small more chunky for them to chew so in a way out grow the blender v fast.. n i usu prepare pumpkin, potato, banana, avocado jus mash with fork.. this time rd i bott a munckin brand to help me smash faster n easy to clean n cheaper[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fungfung

yes i let her sleep on my chest too, while i sit on the ikea recliner. that's the only way i can carry her for long now.. she's about 8.5kg leh! if i let her head lie on my shoulder and i carry her, the side with her head will be aching after a while so i can't do that anymore, her head has to lie near my chest

i hope i can see her teeth coming out, otherwise don't know what's wrong. it's not constipation because she has been poo-ing very regularly over the weekend.. sigh

Piggy: toking abt wheat, bb cannot eat b4 1YO...

For those mummies feeding Frisocrem, anibody buying e wheat based rice cereal? Tt wat i feeding my bb nw leh...blur mi, i tot wheat n brown rice are e same...

Little Twin Star,

ya no wheat tt is y i am sharing the info y no bread... usu food tt i am unsure i will avoid first... better to be safe than sorry mah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mum05 & piggy,

I'm opposite from you all. My #1 is very very difficult to handle. Till now, still very difficult. #2 is a gentle and easy baby. Haha when have 2 kids, alway like to compare :/ but i think sometimes they will change.

Kaira, I feed C avocado with milk . Don't need to cook [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am not a big fan of it either but i will dramatize and pretend that it is yummylicious so that she will love it.. lol. Worked so far!

Charmaine,

I find pigeon powder detergent doesn't really dissolve in water and can't really see the soap when soak in water so had change to kodomo liquid detergent (like the nice fragrant) but intend to get powder one so as to wash his clothings when it's stained with his poo before soaking them in the liquid detergent.

I have a preloved carseat maxi cosi priori XP, it is fr bb from 9 mths to 4 yrs old. bought it abt a yr ago this is a spare carseat in my fil's car but he seldom let me boy sit on it. Now it is placed in my spare room. I bought it from taka at $349, now selling at $200. Pls pm me if interested.

Happy Holiday, mommies!

Need more sharing on the type of vege for 7mth old bb, running out of ideas... Can we give tofu(beancurd) already? Has anyone given asparagus? seen this vege listed in many bb food websites and baby book, but the source of these info comes from the western area, nt sure if asians do that...

I want to give away my sample tin of mamil gold stage 2 for babies after 6 months. Used only once a few days ago. Expiry date is Jun 2012. Interested mummies pls pm me or email me at [email protected]. Collection at either Kovan or Serangoon MRT.

when its mentioned that need wait 3 days for new food introduced, it refers to just new food that bb has never taken before or generally any new stuff that is given to bb?

ie, pureed apples and apple cereal?

Harlo mummies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good morning too!

So long never come in. I'm sooooooooooo busy!

So many new nicks. Hi all!!!!!

morning ladies..

argh had a bad PH bb fever again n this morning 4am shoot up to 39.7deg argh now i am like a zombie...

Fung,

hmm the stain is on white clothing? if so can try the vanish brand they got 1 meant for bb clothin 1...

mum05,

tofu u gotta check got egg anot leh..

Lynn,

new food.. if u tried apple n cereal individually no issue u can mix..

piggy,

not mixing the pureed apples and cereal.. but its those box one where the cereal is apple flavoured, is that considered new item and need wait 3 days?

Lynn,

of coss it is consider new item apple puree n apple cereal is diff mah.. beco ur bb ok with apple does not mean can accept the other ingredient in the cereal..

piggy, dun buy egg tofu la, hehehe. Just bought a box of organic silken tofu last evening, will try abit later...

Afternoon everyone...

So busy lately and yesterday dunno what happen, Z wants me to wake up every 2 hours.. Argh! How i wish i can sleep for 6 hours without any disturbance

Piggy,

Ya on white clothings.. okok.. will go and find the vanish power for baby... Thanks for sharing.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Feeding solid:

Can I check, when can we start introduced two grains of cereal? one week after introducing one which no allergy shown? And when can we introduce puree?

Fungfung,

ya i tink it call napisan or wat not all ntuc have leh.. i saw at JP ntuc extras...

for cereal usu after single grain ok i proceed to multigrain cos after 1 tin jus nice haha for puree i intro a wk later it up to individual la some intro puree straight[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mum05,

ya i mean mus take note on the ingredient..

hipopolai: *waves* hey!~~~~~ long time no see... how are u and Ms Jovie?

piggy: oh dear~ speedy recovery to your boy.. u take care too..

MIkio,

thanks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynn,

actually for me i din wait cos my HB n myself no allergy n ezcema history n my #1 also alot of time i din wait hahah... the 3days to a wk is recommended la but i chose not to follow oops..

Halo mummies!!

So long din post here. Super bz at work, but thk I'm still lagging behibd target. Sigh!!!

Piggy,

Hope ur boy get well soon.

So many mummies sharing on solids. Thanx for the info. I will be starting soon too... Will start with happy belly cereals first. Then fruit puree. Hope my boy will enjoy it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bot the philip blender too, but seems like short useful life only.. Haiz, there goes my $$$

e_lazy,

thanks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for the blender nvm la can keep for #2 or #3[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] else use it to blend smoothie or spice for cooking?

piggy,

oh ok.. thanks.. will go and search for it...

As for cereal, ok.. wait till i finish the 2 tins of brown rice cereal, then will introduce him to multigrain.. heehee. Well as for puree, will see how it goes after one week. So usually after one week, i can introduce 1 x cereal and 1 x puree into his diet per day right?

Hope ur boy gets well soon and u take care too...

Re: Philip blender

i also bought the blender but then after reading all those post on not using it, i also think that there goes my $$ but then since already bought no choice will try to use it more often once i move into my new house... so looking forward.. heehee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]