(2011/04) Apr 2011

Piggytoh, hee hee ours also from PG, in fact I think they might be using my girl's cake as the sample. Chief baker was so sweet, I could not find the Mickey figurines so she bought them and gave them to my girl as a birthday gift. True but I think if the spacing is bigger, definitely easier. My no 1 already toilet trained and attending school, can feed herself. So can look after herself (basic survival needs) a bit better than a year or two ago. But of course got downsides to the big gap...like harder for the two kids to be close, Plus you kinda spread the "pain" out over a longer period, etc. Good and bad lah. Ideally I would have liked a 2.5-3 year gap like what Jeslyn said, but we take what we get rite? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Picotin,

wah so sweet of PG..

Hmm not true let I have 1 friend her #1 n 2 gap abt the same as urs when #2 arrive she behave v extreme refuse to walk saw #2 sit in pram she also wan den will pinch the baby etc when no 1 ard n become v stubborn she used to be v sweet n obedient be4 she gt sibling so I tink it depend on their charActer also..

Aiyoh your poor friend. Yes I think it's definitely dependent on character. My little one is really sweet with younger kids and babies, a real mini-Mummy, she's also very protective of her current "siblings" (my two dogs). I'm sure that there will be some jealous moments but overall, I'm very confident she will be a good jie jie.

But anyway my point was that at least with older child, they are a bit more independent, needs-wise. No need to worry so much about toilet training, speaking, etc. Down side is that they may be more jealous but plus side is that older child can better communicate their feelings so this can be addressed by parents (without need for kids to act up). Overall got good and bad lah...

Picotin,

ya I agree with u but I see my friend it worse than having 2 baby btw not to scare u her Gal also v sweet n nice to other babies n kid she will come n sayang my BB also but diff with her own sister.. actually I realize gal gal will be more jealousy n attention seekin compared to boys.. But like wat u say gt gd n bad[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We shall see lah. My girl won't be like that. I know her. She is very nurturing and caring. She is not the jealous type. I don't know your friend's circumstances so I shall not comment. I have heard girls are more nurturing than boys, but I guess it really depends on the kid.

Anyway all this will be academic if my sac turns out to be empty. Then my gap will be more than four years [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Picotin,

ya tt wat pp say tt y many pp say have gal first better keke but so far the gal gal I cone across including my niece show likewise:p believe ur gal will be a wonderful JIE JIE ..

Choy ur sac will not be empty this time round be positive[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dun Congrats me 1st.

my cycle is very irregular. maybe i stop bfg on end nov last yr. can range for 28 - 52 days since dec till end jun.

therefore i did a Ovulation test....and discover i O on 22 jul.

so i kiasu and did a test last nite becos i i got some CM in afternoon and breast abit sore at nite. and saw a very light and faint line. last nite is week 3 day 4 only when i test. And didnt experience any implanation bleeding...i got it during my #1

so i am also not sure. cos the breast sore no more this morning. dunno issit AF reporting.

hopefully it is.

my #1 is 15mths now

Tambourin, not me but I have read that those are normal symptoms

Cowgal, wow you got a bfp very early, just keep testing every few days, will keep fingers crossed for you.

Hi picotin,

thanks for your reply. My O should be on 23-24 Jul. AF should be due this Friday. For my first pregnancy, I was knocked out by 10pm every night and nipples were sore before I tested BFP. This time round, I experience much more frequent mild tugging (due to previous c-sect?) and higher body temp. When I held my 3.5 yr old girl's hand last night, she asked, 'Mummy, why is your hand so hot?'.

Cowgal,

A line is a positive - faint or dark. Congrats!

Hubby and I are TTCing for our first... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My LMP was 24/06...Happened to run out of ovulation sticks this month so I didn't keep track of when ovulation was exactly.

Tested BFP twice last night and just tested on the digital test... Eyes nearly popped out when the "pregnant" appeared! Kinda still in shock now...

Looking forward to sharing stories with the other mommies here! Good luck to everyone! Wishing everyone a happy and healthy 9 months ;)

PS: Haven't even visited the GP yet... think it's too early... maybe later this week will be a good idea? First timer so no experience of what to expect or what to do!

Hi tambourina, it's apparently caused by heightened uterine expansions (our bodies already know what to do having done it once before!), that could be the tugging you feel. For those who chart, they notice consistently higher temps from ovulation onwards. But I did not realize the increase was enough to be discernible through touch.

Hi pinkraindrops, congrats! My advice would be not to see a GP, most don't have scan machines and can't do much more than administer a urine test (which you can DIY). Maybe book an appt to see a gynae at the end of the week or early next week.

Hi Picotin,

thanks! how many weeks are you now? congrats to you too!

have you seen the gynae yet? I've not started shortlisting gynaes yet... not telling friends/family the news yet so can't exactly get recommendations from them =P Plus I'm looking for a female one... and my sister and friends used male gynaes =P

Cowgal,

yes s line is a line be it faint or dark[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] in faint I have a few friend whose menses came as norm durin the first few mth of their Preg not sayin u r 1 of them but positive is positive[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinkyraindrop,

congrats n welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

personally I used a male gynae cos been to a few female

gynae ard my estate dun like.. I heard ther is 1 dr wong from TMC is gd u can consider.. No need go to GP cos thru usin

HPT also wait till after 6 wk den go see gynae better[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tambourina,

congrats n welcome.. My Body temp also higher no sore boobs this time round but as usual v gassy n bloated tummy..

Think my journey has come to an end. Had bleeding tis morn so rushed to my doc. Took the jab and meds but bleeding didn't stop. Got very bad cramps also. Took blood test but HCG levels nt very good. Thurs is my follow-up but I'm quite sure my bb is gone.

Hi pinkraindrops,

so you actually tested before AF is due?

Piggytoh,

thanks but too soon. I haven't tested yet. Thinking of testing on the day AF is due. Wasted much $$ on HPTs, so hub and I are playing the waiting game. Have you been monitoring your BBT? Or you feel warmer to the touch?

Hi Tambourina,

No actually my period was due a few days ago but my cycle is not regular so AF was roughly due from Thurs onwards... I was still expecting to see a single line on the HPT because I almost don't feel any symptoms at all for now... except for AF-like cramping. I tested on CD 39 and my cycle ranges from 32-38 days some months even 42 days...

This is our 11th month of TTC (and we are both 27) so I've had many months of disappointments and false alarms before.

Tam,

nope I din monitor BBT cos sort of unplanned :p

but I tested be4 menses was due also I feel hot at nite n nausea when brushing my teeth days be4 tested +ve..

Tambourina when is ur AF due? JIA YOU and good luck! Hope to hear good news from you!

I also feel that my body temperature is higher..thought I had a fever on Sunday and tested 37 degrees. Air con was on full blast 18 degrees and still felt warm :p

Freshpoison,

Sorry to hear that. But you still have a fighting chance! Don't give up and think positive thoughts ok!

Will pray for you!

pinkraindrops,

It should report this Friday. Yes, I have this feverish kind of internal body temp but I am well leh. Just now I went to get cold orange juice to cool down.

Piggytoh,

Looks like your gut feeling is accurate! Hope mine is too ;)

cowgal, my #1 also 15 months.. I stop BF end Nov too.. Been trying since then but there was no good news.. Praying tht will strike so #1 and #2 will have same month birth date.. Good luck to u!!

Freshpoison:

BE Strong

andrea:

my #1 is May...hee

pinkraindrops:

Tambourina:

me O on 22nd and AF shall report on Fri...

i kiasu and went to test

Tam,

lotsa of BB dust for u hope u can join us real soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Freshpoison, so sorry to hear about the bleeding. Only girls who have had a m/c before fully understand the pain of losing a baby. Hugs! Can always look to us here for support.

Pinkyraindrops, I'm afraid I can't be of much help as well. Like piggytoh, I've always preferred male gynaes. My current gynae is fantastic but he is unfortunately very pricey. Without insurance cover, I do not think I could afford him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When choosing a gynae, consider what kindw of care you want. Are you the doc-knows-best type or the sort that wants answers to questions and to make your own decisions? In my last preg, I was initially with an excellent obgyn, but he was too interventionist for me- very dismissive of doulas and of women who wanted natural pain relief. So I changed to my current gynae in the last tri.

Also think abt which hospital you want to deliver at, some docs only use hospital x, etc.

Pinkyraindrops, female gynaes my friends like are Dr Joycelyn Wong and Dr Eunice Chua both at TMC I think. Try to book your appt for Week 6 + if you can wait. I'm a bit edgy because of my history so going in at Week 5 but that will mean I will not be able to hear the heartbeat and will have to schedule a followup abt two weeks later (assuming all goes well at my early a ppt this week).

Tambourina, oh exciting week! Do test on Fri and keep us updated, hope this will be the month for you! ;) looks like you and I are in then same boat with our large age spacing betw kids. Did you plan for this?

Pinkyraindrops, just reread that you and hubby been trying for 11 months? It has been a long journey for me too since my m/c, almost eight months. Jia yo! Hoping for sticky beans for us!

PIcotin,

hmm i nv knew got insurance cover for pregnancy wor... under which co huh?

Pinkraindrops,

wat a coincident.. me n my HB also 27 this yr n my #1 i ttc for nearly 2 yrs until i wanted to gave up lol~ oh ya the Dr wong i mentioned earlier on is Jocelyn Wong v popular but also mean long waiting time :p

Piggytoh, yeah we r very blessed and lucky, hub is with a European company, covers all prenatal care and 80% of delivery costs. I know some local firms cover about 30-50% but not as extensive as ours.

Picotin,

hahah i been to British, japan n local firm but none cover prenatal care[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] u r indeed lucky... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah, really lucky. But hubs may be considering a move soon, so we will lose some of these benefits. BTW, my friends love Dr Joycelyn Wong, but you are right about the long wait times. But most good gynaes seem to have long queues in their waiting rooms. A good tip is to try to get the first appointment of the morning.

Hi girls!

Sorry just reached home after a long day... had lotsa of errands to run. *faints*

Thanks for the heads-up, I'll definitely KIV Joceyln Wong and Eunice Chua, and I'll spend the next few days researching on the forum for the other good female ones. I don't particularly need to go for the hugely popular ones, as long as they are quite nice, caring and understanding? Haha, I don't know what else to look out for also but I suppose at the end of the day we must be comfortable with the doctor.

morning ladies....goin to see gynae later wake up to find some spotting again... hopefully no injection this time round v painfull!!! and of cos baby ok...

Pinkraindrops,

to be frank i have not seen many nice female gynae n usu the nice and caring 1 r those popular 1.... but like wat picotin says get the first appt in the morning:p

morning ladies,

wow so many posts in 1 day! Was feeling really unwell yesterday so took the day off.

Freshpoison,

Sorry to hear about this, but until your check up tml, still got chance! What's most impt is take care of your own health =)

Gynae --> Mine is Dr Paul Tseng from TMC, had him for #1 and I like him coz he's very pro natural. Gave him my birth plan with a list of things I requested for and he agreed.

Congrats to all!

Pinkyraindrops: ConGRATS!! I also have irregular menses and just got my BFP last Friday.

To update, after going to a random gynae at Bishan last Friday and seeing nothing & feeling damn lousy about it, I went to my regular gynae, Dr Woo Bit Hwa (with Thomson Women's Clinic) and he did a detailed scan. We found the sac (still v small though) and he puts me at 3 wks since conception. I'm scheduled to go back again in 3 wks and he said everything looks ok. Given progesterone to protect the bb....

So for the newly BFPs, CONGRATS! And hope everything goes well.... V v v v impt to go to a gynae u're v comfortable with..

Adel, friend of mine had pretty severe bleeding in her 1st trimester. She was put on bed rest for like 2 wks... she literally just lie down in bed & do nothing for 2 wks.

Slowly the bleeding reduced and eventually stopped. She's the mommy of a healthy 2 yrs old boy now! Not to give false hopes but just try try try to be positive cos I think determination & state of mind helps....

Hi Cowgal,

I can't remember how much I paid the last time, think it was ard $50 - $80 for consultation? I'm going to see Dr Paul this Fri, will update you again on his charges...

Hey Rene, thanks and congrats to you too for your wonderful BPF! *sprinkles babydust* Is this your no.1 or 2? =)

When was your LMP? Wanna compare with mine... Am wondering if I should go see a gynae too to get the progesterone pills? Do you have any other symptoms? I currently feel ok and life goes on as per normal so I wasn't planning to see a gynae this early... What do you think?

PS: I estimate my conception to be 3 weeks ago...

is it a need to take progesterone?

i remember my i did take during my #1....

Adel,

thinking to change a gynae...not very comfort with my previous gynae

Pinkraindrop,

usu gynae will gave progesterone pill n injection if u got spotting or ur BB unstable to boost ur pregnancy hormones if u ok no need to get the pill[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cowgal,

I din take progesterone during #1 pregnancy. Think it depends on each individual?

MS - Ladies, can you share how you cope with MS? During my last pregnancy, snacking on plain biscuits worked for me, but it's not working this time round... I've tried mints, but it only works for a while. Sleeping is the best, but can't possible be sleeping all day...

pink:

My LMP was on 19 June. I think it's always a gd idea to go to a gynae just to make sure all's ok, even though it most likely is! He's given me the progesterone as an 'extra' protection and I'm on folic acid also. Go la, no harm rite? Except spend $100+ lo...

Adel,

I not doin anything to curb my MS been feelin more n more nausea but once I burp the gases out I feel better.