(2011/03) Mar 2011

so sian loh, ever since the day that J walked in the rain a little with mil, she has not been feeling well. bout with diarrhea, runny nose, and worst body heat. she has recovered from her diarrhea but since last sat, her body heat not dispperse yet. than she talk, you can smell the bad heat breath. she has been super grumpy, clingy, dont want to walk etc . a little bit also cannot. touch her tummy and back, always very warm de but forehead, no fever leh. We gave her the barley (cooling one) since sat on alt days, but still cannot leh. sometimes mil will give greenbean soup with barley also.

can we give ling yang if not so serious ? told mil, than she said cannot, too liang, later "hei gu" (asthma). than she gave J the "bao ying dan", which i dunno what is that.

need her to recover fast and build her immunity since she starting school in 2 weeks.

aiyoh, weather really bad sia, i applied vicks for J on her chest before she sleep, next morning ok liao but evening go pick her, will start to drip again.

ya, these days weather is also no good!

BUt allets... I believe for runny nose, must faster clear if not will affect the throat & all. So better see the pd and ask for meds for runny nose. She will also sleep better.. faster recovery!

body heat.. no choice lor... barley if not ling yang (just 1 - 2 teaspoon ba).. this is what the medical hall tells me!

allets,

i believe more warm water helps

replace her meal with soup soup and No biscuit

haiz, Shay also just recover from his flu. hate to see out little one sick.. heartpain ho

Keep them at home also feel pitiful for them. Bring them out easily get sick. I saw those kids cough cough cough at playground, use their hand wipe the mucus and continue play... disgusting lo... i faster bring them away ... change to open field run run and bicycle lo

hhaah.. sinmey.. i also feel the same way.. but hor, when Chloe coughs. we also bring her out.. i think alot of parents also hate us!!

One thing to ask... for delivery, must we remove all nail polish? I remember to be safe. it is a MUST but recently I saw a few frens that still have nail polish on their fingers leh!

tres,

dun remember must remove leh .. i think i still have my toe polish on tat time leh .. but finger one better remove in case the color drop or stick on pump/acc ? haha

tres- her runny nose is those a little bit type.

sinmey - no biscuits for v long, still heaty. i think she inherited my genes on body heatiness.. i can body heat until nose bleed type. than got sweaty palms n feet de.

i jsut hated it when she is so whiny and clingy. i want my little ger back!

Tres: some kids take up to 6 months to build their own immunity upon going to school. So u should c her getting better after 6 months. Personally I don't like up load with medicine so much.

Supplements also don't give too much, cos the body can only take in a certain amount, those unabsorb one will come out with poo. That's what I understand la..

Tres: fingers better remove cos they will kiap something on the fingers. Toes one is fine. I didn't take out all my necklace and earrings too. But I think if c sec will hv too

2ks - thanks! yes, paosheng, but i always get from those liang teh shop. wonder if that works. maybe should get own paosheng and make for her.

yes, ling yang is for v high temp. so we never give her.

i told mil, give watermelon, starfruits. and i can see that J is feeling more jing shen and lively. she ate "七星茶“,”保婴丹“, which i have no idea what is that. but mil ask the medical shop she patronised often, they recommend that to her .

Liang teh shop one those pao sheng no good la, too watery, pao sheng very easy to make de

The 2 Chinese medicine that your mil gave is okay. I got give before too

allets,

watermelon is 'shi re' to me. It will cause cough leh .. i get the cc to stop giving watermelon when shay is down with Flu usually.

Maybe make the pao sheng soup ? winter melon soup, watercress, old cucumber all cooling soup

wah piang.. 6 months is a long long time!

Well, now just hope she will get thru this running nose and phelgmy cough stage! *pray hard*

Can I check what I need to prepare for Janelle's childcare?

Water bottle

Milk bottle plus 1 feed

Some diapers (do I need to provide wipes?) Plus diaper cream

towel and 1set clothing in wet/dry bag for bat

Blanket (do they need to bring home everyday? )

Jacket

Anything else? She doesn't have any comfy items.

Also, 1st day Need to wear uniform? I have buy yet Co's No size for her. How many sets typically mummies buy?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

allets: usually wear home clothes before uniform arrives. but i pack 2 sets cos MFS practice self feeding so they might still dirty their clothes after tea break.

can check do they require bedsheets cover.

the school never give u orientation meh?

i have orientation

allets - sch shd have a checklist for you?

This is wat i bring daily:

- water bottle

- milk bottle w 1 feed

- towel

- 1 set of uniform

- 1 set of home clothes for spare

- 1 recycle bag for dirty clothing

- 1 bedsheet cover

- some biscuits (just in case she hungry b4 we fetch her at 6+pm)

items i keep in her locker:

- ru-yi oil

- comb

- diaper cream

- powder

- 1 pkt of wipes

- plenty of diaper & i check stock on n off

they r not suppose to bring any comfy items to sch.

but diff sch might have diff stuff. watever it is, best to check w sch.

just make sure whatever you brought has her name labeled on.

allets,

yea, there should be check list for u.

blanket should bring home to wash on friday only together with the bed sheet, and Shay's bolster.

Milk powder, i think is for 2 feeds for PG ? do check with school again.

J is at CH right ? they dun have long sleeve/pant uniform de. So the principle think it is too cold for out todd to wear shorts with short sleeve in the air con room. So till now, Shay wear his PJ to school everyday. I'll pack 2 sets of long sleeve & (3/4) pant for him. Since the school not particular on wearing the uniform, i also nvr buy.

Anyway, my girl wear uniform to school everyday and i wash on Tue/Wed during the weekday only. I need about 8 sets of uniform for her else 1-2 days she will wear her mei mei clothes to school.

i hv 4 sets. but cos MFS is not strict. so i only let him wear uniform to school in the morning, after bath change into home clothes.

but if totally wanna wear uniform, i find at least require 6 sets

2Ks, bo pian lah!

Chloe PG also stated next year school fees increase... $50.

At least Kyler is whole day CC... so divided by hours spent in the CC.. ok ba!

Seriously hope there will be new rebates / incentives for FTWM to claim for such fees involve for child education!

tres: one hand govt give u subsidy the other hand the cc increase their fees = the same la!

one shot $100 i think abit too much leh...somemore the standard there so so only lor..

2Ks,

Kyler's cc fee is cheaper now right ? wat is the new fee next yr ? They better increase their quality (which i doubt)

keep my finger cross that SL & CH dun send me love letter ...

Just wanna share with al of you.

Eden is suspected of having Dengue fever.

Fetched him back from cc last thursday. Teacher tell me she think he is having fever, cos she touch him n felt its warm... Then say didnt inform me cos their thermometer a bit spoilt..

Brought home measure n 38.5 degree...

Continue to have high fever thurs, fri and sat night... highest was 39.6 degree... Whole of sunday no fever so we thought he recovered le..

Who know in middle of night 3am, 39 degree again... Sigh... Brought him to kkh on monday morning and did a blood test full blood count, his platelet count is low. 132, normal is 150-450.

Absolute neutrophil count also very low, meaning his immunity is down at the moment...

At KKH, no fever... come back from kkh, 38 degree again. Last night 39.3 degree again...

Sigh.. Today also continue to have fever...

Tomorrow will go nearby polyclinic for blood test again... Doc scare his platelet level drop to a very low level. Say if>80k, need to admit hospital...

Eden also super whiny, appetite is damn poor also...

Thanks .. the director Did told me a few things to bring. But I forget to check on the tutor oil, diaper cream etc I probably standby there items than dun need just bring home. I dunno if she will have her own locker not . And she said from Playgroup onwards, the kids suppose to wear uniforms to school. Maybe for her 1st few days, let her wear home clothes since uniform not ready. anyway I taken 2days leave So probably 1st day put half day, 2nd day slowly drag the timing. She doesn't know how to self feed a full meal yet. So u think teachers will still feed?

fel-Oh dear, eden got the bite from cc? How can they dun have spare thermometer if 1 spoiil.

Sinmey, hahaah, still got extra $200 which the Cc will find ways to 'touch' that amt soon or later too!!

oh no Fel... that's worrying! Hopefully, they will find out the cause of it, at least you know what to remedy ba!

allets, be prepared lah! Transition from home to full day CC will be tough, not on yourself but esp the kid.. so mental prep is key!!! Jiayou!

Fel,

omg, hope it is just a stronger viral fever. My girl always have viral fever and record last for 5 days and temp will hit 40'C kind. But i nvr bring her for blood test though ... it is ok to have poor appetite, just give him milk and plenty of warm water. continue to feed the para even no fever sometimes, as there may be due to the medicine is on effect.

U too rest well whenever u can.

2Ks,

wah, $520 is expensive leh ... like Star learner liao.

wat extra class Kyler attend, $120 so expensive ?

2Ks - I'm still trying to recover from the fees increment nightmare... I kena x2 lor... vomit blood... this morning my hub was lamenting on getting a maid cheaper then the sch fees haiz but who can supervise the maid I ask him...

XFZ: ya la...$100 alot rite.

u ask your hub 1st, he got 4k cash upfront to pay for maid 1st or not? cos #2 coming, so much expenses leh.

no lah XFZ... a maid CAN NEVER replace what the childcare teaches... no doubt it will ease your housework and all.. but I never believe maid to bring up the kids. They will NEVER do a good job even when compared to the worst CC available!

hhah, no only the $$ for upfront, when maid arrives.. have to manage expectations ... so sickening! Pay for maid also need to manage... double sian!

oh dear...hope its not dengue fever for eden. hope he get well soon

2k - wow..thats a big jump in price. n kids already settled down there. its like a increase of price w no options given to parents sia. just hope w increase price, their module will turn better? [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank you everyone for your concern...

Lucky it was a false alarm... Not dengue afterall. His platelet count went up and back to normal level today... So doctor exclude dengue... So far this morning no fever, but last night fever 39 degree again.. See how it goes...

Doc say no need to admit...

Maybe mycoplasms infection?

Haiz....

2Ks - Ya lor so much expenses to account for... si bei sianz... can write to MCYS to check why the sch need to increase so much? Imagine 50 kids in sch, 1 headcount $100 increment, that is $5K extra for the sch each month, I don't believe the sch need $5K more each month for higher operating expenses lor... plus its not that with the increment there will be changes in curriculum or whatever, its not stated in the love letter... I still can't stomach I need to cough out $2.4K more starting next year...

tres - yup definitely the maid cannot be match to what is taught in school to the kids... only gd thing is if heng heng got gd maid at least housework and meals no need to worry but also mean I got another mouth to feed....

Fel

u must be so worried..

phew... thank goodness he is fine..

Kasper had vomitted last night... Initially i thot he vomitted blood! cos it was red color. then i look closer, cos he ate all the wolfberries and tomatoes, thats why so red..

Scare the hell out of me..

XFZ

MCYS does not govern the school fees for pre-school.

Although i believe there is a call to action for the govt to regulate the fees.

Increase in school fees

Haiz, my #1 school fees also increase..

from nursery to kindergarten, $600-$900 per term..

I don understand why kindergartden must be so ex when their class size is bigger... somemore these exclude the readin books which is abt $100..

Im goin to find a new kindergarten..

P1

my fren who teaches P1 chinese say they have to learn hanyu pinyin in P1....

But kindergartens are not teaching it..

Maid

My maid only supervise #1 practising writin and coloring.. Their english is not even up to standard...My boy speaks better than her..

So its impossible for the maid to teach..

Unless u happen to hire a maid who used to teach english??

Fel, Heng ah!! Glad that Eden is fine!!

hmmm... XFZ another mouth to feed plus other headaches lah!!! oh well!

If I have a choice, I will opt for CC option than to hire a maid!

XFZ: i tell u hor...when they reach N1 hor, got to buy BOOKS! its around $80 for N1 & N2 if i didnt remember wrongly.

i also think the increase is way too much, given the facilities and standard there lor!

i just asked kiefer MFS again...waiting for principal to respond. she seems to be so busy.

today the teachers brought the toddlers to library...imagine 14 of them walking to library...quite cute. even 'help' them borrow books...

but well...i got to return myself..yawn..

smiggleprice - that's leaving parents with no choice... sad... precisely why many are stopping at one...

tres - yes I agree maid will come with whole loads of other issues... today we were discussing abt the bus driver strike in office, if SMRT ever give in, all the ah-nen, maid whatever will all take turn to go on strike, then parents must also go on strike against the CC fees hike lol...

XFZ

how we go strike?

strike means the kids don go, then we have to stay at home and look after them?

then co will sack us lor.....

The PM still wanna encourage us to give birth more..

How to when i give birth just to give someone else to look after?? What a weird society we have.. If i have to give birth, of cos i wanna look after myself..

But since gahment prefer dual-income and lifestyle so ex.. i don wan give birth liao..

i love kids but not worth it.. I gotta work like mad to afford a stranger to look after them and send them to lousy schools with exp fees.. and cramp all of them in a small but exp hdb, then subject them to monotous schooling and exams..

ya... i think more incentive should be given to parents with more than 1 kid.. anyway, it is the parents with #1 that will eventually have #2... so this grp is the potential grp to boost fertiliy rate!

I think dun need to waste time on those who wants to get married later and do not want to have kids. This is entirely their mindset liao!

Abt the China drivers.. I hope SMRT will sack them and make them return to China. If give in ah, I tell you hell will break loose, we will have the maid to go on strike for more off days, next will be those bagala workers... endless lor! hahahaha

So quiet.. Anyway i think Eden has started terrible two already...

Everyday throwing tantrum... on food and milk strike!!!

Don't want to eat, drink... Dinner time dont want to eat at all... Only ate a little tomato sauce!!!! Faint!!!!

Don't want us to feed... Let him self feed, he also don't want... sigh...What to do with this son of mine...

Gotta ask teachers how he behave in school...

fel: their stage is like that one. then their appetite also changing...

u dont have meet the teachers session? today is kiefer meet the teachers session.

i just asked the teacher about enrichment classes, whether MFS have or not...

sian they also have what music and movement...means have to pay money again...

double sian cos my CDA match is almost gone...