(2011/02) Feb 2011

Hi Vivian

I'm with Dr Woo =) he isn't my previous gynae though. I've decided to see him cos of good reviews about him and he has night clinic so i don't have to take leave to see him. Moreover his clinic is near my place too, which is an added convenience for me.

Same as u i had no symptoms so didn't know i was pregnant.

Dr Woo's package is $650 excluding GST.

Thanks Fiona n pinksobert [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ohh the package is up back $100 since 3 years ago [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinksobert what's ur Edd?

Fiona, I hired a maid to look my son, I have same situation as you, mil dun wan to take care. My mum staying too far. So I guess second one my maid willtake care also. But employing maid really depend on ur luck. I can't said mine is very good as we jus employ her 3 months ago but my son get along with her. So... What more can I ask for... Sigh. If ur aunty willing to take care of 2 would b the best arrangement I feel

Vivian: if my aunt can help i also dun need to headache.. i got 2 aunt taking turn, so if they come 3 weeks i also need to pay them 1 month money.. sometime they come for only 1 week.. but in the end my mum ask me to give them one month money.. is really not fair for me.. so i think i better hire a maid to take care.. at least they will help me to do housework all.. n also i can see my baby everyday.. if my aunt take care they dun wan to go my house stay.. say my house too small.. den i only can see my baby for a few hours after my work den i need to go home.. but sometime i wan to go see my baby.. but this pregnancy really too tired.. so can't see her everyday.. miss all her childhood which only happen once.. haiz..

hi fiona,

it is not a bad idea to employ a maid. But it really all depends on your luck! I got my maid since the birth of my first girl. My mother lives in HK and my mil can't do the job. Actually, as long you open one eye and close one eye, and don't expect too much, she can take care of babies with no problem. I dont' even install spider cam.

two cents of advice: you can get a maid earlier, so that she can get used to your environment and you can observe whether she is suitable or not

Hi Fiona,

Just to share with you my experience:

Initially, I put my son (then 3 mths old) in infant care centre. Spent the first 2 days observing how things are run in the infant care centre and decided not suitable for my son, so I withdrew him. Thereafter, I got a babysitter to come take care of my son. Who knows she play me out, just 2 days before I was due to go back to work.

So eventually, my maid is taking care of my son full time. Initially, I was reluctant cos' hear all those horror stories about maid abuse etc. But I guess I was lucky, my maid quite good..i'm first time employer too. So far, this arrangement works well for me.

Good part:

- Once you reach home from work, you can see your baby immediately. No need to rush off from work to pick baby up from IFC or babysitter place

- At home, when you need help with the baby (e.g. when you take bath, go toilet, or sometimes just want some "me" time), maid can help take care of baby

- More freedom for you and hubbie to go out for some couple time, no need to bring baby.

- Baby is taken care of in familiar surroundings (i.e. home), and the stuff that baby needs is within reach, no need to have 2 or more sets of things, or transport things here and there.

Bad part:

- After some time, inevitable that bond will form between maid and baby. For me, I choose to think of this positively, at least I have a good maid who dotes on and takes good care of my son, instead of one who may abuse him.

- Maid may not be able to do housework as well, but this is expected. Cos' her main duties is to take care of baby mah...as long as you close one eye regarding housework, it's ok...

And I agree with jessyy, try to get the maid earlier. For me, I got her about 2-3 mth before i deliver. Aprt from reasons mentioned by jessy, good also because maid can help to do housework when you are heavily pregnant =)

JOLIN>>

Sorry for late reply. I was overseas. My gynae is Dr Douglas Ong. He has a clinic at Mt. E and Ten Mile Junction. Recommendation from hubby's friends. They have been seeing him & have good feedbacks about him.

I am waiting for my second scan next week. I had my first scan last week & it was only a dot. Gynae said its only probably about 4 weeks old.

I experienced spotting earlier this week. Just once. Some times I do experience some kind of pain/uncomfortable in my tummy. Is this considered normal?

My nauseous feeling is getting worse, i really really hope i don vomit. i notice that when i take some bread, the nauseous feeling seems to go away.

Today got craving for cabbage soup. I heard it's too cooling for pregnant women? I cook with carrots and pork.

Hi mummies, I tested positive last mon.. This is my second pregnancy and I'm totally nt prepared as I'm a dec09 mum. Which means my no1 is only six months old! I'm a sahm. I've yet to see my gynae, just made an appt for next sat. Edd should be mid feb. MS haven kick in..

Actually I'm more shock then happy. But I feel it's fate. I took precautionary measures still concieve no1. So I tot it's gods will and I didn't use any precautionary stuffs. Didn't expect it to come so fast too! For my no1, I got the worst whole day sickness instead of those MS! I vomit throughout my first trimester till I sit in the toilet and cry. And towards the end, my boy gave me a 20 hr labour. Even tho the reward is promising, I'm still nt quite prepared..

Now the MS haven come in.. Hope it won't be as worse as no1. If nt i dunno how to concentrate on no1..

Btw, my gynae is dr CW Fong from gleneagles. Anyone?

Hi Jeanie, congrats and it's alright.. My friend also same as u, gave birth in last July and beginning of June. Her both kids only 11 mths apart. Lynn and Charmaine, I thot I am lucky dun hv any signs of MS.. I am wrong, for the past few days when time for dinner I dun hv much appetite. Juz now was even worst, we went shopping and when we past by Ajisen, I suddenly feel nausea and wanted to vomit. Before preggy, Ajisen Jap fd is one of my fav fd.. Sigh..

Hi, Sorry to interrupt.

I have 1 box of Medela Spare Teats to let go (2 pieces inside).

Description on box:

Medium Flow Teats - Fits all Medela Milk Bottles

Bought at TANGS at $10.90 - Unused. Letting go at $8.00

Free postage delivery.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4135121.jpg]

Interested, please email [email protected]

Hi All Mummies to be

I new in this thread.

Went for my scan on the 12 june (6 weeks), get to hear my BB heart beat.... awaiting for my 2nd gynae appt..to all mummies with MS... hang on there....

EDD: 01/02/2011

Misscandy, pinksorbet & maybe jtho from Mar 09 thread

I am also from there. This is my 2nd preg. both preg i knew i am preg at 3 weeks, bef i missed my mens. cos my giddiness set in v early.

2nd preg was planned but we did expect a jackpot. i was even planning to go for my long awaiting buffet the day before i took the preg test kit at home. i tested twice. I was down with flu on tue so i thot i should test first in case doc give me med which will harm the fetus.

My first apptm with Dr S C Chew fr Mount E is on 3 July. He is an old man, old enuf to be your grandfather.

In fact i went for my check up (just to see if i was fine to conceive) on 11/6. doc said he saw a sac there. either the egg just broke or i have conceived. He did a blood test for me and result was out and my ovulation is fine but din check for preg. i took my own test on tue and bingo. so there goes my buffet which i awaiting for 2 years... sigh... another 2 years to go...

Oh, according to baby gaga, my due date should be ard 28/2. I hope the bb wont come out bef cny 15th day otherwise the cl charge is super high. we have a helper. we are comtemplating where to hire the cl as we paid $1.8k the last time and basically she really do nothing much. my maid did the washing of clothes, dishes, which is already 2 duties off for her. she basically took care of bb and cooked and i was on full bf so she v free. I have a good mine to cater confinement food as my maid is not too bad with her performance. but 1 thing holding me back is my 1st is only 2 yrs old when i deliver and i worry if i get exhausted i cant recover well and i dont haf the opportunity again as i am going to stop at 2 for sure.

Hi ladies this cuming friday 25/6 will be my second scanning n will be my 8weeks will i get to see my bb hearbeat n shape so anxious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning.. monday blue.. dun feel like working..

sweetie, so envy u going for ur 2nd scanning..

my 2nd visit is on 9 July.. so long..

waiting n waiting neck long long liao..

vivian - not sure of my edd yet, onli will know when i see the gynae next week. bb still too small to be seen on ultrasound.

kittyki - i have spotting occasionally too. Actually for my first pregnancy i spotted all the way till i was 14weeks. V stressful and i had to bed rest for about 3mths. But my son turned out well and healthy even though small and lightweight. Don't worry too much ba. My gynae says spotting is actually v normal during the early weeks of pregnancy. But still better to check with yr doc to be safe.

reverie - ya i also worry about confinement. Rates gg to be super high and then i scared i cannot find one. Sigh.

yea, monday blues. GAH.

morning ladies...monday morning @ work....xian. Welcome to all those who just joined!! Anyone here seeing gynaes at NUH?

Miracle/Neongoby, I still dun have bad MS yet...only last night i woke up feeling nauseous, but after that ok. Up till now, no physical vomitting. But I have a 2 day old migraine...:-(

Neongoby, u referring to the chinese cabbage issit? If so, then ya, i heard its cooling. U very cute, got all sorts of cravings.

kittyki,

Same with pinksorbet, I spotted throughout my 1st trimester. Initially was brown discharges, and 1 fine day suddenly it became red blood spot. I really broke down and cried, as i was so fearful it's a mc. I went many trips to different gynae to check the safety of my baby, thank goodness she was alright. Finally 1 'good' gynae gave me 15 days MC to to pass through the 1st trimester as he said after that pregnancy will be more stable. So, pls see a gynae if possible, and more bed rest if can. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am thinking of doing confinement myself..

will order catering for lurch n dinner..

anyone tell me 1st 2 weeks we cannot eat chicken is it??

one of my friend ask me not to eat chicken so soon..

so can i ask the catering not to give me chicken?

how do u working ladies deal with MS/headache/bloatedness/constipation? So tough when u have to work.. really very xinku.. my first pregnancy.. hoping to see my bb this thurs at the gynae's.. previously could only see my thickened uterus at 4w2d

Hi miracle: sorry for the late reply..my first appointment is with Dr ang but he seems veryvery busy now i might change to benjamin tan from TMC..

miracle, everything will be fine and u be blessed a good smooth delivery this time!! =))

so far anyone with no MS? im sometimes feeling nasuea esp i thinking of pasta and pizza!! and even ham..it jus make my whole mouth feel weird...

my mouth got a weird taste dont know why..otherwise dont have ms..

my next appintment is onli 16 july..1 month after my last appintment..

judy: dont worri.. u check with doc y do you need a 2 weeks appointment..but if got problem im sure doctor will tell u one..dont worri u be fine! =))

oh yea, u ladies start drinking milk?

i just tried amumm and i got it from ntuc..got chocolate favour so not so bad for me cause i dont like strong milk taste..

hi amazing miracle.. thanks.. i will ask doctor when i see him again.. my morning sickness is getting worse but the only comfort is knowing MS shows that baby is growing well.. but i still hate it.. i am drinking anmum too.. but cannot stomach the taste. i am surprised doctor havent ask me go on drip yet. haha.

thks fiona.. i brought small pears to work.. but somehow only craving hot, soupy food.. but my digestive system is so lathargic to deal with these heavy food..

for moms wanting to drink milk, i think magnolia's low-fat milk tastes the best amongst all the brands.. can try it out if u have been drinking the other brands.. i cant stomach anmum too..

hi miracle, 11 mths apart is very close gap! your MS has started. take care! im super turn off by cooking smell.

hi amazing miracle, my MS hasnt really kicks in yet. but i feel giddy and lethargic. keep wanna sleep..

i hope my MS is not as bad as my previous one. if not, i cant take care of my no.1....

Judy, yups. MS means the preggy hormones is very strong. jia you!! in fact, its rather proven that the more you vomit, the smarter is your kid next time. i read from mother&baby mag...

I am in my 6 weeks this week, still suffering from morning sickness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For the past few days, i can say i only digested 25% of the daily food that i took. (I vomitted almost all the food and water that i took). And my food intake dropped very jia lat.

I still skipped milk and folic acid as the vomit and giddy feeling is too unbearable. I am feeling bad as i am afraid this will affect the baby grow. Argh.... when will the ms end?

jtho, jia you... i went to NUH cos no success to get preggy. Now got #1 after 3 IUI's, never felt happier.

I dun seem to have MS at all. Mild neusea only. Now 8 weeks liao. Jeanie, I hope the magazine is wrong on this one. haha..

hi pinksorbet

Last time when i see Dr Woo, he has his night clinic on Wednesday, Is it still wednesday now?

I duno if its still early to visit Dr Woo. But i guess i need to see him to get some folic acid right?

lynn, my #1 delivered by Prof Wong... so sad that he doesn't do delivery anymore cos he concentrates on helping couple to conceive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

a galfriend of mine also saw Prof Wong, preg now and seeing Dr Chew... her EDD in november this year.

lynn, by the way, mine's not IUI or IVF, just that my friend recommended Prof Wong to me, so I went to see him lor... and i'm more on the high risk pregnancy due to my age

Jolin, for my no.1, my MS stops when im entering the second trimester. it wont affect the growth cuz during the first trimester, they are taking it from the yolk sac. and its the forming stage. skip milk is ok but not folic acid. maybe u can take before you sleep?

lynn, my MS also nv kicks in. i should be ard 6 weeks. dun worry bout the magazine la. its just general stuffs. but i use that to console myself when i got horrible MS last time. anyway most impt is the mind, happy mum = happy baby.

jtho, ya, i got a few frens seeing him for IVF also. They're job is to be firing squad for IUI & IVF, so now, they don't deliver. Quite sayang, cos I like stephen chew. But anyway, now seeing another good gynae at NUH. Will prob choose to deliver there also la.

Jeanie, haha, ya, I know different pple experience different things. But u know la, at this stage, we like to 'frighten' ourselves by thinking too much :)

lynn

ya, the service is good in NUH... no regret delivering there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My nausea is sort of reducing... but have migraine :/ just feel like wanna sleep it over..

anyone taking mamil for mothers?

vivian - his night clinic is on every monday and wednesday. i'm seeing him next mon.

my previous gynae is a female so this time round i'm not sure if i'll be used to a male gynae. any views on this?

I felt ok at the beginning as scans are take on the belly. Then felt funny when he checked for dilation of cervix. But he's quite good in stitching, I recover quite soon after my first delivery. I guess I'll visit him later in the evening as walk in bah

haa i agree we like frighten ourselves..but true enuff must have a postive n happy mind to counter ani discomfort and the happy growth of bb..

i also feel a little worry why my ms not really kicking in..but mus think positive =))

Hi amazing miracle,

this is my 2nd preg, dun intend to go for preg courses... but thinking of prenatal pilates.

i am taking normal pilates now at tpy cc.

pilates is good cos it works ur pelvic floor as well. prevent incontinence and strengthen

amazing miracle, dun worry, my MS also haven comes in. but keep having dizzy spells.

pinksorbet, whether female or male, you must find one which you are confident and comfortable with. why u wanna change gynae? maybe you can check around for recommendations.

im ok with male because my gynae is sort of like my 'family' gynae. he's the one who give birth to all my 3 sisters and my no.1. very careful and well-experienced. definitely go back to him.

jeanie - my previous gynae is located too far from my place. I just shifted house about 3mths ago.

Anyway i'm now seeing Dr Woo Bit Hwa at Tiong Bahru. Heard raving comments about him so decided to "try" him out. During our 1st visit with him i realised he is a nice and concerned gynae who will explain and clear any doubts hubby and i have. Think he's pretty detailed too.

However as it is jus the 1st visit i dunno whether i will feel the same subsequently. Even if i'm comfortable, hubby is not, since its a male gynae. But i told him since he is located v near our place and he's experienced, i'm sure that ultimately he will put his trust in the gynae that he will take care of my pregnancy well.