(2011/02) Feb 2011

actually we also spent some time between Avent and Pigeon booth, nearly bought Avent set instead cos it is made in England, whereas Pigeon is made in Japan and assembled in China. After we went home did some research on the forum, seems quite good reviews for the Pigeon set too, so decided to save some money and go for it.

I think Baby Superstore or Hypermart and Baby Kingdom do sell reasonable baby products, you guys can take a look, i m planning to go there maybe end of the year to get a capella stroller, the reversible type one.

Good morning, ladies.

Hope everyone had a good rest after the long weekend.

By the way, have any of you known the gender of your baby yet?

just want to share..

Hi, Mommy. I'm your baby. You don't know me yet, I'm only a few weeks old. You're going to find out about me soon, though, I promise. Let me tell you some things about me. My name is John, and I've got beautiful brown eyes and black hair. Well, I don't have it yet, but I will when I'm born. I'm going to be your only child, and you'll call me your one and only. I'm going to grow up without a daddy mostly, but we have each other. We'll help each other, and love each other. I want to be a doctor when I grow up.

You found out about me today, Mommy! You were so excited, you couldn't wait to tell everyone. All you could do all day was smile, and life was perfect. You have a beautiful smile, Mommy. It will be the first face I will see in my life, and it will be the best thing I see in my life. I know it already.

Today was the day you told Daddy. You were so excited to tell him about me! ...He wasn't happy, Mommy. He kind of got angry. I don't think that you noticed, but he did. He started to talk about something called wedlock, and money, and bills, and stuff I don't think I understand yet. You were still happy, though, so it was okay. Then he did something scary, Mommy. He hit you. I could feel you fall backward, and your hands flying up to protect me. I was okay... but I was very sad for you. You were crying then, Mommy. That's a sound I don't like. It doesn't make me feel good. It made me cry, too. He said sorry after, and he hugged you again. You forgave him, Mommy, but I'm not sure if I do. It wasn't right. You say he loves you... why would he hurt you? I don't like it, Mommy.

Finally, you can see me! Your stomach is a little bit bigger, and you're so proud of me! You went out with your mommy to buy new clothes, and you were so so so happy. You sing to me, too. You have the most beautiful voice in the whole wide world. When you sing is when I'm happiest. And you talk to me, and I feel safe. So safe. You just wait and see, Mommy. When I am born I will be perfect just for you. I will make you proud, and I will love you with all of my heart.

I can move my hands and feet now, Mommy. I do it because you put your hands on your belly to feel me, and I giggle. You giggle, too. I love you, Mommy.

Daddy came to see you today, Mommy. I got really scared. He was acting funny and he wasn't talking right. He said he didn't want you. I don't know why, but that's what he said. And he hit you again. I got angry, Mommy. When I grow up I promise I won't let you get hurt! I promise to protect you. Daddy is bad. I don't care if you think that he is a good person, I think he's bad. But he hit you, and he said he didn't want us. He doesn't like me. Why doesn't he like me, Mommy?

You didn't talk to me tonight, Mommy. Is everything okay?

It's been three days since you saw Daddy. You haven't talked to me or touched me or anything since that. Don't you still love me, Mommy? I still love you. I think you feel sad. The only time I feel you is when you sleep. You sleep funny, kind of curled up on your side. And you hug me with your arms, and I feel safe and warm again. Why don't you do that when you're awake, any more?

I'm 21 weeks old today, Mommy. Aren't you proud of me? We're going somewhere today, and it's somewhere new. I'm excited. It looks like a hospital, too. I want to be a doctor when I grow up, Mommy. Did I tell you that? I hope you're as excited as I am. I can't wait.

...Mommy, I'm getting scared. Your heart is still beating, but I don't know what you are thinking. The doctor is talking to you. I think something's going to happen soon. I'm really, really, really scared, Mommy. Please tell me you love me. Then I will feel safe again. I love you!

Mommy, what are they doing to me!? It hurts! Please make them stop! It feels bad! Please, Mommy, please please help me! Make them stop!

Don't worry Mommy, I'm safe. I'm in heaven with the angels now. They told me what you did, and they said it's called an abortion.

Why, Mommy? Why did you do it? Don't you love me any more? Why did you get rid of me? I'm really, really, really sorry if I did something wrong, Mommy. I love you, Mommy! I love you with all of my heart. Why don't you love me? What did I do to deserve what they did to me? I want to live, Mommy! Please! It really, really hurts to see you not care about me, and not talk to me. Didn't I love you enough? Please say you'll keep me, Mommy! I want to live smile and watch the clouds and see your face and grow up and be a doctor. I don't want to be here, I want you to love me again! I'm really really really sorry if I did something wrong. I love you!

I love you, Mommy.

Every abortion is just…

One more heart that was stopped.

Two more eyes that will never see.

Two more hands that will never touch.

Two more legs that will never run.

One more mouth that will never speak.

By Marian Alvear

@Jolin: Not yet leh. My next visit is only on the 27th Aug. So long. =(

@Judy: Omg. This is so sad... I wanted to cry so much... =(

Judy

Thanks for sharing

It's sad yet really touches my heart.

Still remember my intention to go for abortion due to bad MS, now my husband told me that i'm looking forward to see my baby cos i've been touching my little stomach to feel baby.

Really thank God that i didn't make the stupid decision last time, and thanks to you ladies who's been there to support and encourage me

though its a little early(im at 15 weeks), i have been feeling little movements in my tummy.. thats why i asked the question about when we will feel the baby.. i still dont knw if its really baby movement, but it has made me feel so much closer to baby these days.. after the article on top i just felt like we are all so lucky to still have the baby.. so many people either abort, MC, or just cannot conceive and cannot feel the joy.. i always thought i will put career first and since i just got married, if i ever found out im pregnant i will abort.. but now that im pregnant i cannot believe i ever thought of abortion.. i dont care i no job as long as baby is safe and sound.. anyway still got hubby. haha.

my next appt is also end of the month, sigh...so long, i think by then, all of us should be able to tell the gender.

Next month, we can go shop for clothing and stuff! yippee! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@jolin: Mine will be 16 weeks by then too. Gynae said will be able to see the gender. Hopefully my baby will be co-operative. Hehehe... Can't wait for that day to arrive. Time is passing so slow.....

Valerie,

Ya, hope baby is cooperative, else needs to wait for another month to know the gender (during the detail scan).

Neo,

Yes, by then i think most of us can know the gender already.

@Judy: When I got married I also never thought of wanting kids. Cos I won't have any freedom by then. And my first reaction when I know I'm pregnant is actually shock. I still remember I went to buy test kit in the watsons in Bukit Panjang Plaza then I immediately went to the toilet to test and I sat on the toilet bowl for very long time when I saw the 2 lines. I still keep reading the instruction manual hoping that it's negative reading. =/ But as months go by and especially when I see the ultrascan I feel so happy. Hehe.. And my hubby also turn from shock to happy to very happy now. LOL~

@neongoby: I also want to shop for clothes for my baby!! But my hubby doesn't want to know the gender. Argh.. And my mum said baby should wear old clothes so that they'll grow up faster. But I don't want my baby to wear old clothes.... =( I want new clothes for my baby...

may i knw isn't all of u hav the blood test? my last visit to gynea, suppose to take blood test. but i dun knw why, only less than 1/2 tube of blood can withdraw after trying for 3 times . i dun knw is bcos i m too nervous or wat. i will not opt for oscar. may i knw wat is included for the normal blood test? TIA

I was married for 5 years before we decided it's time to have baby. Yes, i must agree that marriage life without kids, there is so much freedom, we can juz pack and go anywhere we want, no worries. It's only during the last 2 years that my biological clock started to click so loudly, everytime i see toddlers, i am filled with motherly love, then i know it's time to start a family. Though now, still not prepared for motherhood, there will be hardwork and restriction in life but i believe we will all try our best to be great mothers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Think most of us may be able to announce our baby's gender by end of this month. My next appmt is 23 Aug when I'll be 16 weeks. Also depends on whether baby's legs will be open or not haha!

@SLim: I did the blood test. But I don't know what is included in the blood test. Hee.. I also didn't ask leh. But from what I know not all that did Oscar did the blood test. Some only did the NT scan. Maybe the vein not easy to get blood.

@neongoby: I also don't know will I be a great mother. Sometimes I'll think if I'm left alone to take care of my baby in future will I be able to handle alone? Like if my hubby went to work and my mil not at home or what. I'll still be scared leh.

Slim,

Mine is NT scan + blood scan, but i remember my gynae drawn almost full tube blood during the blood test. But i think you don't worry too much, cos i am sure your gynae knows how much blood to draw for the test.

on my last appt, the nurse took 3 - 4 tubes of blood from me to do tests such as syphilis, HIV, Hepatitis, etc. Paid about $118 just for these blood tests.

@neongoby: I paid $90 for my blood test. I should have asked what are the blood test. Silly me. Don't know why I didn't ask and just assume it's part of Oscar test. Now I also don't know the blood test is for Oscar or tests like yours.. -_-"

SLim, mine drew 6 tubes of blood (3 full and 3 half) faintzz.. Even my hubby ask how come need so much blood.

Valerie, once you are alone at home with your baby, your wei da motherhood will miracle appear. When baby cry, you will auto hug and sayang bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie, Charmaine,

How come you all drew so much blood?

I thought mine (almost 1 full tube) is very much already.

3 tube = 3 times drawing?

@charmaine: Woah. Yours is doing what test? How come need so many tubes of blood??

Ahh.. I scared I'll be crying with my baby if my baby keeps crying.. =/

@Jolin: No leh. Mine is one shot drew 3 tubes. But very fast. I kept seeing my blood flow into the tubes. Z. They should give me Milo after that. Hee hee hee...

hi thks for all ur reply.

valerie, gynea said use the previous report which is abt 4 years ago. but the assistant said she will send the blood to the lab and see wat they can do. i only pay for 30 dollars for blood test for the last visit. i was very giddy after the poking session, so i also didn't ask much abt that. but if using the previous report i feel uneasy. isn't ok not doing any blood test? i keep asking myself. the Oscar test, shd be around $200-300. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie,

Oh, i see. Then we are same. My gynae also drew 1 time and shoot into 3 tubes, but there were so much blood drawn, i almost screamed already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@SLim: I think it's okay not doing any blood test. Did you do the NT scan? I think from the NT scan can already tell. Maybe the blood test is just to double confirm bah.

@Jolin: Haha.. I have no time to react cos it's too fast. Personally I'm not really scared of drawing of blood. I only scared they can't find my veins.

When i did the oscar test at TMC, they withdrew 1 tube of blood.

the 3 tubes of blood was withdrawn separately when i visited my gynae at mt a. My blood was flowing so slowly cos my vein is very narrow, so it took a while [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hate blood taking but i think there will be more to come...

valerie, pardon me.... wat is NT scan? last visit gynea do the normal scan for me. He measure the thinkness of the bb neck and show me the bb nose. he said the bb nose is quite high. hehe...

jolin, the nurse use the vacuum suction needle. She just insert one needle in and attach the 6 tubes individually to draw the blood.

valerie, i also dunno how come this time took so much blood. I rmb 3yrs ago only drew 2 tubes when i'm doing oscar for my boy. But i just got my oscar lab report. It's 6pages long and total 26 tests done with the blood taken.

I used to panick when i hear baby cry. Once i'm alone with my own bb, somehow the fear disappear and i will quickly attend to him when he cry

@SLim: The NT scan is to measure the baby from top of head to bottom of spine, the neck thickness. Woah, so fast can scan for baby's nose already??

Charmaine,

Wah, vacuum suction needle. i think i would faint before the needle is poked into my vein, haha

Slim,

My gynae only show me the neck thickness (1.7mm) and he said as long as below 3mm, is safe, but he didn't show me the baby's nose. I must remember to ask him next visit.

@charmaine: Woah, you so fast got your report already. I still have to wait for my next visit when they'll give me the report.

Ya, whenever I'm playing with other people's baby and once he/she started crying I'll panick and will run away. LOL~

jolin, i prefer this suction needle coz my veins barely visible and with this needle, only need to shift slightly to left or right to see got blood or not. If use normal needle, i think i will really faint, coz happen prev many times, the nurse just keep poking and taking out the needle coz can't find blood.

Valerie, my next appt is on 19th but i had a bad incident last Sat so i went back to gynae and he gave me the report.

hahaha, Valerie, i don't even dare to carry newborn of others, i always feel they are very fragile and soft but my hubby has carried many of his cousins [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think the NT scan photos we received during the OSCAR test will indicate the various dimensions including the nasal bone.

@charmaine: Huh?? What happen?? Are you ok??

That time my mum went to do body check up and the doctor can't find her veins on her arm. End up he has to draw from the back of her palm. That hurts so much! Ouch~!

Charmaine,

I see, hehe

Ya, talking about carrying baby or new born, i really never did that before. Now i worry if i know how to carry my baby next time. I'm scared of the baby neck bone, cos they are very soft and 9 out of 10 times i carry baby (6 months old or older), they will cry one. My mum said cos my carry posture is not correct and baby feel uncomfortable. Really jia lat

@neongoby: Same!!! Even when the baby's neck is strong enough I also don't dare to carry. My mil that time always push her grandchild for me to carry but I'll be so scared! I can only let her sit on my lap and I don't dare to move. And when she cries I'll freak out and let her mum carry back. Lol. My hubby also don't know how to carry baby. That time I saw him carry his niece so funny. Hahaah! His shoulder slanted one way. He said he wants to support her neck but actually her neck already strong enough liao. LOL~ Don't know how are we going to carry our baby next time, especially when newborn. Heh.

valerie, thanks now okie leh. Had constipation so tried to force to do big biz on Friday nite, end up i think exert too much force, i had contraction for the whole nite. Till morning when i went to see gynae, it still tight. Was given utrogeston and was told to come back immediately if contraction din't go off by Sat noon. But now okie le. I had a bad shock.

I also ever kena to draw blood from back of my palm near my knuckles coz nurse can't see the veins on my arm. Very painful

@charmaine: How do you know it's contraction? You know I keep having cramps around my tummy area when I 伸懒腰. I don't know issit cos I over stretch that's why I cramp or what. Issit normal?

jolin, valerie, no worries about carrying baby. If you will be breastfeeding, i guarantee you will be able to carry baby perfectly after you discharged. Coz during your stay at hospital, you will need to latch on baby every 2-3hrs and that will be at least 8-10 times whereby you will carry baby and try to breastfeed. So by the 2nd day, you will master the skills le hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie, coz i experienced it when i'm having my 1st kid [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The feeling is very very tight. You can feel your waterbag contracting. Not menses cramp. If you are feeling uncomfortable, or if the feeling is lasting for more than 6-8hrs, you have to go see your gynae

@charmaine: That time when my sil gave birth to her 2nd child we went to visit her in the hospital. Then I saw her carrying her 1 day old baby from the cot to breastfeed her. Woah, so fragile. Then she's like so weak to move over to carry her. So scary. Then even her hubby also don't dare to carry.

Hmm.. I also don't know how to describe the kind of pain leh. It's like something is pulling. It doesn't last continuously for 6-8 hours though. But it's long enough to scare me. =/

@Jolin: Haha! I also always find that they are not comfortable being carried by me. The moment I carry them I don't dare to move liao. I don't even dare to adjust the carry position. Plus I find them quite heavy leh. Lol~

Valerie, ya newborn v v fragile hehe...

If it's painful, will advise you to call your gynae and tell him how you feel or go down to see him.

If it's a stretching uncomfortable feeling, it could be due to the stretching of your womb coz bb is growing.

@neongoby: But if I don't stretch than I'm ok leh. So I also don't know issit due to stretching.

@charmaine: I ever told her before but that was when I feel the pull when stretching. I told her sometimes I'll feel cramp at the abdomen area. She said it's normal, it's the expanding of womb.. I hope my baby is doing fine inside me. =(

valerie, dun worry. Shd be your womb expanding for your growing baby. I had this stretching feeling during my 1st pregnancy. My friends told me coz 1st pregnancy so womb expanding for 1st time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@charmaine: Thanks for the assurance. =) Sometimes when I'm still feeling hungry at all times, tired, nauseous, I'll tell myself that my baby is still fine inside. Cos as now I'm entering into my 2nd trimester, my ms is going away already. But my baby has not started kicking me so I also don't know how is my baby doing inside me.