(2011/02) Feb 2011

Wow.. Ah ching .. That is SUPER.. Ur milk spraying.. How I wish I like u.. Ha ha.. Stress having not much supply.. Giving BB both FM n BF..

Seem like alots of mummies having the same problem..

Me too.. Having painful nipple which make me fear of expressing.. Though yesterday try to express manage to get total 60m( most among these few day) nut today I scare n nv express out any.. Only trying to latch BB as much as possible..

jeanie: dont pump so long.

Pump max 20 mins only per side. otherwise your nipples will be very painful and breasts over battered.

to relieve engorgement, pls use cold cabbage.

I used it when I had engorgment last time and works miracles.

Dont feel so sad ok?

dadnmum: altho my milk is spraying but I think overall I think my ms not super alot.

I can pump abt 120 - 140 ml on one side in abt 10 mins, when the breast is full.

I think the spraying is becos I have overactive letdown according to what I researched on the web..

regarding supplementing with FM due to insufficient MS..

actually it is a vicious cycle thing..

we think not enuf MS so we give FM instead of latching.

As we dont latch our breasts will not product more milk to match BB's dd..

so our MS cont to be insufficient and we cont to give FM..

so for mummies who are really trying to increase MS, I would suggest to give FM only after latching BB, as a top up rather than as one feed.

Our breasts are very wonderful, sometimes when I thot the breasts empty cos very soft,

but when BB latch I can feel the letdown still.

our breasts will produce enuf milk to feed our BB.

We must have faith in our breasts..

this is true if we're taking enuf carbos and fluids..

cos if we not eating or drinking enuf will affect MS also.

mamaying: regarding BB grunting, it does not bother me if she's sleeping beside me... hee hee..

my poor gal is having diaper rash as she poos so frequently..

and I din change her diaper last night as she only woke up once..

lazy mummy

Ah ching.. That alots already.. Mine yesterday max was only 30ml each breast.. Alway feel so happy n proud.. Will try agin later after massage hope will get more... I saw the pic in facebook.. Others fridge are full in the storage.. Soooo envy...

@ Jeanie, with my second born, I have more luck expressing milk through breast massage than using a pump. Have you tried that before? I agree with ah ching on not pumping for too long. I was getting hand blisters when I did that with my first born, along with the sore nipples.

@ ah ching: I have similar problems with spraying all over my girl's face and wasting the breast milk. But after couple of days, she is fine again. Not sure if that helps.

@dadnmum: don't get stressed. The milk supply will increase gradually with latching on. However, the nipple will really be sore for quite a while.

@Jeanie: She just pressed and kept cleaning it with tissue. She showed me some 'white dead skin' but i cant see anything*Sheepish grin*...i only know tt in the end it is true tt there are much more milk spraying out than previously and after the massage i went to pump, after 10min, i've emptied the breasts and felt much better.

If you want you can PM me for the massage lady's contact. She actually provide those massage + binding massage and the breast massage is complimentary. I dont care, the main thing i asked her to come was for breast engorgement and she did a good job so i just went along with the binding massage even though i already have package for tummy massage.

Update.

My boy Zachary Wee is born on 11 feb.

I tried to follow GF method, 3 hourly feed in the hospital. Some times he did not drink so had to wait for the next 3 hourly feed.

First nite at home was crazy. He can drink 5min and fell asleep. spent 1 hour then woke up an hour later.. so tiring.. Now feeding time slightly more established.

My CL quite good. Give her 80 marks. She is quite knowlegeable and teach me things. I started pumping / squeezing when i reached home.. For now, i can hand squeezed 1 extra feed per day, which is abt 70ml extra a day beside latching on. During my first pregnancy, i had blocked ducts and ms not so good. Hope my current ms will be better... I still have blocked ducts on and off... The lactation consultant at mount e told me to try lecthin.

@pyng: Good job by not having epidural and congratulations on your newborn!! How heavy was your bb at birth?

@OFB: Congratulations to you too!! It's really interesting to see a papa version birth story. And your wife really took very fast to dilate and give birth. Envy envy.. How heavy is your bb at birth?

@MamaYing: My bb also wakes up around every hour asking for milk when I latch her directly, perhaps I'm not producing enough milk for her that's why and it's making crazy.. So these 2 days I tried to pump out my milk and give her EBM in the night hoping she gets enough milk and also monitor the difference between drinking FM and BM.

@En Xuan: I think you are in the same situation as me before I gave birth le. And in the end I chose epidural c-sect though I really did not want to.. And that day my friend asked me why I chose to c-sect as her colleague gave birth to a 3.8kg firstborn which saddens me as I didn't even try to induce as I'm not confident on giving birth to my 3.935kg firstborn. So my advise to you is to discuss with your gynae on what's the best way for you and your bb and also which way are you most comfortable in? Most importantly, don't regret your decision. And if you're choosing to induce, pls do it fast or your bb will grow bigger day by day.

RE: Sore Nipples

I'm also having it and they're peeling already but I still continue to latch my bb. The initial suckling really made me wanna cry when she's really hungry but the pain will slowly subside after afew min. But at night I let my nipples rest by supplementing her with FM or EBM.

@Val: I also wanna know if you got latch on despite pumping?

hello mommies.. am new to this thread.. my boy popped on 27 Jan, was surfing the Jan thread previously, but i realized the FEB thread mommies have babies closer to my boy's growth..

my boy is going into his 4th week le.. i'm on total BF now, which sometimes makes me want to give up.. everyday just when i thought i got used to his pattern, he emerges with new challenges for me.. =S

Zantarina, did u squeeze some breastmilk and apply to your sore nipple? do it as often as you can, it helps a lot when i initially had sore nipple. i kept applying breastmilk to it, then put on breastshield to let it air.. within the day it was ok.

usually if i open the EBM from a bottle or milkbag, if BB cnnt finish, i will just throw away the balance. in case the remainder gets contaminated.. it wont be good for bb.

Hi mummies, have you heard of Gerd? It's a form of severe reflux. Reflux is when bb spits out milk after feeding, sometimes 1-2 hours later even. Anyone has experience in this? I suspect my gal has this problem, she gets agitated after feeding sometimes, cannot burp then will regurgitate milk afterwards. Sometimes can drink up to 700+ ml of bm a day. Is this too much milk intake for a 3 week old?

Reverie

U not using Mida this time?

Wannabel

700ml FM? Sounds like a lot to me... Yr PD will probably attribute the reflux to overfeeding.

zanta i think eb, cannot keep back after heat up will be contaminated.

ladies for those of u who didnt or intend to bok massage. i recommend my massage lady mdm suriya. if u wan her no pls pm me :> sh is very good to release myscle tension also help clear breasts and most impt vry encouraging when comes to breastfeeding and babu issues.

@Gina, MamaYing: Thanks for the info, luckily I asked my mum to throw the milk away. It's quite wasteful but no choice..

@Gina: I did apply my nipples with my BM and it helps abit but now my nipples feels dry. I also apply medela lanolin gel in the night but they're still sore. My poor nipples.. Sometimes I really can't tahan the pain and feels like giving up..

zantarina: i can understand, i wanted to cry out when my son takes on my sore nipple.. keep applying the BM.. i diligently apply every hr to half hour to help it heal quickly.. rem to let it air-dry also..

@Gina: Yup, I feels like crying too when the hungry baby suckles angrily at my sore nipples. I go braless at home now hoping they'll heal quickly.

zantarina: if it really pains a lot.. skip the sore nipple for one or 2 feed, let BB feed on the less sore nipple.. then u pump out BM from the sore nipple so that it gets to rest for a while..

Hi Zanta

She is 2.7kg at birth. In the morning at the clinic Dr Ang measured almost 3kg and he hint for a moment that my wife had had to go under the cut because my wife is small size, but all is good the baby was out via assisted natural.

Hi Choc

Thank you for updating. Chloe 2.7kg

Hi Wish Child,

Both mom and baby is well and at home. I guess it's really necessary to have a confinement lady or else we do not know how we going to cope. hee

zanta: BB keep pooping.. but I think monitor for one day see how..

she's not sleeping today, keep grunting like need to poop.

then want to suckle, once take in milk, will try to poop again...

Trinket

Midah does body massage n mdm rokiah does breast only.

Wah a mummy here can pump 100-200ml per session that is a lot!

Me too, ms was not good for my first peg n this x better. I used to take fenugreek but it hlped little. Now more exp. I latch better, not much sore nipples, can haf extra ebm thou only 1 extra feed.

According to my doc, how much a bb should consume is based on:

Weight (kg) x 150ml / 8 = xxml per feed

So my boy who is 3.1kg should be drinking 60ml.

Rev island, Jia you!! Milk supply will go up n up. I am pumping 120-150 ml on each side now depending on the time of the day. Bb is one month old and drinks 90ml per feed on average.

@ Ally: Try to destress n not stress urself too much . Seems like the mental part plays a big role on our performance... =P ** Gives u moral support!!! ***

@ Wish child: u over due ?? jus curious... cos if im not wrong, i see the chart, ur edd is past already... ???? How r u n BB now ???

@Zantarina : i dunno and am wondering if i can sriaght away go KKH... cos i feel really pekcek wif this BB already...somehow really very pressurize n stress over it... i seem to have contraction more often now... i dunno if it consider conraction. Feels like menses cramp n stomach tightening... sometimes last few sec, sometimes a few min... i dunno cos my first time... or is it jus baby moving ard ???

im rather worried cos most bb c section when they r borned 3.6kg. Mine's nt out n already 3.6kg... dunno now weigh how much le... =(

cos i dunno if induce can make it anot n wad if require c section ??? i have phobia against needles n blood... i remeber that time do blood test at KKH, i vomitted like merlion... =( Thats why i initially opt out epidural. Thou im scare of pain, compare to needles... im sick!!! n scare!!! =( jus imagine if they need to cut me up...

En Xuan, my edd on 19th Feb. Lol me n my bb are great!! She lmove a lot everyday. Hehe.

My gynae told me she will be overdue bb as my cervix not dilate yet still 0cm. So need to wait for labour sign n let the natural take the course.

Will induce when my bb on week 41.5. So mean time I relax n wait for labour sign. Enjoy the days she inside me lor. Lol

@En Xuan: I am wondering how accurate the machine is for estimating the weight of the baby. My first one was estimated at 3.6kg and he came out 3.14kg. My second one was estimated around 3.5kg and her birth weight is 3.2kg.

My first was induced with no epidural and second was C-Sec coz she was breech. They will put a cover up so you cannot see the blood.

@ Zanta: I agree. If the nipples are really feeling too sore, just rest for one or two feeds. It will probably help.

@ Wish child : oh... not yet due... another 2 more days for u to go... hee~ maybe we have same ADD ? Cos my EDD is 23/feb. =) quite close...

@ Fangfang : Hoosh... slight relieve to hear machine not accurate... den i can hope bb is smaller than the estimation... hmmm, in that case will jus wait hope nature takes its own course...cos i prefer bb due on either 18 or 20 ... jus dun fall oin one of the leap year days... lolx... this yr dun have...

en xuan.. ya the machine not accurate.. when i went for checkup during 37 weeks, the machine measured my boy to be 3.4kg.. i was also concerned that my BB will be overweight and i cnnt give birth naturally..

but gynae told me not to be concern with what to machine estimate, its not accurate. when my boy popped 2 weeks later, his actual weight is only 3.270kg.. its a huge difference lo!

all the best to you! enjoy the moment when BB still in ur tummy! my fren always tell me, once BB is out, you'd wish he/she will popped right back in.. haha

@Grace: I was wondering is there any test I can do to see if I'm a G6PD carrier. Anyway, I'm lucky that my boy's jaundice level is very low. The PD wanted him to stay in the hospital to monitor his G6PD but we don't want, we want to bring him home. But the next day after I discharge I brought him back to his clinic for him to check on his jaundice again, then after that a week later check again. It's decreasing partly I think cos my mil let him sun tan every morning. And the PD said his G6PD level also very low.

@Neongoby & Zanta: I only tried to latch him when I was still in hospital. But that time I have no supply for milk yet and after my nipple bled I have a phobia & didn't latch him at home. I only let him drink EBM & FM at night. The other night I tried to latch him with a nipple protector but don't know is he's too used to bottle feed or he's unable to suckle with that protector he only managed to drink a few drops.

@Zanta: I'm using Medela Swing.

En Xuan, lol yap maybe we have the same ADD as my bb will be overdue. Lol. U now how many weeks?

If u not dilated u can induce but not 100percent ur cervix will open and maybe will end up emergency c sect if cervix nv open after induce.

I'm 0cm dilate n still stubborn don't want open. Haiz. My gynae ask me to wait for the natural take the course.

Dont induce or c sect 1st just wait for bb week 41.5 then induce. So now I'm need to wait and see whether I have any labour sign. Hehe

Gina, i heard so many ppl say the same thing too... Say when bb come out, u wished he go in again... same here... but im jus soooo excited to see him too... and at least he can accomepany me when hubby goes to work n work night shift while im alone, he can slp with me on our bed... cant wait to see him.... But, what worries me is when i need to go look for a job after bb one mth, who will take care of him...

en xuan.. your mom or MIL free to take care of him? else can place him in infantcare.. but of course preferably it's better if you have your own relatives to take care of him..

pinkyval.. i think can go to any clinic to request for such test. my boy also born with G6PD deficiency, i didn't even know i was a carrier until his PD told me my boy inherited from me. initially i didnt know what G6PD was and his PD didnt explain properly, just say is inherited from mother.. PD shoved to me one phamplet and just tell me to read the phamplet on the kind of food and med my boy need to avoid.. then she just walked out of my ward.. i cried in the hospital like mad thinking what kind of illness i passed to him..

only when my gynae came to check on me then he told me G6PD is very common and there are no big concerns, except that my boy has to avoid certain things..

good to hear that ur boy is recovering from his jaundice well!

@Gina: Ya, it's very common. My hubby also has it & my mil didn't know until recently when she heard him telling the PD that he is G6PD deficient. He said he only learnt about it during NS. Which means for the past 18 years before NS he also didn't avoid those beans, herbs & mothball.

We are lucky that our boy's jaundice level is very low. We were thinking if that time he has to stay in for jaundice I'll also be staying with him. But lucky no need. Phew~

pinkyval: ya lo.. people during or before our generation dunno the seriousness abt G6PD and didnt bother abstaining from anything and they all live well..

my boy had to stay in hospital for a week.. hubby and i went to hospital everyday to breastfeed him and see him.. see him everyday kena poked for his blood to test for his jaundice level also heartache.. =(

En Xuan, I'm week 39.5. Lol hmm I'm will delivery at parkway east hospital. At 1st I choose delivery at Kk but change gynae so delivery at parkway east hospital. =)

En Xuan, u can ask ur mil or ur mom to take care ur bb? If not put ur bb at nanny place which a nanny u can trust one? Better not to put at infant centre. They got too many infant to look after n won't concentrate on ur bb. =)

wish child - will you go past 40 weeks? i saw my gynae yesterday and she asked if i wanna induce - i prefer to let nature takes its course, let my bb tell me when she wants to come out. However, absolute deadline will be 28th, my EDD. will not go beyond.

RE: Sore Nipple

I tried to skip that nipple for 1 feed but it still hurt after that probably because it's peeling already. I still continue to BF my girl as I can feel the blocked ducts.

@Gina: I already feels like popping my girl back into my stomach!! She refused to sleep and kept wanting to be latch this afternoon and it's making me crazy!! In the end I gotta latch her on while both of us are lying down and unlatch her when she's asleep..

@Val: Around how many feeds of FM are you supplementing your boy a day?

@En Xuan: Ya, those machines are not accurate but my gynae's estimation is quite accurate. On my last appt before I went for the op, he estimate my bb to be 3.94kg and turn out my bb was 3.935 at birth. Few days before I gave birth I also experiened menses cramp which will last like few min or so.

When you have blocked ducts, you must massage the blocked areas with hot towel. It helps. My cl also taught me to clean the nipples gently with warm towel so that the ducts will be "opened".

My last two days ms were not bad, 70ml per 3 hours squeezing. Today dropped.. sobz.. about 40ml to 60ml.

Pple n mags always claimed that bf / bm is cheaper. I dont think so. FM is cheaper but BM is better. BM is in fact so much more exp. Mummies have to eat good food, take supplement, buy pump & accessories etc.