(2011/02) Feb 2011

regarding the lunch gathering, as i mention before i will only be able to make it after 2pm and also not for long as i dont want to use my leave so i might drop by to say hello if timing is okay.. for those going, pls enjoy urself!:)

Mrs Ong: took out my cordlife file to check on the details.. ha ha but I think I forgot most of the details liao.

I just remembered the main reason why I choose cordlife is becos:-

1. TMC FBI got $450 discount

2. My cousin in law gets a $50 NTUC voucher when she refer me

3. Cordlife is accredited vs Stemcord

4. Cordlife has real life case of successful transplant

5. Cordlife is big company, international presence, so I think less chance that they will close down in the next few decades

6. They use high tech SEPAX when they harvest the cordlife. (I remember the cordblood will be stored in at least 2 packs) cos they mentioned that they will use a bit for testing when we need it, so that wont contaminate the whole packet of cord blood.. something like that.

7. I went for their talk the last time and the sales person was quite informative.. cos I was concerned what will happen to the cord blood if we terminate the contract.

she said they will either use it for their research purpose or discard it, depending on our instructions.

I think the contract will terminate once u dont pay the annual fee to them

@charmaine - i'm due to see my gynae for my regular checkup next sat, so we'll see if he needs to extend the bedrest later. i'm 27 weeks now... onlyyyy.

are u on bedrest too? i'm feeling strains on my upper thigh just beside the crotch from sleeping on one side. No amount of pillow between legs, under legs can help... helppp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Felpoo: Sorry, not ordering liaoz.. Got what I needed.

Wish Child: Heard from some mummies drypers are quite good. Tried Drypers for my daughter ok too.. Heard from Huggies promoter we need 7 pcs of diapers per day.. Well.. going to try out Huggies and Goon first to clear some.. + hospital going to give 1 packet too.. Will get NTUC to try later.

NTUC ones are a pretty big packet too..

Lunch: If after 1pm, I think i difficult to join liaoz.. Cant afford to take too much leave now as I wanna reserve some leave for the last week to rest..

Mrs Ong, I think it's Ah Ching who mentioned about the Gina Ford. I remembered her comments on the routine. You are not supposed to follow the routine blindly and have to adjust accordingly. I google for Gina Ford and I think this link is pretty informative.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_parent-led-baby-schedules-baby-wise-gina-ford-and-others_3658361.bc

I am only afraid that if I am going to use this Gina Ford method, my MIL will disrupt my plans. Because the old folks don't believe in schedule and believe in feed on demand. The more the baby can eat, the better it will be. And baby should sleep as long as they can.

And if I can establish this type of routine and results can be seen by the 4th month, I wouldn't mind to incur my MIL's incessant nagging. Because I know my hubby will support me. Afterall, he had been telling me that his sleep will be disrupted for another 2 more years.

Mrs ong, I m a 50% miscarriage risk mummy. Several miscarriages before this one. So the moment I got preggy, I kick start all the safety precautions like every three days, hormone pills, bed rest, stop work, no housework, no carrying my three yr old, no going out if possible, just eat, sleep, lie down, surf Internet, read, watch tv, DVDs, etc... Hv no stress , no holidays, no harmful food. I puked as much as 10 times a day initially, losing 6 kg in first tri, I dropped a lot of hair in first trimester n have a bald patch now on left crown.

Has two bleeding episodes, one of them I stayed in hospital for three nights.

Am eating as much as 10 tablets a day, vitamins, ventolin, hormone, etc.

This is the story of my pregnancy.

Gina Ford

Little contented baby guide . Note that the timing given are guidelines n u adjust milk feed n sleeping times to get as close to guideline as possible. The book shows you how.

The book also explains how u CSM get back on schedule if u find that ur schedule goes haywire halfway true.

Don't bother to read the book now. Bring to hospital n read when u deliver as it makes perfect sense only then. If u read it now, it just seems overwhelming. When u hv bb on hand, it will make a lot of sense.

Stressed by schedule? Believe me, speaking frm experience. If no schedule, n baby don't sleep thru the night even when 2-4 yes old, ur stress will be lagi worse. If can afford to hire celebrity nurse Gina Ford, like those celeb Hollywood stars, ur baby sleeps thru the night by 4-6 weeks. My boy slept thru at 8 weeks but i m thankful enough!

All babies are different.

According to gina who has taken care of hundreds n thousands of babies, many during her ICU days as nurse, it seems ALL babies (even premies!) can be put on schedules. It's the parents who are inconsistent or different. Food for tot...many give up half way because they don't understand the method ... Which I find, it's such a waste.

My boy sleeps like a log since two months old till now HD is three. His nap, meal times n feeding patterns are very predictable n are in line with most chilcare centers in sg. So no problems fitting in.

Hope that those of u contemplating this will find the info useful. I also blog on my experience using the Gina Zford method when my son was one to two months etc so if u are keen, Pm me. I will send u my blog. I try to keep it private so will not post the link here....

Felpoi, yes... I quarrelled big time for the first time ever wif my mil over the use of hhis method. Now she sees the benefits so when I told her my no two will also go on this method she never oppose already.

But do weigh the pro n con.... Sometimes relationships cannot be easily repaired whereas all roads lead to Rome n there is not only one way to raise a baby. After all, as u can see, all adults sleep at night n are able to eat three meals a day... Most adults lah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] night owl not counted.

So think carefully bah...

Felpoo... So end up u getting that coach bag lar? Hehee worth spree-ing on... For myself I just buy 2 pairs of shoes online for my #1... kekee... Also spending mood now...

Mami b...Agreed that have to put on schedule for slp time etc but at times when their slp time goes hay wired I also go crazy... And not easy when we are dealing with our parents/in laws becoz they will tell u ur kid don't want slp at tis timing lar.. Or need more zzzz...

Sometimes can be frustrating! But Bo bian leh

Good Afternoon Mummies!! Yesterday I went for my should be 30 weeks scan and my girl is still not ready to show us her pretty face.. Hmm.. I wonder will I ever have the chance to own a 3D u/s pic of her or not.. Haiz.. Dr Ang measured her crown and estimated her weight to be 1.4kg now and commented that she's quite a heavy bb and asked me to eat slightly less when I told him that I kept eating and eating.. Haha.. Good news is she is in head down position now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dr Ang also told me to go back and think about labour pain. He said it's like hundred or thousand times more painful than menstrual pain and will pain till feel like dying but won't die of course.. Aiyo.. Made me really scare now as it's only about 10 weeks away from labour. He also briefed us on the signs of labour and told me he is the 1st one I should call, not my hubby, if I experienced any of the signs. The way he said it is quite humorous.. Haha..

@PreciousBabi: My fingers also started to swell abit and I can't bend them when I wake up in the morning. Gotta massage abit to loosen them before I'm able to bend them. My gynae said it's due to water retention and it's normal. But it's super painful lor.. Even my ankle starts to swell liao and I can't stand or walk for too long now.

@Joan: What time did you left? The crowd was not so bad too when I reach but I think that was bcoz Dr Ang was going for his break and I think those people went to walk around while waiting for their turn.

Zanta

It's exactly how Dr Ang told us too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] He also say if after 12am just go to the hospital straight away.

HI Gals

Hope all are doing well and good! Havent being posting for a while =)

My Jie just give birth and early by 3 weeks than expected =)

She did not use any Epidual for her 2 deliveries...both the deliveries is fast and smooth hope i can be like her =X

I gain almost 10kg now sign look like a ball, heez, Btw gals heard we need to decide if need to use epidural before dilate up to 5cm .. i am uncertain now... Gynea say it's 100 or 1000X pain ? wah how to endure ?

By the way can u check if THC do 3d scan for mums that are not under them? My gynea dont provide 3D scan facility.

I am eager to see baby but also heard baby may not like 3D scan. ?

Hope u all enjoy yrself on the gathering i cant join coz will work till end of Jan =) Maybe organise one outing after birth sometime in Mar or April with all our babies =)

Joanne... I am a lousy person lar... for #1 i told my hubby i wan go naturall..no laughing gas no epidural.. but when induced liao and the pain kick in...wah...i raised white flag within an hour of pain...unbearable...hehee...

si mi side effect like backache or if do the procedure incorrectly will wat or wat kana thrown out of my mind at the moment of pain...

i remember we need to administer the epidural asap else by the time u very pain hor...u cannot curl in the position and keep still for them to inject... so...best to raise white flag once u taste the pain!

OFB, i been wanting to ask u but keep forgeting...u keep mentioning ntuc is cheaper using ur rebate..u are a staff issit? thats why got more than 10% rebate..other than that the ntuc card rebate is miserable leh

@Mrs Ong: I have low placenta too……… My doc says may have to go for caesarean depending on whether the position improves… how low it is and whether it blocks the cervix …

@pootz: try to shift positions after a while? Including position of ur pillows? Me been on bed rest for close to 2 wks liao…

Zantarina & Our first baby:

It is like menstrual cramps X 100, but I gave birth without an epidural, just with the helping of laughing gas and a shot in my thigh. Good thing about no epidural is that you will really feel the urge to push, so the pushing part will be a lot less tiring and faster.

Plus my chiropractor says you have less chance of hurting your back as you are pushing the way nature intended.

good noon mummies...

mrs ong, i nv sterlise the cloth diapers. just dump into washing machine and wash. im using those hand down muslin squares cloth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i nv follow gina ford method but i believe its good to keep a schedule. from my experience, it'll be alot easier if you are the caregiver. as im a sahm and still living with my parents, my mum and i did quarrel over this. she keep saying baby is not robot. eventually, we compromise each other and see results in 2 months plus. of course, we need to be flexible in between. and my boy sleep through the night since then. but, i think it'll be more difficult if you latch on demand. i started from bottle feed, latch on demand then back to bottle feed.

@Feipoo-

Me soft? No lah. I do scold people hahaha. The lady did apologize profusely after I exclaimed OUCH very loudly. She didn't realize that she had bumped into me. I wasn't "tough" on her because she was very sincerely sorry.

U haven't seen me ask for a seat in the MRT when I really dun have the patience to wait for people to be zi dong. Lol. XD

For the photoshoot, I doubt the guys who did mine can do it for $400… I will still ask them but I will also ask another photographer friend if he can help. =)

About the nub- I have not noticed it leh. I don't think I had it with Kae nor have I had it with Noah. =)

About mummies who are not being able to control pee, must exercise your pelvic floor muscles more often… =)

Fei, like Ah Ching, I recommend you don't bring an expensive bag to use for hospital bag. Just use a large enough duffle bag. U dun want to have to worry if someone kopes your bag. Lol.

About the ba zi name… lol. They gave me REALLY sucky characters to choose from. Sucks. Kae's biological dad and his family are pantang… and my mum too… so insisted we ask fortune teller to choose his name. Honestly, later when I married Ian and we changed Kae's surname to my hubby's, I also changed Kae's Chinese name to something more meaningful and didn't give a crap about the ba zi. LOL.

Also, they claimed if he went swimming before 5 years old he would drown in the pool during that period of time. We brought Kae swimming from 1 yr old and he is very much alive and healthy. ^.^""

But yea… pretty much understand that to each her/his own lah. =)

@Pootz-

HUGS! As long as baby is healthy and you are healthy, whether c-sec or natural, nm. =) JIAYOU! Rest well and dun stress too much.

@Mrs Ong-

Oh dear. Hugs. Let's just keep believing baby will turn around nicely k? I have heard that there are people who know how to massage the tummy so that the baby will turn nicely into the right position but I dun have such contacts. =p

I guess hubby didn't mean to disappoint you but if finances are tight, just be patient about it lah. He might surprise you later on when the cash flow eases. =)

@Wenzi-

I agree with Ah Ching. Don't use comforter for NB because if the comforter covers them they can get suffocated. Best to use those full length bodysuits =)

U can use the comforter later on =)

@Mami B-

Recommended best to rest 2 years before we have next kid because we need to give our body time to recuperate and replenish the blood lost etc. But yea, I know what your MIL means also hahaha.

We are hoping for a #3 but I dun really know if I wanna get preggers again right after Noah. Lol.

ABOUT NAUGHTY BY NATURE

Yea they suck. Very scammy. Terrible. I did go for their "demo shoot" before and to be honest, their photographers and DI artists suck like nobody's business. I could DI better than them lor. =p And they charge exorbitant prices too!

CORD LIFE- Ah Ching basically listed most of the reasons why I went with them. The other reason is that for Cord Life, a machine is used to separate the cord blood and it is very efficient… Stemcord is hand processed so not as efficient and good- cannot process as much as Cord Life can.

@Jeanie and Reverie-

I used Drypers and Mammy Poko for Kae. I like how Mammy Poko uses velcro. =)

These 2 are good and reasonably priced. I think the only one amongst the cheaper diapers with pampers kind of taping is Mammy Poko le.

BTW, diff kids have diff skin… so what might work for one kid might not work for the other. =) My SIL felt Pet Pet worked better for her than Drypers for eg.

Princess-

Long time no see! =) We didn't purchase PruFirst Gift in the end. Like you, we decided to reallocate our finances for other stuff we felt more pressing. Also, after Noah's birth, we prob will look at other insurance policies. Pru's premiums are quite high lah.

Gregda-

Yup. Noah prods and jabs a lot. And yes, tummy morphing is happening. =) My firstborn, Kae, was very very active and morphed my tummy a lot so it looked like I was starring in the movie "ALIEN". Lol.

Baby Sleeping-

Never read any books for Kae but as I got to know him better out of the womb, i instinctively knew what to do for him. Every child is diff. I am just gonna keep speaking over Noah to sleep well and not be colicky. =)

@Mami B- Thanks for sharing about your experiences and do share your blog with us on FB too? That is a closed group. =)

@Zanta-

Dr. Ang very good at scaring people about pain ah. Lol.

@Choc-

Lol. I was induced and half hour after water bag burst and my gynae then had left, I was fully dilated. My doc then had told me he'd only return about 9-10 hrs later, after making sure I didn't want epidural and bursting my water bag. It really hurt after he burst the water bag so I told Kae, "YOU'D BETTER COME OUT NOW!"

Kae was thankfully a good boy and obeyed. Lol. Doc rushed back after delivering some other kid in AMK and was grumbling about why I took so little time to become fully dilated. Hated his attitude and he was in golf gear- I think I disrupted his plans hahaha. Kae was out in 15 mins.

Now I am hoping that since he came out so fast, that Noah will be a fast delivery too! =D

@BigFlamingo-

I hated laughing gas. Lol. Made me feel so nauseous. I will skip it this time around man.

Like U, I feel delivery is faster and more efficient without epidural because you can feel the contractions and push along with your body… =)

wow.. all talking about birth and epidural! im not really looking forward to the day cuz the memory of no.1 is still fresh in mind!

i endure the first 6hrs without any pain relief method. the contractions were coming at every 5mins but after 6hrs, i only open 1cm. really wanna faint. then, morning my gynae came in and ask me to take epidural cuz he need to 'stretch' my cervix cuz im dilating too slow. in the end, i got a 20hr labour with 3 dose of epidural. had anti biotics drip cuz i got fever in between. but, epidural did help to speed up the dilation. will opt for epidural this time round!

Jeanie-

Lol. We used MY muslin cloth diapers with Kae... as in the one's I used as a baby!! My mum kept them!! Dunno if we still have them around for Noah to use though. Lol.

BigFlamingo-

Lol. Me too. Laughing gas didn't make me laugh. They should rename it... XD

epidural...not sure if i remembered correctly leh... i heard from somewhere when we take epidural our body more relax and dilation kick in faster...

hmmm..that did happen to me..i remember i was on induce drip at 11am, then 12pm surrender and 1pm take the epidural..then ard 5pm baby is out...

i still got strength to push and can feel my legs even though i had a stronger dosage of epidural that time (coz...baby face wrong direction and cause me alot of pain..i keep asking for more dosage...HAHA)

how it feel like to take laughing gas? if this #2 is natural..maybe can try...hahaaa...

we all talking about pain relief methods today ah

come to tink...most of us are over 30weeks...which leave us less than 8 weeks to go!!

Choc,

Laughing gas makes you feel a bit like you're drunk, very heavy head type of feeling. Definitely helps the pain because when my baby's heart rate was getting a bit too slow, they took me off the gas for a few minutes and I was like OMG! OUch!!!

bigflamingo...sounds interesting!! hahaaaa...

maybe i eat more choc during labour pain...see if it relieve endorphins hor? ahhaaa (just kidding..i doubt will help)...

Jeanie-

LOL! She will have to dig for them. If the cloths and the clothes (my old clothes hahaha... talk about retro) are still around, they will be at her place. =)

Big Flamingo-

Lol. I didn't like that mabok feeling... so doubt I will take it.

BUT... we'll see how hahaha.

@Choc-

Yup! Can't believe how close we are to the finishing line! =D

geri...one thing to note..never say never..hahaa..u never know what u will do when u are in pain...

yeah...finishing line soon... and i am waiting for the next scan to check whether the placenta issit very low and blocking bo...praying for a natural delivery leh... coz scared of knife...

2nd time mummies..i do realised most of us got this prob of leaking urine when we cough or sneeze leh...me too!! sian....

Choc-

Lol. I have a pretty high threshold for pain... so... lol.

I had two slipped discs that slipped inwards and crushed my nerves when I was 17... that was really really painful. So when I had my childbirth contractions, though they really hurt, I could tahan quite a bit...

It was only at the last lap- when my body was kicking in to deliver Kae- that the pain was really no joke By then no laughing gas and no epidural liao. Lol.

@OFB: Ya lor, he also told us that. But I wonder what if I thought it is labour time but it is just a false alarm? I scare I dunno how to differentiate like Jamie Yeo..

@Joanne: I already gained a whopping 13kg lor.. And my gynae had told me to eat lesser.

TMC does provide 3D scan at $100+ I think.

@Geri: Maybe he wanna get us ready for a natural delivery because I heard he is a pro natural gynae. Expect a v painful labour so that we can tahan the pain? Haha..

@choc: My hubby told me to go natural if I can after hearing my gynae said epidural cost $700.. So x lor..!!

@bigflamingo: Actually I also thought of giving birth with the help of laughing gas & jab at the thigh only coz I'm scare of the side effects of epidural but I'm not sure if I can tahan anot. Anyway, my gynae told me that even we didn't use those 2 latter, the hospital will still charge us. So, just use la. Haha.. But does it hurt during stitching?

Bigflamingo, I can understand what you are saying about the laughing gas.

My 1st pregnancy was rather unplanned for and was at a total loss on birthing and all. I didn't even take prenatal class thinking that whatever comes along the way, there will be doctor and the nurses to guide me along. I remembered the pain relief method that I took initially was the laughing gas. Being the ignorant me, I breathed in too much and GOSH, I feel like heaven and basically couldn't figure where I was for a while. After the gas died off, AIYOH! it was like HELL. So I think not even 5 minutes had passed, I surrendered and asked for epidural.

In my opinion, I felt that with the epidural, the dilation seemed a bit slow. Because I remembered when my water bag burst and within and hour, I was dilated by 4cm. And after the epidural and with the contractions, it was only after 3 hours before I gave birth. And because nvr attended the prenatal class, all my breathing techniques and pushing were all wrong. In the end, the mid wives pushed my stomach to get the baby out for me.

So this time round, I am contemplating without epidural and I remembered there is a website to teach us the breathing techniques to control the pain. And maybe I will try to massage the perineum to cater for expansion. If possible, I am thinking of opting out the episiotomy. I hope I have the luck because I feel that Spore gynaes are very impatient by nature. They just want the delivery to get it done up fast so that they can go back home.

Zanta,

You will be injected with something else for the cut and stitching, so zero pain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My birth story really not so exciting. Lol!

6am check in hospital

7am change into gown

7:30 wheeled into operating theatre

7:40 given the epidural, hubby seated next to me

8:05 baby born by c sec

8:45 go back to ward n rest. Hehe....

-Epidural

I guess the way to go is to relax our body and will be easier to push. When in pain, one tends to tense up making it diffucult to dilate and push. Once no pain (epi kicks in), the pushing is easier. hence, as much diffcult as it is, we must tell ourself to remain calm and practice the breathing method. I am a FTM, this is just something i thought about to share with everyone.

Ya, its true that once you decide on Epi, tell your gynae quickly as they need time to call in the guy to admister epidural. my cousin was already 8-9cm dilated by the time the epi reached. but no choice have to adminster cause she have already called for it, hence need to pay for it. if not could actually just tarhan since 1cm more to go.

Thanks on the Gina Ford Book title..i will go search for it...

zanta: actually if first time giving birth, I think the anxiety will cause us to panic and thus more painful..

that's what happened to me!

i was 1 cm dilated from 3 pm at Dr Ang's office until 11 pm, when at TMC.

Waterbag burst ard 8+ pm..

so I paid for 1 day extra cos admitted before 9 pm, so lugi..

I opted for epi when I knew I only 1 cm dilated before mn, cos I scared the anaesthetist go home.. by the time he come from home, I think I think can pain until die liao.

I am really praying that this time the delivery will be much faster, as most second children are.

first time, contractions were 10 mins apart so admitted at 1am. then NOTHING HAPPENED till 8am. slept quite peacefully throughout. still dilated at 2cm. gynae broke water bag, nothing happened. put me on ocytocin. upped ocytocin dosage. by 3pm i was still ONLY 3cm dilated. so although my total delivery time was 21 hours, actually nothing happened for the first 14 hours. i was still quite relaxed and not in much pain.

but by 3pm i was so tired that I gave up (was the garang type wanted to go without epi) since I knew 7 cm more meant 7 more hours to go. opted for epidural. only one dose. oxytocin upped again much more to induce stronger contractions. worked and started dilating at a more decent pace. baby came out at 9:50pm. FINALLY.

epidural finished around 9plus pm, so i could feel all the pushing etc. after 15-20mins of pushing, not very long, bb was out.

this time i just want to DILATE FASTER!!! the contractions weren't too painful for me... so if i'm not too tired and everything can be over in 6 hours, i think (hope and pray) that I might be able to deliver without epidural.

cos I really hated the uncontrollable shivering that was the side effect of the epidural.

anyway, I think I only take 1 breath of laughing gas.. cos the mask so yellow like so dirty!

and so smelly, wonder how many people used it before me!

Fei- Yea I didn't take antenatal class for #1. I was well... still a student then... and unwed... so couldn't afford the classes. =) I went in totally not knowing what to do about childbirth because mum didn't prep me either haha.

Zanta- LOL! Maybe ^.^ But sometimes this backfires too. When u are told to expect pain, u tend to feel fear and then when pain sets in, most people tend to try to fight it. The irony is the harder you fight the pain, the more painful it gets. The best is to relax... pain-fear-tensed up- more pain is a vicious cycle.

On Incontinence-

I think because I've always done pelvic floor exercises (even before pregnancy), I don't have the sneeze and pee a bit issue lol. I think a teacher once told us to do a lot of it if we can so next time it will help us when we have kids. Lol. Same teacher advised us that the easiest way to lose weight after having kids is to have been conditioning one's muscles from before childbirth. The more tone u are, the easier u revert after birth. =p

Actually u can practice ur kegel exercises whilst ML to ur hubby too... =)

Trinket, I cannot remember the shivering part. Oh, is it the labour ward is cold? Anyway, I wish my delivery can be faster than the first one which was 4 hours, I was thinking 2 hours will be the best.

You know the recent news on the woman who gave birth around the void deck rubbish chute, I wonder how come she can give birth so fast, esp. that was her 1st PG. I want fast but not that fast.

I have been doing squats for the past few days as I heard that it can expedite delivery. Don't know how true. But when I walk from one place to another, I tend to do a bit of brisk walking which I know it will help.

8 Dec (Wednesday) 12:30pm

1. geri

2. rachel

3. c nicole

4. trinket

5. kinderbueno

6. idaar

7. unicorn (only pop by for drink)

8. baywater (if gal recovers)

9. felpoo (maybe)

10. Blue Potatochips

9 Dec (Thursday)12:30pm

1. idaar

2. choc

3. kinderbueno

4. rachel

5. wish child

6. c nicole

7. trinket

8. unicorn

9. ping ping

10. Blue Potatochips

11. baywater (if gal recovers)

12. felpoo (maybe)

14. Geri (maybe)

any more updates?? all the mums on the list confirmed?

RE: Gina Ford method

i did some research on Gina Ford method, and i guess my siblings and i are kind of brought up by this method, though Gina Ford only came out with the book in 1999. we were made to follow EXTREME schedules such as stipulated timings to sleep, eat, watch tv, study, etc. personally based on my own experience, the method is quite good but you need to explain to your children why u are following this schedule. i remember feeling very resentful to my parents for forcing the schedule on me, to the extent that even when i am hungry i am not allowed to eat until 6.30pm, which is dinner time. my mother has a schedule pasted on the fridge.

i would say the method backfired on me. i am now very very undisciplined. however my sisters who were under the same method became the opposite. stickler for timing and punctuality as well as discipline. i guess it works for diff people. i believe the method would work on me if my mother explained why she had to put us thru such a tight schedule, because by not explaining i only felt resentful and assumed i was being robbed of my freedom..

hope this insight helps a bit on parents trying out the gina ford method:)

Btw Mummies, which brand of wet wipes do you all recommend for wiping bb's buttock? Especially NB as their skin is so so sensitive.. Is the Chamomile & Rosehip Baby Wipes from Pigeon good?

Zanta, I bought 2 packets of Pigeon Wipes from one of the fairs back then. I remembered it was white in colour which they say it's best for newborn skin.

However, during my 1st PG, I didn't use wipes as I feel that tap water is still the safest bet. I very "hiao" and went to those nail salons and buy those pressed down plunger bottles where they stored the nail polish remover. Store the water inside and each time i need water, I pressed the cotton wool against the plunger and wipe my gal's ass.

hihi.. here i am with my blur-first-mum qns again... so it seems from the discussion that u only call in the epidural in the later part of ur labour when the pain becomes unbearable? cos someone who went thru a smooth labour told me her trick was to not be hero.. so she asked for epidural the moment she was admitted and therefore did suffer from too much thereafter.. but after reading the posts so far.. seems like i shld tahan abit first and try the pain injection or laughing gas first b4 resorting to epidural??

and abt laughing gas.. my childbirth education instructor reminded us to only breath it in when in pain.. if keep breathing in, will get too high.. seems like there were instances where the mummy turned violent when the gas mask was taken away after delivery but she was so confused she just kept demanding for it!

Pru First Gift - We just signed up for it over the wkend.. we are actually just keen on the pre-and post-natal portions of it, but they are quite smart and tie it to the long term thing... so bo bian, hubby says just treat it as a little gift for our baby to get him started..

Cordlife - hmm, so cordlife seems better than stemcord? Anyone has a good, not pushy agent to recommend?

@Ah Ching, @Geri: I will try to remember to relax when I'm in labour. Haha..

@bigflamingo: OIC.. I wanted to ask my gynae yesterday but we talked till I forgot to ask.

@felpoo: You are so cute.. Bought that bottle just to wet the cotton wool to wipe your girl's buttock. But use cotton wool will be clean enough? I think the wet wipes you bought should be the moisturising wipes which I read from their webby that it's the most suitable for NB. I got 1 pkt free from the sterilizer bundle pack.

zanta: I find that using cotton ball with warm water is best for wiping baby's initial poo poo..

wet wipe very big piece quite difficult to wipe, plus cold..

we had to use warm water cos BB cry when we use cold water/ wet wipes..

kinder: I think u can just submit online for an information pack.. or attend their talks, got lotsa free gift and free food!

if u go talk to the agent before their seminar begin, they have limited time to be pushy..

or u can go TMC as they got a counter there..

gina ford

i did read her books before #1.... decided not to go for it... a mummy friend commented that Gina Ford doesn't have kids herself, so doesn't feel for babies with a parent's heart.

I did a slightly more relaxed version (based on Parent Directed Feeding method), which is a combination between looking at the clock and watching for bb's signals... and bb still slept thru the night from 8 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the other extreme is attachment parenting. which i was not keen on, since it's completely baby-directed, on demand feeding, on demand everything. also linked to co-sleeping. I was quite anti-cosleeping, and bb slept in her own cot till 18 months. but i caved in after that, and we are quite happy since. heh. so sometimes even methods that work for you can change with time.

I liked Ford's weaning books though. good advice on introducing solids.

I suppose it's great if your kid takes easily to the Ford method of establishing a routine, since it's quite ang moh style to make babies sleep by 7 plus pm. but if your babies just won't take to it, and sleep from 8pm to 8am (or later!) by the time they are X months old as stated in the book, don't feel too bad.

basically, now is the time to do the reading up, then adapt the methods according to your child cos every child is unique. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday after my checkup, I went to Watsons to buy their cotton disposable panties. Is the better material which I forgot which mummy recommended, from the brand "Miine"? I bought 2 packets of it at $4.50 each. I find their cutting quite small & weird even though I already bought it in size XL/XXL. The in front is loose loose but the buttock there is ok. Will buy some from Kiddy Palace as well as recommended by choc.

@choc: Does the one from Kiddy Palace have weird cutting too? And is their cutting small? What size do you recommend me to buy if I used to wear a levis size 28?

kinder

hmm... actually depends. on how long your delivery takes. how dilated you are at admission can give you a gauge cos it's about 1 hr to dilate 1cm.

cos if you ask from the start even though not very painful (say you have low pain threshold) and labour/dilation takes very long, you might have to use up to 3 doses. and per dose is about 400.

i think you can ask for it as long as you are not too near childbirth? like up till 6cm should be safe?

so you can decide based on two things, whether the pain is quite bad for you already early on (then ask for it), or if still bearable until you are about 7cm, then i would say no need and just tong lor...

zanta...that kiddy palace one no size..or rather free size for maternity one...

maybe u go grab a packet to see...

baby wipes...errr...i started off with J&J the no scent one(coz hospital provide that brand so i also go buy that brand lor)..then followed by pigeon brand..so far ok leh...