(2011/02) Feb 2011

hi everyone, i'm actively following the thread but juz too lazy to post. i'm experiencing ankle swelling now. My mom commented that its way too early, however my gynae feels that its ok. is anyone experiencing the same symptom as me?

@Mi Mi: Hihi~ Welcome~ =) My feet has also started to swell. So I guess it's normal? Don't worry too much. Could be water retention. =)

@pootz: Ya, some lightweights one also have reversible handle. But most importantly is look at the wheels. Preferably with big wheels cos it'll be more stable. Lightweight is of course better in a way that it's not too heavy to carry it. But lightweight ones might not be as stable as heavyweight, JMO. I think it's best to buy 1 that you're comfortable with and not too heavy for you to carry it. =)

pinkval, thanks for your reply. i'm juz afraid tt it might b related to pre-eclampsia. but im monitoring my blood pressure everynight. its still in the normal range..so hopefully everything is ok.

@Mi Mi: You're welcome. I think if your risk of having pre-eclampsia is there your gynae would have told you. If he didn't say anything then should be just symptoms of pregnancy! =)

hello, i have not been posting for quite a while but been reading the thread. Would like to update as well.

Expecting : No. 1

Edd: 28/02/11

Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng

Hospital: TMC

Hubby and I are so happy that we are expecting a boy! hee

Hi joodz, my MS also seem to come back but not so frequent as 1st trim. Just try nt to eat too full and each in smaller portion and more meals.

Wow.. This thread is again moving so fast today. Haha.. Having a hard time to catch up.

@wish_child: Congrats in your graduation!! Now you can rest and wait for the arrival of your lil girl w/o study stress le..

Thanks alot on your offer for the bb's clothes, so nice of you. TIA!!

Is the Pigeon sterilizer you saw the multi-function sterilizer? It's selling at $169.50 at Metro with 20% off now too!! But I'm wondering if buy individually better or the multi-function one better.

@mami B: Is yours a Pigeon multi-function one or the individually pack one? Do you suggest to buy the multi-function one which need to interchange the top part for different purpose usage?

Mimi: welcome! i am also experiencing feet swelling until i had to see my gynae. i was prescribed vit B supplements, which help with water retention. my swelling feels like bruises, especially when i wear covered shoes.

dont worry about pre-eclampsia first. while swelling is part of the symptoms, they usually occur on face and hands.. plus most cases of preeclampsia happen in 3rd tri.

part and parcel of being preg! :)

terrylyn: long time no see! congrats on your boy!

Zanta, I have both types of warmer because i bot both types of steriliser. the multi-function steriliser better dont buy because it spoils very easily. i went down to pigeon to exchange the product one for one but they said some part must be faulty cos many people exchanging so ask me take the basic one.

so i would ask you to consider the standalone warmer. in fact, thats the one i use most of the time.next time when baby eat solid food, better to use a pot to heat up the food.

jOODZ: i suppose its quite normal since u girls are experiencing the same thing as me. Juz gotta down plenty of fluids i think..hopefully it will go away soon cos it really looks ugly. Im fat enough and now my feet are making me look fatter than ever..sigh..i guess i juz gotta accept it.

Btw, hv u ppl bought bb stuff already? My colls are telling me its better to buy early in case we were to deliver early n its diff to go ard during 3rd tri. i'll b gg to the baby fair nx week. hopefully i can find cheap deals. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Zanta, no problem. =) yap I saw it at metro 20% sale. But not sure whether getting it soon or maybe take a look at expo bb sale 1st. =)

@Wini, @Mi Mi: Welcome on board!!

@Terrylyn: Congratulations on your boy!!

@Eviangal: I received your email for the order form but this new supplier doesn't have any beansprout design for the time been is it? Or did I overlook??

@mami B: Is the standalone sterilizer you are referring to the Rapid Steam Sterilizer??

@zanta, yes. pigeon rapid steam sterilizer is the good one. can really last. so now i have two. one in my in law place, one i put at home.

@Geri - hehe, reading back, i'm glad you confirmed that speaking to baby in proper english is the way to go! I've already told my hubby that we shall not be using shishi, mm mm, bom bom, mum mum, neh neh...

My hubby is an Indonesian Chinese, so he's already conversing to my bb now in Indonesian. I try to speak to her in Chinese & English. I do hope she'll be trilingual! =D

@mami B: Really thanks alot for your clarification. Luckily you used this 2 types of sterilizer b4. But the big headache is, I just bought the multi-function sterilizer last thurs b4 I head to Penang bcoz Metro sales end last sun. End up yesterday when I went there, they're still having sales.. Alamak!! I wanted to buy the rapid steam sterilizer + bottle warmer but hubby said multi-function more economical. I should have go ahead with my own decision. Now dunno Metro would let me exchange for other things or not bcoz the warranty card had been stamped. Btw, is your bottle warmer the green and white model one?

@wish_child: I think can wait for the expo bb fair than compare the price bcoz I heard end of year Robinsons will have sales de. Don't b a kan cheong spider like me. Haha..

Zanta, yes - bottle warmer is green and white model. when i exchange my multi function, pigeon gave me another bottle warmer cos the rapid steriliser cannot warm bottles like the multi function. so i also have 2 bottle warmers. one in my in law house, one at home.

OFB.. i think its the same thing lah.. the push cart with wheels which we put our babies in when we bring them out... hehehe... stroller, buggy, pram...

@Mami B: Ok, think I'll go bug Metro to let me exchange for other things. Hehe.. Then I shall wait for expo sales and c if there's better offer there anot. I sounds so aunty now. Haha.. Mami B, which brand of bottles are you using for your bb? Is it alright to sterilize avent/medela breast pump, and also Nuk bottles in the sterilizer?

unicorn...me wake up middle of nite, but is to pee leh... so far not hungry coz i eat abit before zzzz....

prams... i also tink no need to get super exp pram lar... just get a cheap n simple one will do..moreover u wun noe whether will u be using heavily anot..

for myself my prams are white elephant for my #1... end up usually use slings to ferry him around..even till now..still using sling..

my best fren!

wish child..sterilizer shouldnt have such chemical smell ba..maybe need to descale regularly?

bottle warmer..for me i didnt use bottle warmer..just use hot water to heat up milk be faster...and i have those hot water flask so my water is always at duno 90++degree...

Zanta

I remembered how the pigeon sterilizer looks like. You can sterilize most other kinds of bottle if i am not wrong. I think Avent sterilizer would had some problem due to its design.

Food warmer is cheap. $40-$50 i think, so if you are not sure, i think just buy it. Better than when you need it and don't have it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if metro cannot, just use the sterliser. Pigeon customer service is excellent (from my encounter with them when i exchange my spoiled steriliser). so its ok one. you also have warranty card so no issues.

i use pigeon products whenever possible so all baby wipes, bottles, bottle brush, etc etc are pigeon brand hehe.. i use ameda pump, no issues with sterilising the parts. I think Nuk bottles should be ok lah. its just a steriliser, make water into steam...

Here's the weblink for pigeon bottle warmer with its product features:

http://www.pigeonbaby.info/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=120&category_id=28&keyword=warmer&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=52

forgot to add that one good thing is there is thermostat in a bottle warmer. you can select the optimal temperature for the milk and leave the bottle in the warmer. This way, baby will get consistent warm milk each time. if use cup and hot water, bearing in mind we are putting frozen breast milk (ice cubes) for heating, the hot water absorbs the coldness and gets colder and time passes by. the middle portion of the milk may not be as warm as what you feel on the bottle so end up baby may be drinking milk with uneven temperature - some part colder some part warmer.

hope this is useful info for those considering to get a bottle warmer.

choc

yup, I also used the hot water flask. water immediately at 90 degrees to warm the EBM, or food cubes. much faster than the food warmer which takes time to first heat up the water, then cos it's not sealed, and heating element only at the bottom, some heat dissipates into the air so takes much longer...

OFB

i think she meant buggy as in those light umbrella strollers that are for older children (backrest is at 80 degrees, cannot really recline) and can be folded into very small like umbrella. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good for travelling overseas too. the lighter models of maclarens are the usual favourites. i had a capella 705 till my dd was 18 months, and loved it too. reversible handle, wheels rather smooth, and reasonable price (abt 300).

@OFB: The 2 in 1 warmer is selling at $75 b4 discount. But ya lor, just buy first just in case. If nv use still can sell whereas the multi-function one you cannot sell. Hehe..

@mami B: That time you used for how long b4 the sterilizer spoilt? And is it the whole thing just cannot work/start?

Those mummies who bought theirs from the Taka bb Fair, did they stamp the warranty card?

Zanta: Nope you didnt overlook. Supplier says she is busy with orders lately. She will try to upload beansprout pillows fabric selections, etc by this weekends.

Trinket: the email in order form is correct lei.. Duno how come she didnt get yours. Let me know if she didnt reply again.

Zanta, Dont worry not only u kan chong.. I'm a very kan chong person too. Hehe. Already stock up enough clothes for my girl but have buy the rest of the thing. Will wait for the expo sale n also heard having a end of year taka sale. Hmm dont know how true is that. =)

So overall pigeon sterilser is better?

choc, using hot flask water will heat up bttl faster? But i see my fren heat up th milk usin hot water still slower than the milk warmer. Hmm maybe she only start heat up the milk when her bb started to cry ba.

@mami B: Wah.. Luckily it spoilt b4 the warranty ends, if not then gotta waste money and buy 1 more liao. How long have you been using the current one?

My 1yr warranty already became 8mth warranty from the day I bought it bcoz I bought it 4mths earlier..

@Eviangal: So we wait for the seller to u/l the pics of the fabric then we choose the design hor?

@wish_child: Wow.. You bought so many clothes for your girl already?? Are they all for newborn?

Any idea how many % off will Taka be offering during their sales?

Zanta, haha hmm some clothes I bought is for her to wear at Hm. I bought is at tampines bb shop under those HDB flat. My Sis n fren bought some clothes for her. Some frens also passing down bb clothes to me. Will u mind get clothes from ppl which passed down? If u dont mind I can pass u some clothes to u.

For the taka sale heard around 20% if not wrong. Hope is 20% if u have taka member can get addition 10% discount. =)

WAH! I come online at 9.34pm and realise there have been so many more messages le hahahahaha.

Must slowly read again and reply XD

Terrylyn.... Congrats on ur bb girl

Tot of doing flea market selling sm stuff sourced frm net... Hmm dunno can or nt.. Baby stuff and also avon stuff tat i purchased... Bb stuff sourced frn few frens... Headbands, hats n leggings. Flea market at pasir ris downtown east....

Head n feelings doesnt feel good... Decisions in mind to ponder... A little life in me to think of... Really confused at times.... I hope god will really help me

May I check which type of breast pump are u getting?

Btw, mine is also a gal... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

IDAAR

HUGS! Read ur post and yea lah I know where u came from coz like i said, i had a similar situation. He was staunch Buddhist, I am a Christian through and through lore. ^.^" And I would not be happy with Kae having to go temples with them, and he would not be happy if we kept the house free of religious objects of either beliefs. =p I am happier being married to someone who shares the same faith as I am I guess. =)

AH CHING

Ur suggestion on putting up for adoption… I recall I thought of doing the same thing for Kae too. =p But a part of me couldn't bear the thought of 1) taking the train and looking at every kid and wondering is that my boy? 2) having him ever feel like he was abandoned by me…

Wini, adoption is neither a good nor bad suggestion. Like I said and Ah Ching repeated, you really have to either

1) Have good family support;

2) If you don't have family support, then you must have a very strong will and determination and maturity

to pull off being a single mum. I know someone who did not have support from her family. She really really strived hard on her own. She now owns her own home, her own successful business. Her brother told me none of them thought she would be able to pull through coz she was very ill disciplined and immature. But having a kid gave her the courage, the strength, the determination to do what she has to do to give her son and herself a good future. She isn't married yet but she is very successful.

Another friend, also single mum, has no help from her family. She has 2 kids and she loves them a lot. She juggles writing and caring for her kids. She is not rolling in dough but she lives simply and is very happy. She told me a few days ago that she really grew up a lot and became more responsible when #2 came along- as #2 was a girl lah she felt even more protective of her. =) She stopped smoking and watches her purchases carefully. She makes clothes for herself and her kids, and occasionally makes stuff to sell.

These are two women who did not have family support but really have the gumption to make it good for their kids.

It is not impossible to do what they did, but you must really be determined and disciplined.

Eviangal-

I will ask him closer to January k? Need to find out what his studio schedule is like. If you ladies like to have potluck, maybe we can all chip in to order in some food, I dun mind opening my place to potluck. But I suspect all this can only be done AFTER our confinement periods and the babies settle in a little bit more hahaha.

Can't we just use ziplock bags instead of milk bags? Lol. I prob won't be freezing my milk though hahaha. Fresh all the way. I am Noah's cow. Mooomy not mummy. Hahaha - got new idea for another Mummy T-shirt le. "Noah's Moooo-my" plus pic of a milk bottle XD

Unicorn-

YES! U are not alone though I realize now what I should do is to eat a slice or two of bread and drink a glass of milk before I head off to bed. =p Eat something that will really fill the tummy up but not acidic or spicy to avoid heartburn.

Charmaine-

Eh should be able to use for longer leh. The stroller I bought is similar to the Combi one I had and I used the combo with Kae until he was quite big. After that, I made him walk. No strollers. Lol. Then whenever he felt tired, I'd carry a bit lor or we'd rest somewhere. =p I think that is why I am looking forward to getting the Manduca baby/toddler carrier at some point =p

Wish-

If have funny smell, wipe down with white vinegar and then again with warm water. And steam a few times before using.

Pootz-

Congrats! A princess! So nice! Can play dress up!! =D

LOW PLACENTA-

Will move up!!!!! (My gynae said more often than not, low lying placentas do move up later on.)

Eviangal-

I saw the steamer cum blender recently. Looks good. BTW there is an app by Braun with recipes for baby food that I blv u can also try on ur device. I already have blender and blender stick hahaha so i prob won't buy the philips thingee. It looks more convenient lah but i dun wanna buy another blender. I just have to steam in the microwave then blend lor- one more step lol.

Actually the milk tray hor… I think u can buy those by Lock and Lock or Bio dunno what ice-trays… NTUC sells them… that have airtight locks (like those containers outside). Those should also work fine? =)

Mami B-

LOL! =D I am quite new to shopping online but so far I have found quite a few good finds. =) Worth giving it a shot.

Joodz-

Adoi. Hugs! I agree with wish… maybe try diff brand of fish oil? Which brand are u taking now? Instead of drinking water, try drinking an isotonic non gassy drink like H Two O? Coz that will help replace the electrolytes lost when u puke. =) See if that will help? I won't recommend 100 plus now coz gassy can get heartburn and heartburn SUCKS big time.

Wish-

Hahaha! From first tri I already started taking: Vitamin C, Vitamin B, Calcium, Iron Folic, Salmon Omega, Multivitamin and one yakult less sugar everyday. Just started taking Protein Berry drink in Oct. Hubby keeps plying me with them coz he wants to give Noah and me the best possible nutrition. Lol. I make a breakfast shake with the Protein Berry drink and milk. I used to blend the above, except the salmon omega capsule, with the protein berry drink and milk plus yakult. =) Very nice. Healthier alternative to drinking strawberry milkshake. ^.^

BOTTLE WARMER-

Honestly, I agree that it is not a must-have although it is helpful. If your budget feels stretched, u can forgo it lah. Microwave hot water takes 30 secs to a minute. Lol. Takes a while longer, but hey before bottle warmers were the rage, the older generation managed fine that way hahaha. =) Sometimes we are so spoilt by technology hehehe. I am guilty as charged also la… =D

For thermal flask that really keeps hot water damn hot… buy the old school kind. Those China ones with the flower flower painted outside. Lol. I bought one from Tangs last time coz on sale then got Sakura painted on it, turns out it is sooooo good. Better than the electric hotpot kind of flask (super crazy electricity bills with those), better than the new fangled modern kind. The old school sort can keep the water really hot for 2 days in my experience. The modern kind, half a day cold le. =p

Idaar-

I also type in notepad coz i need to scroll the window to read all the messages hahaha. Safer also. If the web browser suddenly shuts down, what I typed is still around. Every min or so I Ctrl-A and Ctrl-C (select all and copy). I used to lose my emails/ word docs when those progs shut crashed too, so I'd do this to double protect myself hahaha.

Yup! We make the best of what we face in life. When life throws u lemon, make lemonade- as the saying goes. =)

MiMi-

Welcome! Try this- keep your feet raised up as often as possible and reduce intake of salt in your diet. =) It is water retention and doesn't necc have to be pre-eclampsia coz like Pinky said, ur gynae would have warned u about it. Don't read out of context when u google online. It's easy to scare urself. =)

Pinky-

For me the combo and cappella sized wheels are good enough le hahaha. Too big, too bulky carry le damn sian one.

BTW whenever I used to face staircases (ARGH) and no escalators or lift in sight, I would hover around with a damsel in distress look with the pram until some nice strong guy or two offers to help. ^.^ Lol.

Terrilyn-

CONGRATS! =D

Joodz-

OOOH maybe coz I take vit B since last tri so didn't face water retention this time around! I must go kiss my hubby for buying them for me hahaha.

Pootz-

Good, good! Keep it up and ur girl is so gonna be trilingual lore! Really. That's how my nieces picked up all 3 languages. =D Having said that it might not mean they are good in all 3 lah… but at least conversational in 3 and maybe good at writing in English and/or Chinese. =D Baby speak really just delays language learning so yea… speak to them like u'd speak to an adult. =)

OF COZ.. that is minus the occasional foul language though ahahaha… my friends always got to stop themselves in their tracks when they are about to go FFFffff or SSHHhh fill in the rest of the blanks urself. Lol. I shoot them the wide eyed "dun think of it" look. Kae has heard ppl cuss and swear before la to be fair, and i basically told him this on P1 first day of school- I dun care if your friend goes (beep) or (beep) or (beep beep- the hokkien one), that is their business. It gives the impression to people that they are rude or trying too hard to be cool which can be lame. So I don't want to hear you using that kind of language. If you want to cuss, you can say something else like "Oh DUNG!" or "Fishes and Anchovies!" or "O MAN!" or "SHOOTS!"... U dun have to use the exact swear words. XD

Oh dear... I did take that long to reply siah hahaha. Realised it is 103opm le! LOL!

Ok I go take a quick shower then come back to read replies hahaha.

HOOT HOOT HOOT! (o_O) <- owl (me lor)

Moomoo, Congrats!!

Iddar, don't worry n cheer up. =)

Mommies do ur girl feeling tight on the tummy area? My tummy felt tight n hard. Feel like my bb is going to push my belly button out.

I'm from the jan 2010 tread but due in late jan so may be in the sanme no. of wk as some early feb mummies.

I saw baywater's comments on getting maid and want to check what kind of cctv to use if for monitoring maid at hm. Me also headache now cos no one to look after bb when i go back to work. Will be getting a maid only so will get a cctv for monitoring first.

Any advice on the suvellance camera wld be much appreciated!! Thks.

wish child: u r not alone.. my belly button also pop out already..

feeling that my tummy area also very tight..

wow.. Geri always so late in here ar..

haha.. ur reply very detail.. very nice..

for Low Placenta i also having it..

but gynae never say anything.. so think dun need to worry much..

Geri

Thanks for all your advices...

btw, both my preg low placenta. 1st preg in the end it moved up. ended e c section cos i think my pelvic small and bb head big so induced and still cant acome out.

Now still low but not so bad. supposed to take duphaston twice a day during 1st trim but i take once only and rest more since i m a sahm.

Wish-

YESH! Mine is also nice and hard =D Normal lor. ^.^

Fiona-

Haha. Yea I am the owl that flaps in the night. ^.-

About LOW LYING PLACENTA:

"If the diagnosis is made before the 28th week of pregnancy, chances are excellent that, as the uterus grows upward, the placenta will migrate (move up) with the uterus and no longer be low-lying."

"If you have a scan in the first half of your pregnancy that shows that your placenta is low-lying, this isn't usually any cause for concern. As many as one in four placentas may be low-lying in mid-pregnancy. The likelihood is that as your womb gets bigger, the placenta will move up (it doesn’t actually ‘move’ as such, but as the womb grows, the area to which the placenta is attached stretches upwards, away from the cervix). If your placenta is shown to be low-lying in mid-pregnancy, you’re likely to be offered another scan later on (usually around 32-34 weeks) to check that it has moved. Only 0.5 per cent -1 per cent of placentas remain low-lying at the end of pregnancy."

SO DON'T WORRY YOURSELVES HOR! =D IT IS COMMON!!!!

Reverie-

Hey girl, dun worry. Keep a positive mindset and believe you are the majority whose placenta will move up. =) This pregnancy is not the same as the last one right? =D

Reverie and Moomoo-

HUGS! Don't meditate on the LLP and spend time enjoying your baby k? =D

Hmmm i realised the spacing btw the lines for my long post was very strange.... makes it hard to read ya? PAISEH! SORRY! =)

I have no idea what went cuckoo when I cut and paste. ^___^""

Geri, owl Geri is back just like my girl Haha. Active at night. Hmm thank u for the advice n detail. Wow Geri u took so many pills n healthy drink. Wow I only took soya milk n maternal milk. Hmm heard lot ppl say have bb girl drink soyamilk is good for her skin. When she out will br chubby n fair. Hmm I can't take so many pill I will be scared. Need to take multi vitamins, calcium pills n fish oil everyday I already can't take it. Can't imagine u can take so many pills.

Fiona, my belly button not yet popped out but feel like going to pop out. Hmm feel my belly heavy n tight. Hehe now only 2nd trimester I already felt my tummy heavy can't imagine how can I go through 3rd trimester. Haha. For the detail scanning it will provide cd, but inside the cd what it include? Video of bb scanning or pics only?

wish-

Lol! That is why I made it into a drink mah hahahaha. But I can easily pop up to 10 vitamin pills and down it with water with no problem one hahaha. XD

My belly button hasnt popped out either. Haha.

And like ur girl, our Noah is also another one that kicks and is active AT NIGHT... lol. Afternoon always diam diam. Hahaha.

STRANGE EXPERIENCE LAST NIGHT-

I went to bed at around 2+am (i think?) and was asleep when suddenly an hour or two later, I felt this very very strong vibration at my belly area and woke up. Then one swift kick from the inside. LOL. I wonder what Noah was up to lor! XD It really was some vibrating feeling... i think he was doing some strange stretching and kicking exercise. I had a shock man. =) Kae never did that when he was inside of me. Hehe.

BOTTLE WARMERS ON EBAY =)

Since I had nothing better to do... I went to jalan jalan on ebay. XD

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Tolljoy-electric-milk-bottle-food-warmer-breastfeed-/300478174224?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_216&hash=item45f5e51410

(This one is going for SD$15, pick up only. 9hrs plus left to bidding. So far no bidders. COD or bank deposit. Seller lives in TPY.)

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Used-Avent-bottle-baby-food-warmer-no-spoon-NUK-Comb-/260675432084?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_216&hash=item3cb1776e94#ht_500wt_1156

(This one has bids starting at SD$20 but still has 1d 10hrs left for bidding. COD. Local Pick up Raffles Place MRT, Tanah Merah, Bt Merah...)

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/BNIB-Lucky-Baby-Food-Bottle-Warmer-/180573015563?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_216&hash=item2a0afd8e0b#ht_500wt_1156

(Buy it now price of $32, bidding starts from $30. COD. Pick up at Dover Cres, Bedok North, Aljunied Rd)

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Bottle-Warmer-Practicals-/270646980766?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_216&hash=item3f03d1309e#ht_500wt_1156

(Buy it now price $15. No brand but functional and does its job says the seller. Not for Pigeon or Avent bottles though. His number is 96833972. Pick up at CBD area. COD.)

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Philips-Avent-iQ-Bottle-Warmer-Brand-New-/110596853525?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_216&hash=item19c0160f15#ht_500wt_1156

($78 buy it now price. but prob cost the most in shops amongst the bottle warmers i found so far. COD and bank transfers. BRAND NEW ITEM.)