(2011/01) Jan 2011

Ops! Sorry. Dunno y sent my post 2x

O ya! Anyone start not putting mittens n booties on BB?

I tried but BB dun like. She become very frightful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

also joke of the day!! She puts her hand to her head, clench her fist n grab hold of a lot of hair (she is born with a lot of hair) then she start to scream in pain but held on so tightly to all her hair! We very heart pain to c her in pain, but really silly girl :p haha! So now put her mittens back for her n only remove when I bf her.

Hi Grumpus,

Thanks for your advice. That's what i tot so too. But I'm just wondering if my bb is drinking too little, though i'm latching her on every 1 1/2-2hr in the daytime. Sometimes i wonder if i'm her living pacifier or she really needs milk.

I do not wish to give her pacifier when i return to work. My 1st child was hardly given pacifier when young, but he was more "guai" oso, cos he will sleep quietly most of the time. My girl now always fusses if being left alone for half an hr. She can't sleep 2-3hrs straight in the afternoon. How to wean her off my breast as the living pacifier ?

charleen: i'm also contemplating to remove the mittens from my boy.. he seems more comfortable with the mittens removed.. but problem is his nails are very long, he scratched his face everytime we removed his mittens.. no one at home dares to trim his tiny nails.. we're all afraid of cutting him. :S now waiting for his full month, MIL say will trim for him~ once trimmed, i'll remove his mittens le..

but booties i still leave it on at night when he sleeps, cos his feet always gets cold the quickest..

for heat rash.. pinky/chabby mentioned dried bitter gourd which can be purchased from chinese medical hall.. my boy also getting heat rash from the weather now.. heartache to see all the red patches on him.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wannabel, sherill

my baby was 2.57 when born, weight 3.7 long back, about 3-4 weeks back..Im giving her 4oz (120l) now, she alwasy fall asleep, took almost an hour to finish and sometime can't finish and I have to discard the remaining. she can left about 1oz sometime. My freezer no more space for me to store my milk, i feel like feeding her more but dun think is a gd idea to do so..I have already store EBM at hubby's sister house and our house but still not enuf. Khloe now sleep longer during nite, she skip 1-2 feed each day.

puix,

I diden see doctor cos I try not to take any medicine while giving BM. I drink more water to cure sore throat. You can highlight to the doctor so tat the medicine precribed is safe. Hope you recover soon

Charleen,

i stopped wearing mittens and booties for my girl for quite awhile already. at night i still wear for her cos she sleeps in aircon room.

regarding pulling her hair. errr did u check if she's got cradle cap? my elder girl used to pull her hair too especially when she was sleepy. we tot it was so amusing. in the end we found out she had very bad cradle cap and she was trying to scratch cos it's itchy but obviously she didn't know how so kept pulling her hair!

Charleen, can remove mittens once nails are cut so as to let bb learn to grab things.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I still let my boy wear booties in the day even though he is 7 weeks old le.. At night, if he doesn't wear fully covered suit to sleep, we will still make him wear booties to keep his feet warm as we sleep in air con room..

Kimmy.. Ur supply so good! I envious.. Now no matter how I try i still only can get about 600ml a day at max.. My boy drink so much I cannot keep up.. Lol..

Charleen.. Bathing with guiness stout not sticky.. Use half a can each time to mix into bathing water.. For the bitter gourd water, buy the dried bitter gourd from tcm halls and boil some in a pot and mix into bathing water too.. Jb buy very cheap compared to sg.. My hubby bought from jb.. Keke..

charleen,

I have aready removed khloe's booties..I will remove her mitten when she is not cranky, cos she will scratch her faces more when she is cranky..I wan to intriduce her *fingers* but my MIL as usual say nails is too long. I did trim her nails but it grow quite fast. So that day I wan to trim again while my MIL feeding her milk, then MIL say no need since already trim, dunno what she want..anyway, I will still remove her mitten when I feel so especially playing time..

BM vs EBM,

I will give fresh BM sometime, dun wan my girl later used to one taste..hehe so far so gd

Back to work,

Im so sad..Need to o back work soon. Company called and say many things to do..now working from home..so unfair!!

pinky,

I pump regulary so my supply is still ok plus my girl dun drink a lot. I took fenugreek since few weeks back cos my supply drop 1-2 weeks after I discharge from hospital. now each pump is about 210-240ml every 4 hours. 600ml a day is not bad already, tat equal to 20oz..not bad ah...

lily,

I took fenugreek and pump every 4hours. last time I pump every 3 hours, too tiring so I changed to 4 hours interval. Sometime lazy to pump duirng midnite, will drag till morning then pump, about 6-7 hours..pump about 11-12oz.

Thanks Kimmy think i shld take fenugreek to increase my ebm kekeke..as i sometimes too busy pump only after 5-6 hours so i miss a pump sometimes mus really keep track of time.. my morning and sub pump get me 200ml each but later pumps can only get 130-150 depends..still not stable..

lily,

dun worry and dun give up...when u pump regulary, your supply will be stable...it take sometime for your body to know that u need more milk...what we can do is to drink more fluid, relax our mind and pump regular. I feel guilty when I din pump after 4 hours...haha so day time I will follow the schedule, only nite time if too tired to wake up then I drag..

kimmy.. do you latch ur bb? or you give ur girl exclusive EBM? sigh.. sometimes i feel very tired latching my boy every 2 hrs..

gina,

no more latching..i bottle feed with EBM..cos when I latch, khloe can cry for milk every 1hour plus..she easily fall sleep when feeding, drink a bit then satisfied..very tired and I hurt my wound very bad cos need to carry, sit up..move too much. and is also time to introduce bottle to her, good to track how much they r drinking, and also can train their schedule, every 3 hours interval, also to avoid they reject bottle when i go back to work.

kimmy.. i'm also feeling very tired feeding my boy every 2 hrs.. sometimes 3 hrs if my parents can pat him back to slp.. he takes about 40 min to feed and i have to keep watching him making sure he drinks and dun fall aslp.. hubby keeps telling me to make him feel fuller so that boy can slp longer.. as if its so easy lo!!!

i try to steal as much as possible after nursing.. but i'm beginning to really feel the drain now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] am feeling v guilty to feel this way..

when you first introduce khloe bottle, did u introduce slowly week by week? or you went full force and gave her bottle every feed?

ya..outsider won't understand..they though very easy..even bottle feed also not easy, just that can get someone to help feed when you are tired. My hubby also like that, I let him feed once and he then understood, now he won't comment anymore..

I started to give only 2 times a day. only worried is khloe reject direct latching, but she was ok until now. sometime when we go out, i din bring EBM, latch her directly if she is hungry. so far so gd, but she get a bit cranky cos overall bottle feed is easier for sucking. just need to be more patient when lactch the cranky baby..pat their back to calm them down, once they are calm, they will find our nipple fast..when khloe get cranky, she cannot find my nipple and my nipple is inside her mouth..so jialat

Kimmy,

I also thought of feeding my girl EBM instead of latching her on since she's always crying after half an hr to 1hr after latching her on. But i'm afraid it will decrease milk supply since latching on will stimulate milk supply better. Sometimes i'm too lazy to pump out the bal after latching her.

Anyway, so envy your MS. I can only pump 100ml max every 4hrs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hahaha~ my boy too! when he's cranky.. he still cry n cry even when the nipple is in his mouth.. i watch him, i dunno whether to laugh or be angry with him~

millie,

I also worried about milk supply after i stop latching her, but actually is ok so long as we pump regular, our body will know we need milk, more milk...

my cousin pump since baby born cos her nipple is too short. she pump from 1oz till 12oz each pump now..so i believe so long as we pump regular, milk will come..

khloe nite feed at 9pm, then she will be cranky (cos of tired) and we will carry her, pat her to sleep, by time is about 10plus nearly to 11pm, she will sleep for 5 hours (skip her 12am meal), after the 5 hours feed, her next feed will back to 3 hours..I wanted to wake her up tonite for the 12am feed, hopefully her next feed will be at 5am since I have to pump at 1am.

Gina,

yaya...very cute to see them cranky cos khloe will move her head left right left right to find my nipple..so cute to see..i normally will laugh at it..hahha

kimmy.. haha ya~ its hilarious when i feed him in the daytime.. but nightfeed.. even i start to get cranky with him~

when u first intro khloe to bottle, how much milk do you start off with? khloe's very good! can slp for 5 hrs straight! envy!

gina,

haha...u should enjoy it, soon we will miss all these cos they are growing...I dun like to carry khloe cos I scared we spoil her, my hubby was telling me yesterday say if dun carry now, next time grow up wan to carry her, khloe might dun wan to be carried anymore..what hubby said sounds very true, so I just carry her when she is awake today, kept playing with her...

if im not wrong, i gave her 2/2.5oz (depending on her age cos I intro her bottle at her 2/3 weeks old), increased to 3oz when i know she can finished all, then slowly adjust, now giving her 4oz. she dun drink all cos will leak a bit lar, left some lar..but happy when she can *finish* all regardless..hehe

gina,

should envy at elekos, her baby can sleep 7 hours!!! khloe only 5 hours but im happy with that already..tonite feed her at 12am to see if she will sleep longer hour...everyday learn new things from khloe..

no need to envy my baby not on full bm of cos he can sleep longer. however I have to watch when i give his last feed. yesterday fed him at 8+ thought he would wake up for another ard 12+ but he slept through till just now :I I will have problem sleeping back and probably will still be awake till next feed 4 hours later. got to adjust schedule so that last feed can be 11+pm then pray can catch some more sleep.

my sore throat pain still hasn't subsided since sun, started drinking warm honey on top of sucking lozenges... really hate to go see the doc... sigh

elekos,

wa, ur baby sleep so long, gd leh..i fail to wake my baby up for milk at 12am yesternite cos she is in deep sleep mode, then she woke up at 1am and 4am for milk..

kimmy, my mommy friend just advise me cannot drink honey cos honey has raw contents that baby cannot take, since i'm partial bf baby will also get. back to sucking lozenges...

guess we're heaty due to not enough rest lor..

elekos - found this info on eating/drinking honey when bfeeding from this link :

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/mom-foods.html

Can a nursing mother eat honey?

Honey is not a problem for mom to eat. The gut flora of adults and children over a year old are able to fend off the botulism spores that may be present in honey, and render them harmless. Since the spores would be killed in your gastrointestinal tract, they would not make it into your bloodstream and therefore cannot be present in your milk.

A baby's gut can't defend itself against the botulism spores, and so they can colonize the intestinal tract, germinate and release botulinum neurotoxin. As a result, honey is not recommended for babies under a year old. It's recommended that you avoid giving baby anything that contains honey, or make sure that the cooking process kills any botulism spores that might be present. To kill botulism spores, the food must be cooked at 240 degrees Fahrenheit (this requires a pressure cooker) for at least 15 minutes. Botulism spores are very heat resistant - it takes more than six hours of boiling at 212 degrees Fahrenheit to kill the spores. The toxin is less resistant - boiling foods (at 212 degrees Fahrenheit) for 10 minutes will destroy the toxin.

Hi Mummies, sorry to disturb..

Would like to enquiry if you have any good confinement auntie to recommend?

Please PM me their contacts. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Kimmy

How much Fenugreek you take per day?

I let my girl latch directly and pump after she finish latching. Can only pump out about 20ml to 50ml after that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have problem breast feeding. My milk level is always the same amount. Max at 3oz-/+. And if I pump out every 2-3hours the quantity is getting lesser and lesser. Can someone pls enlight me what should i do? I do let my daughter latch on. But each time she latch on after 10mins she will doze of and is difficult to wake her up for latching on. Stress on breastfeeding. Can someone pls advise me what should i do?

Thks

I,m from Dec 2010 Mums thread. Since the topic here is about breastfeeding, keen to learn and share too.

Any mummies can share the best way to freeze EBM so when thawed it will not taste horrible like mine? It taste like metal so I decided to throw all my EBM. Really don't have the heart to let my baby drink coz I can't take the taste myself.

I used to store it in milkbag, freeze the bags inside my freezer which is 2-door fridge so EBM mingle with frozen meats too. Wonder if the meat odour contributes to the awful taste?

I'm now trying to keep the milkbags inside container, squeeze as much air as possible out of the milkbag. Hope this help, will only now tomorrow...

Thanks Mummies!

Bluehime,

It is very common for frozen breast milk to taste/smell metallic. There is nothing wrong with it. If bb does not reject it, no need to throw away. It's all yr hard work and effort!

Here's more info for u on why the milk taste/smells like tat.

http://workandpump.com/storage.htm

bluehime,

u dun have to throw all ur ebm away.. u can give it your bb for milk bath.. dun waste.. or u can use the milk to wash ur face.. very good also! =)

it's all hard work... so PLEASE dun throw!!! =)

hope it helps.. =) cheers

elekos,

yaya...I diden drink honey cos I know baby under 1 yr old cannot drink since im giving khloe full BM. Tot u r giving FM, hence diden tell you not to drink. my bad =(

Mrs.loh,

I took 1 capsule 3 times a day. May be one day you can try pump out to see how much, then roughly you know how much your baby is drinking. When I latch my baby last time, I always wonder how much she is drinking, so I did some test, latch then pump and see how much left, and pump out full without latching. Actually you are very hard working, Im lazy to pump out after latching. If you continue to do that, your body will know you need more milk. =)

xiaopang,

did you drink more fluid? especially after each pump? If you think latching is tired and dun mind bottle feed, you can pump out regular and feed. A mummy here did mentioned b4 that barley drink can boost up milk supply. drink barley =). Dun take *dang gui* and cabbage, it will cut down milk supply. Drink more fluid, soup, water..etc

bluehime,

Mine also got taste, but since nothing wrong with this and I read an article saying that milk contain bacteria even BM, but compared with FM, the bacteria is still lesser. Since khloe did not reject the frozen EBM, i just continue to give but sometime will offer fresh BM. It's all our effort to pump out, I will not throw it like that. BTW, which storage bag you are using? Heard some brand have strong plastic smell.

Gal dolphin,

Are both chilled ebm (stored in fridge) n frozen ebm (stored in freezer) taste like metal? Or only the frozen one taste like metal?

puix2,

usually only the frozen one will hv that taste. the longer it is frozen, the stronger the taste.

"It is because the enzymes that help digest breastmilk can sometimes break down some of the fats, resulting in what adults taste as an "off" flavor."

Does drinking anmum lacta milk increases supply too? Anyone drinking? I find that when I take a cup of it in the morning, my next pump i will get quite a lot..

Hi mummies, does your stomach skin color become darker after birth esp the linea nigra & around the navel? Any idea how to lighten it?

my baby after having injection yesterday, is having fever today =( and she seems to have lost her appetite. have been feeding for less than 10 min and gone back to sleep. is this normal? =(

pinky_i,

is it true abt the anmum lacta milk? was contemplating whether to buy anmum after tasting several different brands (had quite a few from the samples gathered/delivered). the rest taste too sweet for my liking, and do not dissolve well. my bm supply is decreasing, am looking for ways to increase it.

kimmyksc thks for your advise.

I dont mind bottle feed. Infact is even better because my baby always latch til she doze off. And i dont know whether how much have she latch on or does she drink enough anot and i got to feed her every hourly because she cry and is always hungry. But will bottle feed slowly decrease our milk supply? because our baby is not latching on wor.

I did drink fluid but how much then is consider enough? I did drink a glass of the red dates water after each pump. And at times i will drink fresh milk hoping it will increase my supply.

Morning i did drink enfa mama lacta milk too. Wonder does it help?

And hor, during our confinement we can drink barley drink? Cause barley belong to be "liang" food wor.

My milk supply is getting lesser and lesser after each pump. I wonder why? Only when I never pump out the whole night then when i pump out in the morning it will be 3oz-/+. =(

Someone help me pls! I dont want to let my milk supply to maintain at only 3oz or getting lesser and lesser.

Help!!!!

thanks kimmyksc. i was so worried for the entire day. indeed, she did wake up for feeding almost hrly and feed for 5 to 10 mins before dozing off.

xiaopang

My baby will doze off even bottle feed, but we can wake the baby up by using many ways such as move her mouth, move her body, open her diapers..etc then can continue to feed her till finish.

Last time I also though bottle feed will decrease milk supply, but actually not really. so long as we pump regular, our body will know we need milk. You can latch once a while when you feel like latching your baby =)

hhmm...i drink almost 3-4 times of milo each day, soup at least 1 meal, water, milk once every 2/3 days. fluid can drink more, no limit.

Im not sure about lacta milk, my POV about milk powder is about the calcium, not about boosting milk supply. may be other mama can answer this..

My supply also cut down a lot, it's due to the tiredness. Rest is really very very important for BF mama..

I suggest you to pump out after every latch, the amount might be low but by doing that, u r telling your body milk is not enough, so your body will do the job. and also pump at nite, until your milk supply is stable then you can lazy for few times.

relax your mind especially during pumping. I will come online or watch tv or chat with hubby when pumping..I realized chatting is more effective

Kimmyksc,

I have tried to wake my baby up in alot of ways like changing diapers, or when she is about to doze off i call her name and even try to tickle her softly ard her neck but it doesnt help when she is in deep sleep.

About drinking all those fluid you mention i think i never drink that much. haha.. but i will try to drink more now. even plain water also helps?

How often do we need to pump? 2-3hour each time? If i follow this pumping time, my supply will reduce. maybe i never drink enough fluid ba. Will try again..

Kimmy I will try on your advise. drink more water and pump out to see my supply amount.

I did relax too.. i watch tv when pumping. but i feel pumping is a mess. haha.. we still need to massage etc and milk will drip etc. and is sticky >_<!!

Whisp.. I not sure is it true.. But I just feel it works like that for me.. My supply decreases when I dun pump at the specific timings that I set for myself.. But if I pump at my usual specific timing that I set for myself.. I find that after I empty my breasts, I still continue to pump for another min or 2 and slowly my supply increase.. I doing exclusive expressing.. If necessary, pump every 2 hours for a day or 2.. Should help to increase supply as well.. I also taking fenugreek to help with supply too.. I drinking a lot of fluids as well.. Milk, Milo, soya bean, water etc.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rem to massage as u pump! Jiayou!

xiaopang.. try rubbing her palms and feet.. use slightly more strength.. try tickling her nose with a cloth, bringing her neck to your mouth and start talking onto her neck.. these are ways i tried to irritate my boy to wake him up and it works sometimes.. when my boy is drinking, i'll exercise his arms and feet.. make sure he doesnt doze off.. =)

have to keep trying different methods.. haha different babies are different!