(2011/01) Jan 2011

elekos and charleen,

petpet:

my gal tried pet pet and has rashes all over.. so i switch back to huggies... and now she is starting to have abit rash also. =( haiz.. maybe i shld try mamy poko... the thing is i also change her diaper like siao.. within 3 weeks.. i already used up 3 pack of pigeon wipes (80pieces) and 4 packs of huggies newborn and half pack of pet pet.. =( pocket BIG hole.. =(

Rose,

u wanna try mamil gold?i got some samples.. where u stay?can pass to u if u are nearby to try.. =)

chabby,

salute u manz!! go all the way to JB to get diapers!!! hehe..

sherill,

u are good!! i must learn from u.. my gal pee and poo so many times a day think i change diaper like every 3-4hrly.. =( must also learn to toilet train her soon.. so how frequent do u bring ur gal to pee n poo?can share pls?

Gal dolphin,

nope i'm not using the swing anymore cos i latch #2 directly. errr, i think i got it for abt $300+ sorry can't really remember cos that was 3 yrs ago.

my #1 is 3yr old and she goes to pre-nursery for 3hrs everyday. in the morn i will drop her off at school with #2 in tow. then i will go home and settle #2 bathe etc. and prepare lunch for myself and #1. i will eat my lunch early then pick #1 up from school. reach home i will feed #1, bathe her etc then put her to sleep for afternoon nap. in between i will latch #2 and put her back to sleep or if she's not sleeping then i will put her in the pram to follow me around the house while i do stuff.

when #1 and #2 are sleeping, i will hv a short nap myself then wake up to prepare dinner. when #1 wakes up, i will play with her little while then feed her dinner. then hv my own dinner. after that wash up for #2 and put her to sleep for the night. then is wash up for #1 and put her to sleep for the night.

after both sleep, i will watch some tv and relax, fold nappies/clothes etc.

this is the routine if hb is not in sgp. if hb is around, he will drop #1 off and pick her up from school. he will also help with the washing up after lunch/dinner etc...

Wipes and diapers:

during the first month, We used 10 packs of wet wipes(80 inside) and changed diapers every 2 hrly, which works out to 12 pieces a day! *faint*

Hubby uses the wipes like it is free lor, so now I'm the one changing diapers!

The worse part is he has diaper rash even though we change him so frequently.

Using mamy poko all the way but no leakage so far and not smelly too. But getting too ex liao at the rate he poos and pees. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

same here, my baby also got diaper rash, i used same brand from the beginning till now, in between got used those free sample from dryper. Khloe's buttock red red, so I use cloth diapers and it getting better, then switch back to diaper but now her buttock got red dot red dot, I change her diaper once she poo, can't be allegy to diaper rite since I have been using it since she's born. her rashes started in early Feb. Dunno issit allegy to dryper's diaper. heart pain each time I change her diaper..

To all mummies

Just to share. I have been using nanny breast milk storage bag since start. Did tried lansinoh brand as well, but compared the pricing for both, nanny is good enough and it's a lot more cheaper. *Since we have been spending a lot on diapers and baby wipes =P*

Tips:

Lie flat when you store your EBM, it save a lot of your freezer's space.

My supplier is organizing BP, anyone interested, can check this out

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5115836.html?1297858866

Pinky J>

For Nepia, can also email them your order [email protected]

S size is for 4-8kg, each pack has 54pcs.

M size is for 6-12kg, each pack has 48pcs.

If you place order before 12pm, they can deliver next day, except for Fri which is delivery on following Mon. =)

Grumpus I salute u! I can't get anything done if my boy is awake!

Chelleybaby.. Think can try change brand of diapers ba.. Which barrier cream u using? I using jurlique barrier cream for babies which was given in one of the goodie bags from hosp.. Not bad.. Can try it..

Kimmy.. Personally I feel the absorption rate for drypers is lousy!!

grumpus,

wah u r super mom!!!! i salute u ++++.. i cannot handle both! at least i send #1 to cc.. then get abit of breather..u are really wonder mom!!! =) *hands up*

nappy rash:

heng so my gal is not the only one.. dunno why she is so prone to nappy rash... haiz.. i apply drapolene and pureen cream still the same.. =(

chelleybaby,

haha.. me still gt 1 more week to go.. then will tell u how much wipes i have use.. hehe.. so far diapers newborn already used 5packs! each 24pieces. =(

pinky,

hahaha....i only hv to take care of 2 abt 50% of the time when hb is not around. the other 50% of the time he is around and helps out quite a bit.

re: diapers and wipes

i use cloth nappies for my girl in the day and facial cotton and water to clean her bum.

save alot of money....hehe

giNa, my hubby forgotten how much is PetPet, he said around $10 for size S pack from NTUC.

Rose, some time back bought a small can of S-26 to try cos Nan out of stock at nearby NTUC. My boy gave me the constipated look for the whole day and didn't pooed for 2 days, I was so worried :S You can try Nan or Dulac Infant Formula, they both work well for him.

Gal.dolphin and Chelleybaby, maybe you want to consider using toilet paper to wipe clean the poo first before using baby wipe finally? My hubby suggested this cos he couldn't bear to see me use few pcs of baby wipes for every cleanup :p

I am using Mustela Vitamin Barrier cream, nice scent and it's been great my boy no nappy rash at all. I'm still using the 2nd sample tube as I only applied after bath, after pooed and changing to pyjamas at night.

Hi Kimmy & Pinky,

I use desitin for nappy rash, we apply that everytime we change diaper or when she poo it will not only prevent but will heal it too..

I personally prefer using mamy poko and wil switch to nepier after i finish my pkts of S size mamy poko..

Nappy rash

You may want to use the cotton pad/ ball with warm water to wipe ur bb instead of using wet wipes, i find that wet wipes tend to have nappy rash. And i am using Desitine nappy rash cream. It is good. Am using mamy poko too. Change it like free.my boy poo at every feeding time...haha

I wonder why you guys are not washing baby bottom with warm water after poo instead of wipes, tissues n all that ? Just bring them to bathroom sink n wash after that dry with towel. FREE of cost n super hygienic !

I realized, no wonder how good wiPes are, still some stain is left over in buttocks n it can develop bacteria very soon giving rashes. Save nappy cream, wiPes, tissue etc

No personal comment, just my opinion. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi gina,

cant rem how much pet pet is but def cheaper than mamy poko [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm staying in jb now but hubby travels to work in spore, so all diapers i'm getting frm jb. cheaper. even helping my bro buy his bb milk powder here then send out to him. he said cheaper by abt s$10 per can!

hmm... should i take orders then help u all get? but charge a nominal fees [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

save u all some $ while i can make some pocket $.. :p win-win situation [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone wanna place orders? pref pick up areas in north, or central.

my girl nappy rash terribly with mamy poko. diff bb prob diff allergies to diff brand..

i swith to cloth diapers for a day to heal it then switch brand. it helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now unless we forget to chsnge her 4hrs interval, then the rash comes back if there's poo poo.

now every day carrying bb in my arms while she slp.. so tiring.. even now typing with 1 hand..

o ya, anyone know when next bb fair?

my bra pad using so fast!! like bb diapers!!

checked. it's sooo much cheaper to get in spore, esp during bb fair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to confirm, paternity leave is 3 days rite? I read in one of the New Paper stories that there is this parental leave of 4 days, anyone knows that is that?

Sherill, thanks for your suggestion but my boy loves to kick alot so I'm afraid he will make a mess at the sink :S

Charleen, I bought my Pigeon bra pads at OG when they had 20% sales.

Read that there are 2 fairs coming up:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4537498.html?1295491737

Also, BHG is having baby fair starting today! Think I will pop by tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://livinginsingaporetoday.com/14973/bhg-baby-fair-2011/

Sputnik: paternity leave is not legislated. It is recommended, but it is dependent on individual company whether or not they want to give. Only childcare leave is mandatory for companies to give.

ok i shall go check out how much is PetPet once my confinement is over..

chelleybaby, my husband and mom also uses wet wipes like crazy lo~ now i try to use wet cotton wool to wipe my son's backside.. save more money.. but husband and mom refuses to follow me cos its too troublesome.. =(

chelleybaby and gal_dolphin: for diaper rash, try using Desitin.. my boy had nasty red patches on his bum couple of days back, after applying Desitin cream, the redness faded off quite quickly. and its effective in preventing more rashes..

charleen: wah u can type and carry ur girl at the same time! did u try putting her down when she's in deep slp? my boy also fuss and needs to be carry every after feed.. he's getting heavier.. my hands getting v tired lo! i try to make sure he's in deep slp before i put him down..

Dear mummies, sorry for interrupting.

I received this gift from friends but have no use for it as my baby is co-sleeping with us. It's definitely brand new and still in the original box.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5126904.jpg] There's slight peel on the cover due to gift wrapping.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5126905.jpg] Otherwise, everything else is untouched.

This product is retailing at $199.90. But we are letting go to serious buyers at a lower price than this.

Product Description:

It is the only Breathing Baby Monitor with 2 large sensor pads located under the mattress giving coverage of the entire sleeping area or cot area with no contact with your baby. The Babysense II Baby Movement Monitor has been in use as a medical device for over 10 years in private homes and hospitals all over the world.

• Babysense II Baby Monitor alerts if the infant's breathing stops or is irregularly slow.

• Two passive and sensitive sensors are located under the mattress.

• One sensor for newborn baby or hospital use.

• Two sensors for crawling baby over three months old.

• Fully portable.

• Babysense II covers total crib area.

• No contact with infant.

• Normal breathing and motion patterns trigger a flashing green light which can be seen clearly from a distance, giving you peace of mind.

• Babysense II Baby Movement Monitor carries

complete CE registration as a medical device and to comply with 93/42/EC Device Directive.

• Pads are suitable for foam and sprung mattresses

between 8 - 11 cm deep.

• Babysense II operates on regular AA batteries for safety and simplicity.

• Babysense II is suitable for all infants from birth up to one year of age

If you are keen and sincere in buying, pls PM me. Thank you.

Gina,

I'm also starting to use cotton wool and water instead of wipes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hv been using desitin all these while, but recently doesn't seem to be v effective. Haiz...

thanks eleko & grumpus. hopefully have time to check it out tmw [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gina, yes, my shoulders falling off by the time hubby back...

if i put her down, she'll max slp 20mins herself though deep slp.. but in my arms can b slping abt 2hts...

so no choice... gotta train up... somemore she's abt 5.5kg already

Chelleybaby: someone mentioned mustela cream for nappy rash too.. Or maybe try changing to another brand of diaper?

Charleen: maybe try putting her in a sling? Then u can free ur hands n do stuffs still

Mums,

Wondering if anyone heard of traditional way of using flour to rub on baby's body to get rid of heatiness? And also bathing in bitter gourd water? My cl told me to try this cuz bb so fussy and always crying now. Anyone tried before?

Cookiefleur.. Thanks for the info! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will order when my current supplies run out..

Working wife.. My CL taught mil and I to use bitter gourd water and another way is added half can of guiness stout to the bathing water.. Tried both.. Quite effective..

working wife

my mum will boil the bitter gourd water to bath my baby. help to reduce and bring down rashes.

u can try using half a can guinness stout along w bath water to bath your baby. dun need boiling.

pinky

CSP need to wear M size soon for mamy poko. guess it's normal as ours are huge babies. it's better if u get some1 to share w u to take the S size.

chelleybaby

i'm using desitin also. so far so good. u may wan to try using cloth diaper and let ur baby butt air.

some other alternatives to cure nappy rash are:

1. corn starch powder

2. breast milk

research on that when mine got diaper rash 3 weeks back.

actually what Sherill suggest is the best! but i no kung fu to do that as my baby is big and not the cooperative type. worry i clumsy and drop/injured him when he struggle. even my experience mum need my dad to help when she wash the baby's butt.

Sherill

Salute u! wld like to follow suit but need to train up on my confidence, swiftness and motor skills before attempting that.

grumpus

SALUTE U too!

can hardly cope w having #1 already. sigh~ even told my mum i may not want to have #2 man...

charleen

thank u for your proposal.

let me discuss w hubby. i know he is not agreeable to formula for the fear of diff composition.

am considering getting wet wipes and diapers.

wet wiptes is sooo much cheaper in m'sia

i'll sit cross leg on the bed/floor in front of tv. place the baby on the legs rather than carrying. hand tired!

(2 pack 80pc cost ard 10RM. SG cost 8SGD)

May i know for those who take fenugreek to boost milk supply, does the milk taste change since i heard that fenugreek has the maple syrup smell...

moms, can u believe my gal is sleeping 7 hours in night from 12 to 7 am, with just opening her mouth for milk twice! She is 8 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but I still can't sleep much and keep watching her, feeding , thinking etc etc!

Very amazed how moms latch n sleep at the same time?

medela freestyle dual function,

I found another use for the freestyle, it can be used as a hypnotiser to put bb to sleep!

Found out by accident last night when she was struggling n refused to sleep. My husband went away for a while n I sat on the bed next to her while pumping. The room lights were off. I turned the pump light towards her n she was transfixed by it...at first she stared without blinking, then by 9min she was put to sleep by the blinking numbers n vibrating function (motor was on the bed next to her). =D damn happy leh!

Caution: Use only in emergency. Do not overuse this tactic. I don't know how many times it can be repeated.

Chabby.. Which brand of wipes u getting from jb? I using lucky baby wipes now.. But never check pricing in jb yet.. My fm I getting from jb.. Singapore stock of frisolac also packed in Malaysia.. Apparently the formula is almost if not exactly the same.. My hubby did his homework.. But I cannot remember..

My baby wearing M sized drypers at night le.. Hahaha.. Think if order Nepia will order M and L size... Haha.. My pd didn't say much about bb weight gain though..

Sherill.. When you say your baby open her mouth twice for milk means she only suck twice? My boy going 7 weeks can sleep up to 6 hours at night before asking for next feed.. But usually about 5 to 5.5 hours he will start asking for milk alr..

Putting babies to sleep.. Mummies can go search for fisher price music online.. The lullabies can really send babies to sleep..

Nappy rash,

Ya, started to clean khloe butt with water and only wear diaper at nite.Instead of cleaning her at the sink, i bring water and cloth to her bed when change her diaper, same as many mummy here, my baby kick a lots, i scared i drop/injure her if i carry her to the sink. She is very strong. There is few times she stand up while we carrying her.. Im using pureen and drapolene nappy rash cream. Hopefully can cure the rashes soon. heart pain to see her butt red red.

Chabby,

U stay at west area rite..I feel so like meet up with you, to see your cha siew pao..haha..I also buy baby wipes in MY. cheaper after compared the price.

workingwife

My mom also teach me about the rub baby body using flour. She say if my baby keep crying and refuse to sleep, might be too heaty, ask me to rub her body with flour, but i din try b4. I bath my baby with additional guiness stout, i dunno it;s to cure heaty, i tot is gd for their skin and hair will be dark dark..hehe

luckymummy.

yeah...I also did noticed that my baby seems to like the medela freestyle's sound. if I have to pump and look after her alone, and when she get cranky, I have to go near to her and pat her, so I will place the medela freestyle motor next to her on the bed, she will keep quiet lor...hubby sometime ask me to pump in next room, scared wake baby up, i told him that khloe love the sound..haha

sherill,

your baby very good leh. My baby sleeping time at nite not very consistent, sometime 3 hours, sometimes 5 hours. Last nite she drink at 730pm, then play by herself and then cranky and ask for carry at 8plus, finally fall sleep at 9plus. she skip her next feed at 1030pm, sleep till 130am then ask for milk, after that she skip her next feed at 430am, and ask for milk at 630am.. I already feel happy. Just that this picture is not consistent. When she skip, I also skip my pumping milk session..haha

hi chabby and pinky: for bitter gourd bath water.. how many slices of bitter gourd to how much amount of water? my boy's body is usually very warm and he sweats a lot.. i suspect his body heaty..

Hi mummies, I'm selling a very lightly used My Brest Friend Pillow for $60 (retails for more than 80) as I am too lazy to put it on before starting to feed so its just left unused. Email me at [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

I'm a Jan mum and been quietly following the forum but have not posted up anything before.

Anyway would like to find out from those who are giving their child ridwind, how often do you feed the baby and is it impt which feed you choose to give it to them?

My girl has a lot of gas in her tummy and would like to give ridwind a try

jaslyn 09

4x a day, at 6hr interval. each time 0.5ml.

i'll break the entire feed of 120ml into 2 bottles.

will put the ridwind into the first bottle of 30-60ml which he is sure to finish quickly. then give the remaining feed in the other bottle. this will ensure he finish the dose of medicine.

kimmy

we live in same area.. bukit batok.. muhaha. wld like to meet u n christine (hoshi) soon. =)

use desitin (blue box) nappy rash cream. that's the best brand on the mkt.

luckymummy

yeah.. agree.. that the motor sound n vibration is soothin for babies.

gina

my mum is the one who does the boilin. she'll cook everyday when she notice red patches of rashes on my kid. bath everyday till it disappear. but if lazy, use stout to bath is more convenient. no boilin required.

Pinky: she ask for milk twice in night but still sleeping! Since she sleep with me n I am BF , I just latch her ib lying position for 5-10 min n she satisfy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] . I call it like she just open mouth for milk ... Ha ha ... Ha

But she do a lot of Stretching n make sounds n I can't sleep properly though it is getting better.

Kimmy: ya they do change the routine but since last week, I strictly stick to same routine which means same time feed, same time massage n bath , evening walk etc. So by 11 pm I switch off lights except little light from window and she start feeling sleepy.