(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi mummies.. long time never log in here le..

my gal n baby is slping nw.. so come in n chat..

i'm feeding FM now.. no bm to feed my bb..

my bb is drinking 125ml now.. he is 4weeks n 2days..

alone with 2 really very siong..

need to do house chore n take care of them really make me going crazy..

sometime i stress until i cry.. but no choice..

looking for help but MCYS say we have enough money to support the family..

now i not working n my husband is earning $1300 for basic..

if no OT den we eat grass already..

Hi gina n ivftwins,

if u have the bm on coming, u can try increasing ss by really pump, latch alot n v impt lots of soups n fluid.

I was stress till I cry when 2nd day back frm hospital. Bm not enough. But engorgement till so pain! I sat down n pump for hours, prayed very hard, ask Hubby help massage for 2solid hours, CL cook soup for me n I gulp down bowls of it plus lots of red date tea. Plus enough sleep at that time, thus able to express 400ml plus full latch on during tat 2wks of confinement. So satisfying n proud of my supply till my freezer filled ion Hubby buy extra big fridge n I even give a few bottles to my SIL for my nephew.

But when CL left, not enough rest n cny period, my ss drop till nothing left to express after BB latch on. Now Hubby every morning cook a big pot of soup for me then slowly I can express abt 100ml extra for storage.

Mummies i'm physically n mentally drained. My son simply refuse to sleep in e afternoons now even tho he is v tired. I tried swaddling him to make him sleep better but he'll cry n try to break free n end up puking out his milk. If i dun swaddle him n if he finally manage to doze off, he'll b awaken by his constantly moving hands n legs. He can only slerp peacefully if i carry him but i can b doing for hours. My hands n shoulders r aching from all e carrying n i feel drained having to pacify him n coax him to sleep everyday...really tired as i only get ard 4-5 hrs of sleep each day. I dun even hav time to express my bm so my ss is dropping drastically [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

charleen.. i got no time to pump after latch.. =( sometimes my son takes v long to finish his feed.. by the time he finish his feed, i already pengsan wana slp liao..

Lactation Consultant advice us not to bottle-feed dear son, if wana feed, must either spoon-feed, cup-feed or syringe-feed to avoid nipple confusion.. my parents dunno how to spoon-feed him, they ended up spilling all the milk.. i got no choice can only latch him everytime..

LZZ, my son also the same, nowadays starts wanting to be carried and rocked in the middle of the night.. we will rock him for a while, when he quiet down, we will put him down on our bed and he will quiet a while..

if it still doesn't work, then sometimes i offer him my breast to let him suckle.. this seems to give him comfort and he will quiet down and drift off to sleep..

I m also very tired. Pumping, washing bottles, sterilize bottles, feeding, carry bb...n pumping again...no time to sleep. Do i really get more than 3 hrs sleep, i also lost track already...

How do u all cope with pumping n feeding if the supply is only 100ml each pump?

Hi Sputnik,

I read in the post that you have applied california bb calendula cream on your baby for the red spots. I went to Kiddy Palace to ask for this cream and the lady advised me to buy either the Avent brand or Seba Med. I bought the Seba Med one, but it seems like its a nappy rash cream. Are they the same? Can we apply on the face cuz I specifically told the lady that I need it for rashes on the face and that was the one she gave me. Though the red spots are gone, they are replaced by acne... Kinda worried... Can you please let me know. Thanks!

Puix.. You caring for baby alone? My supply also similar to yours.. But my boy drinks 140ml ebm each time.. So I supplement with fm at night,, so not so tiring.. I staying with mil so she helps with the baby quite a bit.. Jiayou!

Mummies, can I just check.. Last night bb poo at 1.30am, 2.30am and later at 4.30am again.. But each time not a lot.. Very tiring to keep waking up to change diapers.. Anyone facing similar situation?

Pinky, i currently have help from my mum. But my mum cant carry bb too long. So i got to wake up n feed bb also. During night, got to feed n pump milk every 3hrs, really tired...

Hi puix, you're not alone. In fact, my situation is almost similar to yours. Sometimes my supply is as little as only 60ml per pumping session. So I need to combine 2 pumping sessions for about 1.5 feeds. Sometimes when my girl demands more milk than she has already drunk, I can actually run out of bm, and got to supplement with fm. Like pinky, I also give my gal fm at night, not only for my bm ss to catch up for the following day, but also to let bb sleep longer at night.

Pinky: regarding poo!

Every baby is different but I know babies can stop poo or pee once they feel they are dirty n wet ! What I do to my girl since she is 4 weeks old that after each feed I hang her in toilet n let her pee, n then 10 min later. After that normally ( except sometimes a day) she can control pee until next feed. Even my MIL as surprised that I only use diaper at night and wash just 1-2 pair each day.

For poo, once she starts I undress her waist down n hold her leg (in fact feet) in air above tummy and make "shhhhhhhhhh" sound and she poos until finish and never move a bit if she has more. After she is done she pee or cry hard with movements to show that she is DONE ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far so good, she only poo once a day ! No harm in trying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

akaysha, did you get the Baby Cream Extra Soft? It should be fine for the face, according to Seba Med website:

http://www.sebamed.com/index.php?id=2417&L=1

For the past 2 days, my son poos after his first feed in the morning. I will make mmmm sound to encourage him to poo more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

After he has pooed to his heart's content then I change his diaper.

Sherill and elekos.. My mil and I always make those shhhhhh and mmmmmmmmm sounds to try and make bb pee or poo until finish.. But sometimes he is not patient and just wants his diapers to be changed immediately.. I will continue to try though! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Controlling poo,

I thot I was the only strange mummy trying to control my daughter's poo! lol. But making the "ngng" sound once she starts pooing does seem to encourage a "one shot finish everything" poo for at least half a day. Learnt it from my mil.

Sherill,

Haf not reached your power stage of controlling pee though. Do you mean you sit her over the toilet bowl, or use a potty?

Feeling tired,

I'm now at week 6 and the strain of constant feeding n getting bb to sleep is affecting me as well. Plus my bm supply is erratic n I can't rely fully on latching to satisfy bb so haf to pump and that adds to my fatigue.

Does it really get better after week 8?

My boy loves to poo in the middle of the night! Usually around 4am he will poo and most of the time is a lot!

When will baby starts to follow schedule? Mine mostly seems to follow quite a fixed schedule but I thinking of how to change his schedule to have his last feed at 12mn than sleep through to about 5am instead of now 9pm last feed and sleep till 2or 3 am and asking for next feed..

Pinky, ur boy establishrd his own scheule or u have done sth for him to follow? My boy feeding time is ranfom...i wonder how shld i start to fix his schefule....did u feed him 3 hrly or u wait until he cries for milk?

Pinky, my boy also used to follow a fixed schedule, 3 hrly feeds during daytime n 4 hrly feeds at nite. But dis week his schedule go haywire areadi, nite time sometimes wake up for milk after 3 hrs, sometimes he can sleep for 4-5 hrs den wake up for milk. So he end up crying at nite when he wake up. V stressed, cos i cant sleep peacefully, keep tinking when he will wake up. My boy is now 6 weeks, how abt urs?

feeding schedule,

Khloe last time can sleep 4hours plus or 5 at nite, but her pattern changed recently, will ask for milk every 3 hour, sometime 3hours plus, I will feed the last at 12/1am, so tat the next feed will be 4-5am, just need to wake up 1 time.

bottle feed vs latch

Fren told me TMC lactation always encourage us to latch direct, not bottle feed. I used to follow exactly, but it somehow created stress to myself. We restrict ourself too much. Now I dun follow anymore, i pump every 4 hours cos 3 hours is too tiring, plus my fridge is already full with EBM, now bottle feed khloe, no more latching except emergency. I found that I am less stress, and can get more time to rest cos I get my MIL to feed her during day time. No point stressing and tired yourself by latching long hour, then no time to pump out, and cause ss drop. EBM overall is also healthy. Latch might be good during nite time, do the lying position so that you can sleep while latching.

I introduce pacifier a while ago since I realized khloe only suck for satisfaction. But i dun always give, only when she is cranky.

khloe is 1 month plus, 4 days to 2 months old. I haven train her poo poo style yet. Sometime I will make the *ngng* sound but not that patient..ahhah

elekos,

does the strap work well?provided u have dual pump rite?i only have 1 pump..so dun think it's useful.. plus i need to always massage and squeeze then the milk will come out.. hence my hands n fingers all cramp liao..

charlene,

the avent pump is good but my hands get cramps easily.. =( do u get that?

hi mummies..

long long time no come in.. really so busy with pregancy, relocation and giving birth..ahha..

i wana ask if anyone ones how to know how much milk baby should drink base on age?

my boy is 1 and half mth now..drinking about 110ml every 3 hours..is it too little or too much?

puix2,

i also same fate like u.. so tiring..pumping, washing bottles, sterilising.. plus i am still doing confinement.. hardly get any sleep... but hang in there. well u need to drink plenty of fluids and soup to boost ur supply and there are meds available to boost supply.. =) if not enuff then can supplement with fm.. no worries abt it..

btw any mummies need fm?i have mamil gold.. let me know if any of u need some samples.. =)

full month:

may i know any of the mummies here done this?any good caterer and cake to recommend?thanks!

control poo:

luckymummy,

wow!! it's amazing.. i din know so young then bb can control poo!!i must try it tomolo when i bring my gal for shower..

nappy rash:

my gal gt nappy rash.. sigh..already changed her diaper very frequent.. like using almost 8-9pieces/day and apply drapolene and pureen cream on her still she gets it.. =( any of u have this issue?

fiona,

oh dear.. can u get help from elsewhere?like MIL or mom?if not it's really very tiring to look after 2 kids all by yourself.. if MCYS cannot help. mabe can look for other sources?sorry not sure what are the sources available.. but do let me know if i can be of help.. where u stay?urs is bb gal/boy?what bottles u using?

Puix.. Somehow he just stuck to a schedule.. Didn't train him.. Even nearing bathe time, he will wake up and make noise de.. For feeding, he quite auto about 3 hours, plus minus 30min.. Depends on factors like whether he got poo or not etc..

Lzz.. My boy is 6weeks and 4 days today.. Usually at night he can last 4 to 5 hours on fm.. But a few nights ago, he poo almost every hour from 1.30am to 4.30am.. So far he will wake up about the same timing for milk.

kimmyksc, is ur girl fully on breastmilk? i tot if fully on breastmilk, bb will poo very easily.. mine autoflight, will poo every feed.. everyday poos like 5 - 8 times.. change diaper until mommy goin broke soon.. =S

Gal dolphin,

For my #1 I used the medela swing which is a single pump. I also need to massage n squeeze for the milk to come out. Using the swing I managed to feed my girl full ebm for one yr.

Ilovemiffy,

Use yr bbs weight in kg multiply by 150ml to get the total amt he shd be drinking per 24hrs. Divide by the no. of feeds per 24hrs to get the amt per feed.

Of cos this is only a guideline, some bbs need more some need less.

grumpus,

is the medela swing good?noisy?

so #2 now u direct latch?

llovemiffy,

if ur bb can drink more then let him.. feed on demand.. =) dun hv to worry so much as long as bb is putting on weight and pooing n peeing well.. then no worries.. =)

gal dolphin,

i find it not bad, it's quite quiet and the sound it makes is literally moo moo moo....hahaha

yes #2 now i'm directly latching. with an older kid to take care of i do not hv time to express and feed ebm.

gina,

yup..on fully breastmilk. Yalor, my baby poo a lot during day time, nite time usually is the near morning feed around 4/5am.i also kept buying diaper, i dun use branded diaper since keep changing...save money.

poo and toilet training

think my baby poo frequency is too low.

my mum also wan to get the baby to get use to sit on the potty. she'll carry the baby and let him sit on the potty to let him get use to the potty. so next time he'll not cry when he sit on the potty.

luckumummy

you are good. i've seen my sis done that w her #1 and #2 but she start that when the kids were older like3-4mth.

pinky

if u wan to change zach's feeding, u can try dragging by 5-15min for each feed until it reach the time u wan. alternatively, give lesser for one of the feed so that u can alter the time of the next feed.

Chubby.. Difficult to drag unless he wakes up late.. If we delay in the feeding, he will scream the whole house down no matter how we pacify.. Give less also headache as he will be cranky until next feed and is fed until he is satisfied..

I have given up using more expensiven diapers except when going out.. Now using drypers although I really detest the quality of it plus it always leaksssss...

wow!! I really envy u all that at night can slp for 4-5hrs!!! mine 3+hrs is the best! so each night gotta wake up 2-3times...

now can use potty train?

bb like poo at her own time own target...

sometimes put clean diaper then she poo again...

1day i tink more than 10 diaper... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so harmful to earth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but cos cant gauge her timing, cant use cloth diaper too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] later gg buy a small potty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tink for those mummies like me... bb acoming 6 wks, feeding time all changing... i using demand feeding... used to b quite on the dot, 2hrs daytime, 3 hrs night.but now... can b 1hr day, or lesser. Thank God tat night time abt the same... think now starting of her growth spurt..

reg lactation consultant advice, spoon feed, cup feed etc, if can gd, but theory only.. so hard n take ages... i tink dun stress urself, else lagi no milk... first few days CL use bottle feed then intro pacifier, bb also ok. tink most impt nt to have nipple confusion is latch as muvh as u can, whether enough or nt enough ss..

tired then lie down to latch.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinky, u can try petpet..

my angel got allergy towards mamy poko, so i tried huggies, pampers thn pet pet...

think pet pet best.. huggies ok, pampers too think gotta change evry 2hrs or lesser.

the ting is, i still gt 1+ pack of mamy poko unused [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm usng Pet Pet for night time since he sleeps 7 hours straight, so far no leak [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Day time I use Drypers Wee Wee Dry, max last for 4 hours.

This morning brought him for Hep B 2nd dose vaccine. Heart pain and tears welled up in my eyes when doc poked the long needle into his thigh and he screamed till face super red.

Doc said he might have fever 1-3 days' time, pray that he won't have.

Doc later called me up and said he couldn't find my boy's vaccination record online, asked me to check with Mt. A. Indeed, records dept checked the nurse-in-charge didn't send notification to update record online, now have to wait for a week to do so.

Galdolphin,

I find the best time when it usually works is immediately after bb starts pooing, or if u know by bb's expression or movement that she wants to poo. Somehow holding up bb legs n chanting ngng will make it happen. N previously someone shared on using a finger with oil to rub the anus for constipation also sometimes works. No harm trying.

Chabby,

I also didn't imagine I'll be doing such a thing b4 giving birth. But mil showed me n it's effective.

Pinky,

ur bb sounds like mine. Also will scream the Hse down once she's hungry. Hungry means must feed. No waiting or slowly get milk powder etc. Immediately, or my ears will pay the

price.

Drypers,

considered not so good? I didn't bother experimenting so don't really know. I found huggies newborn to be very stinky so I didn't buy in S size n drypers sticky tab is super loud to remove. Come to think of it drypers like quite low quality. Is petpet expensive?

Charleen.. I still got 1new pack of small size and 2.5 packs of medium size drypers! Hubby got kiasu.. I used to use pampers for night time until it ran out.. So mil open drypers medium size to use instead..

Luckymummy.. Ya.. The sticky tab for drypers very loud when removing.. But my boy got used to it le.. I really dun like the quality.. Pampers so much better.. But to save cost.. No choice la.. Use drypers at home.. I found huggies ok to use.. But after trying pampers, I will stick to pampers for going out usage.. My personal stand is go out use more expensive diapers to minimize leakage better and can last longer.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charleen and elekos.. is PetPet expensive? my boy also changing diaper like mad.. he super clean freak.. if his diaper is dirty, he will scream the whole hse down.. if we dun clean his poo before feed, he refuse to nurse and scream again...

especially during night feeds, there's no escape of not changing his diapers lo...

i need a babysitter (staying in bukit batok/CCK/Bukit panjang area) from 7 March to 15 March for a few hours a day to look after my baby.

any recommendations?

alternatively, any mummies or MIL interested in making extra cash? pls pm me your availble baby sitting hours, charges, area you stay in and contact details.

thank you.

Luckymummy:

I just support her back with one hand and hold legs with another and hang in toilet bowl/ sink for pee and make sound since she is 3-4 weeks and now she is 8 weeks and she pee most of the time after feed! Never used potty etc! For poo, I just let her do on washable baby covers by holding her legs until finish and she move move or cry to show she is DONE and later my maid wash n sterilize. I am using only 1 diaper in 24 hrs and that is in night .

Dryers

the sticky tape removal is loud. even startle my baby once. haha.. so we decided not to go w dryers. anyway, the cheapest place to get dryers is TESCO in JB. but keeping cost in mind.. may use that eventually. Petpet is the next cheapest option from JB.. we did our "homework" before i deliver at the various supermarkets in JB.

Giant vs Jusco vs TESCO..

sherill,

I see...my mil tried the pee thing in the potty by holding her over it, but maybe she didn't persist so it didnt work that time.

Think your daughter is going to be the first (n youngest) toilet trained baby in our thread...maybe even the whole forum!

btw, what is a washable baby cover?

pinky,

ur boy is wearing M already? Haf u tried mamypoko? How does that compare with pampers?

K

Lucky mummy: we have to teAch them n at first I hang her right after feed when her peeing probability was maximum and put few drops of water on her pee pee n make sound! After1-2 trial her pee came out ;) n then after 1-2 more session she knew what to do once I hang her. Tried this with my DD n it worked very well.

Washable covers are made of thick absorbing clothn u can use soft small towelsas replacement.

Luckymummy.. He only wearing at night coz if wear small size will leak terribly if he poos.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] somehow his poo got flying powers.. Lol.. I haven't tried mamypoko.. Am satisfied with pampers.. Hehe.. U can try nepia.. My CL kept telling me to switch to that when I was still using huggies during confinement.. She says sepia quality even better than huggies.. But I nvr try coz quite ex also and I dun have lobang.. Ntuc carries it, but not sure if all ntuc will have it..

Need help.

I am having really bad smelly fart lately and had diahorrea last night, I read that it can be flatuence and it may be passed on to breastfeeding baby, and lately my baby has been crying for no reason. I highly suspect its colic and has stopped giving her breastmilk since this morning. Anyone experience this? Should I continue feeding her breast milk?

And also my bb ger drank very little when switched to formula milk, tried S-26 and Similac, she does not seem to like them... any other brands to recommend? Could she be allergy to lactose?

Your advice is deeply appreciated.

Hihi sharing the Nepia contact- ladies who wanna try Nepia, u can call 62262650 to place ur order. Have to order 1 carton, which is 4 packs but can mix sizes. Eg 2x S size and 2x M size. Each pack is $16 if u order thru phone and free delivery to one location. At ntuc, Nepia each pack is selling for $17.50. So u will save $6 with each carton u order plus there's free delivery. =) Nepia also has a singapore website, u can google it too.

I am currently using mamypoko for my girl abs it has leaked poo twice!!! Want to hurry up to finish it, cos was given 2 packs as a present. Personally I like both Nepia and Huggies. But I agree, Huggies has a wierd funny smell!

Hi mummies, I suspect my 3 week old gal has wind in her tummy. Is it ok to let her drink gripe water or rid wind or dentinix colic drops?

wannabel,

if u see a pd, they will also prescribe ridwind or dentinox colic drops so it shd be ok to give yr bb. gripe water if i remember correctly states on the bottle, not to be given to bb under one month.

rose,

colic and wind are different things although they're frequently lumped together. wind/gas can be managed by using ru yi oil, colic drops etc.

if it's colic, stopping breastmilk will not help. pls do not stop giving yr bb breastmilk.

formula milk is a lot heavier and makes the bb feel fuller. that's a possible reason why she does not drink as much.

why do u say she's allergic to lactose? usually only formula fed bbs hv probs with lactose intolerance. breastfed bbs rarely get lactose intolerance even though breastmilk contains lactose

grumpus,

so u not using the swing anymore?how much did u get it? then u handle 2 kids alone?any help?how u settle ur meals?how old is ur #1?

can share?