(2011/01) Jan 2011

Kimmy> I'm with u on the non carrying too much policy! But my CL very irritating always want to carry and pat baby. I think now my baby used to it already, quite sad... Sigh!

Nimkulut> ur hubby so sweet! it's really handy to have help around and I know what u mean abt feeling bad since he gott go work the next day... But u need ur rest too and it's great that he's helping in whatever way he can =)

Bfing> supply has returned to more decent levels. Think I was really stressed yesterday. Baby is drinking around 60ml-90ml each time and sometimes can last around 4 hrs on breastmilk! Small happiness! I'm still taking fenugreek as advised by doc and auntie lilian. Hope that soon my supply will increase even more! *cross fingers* let's all Jiayou towered successful Bfing whether latched on or expressed! Really glad to hear some stories from second time mothers, I don't feel so bad abt expressing anymore and won't bash myself up over it Liao. Kan Kai le, I guess. In the end, it's still breastmilk, yes sometimes have to supplement, but overall she is still taking more of my breastmilk, and I can bond with her in other ways... Let my nipples rest for now... =)

Confinement lady> so far everyone having good exp with their confinement lady?? I have had some disagreements with mine liao, but thankfully still not too bad. Just have to put up with her a bit and than her mouth. Somehow I still can't trust her fully ( cos of one incident where she didn't follow simple instructions and insisted on doing the thing her way and almost spoilt my sterilizer) so baby is rooming with me and hubby and night and even tho we are bottle-feeding now, we still do it ourselves... Am I being too paranoid/controlling??

cookiefleur:

Fenugreek from GNC? how much does it cost and how many to take a day?

Can i start consuming now as im due on the 27. real soon. Just thought of getting my breast ready and fill with milk before baby comes out. Not sure if this idea works.. hmm.. or i shouldnt take Fenugreek before baby is born? :p

I am planning for bb first month.. Is there anything I need to look out for? For the distributing of red eggs n cakes, need to distribute to friends? Or only distribute to relatives and work place?

Anyone with recommendations for the bakery to order the cakes/kuehs?

Yes fenugreek from gnc also can. it's abt $20+ for a bottle? In fact the one that the parentcraft shop sells is the gnc brand. Advise is to take 3 capsules a day, but I'm taking 2 only- one morning and one after dinner. Not sure if when pregnant can take. Better to ask ur doc first? =)

Kimmy : I do feel the way u feel ... bf is really tiring esp waking up every 2hrs to feed. I do experience what u experiencing 2 days ago .... i was so frustrated. BB before sleep time was so overly stimulated by my FIL and whole nite so man chang dun wana sleep and just want comfort sucking .... but my hubby also beri good lah everytime i wake up he also wake up ... he always tell me have to be patience with bb as she is still so small dun understand yet ... I will tell him go and tell this to ur parents not to carry and rock and shake bb when they are carrying ... so pissed

Hi cookiefleur, dun feel bad about expressing. Sooner or later, baby have to learn to drink from bottle, esp when we need to go back to work. I actually prefer my baby to drink from bottle so tat my hubby can help me with the feedings and I can keep track of the amount of milk my baby drinks. It's still breast milk after all.... And of cos if not enough, just top up with formula... Most impt is baby is drinking enough....

Can I check with those mummies who gave birth in TMC, did you all go back to TMC for jaundice check? After how long will they ask you to bring baby back for check? Thinking if I shd bring baby to polyclinic instead like my #1. But for polyclinic, hv to bring baby there the day after discharged, so very troublesome...

Re: breastfeeding

Actually it is not that bad to express and bottlefeed baby, because you will know how much exactly baby is drinking and whether it is enough. Bottlefeeding is also faster, don't have to carry for so long. Problem with latching is that Bb tends to fall asleep at the breast, thus creating the wrong association with sleep.

However, I do think that Bb is really still the best pump and somehow their suckling sends the message for our bodies to produce more milk.

So hor, there are pros and cons to each method. Just do the best we can and don't be too hard on ourselves. A lot of us grew up on formula also, didn't we?

Re: CL

My CL is getting on my nerves! Don't know if it is my hormones or what. But just don't feel that it is worth what I am paying. Sigh....

rachel,

really have such thinking when cant handle crying or cranky baby...i know is about time only, when they r growing more, should be more relax..

cookie, mitch

yalor...yesternite was so pissed, kept on thinking is bcos of the carrying by MIL. When hubby managed to put her sleep in his arm, he came and say - if baby can fall sleep fast by carrying, then just carry better than she cranky..walao...wan to faint when he say tat cos the *rules* is to let her sleep by herself, not to torture ourself in long run mar..haiz...hubby also told me tat baby cry to communicate, only few things that will make them cry..hubby try to calm my frustration down lar, but yesternite really angry at her.

pinky,

I settled mine already. I ordered buffer from YSL catering, initially tot only give red eggs and ang ku kuey to relatives (according to MIL), then I plan to buy small thank you gift to others (friends etc) but hubby say not necessary. end up we change the plan to order from sweetestmoment, to relatives and friends. simple and easy. Actually it's up to you if you wan to give it to your friends or not.

Daphne,

TMC will assign a PD unless you specific a PD that registered with TMC to see your baby after born. after 1 week, they will ask you to bring your baby back for check up. after tat one week, it's up to you to bring baby back to the same PD or to polyclinic. I bring my baby back to TMC PD for week 1 check up.

Hi kimmyksc, so it's complusory to bring baby back for the 1st week check.... Cos I have no CL and my hubby is helping me with the confinement. We need to look after newborn & #1 (15 mths old). So, might be troublesome to travel to TMC. But if no choice, think have to.

For my #1, I bring him to the polyclinic for jaundice check & injections(cheaper). But if he's sick, I will bring him to the PD.

Daphne,

you may wanna make sure the pd assigned to u is near enough to ur home. Mine suggested by gynae is in tiong bahru when I live in woodlands. Didn't think much abt it at first cos I will change pd after the first check. Who knows my bb had jaundice n warded then now have to go back again on sat. My cab fare the other day to and fro the clinic was $50!! almost as much as the clinic fees!

Hi guys!

I've delivered my little Angel! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 7/1/11, at 1746.

Tough labor for 17hrs b4 doc said can't wait & went for emergency c-sec. :-/

Sigh! Tahan for first 12hrs w/o epidural then couldn't stand it & asked for it. But only had 3hrs of "enjoyment" then find tat I feel the pain again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

In the end, they gimme max epidural plus 5 booster jab of it but the pain at my back pelvic was so strong tat I was still in great pain! Realised tat the pain is not contraction pain!! The pain comes from baby trying to get out but was heading at the wrong direction!! My dilation then was only 3cm!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

I was semi conscious by then as the pain was so great that I just grab onto the laughing gas plus asking for mire epidural!! Only rem praying & crying out to God for help plus tears streaming down uncontrollably when I hear that I need an emergency c-sec!!

Imagine the pain & disappointment that I endured & in the end was in vain :'(

My Hubby kept telling me that it's ok as he was also on verge as he couldn't bear seeing me in such great pain.

I was quickly pushed into the operating theatre. My gynae was very fatherly.. I rem he was comforting me while I was being pushed into the OT. After prob a minute, I was unconscious.

I rem screaming in pain for a moment, as I vaguely rem i was being pushed out.. Then i heard my Hubby voice.. Nurses voices.. Then Dr Kee, my gynae's voice.. Then for probably an hour or 2, I quiet down & don't really feel the pain anymore.

Not sure how long I slept....

As I woke up, my Hubby told me about what happened. He said the nurses forgot to add painkiller into my drip thus I was screaming in pain as my wound hurts.

Then Hubby told me that our little Angel was so beautiful! Having big eyes with double eyelids, tall nose & fair skin. He was so touched & cried when he first saw our little Angel! His heart just melted.

The 1st moment when I see my little Angel, I think all the pain that I went through was worthwhile.   

That's all for my experience [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats charleen..rest well and speedy recovery..

daphne,

I think the week 1 check is compulsory. after that then u can choose your own PD, also bcos the same doctor know about your baby, after 1 week check, when everything is fine, then can look for own prefered PD. My baby got slight jaundice when discharge, so it's gd to go back to the same PD for week 1 check up. my POV :)

Charleen, is an unforgetable experience of child birth ya...

I have the same Gyn as you!

He delivered my 2 boys also. I'm his loyal customer...haaha...

His stitching is good coz right after delivery dun feel pain and i can get up and walk around already.

re: breastfeeding

yup have finally come to terms with bottlefeeding EBM. much more relaxed now. thanks all for the positive feedback.

misty> same... my CL also getting on my nerves. i know sometimes she have good intentions... but... sigh... for eg, today went to PD, immediately after we came out from doc's room, she made a comment that contradict what doc say... i couldn't take it and just told her off that i'd rather trust the doc. =/

been busy BF like all of you. can i check a few things?

1. how long do you nurse the baby if you latch on?

i nurse a range of 15min - 40min per side but baby still not satisfied. i still have to top up a range of 2-3oz (60ml-90ml)

2. how do u effectively drain/empty each breast?

i only know how to use cradle hold to BF. shld i try other position?

3. which brand of FM do you feed the baby?

i'm feedn mine w Nan but my boss (gynae's wife) told my hubby that Nan is the most fattening. tat probably explain why my baby is gaining weight fast. he was 4.04 kg at 1 week old!!

4. mummies who express BM, hat brand of BP and how long do you take for each pumping?

am comtemplating to buy but i tha tot of pumping, storing, thawing and sterilising makes me consider if i shld buy and what to buy.

CL: Hi! May I ask, what exactly are the out of package baby items? Are u refering to the mittens/wrap etc that they give us to bring baby home?

Hi.. I have give birth to my boy on 12.01.2011.. Normal delivery without epi..

Birth story was:

4.40pm: go clinic for check up n induce

5pm: on Ctg for 10 mins.. Contraction start right after the pill is in..

5.20pm: dr Ang check n say 7pm go in hospital..

6pm: reach home pack n take a bath wash my hair

6.30pm: on the way to hospital.. Contraction come in 10 to 15 mins apart..

7.15pm: reach hospital, check my weight n Ctg.. Clear my blower..

8pm: go in labour ward..

8.10pm: dr Ang come in check.. 4 cm already.. Break water bag..

N he say 10pm den come back..

9pm: start to push but dun know push how many times..

Cuz I was on laughing gas..

N feel so numb on my leg but can feel the pain too..

9.27pm: little Jovan is out.. Dr Ang say the cord was tie 3 round his neck..

Hubby was shock.. N say dr Ang is our hero cuz he save our son..

Dr Ang say lucky we let him out 3 weeks earlier if not something will happen..

Thank god.. Jovan is healthy, only thing is he is lazy to suck..

yoz fiona.. congrats!! I might be induced on mondae if bb still doesnt make his appearance...

hope ur doing well with bb Jovan!!!

Home Massage

Am helping this massage lady, whom I have been using the past few months get a few more clients.

She is PRC and is one of the best masseur that my DH and I have used, and believe me, we have very high standards. She is very clean, brings her own bed covers and towels when she comes and has veer good techniques.

She is also very nice, which is why I am helping her.

Her charges are very reasonable, $45/Hr, $80/2hr and this is house call rates.

She is certified in post-natal massage as well as essential oil massage from Singapore Spatec.

She only covers east area as she stays in Bedok. She do not mind traveling to Punggol or Sengkang too.

I really like her and hence helping her get more income, as she is singlehandedly supporting her son in SG.

So try her out if you love massages!

PM me for her contact number. ;)

Miaiko reporting.

Delivered my bb girl on 11 jan 2011. 3.1kg 50cm

I hv problem bfg i think. Both my nipples hurt so much so much and i dun have enuf milk!! help!

*cry*

Miaiko,

don't lose heart. It takes a while for your nipples to adjust to being soaked w milk all the time and being sucked on constantly by baby. Use a nipple cream and air them out more. don't always cover with a bra.

congrats on your baby girl!

I'm going in tmrw (Friday) to be induced.

Hi Daphne, can help me update? My girl's name is Angel. 3.46kg at birth & 51cm height.

To those mummies being stressed out cos of bf... Dun!

I was stressed out & had post natal blues the next day I come back home cos seems forever can't satisfy my Angel. My Hubby & CL comforted me a lot then CL cook a lot of black fungus with fish, with vege etc.

The 3rd day a home, which is BB 5th day, I have engorgement. Just pump & pump. Pumped 2hrs & managed to have 40ml but still pain like siao. Drink lots of fluids, soup, date teas, coarse rice tea etc.

BB tat day din really wanna full cooperate so v painful. Prob

too hard for her.

Hubby spent 2hrs at night help me pump & massage & pump.... Till softer then I can sleep. BB still on top up.

Today, milk just flow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] BB also latching well.

Impt is sleep, fluid, BB latching & pumping!

BB laching make u at peace & is the best pump inthe world! She latch 10-20mins, is equal to soften my breast as if I pumped for 40-60mins! Somemire I dun need massage till Hubby & my hand ache! Haha!!

Dun fret too much okie! Initially I also cry, post natal. But impt tat u dun get into depression. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

o ya! I also thank God for my CL! She is just soooo good & pro & motherly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] glad that I despite all odds, bring my BB back to jb to do confinement using her! :D

even recommended her to my SIL, who may fly her to Australia to do confinement for her! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

goodnight!

O ya!

Lastly, how come ur bills at TMC is so cheap?!

I paid in cash abt $1800 (dep during admission) + ard $4000 (during discharge) then medisave used $4000 in total, plus gynae package during pregnancy $1900, my Angel cost me abt $12000 wor!!!

Anyone know why?

So exciting hearing birth stories from u all..thanks for sharing![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Am still waiting patiently for my little boy to arrive![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehe...

If you would like to thank your Dr/nurses for their help during the birthing process, u could consider buying cards from fluffyheartz @ http://fluffyheartz.blogspot.com or

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/Fluffyheartz-Handmade-Cards-Photo-frames/133890423334763

Jia you for BF mothers and those who are waiting patiently.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5009787.jpg]

good morning mummies,

can i ask if any of u have started sourcing for full month cakes - those that u wld distrbute to the office etc? any ideas for catering also ?

appreciate any suggestions :D

think a lot of us has kan kai with latching on..

i went to see lactation consultant yesterday. at the clinic, baby seem to latch on but i had a blister that bleed on nipple, come home, all hay wire...

think i just dun have it with latching on. will survive on pumping.

for full month party, i am quite idiot about it.

i am having one with frens over. do i have to give them a gift when they leave? i think no right.

a gift like bengawan solo voucher is given to frens who had given gifts but did not come for the party?

i saw chozconfectionary.com and think i will take their package. Had good reviews about them.

need to settle catering....any good recommendation?

seems like many mummies have given birth, Congrats to all.

Maikio, congrats. I am stil waiting for my bb girl to arrive at the right time and EDD is 15th Jan tmr. I even went for a small shopping trip this morning after sending my #1 to sch.

Breastfeeding is nvr easy especially for the 1st few days. Most impt is rest, no stress and massage of breasts to prevent engorgement. Remember to constantly latch and pump the milk. Use hot towel to wrap around the breast then massage, to help soothe. Get hubby to help.

Charleen, your hubby is doing a great job to help u massage. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Monster's mum.. i tink the caterer meihao99 is gd, you might wanna try. for full month cakes, you might wanna try sweets secrets, choz, or buy cedele vouchers?

Hi ivftwins and monster mom

yes start sourcing and jus firming up the invite list

I am using four seAsons catering think they are not bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

am only giving those cakes or wat to office pp my dept only not the rest who came for the full mth buffet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so many hv popped liaoz. congratulations to all & jia you on the moo moo journey!

gingersnap82: me also EDD tmrw 15 Jan, but my boy still not wanting to make his appearance. muz be waiting for his auspicious timing to show up.. hahaha... but seriously hope he appears soon, cos dun want to be induced..

n jia you to all the mummies who are waiting to pop.. baby will be in your arms soon..

My baby Daniel was born on 11/1/11 via a super tedious induction, weighing 2.52kg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Induction started on 10/1/11

2pm: 1st pill inserted at gynae's office and sent home to rest.

4pm: Contractions set in. Walk also pain, sit also pain.

6pm: Only 1cm dilated. 2nd pill inserted and sent home to rest again. Contractions still strong.

12midnight: Admitted to Mt Alvernia but still 1cm dilated.

4am: Can't tahan the pain, opted for epidural.

8am: 1.5cm dilated only. Wannna cry already, though no longer can feel contractions, shivering heavily from the epi effect.

12noon: 3cm dilated, gynae breaks water bag.

3.30pm: Sudden jump, 9am dilated!! yay! Prep for labour begins.

4.10pm: Gynae arrives and process begins.

4.31pm: Baby Daniel arrives after 15 pushes!!

My baby was 39weeks 5days but weighed only 2.52kg cuz umbilical cord was squashed on his face, causing lesser nutrients to be absorbed by him. Oh well, most impt is he is healthy, can always fatten him up now.

Was discharged after 2 nights stay, the nurses and midwives there were wonderful! On total breastfeeding, but really not easy. Last night was baby's 1st night home and we hardly got any sleep, put down cry, latch on in hospital ok, come home like dunno how to open mouth. Sigh, but I'm not giving up!! Jia you everyone!!

I will be going for my C-sec next tue. Today will be my last day at work before I start my ML. So excited & happy about it. Looking forward to seeing my little gal...

oh...congrats to daphne and bethel in advance!! u can carry your baby in your arms soon!!

daphne,

if u happen to update the table, pls change my baby height to 47cm..hehe..thanks!!

Bethel, my C-sec time is 8am. Yours?

Kimmyksc, haha.... actually I'm also wondering why yr baby only 42cm. Ok, will change the table...

May I know if those short (about 25 seconds pain, 5 to 7 minutes apart) on n off mild contraction pain the beginning symptom of going to giving birth soon?

puix2

it's most probably the beginning. i remember i tahan until 2min apart w 1min of contraction and i was only ard 4-5cm dilated.

but do rush to hospital if ur contraction is abt 5min apart le.

But I find it very mild one le... Not very painful type.. Never had any other symptoms before n just starting to have this kind of mild pain starting this afternoon wor...

Daphne, my c-sec will be in the afternoon. Doc didn't say exactly wat time.

My decision to go for c-sec was only made yesterday. Cos when i went for my appmt, gynae saw umbilical cord wound round bb's neck twice!!

Decided not to tk the risk of natural birth as i might end up going for emergency c-sec.

Feel much more relieved now that i know i can see my bb next tues! And no need to go thru labour pains!