(2011/01) Jan 2011

my milk supply drop drastically at the last pump...has been doing a steady 80ml at least and the last pump was only 60ml. i think my supply ending liao...how can it be leh...

its not even 1 month...most mother frens i have, their supply increase and will be storing excess by full month.....

xian....

i bought the medela nipple shield too but baby dun seem to enjoy it...

lily, luckymummy

Jia you on BF..I seldom pump out now. my baby really ask for milk every 1hour+..If i pump after every feed, i won't get 6oz..only pump when baby can sleep longer time. Using medela freestyle, need about 10 minutes..very fast :) This morning I suddently woke up at 5:30am, and I assume baby will wake up soon, so i quickly do the first round pump to avoid washing baby face with milk. too wasted..

pinky,

ya, let him sleep by his own..I prefer ike tat but my in law always like to carry her and I always have to remind her then in law say she cry. cry a bit only mar, she just wan to carry..GRANDPARENT!!!

chercat

wow..u went to salon...enjoy sia!!why not tahan 1 more day to break the record..hahha.. i'm counting down to 3 more days..then I can wash my hair everyday....

chabby,

you mean your baby now drinking 90ml of milk? tat's a lot...good good...i offer 2.5oz, but guess not enuf for her, i gotto offer 3oz to see if she can finish it.

esther,

i already cal myself *moo moo*. everytime baby cry for milk, i will say - ok ok, moo moo is here...

Congrats to grumpus and shycloud!!

misty,

same here...baby 3 weeks+, growing and she strain a lot, strain also while drinking, fall sleep fast then cry for milk fast too..very tired

hopefully,

not really..mine is c-sec and milk came in 2nd day/3rd day and leaking as well. guess depend on individual. wish you have a smooth delivery..update us when u r feeling better after your c-sect..

cookiefleur & ivftwins:

Oh well, they always say.. must drink a glass of warm water or milo before breast feeding! And massage breast with warm towel first. (to increase the flow)

Thats whay i read too.. so much on theory..hopefully it works.. Do try! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cookie,

I also like you, take so much courage to feed baby with bottle when she is about 2 week old. I feel tat it's harder to latch her now, dunno issit due to the bottle feed, bottle feed is always easier for them to suck. So i cut down the frequent, only offer 1-2 times a day and sometime will skip 1 day then re-offer the next day.

ivf,

Did u latch ur baby b4 u pump out? sometime i suspect mine decreased also..hard to pump cos baby keep wake up for milk in day time. Sometime I feel like pump regular then bottle feed my baby but baby is the best pump in the world..haiz.hard to make decision. hubby say if dun have then no choice, give formula..sad to hear tat

Cookiefleur - Dont be despair... You're right to recover yr sore nipples first so that u can continue BFing .... Xiu xi shi wei le zou geng chang de lu.... Now impt is the establish supply to be able to meet BB's demand. !Jiayou!

Ivftwins - Is it cos of stress or not enough rest/fiuld intake? heard all these can affect supply.

So encouraging to read everyone's comments. Thanks babes! I was seriously feeling lousy and feel like a bad mother... But now I just want baby to be happy and fed... My own needs should be secondary right? Thanks so much...

Kimmy> my friend also suggested that I still try to latch on. Dunno if I have the courage tho cos nipples are really sore... But I miss baby so much! And it's not even 1 day yet!

Kimmy, hubbies are all like that. To them, if it is so difficult, just give formula lor. Sigh. I also ask CL to bottlefeed baby, maybe cos we know how much they drink, the time lapse between feeds seem more regular.

One more problem with bf, when my baby is fussy, and I carry him, he smells my milk and immediately the mouth want to suckle! I cannot permanently have such a huge nipple ring hanging at my breast right? Then i tried to express and bottlefeed, but i find that the supply is greatly affected. Very difficult to achieve let down when pumping!!! Sigh....

kimmy, my baby's head always turn towards the breast so i try latching. then he will start crying real hard and i have to stop, cuddle to cool down. in the end, i dun latch before pumping. but in between if he wakes up.

my hubby say the same thing for formula too. but more to encourage me and prevent i go into depression. i was so into breastfeeding and felt that i am feeding poison when i supplement formula...now supply drop more depressing...

Hi Kimmy, thanks am trying very hard to rest and latch only on daytime she also verycheeky once i carry she will cry and start looking for milk.. but ifother pp carry it wont happen. guess they are smart can sense and smell us...:p

Hi all, for my #1, I started with pumping right from the start as I have inverted nipples and the lactation consultant said tat baby would have problem latching. My baby really could not latch at all when in hospital.

I managed to establish my supply through pumping and gave my #1 breast milk for 8 mths. So, if you really have problem to feed direct, can try pumping also..

Daphne, me too have been pumping since day 1. bo bian...impatient baby, inverted nipple at 1 side and slow supply of milk. But then, supply seems to be dropping. What did you do to keep up with supply.

Do you latch baby in between pumping to get body to produce more milk?

I am happy to feed baby with EMB for 6 months will do...hahah

ivftwins - how often u pump? For my #1, i pumped every 2.5-3 hrs round the clock for first 1-2 mths. I started off with very low supply but by 2nd mth i even had enuf to freeze and by 3rd mth my freezer was running out of space. I breastfeed for 1 year.

Hi ivftwins, I did not latch baby at all. For me, I pump every 3 hrs for the first 4 mths. And will give FM at nite (once a day). Then at 5th mth onwards, i pump every 4 hrs. When baby gets bigger, the no. of times they drink their milk will be less. Then I will hv excess to keep in the freezer.

I also bought the anmum lactating milk to drink. Think it helps with the supply also.

Actually I could have continue pumping but cos I found out I'm pregnant, so hv to stop... hee..

sputnik, i pump about 2.5-3hours as well. in fact, each time baby wakes up to drink the EBM that i did the previous round, i will start pumping for the next round.

i hope to be able to sustain sufficient supply for baby at least...me lost hope in having excess for storage.

Thanks Daphne, me too did not latch.sigh.

cookiefleur,

I am much happier (and my nipples too) and less stressed now that I had a break from direct latching. Pumping really hurts much less and I don't dread feeding times anymore. I miss her at the breast too, but it just wasn't working out.

Milk supply,

I have resorted to taking fenugreek and motilium (prescribed by doctor to increase milk supply). Dunno if it is psychological, but expressed milk supply has gone up from a pathetic 10ml in 45min, to 30ml in 30min. Or maybe the milk supply was just going to come in anyway. But this 30ml cycle is every 3 hours, so no way baby will be sufficiently fed. Anyway I will monitor the supply situation and let you all know if fenugreek + motilium works for me.

I've already given formula as a top up, and I have to express most of my milk to know how much she is drinking in case she dehydrates again (she had jaundice and was warded)

I think that we just have to use whatever method we can to provide breastmilk, whether direct latching or expressing, but if it really requires formula top up then no choice. I am pumping every so often to try to keep up with her needs, but I've already given up on exclusive latching. There just isn't enough supply for now.

Let's all jiayou together!

cookiefleur,

I am much happier (and my nipples too) and less stressed now that I had a break from direct latching. Pumping really hurts much less and I don't dread feeding times anymore. I miss her at the breast too, but it just wasn't working out.

Milk supply,

I have resorted to taking fenugreek and motilium (prescribed by doctor to increase milk supply). Dunno if it is psychological, but expressed milk supply has gone up from a pathetic 10ml in 45min, to 30ml in 30min. Or maybe the milk supply was just going to come in anyway. But this 30ml cycle is every 3 hours, so no way baby will be sufficiently fed. Anyway I will monitor the supply situation and let you all know if fenugreek + motilium works for me.

I've already given formula as a top up, and I have to express most of my milk to know how much she is drinking in case she dehydrates again (she had jaundice and was warded)

I think that we just have to use whatever method we can to provide breastmilk, whether direct latching or expressing, but if it really requires formula top up then no choice. I am pumping every so often to try to keep up with her needs, but I've already given up on exclusive latching. There just isn't enough supply for now.

Let's all jiayou together!

Very depressing for me..milk supply still hasn't come in..CL look and feel my breast then shake her head...BB also rejecting cause no milk, no incentive for him...today is day 5 after delivery, hopefully tmr will have some good news to share..as I am quite well-endowed, friends all assume that I will have ample supply...who knows...haiz...

Pump also no use, not even one drop...wonder if it has got to do with my marathon labour..BTW, here's my birth story to share [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

7th Jan

6am - Spotting started

6am to 6pm - contractions coming in at irregular intervals

6pm - contractions came once every 5 mins

12 MN on 8th Jan - left for TMc

1215am - checked into observation ward at TMC, dilated abt 2.5cm

3am - chicken out and ask for epidural

3am to 9am - Bliss and managed to catch some rest with contraction pains alleviated

930am - dilated only 3cm, Gynae burst my water bag and injected something into my drip to accelerate the dilation

1pm - only dilated 5cm!! Horrors...how long more to go?! Gynae says she will be back at 6pm

1pm to 5pm - The worst 5 hours of my life so far..even though epidural was topped up two more times, I cld feel the contraction coming fast and furious. Towards the end, it was coming strong at once every 2 min and I just wanted to push. Much as I would like to push bb out on my own, in the end gynae assisted the birth with forceps

6.04pm - Baby Joshua was finally delivered!

So there you have it, my 24hr marathon birth process [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope everyone waiting to pop has a much faster and smoother birth process than me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

After my fast and furious delivery, I oso "chop chop" discharged from TMC today. Its only 3rd day and Im already feeling tired..

My birth story which all happened on 10th Jan:

3pm:

After CTG at my gynae's clinic during my regular check up, gynae told me that I shld be feeling contractions soon. (tho I insisted I dun feel anything) Since it is my first birth, he asked me to admit after 10:30pm (coz after 10:30pm is considered another day's charge at TMC)

5pm:

Started to feel the menses-like cramps. It wasn't very painful so Im determined to admit after 10:30pm that day.

7pm:

After dinner, my back starts to ache. Pretty happy coz after waiting for so long (39wks 4 days), the pain is finally here! I told my hubby and he said he needs to clear all his work and OT before taking leave. I told him nvm coz I would only be admitted after 10:30pm.

8+pm:

The pain starts to get closer.. less than 10mins. I have pretty high pain tolerance so my mother forced me to call my gynae to check if I shld go in early. So I called, but my gynae said for my case, it wun be so fast. 10:30pm is safe unless I want to admit early. I told him I trust his words!!

9+pm:

My back feels like ripping apart! Contractions less than 5mins apart! My hubby just reached home. So he took his dinner and we decided to go TMC to wait just in case.

10:05pm:

Reached TMC but was refused admission until after 10:30pm coz the admission lady said its my gynae's instructions! My contractions were already 1 min apart but after she knows that its my first birth, she asked me to sit one side and wait!! So I waited loh.

10:21pm:

I couldn't sit coz it was too painful, so I paced up and down the corridor. Before I know it, I heard a "POP" and there goes my water bag.. burst. Super unglam coz I was leaking through my pants. The admission lady quickly push a wheelchair and wheeled me to one of the 2 bedder room on level 6 to change. On the way I still ask if she would charge me extra day coz it was not 10:30pm yet. She laughed and said my hubby can do registration later.

10:30-11pm

Still in the ward (not labour ward!) The pain intensify.. to 100000000000x after my water bag burst. I started to scream and wail loudly. The pain was so unbearable that I caved in and BEGGED for pain relief. The nurses told me they cannot give me coz my gynae is delivering another lady. His instruction was he had to see me before they can push me to labour ward! I went mad and started to cry, scream and swear!

Then I suddenly felt the baby coming out. I told my hubby and the nurses. Everyone tot I was hysterical and was just seeking attention. SO NOBODY BELIEVED ME! SO I had to endure the pain and HOLD the baby inside.

11pm

Gynae finally came! He did VE and told me its too late for any pain relief. The moment I heard this, I screamed even louder! THe nurses quickly pushed me to the labour ward!

11:06pm:

Once in the labour ward, I asked (screamed at) the gynae if I could push. Thank god he said anytime when I feel the urge. So I muster all my strength, regenerated the pain to energy and pushed with all my might!!

11:12pm

Before I know it, after 5 pushes, snipping and vaccum, the baby was placed on my chest! It only hit me he was out when he started to scream into my ears. My Lucas boy is born!! Instant relieved!

While they were cleaning my up, the nurse who was filling up the details told me it was only 6mins! Then I asked the nurse why they dun want to weigh my baby, she laughed and told me coz I did the reverse - delivery first then register. Then it hit me that we have not registered. Haha..

Everyone, nurses, gynae, hubby including myself were damn glad that it was fast and smooth.

The next morning, my gynae came by and told me that he mistook me for another lady when I called to ask if I shld admit earlier. He said if he knew it was me, he would have asked me to admit *horrified*

I told everyone I am not going to go thru childbirth again unless they can guarantee it fast and "sweet" like this time.

Finally can join in the bf discussion!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Already tried latching successfully tho I dunno if my baby Lucas managed to suck anything..

CAn I check, when does our tummy subside? My tummy still look like 5 months pregnant!! Is it because of my short labour so most of the blood etc are still inside??

luckymummy: if you are expressing and feeding baby with breastmilk, i think you have done well. cos baby is getting the best food already...in the mean time, try and keep supply up if possible...

CL: your birth story was quite an adventure. I do believe that if i had delivered naturally, i would swear the world down too! hahaha

Hi CL/ Kikapo -

Thanks for sharing your birth story! =)

Kikapo - You had epidural and feel strong contrations? Maybe dosage not enough?

CL - wow! u very brave to go thru without pain relief!!! Erm..... I would have been quite pissed with your gynae leh... mistaken u for another lady?! It's not something that I can accept... Anyway, glad that its really short for you.. cut down the unnecessary destress/pain.

GOod luck with your BF-ing!

And dont think the tummy has anything got to do with the short labour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EVeryone will still have tummy there.. dont worry.. can start yr malay massage once u feel comfy to bring it down

I am so amazed by the birth stories.. excited myself too.. if i feel the pain, i'll just do the same like CL, pace up and down the corridor of TMC until 10.30!!!!! its a amazing how fast Lucas pop out!!! i hope mine will be as smooth and fast like yours!!!!! Btw, since Lucas is already out, did you stay another night at TMC? so all together, how many nights did u stay at TMC? or it doesnt matter, got to take the 2 night package one?

Wow CL your birth story really very adventurous and exciting u are real brave!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all the best and welcome to the moo moo club [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah.. I already placed deposit for jamu massage but have not called them. My stitches still hurt a lil now.. Hope I can start my massage next week!!

Actually I am not brave.. haha I had no choice but to do without any pain relief.!

Hey Esther,

Haiz, dun say le.. in the end my silly hubby went to listen to dunno who and admitted on 10th instead of 11th (after 10:30pm). Reason being, we can discharge earlier. He forgot we lugi all the meals!! I love TMC papaya fish soup!

So if natural birth.. usually they make us stay 2 nights. Mine was 10th and 11th night. But if I insisted, they would have given me 11th and 12th night instead actually.

Actually they were kind enuff to let my hubby stayed with me (one bedded room) on both 10th and 11th night but was only charged for 11th night.

If you are interested, my total bill (baby and mummy)is S$4400. Total cash out is S$1400 after medisave for 2 nights, natural assisted delivery.

I was jokingly asking if I could get any discount since I only used the labour ward for 6mins. haha

CL:

hahahha..husband always blur blur one... mine also sotong! :p so i got to prep myself with all the knowledge!

Indeed you are right, you could have insisted on 11th and 12th. becoz u admitted on the 10th after 10.30pm what!

Anyway, whats most important is that you and baby is SAFE afterall!!!

yeah i heard that TMC papaya fish soup is awesome! i must try that when im there!!!

Total cash out is $1400? it means you pay $1400 and the rest they will deduct from your medisave, am i right?

BTw, should we bring our own sanitary pads? i heard theirs is uncomfortable... And did you ask the breast feeding consultant to drop by ur room?

Can i check with mummies who have delivered - how long did it take for your baby's umilical cord stump to fall off? Gleneagles gave me enough alcoholic swipes to clean the area for 5 days and they said it shld be sufficient but until today (day 12), my gal still has the stump which has yet to come off..

am wondering do i just leave it - or go and buy more of the antiseptic wipes to continue cleaning the umbilical stump.. any ideas pls ? :D

thanks !

Monster mum no u shld continue cleaning to keep that area dry so that it will drop off soon my CL clean that part 3 times daily and even drop off she still clean my baby is 11 days old hope this help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am Mr Freds Windsley. The MTN PROJECT FRIMS is offering out cheap loans with low or no interest rates just as you wish.We have all You need to get going in your business or personal life finacial endulges.

No Upfront fee, NO cost of Transfer and as free as you wish From the MTN PROJECT LOANS AND FIRMS. You must be a Working Class or have a self employed job to have this chaep chance of Life changing experience. Interested in getting a loan , please email us at

Thanks and hope to see your response for a better life financail change.

freds windsley

CL and kikapo, great birth stories!!! I guess this is something that we as mothers will always remember. =)

Monster's mom> u can get a powder from ur baby's pd to fasten the process. My baby's one also fell out later and after the alcohol swipes were finished, so dun worry. Impt thing is to keep the area dry.

Bf> today has been such a stressful day for me... Since not latching baby, baby has been crying so much even tho she has enough to drink cos I supplement with formula... So difficult to make her sleep, last time she will become seh on my breast and fall asleep easily after Bfing... Now it's another kind of problem... How??!!! =(((( think if this carries on I might got crazy!

Hi mummies! Hav safely delivered 2nd hero bb Aryan today 12/01 @ 6.50am. My roti bun :-* weigh 3.585kg.(din xpect bb to b tis heavy.) Length 51cm. Via natural w/o epidural. Am on ttl bf too. Tmr most prob cn discharge hme oready. Will update brief birth story nxt tme.

monster mom,

like wat lily said, shld continue with the alcohol wipes. it will help to dry up the stump, so will drop soon.. mine drop when he's 9 days old...

Yes, breastfeeding is soooo super duper tiring!!! I'm doing direct latching after seeing my lactation consultant... and tough!!! coz day and nite, it's always feeding and feeding, no time to rest... i'm not doing any pumping yet... but found that breast tend to leak after 3 hours if bb doesn't wake up to feed... sigh..

Oh, any mummies can advise how long will the jaundice be gone?? Seems like babies who breast feed, the jaundice will stay longer?? How??

lily + cookiefleur - thanks for the advise.. i'll remind my mom to keep the area dry.. i dont hv a cl cos i cant stand the idea of a random stranger living in my house telling me what to eat/do and when to bath.. hehe

cookiefleur - maybe u wanna try cuddling ur baby against ur bare skin and see if that calms her down? cos one of the soothing effects of bf-ing is that baby is snuggled against mommy's skin/boob.. :D

mommies who are bf, do u spend a lot of time burping ur baby? i always tot bf babies dont need much burping as opposed to fornula fed babies - but my gal refuses to burp.. then when i give up, she'll regurgitate milk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hoshi - i ran out of the wipes .. will send husband to guardian for more.. or maybe i'll sneak out when mom is not guarding the gate =)) hahaha

am i the only one going nuts at home ?

kikapo,

dont despair my milk also only really came in on day 5-6 (as in could be pumped out) although production levels still low. Keep up the fluid intake. Are you taking any supplements for increasing bm?

CL/kikapo,

You two have birth stories with such different timelines! From 6 mins to 24hrs.

esther,

I didn't find the pads uncomfortable. I quite liked the panties they gave though. It's like a thigh shaper but with elastic netting instead of cotton. So quite airy and comfortable cos its one size fits all.

ivftwins,

thks for the encouragement. Will definitely persevere in this breastfeedimg business for as long as I can.

hoshi,

your pd is still seeing your bb and taking blood samples for testing? How do you know yours has jaundice?

monstersmom,

you are definitely not alone!! I'm happy even to dress up and go to the PD! Or even just downstairs (all suitably wrapped up in long pants etc) to go sun the baby. Feeling very deprived. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

CL,

Your birth story is amazing ! Well done for first delivery. Good for you. Congrats once again.

Seems like most mummies have popped and everyone are busy BFeeding. Goood luck to all & don't get too stressed up over it. I used to get too stressed up over latching my no.1 (end up its not worthh it) As long as the bb is fed & he or she is healthy & happy thats most important. Ohh of course mummmy must be HAPPY tooo...

luckymummy,

I am glad you r happy with breastfeeding experience & enjoying motherhood [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lalitha,

Hope you have popped by now !! Congrats....

Homgal,

Me tooo, waiting to pop. My EDD is 20th Jan. Are you on FB jan mummy link ? Soem mummies are chatting there too..

Hi mummies:

My dear Bb latched on and finally willing to suck at 6:30am...

Hb suspect is e DOM I drank before I zzz... It made e breastmilk taste wierd and that's y she refuse it...

Tonight I din drink DOM... She latch n suck perfectly well... :D gan dong... Cos last nite when she doesn't want to latch n drink I feel Soo useless... She cry I cry with her.. Until husband also at a lost... Carried bb to e kitchen and pacify her all nite.. Today he have to work some more.. Made me feel even more inadequate.. -_- we are also doing confinement ourselves.. So everything is shared between me n hb.. He heart pain I still have a c sec wound so he jump up to carry and change bb all nite too...

Firstly, I want to thank all of you here for being very supportive and inspirational.

I have delivered my #2 Boy at KKH on 11 Jan 2011(11.1.11) at 7.08am. Weight 3.010kg and Height 48cm.

My son Eshwar Ryan's Birth Story

On 10 Jan, I went for my gyane visit at 3.45pm at KKH, but gynae had to rush to labour ward for delivery so by the time I saw the gyane it was already 5.30pm as she had to clear quite a number of patients before me.

During the check-up, she did a VE, I was already 3cm dilated(which I suspected as I have been having contraction pain since 8 Jan, but they were mild and like few hours per contraction). I was also having High Blood Pressure which read 137. During the last 3 days, I took pressure at home since I was having horrible headaches and giddyness. Seemingly the readings were like 134, 136, 135. So my gynae asked me to admit to labour ward for monitoring and she wanted to induce me at about 10pm by inserting a pill through the vagina.

Now I really panicked coz I asked her if I can admit the following day instead of right then and she said NO. Coz during the last few weeks of pregnancy, its no good to have BP high as it can coz FITS or pre-clampsia leading to lots of complication and she didn't want me to take the risk and since she measured the baby's weight to be about 2.8kg and it was already week37 and 3days, she said deliver asap better.

(10 Jan 2011)

6pm admitted at Labour Delivery Suite.

6pm - 8pm monitor BP and BP was crazy going up and down. Finally stabilised at 8.30pm and mid-wife allowed me to eat dinner.

9.45pm checked dilation, still at 3cm.

10pm pill inserted through Vagina.

11.30pm could start to feel contraction pain but still bearable.

(11 Jan 2011)

12am checked dilation, was at 4cm. Doc asked if I wanted to go up to the ward to rest and then come back at 6am to break water bag and if progress still slow, will put in another pill at 8am. But I told her that I will stay at the labour ward, worried I might not be able to take the contraction pain and will need epidural. So I stayed at the labour ward.

3am-4am contractions became horrible, they were intensified and I requested for Epidural.

4.30am Epidural did its magic and I was in a heavenly feeling

4.30am-5.20am I was doing good, resting.

5.20am mid-wife did VE, dilated to 5cm.

6am my water bag burst on it's own.

6.10am doc did VE, already 10cm and baby head descending below (-1). So mid-wife prepared the room for labour. She turned on the warmer for baby, prepared the tools for gynae and changed my sheets. cleared my uring through a cathetar.

6.45am Midwife did a check, she said the baby head is coming out soon, so she called my gynae to rush down from home.

7am Urge to push was starting.

7.05am gyane arrives and I start to push.

7.08am baby was born with the cord around his neck (1 round, around his neck). I believe this must have caused the pressure, lots of kicking and discomforts when baby was inside the womb.

8.30am wheeled to the ward

12 Jan 2011

11.30am discharged from KKH.

CL - you are so lucky...our birth stories are really a stark contrast..haha..but after my ardous birth process, I told hubby that next child, i won't have the courage to do natural birth...

Glass bottles - I asked for some from the lady who came by to explain cord care and pass me Joshua's health booklet. She gave me quite alot! I passed it to my CL who helped to peel off the labels.

Maternity Pads - I brought my own but cause mine was the adhesive sort they say I can only use it when I can get off the bed to walk. ( I was asked to stay in bed for the first night cause of my stitches) So they used the loop sort for me..anw, they will already open and use the loop pads for you during the delivery process so they will charge for this one anyway. Think it cost about 5 bucks plus.

Hospital Exp: For my forcep assisted birth over 24 hours will epidural and 2 night stay in single-bedder, I paid around 6k and after claims from Medisave, we paid 3.3k.

Confinement - Today is my 6th day, 'washing' my hair with dry shampoo and cleaning my body with wet towel...can't wait for the day when I can have a good hair wash man!!!

BF-ing: My breast feels quite sore today but still no milk yet. What were the signs before milk supply comes in? Does it feel stuck and that you need to press it super hard to force through the milk?

Good luck to all mummies BF-ing and all still waiting to pop

Hello mummies..

Haven't logged in for some time.. Mummies who r doing bf.. Don't stress too much over supply.. Initially I was very stressed in the hospital where my mum, mil and a few others kept asking if I producing enough or not for bb.. Rather discouraging as well.. Hb told me it's ok.. Can supplement with fm to have the best of both worlds for baby.. So far I can only manage to supply for about 2 to 3 feeds a day for baby.. Supply is slowly but surely increasing.. So don't fret.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] let's all work our way up in our moo-moo career.. Hee..

My 12th day of confinement today.. Phew.. Nearly halfway through le.. Jiayou all mummies!

Those waiting to pop, all the best!

Hi pinky me also 12th day kekek and me latch on during day but nite time will bottle feed by CL so I can rest :)

kikapo & CL:

how come kikapo paid $3.3k and CL paid $1400 only? and both of you paid for two nights also at TMC. hmm..

*Can someone enlighten me? is it because kikapo had Epidural and CL didnt?? is it because of that the price is so different?

ivf,

dun stress cos it will affect the milk supply.

Horrible nite yesterday. I latch my baby from 10plus on and off every hour till 1plus, and khloe still dun wan to sleep, with her eyes open big. leave her alone then make noise. So i try to latch her till she fall asleep, put her back to bed then wake up again. So angry till I beat her (very light) on her lil hands and buttock. Feel like swollow her back into my belly!!

Hubby continue is beauty sleep till he heard me scolding khloe, end up he carry her and walk around then finally she fall asleep in my hubby's arm at 2am!! Was super duper angry that my MIL and hubby dun believe wat I said. I always have to remind them not to carry her to sleep. Feel so depress cos very tired. She woke up at 4:45am and ask for milk again. Recently very hard to latch her, she kept straining her body and dunno why she seems cant suck my nipple well. quite frustrated but I try to control cos my goal is to give breastmilk for at least 1 yr or more..let's jiayou together!!!

nimkulut,

at least your hubby concern. My hubby very careless, now is bette cos I told him once with serious voice. plus may be he know he dun have milk to give so he also din offer much help. till now, he din help to change diaper lor. when baby poo, he will say smelly, and ask me to change the diaper. I dun wan to expect much, later more upset.

hoshi,

same here, if baby dun wake up and drink, milk will leak. so I pump and store. after I pump, I will drink a lot of water just in case baby wake up and no more supply. may be u wan to pump out since baby din wake up and drink. store the excess..

re: jaundice,

jaundice baby will sleep more than non-jaundice baby. so try to wake them up and feed them, let them pee more..some doctor will advice to give formula for high jaundice baby.

Hi Kikapo,

Kudos to you!! I really admire all mothers here. I told my hubby Im not going to go thru childbirth anymore!!

Hey Esther,

I brought my own maternity pad and disposable underwear too! But like what kikapo said, after you delivered, the nurse will clean u and help u put on a airy "tights" with the maternity pad. The tights is very comfy! Actually I dun feel that the maternity pad is uncomfortable. In fact because it is so thick, I do not need to get down and change my pad so often. My stitches are so sore that I want to minimize movements!

As for the lactation consultant, she (Lilian) came without me asking. She dropped by the next morning and taught me how to massage my breast. She massage one breast and make me massage the other side at the same time. She also gave me a few tips and told me she will check on me the next day and make sure I do the steps in front of her before I discharge the next day. Before I discharge, the nurse "forced" me to save the TMC ParentCraft helpline in my handphone.

Actually all the nurses in TMC are breastfeeding trained. Whenever I have problem latching, I will press the bell and they will come in to help me. So I learned along the way..

As for my bill, my hubby said max medisave deductible for assisted natural delivery is S$2600. I have the First born incentive card so there were some discounts.

Here's the breakdown of my bill:

Assisted delivery (mother) 1 Bedded 2 days: S$1940.00

Out of package items

- Accommodation Companion: S$60

- Drugs/Medicine: S$11

- Medical suppliesn: S$25.30

- Procedure: S$22

- Facility: S$30

Less FBI discount: - S$100

Plus GST: S$139.19

Total hospital charges = S$2,127.49

Doctors charges = S$1,800.00